Updated , Mehdi Azzabi

Samsung 2017 TVs
Reviews

We've reviewed almost all of Samsung's many offerings in 2016 and this year they rebranded the high-end models from SUHD to QLED. Look forward to our reviews from the whole range over the coming year. We will continuously update this page as new models are announced.

Updates

  • 01/04/2017 Samsung 2017 Lineup announced at CES
  • 11/16/2016 Samsung KU6500 reviewed
  • 11/11/2016 Samsung KU7500 reviewed
  • 10/28/2016 Samsung KU6600 reviewed
  • 08/26/2016 Samsung K6250 reviewed
  • 07/01/2016 Samsung KS8500 reviewed
  • 06/24/2016 Samsung KU7000 reviewed
  • 05/27/2016 Samsung KU6300 reviewed
  • 04/29/2016 Samsung KS9000 reviewed
  • 04/22/2016 Samsung KS8000 reviewed
  • 04/14/2016 Samsung KS9500 reviewed
  • 01/05/2016 Samsung 2016 Lineup announced at CES

Compared to other brands

  • Well balanced. Usually, a Samsung TV is not the best at a specific usage, but it performs well at all of them, making it a great purchase for a mixed usage.
  • Great upscaling. Lower quality content like SD channels or DVDs do not look soft.
  • Judder. Even on their 120Hz models, Samsung TVs aren't the best at removing judder. If your setup is configured properly though, this shouldn't be an issue. Their motion interpolation feature skips more than on some other brands too. More info on judder.
  • High price. Most of their models, especially the ones with a lot of features, are priced a few hundred more than average.

At every price point, Samsung TVs have impressed us with their good picture quality, attractive design, and handy smart features. They aren't perfect, but they are quite good and usually without any major flaws besides the common ones for LCD TVs. You can read more about Samsung’s 2015 Tizen smart platform here.

Samsung's Lineup - Description and Reviews

Samsung's lineup covers everything from budget to high end models. As a rule of thumb, the higher the number, the better it is, although sometimes the improvements aren't worth it. The letter in their model number correspond to the year:

  • Q* = 2017
  • K* = 2016
  • J* = 2015
  • H* = 2014
  • F* = 2013

2017 Models

Samsung appears to have removed 3D support from their entire line. Their newer models use a quantum dot color filter atop the LCD layer to augment viewing angles. The TVs are brighter again this year, reaching close to 2000 cd/m2.

Q7F
55" 65" 75"

The Q7 appears to be the KS8000 replacement.

Q8C
55" 65" 75"

Samsung's only announced curved model. Has a new metal design, similar to the Q7F otherwise.

Q9F
65" 88"

Unlike last year, the company's flagship is now flat. Expect it to be brighter and have wider viewing angles.

2016 Models

2016 models are now soon to be pulled out from the shelves as they get replaced. It proved to be a very fruitful year for Samsung as the KS8000 and KU6300 models have seen a lot of sales.

KS Series

The KS Series are called SUHD by Samsung. The S is supposed to means "Super", but in practice, it simply means that they have the wide color gamut feature. They also can get very bright (more than 1,000 cd/m2).

KS8000
Samsung KS8000 Design
49" 55" 60" 65"

Great HDR TV. Very well balanced.

KS8500
Samsung KS8500 Design
49" 55" 65"

Same thing as the KS8000, but curved.

KS9000
Samsung KS9000 Design
55" 65" 75"

Better design than the KS8000. Picture quality is about the same.

KS9500
Samsung KS9500 Design
55" 65"

Same thing as the KS9000, but curved.

KS9800
78"

Full array backlight instead of edge lit like the other KS. Local dimming should be better.

KU Series

The KU Series are 4k TVs. They support HDR, but are not able to display it with a wide color gamut and are not as bright.

KU6300
Samsung KU6300 Design
40" 43" 50" 55" 60" 65" 70"

Basic 4k TV. Similar to last year's JU6500 in terms of picture quality.

KU6500
Samsung KU6500 Design
49" 55" 65"

Same thing as the KU6300, but curved.

KU7000
Samsung KU7000 Design
40" 43" 49" 55" 65"

Better design and remote than the KU6300, with a wide color gamut.

KU7500
Samsung KU7500 Design
43" 49" 55" 65" 78"

Same thing as the KU7000, but curved.

K Series

The K Series are 1080p TVs. They aren't the best to benefit from the latest technology, but if you are far away, they are still a good choice.

K5100
40"

Basic TV, without smart functionalities.

K6250
Samsung K6250 Design
40" 49" 55"

Mid-range 1080p TV with a curved screen. Average picture quality.

2015 Models

Samsung 2015 TVs are still be sold at the moment. Now is a great time to buy them, since they are heavily discounted to make place for the new 2016 ones. Their picture quality aren't really far off the new 2016 models.

JS Series

The JS Series are called SUHD by Samsung. The main difference with the JU Series is the quantum dot technology, which creates a wide color gamut, useful for HDR content.

JS7000
Samsung JS7000 Design
50" 55" 60"

4k 60Hz TV. Closer to the JU6500 but with a wider color gamut.

JS8500
Samsung JS8500 Design
48" 55" 65"

Similar to the JU7100, but edge lit and with a wider color gamut.

JS9000
Samsung JS9000 Design
48" 55" 65"

Curved version of the JS8500.

JS9500
Samsung JS9500 Design
65" 78" 88"

Similar to the JS9000, but with a full array backlight.

JU Series

The JU Series are 4k UHD TVs. The 6 Series are 60Hz, while the 7 Series are 120Hz.

JU6400
Samsung JU6400 Design
40" 43" 48" 55" 60" 65"

Basic 4k 60Hz TV.

JU6500
Samsung JU6500 Design
40" 48" 50" 55" 60" 65" 75"

About the same as the JU6400, but with a nicer design.

JU6700
Samsung JU6700 Design
40" 48" 55" 65"

Curved version of the JU6500.

JU7100
Samsung JU7100 Design
40" 50" 55" 60" 65" 75" 85"

Great 4k 120Hz TV. Better screen finish than the JU 6 Series.

JU7500
Samsung JU7500 Design
40" 48" 50" 55" 65" 78"

Curved version of the JU7100.

J Series

The J Series are either 720p or 1080p TVs. The 6 Series are 120Hz, while everything lower are 60Hz.

J4000
Samsung J4000 Design
32"

Very basic 720p TV.

J5000
Samsung J5000 Design
32" 43" 48" 50"

Very basic 1080p TV.

J5200
Samsung J5200 Design
32" 40" 43" 48" 50"

Adds smart features compared to the J5000.

J5500
Samsung J5500 Design
40" 48" 50"

Similar to the J5200, but with a nicer design.

J6200
Samsung J6200 Design
40" 50" 55" 60" 65"

120Hz refresh rate. Great budget TV. Less motion blur than the J5500.

J6300
Samsung J6300 Design
32" 40" 48" 50" 55" 60" 65" 75"

Similar to the J6200, but with a nicer build quality and more inputs.

Discontinued Models

2014

  • H5203 (32", 40", 46", 50"): Basic 1080p smart TV. See review
  • H5500 (32", 40", 48"): Better design and faster smart TV. See review
  • H6203 (40", 46", 50", 55", 60", 65"): 120Hz. Great budget TV. See review
  • H6350 (32", 40", 48", 50", 55", 60", 65", 75"): Similar to the H6203 but with better design and faster smart TV. See review
  • H6400 (40", 48", 50", 55", 60", 65"): Similar to the H6350 but better remote and 3D. See review
  • H7150 (46", 50", 55", 60", 65", 75"): Similar tot he H6400, but edge lit with better uniformity and better screen finish. See review
  • H8000 (48", 55", 65"): Curved version of the H7150. See review
  • HU8550 (50", 55", 60", 65", 75"): Similar to the H7150, but 4k. See review
  • HU9000 (55", 65", 78"): Curved version of the HU8550. Not reviewed

Conclusion

Samsung TVs are great in general. They spawn a wide range, from budget to high end, and most of them are very well balanced TVs that do well under different usages. Their main downside is their price, but if you don't mind that, they are a safe bet.

Questions Found an error?

Let us know what is wrong in this question or in the answer.

Email:

Questions & Answers

77 ANSWERED QUESTIONS
65
Do you think there will be a big difference compared to last year's LED TVs?
Usually, the difference in picture quality is minimal. The picture quality of Samsung LED TVs have hit a plateau in the last few years (except in terms of backlight uniformity). This is why Samsung has put more emphasis on their extra software features and design.
Update: Indeed the picture quality is about the same, except for the improved uniformity.
42
Do you do any testing of the Vizio brand?
We will start testing it next month.
Update: We reviewed all three series: the E Series, the M Series and the P Series. They are great budget TVs.
39
Is there a visible difference in picture quality between the Samsung HU8550 and the HU9000?
We haven't tested the HU9000 yet, but we do not expect a big difference. It's mostly the curvature of the HU9000 and the better sound.
35
What is the difference between the UN65H6300 and UN65H6350? Which would you rate higher?
We haven't tested the UN65H6300. We expect the picture quality to be the same; it is just Costco's version of it.
33
I just noticed on your site that Samsung's UHD TVs all have a panel refresh rate of 120Hz, whereas their top HD models have 240Hz refresh rate. (I think you had the UHD models listed as 240Hz too up until as week ago) Do you know the reason for this? Why would their flagship TVs have a lower refresh rate?
There is currently no 4k TV with 240Hz on the market. It doesn't really matter, though, because the refresh rate isn't an indicator of motion blur (check out our motion blur test pictures).
20
I need a new TV and am not just upgrading for the fun. I heard it stated that you should not buy a new outdated TV set (1080P). The 4k sets are still expensive, but their prices are dropping and they are the new TV of the future. I am interested in a 65 inch by Samsung and NO CURVE. What set should I buy since I "need" a new TV?
It depends how far you are sitting away from it. If it is more than 10 feet, just get a 1080p like the UN65J6300. You won't see the difference with 4k, assuming a good 1080p bit rate. If you are closer, get the UN65JU7100.

Update: Updated selections to 2015 models.
20
What is the difference between the Samsung h6350 and H6203?
We don't expect a difference in picture quality. We will test the H6203 in a few weeks to confirm this.
Update: Indeed, the picture quality is the same. However, the design is uglier and the smart features are slower.
20
I'm looking for a Samsung TV in my budget, I notice there is a newest JS series feature super 4K, however, I got confuse on the other series: JU , J , HU , H; what are the major differences on them ? (JU , J , HU , H)
The J is the 2015 1080p series, and the JU is the 4k series. H is 2014's 1080p series, and HU the 2014 4k series.
17
Are you planning to review the J6200? I am looking for a budget TV with nice motion handling capabilities for sports, and I hope this might be it, but I guess that it will be like the j6300, so it may not be all that great. It would be nice to know for sure.
We will review it, likely in June.
Update: The review is now published here.
16
Is it worth paying $200 more for a quad processor in this year's TVs vs the same model from last year, which comes with a dual processor?
Not unless you plan on using the smart TV features a lot.
14
I know you guys haven't reviewed it yet, but I really would like to know your opinion re: the Samsung JU7100 vs JS8500. Saving money doesn't matter. It's just about which screen looks better, mostly for gaming.
In all likelihood, the JS8500 will be a bit better for color, though we'll only be able to confirm that once we test it, which should be by the end of the month. Besides that, we don't expect there to be a significant difference between the JU7100 and JS8500 for overall picture.
Update: We reviewed the JS8500. It is better not only for color, but gray uniformity too. It is worth the upgrade if you can afford it, but the JU7100 is a great TV too so stick to it if the JS8500 stretches too much your budget.
14
Do you know what the specific differences between the JU7090 and the JU7100 are? Samsung has started to market the former in a lot of stores at low prices, and they're being very opaque about what they've changed to cut costs between the models.
The only definite difference we can see is that the JU7090 doesn't come with a smart remote. There are probably a few differences in picture quality, but since we haven't reviewed the JU7090, we can't say for sure how different the JU7090 and the JU7100 are. Overall, we do expect the JU7100 has better picture.
13
Am seriously tempted to buy a Samsung UE48JU6000, but nobody has done a review of it yet. Are you considering it? In the store eyeballing it, it compares pretty well to UHD models from other brands at a higher price. Nobody, not even the manufacturer, seems to know things like input lag and whether or not it does true (1080)24p without 3:2 pulldown.
We don't currently plan to review it, as it doesn't look as though it is widely available in the US.
12
Which one should I buy now, the F9000 or HU8550?
They are very similar. Just get whichever one is cheaper.
11
Samsung just recently added the JS7000 to the low end of their SUHD line, and it's spec sheet claims a full-array backlight (previously only offered on their top of the line JS9500). I know it will be a while before you'll have a chance to review the full television, but you may want to add it to the lineup table, just so people know it's another option.
We already ordered it, and we'll be adding it to the table soon.
Update: The review is out.
10
Thank you so much for all of the information. It was very helpful. With that said, I recently purchased the JU6500 but was not impressed with sports. My main purpose for the TV will be watching sports and other general cable. I currently have Cox Communications. Their highest cable output is 1080i. For this reason alone I am considering returning the TV and downgrading to a 1080p rather than 4k. I was looking at the J6300. Do you think this would be a better choice than the JU6500, based on usage? I am really looking for a TV that has very crisp picture and that will be excellent for sports. I currently have a 65" and was looking to be in the 65" to 75" range. Thank you!
Apart from 4k, they both have similar picture quality, but you might as well switch for the J6300 to save a bit of money. Also, keep in mind that 1080i is always going to be blurrier than 1080p, no matter how good your TV is.
8
How do I check the quality of my Samsung TV?
Watch something on it!
But seriously, give it a watch. Are you happy with it while watching the stuff that you normally watch? If so, don't worry beyond that. All LED TVs have flaws. If you start actively looking for them, you will just be disappointed in your new TV.
8
Thanks for all the research -- its been invaluable. I'm finally ready to make my purchase. I was going to get a Samsung 65" JS8500 -- but now I'm wavering and thinking I should get a 65" JS9000 the price difference is about ~500. In theory the JS9000 has the one connect box for future upgradability and is supposed to use the same Panel as the JS9500 but just not FALD - do you think its worth the 500? (I know you haven't reviewed the JS9000 yet just curious as to your thoughts)
We expect the JS9000 to only add the curve and the full one connect box compared to the JS8500. Whether it is worth $500 depends on you, but don't expect an improvement on the picture quality. We should have the review of the JS9000 within two weeks.
8
Great site, thank you for all the details you provide! Looking at a budget TV for mostly watching sports, in the 40-50" variety and probably going to stick with 1080p. Will you be reviewing the Samsung K6250? It's currently the same price as the J6300 and I can't decide. Thank you.
We will review the K6250 in a few weeks. Differences from the specs are mainly that the K6250 has a curved screen and one less HDMI port. Also, we wouldn't be surprised if the K6250 is only 60Hz while the J6300 is 120Hz.
7
Where does the Samsung H5003 Series fit, particularly the UN40H5003? I really can't find any information on them, even on your amazing site. I am considering that against a Vizio E40-C2 that has the humming issue when Clear Action is turned off. It's going to primarily be a gaming set for PS4. Thanks!
We didn't review that TV, so we can't say for sure. We expect it's similar to the Samsung J5500. For that reason the Vizio E40-C2 would be better, just because it has less blur, judder-free 24p playback, and motion interpolation capability. That said, we don't know how bad the humming issue really is, so picking the Vizio might be a problem.
6
Now that CES is over, when can I expect 2014 models to drop in price?
They won't go down much. However, when new models hit the stores (around April), retailers will want to get rid of their old stock, so you might get a really good deal if you go in person and haggle a little bit. Popular models will be out of stock fast, though, so there is a risk in waiting.
6
I would like to know what the best TV is for video gaming with the PS4 and Xbox One.
So far, the best gaming TV we've seen this year (and the best TV in general) is the Samsung JU7100.
It has great contrast, good black uniformity, little motion blur, and low input lag. It also has a glossy screen finish, which cuts down on the amount of ambient light the TV reflects.
That's pretty much everything you need out of a gaming TV, so if this TV fits your budget, go for it.
6
As others have mentioned, you all have put together extremely comprehensive and easy to digest reviews. Thank you! I noticed you posted the complete test materials for 2013 and 2014. Any chance you'll be uploading the 2015 materials soon?
We're still waiting to see if anything in our testing process needs to be tweaked, but we'll be putting up the materials soon.
6
Are there any stats on the power supply quality of Samsung versus other brands? If your power supply fails, then everything else is futile.
No, we don't have any stats relating to that. All the major brands (the ones we cover) should be about equal.
5
Now that the UN75H7150 is no longer available, I am looking at either the UN75JU7100 or the UN75JU6500 from Costco. What is the difference in picture quality and software (other than 3D, etc)? What is a better replacement?
The JU7100 is the same as the H7150, but with 4k resolution. The JU6500 has similar picture quality, but has a 60 hz panel, so it can't interpolate 60 hz signals. It also doesn't have a judder-free option for watching movies. The JU7100 is a better replacement.
5
Are you planning to review J620D series Samsung TVs (Specifically 55 inch)? Any related information would be helpful. Thank you for all the reviews so far!
We already reviewed the 55" J6200, which is the same TV. The Samsung models that end with D are just variants for club retailers, like Costco.
4
Question regarding the glossy/shiny TV screen. The JS8500 screen has a very well defined reflection (natural daylight reflection, no lights are switched on) of people and objects (such as furniture) when the TV is off or the screen is displaying black. Does this issue persist for JU7100 and Sony X850C as well, or will they have a less reflective screen during daytime?
The JU7100 also has a glossy finish, so you would likely notice similar definition with objects reflected on its screen. The X850C only has a semi-gloss screen finish, which means it should have fewer issues with direct reflections, but will also reflect more ambient light overall.
4
Is there a better HU model 4k TV than the JU7100?
Not that we've reviewed. The best HU TV we reviewed was the Samsung HU8550, and it is pretty much the same as the JU7100.
4
Hello. I'm purchasing a TV, and I saw you guys have rated the JS8500 now, so I wanted to know which is the better and smarter investment: the JU7100 or the JS8500?
If you have the extra money, the JS8500's better uniformity, motion handling, and color are nice to have. If you don't care too much about those extras, the JU7100 offers pretty similar picture for much less money.
4
Is there a big difference in quality between the J5205 and the J5500 series?
We haven't reviewed the J5205, so we can't say for sure how different those two models are.
4
Having trouble deciding between the 65" JS8500 and the 75" JU7100. How incredible is the new 4k Blu-ray going to be with HDR? Some articles are saying HDR is going to be more important than 4k. I would hate to buy the JU7100 and regret the decision when the new Blu-rays come out in a few more months. I sit about 10 ft away.
It will probably look pretty great, but we're still of the opinion that larger TVs are better most of the time. At your distance especially, you'll want a really big 4k screen to be able to notice as much of the extra detail as possible.
4
Your reviews have been invaluable to me and I really appreciate all your hard work! However, I am really torn on which TV I should upgrade to. After a lot of research, I had decided that the UN65JS8500 was the answer despite the almost 3000$ price tag. However, I noticed recently that the UN60JS7000 was a very similar TV in that it is still SUHD. Then, when I went to best buy to make the final decision, I noticed that they are now selling the UN60JS8000 series and nobody else has any information on it! I love to watch bluray content, play FPS games on the PS4 and stream netflix and amazon movies. My older Samsung has also been the centerpiece of my living room for 4+ years and so the "object lust" is a consideration as well. I have a feeling that if I don't get the 8500 series, I might regret it but from an emotional standpoint but I don't know if that will be true when I am actually viewing it. Also, the 8500 is 2500$ on sale now, the 8000 is 2000$ (and might be 1500$ for one day @ best buy) and the 7000 is only 1500$ so the price difference is still significant. Help!
In term of picture quality, the 3 models aren't too far off. That said, we didn't review the JS8000 so it's hard to compare this one with the two others. The JS8500 does look better aesthetically and has the most picture options. If you don't care about the added features (3D, local dimming, HDR...) and the somewhat cheaper but still ok look of the JS7000, then you can save money without sacrificing picture quality. Just don't pick the JS7000 55", it has an IPS panel with lower picture quality.
4
Are there any TVs that are judder-free via 60p/60i?
You can see a full list of capable TVs in the table at the top of this page.
4
Hi, Do you have a list of the equivalent models in Europe? For example UE65KU6072. Thanks,
We do try to include the most popular equivalents in the 'Differences between Sizes and Variants' section, however due to the number of different variants this is not a comprehensive list. The UE65KU6072 is the equivalent of the UN65KU6300 in the USA.
3
I am trying to decide between the JU7500 and JS8500. The price difference is substantial at $1,000. Is it worth it to bump up and get the JS8500? Is there really a $1k difference?? Thanks, love the site. Been trying to decide on a TV for a while and these are the most comprehensive reviews I have seen yet.
We haven't reviewed the JU7500 yet, but the JS8500 should have much better gray uniformity and motion handling, as well as a wider color gamut. If you'd really have to stretch your budget, or you don't care about those features, then the JU7500 would make more sense.
If you're leaning toward that second option, we also recommend forgoing the curved screen and getting the JU7100 instead. It should have pretty much identical picture quality, and it will cost a good deal less.
3
Is the input lag the same when playing a 4k game (using a gaming PC), or does the lag increase when doing so?
It will likely be slightly higher, but the difference shouldn't be significant.
3
I'm looking at a Samsung TV for our newly redecorated family room. Viewing distance will be 14', and the TV will be used mostly for TV watching with occasional movies. Would the picture quality/HDR abilities/lower price of a 65" JS8500 ($3K) make it a better choice than a 75" JU6500 ($3.5K)? Also, is the Evolution Kit a gimmick, or is it something that is worthwhile to keep the TV from getting obsolete more quickly? Do both the JU6500 and the JS8500 use the Evolution kits?
Generally, we advise people to get a larger TV over a TV with the added features you mention. The only thing is that the JU6500 has judder with 24 fps movies, which will bother some people. Watch the video here and see if the judder bothers you. If it doesn't, the JU6500 is the TV to get. If not, the JS8500 will be a good buy.
Evolution kits are meant to bring current features to older TVs, so evo kits for 2015 models would only arrive next year. Whether it will be worth getting will depend on what it offers when it does arrive.
3
I am a rock stuck in hard place. I am deciding between the 75 inch Samsung 6 series 1080p or the Samsung 4K 65inch 8 series. I sit about 10-12 feet away from the television. I watch a lot of sports and tv. I currently own a 55 inch Samsung 7 series from 2012 that I am changing. Is the 65 4K 8series that much better then the 1080 75 inch. I love big tvs but I don't want blur. Your help is much appreciated!
Get the J6300. The picture is great and we measured the same amount of blur from this TV and the JS8500 (which is low). You will enjoy the bigger size the most.
3
Thanks for all of the detailed information posted on this website. I am trying to decide between the J6300 ($1300), the JU6700 ($1580) or the JS8500 ($1980). We primarily watch movies and sports, with some gaming by our children. What model would you recommend for a budget-minded purchase?
It depends if you plan on watching 4k contents in the future. If not, get the J6300 1080p TV and you will be happy with it's picture quality. If 4k is something you want (and you sit close enough to the TV to notice the added details), the JU6700 is a good no-frills option. The JS8500 have more features like 3D, local dimming and HDR. If those aren't important to you, no need to get this one.
3
The new for 2016 Samsung K6250 series has come out, although I only saw it at Walmart. It's smart TV 1080p and probably the successor to the last year's J6200 series. According to your review of J6200, it is a good TV, but the K6250 is VA, edge-led,60Hz, while the J6200 is VA, direct-led,120Hz. So, would I be correct by assuming a lower rating on the K6250 ?
We haven't seen a Samsung K6250 in person yet, but from the specifications on the Samsung website it appears to be a 120Hz TV. The edge lighting is a significant difference, but generally is only a downside with local dimming which isn't featured on this TV. Other than this, it appears quite similar. The new K series TVs are in general quite a lot brighter, and this may be the case with the K6250 as well. Aesthetically, the curve is a personal preference and it comes with the same smart remote as the KU6300. We don't have plans to review the K6250 yet but may do if there is sufficient interest. It is probably quite similar to the J6200 for watching movies in a dark room, and slightly better in a bright room.
2
Are the 2015 Samsung 4K models at Costco (JU650DFXZA, JU670DXFA, JU750DFXZA, JS850DFXZA, etc.) basically the same (panel, features, etc.) as the retail models with the extra numeric digit (JU6500, JU6700, JU7500, JS8500, etc.)? If yes, have any of those models been reviewed to confirm such?
We will not be testing them, but yes, those are essentially the same TVs, just branded differently for Costco and other warehouse/club businesses.
2
We currently have a 60" Samsung 7 series (four years old) It's located about 80" to center above floor over a fireplace mantel. Couch is 16' Away. Go with Flat or curved? Secondly, 65" or 70" or 75"?
Go with a flat TV - curved screens don't make much difference, and they cost a good deal more. As for size, get a 75" TV if you have the budget for it.
2
Have you reviewed the Samsung UN48J5200? If so, could you please explain the differences between that and the UN48J6300?
No, we haven't. The J5200 has a 60 hz panel, and will have judder when playing movies, but we won't know anything else specific about it until we test it. We expect it will likely be similar to the Samsung J5500.
Update: The review of the J5200 is published.
1
What does the Rtings team think of the un78js8600? I'm wondering if this fills the gap as a slightly bigger js8500.
We haven't tested one, but that's exactly what we expect it is. Probably a slightly worse uniformity due to the bigger size. It also doesn't have 3D.
1
Just wanted to get your opinion. I can get the JS8500 55" for $2,000 or the JU7100 for $1,500. Which is the better bang for my buck? I sit about 5-6' from the TV.
The JU7100 is the better value for most people (most will be very happy with the picture and won't need to pay more for the higher-end model), but if you want the absolute best picture of the two, the JS8500 is the TV to buy.
1
What should I get between the UN65JU6700 and UN65HU9000. What is the difference between them?
The JU6700 has a 60 hz panel, so it has judder with 24 fps video. The HU9000 was a 120 hz panel, so it doesn't have judder issues. Unfortunately, we didn't review the HU9000, so we can't make any other comparisons.
1
I am reading a lot of discussions on the Samsung panels and how they differ in quality based on who manufactured them. I am not an expert in TV technology and have no time to do lots of research on this. Can you please tell me which panel is better and how to identify what model/size of TV has the best panel? I am in the market for a 50" LED TV with very good color and picture quality. Thanks.
Samsung panels are considered the best, but the average person won't notice any difference between different panel types. Still, if you're determined to get a Samsung panel in a Samsung TV, just make sure the version number on the side of the box begins with a T or a U.
You can find our recommendations for 50" TVs here.
1
Which tv is best for PS4? Samsung UN40JU7500 or UN40JU7100?
The JU7500 is better, but not by much. So if you want to save money or don't like the curve, the JU7100 is still a very good choice.
1
Looking at the spec listed for Samsung TV's, it looks like a lot of them don't have a listing for "backlight"? Is the JU7100 edge-lit?
You are right. That specification isn't always specified by manufacturers but we are able to find out in our tests. The JU7100 is direct lit.
1
I've narrowed my choice to the Samsung JS8500 55" or the Samsung JU7100 60". I mainly watch movies and sports. Your help with my final decision would be appreciated. Thanks.
Get the JU7100. The JS8500 has a bit less blur and fewer darker patches on the screen, but the larger screen you get with the JU7100 is more important.
1
Does Samsung un78JS8600 have picture quality and black levels equal to the UN75JU7100? I am trying to choose between the Samsung UN75JU7100 and the Samsung UN78JS8600. Also for sports and action movies, is the JS8600 as good as the JU7100?
We haven't tested the JS8600, but we expect it is about the same as the JS8500, and so a little better than the JU7100. In particular, it should have better gray uniformity and a bit less blur on fast movement, both of which are good things for watching sports.
1
Target currently has the JU6400 for $850. Is that model similar to the JU6300? Also, I currently own a Samsung UN46D6420UF, and I don't notice any judder while watching movies. So my other question is, is the JU6400 better or worse for movies than my current TV? Thanks in advance. Love the website!
We expect it's similar to the Samsung JU6500, but likely without the ability to do 4k @ 60 hz @ chroma 4:4:4. We'll be reviewing it soon.
Your current TV is a 120 hz model, so judder likely wouldn't be an issue. The JU6400 is 60 hz, so it does have 24p judder.
1
I Appreciate info on the vizio e series 65 inch. Right now, it's 949 but the Samsung 65 inch j6300 series is going to be 1100 on Black Friday. Seems like too good of a deal to pass up. Would you say the same?
Yes, if the J6300 isn't much more expensive, get that one instead.
1
What's the advantage of a curved screen? Is it just a gimmick to extract more money from my wallet, or does it actually provide some benefit?
It's mostly a gimmick. There's a very slight advantage in terms of how much screen real estate you can see, but it's so negligible as to be irrelevant. We talk about that more here.
That said, the curved JS9000 does outperform the flat JS8500 by a thin margin, and the Samsung JU7500 curved model does outperform the flat JU7100. This is just down to the quality of the panels and hardware, though, and not a result of the screen, but still something to keep in mind when comparing flat TVs with their curved siblings.
1
Unless I'm wrong, your overall rating for the Samsung J6300 seems to have dropped since xmas time. Its gone from 7.5 to 7.3 (and the "Living Room" Score has declined considerably from 7.4 back then). Are those differences meaningful and why have they changed? Need a set for TV/movies viewing from an angle. No gaming/sports. Is it worth waiting for the "K" series or is 4K meaningless on a 40" screen viewed from distance of >6'? Is there another set/Mfr. I should consider? Best Buy are currently selling the J6300 for $400. Thanks for your superb site. Am interested in the 40" model.
We updated our scoring system last month and it affected all TVs. The J6300 is still high in our list of recommendation and with the new 2016 TVs getting released it is a good time for some savings. There is not much choices in the 40" size unfortunately. If you want wider viewing angle than the J6300 you would have to go with the LG LF6300 and lose a lot on the picture quality. If your viewing angle is not too severe, stick with the J6300.
1
Do you think KU7000 is a better choice then JU7100? In overall comparison I noticed a 120Hz vs 60Hz specs (JU7100 vs KU7000). Im afraid KU7000 could have more judder. Like the past JU6500 60Hz had judder sometimes that was really annoying for me, do you think it could happen with the KU7000? And when do you expect releasing a review of the KU7000 serier? Thank you :)
We should review the KU7000 near the end of june. We can't say until then how it will compare to the JU7100. Hopefully, judder will be taken care of properly.
1
I wanted to ask, when will you be reviewing the KS9800 for Samsung? And could you tell me if it's great for consoles like the PlayStation 4, Wii U and Xbox One? Also will you guys explain the best calibration for the TV in the review? I'm asking about the 65 inch btw. Thank you!!
At the moment we don't have plans to review the KS9800, however we expect it to perform similarly to the KS9500 but with better local dimming. You can try to copy our calibration settings for the KS9500, located here. For gaming, select 'Game' under 'Special Viewing Modes' to get the lowest input lag.
0
Which sets provide the best picture, true to the Cinema form, when watching movies? Of course, this would be through disabling motion controls that create the Soap Opera Effect. Some sets, when you disable all of the motion controls, introduce extensive judder and then you get caught up in a Catch 22 situation. I am currently looking at the Samsung HU8550.
Judder shouldn't be an issue. Just make sure your Blu-ray player outputs at 24p and also that you didn't disable that option on your TV. The HU8550 is a great TV, so go for it if it fits your budget.
0
Which is the better TV, the Samsung HU8550 or the JU6700?
The two are about even for uniformity, but the HU8550 has slightly better contrast and less motion blur, as well as support for 24p playback. The JU6700 can also only interpolate frames up to 60 hz, whereas the HU8550 can interpolate up to 120 hz. Overall, the HU8550 is the better TV.
0
I notice that the viewing angle on the H7150 is more than on the JU7100. Is this due to variability or different panel suppliers, or is this consistent and due to the new 4k panel for the JU7100?
The viewing angle is very similar. The 4 degree difference that we measured isn't really noticeable so you can consider them the same. It is within the variability of a same panel.
0
Will you be reviewing the 55(or 65)ju7500? I know you guys aren't really for the curved screen, and I can absolutely understand that, but I am intending to use this TV as my main computer monitor for a super nice build I made that can handle 4k. I will be replacing my old 42" 1080p panasonic plasma. I am interested in the curved aspect ONLY for the sole reason that I will be sitting right in the center of it and it supposedly is more immersive. Is the ju7500 comparable, or better than the ju7100 spec wise? I am hoping it may have a slightly lower input lag? Thanks!
Yes, the Samsung UN55JU7500 is the next TV to be reviewed.
0
When will Samsung have a borderless screen?
Thinner bezels are certainly on the way but Samsung didn't announced anything yet. Hopefully in a few years.
0
Can you buy the nicer Samsung remote to go with the J6200 or J6300 series?
Unfortunately, no.
0
I cannot find the JS7000 model in Australia but we do have a JU7000 model. Is it possible that they are the same thing?
I am looking for a TV almost purely for gaming (mostly FPS with Xbox One and PS4). I currently use a Panasonic VT-series plasma and I am concerned about motion blur and input lag.
It's most likely that the JU7000 is similar to the JU7100. That still means it should be a great TV for gaming, though, so you should go for it. It's unlikely you'll need to worry about blur or input lag.
0
Thank you for all your information. I wonder what would be the normal period for the LED TV to be broken or need to be replaced. I have had the Sony KDL-50R550A for 27 months, and now its LED panel is broken. The cost to fix it is over $1,200.
That's not a long time. Typically, a TV lasts a few years, and people usually end up replacing their TV before it is broken. You had a bit of bad luck with your TV, and you can get a good new TV for that price, so you probably shouldn't bother fixing it.
0
I mostly watch live sporting events and cable TV what is the better option Samsung UN60H620, UN60J620 or UN60J630? I can purchase the H620 for lower price than the other two models. What is the major difference between these models.
The UN60J620 is the replacement of the UN60H620 and they are very similar. The UN60J630 have the latest Samsung Smart TV interface and a quicker processor to navigate through. The J630 can also get brighter so it's the better choice if you have a lot of lights in your room. If smart features and brightness are important to you, get the J630 or else, save money and buy the H620.
0
I watch lots of movies and sports. No gaming. Looking at the Samsung J6200 or J6300. I see that the J6300 is only about $100 more. Is it worth it? Looking at the 65" size. Thanks.
The main benefit of the J6300 is that it has a nicer, slimmer design, and also comes with more HDMI inputs.
In terms of picture quality, there's really not much difference, so you should decide based on price and appearance.
0
I noticed that the contrast levels are much lower on this set then other Samsung models along with poor black levels and great viewing angles. The version number is EH01 and no one seems to know who makes the panel. Is this a IPS panel by LG? Seems to make sense. Thanks.
We have a EH01 panel in our JS7000 TV. This is a PLS panel, a different type of IPS panel and it is made by Samsung.
0
I'm interested (and somewhat confused) about the Samsung UN78JS8600. I've read conflicting specifications. Some places indicate it does not do 3D, and others say it does. (Samsung's own site is confusing. It doesn't specifically list 3D one way or another, but does mention the TV is "great for 3D gaming." Their online owners' manual says it has 3D ( but "may not be available in some regions.")
We spoke with Samsung support and they told us that the JS8600 cannot play 3D video.
0
Considering buying the UN65JU7500. I'm not really a gamer, but do watch a lot of sports and movies. Is this a good buy, or should I upgrade to the SUHD version? Also, a 7500 model I was looking at is a version IH02, and I read that this version means it is not by Samsung. Do you know who it's from by version number, and should this be a factor in my decision?
Last question: the TV says it's made in Mexico. Does this mean it is a 10 bit? Online, the same TV that is made in Asia is $600 cheaper, but says it only has 8 bit. Is this a factor to consider? Thx!
Yes, the JU7500 is a good buy for sports. The panel is made by Innolux, and we don't expect there is that big of a drop in quality.
Samsung's North American TVs are all made in Mexico, so there's nothing special implied by that label.
0
Hello, I just purchased the samsung 55JS7000 from best buy as an open box item for 1,000$. I have not viewed it yet and wont be able to with HD cable until 2 weeks from now.I have 14 days to return it. I'm not thrilled with your reviews on this TV on here and nervous about it. I watch a ton of standard HD TV, sports and movies with no gaming. I'm debating taking it back and buying the 7100? I'm a TV fanatic and worried i won't like this TV at all once i get it going. Should i take it back and spend the extra money to get one i will like. Is there anyway to calibrate it to make the blacks and whites better? Worried, help please.
In our review of the JS7000, it lost points because the 55" has an IPS panel that produce grayish blacks and poor contrast. If you worry about this and want deeper blacks and better contrast, then the JU7100 is better. You also have the option of going with either the 50" or the 60" JS7000. They use VA panels and doesn't suffer from the same problems although VA panels doesn't have as good of a viewing angle. For best results with the JS7000, try our settings, but it won't solve the blacks problem.
0
Can you tell me if Samsung SUHD TVs support all forms of HDR? Articles online say that the Vizio Reference Series is the only TV that currently supports Dolby Vision. Do SUHD TVs support Dolby Vision HDR? Samsung claims it does.
No, only the Vizio Reference series currently does. All HDR content available in Dolby Vision will also have an option that works with other HDR TVs, though, so there's nothing to worry about there.
0
Great Site. Do you have any info on the Samsung un55hu8700?
It is one of last year model that we didn't review. You can find some information about it on the Samsung web site. We don't plan to do a review on it but we would expect it to be similar to the hu8550.
0
I am trying to decide between the UN85JU7100 and the UN78JS8600. I saw the JS8600 in a store and the colors seem incredible. Do you think the black levels on the JS8600 are probably better than the black levels on the JU7100? Does the lack of 3D on the JS8600 affect 2D viewing? I am assuming the JS8600 is the same as the JS8500 but without 3D.
Blacks should be a bit better on the JS8600, but not a whole lot, and the lack of 3D won't affect 2D picture. We haven't tested the JS8600, but we also expect it to be pretty much identical to the JS8500.
The JS8600 does have better colors, thanks to its wider color gamut feature.
So it really comes down to if you want the bigger screen, or better colors.
0
I have a question regarding Samsung "residential" version such as UN65JS8500FXZA - RESIDENTIAL USA VERSION -SAMSUNG ORIGINAL PANEL. What is meant my Residential version and what's the difference with a "standard" model not indicated as "residential"?
There is no such thing. This practice is used by non-authorized Samsung retailers to pull some bait and switch tactic. Make sure the place you buy it from is listed on Samsung's official retailers list.
0
I've decided to buy the Samsung 49KS8000 and I'd prefer to purchase it from Costco (warehouse or online). Now that this model is starting to hit the streets, do you know when I might expect to see it available from Costco? If Costco decides not to carry this model, when would that become evident? I've contacted Costco and they said they can't predict when or if a product will be carried. But clearly there is historical precedence.
Costco doesn't always carry all sizes of every models, so there is a chance it might not even be available. Usually, you should know within 1-2 months that the model is available to buy somewhere else, so in June in this case.
0
Can a 6300 can be hooked up to a home theater setup which has a Yamaha RX-V371 receiver. The model of the 6300 is the KU6300 UHD TV.
Yes it can, connect HDMI3 (labelled ARC) on your KU6300 to the ARC port of your Yamaha receiver. This means that audio from the smart apps or hard drive connected to the KU6300 will play through your home theater system. They both support CEC and so will turn on and off with a single remote.
Questions Have a question?

Before asking a question, make sure you use the search function of our website. The majority of the answers are already here.

:
:
A valid email is required. We answer most questions directly by email to prevent cluttering the site.