Updated , Mehdi Azzabi

Sony 2017 TVs
Reviews

We’ve reviewed 8 2016 Sony 4k TVs as well as 8 Sony LED TVs from 2015. It depends on the models, but in general, Sony TVs have great picture quality, albeit a bit pricey. Sony introduced a new OLED model in 2017. We will continuously update this page as new models are announced.

Updates

  • 01/04/2017 Sony 2017 Lineup announced at CES
  • 09/16/2016 Sony X700D reviewed
  • 08/19/2016 Sony X750D reviewed
  • 08/17/2016 Sony X800D reviewed
  • 08/05/2016 Sony W630B reviewed
  • 06/08/2016 Sony W650D reviewed
  • 05/06/2016 Sony W600D reviewed
  • 04/01/2016 Sony X930D reviewed
  • 03/18/2016 Sony X850D reviewed
  • 01/05/2016 Sony 2016 Lineup announced at CES

Compared to other brands

  • Good motion handling. They have the best settings for handling motion. They are the most consistent at removing judder. Their motion interpolation has less artifacts and hiccups. Most of their TVs are flicker free, with an optional feature for backlight strobbing.
  • Great upscaling. All of Sony TVs are great at displaying lower quality content.
  • Poor uniformity. The uniformity of their screens aren't the best, but the last few models that we reviewed were better, so they are improving.
  • High price. There are some exception, but in general, they are priced at a premium.

Overall, Sony TVs are a safe bet if you want a good picture quality for a mixed usage. The Android TV smart platform has also grown on us quite a bit and offers some great features you can’t find with the competition. You can read our review of Android TV here.

Sony's Lineup - Description and Reviews

Sony's focus is more on the mid to high range. They don't really offer budget TVs. They also have a very limited selection in the small sizes, as most of their series start at 55" and above.

2017 Models

Sony's introducing an OLED set this year. They're also adding Dolby Vision support to their high-end models.

A Series

The A Series is Sony's first venture into larger sized OLED TVs. They use LG panels and have an extravagant design.

A1E
55" 65" 77"

The XBR-A1E is the only OLED TV Sony's announced this year. Expect excellent picture quality and no motion blur.

X Series

Sony's high-end 4K LCD TVs. Some of them now also support Dolby Vision HDR.

X800E
43" 49" 55"

The X800E that replaces the X800D from 2016 now has a 55" size available. Currently sony's entry level 4k TV. Expect the 49 inch and 55 inch models to be IPS.

X850E
65" 75"

The X850E is the successor to the X850D. It previously sported an IPS type panel, expect it to be brighter than last year's model. It's also only available in larger sizes now.

X900E
49" 55" 65" 75"

New model for 2017. Has full-array local dimming.

X930E
55" 65"

The new iteration of the X930 series, now with Dolby Vision support as well as a better edge-lit backlight.

X940E
75"

Similar to the X930E, but only available in 75" and with full-array local dimming.

2016 Models

The main difference that we noticed so far on Sony's 2016 TVs are brighter screens. Besides this, the picture quality didn't improve in a significant way (and in some cases, it even regressed a little bit).

X Series

The XBR series (starting with X) is Sony's high-end lineup. They are all 4k UHD TVs supporting HDR.

X700D
Sony X700D Design
49" 55"

Good TV for a living room

X750D
Sony X750D Design
65"

Same thing as the X700D, but bigger.

X800D
Sony X800D Design
43" 49"

Good small 4k HDR TV.

X850D
Sony X850D Design
55" 65" 75" 85"

Good 4k TV, especially for gaming. Wide viewing angle. Poor blacks, though.

X930D
Sony X930D Design
55" 65"

Adds local dimming, and VA panel instead of IPS. Great TV. Better blacks than the X850D, but loses picture quality at an angle. Very bright.

X940D
75"

Adds a full array backlight. We expect a great picture quality like the X930D, but with a more effective local dimming (which means better for watching movies in a dark room).

W Series

The KDL lineup (starting with W) are mid-range 1080p TVs. Not a lot of options have been announced so far, and they are only available in relatively small sizes. If the past W* series are a good indication, they will be good small budget TVs.

W600D
Sony W600D Design
32"
W650D
Sony W650D Design
40" 48" 55"
W630B
Sony W630B Design
60"

2015 Models

In 2015, Sony broadened their 4k offering significantly, even dropping most of their big 1080p TVs. In the budget end, they kept producing some 2014 TVs like the W600B.

X Series

The Sony XBR line (starting with X) are all 4k UHD TVs. All of them are pretty good choices, especially in a dark room (except for the X830C).

X810C
Sony X810C Design
55" 65"

Our top pick for a budget 4k TV. Great all around TV if you don't care about HDR.

X830C
Sony X830C Design
43" 49"

IPS panel instead of VA, which means worse blacks in front, but better colors at an angle.

X850C
Sony X850C Design
55" 65" 75"

Compared to the X810C, adds the wide color gamut feature as well as 3D.

X900C
Sony X900C Design
55" 65"

IPS panel, therefore poor blacks but good color accuracy at an angle. Good for a living room. But one of the worse black uniformity we've seen.

X930C
Sony X930C Design
65"

Compared to the X850C, adds front-facing speaker and a glossy screen, as well as local dimming.

X940C
75"

Adds a full array backlight. We expect a great picture quality like the X930C, but with a more effective local dimming (which means better for watching movies in a dark room).

W Series

The W series are mid-range 1080p TVs. They all feature the Android OS.

W800C
Sony W800C Design
50" 55"

Good picture quality but nothing out of the ordinary. It doesn't get very bright.

W850C
Sony W850C Design
65" 75"

Very similar to the W800C but in bigger sizes. Average good TV all around.

R Series

The R series are budget 1080p TVs without any fancy features.

R510C
Sony R510C Design
40" 48"

Good picture quality directly in front. However, the picture quality quickly deteriorates at an angle.

Discontinued Models

2014

  • R420B (32"): Basic TV, but not very good. See review
  • W600B (40", 48"): Great budget TV. Was also continued to be sold throughout 2015. See review
  • W800B (50", 55"): Great overall TV, especially for gaming TV. See review
  • W850B (60", 70"): Best 60" gaming LED TV we ever tested, even better than recent models. See review
  • W950B (55", 65"): Poor blacks, but a great living room TV. See review
  • X850B (49", 55", 65", 70"): 4k TV, with an IPS panel (poor blacks, but good viewing angle). Not reviewed.
  • X900B (55", 65"): 4k TV with front facing speakers. Not reviewed.
  • X950B (65", 85"): 4k TV. Full array local dimming backlight. Not reviewed.

Conclusion

Sony, in general, produces great televisions. They are mostly mid to high-end models with an excellent picture quality. They are a bit pricey, though, and there aren't a lot of options for those looking for a small TV.

Questions Found an error?

Let us know what is wrong in this question or in the answer.

Email:

Questions & Answers

27 ANSWERED QUESTIONS
80
How do I find out which panel (i.e. VA or IPS) my potential TV has?
Manufacturers don't list it, but you can check out the pictures that we took of the pixels in our reviews. If it is shaped like >>>>, it is IPS.
67
When will you review the new Sony Z9 TV?
We don't have plans to review the Sony Z9 at the moment, unless there is sufficient interest.
62
Do you know what the input lag is for the W600b?
We should review it this week or early next week. Stay tuned.
Update: The review is up now.
29
Your site has the best UI and UX of any review site I've ever used. Super clean, simple, and intuitive. On top of that, your reviews are highly detailed and trustworthy as well! I am wondering if you can provide any impressions on the XBR-xx800B? I understand you're not going to review any more 2014 models, but the X800B was released in 2015 (even though it's technically a 2014 model) and will likely be a huge seller for Sony given the future-proof features (HDMI 2.0, 4k @60p *albeit with 8 bit color depth*, HDCP 2.2) and the price point. Would love to see your expertise applied to this model. Thanks!
If it is still in production at the beginning of summer then yes, we will review it.
21
Can you please also review the W700b? That one seems to be even more of a gamer TV than the W800b, because of its supposedly even lower input lag.
Unfortunately, the W700B is not available in the US.
Update: The W700B is now available in some stores in the US, in the 50" and 55" size. While we haven't tested it yet, we expect it to have the same picture quality as the W800B, minus 3D.
18
I noticed Sony has released another budget line for 2016, the KDL40R350D. Will you be reviewing this one as well? Thank you.
We bought the KDL40R350D already and will review it in a few weeks.
Update 12/05/2016: Unfortunately the R350D has been pushed down our priority list due to other, more popular models. We are still planning to review it, but not for a few months.
15
X850b does not have local dimming or the Gorilla Glass screen that the x900b does. The x850b is rated Motionflow XR 240 versus the x900b at 960. Also, the w950b sports the Triluminos display and local dimming that the lower models do not. I don't have a question. I'm just pointing out some differences that are not on this page.
Thanks, the table has been updated.
14
Will you be reviewing the Sony KDL48W650D series televisions in the near future?
We still have a couple TVs to review before but we will get to the Sony w650d in a few weeks. We will review the 40". The review should apply to the 48" unless it uses a different kind of panel.
12
Are you familiar with the Sony model XBR65X800B? Why is it not even listed as one of Sony's models on your list, past or present? It's on sale for 51% off for $1,000.
Sony 65" Class 4K ULTRA HD LED TV
MODEL: XBR65X800BMPN: XBR-65X800B
Unfortunately, we didn't review that model last year, and we're now only reviewing the 2015 lineup this year. That's why it doesn't appear anywhere on the site.
11
Review the good TVs, and stop reviewing shitty TVs like the HU8550. It is not the best picture quality TV. Test the Sony X-series, not the W. That crap is all 1080p, and the Xs are all 4k. Don't lie to the public.
We've expanded a bit this year, so we will be able to review more TVs than used to be possible. We will be reviewing the 2015 X-series after it is released.
We also really like the Sony W-series. They're very good 1080p TVs, and especially good for gamers.
8
You have listed the w950b as full-array. It's edge-lit, unfortunately.
Thanks for pointing this error. It has been updated.
8
Will there be a review on the Sony X940C? Would love to see it stacked up against the JS9500.
Unfortunately, probably no. It is out of our budget, given that we buy all TVs that we review ourselves.
8
There's a new Sony 55x810c coming out 10/10/15. Will you be doing a review of it?
We have placed an order for the X810C, but we haven't decided how soon we'll be reviewing it.
Update: The review is up.
8
Are you guys going to review the new Sony TVs. The X800D, X700D and the X750.
We do have plans to review all 3 of them in August.
7
Any buying tips on the Sony 55X810C? Would love your review of this model.
We'll be reviewing that TV sometime in the next couple of weeks.
Update: The review is up.
6
It appears that the 50" and 55" versions of the KDL-W700B are now being sold in the US, at least at Best Buy for now. Would you be able to review this US variant of the W700b to understand how it might measure up to the W800b? I understand the international version was basically just a W800b without 3D and less motion options. If that's the case for the US, that'd be awesome. But with no real information available yet for the set, I am hesitant to pull the trigger. Great site with amazing info BTW!
We don't plan to review it yet, because it indeed looks like it has the same picture quality as the W800B, and we have other brands that we want to give a little bit more coverage first (like Vizio and Sharp). After that, maybe if it becomes popular enough.
6
Hey I'm not ready to buy a 4k TV yet and there's not many 1080p TVs being released this year. I was wondering if you could review the Sony KDL-60W630B/2. Much appreciated if you could review this TV.
We will be reviewing the KDL60W630B/2 in the coming weeks.
5
Any information about Dolby Vision 4k TVs hitting the market in near future? I hear new 4k Blu-ray players will have this new standard next year with expanded color and high dynamic range (HDR). Is it worth waiting?
Dolby Vision has three main components: a full array local dimming backlight, a larger color gamut (REC.2020) and 10 bit colors. The term Dolby Vision is mostly just marketing. A TV can include these three things without calling itself Dolby Vision. The extended color gamut and 10 bit color standards will probably come next year. The problem, though, is the content will be almost non-existent (even rarer than current 4k content). Is it worth waiting? Not really. It is still too far away and early adopters of this kind of new standard often ends up getting screwed. Is it the future? Yes, but keep in mind that there will always be some new and better thing on the horizon.
5
I know the X800D TV's are very new but any idea when there might be some info on this model.
We have seen it in store already and we will review that particular model in a few weeks. We don't know much about their performances yet.
4
Moving into a new house, and I'm looking for a 50-55", a 60-65" and a 70-80 ", based on room sizes. Feeling overwhelmed by the variety, the salesman in a effort to simplify suggested the 55, 65 and 75" Samsung H7150. Your informative site seems to confirm his suggestion. Would I be correct? Also, he pointed out that all three sizes come in 4K at considerably higher prices. Thoughts?
Yes, the Samsung H7150 is indeed a very good choice. The upgrade to 4k, though, isn't worth it. Stick to the cheaper H7150. It is a great TV.
3
Hello, I just bought the W700b from Best Buy. I am enjoying it so far, but still playing around with the settings. I am a novice, really, when it comes to settings. I was wondering if you could do a review of it so I could try your settings out. I really love your work here. You guys do an absolutely terrific job. Keep it up.
I doubt we will have time to test it this year. There are a lot more models that we want to test before that one. That said, try our settings for the W800B. Most of it should be the same (except for the grayscale calibration).
2
It appears that the x810C does not have the Triluminous display, but the x850C does. Is that correct?
Yes this is correct. This is the 'Wide Color Gamut' test in our reviews.
1
I am torn between the Sony W850c and W800c. Smart features are not important, because I have Apple TV and an Amazon Fire stick. 4k is not important to me as the 1080p picture. Which would give me a better picture, uniformity, motion blur for only TV, movies, and sports?
They're very nearly the same in terms of contrast, black uniformity, and gray uniformity, but the W800C scored better in our motion blur test. You should go for the W800C.
1
I am being offered a replacement TV for my 65" Samsung H6350 (panel issues) and am torn between the Sony W850C and the Samsung J6300. Do you have any recommendation regarding panel quality / life expectancy? Thanks!
The J6300 has better picture overall (particularly in terms of blur), so we recommend taking that. For life expectancy, we can't really tell because they were only released a few months ago.
1
Have you reviewed any of the new Hisense TVs? I was told these were made by Sony.
We will be reviewing Hisense in a couple of months. Hisense is its own brand, and its TVs are not made by Sony.
0
Considering purchasing a Sony X810C (for TV/Netflix; no sports), but I'm confused by Android information. If possible, please clarify the following.
(1) Is the Opera browser pre-installed?
(2) Can a wireless keyboard be used to access web sites?
(3) If not (2), then how easy is it to access websites using the mirror function with an iPad? My wife likes to stream European and Metropolitan opera, which we can do easily with our (old) Samsung.
Opera was not pre-installed on our TV, but it's a quick process to download it from the Google Play Store on the TV.
In answer to your other questions, yes, a keyboard can be connected to the TV. You can also connect a mouse, if you like.
0
This is kind of an off question, but do you know if Sony TVs upsample the audio put into them? For instance, I have a HTPC that runs HDMI out to my TV, which then passes audio via optical to a set of Samsung speakers. What I am wondering is even if the audio is output at 44.1Khz (for music, 48Khz for movies) via WASAPI to avoid upsampling errors, does the TV ruin this when it internally processes and passes the audio to the optical port? Or does it simply reroute the PCM data as is to the optical port?
We don't really have a way to tell what processes the TV does internally. But we have heard aliasing artifacts in our tests using the TV speakers that doesn't seem to be present over the Optical Out of the TV. So most likely the path of the Internal Speakers and Optical Out diverge at some point, but we don't know exactly at what stage.
Questions Have a question?

Before asking a question, make sure you use the search function of our website. The majority of the answers are already here.

:
:
A valid email is required. We answer most questions directly by email to prevent cluttering the site.