The 6 Best Wireless Gaming Headsets - Summer 2021 Reviews

Updated
Best Wireless Gaming Headsets
604 Headphones Tested
  • Store-bought headphones; no cherry-picked units
  • Easily comparable results
  • No ads; unbiased reviews
  • Supported directly by you via insider access and when you purchase through our affiliate links
Learn more about our approach to product reviews here.

Wireless technologies have greatly improved over time. Consequently, it's now possible to pick a great wireless gaming headset that has low enough latency that you're not bothered by delay when playing your favorite games. If you play multiplayer games, a nice-sounding microphone ensures that your teammates and friends can clearly hear you. Some of them are even Bluetooth-compatible, so you can either mix in your music while playing or use the headset as day-to-day wireless headphones.

We’ve tested over 600 headphones, and below are our recommendations for the best wireless gaming headphones to buy. If you’re looking for headsets with a specific gaming system in mind, check out our recommendations for the best gaming headsets, the best Xbox One headsets, and the best PS4 gaming headsets.


  1. Best Wireless Gaming Headset: Astro A50 Gen 4 2019

    8.3
    Wireless Gaming
    Type Over-ear
    Enclosure Closed-Back
    Wireless Yes
    Noise Cancelling No
    Mic Yes
    Transducer Dynamic

    The best wireless gaming headset that we've tested is the Astro A50 Gen 4 Wireless 2019. These wireless over-ears come with a base station that offers a very low latency, which is excellent for gaming. Thanks to their over 17 hours of continuous playback time, you can also game for hours on end without worrying about battery life.

    These well-built headphones have a very comfortable fit with spacious, deep ear cups and a headband that distributes their weight well. Out of the box, they have a well-balanced sound profile. The bump in the high-bass adds extra boom to your mixes, which can help bring out sound effects in gameplay. If you prefer a different sound, their companion software offers a graphic EQ and presets so that you can adjust their sound to your liking. Their boom microphone also does an excellent job of recording your voice, even in noisy environments.

    Unfortunately, these headphones are console-locked to either the PlayStation or Xbox, so you need to make sure that you purchase the right variant for your setup. Both variants work wirelessly with PCs. They also struggle to block out background noise, which may be annoying if you game in loud environments. That said, these wireless headphones have very low latency and offer a customizable gaming experience that's sure to please most users.

    See our review

  2. Alternative With Bluetooth: SteelSeries Arctis Pro Wireless

    Type Over-ear
    Enclosure Closed-Back
    Wireless Yes
    Noise Cancelling No
    Mic Yes
    Transducer Dynamic

    If you're looking for wireless gaming headphones with Bluetooth, consider the SteelSeries Arctis Pro Wireless. While their non-Bluetooth wireless latency is higher than the Astro A50 Gen 4 Wireless 2019, and they aren't as comfortable, the SteelSeries support Bluetooth, so you can still listen to audio while you game. They also have fairly low PC, iOS, and Android latency, so you can use them more casually to stream video. These headphones come with a USB wireless transmitter that allows you to charge one of the removable batteries while you're using the other one. Their default sound profile is very neutral and well-balanced, ensuring that in-game dialogue isn't overwhelmed. That said, their companion software has a graphic EQ as well as presets so that you can adjust their sound. If you like to game with others, their boom mic also delivers a great overall performance, so you're heard clearly, even if you're talking in a noisy environment like a gaming tournament.

    If you're looking for lower audio latency from your wireless gaming headphones, try the Astro. However, if you prioritize Bluetooth support for listening to audio from your phone while gaming or for more casual use, consider the SteelSeries.

    See our review

  3. Best Wireless Gaming Headset For Xbox Series X: SteelSeries Arctis 9X Wireless

    7.8
    Wireless Gaming
    Type Over-ear
    Enclosure Closed-Back
    Wireless Yes
    Noise Cancelling No
    Mic Yes
    Transducer Dynamic

    The SteelSeries Arctis 9X is the best wireless headset for the Xbox Series X that we've tested. These headphones have an Xbox Wireless adapter that offers decently low latency. They also support Bluetooth, which is nice if you like to chat with your friends on your smartphone while you game.

    These well-built headphones have a comfortable fit with well-padded ear cups and a ski-band headband design. Out-of-the-box, they have a fairly neutral sound profile that you can tweak to your liking using the companion software's graphic EQ and presets. Their boom mic also offers a great overall performance, so your voice sounds clear and detailed, even in noisy environments. If you like to game for hours at a time, they have roughly 28 hours of continuous battery life, too.

    Unfortunately, they're very prone to inconsistent audio delivery, and you may especially notice a drop in bass if you have thick hair or glasses. Even though they come with an audio cable, if you want to use them wired, they also only support audio, so you can't use their mic. That said, these headphones are among the best headsets for Xbox Series X/S that we've tested as they offer a customizable gaming experience alongside Xbox Wireless and Bluetooth support.

    See our review

  4. Alternative With Lower Latency: Razer Kaira Pro Wireless

    Type Over-ear
    Enclosure Closed-Back
    Wireless Yes
    Noise Cancelling No
    Mic Yes
    Transducer Dynamic

    If you're looking for Xbox Series X headphones with lower latency, try the Razer Kaira Pro Wireless. While they have a shorter continuous battery life than the SteelSeries Arctis 9X Wireless, and they can't be used wired, the Razer have low audio lag so you shouldn't notice your audio and visuals out of sync. These headphones are well-built and comfortable. Their sound profile delivers a lot of warmth and boom right out of the box, but if you find it overwhelming, their companion software has a graphic EQ as well as presets so that you can adjust them to suit your preferences. Thanks to their detachable boom mic, your teammates should hear you very clearly, even in more noisy and loud environments. However, just like the SteelSeries, the Razer are prone to inconsistent bass and treble delivery, so it's important to take the time to adjust their fit and positioning each time you use them.

    Go for the SteelSeries if you want a longer continuous battery life from your Xbox gaming headphones. However, if you're looking for lower Xbox Wireless latency, consider the Razer instead.

    See our review

  5. Best Wireless Gaming Headset Under $100: Logitech G533 Wireless Gaming Headset

    7.6
    Wireless Gaming
    Type Over-ear
    Enclosure Closed-Back
    Wireless Yes
    Noise Cancelling No
    Mic Yes
    Transducer Dynamic

    The Logitech G533 Wireless Gaming Headset is the best wireless gaming headset under $100. These headphones come with a wireless USB transmitter that has very low latency, so you can game without worrying about your audio syncing issues. They also have a good build quality with decently dense ear cups that are comfortable and well-padded.

    They have an excited, v-shaped sound profile that adds thump and boom to your mixes while vocals and lead instruments are bright and sparkly. If you prefer a different sound, their companion software has a graphic EQ so you can really adjust their sound to your preferences. Their boom mic also does a decent job of recording your voice, and while it sounds thin and flat, you should have no problem being heard clearly. The mic can also separate your voice from moderate ambient noise, which is handy if you're talking in a loud environment.

    Unfortunately, they're very prone to inconsistencies in bass and treble delivery. If you have thick hair or glasses, you may also notice a drop in bass. As a result, you may have to take time to adjust their fit, seal, and positioning each time you wear them in order to get a more consistent sound. That said, these wallet-friendly wireless gaming headphones deliver a good price-to-performance ratio and have low latency.

    See our review

  6. Alternative With Better Microphone Performance: ROCCAT Elo 7.1 Air Wireless

    Type Over-ear
    Enclosure Closed-Back
    Wireless Yes
    Noise Cancelling No
    Mic Yes
    Transducer Dynamic

    If you're looking for affordable wireless gaming headphones with a better overall mic performance, check out the ROCCAT Elo 7.1 Air Wireless. While they're not as comfortable as the Logitech G533 Wireless Gaming Headset, the ROCCAT have a detachable boom mic that delivers a good recording quality, capturing full-bodied and natural speech. The mic also does a very good job of separating your voice from moderate ambient noise, which is nice if you're talking in a loud environment. These comfortable and lightweight headphones have a well-balanced sound profile with a bit of extra boom that can help bring out sound effects in your gameplay. If you like to have more control over your audio experience, their companion software offers a graphic EQ and presets as well as surround support and some mic adjustment features like vocal clarity. You can also customize the RGB lighting on both ear cups. Unfortunately, they have a ski-band headband that can loosen while you're wearing them.

    Consider the Logitech if you're looking for more comfortable gaming headphones. However, try the ROCCAT if you want headphones that have a better microphone performance and RGB lighting.

    See our review

Notable Mentions

  • Razer Nari Ultimate Wireless: The Razer Nari Ultimate are unique wireless gaming headphones with haptic feedback. They sound decent and are comfortable but have a very bulky design and poor battery life, which might be deal-breakers. See our review
  • Logitech G PRO X WIRELESS LIGHTSPEED Gaming Headset: The Logitech G PRO X WIRELESS LIGHTSPEED Gaming Headset are a viable alternative to the SteelSeries Arctis Pro Wireless if you prioritize comfort. However, they don't support Bluetooth, and their microphone performance falls slightly short of that of the SteelSeries. See our review
  • Plantronics RIG 800LX Wireless: The Plantronics RIG 800LX are good wireless gaming headphones with a lightweight, modular design. They're very bulky and feel cheap for the price. See our review
  • Turtle Beach Stealth 700 Gen 2 Wireless: The Turtle Beach Stealth 700 Gen 2 are good wireless gaming headphones that offer Bluetooth connectivity and low non-Bluetooth audio latency, but they aren't as comfortable as the SteelSeries Arctis 9X Wireless and have worse overall microphone performance. See our review
  • Astro A20 Wireless: The Astro A20 Wireless are decent gaming headphones that don't necessarily outperform the competition but do have wireless compatibility with the Xbox One, which is worth mentioning. See our review
  • SteelSeries Arctis 7P Wireless: The SteelSeries Arctis 7P Wireless are gaming headphones that are a viable alternative to the SteelSeries Arctis Pro Wireless, but they aren't Bluetooth-compatible and have shorter battery life. See our review
  • SteelSeries Arctis 7X Wireless: The SteelSeries Arctis 7X Wireless are a good alternative to the SteelSeries Arctis 9X Wireless if you like to game on different consoles. However, they don't support Bluetooth. See our review
  • HyperX Cloud 2/Cloud II Wireless: The HyperX Cloud 2/Cloud II are wireless gaming headphones with a comfortable fit and excellent overall microphone performance, but their companion software is lacking features compared to the SteelSeries Arctis Pro Wireless, and they aren't Bluetooth-compatible. See our review
  • Corsair HS70 Wireless: The Corsair HS70 Wireless are better-built and more comfortable than the ROCCAT Elo 7.1 Air Wireless, but they have inferior overall microphone performance, fewer configuration options in their companion software, and higher wireless latency. See our review
  • Audeze Penrose Wireless: The Audeze Penrose Wireless are premium planar magnetic wireless gaming headphones with good build quality, a comfortable fit, and a neutral, dark sound profile. They're Bluetooth compatible, just like the SteelSeries Arctis Pro Wireless, but they offer inferior overall mic performance and shorter battery life. See our review
  • Xbox Wireless Headset: The Xbox Wireless Headset is a wireless gaming headset designed for Xbox consoles. They can connect to consoles via Xbox Wireless technology, but also via USB. However, they have a very bass-heavy out-of-the-box sound profile and struggle to deliver audio consistently. See our review

Recent Updates

  1. Jul 16, 2021: Due to Test Bench 1.5 updates, the Astro A50 Gen 4 Wireless 2019 now offer a better wireless gaming performance than the SteelSeries Arctis Pro Wireless. We have replaced the SteelSeries with the Astro. The Logitech G533 Wireless Gaming Headset also offers a better wireless gaming performance than the ROCCAT Elo 7.1 Air Wireless and we have switched their order to better reflect their capabilities.

  2. Jun 18, 2021: Checked the text for accuracy and product availability. There hasn't been a change to our recommendations.

  3. May 20, 2021: Replaced the Astro A50 Gen 4 Wireless 2019 with the SteelSeries Arctis 9X Wireless and added the Razer Kaira Pro as 'Alternative With Lower Latency' as these two headphones offer a better value to most users.

  4. Apr 23, 2021: Verified the accuracy of our text and checked for product availability. There has been no change to our recommendations.

  5. Mar 25, 2021: Verified that all main picks are still in stock and represent the best choice for their category. Renamed 'Best Wireless Gaming Headset For Xbox One' category to 'Best Wireless Gaming Headset For Xbox Series X'. Added Xbox Wireless Headset to Notable Mentions.

All Reviews

Our recommendations above are what we think are currently the best wireless gaming headphones to buy for most people in each price range. We factor in the price (cheaper headphones win over pricier ones if the difference isn't worth it), feedback from our visitors, and availability (no headphones that are difficult to find or almost out of stock everywhere).

If you would like to choose for yourself, here is the list of all our reviews for wireless headphones, ranked by their suitability for wireless gaming. Be careful not to get caught up in the details. There are no perfect headphones and your personal taste, gaming preference, and playing style will matter more in your selection.

Recommended Articles

Discussions