MENU
Rtings
FIND YOUR TV

Samsung F6300 LED TV Review

Reviewed Aug 20, 2013 By Cedric Demers
This television has been discontinued.
It was replaced by the Samsung H6350

If you do not want 3D, the Samsung F6300 LED TV is a great choice. Besides its narrow viewing angle, it is a well-rounded LED TV. If you do not need the Smart TV interface though, you should opt for the FH6030 instead.

7.9
Overall
  • Very good motion handling for an LED TV. You will see little amount of blur in video games.
  • Good contrast. The blacks are deep even in a dimmed room.
  • Limited amount of reflections. It can also get very bright, so it will work great in a living room during the day.
  • Average input lag, but it won't be noticeable for the majority of gamers.
  • Very narrow viewing angle. It is fine if you sit directly in axis. If you have some viewers on the side though, they will see a slight discoloration and lower contrast.
Samsung F6300
Overall
7.9
Dark Room
8.8
Bright Room
9.2
Video Games
6.9
32" UN32F6300
MSRP: $800 Out of stock Amazon
40" UN40F6300
MSRP: $1050 Out of stock Amazon
46" UN46F6300
MSRP: $1350 Out of stock Amazon
50" UN50F6300
MSRP: $1600 Out of stock Amazon
55" UN55F6300 Reviewed
MSRP: $2000 Out of stock Amazon
60" UN60F6300
MSRP: $2400 Out of stock Amazon
65" UN65F6300
MSRP: $3100 Out of stock Amazon
75" UN75F6300
MSRP: $6000 Out of stock Amazon

Design

Borders
Samsung F6300 Borders

0.95" (2.4 cm)

Thickness
Samsung F6300 Thickness

1.38" (3.5 cm)

Dark Room

Samsung F6300 Dark scene
Black: 0.040 cd/m2
White: 98.27 cd/m2
Contrast: 2456 : 1

As with most Samsung TVs, the F6300 has great blacks. It is a good choice for watching TV at night or in a dark room.

Viewing angle: 20 °

Unfortunately, as soon as you are watching the F6300 from an angle, it loses a lot of its color uniformity. If you have viewers all around the TV, go for an LG TV instead, like the LA6200.

Samsung F6300 Uniformity

It has a slightly better uniformity than the average LED TV.

Bright Room

Samsung F6300 Dark scene in a bright room
Reflection: 2.6 %

Its semi-matte display is great for rooms with windows during the day.

Samsung F6300 Bright scene in a bright room
Max white: 278.7 cd/m2

It performs really good under lights.

Video Games

There is very little amount of blur on the F6300. It is also equipped with motion interpolation and 24p playback, which is useful for movies.

6.4
Samsung F6300 Input lag
Input lag: 62.5 ms

The F6300 has an average input lag.

Software

Side inputs
Samsung F6300 Side inputs

3 HDMI
3 USB
1 RF In

Rear inputs
Samsung F6300 Rear inputs

1 HDMI
1 Ethernet
1 Component In
1 Composite In
1 Digital Audio Out (Optical)
1 Headphone Out

Remote
Samsung F6300 Remote

Misc

Pixels
Samsung F6300 Pixels

The television was provided by BestCost.ca

Alternatives

Conclusion

The picture quality of the Samsung F6300 LED TV is very good, no matter the amount of lights in your room. It also has a lot of extra features including a smart TV interface and motion interpolation. If you do not need those, you can save a bit of money by going for a lower model like the F5500 or the FH6030. The only negative about this TV is its narrow viewing angle.

Questions

Nov 28 2013
Our calibration settings for the F6300, as requested by another question.
Picture Mode: Movie
Color Temperature: Warm 2
Backlight: 6
Brightness: 45
Contrast: 95
Color: 50
Tint: 50
Red Offset: 24
Green Offset: 25
Blue Offset: 24
Red Gain: 19
Green Gain: 25
Blue Gain: 26
All processing options turned off
60
Oct 10 2013
For your review of the F6300 what panel version did it indicate on the back for example TSO1, TUO2? It appears TU02 is the newest revision Samsung is using in mainstream models for 40" and 46" sizes.
55" TH01
19
Sep 19 2013
I recently purchased a Samsung 40" un40fh6030. I have 14 days to return it if I want. I don't need 3D. I would like a smart TV. In real world use, will you see the picture quality difference between the FH6030 and the F6300 model?
No. They have the same picture quality. The difference that you can see in our pictures is due to the variance of the production line, and it happened that our FH6030 had a slightly better panel than the F6300. It is not really noticeable beside the number that we measured. The F6300 is thinner and edge-lit, so the uniformity of the backlight is slightly worse though.
6
Nov 27 2013

1) I just exchanged my Sony KDL32W650A for a Samsung UN40F6300 because I had no control over the MotionFlow but I LOVED the picture the Sony produced. I'm having a really hard time calibrating my Samsung so could you tell me your calibration settings you used on the UN40F6300 please?

2) Also, I just read your review for the Samsung FH6030 and the F5500 and they scored better overall than the F6300 (I really did not like seeing the lower contrast score on the F6300 compared to the other two) so I was wondering if one of the two would be a better choice over the F6300 for games and bluray and if I should exchange mine since I have about a month to do so? (BTW, I've checked and the Panel on my Samsung is a TU02, I don't know if that changes anything.)

3) Lastly, does it matter which HDMI input you use when you rename it "PC" to reduce lag? (I have my Yamaha Receiver hooked to HDMI 2 right now for the ARC when playing stuff from USB ports) Thank you so much for your time, it really does help me making a smarter, more informed choice.

1) Samsung defaults settings are usually more off than Sony. We will create a new question to post the calibration settings that we used, to not surcharged this answer.

2) The difference is within the variance of the same LED panel, especially for this price range (where the variance is bigger). You can consider all of them to have the same panel. It depends of course on the panel lottery and which panel you end up with.

3) From what I recalled, some inputs can't be set to PC, but besides that it shouldn't matter.

5
Apr 29 2013
I do not have internet but is the 40F6400 a better tv the the 40F6300 the price difference is only $100 ; would both be the same in picture quality as one has micro dimming and wide colour enhancer plus and 480 cmr and its says the 3D tv has better pictures processor then the 2 D one ; also I seem not to be able to get the 40f6400 in canada right now but live in a border city and can get one in the USA
Most likely you will not be able to tell the difference unless they are side to side. The difference is very minimal, so it depends more if it is worth 100$ for you (depending on how you value that amount of money).
3
Jan 26 2014
I seem to find different answers to the question of whether or not the Samsung UN55F6300 has a headphone jack. You note there is a "headphone out" but could you tell where that is on the "Rear Inputs" visual you show above?
The output labeled 'Audio Out' is a standard 3.5mm audio connector.
3
Jul 15 2014
I have a couple questions, 1) Here in my country, I'm living right now outside U.S., a brand new 55" F6400 cost $2,000, I have the chance of buy a brand new 46" F6300 for $875, unfortunately the 2014 H series isn't available here at the moment. So, I'm stuck at the moment with the F series... My question is, should I buy the 46" F6300 since the 55" F6400 cost $1125 more and I think a difference of just 10" and the overrated 3D of smart tv's don't worth to pay more than $1K since you said that the besides the 3D function the F6300 and F6400 models are almost the same thing or should I wait until November - December to get a H Series Smart Tv? 2) I know that you already said that the F6300 model doesn't has bluetooth but since it has USB connections, the Logitech Wireless Touch Keyboard K400 with Built-In Multi-Touch Touchpad would work with this tv? Thanks in advance and I'll be waiting on your replay.
3
May 28 2013
Would a wireless keyboard work with the F6300?
No, it doesn't have bluetooth. Get the F6400 if you want that feature.
2
Nov 24 2013
I just bought the Vizio M471i-A2 and I'm not utterly impressed with image quality. I just found this samsung f6300 on amazon for the same price.. Do you consider the image quality on the samsung to be better or equal to the vizio? This TV will used primarily for gaming on a ps4. Blur and input lag are important factors.
We haven't tested that Vizio. That being said, in this price range, LEDs don't really get any better than the F6300, especially for motion handling. Therefore, if you end up unhappy with your F6300, you will either need to spend more money or switch over to a plasma instead.
1
Dec 29 2013
Can the un46f6300 take a wireless keyboard?
No, it doesn't have bluetooth. Get the UN46F6400 instead.
0
Jan 25 2014
Should there be lights shining out of the back of the tv?
It depends how much light. Some TVs have a little bit of leakage but it is usually not a problem.
0
Feb 24 2014
The 32" Samsung F5500 is like $200 cheaper than this model. The only difference that I see is that the F6300 has a 120Hz refresh rate. Is it worth spending $200 more for this feature?
It depends on your needs. The F6300 has 2 features not found on the F5500: the soap opera effect and the 24p playback. Most people don't like the soap opera effect, but the 24p playback is really useful for movies. If you will only play video games on it though, both features are useless so go for the F5500.
0
Mar 09 2014
Which model Samsung is the best for watching movies (Blu-ray included), Samsung UN40F5500 or the UN40F6300?
The UN40F6300 because the UN40F5500 does not support 24p playback. This result in judder when watching Blu-ray movies, especially on panning shots.
0
Apr 13 2014
I bought the UN55F6300 and soon found that the jack labelled "audio out" is actually what we used to call "line out". You can plug headphones or powered speakers in but you will not be able to adjust the volume using the TV remote. It is really frustrating. I am seeking a solution to this problem. For example is there a compatible "sound bar" that will provide an old fashioned headphone jack?
The best solution is to use an external DAC (Digital to Analog Converter), via the digital optical audio out connection. This gives the best sound quality and gives you full control of the sound. The quality that way is also better than if the TV provided a real audio out (because the DAC inside the TVs are usually not that good).
0
Jun 09 2014
Where do I find the setting for motion and 24p?
Under Picture Options. Film Mode is the name for 24p. Auto Motion Plus for motion interpolation.
0
Jun 11 2014
Does it really play in 24p? Every movie I seen in this tv has some interpolation and I can't find how to turn this off. Film mode ON, Auto Motion Plus OFF and Game Mode also OFF.
Yes, it is really 24p. Check out our slow motion video for proof. Auto Motion Plus set to Off disable all interpolation. Film mode is the 24p feature. Make sure that your device/media outputs a real 24p though.
0
Jul 04 2014
I am having UN32f5500 led tv and have a PS4 console for gaming so should I use game mode for gaming on this tv or normal mode as it says that it will degrade graphics when turning on gaming mode. Also may I know specific input lag for both game mode and without game mode turned on ?
We haven't measured the input lag in game mode on this TV, but is should be around 40ms. Game mode doesn't degrade the picture quality. It just deactivates a bunch of options. The warning is there just to let you know that you can't use all the options like before.
0
Aug 03 2014
Is the Samsung F6300 75" 120 hertz or 240 hertz ?
120Hz.
0

Related questions from other pages

Have a question?

Ask your question here, or send us directly an email at advices@rtings.com. We will help you find the best television for your own needs and budget.

Due to the high volume of questions received, we no longer accept questions outside the United States. Thank you for your understanding. Also, before asking for a recommendation, make sure you read our recommendations by size or our recommendations by price range as well as use the search function of our website.