MENU
Rtings
FIND YOUR TV

Samsung F5500 LED TV Review

Reviewed Oct 01, 2013 By Cedric Demers
This television has been discontinued.
It was replaced by the Samsung H5500

The Samsung F5500 LED TV is very good for the price. It has about the same picture quality as the F6300 or FH6030 even though it is only 60Hz. If you do not need motion interpolation or 3D and want the Smart TV features, you should opt for this TV instead.

8.1
Overall
  • Good semi-matte finish which reduces the reflections in a bright room.
  • Very good picture quality for the price, both in term of contrast and motion handling.
  • No 24p playback, which could be an issue for people watching a lot of Blu-rays.
  • Very narrow viewing angle. The picture quality fades when you are not in axis.
Samsung F5500
Overall
8.1
Dark Room
9.2
Bright Room
9.5
Video Games
7.1
32" UN32F5500
MSRP: $580 Out of stock Amazon
40" UN40F5500
46" UN46F5500 Reviewed
50" UN50F5500

Design

Borders
Samsung F5500 Borders

0.75" (1.9 cm)

Thickness
Samsung F5500 Thickness

1.9" (4.8 cm)

Dark Room

Samsung F5500 Dark scene
Black: 0.022 cd/m2
White: 99.7 cd/m2
Contrast: 4532 : 1

The F5500 is really good in a dimmed room. Its blacks are deep for an LED.

Viewing angle: 25 °

The only downside of the F5500 LED TV is its narrow viewing angle. As soon as you are of axis, a discoloration appears. If you need a wide viewing angle, you will be better off with the LG LN5700.

Samsung F5500 Uniformity

For an LED TV, its screen uniformity is good.

Bright Room

Samsung F5500 Dark scene in a bright room
Reflection: 2.2 %

Even with the lights on or windows, the F5500 is pretty good with little amount of reflections.

Samsung F5500 Bright scene in a bright room
Max white: 285.5 cd/m2

Almost no reflections is visible (except for the direct light of course) when displaying a brighter scene.

Video Games

The F5500 has a low amount of motion blur for an LED TV of its price. It doesn't support 24p playback or motion interpolation though.

7.3
Samsung F5500 Input lag
Input lag: 54.2 ms

The input lag is average, but most people will not notice it.

Software

Side inputs
Samsung F5500 Side inputs

2 HDMI
2 USB
1 RF In

Rear inputs
Samsung F5500 Rear inputs

1 HDMI
1 Ethernet
1 Component In
1 Composite In
1 Digital Audio Out (Optical)
1 Headphone Out

Remote
Samsung F5500 Remote

Misc

Pixels
Samsung F5500 Pixels

The television was provided by BestCost.ca

Alternatives

Conclusion

If you do not need a wide viewing angle or fancier features, buy this TV. The Samsung F5500 LED TV has a very good picture quality both in a dark room and a bright room.

Questions

Oct 24 2013
I just read about the panel lottery and the fact that Samsung uses different panels for same tv models. The UN50F5500 that I can buy has a AH02 panel. Apparently this is a SHARP panel that may not have the same characteristics than the ones made by SAMSUNG. Could you perhaps offer some insight into this? Should I buy this model with the AH02 panel?
All manufacturers uses different panels for the same TV models, but some do it more than others. The lower models are even more prone to this. Also, even with the same panel there is some variability. This is unfortunate but its what keeps the price low. The model that we tested had a TS01 panel, so we cannot really comment on the AH02 panel.
6
Oct 28 2013
Which model Samsung has the best picture and is the best for gaming, Samsung UN40F5500 or the UN40F6300? Need one for lowest input lag and very good picture for movies.
They have the same picture quality, the only differences are motion interpolation and different bezel. Get whichever is cheaper.
5
May 19 2014
What's the difference between UNxxF5500 and UNxxH5500?
Also does the input lag difference between F6400 and F5500 is significant? I plan on buying this TV for my gaming TV.
1) Only bezel change and the Smart TV interface update.
2) No it is insignificant. Make sure to set the input type to PC though, and you will get an even lower one.
4
Oct 26 2013
Does the samsung UN40F5500 has direct led or edge led? Kind of confused since I found on cnet that this is a edge led and this website says its a direct led.
It is edge led, it was an error in our table which has been fixed now. Thanks for pointing that out.
1
Mar 07 2014
You guys upgraded the grade of this TV. Since I've been reading your site it was given a 7.9. Now you call it a 8.0 TV. Why?
We constantly update our scores to make sure they are consistent across all the models that we reviewed. In this case, we changed the weight of the factors a little bit differently to better represent the TV.
1
Oct 28 2013
How do you compare sound quality of Samsung F5500 with LG LN5400?
Unfortunately, we do not test sound quality yet on TVs. Maybe next year.
0
Oct 28 2013
Which led tv 40 inch has the best black levels for horror movies or gaming? I keep backing out from edge led tv since they seem to do black levels the worse. Would direct led tv have better black levels or should i just get a normal lcd tv?
The way the LEDs are arranged at the back of the screen doesn't really affect the black level (local dimming besides, of course). Instead, it affect the uniformity of the screen. The technology of the LCD panel is what matter most for blacks (IPS, S-PVA, etc). As a rule of thumb, Samsung TVs are really good in this regard.
0
Nov 28 2013
F5500 has dual core processor too right?
Yes, it was an error in our table. It is fixed now, thanks for pointing it out!
0
Dec 18 2013
The black luminance is mentioned as 0.02 cd/m2 at a brightness of 99.7 cd/m2 meaning it has better blacks than F5500 plasma. Was any feature (micro dimming, local dimming etc) turned on to achieve this black level? Also how do I know that the 46" model selling India is made of this TS01 panel? If its going to be AH02 panel, it won't probably have the same blacks right?
No, all features were turned off. Note however that as soon as you have an angle, the black luminance increases a lot on this LED TV (contrary to the plasma model). Unfortunately, we are not aware of which panels this TV comes in the different countries.
0
Dec 18 2013
1) In a pitch black dark room, while watching movies with more black levels (like dark knight), which would look great? F5500 LED (with 90 cd/m2) or F5500 Plasma? 2)On a full black scene, which will look good? (does the F5500 LED's backlight or clouding be noticeable?)
In a complete dark room, sitting directly in front of the TV, it is a close call. On ours, the backlight uniformity issues of the LED was not really noticeable on dark scenes (but this varies per unit). As soon as you are at an angle though, the plasma wins by far.
0
Dec 19 2013
Is this model good for gaming and watching sports?
Yes, the motion handling is very good for an LED in this price range.
0
Dec 20 2013
Is there any difference on image quality between the F5500 and the F5000? I will use the TV to play games and watch movies.
No there isn't.
0
Jan 14 2014
If I understand your comparison table correctly, you found the F5500 to be superior to the F6300 in just about every way (aside from motion handling), correct? Does that mean I could reasonably expect the F5500 to look better, just with a bit more ghosting?
For the actual unit that we tested, yes our F5500 LED was slightly better than our F6300. However, the differences are pretty minor and within the variance of a same model. Therefore, we consider both TVs to have the same exact picture quality.
0
Jan 19 2014
I bought this TV a few months ago and there is a very high flashlighting / clouding in the TV. Its nearly impossible to see dark scenes in dimly lit room. Please help!
Extreme cases of backlight uniformity issues are usually covered within the warranty. Call Samsung and get it replaced.
0
Jan 26 2014
I don't know what 24p is. I'm about to buy this TV and get rid of my LG LN5300. I would like to know how the lack of 24p affects movie watching.
Supporting 24p means playing 24 frames per second content without any judder. Each frame is displayed for the same exact time. This is mostly noticeable on panoramic shots or when an object is moving at a fixed speed. More info can be found at the end of this article. If you watch a lot of Blu ray movies, it is worth it.
0
Feb 02 2014
What is the calibration settings of the F5500 that you used?
The result of our calibration:
Picture Mode: Movie
Color Temperature: Warm 2
Backlight: 6
Brightness: 46
Contrast: 95
Color: 50
Tint: 50
White balance:
Red Offset: 25
Green Offset: 25
Blue Offset: 25
Red Gain: 25
Green Gain: 25
Blue Gain: 35
All processing options turned off
0
Apr 03 2014
How can I get my Apple iPad to play on my Samsung 32 inch smart tv?
The best way is via AirPlay with an Apple TV. Otherwise, you can connect it via a special adapter.
0
Apr 04 2014
I just bought an LG 42ln5400 tv. I want a TV for gaming and Sports, especially football. I noticed a decent amount of interference while watching basketball and football games while the players were moving. I'm strongly considering getting the Samsung F5500 but was afraid of it only being 60hz. Do you think the Samsung F5500 will be better suited for me? I'm a perfectionist when it comes to picture quality but also don't want to jeopardize the video game lag.
In the one that we tested, the Samsung F5500 LED had less motion blur than the LG LN5400. The refresh rate doesn't really matter. If you watch a lot of moving footage, you will appreciate the difference.
0
Apr 07 2014
I just bought and LG ln5400. I have Direct Tv and have been watching some movies on HBO, Cinemax and Fx. I've noticed the flesh on the faces seem to get distorted(seems like it's moving) or get lines through them when the scenes have very little action in them. What causes this? Is it the true motion feature on the LG LN5400 that I can't turn off? Will the Samsung F5000, 5500 or 6300 have the same problem? This problem really annoys me and I am strongly considering returning the TV.
What are your settings? We haven't seen this effect on ours (we set the mode to Expert1). This TV does have slightly more blur than the equivalent Samsung LED TVs though.
0
May 19 2014
I have two questions about this TV:
1- You can only obtain a good picture image when facing directly the center of the screen? I've been seeing a lot of complaints on this regards
2- I've seen other reviews with a different input lag to this TV model, something in between 27 msec and 30 msec. You guys gave a 54.2 msec. What's up with that?
1) Yes. Like all Samsung TVs, there is a loss of saturation and contrast at an angle.
2) In our review, we didn't put the TV in PC mode, which is why we had a higher input lag than others.
0
Jul 13 2014
Are UN/UE/UA panels the same? The one I am willing to buy is a UA32F5500, should I expect the same quality?
As far as we know, yes.
0
Aug 25 2014
How do you compare picture quality of Samsung F5000 with LG LN5400? (Assuming that F5000 and F5500 have the same picture quality). In the reviews: LG LN5400 was 7.3; Samsung F5500 was 8.1. Which do you recommended for a bright room?
Get the Samsung. It reflects less light and has a far better contrast ratio. The only reason to go for the LG LN5400 is if you want a wide viewing angle, but it comes as the cost of a lower picture quality when directly in front.
0

Related questions from other pages

Have a question?

Ask your question here, or send us directly an email at advices@rtings.com. We will help you find the best television for your own needs and budget.

Due to the high volume of questions received, we no longer accept questions about specifics models outside of the United States. Thank you for your understanding. Also, before asking for a recommendation, make sure you read our recommendations by size or our recommendations by price range as well as use the search function of our website.