Plasma TV Reviews
LED TV Reviews
7.3
LG LN530B
7.3
LG LN5300
7.4
LG LN5400
7.1
LG LN5700
7.6
LG LA6200
7.5
Sony R400
7.9
Sony R450
Big Map and chart of TVs 2013 tiny TV Buying Tool
32"
50"
55"
60"

LG LN5400 LED TV Review

Reviewed Jul 10, 2013

The LG LN5400 LED TV has a good viewing angle and low input lag. However, its contrast is very low and it suffers from some noticeable motion blur. This TV is more suitable for a bright room due to its poor blacks.

7.4
Overall
  • Very good viewing angle. The colors stay true wherever you sit.
  • Low input lag. It is great for a gaming TV.
  • Average amount of motion blur.
  • Only 2 HDMI inputs.
  • Poor contrast ratio. The blacks will appear gray when you have the lights off. This isn't an issue in a bright room.
LG LN5400
Overall
7.4
Dark Room
6.2
Bright Room
8.1
Video Games
7.8
42" 42LN5400
47" 47LN5400
50" 50LN5400
55" 55LN5400
60" 60LN5400
Support us by buying your TV via our affiliate links. Read more

Design

Borders
LG LN5400 Borders

0.78" (2 cm)

Thickness
LG LN5400 Thickness

3.2" (8.2 cm)

Dark Room

LG LN5400 Dark scene
Black: 0.132 cd/m2
White: 102 cd/m2
Contrast: 773 : 1

The LN5400 does not perform well in a dark room. The blacks are gray due to the poor contrast. If you want an LED TV for a dark room, you will be better served by a Samsung like the F5500.

Viewing angle: 37 °

This is the LN5400 strongest point. The colors stays about the same at any angle. We measured a drop of half the contrast at 37°, which is really good for an LED. This makes the LN5400 a great choice for a living room with multiple seats.

LG LN5400 Uniformity

The backlight uniformity is average for an LED.

Bright Room

LG LN5400 Dark scene in a bright room
Reflection: 3.4 %

It performs a lot better in a bright room where you can't notice its poor blacks. The reflection is slightly more than average for an LED.

LG LN5400 Bright scene in a bright room
Max white: 212 cd/m2

The brighter the scene, the better it performs.

Video Games

Like most LG TVs, there is slightly more blur than average. Most people won't notice it though.
It supports 24p playback for movies. It doesn't have motion interpolation (the soap opera effect).

9.6
LG LN5400 Input lag
Input lag: 33.3 ms

The input lag is very low on this TV.

Software

Side inputs
LG LN5400 Side inputs

1 HDMI
1 USB (only for pictures and music)

Rear inputs
LG LN5400 Rear inputs

1 HDMI
1 RF In
1 Component In
1 Composite In
1 Digital Audio Out (Optical)

Remote
LG LN5400 Remote

Misc

Pixels
LG LN5400 Pixels

Alternatives

42"
42LN5400
  • If you want passive 3D, smart tv and motion interpolation, spend $259 more for the LG 42LA6200 ($759.00). It has about the same picture quality as this LG 42LN5400.
  • For $2 less than this LG 42LN5400, you can get slightly better motion handling with the Samsung UN40FH6030 ($497.99).
47"
47LN5400
  • If you want smart tv and motion interpolation, spend $130 more for the LG 47LN5700 ($729.99). It has about the same picture quality as this LG 47LN5400.
  • For $50 more than this LG 47LN5400, you can get slightly better motion handling with the Samsung UN46FH6030 ($649.99).
50"
50LN5400
  • If you want smart tv and motion interpolation, spend $149 more for the LG 50LN5700 ($849.00). It has about the same picture quality as this LG 50LN5400.
  • For $178 more than this LG 50LN5400, you can get slightly better motion handling with the Samsung UN50F5500 ($877.99).
55"
55LN5400
Out of stock Amazon
  • If you want smart tv and motion interpolation, spend $299 more for the LG 55LN5700 ($1099.00). It has about the same picture quality as this LG 55LN5400.
  • For $400 more than this LG 55LN5400, you can get slightly better motion handling with the Samsung UN55F6300 ($1199.99).
60"
60LN5400
  • If you want passive 3D, smart tv and motion interpolation, spend $600 more for the LG 60LA6200 ($1599.00). It has about the same picture quality as this LG 60LN5400.
  • For $700 more than this LG 60LN5400, you can get slightly better motion handling with the Samsung UN60F6300 ($1699.00).

Conclusion

If you don't have a dark room, buy this TV. Its only major downside is its poor blacks when you have the lights closed. With the lights on, it is a solid TV with an impressive viewing angle. It also has a very low input lag which is perfect for gaming. It is also significantly cheaper than the competition.

Questions

Sep 22 2013
For the LN5400 can you recommend some calibration settings? I have looked on avs, not sure if its because this TV is new or unpopular.
Our calibration that we used:
All settings disabled
Picture mode: Expert 1
Color Temperature: Warm 2
Gamma: 2.2
Backlight: 35
Brightness: 50
Contrast: 80
Color: 54
Tint: 0
Sharpness: 0
White balance:
Red offset: 0 Red gain: -4
Green offset: 0 Green gain: 0
Blue offset: 0 Blue gain: 18

Don't forget that the calibration depends on your room and actual panel, so you might need to tweak it.
31up
Aug 26 2013
Should i go for the LG 47ln5400 or the Samsung 46f5000?
It depends what you prefer. If you want better blacks, go for the Samsung F5000. If you want a wider viewing angle, get the LN5400.
28up
Jul 11 2013
Is it a real 120Hz refresh rate TV?
Yes, however it does not have motion interpolation. It does support true 24p playback though.
18up
Sep 19 2013
I just bought this model last night. The picture (both gaming on an xbox 360 and regular tv broadcast) seemed very dark. I could not figure out how to brighten even after trying multiple variations (gaming, cinema, etc.). Any advice?
The max calibrated luminance that we got was 212 cd/m2, which is definitely bright. First off, disable the Energy Saving option (ECO Mode). This features will change the brightness of the screen depending on the luminosity sensor. You will have full control after you disable that. Then, set the backlight setting to the max. Contrary to the brightness setting which affects the picture quality, the backlight setting only controls the luminosity of the light behind the LCD screen, which is what you want.
16up
Oct 29 2013
I just bought the 60LN5400 and I'm noticing input lag, even with game mode on. What size did you run the input lag test on? (would that make a difference?) I'm trying to fix this because I love the picture, just need lower input lag for FPS games.
42", but that shouldn't matter. Did you try disabling all options? You might also want to try using the other HMDI input (if I remember correctly, we used HDMI 1 on this model).
15up
Jul 22 2013
How bad is the motion blur? I mainly plan on using this tv for gaming.
As shown in our video, it is average for an LED. However, because of its very low input lag, this makes a good gaming TV.
8up
Sep 11 2013
Is it possible to update the 5400 since it does not have an internet connection? Can you upload the update to a usb?
No, the LN5400 cannot be updated, even by USB. Even if it was possible for this model, LG rarely puts out firmware updates for released TVs.
8up
Nov 11 2013
I cannot locate anything in my 50LN5400 settings to control Trumotion on or off. The sales literature says it has the feature but I can't find it.
That's because it doesn't have it. There is no Motion Interpolation (aka Soap Opera Effect) feature on the LN5400.
8up
Aug 07 2013
Which one should i go for among LG LN5400 42 inch or Sony R450 40 inch?
If you are viewing it alone and directly in front, the R450 has a better picture quality. But as soon as you are watching it from an angle, the LN5400 wins.
5up
Dec 31 2013
When plugging in a USB flash drive I only see options for Pictures and Music, but not Video playback. Is this normal? I can't seem to get it play any video files at all of numerous different formats
Yes it is normal, this TV doesn't support video playback via USB.
4up
Nov 19 2013
I am curious, you answered a person telling them to try HDMI 1 for gaming - I plan on getting Xbox one and PS4. If I have them both plug in will one suffer from input lag because it's in HDMI 2?
No, you shouldn't have problem with this. We just mentioned it to make sure he had the exact same setup as us. We actually followed up in email and he said disabling all settings fixed his issue.
3up
Dec 18 2013
Why does it say 1080i 60hz everytime I push the info button? It's on a 42ln5400 LG. It has 1080p 120hz.
This is normal. The info button displays the input signal resolution and frame rate, not the one of TV native panel. This means you are using a 1080i source.
3up
Nov 10 2013
I saw a 32LA6200 on display at a local shop, picture seemed 'live' and a far cry from a 32la613B right beside it, I assume this is the soap opera effect and I loved it! Now my question is, I currently don't need smart or 3D yet so I am willing to trade them off for a bigger sized TV, will the 42LN5400 have the same soap opera effect as the LA6200? If not, what are my other options?
No it doesn't. The 42LN5700 does though.
2up
Nov 24 2013
Does the LG 55LN5400 actually have a headphone jack?
No it doesn't.
2up
Feb 20 2014
I have recently purchased an Xbox One and have the LG LN5400. I'm struggling to find the optimum picture settings for my gaming. What settings do you guys recommend for this purpose?
The settings that we used (as described in another answer) are great for gaming because all options are disabled so it has minimum input lag. The picture quality will also closely match the monitors of the game developers (they also get calibrated to the same color temperature as us).
2up
Jul 21 2013
Is the panel and true motion equivalent to 47LN5700? I am not interested in the "smart" features of the 5700 but if the image/motion control was better I would probably justify the price difference.
Yes they are the same except for the smart TV interface.
1up
Jul 24 2013
Kinda of a dumb question but do you guys know which tv has the best blacks the M2350D or the LN5400?
We did not test the LG M2350D monitor, so cannot say. I would guess in the same ballpark though.
1up
Sep 01 2013
Does the graphics of video games may suffer because of its low contrast? Or it doesn't really matter when it comes to gaming?
Compared to movies, most video games are fairly bright. They usually do not have a lot of dark scenes. Therefore, the contrast is not the primary factor when choosing a gaming TV.
1up
Oct 21 2013
So for Xbox 360 and occasional movies and tv shows from hdd, would you recommend this 42LN5400 over the Samsung 42F5000?
It depends on your room. If you need a wide viewing angle, get the LN5400. Otherwise, get the F5000, which has better contrast and less reflections.
1up
Oct 24 2013
Can you turn off true motion in this model?
It doesn't have the motion interpolation setting, so it is always off.
1up
Dec 26 2013
How do I disable all settings on an ln5400 to get the best input lag time?
You need to go through all the picture settings in the menus and disable them one by one.
1up
Jan 07 2014
I live in the country and currently have an aerial antenna. I am looking at the 55ln5400 or 60ln5400. Will this tv work well with this setup?
Yes, it does have an antenna input.
1up
Nov 07 2013
What do you think is a better TV for gaming? The LG 42LN5400 or the Sony KDL-40R450A? I ask this because I have the 42LN5400 and when I play a fast game like NHL, I notice motion blur, is it better on the Sony or about the same?
The KDL-40R450A has slightly less blur but the difference isn't big. Check out both our videos of motion blur. Note that due to the low frame rate of the current generation of console (30 fps), there will always be perceptible blur on all TVs.
0up
Nov 25 2013
42LN575S is the same as 42LN5700?
Yes, it is equivalent, but for a different country.
0up
Dec 19 2013
Is the 60ln5400 worth the price difference against the e601i?
We haven't test the Vizio E601i, but they probably have the same panel inside so a very similar picture quality.
0up
Dec 19 2013
What is the difference between the ln5400 and ln5420?
The LN5420 is an international variant of the US model LN5400. Besides adhering to different country specific regulations, it also features a built-in DVR feature.
0up
Dec 31 2013
After some time of being on, the screen goes gray and has lines through it. I have to shut it off for like a half hour before it goes back normal. Common issue? Easy fix?
This is not normal. Return it or call LG to get it repaired/replaced.
0up
Dec 31 2013
How do I get movies to play from my memory stick? I load it but there is no video option, just picture and music?
You can't play video files with this TV.
0up
Dec 31 2013
I have a 55LN5400 and there is no mention of TruMotion in any of the TV's settings. Is it enabled by the input source? Unfortunately I only have a cable box outputting at 1080i and 60hz, so I don't have a higher quality source to test against.
Ours also didn't have that setting, although we didn't tried a wide range of input sources.
0up
Jan 02 2014
I just brought 47LN5400 model yesterday. I was bit disappointed about the USB feature, as it does not play any movies/videos. So, could you please suggest me the best option to play movies by using USB on this model. And also what would be the best option to convert my LN5400 to a smart TV?
Roku is probably your best bet to convert your TV to a smart TV which also supports USB playback of video files, assuming you don't already have a device that does this (like the PS3).
0up
Jan 06 2014
Is it the same input lag for the 42LN5400 and 50LN5400?
Yes, size is not a factor in input lag.
0up
Jan 07 2014
There are reports that even disabling TruMotion that this doesn't eliminate the "soap opera effect" from the LN5400. Was that true in your testing?
No it wasn't the case in our testing. As you can see in our motion video, there is absolutely no soap opera effect created and we couldn't turned it on. May be the soap opera effect is present in other picture modes, but it wasn't present in the 'Expert 1' mode that we used for testing.
0up
Jan 10 2014
About motion blur, which TV is better and how much is the difference (LN5400 vs Samsung F5000)?
We haven't tested the F5000, but we expect it to have slightly less blur than the LN5400 due to the panel technology (IPS panels usually have slightly more blur than their counterparts). The difference can't be seen on TV shows and movies though, its mostly on video games.
0up
Jan 25 2014
About your claim that the TV doesn't support video playback via USB, I have a 32LN5400 and it play well all sort of movies. About everything else in your review, I'm impressed, very good and accurate review. Picture of pixels is a great idea. When I was buying tv set I didn't know about your site, so I was taking magnifier 15x to store with me to figure out what tv have what panel. Also, about sound, it's on low end.

Thanks for the feedback. Which country is your 32LN5400 from? Sometimes these features are country specific.

Update: We followed up on email and it was the Central European version. Another person also mentioned the Philippines version does play movie files. So it does appear to be a country specific feature.

0up
Feb 09 2014
I have an LN5400 and when I change HDMI 1 to HDMi 2, I see in information over the screen: "16:9 1080p 60hz". Shouldn't it be 1980 and 100Hz?
No, 1080p 60Hz is correct. It displays the input signal, not the refresh rate of the screen. This is normal.
0up
Feb 21 2014
I just purchased a LN5400 and I'll be receiving it in a few days. I enjoyed reading your assessment of this model; also, the calibration settings you used in your testing of it. My question is about powering up the TV. I have a power strip surge suppressor I had planned to use, but I noticed on the max load rating that it is only 60 HZ. Does this mean I can't or should not use this power strip for the LN5400? In general, I don't know that much about electricity and even less about the internal workings of a TV. If I can't use my present power strip, could you recommend one that I should use?
Do not worry about this, you can use your power strip with your TV without problem. The 60Hz written on it refer to the frequency of the alternating current as an input (what runs in your house), not the refresh rate of the TV.
0up
Feb 26 2014
Is one of the HDMI an HDMI ARC (audio return channel) as I would like to be able to transfer audio from the TV back to a home theater receiver to listen to the TV's audio through it.
Unfortunately, no. But the LN5700 does have HDMI ARC.
0up
Mar 11 2014
How good is it to watch sports/football/soccer on this tv? Some people claim that TruMotion cannot be turned off?
This TV has slightly more blur than the average LED. On the unit that we tested, the TruMotion settings was grayed and always off.
0up
Mar 17 2014
Can this LED connect to the Hi-Fi system?
Yes, via the Digital Optical Audio Out.
0up
Mar 25 2014
To be clear my Xbox one and PS4 running through hdmi will play at 120hz or is it as needed by the game?
No it won't. Xbox One and PS4 games are either at 30fps or 60fps (depending on the game).
0up
Mar 27 2014
What energy saving setting should I use? Auto, off, minimum, medium or maximum?
The energy saving setting changes the luminosity of the backlight depending on the amount of light in the room. If you want full control of the luminosity, you need to disable that setting. Otherwise, set it to highest you can without diminishing your experience.
0up
Mar 29 2014
Which TV is better and how much is the difference (50LN5400 vs 50ln5310)?
The picture quality is about the same.
0up
Mar 31 2014
Would you recommend using dynamic contrast for gaming?
Dynamic contrast changes the backlight luminosity depending on the content of the picture. We personally always disable this option, especially for direct-lit TVs like the LN5400. It doesn't really improve the picture quality.
0up
Apr 02 2014
I'm curious about what you do with the tv after you get done testing it and if you think the question is to personal or what ever you ain't got to answer it I have just been wondering.
Usually, we resell them as used.
0up
Apr 08 2014
Can this LG be calibrated to a good representation of rec 709?
Unfortunately, we do not test for this. We only do a simple 2 points gray scale calibration with a basic colorimeter. Most people don't get their set calibrated (especially in this price range), so we try to represent that, but still do a basic calibration to have valid photos.
0up
Apr 14 2014
The LN5310 model is it identical to the model LN5400?
It is closer to the LN5300.
0up

Related questions from other pages

Have a question?

Ask your question here, or send us directly an email at advices@rtings.com. We will help you find the best television for your own needs and budget.

Due to the high volume of questions received, we no longer accept questions about specifics models outside of the United States and Canada. If you live in another country, you can still ask general questions though. Thank you for your understanding. Also, before asking for a recommendation, make sure you used our tool that was created for that.