MENU

Best 2014 Smart TVs: Comparison and Reviews

Updated Jun 30, 2014 By Cedric Demers

Nowadays, nearly every TV is considered Smart. Not all Smart TVs in 2014 are created equal though, some are really bad. Which is why we are reviewing and comparing the best smart TVs of 2014 in this article.

Keep in mind that these features are usually added as an afterthought. On most TVs, the applications are slow and buggy. You usually have a better user experience with a dedicated device like an Apple TV or a Roku.

What is a Smart TV?
A Smart TV enables you to use apps and browse the internet directly on your television. It is worth it if you do not have already an external device to do that and want to use apps on your TV.

Do I need a Smart TV?

Even though you might not need a smart TV, the vast majority of TVs released in 2014 are smart anyway. Only some entry level TVs are still dumb. Therefore, if you want a good picture quality, you will end up with a smart TV anyway.

That said, not everyone needs a smart television; some only need a television to display the picture. You should consider getting a smart TV if:

  • You want to watch Netflix, browse the web, see YouTube videos, check the weather, etc. all on your television
  • And you don't have already a device that could do the above if you plug it in your TV:
    • Video console (Xbox, PS3, Wii, Xbox One, PS4)
    • HTPC (Home Theater Personal Computer)
    • Entertainment device (Roku box, Apple TV, Chromecast, etc.)
Don't forget that some tasks like browsing the web on a TV isn't as user friendly as on a computer. Typing large amount of text or frequently clicking is awkward with a TV remote (even the special ones).

A Smart TV is really just incorporating existing things you can do with your television directly inside it, instead of using a third party device.

LG Smart TV 2014 (WebOS)

Overall
9.0
Remote
9.0
Design
10
Usability
10
Web Browser
8.0
Extra Features
6.0
Smart TV Our Score
LG LB5800 7.3/10 not WebOS
LG LB6300 7.5/10
LG LB7100
LG LB7200

LG did a complete redesign in 2014 of their smart TV platform after buying WebOS. It has now the prettiest interface of all brands. It is very easy to navigate between apps and the special remote is very useful.

Unfortunately, the web browser is a bit slow and the apps/features are somewhat limited. But if you don't have complex needs, this is the best interface that you can get your hands on.

As for the picture quality of their TVs, check out all the reviews that we did of the LG LED TVs in 2014.

See our full review of LG's 2014 TV platform

Samsung Smart TV 2014

Overall
9.0
Remote
10
Design
9.0
Usability
9.0
Web Browser
9.0
Extra Features
9.0
Smart TV Our Score
Samsung H5203 8.1/10 basic remote
Samsung H5500 8.0/10 basic remote
Samsung H6203 8.1/10 basic remote
Samsung H6350 8.2/10 basic remote
Samsung H6400 8.3/10
Samsung H7150 8.5/10
Samsung H8000 8.2/10
Samsung HU8550 8.2/10
Samsung HU9000

Samsung has been leading the pack in recent years in term of functionality of their Smart TVs. The interface has been simplified in 2014 but it still has the largest selection of apps. Like most TVs, the browser is a bit slow when loading heavy website, but it is fine for most of them.

Samsung TVs also come with the best remote (although not the cheaper H5500 and H6350). It can be used as a pointer to control the cursor, as a microphone for voice commands and even has motion detection.

Most of the features are gadgets that you will only use one time to impress your friends, but it also covers the basic very well.

To know which Samsung smart TV to buy based on the picture quality, read our reviews of the 2014 models.

See our full review of Samsung's 2014 TV platform

Sony Smart TV 2014

Overall
7.0
Remote
7.0
Design
8.0
Usability
8.0
Web Browser
8.0
Extra Features
5.0
Smart TV Our Score
Sony W600B 8.0/10 basic remote
Sony W800B 8.2/10 basic remote
Sony W850B 8.5/10 basic remote
Sony W950B 8.1/10 web cam
Sony X850B
Sony X900B
Sony X950B

Sony's smart TV platform isn't as good as Samsung or LG. The app selection is more limited, the menus are laggy and the interface has a long boot time. The fancy remote (available only on the W950B and up) isn't as good as LG and Samsung, it is basically just a touchpad.

There is a major bug though. If you have a lot of files on your USB drive (even in sub directories), it will take forever to load them. Our USB drive had about 10,000 small files under a sub folder and it took 25 minutes for a movie file placed in root to show up.

That said, if you only plan on using Netflix or Amazon Video, it works.

Sony TVs have a great picture; check out all our 2014 reviews of Sony TVs for more details.

See our full review of Sony's Smart TV platform

Vizio Smart TV 2014

Overall
5.0
Remote
6.0
Design
5.0
Usability
8.0
Web Browser
0.0
Extra Features
0.0
Smart TV Our Score
Vizio E Series 8.1/10
Vizio M Series 8.0/10 QWERTY remote
Vizio P Series 8.2/10 QWERTY remote
Vizio Smart TV 2014

Vizio has a very basic smart TV interface. There is no web browser, so you cannot access the web directly with the TV. You are limited to a selection of apps, via the Yahoo App Store. The common ones are there (Netflix, Youtube, etc).

The remote that comes with the TV is a basic one. On the M and P Series though, there is a full QWERTY keyboard at the back of the remote.

Overall, the smart features are nothing fancy. They work, but don't expect to be blown away by the number of things you can do. For the picture quality of their LED TVs, read our full coverage of their 2014 lineup.

Toshiba Smart TV 2014

Overall
4.0
Remote
5.0
Design
5.0
Usability
8.0
Web Browser
0.0
Extra Features
0.0
Smart TV Our Score
Toshiba L3400U 7.5/10
Toshiba L5400U
Toshiba L7400U
Toshiba Smart TV 2014

Toshiba has the worst platform of all of them. No app store, no web browser. You can only play USB files, use Netflix or YouTube. Their picture quality are not amazing either (see our Toshiba LED TV reviews).

Which apps are on a Smart TV?

Not all televisions brands have the same applications and functionality; it varies a lot. Some brands like LG have a full third party app store where you can even buy games from independent developers. Others come with only a limited set of official apps. You do not necessary need a lot of applications, but make sure the ones that you are planning to use (like Netflix) are there.

Apps Web Browser
LG LG Apps (currently 426 apps, full list here) Yes
Panasonic Viera Connect Apps (currently 159 apps, full list here) Yes
Samsung Samsung Apps (currently 1080 apps, full list here) Yes
Sony Limited set with no app store Yes
Toshiba Limited set with no app store
Vizio Limited set with third party Yahoo Connect TV Apps (currently 207 apps, full list here)

Here is a table comparing the main apps across all smart TV platforms including Roku. This is not the full list thought, if you want an app not listed here go checkout the official list as linked above.

As you can see, now pretty much all main apps are supported on every smart TV, with a few exceptions. Not all smart TVs have a full web browser though.

Table Last Updated: 11/14/2014. If you see any error, email us at errors@rtings.com.

Is a Smart TV better than a standalone box?

Standalone boxes offer a few advantages compared to a smart television. For example, you can play games on an Xbox or PS4 console. A smart TV will always be behind standalone boxes in term of features; especially compared to an HTPC (home theater personal computer) because they are less flexible (you cannot install anything that you want on it). An independent device will always be better than an all-in-one, but depending on your need it might be overkill. A smart television is more than enough if you only want to watch Netflix movies.

Conclusion

Smart TVs contains a lot of features and apps. If you do not already have a device connected to your TV which does this, you will appreciate having a Smart TV. Keep in mind that the software is still young, so some apps are buggy and not user friendly.

The best affordable Smart TV that we tested in 2014 is the Samsung H6350 LED TV.

Questions

Jul 27, 2013
Can i connect my Apple iPad to a Samsung Smart TV?
It depends what you mean by that. There is an iOS app to control your Samsung TV named "Samsung SmartView". But if you want to mirror your iPad or iPhone screen via AirPlay, you need an Apple TV.
127
Apr 12, 2013
Can I get rid of cable if all I want is the local channels? Will I need an antenna or a converter box? I have a Samsung Smart TV.
If all you want to watch is broadcasted local channels, yes you can get rid of cable. You will need an antenna but do not need a converter box. Converter boxes are for old, analog only televisions. Check out this for the list of available channels in your area.
70
Mar 01, 2013
Do smart TVs make good computer (Mac) monitors?
All TVs can make a good computer monitor, smart TV or not. The only requirement is to have a HDMI or DVI input.
45
Sep 24, 2013
I do not plan on buying cable for my new place, but do plan on purchasing a Smart Tv. With that, I understand I must purchase Internet. If Netflix is already programmed on the tv, do I still have to purchase Internet AND pay for a Netflix subscription?
Yes, you need Internet + Netflix subscription + a player (a smart TV in your case).
37
Dec 26, 2012
My vizio smart TV did not come with a qwerty keyboard remote. It just came with a basic remote. Can I use a basic wireless keyboard with it? It's really annoying to use the on screen keyboard.
It depends on the model. Not all Vizio Smart TVs comes with Bluetooth. But all of them supports a wireless USB keyboard.
30
Feb 20, 2013
How can I surf the web on my vizio lcd smart tv?
You can't. Vizio models don't have a full web browser, even in 2014.
29
Sep 07, 2013
Is there any risk of virus on the smart tv's if you go to a website and download or watch something?
No. A Smart TV is even more closed than a smartphone, so there isn't any virus that exist which can get installed on it.
24
Nov 29, 2013
As 21st century consumer, I am concerned about privacy. Do smart tv's come with built in cameras and microphones?
It depends which one, but the top models yes. They have a visual cue to know when they are recording though. For example, on Samsung, the camera pops out from the top of the screen.
21
Jan 03, 2013
I do not have internet at home. If I buy a Smart TV, will I be able to use it without an internet connection? As a shop said, they had to take one customer's TV back to update it then return it to the customer.
If you do not have an internet connection at home, you will not be able to use the Smart TV features; it will only behave as a normal TV. You can update the firmware without an internet connection though, via a USB key. Go to the manufacturer website and put the new firmware on your USB key, then plug it in your TV. The TV should have an option to update itself from a USB key.
20
Aug 29, 2012
I cannot watch Amazon Prime videos with my Hisense Smart TV, why?
The web browser in a television like HiSense doesn't support every website. More specifically, it doesn't support Adobe Flash yet, which is what Amazon uses to play in a browser. Also, Amazon doesn't have yet a standalone app in HiSense Smart TV.
19
Jul 14, 2013
I have a Vizio smart tv. How can I surf the regular web? I have a modem with at&t hard line. Do I need any other devices to surf the web?
You cannot browse the web with only a Vizio TV. You will need to plug into another device like a Google TV or a computer.
18
Jul 03, 2013
We just bought a Samsung smart TV and we do not know how to type in the website that we want to search because we do not know if it requires a computer keyboard plugged to the back. Does it have any feature on the remote that would enable us to do this.
It doesn't require a computer keyboard but it is easier with one. You can still use the on-screen keyboard, but it is really harder to use.
16
May 07, 2013
Is a smart tv payable or free?
It depends on which app. Some are free, some aren't and some require a subscription like Netflix.
15
Dec 02, 2013
Is it better to buy a tv that has built in wi-fi or one that is wi-fi ready and needs a dongle to connect through your wireless?
It doesn't matter, but now most TVs have built in wi-fi anyway.
15
Dec 25, 2012
Can my wifi connected smart TV give internet to my Xbox?
No, a WiFi Smart TV cannot give internet to an Xbox. Even if a TV has both WiFi and a Ethernet port, it cannot serve as a router and it can't give internet to a device via the Ethernet port.
13
Apr 21, 2014
I have a 60" Vizio Smart TV is there any way I can give it Bluetooth capabilities? Reason I ask is because of the following scenario: I want my Samsung Bluetooth Wireless sound bar and subwoofer to pair wirelessly to my Vizio Smart TV. End result I want wireless connection between my sound bar and my tv, is there a way to do this, as I am currently using a Y cable to connect the two?
If your TV doesn't have Bluetooth built-in, then no, or at least not easily. If you really want it though, there are some aux/digital audio to Bluetooth transmitter which could work.
13
Sep 03, 2014
Why are flash players not supported on smart televisions? I ask because we tried watching shows on myabc.com but it said "this device doesn't support adobe flash player", which is needed to watch the shows.
It depends on which brand of smart TV. Some do support flash. LG's WebOS on the other hand doesn't.
13
Nov 28, 2012
Can you access more apps on Roku stand along box than a Samsung tv?
A Samsung TV has way more apps, but Roku has some apps that are not found on a Samsung Smart TV. You can find the full list of Roku's apps (called channels) here.
12
Feb 11, 2013
I have a lot of digital content on my laptop's iTunes (music, videos...). Could I get it all into a smart TV smoothly, or do I need an apple TV for that? I mean: would I be wasting my money buying an apple TV + a Smart TV?
You are better off using an Apple TV. It is possible without it, but it is less straightforward. iTunes does not have a DLNA server feature, so you would need to download a separate server application to have it streamed to your Smart TV.
12
Jul 14, 2013
I am shopping for new TVs and had a question. What is the advantage of getting a smart tv over getting a Google TV set-top box and connecting it to a dumb TV? It's a lot cheaper to get a dumb tv and a set-top box over a smart TV so I was wondering if there is any advantage. Also, if you have a smart TV, can you connect a set-top Google TV to it for enhanced functionality? How does the wifi from my DVD player (I have a DVD player with wifi access), my Google TV box and Smart TV merge together?
Beside having one less box to worry about, there is no real advantage to a smart TV compared to a dumb TV + smart box. On that subject though, do not forget that the manufacturers put the Smart TV functionality on their best TVs, so you kinda indirectly get a better picture quality. Yes, you can use a set up Google TV box on a smart TV. The WiFi won't merge, they are just separate devices. You will have to choose which one will display on the screen.
12
Dec 01, 2013
I plan on purchasing a new tv and want to surf the internet with the browser. What type of television or television plus gadget do I need to do it efficiently? I would like to use a wireless keyboard for efficiency.
If you plan on surfing the web often on a smart TV, you definitely need to buy a wireless keyboard and mouse. This is supported on most (but not all) smart TVs. Some higher end TVs come with a fancy remote. While this is better than a standard remote to navigate, it is nowhere near the mouse/keyboard combo.
9
Nov 19, 2012
How can I get my Smart TV full potential with satellite internet?
You will need to connect your Smart TV to the internet. To do this, you need to have already a router. Depending on your actual TV model, you will either need to connect to it via WiFi, or via an ethernet cable. Once this is done, you should be able to go in your Smart TV menus to have access to all functionality.
8
Sep 05, 2013
I have a Sony bravia smart tv. Can I use apple tv on it, or is it necessary to buy an apple tv so I could use smart functions like browsing the net?
I am not sure I understand your question. You can use the Sony smart TV features without buying an AppleTV. You can also buy one and use it with your TV (or any TV for that matter).
8
May 31, 2014
I have a Samsung smart tv. The place it is situated has not got wifi. What do I need to do to connect the tv?
Either connect it via an Ethernet cable or buy a WiFi router.
8
Feb 09, 2013
I bought the Toshiba Smart TV as it was a good price. Is it possible to still buy an apple TV and use that with the Smart TV to have more options? Also it gets 'stuck' - the remote is aweful to use. Could that be my internet connection, or the TV?
Yes, you can even use an Apple TV on a dumb TV, in the same way you can use an Xbox with any TV. As for your problems, it is the TV. Smart TV apps, mostly on TVs with limited options like Toshiba, are not very stable and buggy. The Apple TV is a lot more stable.
6
Mar 12, 2013
I have a 2012 Panasonic Viera hooked up to the internet via Belkin router. The icons on the TV (Netflix, Twitter, etc) don't highlight when you toggle over them. Any thoughts as to why that may be? How to fix?
It looks like it couldn't connect to the internet. Is it connected via Ethernet or Wifi? If Wifi, make sure you entered the correct password. Additionally, you can verify if the router actually sees your TV by logging in your router (for Belkin, it is usually http://192.168.2.1/).
6
Feb 27, 2014
I am so far behind on the new TVs but it is time for me to catch up to the rest of the world. My projection TV has finally ran its course and I am now in the market for a new TV. This maybe a dumb question but bear with me since I know nothing about Smart TVs. So what I gather from some of the questions above, if I purchase a Smart TV and have WiFi capability, I will no longer need the cable box/DVR I have for my "dumb Tv" through AT&T Uverse?
It depends on what content you watch. A smart TV does not replace all the content available through traditional cable. Most shows can't be found on services like Netflix or Hulu, so you will have to verify for the channels you are watching.
6
Jul 29, 2013
Wireless internet signal is weak in my girl cave, I can barely access my Ipad. I just purchased (yet to be delivered) an LG Smart wifi TV, could this take the place of a Netgear or belkin router so that I can use my Ipad?
No, Smart TVs cannot act as a wireless router. You should get a WiFi repeater to increase the signal strength.
5
Jan 04, 2014
I am in the market for a new tv. I currently have cable with DVR. I will only watch tv on it, but I want to subscribe to netflix or hulu. I have a laptop that I could connect to the new tv. What is the most efficient and least expensive way for me to go?
The least expensive way is definitely to get a dumb TV and connect your laptop to it. If you don't want to plug in your laptop each time, you can also buy a Chromecast for about 30$. It is very limited, but it does support Netflix and Hulu.
5
Jul 06, 2014
Do you have to have an antenna to watch local channels?
Yes, but it is easy to make your own from a coat hanger (google it to find good designs).
5
Feb 14, 2013
I connect to the internet through a 4g wireless usb , do I need to buy any other device to connect to the net with smart tv's with built in wi-fi?
You cannot connect a Smart TV via a 4G USB receiver. You will need to use a 4G-Wifi router, but verify with your internet provider if they support one.
4
Nov 13, 2013
How will I know if my smart tv has built in wifi?
Check the specifications. Nearly all 2013 models have built in wifi now.
4
Dec 25, 2013
We have LG smart tv, Apple TV, Wii, CD player and cable box. How can we plug the Wii in as all the cable spots are taken?
You will need a small device called HDMI splitter, which will select the HDMI input to display based on which one is powered on.
4
Apr 05, 2014
If I buy a smart tv do I have to connect to the internet? I just want to watch tv on it but I do want 120Hz for sports.
Yes, you need the internet if you want to use those features. There is no video source of 120fps for sports (or TV for that matter). The best is 60i but you can turn on motion interpolation on your TV if you want it to be converted to 120.
4
Sep 01, 2014
I just bought my LG smart tv and I can't watch news which website use adobe flash player. What do I need to do?
You just can't. LG's WebOS doesn't support flash based website.
4
Oct 22, 2014
Which brands support Adobe Flash player?
Sony and Samsung. But keep in mind that future updates won't necessarily be supported.
4
Feb 03, 2013
I have a LG 3D TV non smart and want to buy a LG 3D smart blu-ray player. Will I be able to access the internet via the player or must the TV be smart too?
Unlike 3D, the television does not need to be smart if you want to use a smart blu-ray player. Just make sure that a web browser is available on the smart player that you want to buy.
3
May 07, 2013
Is it possible that some smart tv doesn't have a wifi connection or ethernet port?
No, they all at least have an ethernet port.
3
Jul 13, 2013
Are there any Bluetooth keyboards made that work with the Sharp LC-90LE675U?
(I am assuming that you made a typo and you mean the Sharp LC 90LE657U). Yes, 99% of the Bluetooth keyboards will work with it (you do not need to get one from Sharp).
3
Nov 15, 2013
I just bought a Vizio smart tv. My question is how do I tape programs without the use of cable or a VCR player? I was using cable but wish to discontinue this service.
You can't using the Vizio smart TV features. You will need to buy at third party device for that.
3
Dec 01, 2013
What is the best wireless keyboard and mouse to use with Samsung smart TVs for web browsing?
Any bluetooth one will do (assuming your Samsung Smart TV does have bluetooth support). It is more a matter of personal preference, depending on the size/weight that you want.
3
Jan 29, 2014
I am thinking of buying a smart tv. I don't have a mediaplayer or dvd player at home. Would it be better to buy a "dumb" tv and a media player than a smart tv that wouldn't let me play dvds and Blu-ray discs?
Yes, a dumb TV + media player is a great combo. There is also a lot of Smart Blu-ray players which offers the same functionality as the smart TVs.
3
Nov 19, 2014
Can I let someone use my wifi password so they can use their smart tv and will they be able to order movies and such.
Yes.
3
Mar 14, 2013
I purchased a Vizio Smart TV and I want to access the new Red Box subscription but can't figure it out. Can we do this?
No, you cannot at the moment on a Vizio Smart TV alone.
2
Mar 31, 2013
I use the net via my phone which I can plug into my computer to access the net through the phone. Can I also do this on a smart tv?
Most likely no. TVs only accept an internet connection via WiFi or an Ethernet cable. They cannot get access to internet over USB (which is probably how your phone works). However, if you really want to, you could plug your phone into your computer and then your computer into the TV via Ethernet. You will just need to set the computer to act as a router.
2
Apr 06, 2014
We would like to purchase a smart tv for our RV. We really want to access news and sports. Is this possible?
If you have internet in your RV, then yes. However, not all news and sports channels are available.
2
May 05, 2014
I am thinking of getting a smart 3D television, could you please tell me what extras I have to buy with it such as NOW TV, NETFLIX, etc. I subscribe to sky do i need to carry on with sky or just have a basic package.
It all depends on what you want to watch. You will never get as much channels if you cut cable, but it might be enough for you. A good place to start is with Netflix only (+ internet connection) and to add from there.
2
May 25, 2014
I have a very weak internet signal as i live out in the sticks. Will a smart TV work properly with a weak signal?
By weak signal, do you mean a slow internet connection or a weak WiFi signal? A slow connection could be a problem because streaming video requires quite a bit of speed. If you mean a weak WiFi signal, you can just buy a repeater or connect it via an Ethernet cable.
2
Aug 17, 2014
I have a split screen (side by side) when trying to watch 3d movie from cable provider. It is a Samsung TV.
You need to tell the TV what type of 3D it is receiving. Press the 3D button on the remote, and select Side-By-Side.
2
Aug 19, 2014
What operating system does the TV use? And is there storage available for downloading and using XBMC?
Most smart TV manufactures use their own custom OS. For example, LG bought WebOS to put them on their TVs. You can't really change the OS on them.
2
Oct 13, 2014
Can I transmit from a smart DVD player to smart TV without a wire connection through their Wifi abilities?
No.
2
Nov 19, 2014
I wanted to purchase a smart tv. Will I be able to watch youtube videos? Will I be able to watch movies from other sites instantly apart from netflix? Will the Samsung H6350 tv solve my purpose?
Yes, they all have the YouTube app. As for other sites, it depends on the smart TV. There is a full web browser on the H6350 so you can on that one.
2
Nov 20, 2014
I am now using a dumb tv with a converter box and I plan to buy a samsung smart tv 46" or higher. Will I be able to get more channels on the smart tv than I'm getting with the dumb tv and converter box? I do have broadband internet.
Not really. But you could subscribe to Netflix if you want to stream TV shows and movies.
2
Feb 25, 2014
I have a Philips smart TV that depends on the manufacturer's server availability. When the server goes down if I press the smart TV key it shows a message like "server not found. Try later". My question is: does another smart TV brand have this same dependency?
It is the first time that we heard of such issue, so it is probably not common (although we never tested a Philips TV yet).
1
Jun 02, 2014
Is there anyway to plug my HTC one x smartphone to my Vizio 60 inch smart tv to view the internet?
The HTC One X supports MHL, so just buy a MHL cable and it should work.
1
Jul 25, 2014
I am thinking about buying a smart TV and in order to use the netflix and hulu apps, do I need a box of some kind? I have wifi internet already.
If you have WiFi with internet, you are good to go.
1
Aug 26, 2014
I am planning to buy a Samsung smart tv. My internet services is Verizon DSL. I have a modem connected to my telephone. Will I be able to use the smart tv capability? If not, what is the better way to go. I want to use the wireless connection mainly for streaming (Netflix, Hulu etc.)
You need to have a wireless router. Your Verizon modem might have a wireless router built-in already, call Verizon to verify.
1
Oct 23, 2014
I am looking to purchase a Samsung smart TV. In the event I find its streaming capabilities are inadequate, will an aftermarket streaming device such as a roku integrate with the internal device, or will there be compatibility issues?
No compatibility issues at all. Roku works via HDMI, so it is compatible with every TV.
1
Oct 27, 2014
I have a smart tv, model 40S51U. I have Comcast Internet, both wireless and a land line. I have connected the tv via wireless and tried playing Netflix (have a subscription) but it did work. Then, I connected the tv to the land line Comcast cable, I played a movie on Netflix but the tv kept re buffering. Is it possible that the speed of the Internet provided by Comcast is not strong enough? Or the tv is not operating properly?
Your TV is fine. It is most likely that your internet speed is not fast enough.
1
Dec 02, 2014
Can a smart Blu-ray player or any Blu-ray player for that matter work with an old style tube TV? I want to upgrade TVs at some point but for now this is all I have. My regular DVD player is broken and I was going to buy a Blu-ray to replace it with.
Yes, but verify that the Blu-ray player outputs the good connection for your TV, because your TV doesn't accept HDMI.
1
Dec 05, 2014
Do I need a dvd player to play rental dvds on my samsung 55" H6203 hdtv smart tv?
Yes.
1
Mar 22, 2013
Can I get rid of cable because of the amount of apps on smart TVs?
Very unlikely, unless you watch very little cable. The amount of content isn't yet up par with cable.
0
Jul 09, 2013
Can I record Xbox 360 Gameplay with any of the Smart TVs?
No, there are no recording feature in any smart TV as of today. You will need to buy a separate recording unit.
0
Jul 22, 2013
I have an LG Smart TV and want to start downloading and watching downloaded tv series and movies. Am I better to get Apple TV or get Netflix? I also have an iPad and an iPhone.
It really depends on where you want to get your content. Apple TV is really great if you want to access iTunes database of content. Netflix has another business model (subscription based instead of a la carte). It is cheaper if you plan on watching a lot of stuff but the selection is not as wide.
0
Aug 23, 2013
What is the purpose of having a smart tv when you can have an apple tv?
Not much, unless there is some extra functionality that you want like skype. They do about the same thing.
0
Sep 03, 2013
I have a smart tv and am considering buying an apple tv. One apple employee told me I should definitely do it, because then all the billing for netflix, etc. is through itunes. Another employee didn't know what the advantage would be having Apple tv with a smart tv. What do you think?
Don't do it just for Netflix, because you can already do that. The main advantage of the AppleTV vs a smart TV is to access the iTunes database of movies/music as well as interactions with Apple devices (like iPhone or iPad). If you do not own any Apple devices or do not plan on using iTunes, it is not worth it.
0
Feb 02, 2014
I just bought a Samsung Smart tv and a Samsung Smart Blu-ray. Do I need to upgrade my basic High Speed Internet, I have a Apple Aiport Express Router?
An internet speed of 2-3 Mbit download should be more than enough for streaming normal HD content.
0
Mar 31, 2014
I am having an LG smart tv but don't have 3D built-in, is there any way I can install 3D in it?
No, you can't add 3D.
0
Apr 02, 2014
I have a vizio tv, and a vizio streaming box. But no internet. Will the box still work?
No, it needs internet for most of its features.
0
Jul 21, 2014
I have no internet. What is the cheapest way to get smart tv working?
You do need internet, there is no way around it.
0
Aug 01, 2014
Can i connect my ps3 to any smart tv?
Yes, even non-smart TVs.
0
Aug 04, 2014
What is the difference when some say smart tv and others only say wifi?
Some TVs don't have apps, but still can connect to a DLNA server on your network to stream content.
0
Aug 24, 2014
I have a Linux server with media tomb as the back end streamer. Is the Sony W850B and Samsung's H7150 and H6350 able to connect and play my local video content?
Yes, they all support UPnP (although we haven't tried it).
0
Oct 12, 2014
If I have a smart tv, is the youtube videos free?
Assuming you have an internet connection, yes.
0
Oct 20, 2014
I need a tv that has bluetooth built in along with wi-fi, takes a keyboard and mouse so I can surf the web. Does such a tv exist?
Yes, but few have bluetooth. Nearly all TVs accept USB wireless keyboard/mouse though.
0
Nov 19, 2014
I am so confused. I am buying a Samsung 3D Smart TV H7150. I do not currently have internet. I understand I will need internet for the TV but I also want to use the internet for my WI-FI printer, laptop and Nook. What exactly do I need to tell an internet provider that I want? And how much speed and data do I need to get? Thank you very much!
For streaming HD videos, you need at least a speed of 3 Mbps. As for the amount of data, it depends on how often you will stream videos. 25-50 GB should be fine for light usage. If you stream multiple hours a day though, you will need a lot more.
0
Nov 24, 2014
Will I get a better wifi signal playing ps4 online with a smart tv?
No, it doesn't change anything.
0
Nov 24, 2014
Buying a 50"-60" smart tv to replace an old model. I want to access photo files from my desktop, so any smart tv should do that, right? I need Adobe flash player, so your info says LG is not an option. I want to surf the web. Is Vizio still not an option? Apparently, I should look for a deal on Samsung, unless something has changed. Thanks!
Every smart TVs can access pictures from your PC, but you need to enable DLNA on your PC. You can't surf the web on Vizio TVs. Indeed, Samsung is your best choice, but Sony TVs should also support your needs (although they are slower and more difficult to use).
0
Nov 24, 2014
I have never dealt with a smart tv. What tv do I need and what gadgets will I need?
A smart TV is just like a normal TV, but with apps on it. You don't need to use the apps if you don't want. If you do want to use them, you just need to have an internet connection.
0
Nov 29, 2014
Any wifi and bluetooth tv available?
All smart TVs have wifi now, but very few have Bluetooth, only the high end ones.
0
Dec 01, 2014
I have a Samsung dumb TV HLN4365W that has only DVI. Is there a way to connect Roku or Chromcast to this older TV using DVI? I also have a Sony dumb TV KDL-26M3000 with HDMI. My understanding is that Roku and Chromcast will work with this TV. Is that correct? Thanks.
You can use a female HDMI to male DVI adapter, like this one. And yes, it should also work on your old Sony.
0
Dec 01, 2014
I'm in need of a new tv and prefer to purchase a dumb tv (due to privacy issues) and connect a smart blu-ray for nexflix and hulu. Which is the best LED dumb tv and best blu-ray player to purchase?
Dumb TVs are now only in the low end tier. You will not get a great picture quality from them. If you are worried about privacy, just don't connect the smart TV to a Wifi. But doesn't connecting a smart blu-ray go against your privacy stance? It is basically the same software on them as the TVs.
0
Dec 05, 2014
Does the Samsung H5203 come with Bluetooth capability, so you can use a wireless keyboard/mouse?
No Bluetooth. But you can use a USB wireless keyboard/mouse if you want.
0
Dec 05, 2014
I have a Vizio smart TV. It doesn't have apps for HBO Go or Showtime. Will a Roku work with my TV, so I will be able to get more apps?
Yes.
0
Dec 06, 2014
Can I watch local channels on Apple tv without subscription?
Not really, but you can connect an antenna to your TV for free over-the-air channels.
0
Dec 09, 2014
I plan on buying a smart tv for my parents. They do have Internet and wifi. They also both have smart phones that they like watching videos on. Would they be able to stream or connect to a smart tv from their phones and how does that work?
It depends what phones they have and which TV. If they have iPhones, they need an Apple TV. For android, it depends which model because there isn't a standard way to do it.
0
Dec 16, 2014
My condo association requires that we pay for cable. It comes through a cable box supplied by the company. I want to buy a smart TV because I need a new tv anyway to watch Netflix and so on. Since I am still paying for cable anyway, will I be able to use the cable box with my smart TV just like 'normal' for the channels the cable company offers?
Of course. A smart TV is just like any normal TV.
0
Dec 17, 2014
Can you watch cable tv shows on a smart tv and or with the Amazon smart stick?
It depends which shows and which service you are using. You will most likely need to subscribe to Netflix or Amazon Videos. But even those services don't have every TV shows.
0
Dec 19, 2014
I have a Sony smart TV and also have Apple TV. When I try to watch Netflix on the Sony, it constantly "hangs up" and needs to be re-started. I do not experience the same problem when using Apple TV, which is connected to the Sony. Both use the same wireless internet connection. Why is there a difference in how well Netflix works on the 2 devices?
It is a different software. Apps on smart TVs are always more buggy than third party device like the Apple TV.
0
Have a question?

Ask your question here, or send us directly an email at advices@rtings.com. We will help you find the best television for your own needs and budget.

Due to the high volume of questions received, we no longer accept questions outside the United States. Thank you for your understanding. Also, before asking for a recommendation, make sure you read our recommendations by size or our recommendations by price range as well as use the search function of our website.