We're growing and hiring in our offices in Montreal for various positions. If you're interested in helping people find the best products for their needs, check out our careers page!

The 6 Best Wireless Gaming Headsets - Spring 2021 Reviews

Updated
Best Wireless Gaming Headsets
589 Headphones Tested
  • Store-bought headphones; no cherry-picked units
  • Easily comparable results
  • No ads; unbiased reviews
  • Supported directly by you via insider access and when you purchase through our affiliate links
Learn more about our approach to product reviews here.

Wireless technologies have greatly improved over time. Consequently, it's now possible to pick a great wireless gaming headset that has low enough latency that you're not bothered by delay when playing your favorite games. If you play multiplayer games, a nice-sounding microphone ensures that your teammates and friends can clearly hear you. Some of them are even Bluetooth-compatible, so you can either mix in your music while playing or use the headset as day-to-day wireless headphones.

We’ve tested over 580 headphones, and below are our recommendations for the best wireless gaming headphones to buy. If you’re looking for headsets with a specific gaming system in mind, check out our recommendations for the best gaming headsets for PC, the best Xbox One headsets, and the best PS4 gaming headsets.


  1. Best Wireless Gaming Headset: SteelSeries Arctis Pro Wireless

    8.1
    Wireless Gaming
    Type Over-ear
    Enclosure Closed-Back
    Wireless Yes
    Noise Cancelling No
    Mic Yes
    Transducer Dynamic

    The best wireless gaming headset that we've tested is the SteelSeries Arctis Pro Wireless. These feature-packed gaming headphones come with a wireless transmitter that allows for low-latency transmission of audio, which is great for gaming. However, they're also Bluetooth-compatible, letting you chat with friends or stream music from your phone as you game. As a bonus, their wireless base station also serves as a charging station for the two included batteries, each of which supply over 15 hours of runtime.

    They feel well-built, with dense plastic construction and a flexible boom microphone, which delivers impressive recording quality and does a superb job of isolating your voice from background noise. They have a well-balanced sound profile out-of-the-box, which should ensure that sound effects don't overwhelm in-game dialogue or music, though you can use their companion app to adjust this to your liking.

    Unfortunately, while they should be comfortable for most users to wear for extended periods, their elastic ski-band headband has a limited range of adjustment, so you may find them quite tight if you have a large head. Their audio delivery is also highly sensitive to their fit, seal, and positioning on your head. Otherwise, their rich feature set and premium-feeling construction make them one of the best headsets for PS5 that we've tested.

    See our review

  2. Better-Built Alternative: Logitech G PRO X WIRELESS LIGHTSPEED Gaming Headset

    Type Over-ear
    Enclosure Closed-Back
    Wireless Yes
    Noise Cancelling No
    Mic Yes
    Transducer Dynamic

    If you're looking for headphones with even better build quality, check out the Logitech G PRO X WIRELESS LIGHTSPEED Gaming Headset. While, unlike the SteelSeries Arctis Pro Wireless, they don't have a wireless transmitter dock and lack more robust controls, the Logitech have a sturdy design with aluminum forks and a steel headband. They also come with foam ear cushions if you don't like the leatherette ones, so you can find a fit that's most comfortable to you. Their boom mic captures your voice clearly, even in noisy environments, and you can even detach it if you want a more casual look. Thanks to their companion software, you can tweak their sound to your liking using their graphic EQ and presets. Their wireless USB dongle also helps keep latency within good limits, ensuring your audio stays in sync with your gameplay.

    Try the SteelSeries if you like to customize your audio experience on the fly with a wireless transmitter dock. However, if build quality is more important to you, consider the Logitech instead.

    See our review

  3. Best Wireless Gaming Headset For Xbox Series X: Astro A50 Gen 4 2019

    8.0
    Wireless Gaming
    Type Over-ear
    Enclosure Closed-Back
    Wireless Yes
    Noise Cancelling No
    Mic Yes
    Transducer Dynamic

    The best wireless headset for Xbox Series X that we’ve tested is the Astro A50 Gen 4 Wireless 2019. These over-ears come with base station that allows for low latency transmission of audio with your Xbox console, though you have to purchase the correct 'PC/Xbox' variant for full mic and audio compatibility. Their base station serves as a charging dock, though they can also be charged via a micro-USB cable.

    These over-ears are quite well-built and very comfortable to wear, with spacious, well-padded ear cups and a headband that distributes their weight quite evenly. Their flippable boom mic makes your voice sound full-bodied, detailed, and mostly clear of background noise, even in loud or crowded environments. They also gave a fairly well-balanced default sound profile, so in-game dialogue shouldn't be completely overwhelmed by sound effects. They also supply over 17 hours of playback time on a single charge, which should be more than enough for a couple of long gaming sessions.

    Unfortunately, they do a terrible job of filtering out background noise, which could be annoying if you're gaming in a noisy environment. They also aren't Bluetooth-compatible, so you can't stream music or chat with friends through your phone while remaining connected to your console. Otherwise, their comfortable fit, sturdy construction, and low wireless latency make them a great choice for Xbox gamers.

    See our review

  4. Xbox Wireless Alternative: SteelSeries Arctis 9X Wireless

    Type Over-ear
    Enclosure Closed-Back
    Wireless Yes
    Noise Cancelling No
    Mic Yes
    Transducer Dynamic

    If you'd like your headphones to connect to your Xbox console without the need for a bulky base station, get the SteelSeries Arctis 9X Wireless. While they aren't as comfortable as the Astro A50 Gen 4 Wireless 2019 and don't deliver audio as consistently, they use Xbox Wireless technology to connect to compatible devices, much like an Xbox controller, so you don't have to worry about plugging in a dongle to use them. They're also Bluetooth-compatible, allowing you to chat with friends or stream music from your phone as you game. Their battery life of roughly 28 hours is also considerably longer than the Astro, so you shouldn't have to worry about charging them quite as often. That said, their non-Bluetooth audio latency is somewhat high for a pair of gaming headphones.

    Get the Astro if you prioritize comfort, but consider the SteelSeries if you like the idea of not having to use a base station and want Bluetooth compatibility.

    See our review

  5. Best Wireless Gaming Headset Under $100: ROCCAT Elo 7.1 Air Wireless

    7.6
    Wireless Gaming
    Type Over-ear
    Enclosure Closed-Back
    Wireless Yes
    Noise Cancelling No
    Mic Yes
    Transducer Dynamic

    The ROCCAT Elo 7.1 Air Wireless is the best wireless gaming headset under $100 that we've tested. These comfortable and lightweight headphones have customizable RGB lighting on both ear cups. They also have a great battery performance and with their RGB lighting turned on, they can last around 16 hours continuously.

    They have a well-balanced sound profile with a bit of extra boom that can help bring out sound effects in your gameplay. That said, if you like to have more control over your audio experience, their companion software offers a graphic EQ and presets as well as surround support and some mic adjustment features like vocal clarity. Their detachable boom mic does a very good job overall, so you sound full-bodied and natural, even in moderately noisy environments. Thanks to their USB-A wireless dongle, they also have very low latency, making them well-suited for gaming.

    Unfortunately, they have a ski-band headband that can loosen while you're wearing them. They're also very prone to inconsistent audio delivery depending on their fit, seal, and positioning. That said, if you're looking for customizable gaming headphones at a more wallet-friendly price point, they're a suitable choice.

    See our review

  6. More Comfortable Alternative: Logitech G533 Wireless Gaming Headset

    Type Over-ear
    Enclosure Closed-Back
    Wireless Yes
    Noise Cancelling No
    Mic Yes
    Transducer Dynamic

    If you want a more comfortable fit, consider the Logitech G533 Wireless Gaming Headset. These gaming headphones have higher wireless latency than the ROCCAT Elo 7.1 Air Wireless and inferior microphone recording quality, but their conventional headband design allows for a more consistently comfortable fit. They supply roughly 17 hours of continuous playback time, which should be sufficient for a couple of extended gaming marathons, and their Logitech G HUB companion software offers a wide range of configuration options. They have more virtual soundstage features than the ROCCAT like room ambiance presets and an adjustable speaker modeling function. Unfortunately, they struggle to deliver audio consistently and don't offer any sort of Bluetooth connectivity.

    Get the ROCCAT if you want lower wireless latency and a better overall boom mic, but consider the Logitech if you want a more comfortable fit.

    See our review

Notable Mentions

  • Razer Nari Ultimate Wireless: The Razer Nari Ultimate Wireless are unique wireless gaming headphones with haptic feedback. They sound decent and are comfortable but have a very bulky design and poor battery life, which might be deal-breakers. See our review
  • Corsair Void PRO RGB Wireless: The Corsair Void PRO RGB Wireless are eye-catching wireless gaming headphones with an adjustable RGB lighting feature, but they don't have any on-board channel-mixing controls and aren't as well-made as the Astro A50 Gen 4 Wireless 2019. See our review
  • Plantronics RIG 800LX Wireless: The Plantronics RIG 800LX are good wireless gaming headphones with a lightweight, modular design. They're very bulky and feel cheap for the price. See our review
  • Turtle Beach Stealth 700 Gen 2 Wireless: The Turtle Beach Stealth 700 Gen 2 are good wireless gaming headphones that offer Bluetooth connectivity and low non-Bluetooth audio latency, but they aren't as comfortable as the Astro A50 Gen 4 Wireless 2019 and have worse overall microphone performance. See our review
  • Astro A20 Wireless: The Astro A20 Wireless are decent gaming headphones that don't necessarily outperform the competition but do have wireless compatibility with the Xbox One, which is worth mentioning. See our review
  • SteelSeries Arctis 7P Wireless: The SteelSeries Arctis 7P Wireless are gaming headphones that are a viable alternative to the SteelSeries Arctis Pro Wireless, but they aren't Bluetooth-compatible and have shorter battery life. See our review
  • Razer Kaira Pro Wireless: The Razer Kaira Pro Wireless are a good alternative to the SteelSeries Arctis 9X Wireless, as they block out more ambient noise and have lower audio latency. However, they don't support any wired connections and have shorter battery life. See our review
  • HyperX Cloud 2/Cloud II Wireless: The HyperX Cloud 2/Cloud II are wireless gaming headphones with a comfortable fit and excellent overall microphone performance, but their companion software is lacking features compared to the SteelSeries Arctis Pro Wireless, and they aren't Bluetooth-compatible. See our review
  • Corsair HS70 Wireless: The Corsair HS70 Wireless are better-built and more comfortable than the ROCCAT Elo 7.1 Air Wireless, but they have inferior overall microphone performance, fewer configuration options in their companion software, and higher wireless latency. See our review
  • Audeze Penrose Wireless: The Audeze Penrose Wireless are premium planar magnetic wireless gaming headphones with good build quality, a comfortable fit, and a neutral, dark sound profile. They're Bluetooth compatible, just like the SteelSeries Arctis Pro Wireless, but they offer inferior overall mic performance and shorter battery life. See our review
  • Xbox Wireless Headset: The Xbox Wireless Headset is a wireless gaming headset designed for Xbox consoles. They can connect to consoles via Xbox Wireless technology, but also via USB. However, they have a very bass-heavy out-of-the-box sound profile and struggle to deliver audio consistently. See our review

Recent Updates

  1. Apr 23, 2021: Verified the accuracy of our text and checked for product availability. There has been no change to our recommendations.

  2. Mar 25, 2021: Verified that all main picks are still in stock and represent the best choice for their category. Renamed 'Best Wireless Gaming Headset For Xbox One' category to 'Best Wireless Gaming Headset For Xbox Series X'. Added Xbox Wireless Headset to Notable Mentions.

  3. Feb 23, 2021: Added Audeze Penrose Wireless to Notable Mentions. Ensured that other main picks are still in stock and represent the best choice for their given category.

  4. Jan 25, 2021: Renamed 'Best Budget Wireless Gaming Headset' category to 'Best Wireless Gaming Headset Under $100'. Replaced Logitech G533 Wireless Gaming Headset with ROCCAT Elo 7.1 Air Wireless. Replaced Corsair HS70 Wireless with Logitech G533 Wireless Gaming Headset. Added HyperX Cloud 2/Cloud II Wireless, Corsair Void PRO RGB Wireless, and Corsair HS70 Wireless to Notable Mentions. Replaced Turtle Beach Stealth 700 Wireless with Turtle Beach Stealth 700 Gen 2 Wireless in Notable Mentions. Removed LucidSound LS31 Wireless from Notable Mentions due to current availability.

  5. Dec 21, 2020: Added Razer Kaira Pro Wireless and SteelSeries Arctis 7P Wireless to Notable Mentions.

All Reviews

Our recommendations above are what we think are currently the best wireless gaming headphones to buy for most people in each price range. We factor in the price (cheaper headphones win over pricier ones if the difference isn't worth it), feedback from our visitors, and availability (no headphones that are difficult to find or almost out of stock everywhere).

If you would like to choose for yourself, here is the list of all our reviews for wireless headphones, ranked by their suitability for wireless gaming. Be careful not to get caught up in the details. There are no perfect headphones and your personal taste, gaming preference, and playing style will matter more in your selection.

Recommended Articles

Discussions