Your browser is not supported or outdated so some features of the site might not be available.

The 7 Best Gaming Headsets - Winter 2022 Reviews

Updated
Best Gaming Headsets
654 Headphones Tested
  • Store-bought headphones; no cherry-picked units
  • Easily comparable results
  • No ads; unbiased reviews
  • Supported directly by you via insider access and when you purchase through our affiliate links
Learn more about our approach to product reviews here.

A good headset can make a big difference when playing games. Whether you like to get immersed in the game with the music of sound effects or if you need to hear every enemy footstep to know where they are, choosing the right pair of headphones for you can be quite a task. You should look at overall build quality, how comfortable they are, how they sound, and if the microphone sounds good. If you don’t need a microphone, most wired audiophile headphones would be a good option.

We've tested over 650 headphones, and below are our recommendations for the best gaming headsets to buy. Also, see our recommendations for the best PS4 headsets, the best Xbox One headsets, the best PS5 headsets, and the best Xbox Series X/S headsets.


  1. Best Gaming Headset: Astro A50 Gen 4 Wireless 2019

    8.1
    Neutral Sound
    5.1
    Commute/Travel
    6.1
    Sports/Fitness
    6.5
    Office
    8.3
    Wireless Gaming
    6.6
    Wired Gaming
    7.2
    Phone Calls
    Type Over-ear
    Enclosure Closed-Back
    Wireless Yes
    Noise Cancelling No
    Mic Yes
    Transducer Dynamic

    The best gaming headset we've tested is the Astro A50 Gen 4 Wireless 2019. These headphones are very well-built and have a comfortable over-ear fit that shouldn't cause fatigue during long gaming sessions. They have very low latency when using their wireless transmitter, so you shouldn't have any issues with your game audio being out of sync.

    Their default sound profile is very neutral, with a bit of extra punch in the bass range that can help to emphasize sound effects in action-packed games. Their app also includes a graphic EQ and presets that you can use to customize it if you prefer a different sound. Their boom mic makes your voice sound clear and full-bodied, and it has an impressive noise handling performance, so if you're gaming with friends, they should be able to hear you even if you're in a noisy environment.

    Unfortunately, some users have said they notice a drop in audio quality when connected wirelessly to a PS5 console. Ηowever, you can buy an ΗDMI adapter from the manufacturer that allows you to connect via optical. You also have to purchase the correct variant since each comes with a base station compatible with either PlayStation or Xbox consoles. That said, either variant is fully compatible with PCs, making this the best PC gaming headset that we've tested.

    See our review

  2. Alternative With Better Battery Performance: Logitech G PRO X WIRELESS LIGHTSPEED Gaming Headset

    Type Over-ear
    Enclosure Closed-Back
    Wireless Yes
    Noise Cancelling No
    Mic Yes
    Transducer Dynamic

    If you're looking for gaming headphones with better battery performance, you may prefer the Logitech G PRO X WIRELESS LIGΗTSPEED Gaming Ηeadset. Their mic has a worse noise handling performance than the Astro A50 Gen 4 Wireless 2019, so they aren't as well-suited for gaming in noisy environments. However, their roughly 24-hour continuous battery life is much longer. You can also use them to receive audio while they're charging. Their default sound profile is very well-balanced, and you can customize them with a graphic EQ and presets in the companion software. The mic makes your voice sound clear and natural, and they have low latency via USΒ. Unfortunately, while they feel well-built overall, some users have reported that their headphones' hinges broke with continuous use, which is a bit disappointing.

    If you're looking for a gaming headset with a better overall mic performance, go for the Astro, but try the Logitech instead if you're looking for headphones with an even longer continuous battery life.

    See our review

  3. Best Wired Gaming Headset: Astro A40 TR Headset + MixAmp Pro 2019

    8.1
    Neutral Sound
    4.3
    Commute/Travel
    5.5
    Sports/Fitness
    5.7
    Office
    6.2
    Wireless Gaming
    8.2
    Wired Gaming
    6.9
    Phone Calls
    Type Over-ear
    Enclosure Open-Back
    Wireless No
    Noise Cancelling No
    Mic Yes
    Transducer Dynamic

    The Astro A40 TR Headset + MixAmp Pro 2019 is the best wired gaming headset that we've tested. You can purchase these headphones in either a PS4 or Xbox One variant; it's important to get the right variant for your console. They also come with a MixAmp, which offers controls like channel mixing, EQ presets, and volume as you game. It offers a few inputs, and you can daisy-chain several amps together if you're at a gaming tournament.

    They have a comfortable fit with soft padding and feel well-built. Their ear cups have swappable speaker tags, and you can purchase different styles from the manufacturer to give the headphones a different look. Thanks to their open-back design, they have a great passive soundstage to help immerse you in your audio. They also have a warm default sound profile to help bring out sound effects in your gameplay. Their detachable boom mic does a great job of recording your voice and can separate it from background noise so that you're heard clearly.

    Unfortunately, they leak a lot of audio due to their open-back design, and others around you can hear it, even in a moderately noisy environment. They don't block much background noise. If you plan to game in quieter spaces like at home, these are a suitable choice for users who prefer a wired design.

    See our review

  4. Best Gaming Headset For Xbox Series X: SteelSeries Arctis 7X Wireless

    7.5
    Neutral Sound
    5.8
    Commute/Travel
    6.4
    Sports/Fitness
    6.9
    Office
    7.8
    Wireless Gaming
    7.8
    Wired Gaming
    7.1
    Phone Calls
    Type Over-ear
    Enclosure Closed-Back
    Wireless Yes
    Noise Cancelling No
    Mic Yes
    Transducer Dynamic

    The best gaming headset for Xbox Series X that we've tested is the SteelSeries Arctis 7X Wireless. These comfortable headphones come with a low-latency USB dongle that ensures that your audio and visuals stay in sync. Although their passive soundstage isn't very spacious due to their closed-back design, it seems wide, natural, and as if sound is coming from out in front of you, rather than from inside your head.

    They have a boomy default sound profile that can help emphasize sound effects while you game. That said, if you prefer a different sound, their companion software allows you to customize them to your liking using its graphic EQ and presets. These headphones also have just under 23 hours of continuous playback time and can be used passively with their included 1/8" TRRS cable. Their boom mic offers a great recording quality and can separate your voice from moderate ambient noise around you.

    Unfortunately, like most gaming headphones, they do a poor job of blocking out background noise, which could be frustrating if you're gaming in a noisy environment. They're also prone to inconsistencies in audio delivery, so you need to take the time to adjust them to get a more consistent sound. However, they offer a solid performance that should please most Xbox users.

    See our review

  5. Bluetooth Alternative: Razer Kaira Pro Wireless for Xbox

    Type Over-ear
    Enclosure Closed-Back
    Wireless Yes
    Noise Cancelling No
    Mic Yes
    Transducer Dynamic

     If you're looking for gaming headphones that you can also pair with your mobile device, check out the Razer Kaira Pro Wireless for Xbox. While they don't sound as neutral out-of-the-box as the SteelSeries Arctis 7X Wireless, they support Bluetooth. As a result, you can game on your Xbox while simultaneously receiving audio from your smartphone. These headphones have a similarly comfortable and well-built design with low non-Bluetooth latency. Their companion software allows you to adjust their sound to your liking using their graphic EQ and presets. If you like to chat with others, their boom mic also has an excellent recording quality and can separate your voice from moderate ambient noise well. They have over 19 hours of continuous playback time, but you can't use them passively, which some users may find disappointing.

    Consider the SteelSeries if you're looking for more neutral-sounding gaming headphones with a longer continuous playback time. If you're looking for Bluetooth-compatible Xbox headphones, try the Razer instead.

    See our review

  6. Best Budget Gaming Headset: Logitech G533 Wireless Gaming Headset

    7.7
    Neutral Sound
    5.3
    Commute/Travel
    5.8
    Sports/Fitness
    6.4
    Office
    7.6
    Wireless Gaming
    6.0
    Wired Gaming
    6.5
    Phone Calls
    Type Over-ear
    Enclosure Closed-Back
    Wireless Yes
    Noise Cancelling No
    Mic Yes
    Transducer Dynamic

    The best budget gaming headset that we've tested is the Logitech G533 Wireless Gaming Headset. These wireless headphones have low non-Bluetooth wireless latency, which is excellent whether you're gaming on your PC or PlayStation console. They also have about 17 hours of continuous playback time and support audio while charging.

    Out of the box, they have an excited sound profile that packs in a bit of extra bass while dialogue and instruments are bright. That said, you can tweak their sound to suit your tastes using their companion software's graphic EQ or use their DTS 7.1 virtual soundstage feature to create a more immersive audio experience. Their foldable boom microphone also offers a decent recording quality, and if you're gaming in a moderately noisy environment, your teammates shouldn't have much of a problem hearing you clearly.

    That said, you can't use them passively as they don't have an AUX port. They also really struggle to block out background noise and leak a lot of audio at high volumes. They have sub-par frequency response consistency too, and you may especially notice a drop in bass if you have thick hair or glasses. That said, they offer a versatile and customizable performance at a budget-level price.

    See our review

  7. Best Cheap Gaming Headset: Logitech G432 Gaming Headset

    7.6
    Neutral Sound
    4.7
    Commute/Travel
    5.5
    Sports/Fitness
    6.1
    Office
    5.8
    Wireless Gaming
    7.5
    Wired Gaming
    7.3
    Phone Calls
    Type Over-ear
    Enclosure Closed-Back
    Wireless No
    Noise Cancelling No
    Mic Yes
    Transducer Dynamic

    The best cheap gaming headset we've tested is the Logitech G432 Gaming Headset. While these gaming headphones have a simple physical design, they offer a customizable gaming experience at a wallet-friendly price. Since they're wired, they're fully compatible with consoles that have an AUX port, but they also come with a USB adapter that you can use to game on PCs or PS4 consoles.

    Out of the box, these headphones lack a bit of low bass. However, their very neutral mid-range helps keep dialogue clear, present, and detailed. Luckily, if you prefer a different sound, their companion software offers a 10-band graphic EQ as well as presets so that you can tweak their sound to better suit your needs. Their boom microphone also does an excellent job of recording your voice. It can also separate speech from background noise, so your teammates hear you clearly, even in loud environments.

    Unfortunately, their build quality is only okay. However, they still feel very plasticky, and their joints don't feel very sturdy. Like many other gaming headphones, they're also prone to inconsistencies in their audio delivery. Their passive soundstage is perceived as unnatural and as if coming from inside your head rather than from in out in front of you. That said, if you're looking for wallet-friendly gaming headphones and don't mind their wired design, they're a suitable choice.

    See our review

Notable Mentions

  • SteelSeries Arctis Pro Wireless: The SteelSeries Arctis Pro Wireless are a suitable alternative to the Astro A50 Gen 4 Wireless 2019 if you're looking for more versatility from your headphones. They support Bluetooth and have a better overall battery performance. However, their non-Bluetooth wireless latency is high. See our review
  • SteelSeries Arctis 7P Wireless: The SteelSeries Arctis 7P Wireless are comfortable gaming headphones compatible with SteelSeries Engine software. Their microphone performance isn't as impressive as the SteelSeries Arctis Pro. See our review
  • SteelSeries Arctis 7 2019 Edition Wireless: The SteelSeries Arctis 7 2019 Edition Wireless are a suitable lower-cost alternative to the SteelSeries Arctis Pro Wireless but without the dock station. See our review
  • ROCCAT Elo 7.1 Air Wireless: The ROCCAT Elo 7.1 AIr is a wireless gaming headset with a virtual surround sound feature. Unfortunately, they aren't Bluetooth-compatible, have inconsistent audio delivery, and don't block out a lot of ambient noise. See our review
  • Logitech G933 Wireless Gaming Headset: The Logitech G933 are wireless gaming headphones with a very good boom mic performance and many customization features in their companion software. However, they have shorter continuous battery life and higher non-Βluetooth latency. See our review
  • HyperX Cloud 2/Cloud II: The HyperX Cloud 2/Cloud II is a very well-built wired gaming headset that's impressively comfortable but doesn't sound as good as the other options on this list and isn't customizable. See our review
  • Logitech G935 Wireless Gaming Headset: The Logitech G935 Wireless Gaming Headset has great features and customization options. However, the boom mic doesn't perform as well as the Astro A50 Gen 4 Wireless 2019, and they aren't as comfortable. See our review
  • HyperX Cloud Alpha S: The HyperX Cloud Alpha S is a remarkably well-built and impressively comfortable wired gaming headset with a great microphone. Design is less versatile than the Logitech G533, and they only have a bass slider, which isn't as helpful as a full graphic EQ. See our review
  • HyperX Cloud Stinger: The HyperX Cloud Stinger are budget gaming headphones with a comfortable fit and an amazing microphone performance, but they aren't as customizable as the Logitech G432. See our review
  • SteelSeries Arctis 1: The SteelSeries Arctis 1 are budget-friendly gaming headphones with a detachable boom microphone, but they aren't as comfortable or customizable as the Logitech G432. See our review
  • Audeze Penrose Wireless: The Audeze Penrose are wireless planar magnetic gaming headphones. Their wireless USB dongle provides low-latency audio transmission, but they're also Bluetooth compatible. That said, their detachable boom microphone doesn't perform as well as that of the Astro A50 Gen 4 Wireless 2019, and they aren't as well-built. See our review

Recent Updates

  1. Jan 10, 2022: Replaced the SteelSeries Arctis 9X Wireless with the Arctis 7X Wireless as some users have reported audio stuttering issues with the 9X. Also renamed the Razer Kaira Pro Wireless for Xbox 'Bluetooth Alternative'.

  2. Dec 17, 2021: Checked that picks represent the best recommendations and that the products are in stock.

  3. Nov 19, 2021: Changed 'Alternative With Lower Latency' to 'Alternative With Better Recording Quality'. Also removed the Logitech G433 Gaming Headset and added the Logitech G533 Wireless Gaming Headset as 'Best Budget Gaming Headset'. Made the Logitech G432 Gaming Headset the 'Best Cheap Gaming Headset'.

  4. Oct 22, 2021: Checked that picks represent the best recommendations and that the products are in stock.

  5. Sep 23, 2021: Replaced the SteelSeries Arctis Pro Wireless with the Logitech G PRO X WIRELESS LIGHTSPEED Gaming Headset as the Logitech have lower latency than the SteelSeries. Added the SteelSeries to Notable Mentions.

All Reviews

Our recommendations above are what we think are currently the best gaming headphones to buy for most people in each price range. We factor in the price (cheaper headphones win over pricier ones if the difference isn't worth it), feedback from our visitors, and availability (no headphones that are difficult to find or almost out of stock everywhere).

If you would like to choose for yourself, here is the list of all our headphones reviews, sorted by their wireless gaming performance. Be careful not to get caught up in the details. There are no perfect headphones. Personal taste, preference, and listening habits will matter more in your selection, especially if you don't care about having a microphone or wireless features.

Recommended Articles

Discussions