MENU

LG LN5400 LED TV Review

Reviewed Jul 10, 2013 By Cedric Demers
This television has been discontinued.
It was replaced by the LG LB5800

The LG LN5400 LED TV has a good viewing angle and low input lag. However, its contrast is very low and it suffers from some noticeable motion blur. This TV is more suitable for a bright room due to its poor blacks.

7.4
Overall
  • Very good viewing angle. The colors stay true wherever you sit.
  • Low input lag. It is great for a gaming TV.
  • Average amount of motion blur.
  • Only two HDMI inputs.
  • Poor contrast ratio. The blacks will appear gray when you have the lights off. This isn't an issue in a bright room.
LG LN5400
Overall
7.4
Dark Room
6.2
Bright Room
8.1
Video Games
7.8
42" 42LN5400
MSRP: $700 Out of stock Amazon
47" 47LN5400 Reviewed
50" 50LN5400
MSRP: $1100 Out of stock Amazon
55" 55LN5400
MSRP: $1350 Out of stock Amazon
60" 60LN5400

Design

Borders
LG LN5400 Borders

0.78" (2 cm)

Thickness
LG LN5400 Thickness

3.2" (8.2 cm)

Dark Room

LG LN5400 Dark scene
Black: 0.132 cd/m2
White: 102 cd/m2
Contrast: 773 : 1

The LN5400 does not perform well in a dark room. The blacks are gray due to the poor contrast. If you want an LED TV for a dark room, you will be better served by a Samsung like the F5500.

Viewing angle: 37 °

This is the LN5400's strongest point. The colors stay about the same at any angle. We measured a drop of half the contrast at 37°, which is really good for an LED. This makes the LN5400 a great choice for a living room with multiple seats.

LG LN5400 Uniformity

The backlight uniformity is average for an LED.

Bright Room

LG LN5400 Dark scene in a bright room
Reflection: 3.4 %

It performs a lot better in a bright room where you can't notice its poor blacks. The reflection is slightly better than average for an LED.

LG LN5400 Bright scene in a bright room
Max white: 212 cd/m2

The brighter the scene, the better it performs.

Video Games

Like most LG TVs, there is slightly more blur than average. Most people won't notice it, though.
It supports 24p playback for movies. It doesn't have motion interpolation (the soap opera effect).

9.6
LG LN5400 Input lag
Input lag: 33.3 ms

This TV's input lag is very low.

Software

Side inputs
LG LN5400 Side inputs

1 HDMI
1 USB (only for pictures and music)

Rear inputs
LG LN5400 Rear inputs

1 HDMI
1 RF In
1 Component In
1 Composite In
1 Digital Audio Out (Optical)

Remote
LG LN5400 Remote

Misc

Pixels
LG LN5400 Pixels

Conclusion

If you don't have a dark room, buy this TV. Its only major downside is that its blacks are poor when watched in dim lighting. With the lights on, it is a solid TV with an impressive viewing angle. It also has very low input lag, which is perfect for gaming, and it is significantly cheaper than the competition.

Questions

Sep 22, 2013
Can you recommend some calibration settings for the LN5400? I have looked on avs, not sure if its because this TV is new or unpopular.
The calibration settings that we used:
All settings disabled
Picture mode: Expert 1
Color Temperature: Warm 2
Gamma: 2.2
Backlight: 35
Brightness: 50
Contrast: 80
Color: 54
Tint: 0
Sharpness: 0
White balance:
Red offset: 0 Red gain: -4
Green offset: 0 Green gain: 0
Blue offset: 0 Blue gain: 18

Don't forget that the calibration depends on your room and the TV's panel, so you might need to tweak it.
66
Aug 26, 2013
Should i go for the LG 47ln5400 or the Samsung 46f5000?
It depends what you prefer. If you want better blacks, go for the Samsung F5000. If you want a wider viewing angle, get the LN5400.
36
Jul 11, 2013
Is it a real 120Hz refresh rate TV?
Yes, however it does not have motion interpolation. It does support true 24p playback, though.
27
Dec 30, 2013
When plugging in a USB flash drive I only see options for Pictures and Music, but not Video playback. Is this normal? I can't seem to get it play any video files at all, despite trying numerous formats
Yes, it is normal. This TV doesn't support video playback via USB.
27
Oct 28, 2013
I just bought the 60LN5400 and I'm noticing input lag, even with game mode on. What size did you run the input lag test on, and would that make a difference? I'm trying to fix this because I love the picture, but I need lower input lag for FPS games.
42", but that shouldn't matter. Did you try disabling all options? You might also want to try using the other HMDI input (if I remember correctly, we used HDMI 1 on this model).
26
Sep 19, 2013
I just bought this model last night. The picture (both gaming on an Xbox 360 and regular TV broadcast) seemed very dark. I could not figure out how to brighten it, even after trying multiple variations (gaming, cinema, etc.). Any advice?
The max calibrated luminance that we got was 212 cd/m2, which is definitely bright. First off, disable the Energy Saving option (ECO Mode). This feature will change the brightness of the screen, depending on the luminosity sensor. You will have full control after you disable that. Then, set the backlight setting to the max. Contrary to the brightness setting, which affects the picture quality, the backlight setting only controls the luminosity of the light behind the LCD screen, which is what you want.
25
Nov 11, 2013
I cannot locate anything in my 50LN5400 settings to control Trumotion on or off. The sales literature says it has the feature but I can't find it.
That's because it doesn't have it. There is no Motion Interpolation (aka Soap Opera Effect) feature on the LN5400.
22
Dec 18, 2013
Why does it say 1080i 60hz everytime I push the info button? It's a 42ln5400 LG. It has 1080p, 120hz.
This is normal. The info button displays the input signal resolution and frame rate, not that of the TV panel. This means you are using a 1080i source.
20
Sep 11, 2013
Is it possible to update the 5400, since it does not have an internet connection? Can you upload the update to a USB?
No, the LN5400 cannot be updated, even by USB. Even if it was possible for this model, LG rarely puts out firmware updates for released TVs.
15
Jul 22, 2013
How bad is the motion blur? I mainly plan on using this TV for gaming.
As shown in our video, it is average for an LED. However, because of its very low input lag, it is a good gaming TV.
14
Feb 20, 2014
I have recently purchased an Xbox One and have the LG LN5400. I'm struggling to find the optimum picture settings for my gaming. What settings do you guys recommend for this purpose?
The settings that we used (as described in another answer) are great for gaming because all options are disabled, so the TV has minimum input lag. The picture quality will also closely match the game developers' monitors (they also get calibrated to the same color temperature that we use).
14
Mar 17, 2014
Can this LED connect to the Hi-Fi system?
Yes, via the Digital Optical Audio Out.
11
Nov 23, 2013
Does the LG 55LN5400 actually have a headphone jack?
No it doesn't.
7
Sep 12, 2014
Can I use a WiFi dongle to convert these TVs into smart TVs?
No, but you can buy a ChromeCast or Roku Stick.
7
Aug 07, 2013
Which one should i go for between the LG LN5400 42 inch and the Sony R450 40 inch?
If you are viewing it alone and directly in front, the R450 has better picture quality. But as soon as you are watching it from an angle, the LN5400 wins.
6
Jul 24, 2013
Kinda of a dumb question, but do you guys know which TV has the best blacks, the M2350D or the LN5400?
We did not test the LG M2350D monitor, so we cannot say. I would guess they're in the same ballpark, though.
4
Nov 19, 2013
I am curious. You answered a person telling them to try HDMI 1 for gaming - I plan on getting an Xbox one and a PS4. If I have them both plugged in, will one suffer from input lag because it's in HDMI 2?
No, you shouldn't have a problem with this. We just mentioned it to make sure he had the exact same setup as us. We actually followed up in an email and he said disabling all settings fixed his issue.
4
Feb 26, 2014
Is one of the HDMIs an HDMI ARC (audio return channel)? I would like to be able to transfer audio from the TV back to a home theater receiver to listen to the TV's audio through it.
Unfortunately, no. But the LN5700 does have HDMI ARC.
4
Jul 21, 2013
Is the panel and true motion equivalent to 47LN5700? I am not interested in the "smart" features of the 5700, but if the image/motion control was better I would probably justify the price difference.
Yes, they are the same except for the smart TV interface.
3
Oct 24, 2013
Can you turn off true motion for this model?
It doesn't have the motion interpolation setting, so it is always off.
3
Nov 10, 2013
I saw a 32LA6200 on display at a local shop. The picture seemed 'live' and a far cry from the 32la613B right beside it, I assume this is the soap opera effect and I loved it! Now my question is, I currently don't need smart or 3D yet, so I am willing to trade them off for a bigger sized TV. Will the 42LN5400 have the same soap opera effect as the LA6200? If not, what are my other options?
No it doesn't. The 42LN5700 does, though.
3
Nov 07, 2013
What do you think is a better TV for gaming? The LG 42LN5400 or the Sony KDL-40R450A? I ask this because I have the 42LN5400 and when I play a fast game like NHL, I notice motion blur. Is the Sony better, or about the same?
The KDL-40R450A has slightly less blur, but the difference isn't big. Check out both our videos of motion blur. Note that due to the low frame rate of the current generation of console (30 fps), there will always be perceptible blur on all TVs.
2
Dec 26, 2013
How do I disable all settings on an ln5400 to get the best input lag time?
You need to go through all the picture settings in the menus and disable them one by one.
2
Dec 31, 2013
How do I get movies to play from my memory stick? I load it but there is no video option - just pictures and music.
You can't play video files with this TV.
2
Jan 07, 2014
There are reports that even disabling TruMotion doesn't eliminate the "soap opera effect" from the LN5400. Was that true in your testing?
No, it wasn't the case in our testing. As you can see in our motion video, there is absolutely no soap opera effect created, and we couldn't turned it on. The soap opera effect may be present in other picture modes, but it wasn't present in the 'Expert 1' mode that we used for testing.
2
Feb 09, 2014
I have an LN5400 and when I change HDMI 1 to HDMi 2, I see this information over the screen: "16:9 1080p 60hz". Shouldn't it be 1980 and 100Hz?
No, 1080p 60Hz is correct. It displays the input signal, not the refresh rate of the screen. This is normal.
2
Sep 01, 2013
Can video game graphics suffer because of low contrast? Or does it not really matter when it comes to gaming?
Compared to movies, most video games are fairly bright. They usually do not have a lot of dark scenes. Therefore, the contrast is not the primary factor when choosing a gaming TV.
1
Oct 21, 2013
So for Xbox 360 and occasional movies and TV shows from a hdd, would you recommend this 42LN5400 over the Samsung 42F5000?
It depends on your room. If you need a wide viewing angle, get the LN5400. Otherwise, get the F5000, which has better contrast and fewer reflections.
1
Nov 25, 2013
42LN575S is the same as 42LN5700?
Yes. It is equivalent, but released in a different country.
1
Dec 19, 2013
What is the difference between the ln5400 and ln5420?
The LN5420 is an international variant of the US model LN5400. Besides adhering to different country-specific regulations, it also features a built-in DVR feature.
1
Dec 30, 2013
After it has been on for a while, the screen goes gray and has lines through it. I have to shut it off for like a half hour before it goes back to normal. Common issue? Easy fix?
This is not normal. Return it or call LG to get it repaired/replaced.
1
Jan 07, 2014
I live in the country and currently have an aerial antenna. I am looking at the 55ln5400 or 60ln5400. Will this TV work well with this setup?
Yes, it does have an antenna input.
1
Jan 25, 2014
About your claim that the TV doesn't support video playback via USB: I have a 32LN5400 and it plays all sorts of movies well. About everything else in your review, I'm impressed, very good and accurate review. The picture of pixels is a great idea. When I was buying my TV I didn't know about your site, so I was taking a 15x magnifier to the store with me to figure out which TVs had which panel. Also, as for sound, it's on the low end.

Thanks for the feedback. Which country is your 32LN5400 from? Sometimes these features are country specific.

Update: We followed up via email and it was the Central European version. Another person also mentioned the Philippines version does play movie files. So it does appear to be a country-specific feature.

1
Mar 26, 2014
Which energy saving setting should I use? Auto, off, minimum, medium, or maximum?
The energy saving setting changes the luminosity of the backlight depending on the amount of light in the room. If you want full control of the luminosity, you need to disable that setting. Otherwise, set it to the highest that you can without diminishing your experience.
1
Mar 29, 2014
Which TV is better, and how great is the difference (50LN5400 vs 50ln5310)?
The picture quality is about the same.
1
Jul 20, 2014
I just bought the LG 50LN5400, and when I plug in the USB, not all pictures can be view on the TV, despite all being in the same jpeg format. Could you help me?
There are probably not actually all in the same jpeg format. There is not a single jpeg format, even if they all have the same extension. It is probably because some of them are encoded in progressive. Check your files' encoding and see if there are any differences.
1
Aug 17, 2014
In what year was the LN5400 manufactured?
2013
1
Sep 23, 2014
I have a 60LN5400 and I think there's a problem with it. When the picture is moving horizontally, I see many dark vertical lines. The best way to see it is when watching a hockey game. When the camera is moving from one side of the ice to the other, I can see vertical lines. I don't really see them when the image is not moving. Do you think it's normal, or I should call LG?
This issue is very common and is called the dirty screen effect. Unfortunately, there is nothing you can do about it. It is especially present on a lot of low-end LG TVs.
1
Dec 19, 2013
Is the 60ln5400 worth the price difference vs. the e601i?
We haven't tested the Vizio E601i, but they probably have the same panel inside, and therefore a very similar picture quality.
0
Dec 31, 2013
I have a 55LN5400 and there is no mention of TruMotion in any of the TV's settings. Is it enabled by the input source? Unfortunately, I only have a cable box outputting at 1080i and 60hz, so I don't have a higher quality source to test against.
Ours also didn't have that setting, although we didn't try a wide range of input sources.
0
Jan 01, 2014
I just brought 47LN5400 model yesterday. I was bit disappointed with the USB feature, as it does not play any movies/videos. So, could you please suggest to me the best option for playing movies via USB on this model? Also, what would be the best option for converting my LN5400 to a smart TV?
Roku is probably your best bet for converting your TV to a smart TV which also supports USB playback of video files, assuming you don't already have a device that does this (like the PS3).
0
Jan 06, 2014
Is the input lag the same for the 42LN5400 and 50LN5400?
Yes. Size is not a factor in input lag.
0
Jan 10, 2014
For motion blur, which TV is better and how how big is the difference (LN5400 vs Samsung F5000)?
We haven't tested the F5000, but we expect it to have slightly less blur than the LN5400 due to the panel technology (IPS panels usually have slightly more blur than their counterparts). The difference can't be seen on TV shows and movies, though - it's mostly on video games.
0
Feb 21, 2014
I just purchased a LN5400 and I'll be receiving it in a few days. I enjoyed reading your assessment of this model, as well as the calibration settings you used in your testing of it. My question is about powering up the TV. I have a power strip surge suppressor I had planned to use, but I noticed on the max load rating that it is only 60 HZ. Does this mean I can't or should not use this power strip for the LN5400? In general, I don't know that much about electricity, and even less about the internal workings of a TV. If I can't use my present power strip, could you recommend one that I should use?
Do not worry about this. You can use your power strip with your TV without any problems. The 60Hz written on it refer to the frequency of the alternating current as an input (what runs in your house), and not the refresh rate of the TV.
0
Mar 11, 2014
How good is it to watch sports/football/soccer on this TV? Some people claim that TruMotion cannot be turned off.
This TV has slightly more blur than the average LED. On the unit that we tested, the TruMotion setting was grayed and always off.
0
Mar 25, 2014
To be clear, my Xbox One and PS4 running through HDMI will play at 120hz, or is it as needed by the game?
No, they won't. Xbox One and PS4 games are either 30fps or 60fps (depending on the game).
0
Mar 30, 2014
Would you recommend using dynamic contrast for gaming?
Dynamic contrast changes the backlight luminosity based on the content of the picture. We personally always disable this option, especially for direct-lit TVs like the LN5400. It doesn't really improve the picture quality.
0
Apr 01, 2014
I'm curious about what you do with the TVs after you get done testing them. If you think the question is too personal or whatever, you don't have to answer it. I have just been wondering.
We usually resell them as used.
0
Apr 08, 2014
Can this LG be calibrated to a good representation of rec 709?
Unfortunately, we do not test for this. We only do a simple two point grayscale calibration with a basic colorimeter. Most people don't get their set calibrated (especially in this price range), so we try to represent that, but still do a basic calibration to have valid photos.
0
Apr 14, 2014
Is the LN5310 model identical to the LN5400?
It is closer to the LN5300.
0
Apr 28, 2014
Is this TV able to connect to Apple TV? I cannot seem to get Apple TV to be recognized when plugged in through HDMI.
Yes. All TVs with HDMI can connect to an Apple TV. Make sure to select the correct HDMI input with the remote.
0
May 10, 2014
I have the 47" ln5400 and just moved to Germany from the US, however I can't seem to get the TV to switch to PAL. Any suggestions?
Most US models don't support it (we haven't tested it on the LN5400, though).
0
May 27, 2014
Can I connect my HTC One phone to this TV wirelessly to playback video?
No.
0
Jun 09, 2014
If the LN5400 is 120hz and the LN5300 is 60hz, why did they score the same in "Motion Blur"?
The refresh rate is not an indication of motion blur, especially for console video games where the frame rate is the same for both.
0
Jun 12, 2014
Thanks for the review. You made it clear that the LN5400 has considerably lower contrast than the other brands. So if I will mostly be watching TV with the lights on (and possibly dimmed), the lower contrast will be less of an issue? Based on your test results, the LN5400 has like 3x less contrast than, say, Samsung, which seems to be a big deal. Thanks in advance for your advice!
With few lights on, the contrast is not an issue. However, keep in mind that it also reflects more light than other LEDs.
0
Jun 17, 2014
I just bought the LG 42ln5400. Is there an optical sound output available?
Yes, it has that output.
0
Jul 17, 2014
Is the LN5400 a digital TV?
Yes, all TVs nowadays are digital. Only old CRTs are analog.
0
Jul 21, 2014
Regarding the 120hz. If I hook my PC up to this and play, say, Battlefield 4, will I get the 120hz? It's an unusual setup, but it is the deciding factor for me between the LN5300 and LN5400. Btw, my PC can take me up to 120fps, so it does matter. If you have any other useful info that could help me choose between them, that'd be great.
No, it won't work, at least officially. No TV officially accepts 120fps, even the high-end ones. Unofficially, it is a different story, but we can't help with that because we didn't try it.
0
Aug 13, 2014
I too am in the market for a new TV. I have my decisions down to two, both LG. The first is the LG 50LN5400 and the second is the LG 50LB6000. My question is, what are the differences between these two models? I only see the LN5400 model on your site. Another question I have is what is the input lag difference between the two models? I understand this site is busy, but I appreciate any help and advice you can give me. Thank you for your time and information.
We haven't tested the 50LB6000, so we don't know its input lag. But we don't actually expect a big picture difference between the two. The only difference that we expect is that it will have a different bezel. Note that the 50LB6000 currently has the same price as the better-equipped 50LB6300.
0
Aug 17, 2014
I have an LG 47LN5400. I cannot figure out if I can hook an HD antenna to this television w/o a box.
Yes, you can.
0
Sep 02, 2014
Walmart has the 55LN5400 advertised for $598. When I went there they pulled out a 55LB5900 and told me that is the 55" LG they have - same price and SKU number. Which is better, the LN5400 or LB5900?
Picture quality should be very similar, so just get whichever one is cheaper.
0
Sep 09, 2014
It seems that stores are carrying fewer and fewer of these. Should I not buy the ln5400 now, in case I need it replaced by warranty in six months and it is no longer in stock anywhere? Is this a risk I should be considering before purchasing this model?
That model is indeed discontinued. Don't worry, though. If you need a replacement through the warranty, they will give you an equivalent and more recent model instead.
0
Sep 09, 2014
Is this TV 3d?
No, it isn't.
0
Sep 19, 2014
What black level and backlight setting do you recommend for gaming on a PS4 in a dark room?
Don't touch the black level setting. This is just a remapping of the range of the HDMI. It doesn't affect the real black level. The backlight setting is really a personal preference. We calibrate for 100 cd/m2, which is good in a dark room, and the resulting backlight value that we got was 35.
0
Sep 27, 2014
What does the motion eye care setting do? I saw another question about the black level setting. I know it don't change the black level the TV outputs, but should it be set to high or low for gaming? When it's on low, it blacks out some objects that can be easily seen on high.
Motion eye care changes the algorithm of the backlight flickering. Set the black level to low. Change the gamma setting if you want to improve the visibility of the shadows.
0
Oct 11, 2014
I have an old Nvidia graphics card quadro fx4600. How can I connect to my LG ln5400? The card doesn't have any HDMI input. It only has a DVI input.
Get a DVI to HDMI converter.
0

Related questions from other pages

Have a question?

Ask your question here, or send us directly an email at advice@rtings.com. We will help you find the best television for your own needs and budget.

Due to the high volume of questions received, we no longer accept questions outside the United States. Thank you for your understanding. Also, before asking for a recommendation, make sure you read our recommendations by size or our recommendations by price range as well as use the search function of our website.