MENU
Rtings
FIND YOUR TV

LG LN5700 LED TV Review

Reviewed Aug 02, 2013 By Cedric Demers
This television has been discontinued.
It was replaced by the LG LB5800

The LG LN5700 LED TV has the same screen as the LN5400, but is equipped with Smart TV features and motion interpolation. The viewing angle is great, but the contrast and black level is sub-par.

7.1
Overall
  • Great viewing angle for an LED TV.
  • Average amount of motion blur for an LED.
  • Average input lag. Most gamers will not notice it.
  • Low contrast. The blacks will appear slightly gray in a dimmed room.
LG LN5700
Overall
7.1
Dark Room
6.0
Bright Room
8.3
Video Games
6.0
32" 32LN5700
MSRP: $550 Out of stock Amazon
39" 39LN5700
MSRP: $700 Out of stock Amazon
42" 42LN5700 Reviewed
MSRP: $900 Out of stock Amazon
47" 47LN5700
MSRP: $1100 Out of stock Amazon
50" 50LN5700
55" 55LN5700

Design

Borders
LG LN5700 Borders

0.78" (2 cm)

Thickness
LG LN5700 Thickness

3.16" (8 cm)

Dark Room

LG LN5700 Dark scene
Black: 0.140 cd/m2
White: 100.2 cd/m2
Contrast: 716 : 1

The contrast on the LN5700 isn't good, which results in grayish blacks. This TV isn't the best option in this price range for a dark room (the Samsung F5500 performs a lot better).

Viewing angle: 37 °

The viewing angle on the LN5700 is really good, without any discoloration. Half the maximum contrast was present at 37°.

LG LN5700 Uniformity

The uniformity is average for an LED.

Bright Room

LG LN5700 Dark scene in a bright room
Reflection: 3.3 %

The LN5700 is better suited for a bright room. The amount of glare is slightly higher than average, but it shouldn't bother you unless you have a lot of windows in your room.

LG LN5700 Bright scene in a bright room
Max white: 235 cd/m2

The details are more visible with a bright scene.

Video Games

The motion blur is slightly worse than the average LED.
It supports 24p playback without judder and it also has the option to turn on the soap opera effect.

5.9
LG LN5700 Input lag
Input lag: 66.6 ms

The input lag is more than the similar LN5400, but it shouldn't be noticed by the majority of gamers.

Software

Side inputs
LG LN5700 Side inputs

3 HDMI
3 USB

Rear inputs
LG LN5700 Rear inputs

1 RF In
1 Component In
1 Composite In
1 Ethernet In
1 Digital Audio Out (Optical)
1 Headphone Out

Remote
LG LN5700 Remote

Misc

Pixels
LG LN5700 Pixels

The television was provided by BestCost.ca

Alternatives

Conclusion

The LG LN5700 LED TV is basically the same as the cheaper LN5400, but with a smart TV interface. If you do not need this, save yourself some money and get the cheaper LN5400. Both have the same picture quality, which means they perform good in a bright room but not so much in a dark one.

Questions

Oct 14 2013
I've tried Trumotion at various settings but the tv still shows 60hz on a channel when I press the info button on the remote. How do I get 120hz?
This is normal. The TV is displaying the input frame rate, not the interpolated frame rate. It will never display 120Hz on the input, because it doesn't accept such signal.
16
Aug 26 2013
What type of media (video/audio) formats can the LG TV LN5700 series read?
Here is a table which is also valid for the LA6200.
ExtensionCodec
.asf
.wmv
VideoVC-1 Advanced Profile, VC-1 Simple and Main Profile
AudioWMA Standard, WMA 9 Professional
.divx
.avi
VideoDivX3.11, DivX4, DivX5, DivX6, XViD, H.264/AVC, Motion Jpeg, MPEG-4 Part 2
AudioMPEG-1 Layer I, II, MPEG-1 Layer III (MP3), Dolby Digital, Dolby Digital Plus, LPCM, ADPCM, DTS
.mp4
.m4v
.mov
VideoH.264/AVC, MPEG-4 Part 2
AudioAAC, MPEG-1 Layer III (MP3)
.3gp
.3g2
VideoH.264/AVC, MPEG-4 Part 2
AudioAAC, AMR-NB, AMR-WB
.mkvVideoH.264/AVC
AudioHE-AAC, Dolby Digital
.ts
.trp
.tp
.mts
.m2ts
VideoH.264/AVC, MPEG-2, VC-1
AudioMPEG-1 Layer I, II, MPEG-1 Layer III (MP3) Dolby Digital, Dolby Digital Plus, AAC
.vobVideoMPEG-1, MPEG-2
AudioDolby Digital, MPEG-1 Layer I, II, DVD-LPCM
.mpg
.mpeg
VideoMPEG-1, MPEG-2
AudioMPEG-1 Layer I, II, MPEG-1 Layer III(MP3), AAC
.mp3Bit rate32 Kbps - 320 Kbps
Sample freq.16 kHz - 48 kHz
SupportMPEG1, MPEG2, Layer2, Layer3
11
Aug 12 2013
I have a 42", how do I turn off the trumotion? It makes everything look like a soap opera.
Deactivate the option TruMotion in Picture->Picture Options.
8
Sep 09 2013
If you were to pick a tv for gaming on an Xbox, would you go with the LN5400 or LN5700? Would an input lag under 75ms be noticeable? Also, besides the smart interface, does the LN5700 offer anything that would make it a better buy over the LN5700 (in terms of gaming and occasional movies)?
I would go for the LN5400. The smart TV features on the LN5700 are mostly redundant if you have a console, because a lot of them can be also found on a console (like netflix). An input lag under 50 ms is not noticeable for the majority of people, but hardcore gamers will appreciate the lower input lag on the LN5400. Save your money and go for the LN5400.
3
May 03 2013
I am very confused. Is this a legitimate 120hz refresh rate panel? I see contradictory information everywhere.
Yes for models 42" and higher. The 32" and 39" are only 60Hz.
2
Nov 08 2013
For the LG 50LN5700, how do I reduce motion blur for gaming? Are there settings that I can use?
Not really. The TruMotion setting does help with the perceived amount of blur, but it can't be used in video games because it adds too much input lag.
1
Jan 22 2014
What is the difference between a plasma and an LED TV?
Check out our article on this subject.
1
Sep 08 2013
I would like to get this over the LN5400. Does interpolation make a difference in video games? Also, is there a way to reduce the input lag to make it comparable to the LN5400?
Interpolation need to be turned off when gaming because it increase the input lag too much. In our tests, the lowest input lag that we got for the LN5700 was 67ms. We only spend around 5-10 min reducing it though, so it is possible (but not very likely) that you get a lower one if you try harder than us.
0
Sep 19 2013
Which model would be better for watching sports (NHL hockey) or playing games, the LN5400 or LN5700? I really like the low input lag of the LN5400, but I am curious how a model with the same panel and a better dual core processor can not at least match the same low input lag?
If you do not want Smart TV features, just get the LN5400. The problem for the input lag is most likely the Smart TV features. While the processor is faster, it has a whole lot more of stuff to do.
0
Dec 11 2013
What is the input lag on the Samsung un40f6300 when the game mode setting is turned on? As well as what is the input lag on the LG 42ln5700? I was also wondering which provides a better picture quality because I have heard both sides.
Our measurements of input lag are with game mode turned on (62.5ms for the F6300 and 66.6ms for the LN5700). If you are sitting directly in front, the F6300 has better contrast and motion. The viewing angle is very narrow though, so if some of your viewers are at an angle, the LN5700 is a better choice.
0
Jan 02 2014
Just bought the LG 50LN5700. I am very disappointed in the audio. I have tried the obvious online settings for different modes but none are satisfactory. Any suggestions?
We didn't test the audio on it (we will most likely start testing audio on next year models). As a rule of thumb though, most TVs nowadays don't have good audio due to their thinness. They are OK for day to day TV shows, but if you care about sound, you need to invest in an external audio system. Even basics sound bars beat most TVs.
0
Feb 17 2014
I would like to connect the LN5700 to my modular Sony Genezi but it only has RCA audio input. If I connect it to the headphone output instead, would it be the same quality as the Digital Optical output?
It will work but it won't be the same quality.
0
Apr 01 2014
I saw an LN5790 at BJs Wholesale. It comes with a sound bar which seems like a good deal IF the LN5790 is the same as the ln5700, with the addition of the sound bar. Can you confirm this?
Yes it is.
0
Apr 06 2014
Can I use generic inhalambric remote control?
Yes.
0
May 21 2014
I am anticipating buying an LG 55ln5700 off of display. I have never purchased a display model previously. I am told that it has been on display less than 6 months. The set will cost me $425 after discounts. Is this a smart purchase? How good is this tv? I am replacing an old Sony Trinitron.
The contrast isn't great, so if you watch it in a dark room, the blacks will be gray. The viewing angle is great though. For the price that you can get it, go for it because you won't be able to find a TV of that size for this price. Just don't expect the best picture in a dark room.
0
May 27 2014
I have purchased a samsung un55FH6030FXZA and recently have seen that there may be different panels used on these with the TH01 apparently being the best overall and made by samsung. Mine is a UH02. Who makes this and how does it compare? Also when assembled it appears that the TV tips slightly forward on the stand. Everything is tight and fits properly. Is this correct?
AU Optronics. They aren't bad, but not as good as TH01 (Samsung). If you like your TV, don't worry about this. Most of the TVs that we test also tips slightly forward, especially the ones that the stand is fixed from the middle only, like your FH6030. It is barely noticeable though. If it is more than 2-3 degrees, it could be the way you screwed it.
0
Jun 10 2014
LG LN5700 is upgradeable to WebOS Platform in the future?
No.
0
Jun 12 2014
What kind of panel LG 39LN5700? IPS? MVA?
IPS.
0
Aug 25 2014
I have encountered problem with my LN57. It is always restarting! How do i troubleshoot this problem?
Contact LG's support. It could be a firmware issue.
0
Oct 04 2014
120hz refresh rate only get active in the LN5700 when TruMotion is turned ON and it becomes 60Hz when the TruMotion feature is turned off? Is it true?
Yes. The same is true for every 120Hz+ TVs.
0

Related questions from other pages

Have a question?

Ask your question here, or send us directly an email at advices@rtings.com. We will help you find the best television for your own needs and budget.

Due to the high volume of questions received, we no longer accept questions about specifics models outside of the United States. Thank you for your understanding. Also, before asking for a recommendation, make sure you read our recommendations by size or our recommendations by price range as well as use the search function of our website.