The 6 Best Wireless Gaming Headsets - Fall 2021 Reviews

Updated
Best Wireless Gaming Headsets
632 Headphones Tested
  • Store-bought headphones; no cherry-picked units
  • Easily comparable results
  • No ads; unbiased reviews
  • Supported directly by you via insider access and when you purchase through our affiliate links
Learn more about our approach to product reviews here.

Wireless technologies have greatly improved over time. Consequently, it's now possible to pick a great wireless gaming headset that has low enough latency that you're not bothered by delay when playing your favorite games. If you play multiplayer games, a nice-sounding microphone ensures that your teammates and friends can hear you. Some are even Bluetooth-compatible, so you can mix in your music while playing or use the headset as day-to-day wireless headphones.

We’ve tested over 625 headphones, and below are our recommendations for the best wireless gaming headphones to buy. If you’re looking for headsets with a specific gaming system in mind, check out our recommendations for the best gaming headsets, the best Xbox One headsets, and the best PS4 gaming headsets.


  1. Best Wireless Gaming Headset: Astro A50 Gen 4 2019

    8.3
    Wireless Gaming
    Type Over-ear
    Enclosure Closed-Back
    Wireless Yes
    Noise Cancelling No
    Mic Yes
    Transducer Dynamic

    The Astro A50 Gen 4 Wireless 2019 is the best wireless gaming headset that we've tested. These over-ear headphones are very comfortable, with deep, spacious earcups and soft padding. They come with a fantastic base station that provides a low latency wireless connection, which is great for gaming.

    Their default sound profile is well-balanced and adds a touch of extra boom that can help bring out sound effects in action-packed games. If you prefer a different sound, it can also be customized with a graphic EQ and presets in the Astro Command Center software. Their boom mic makes your voice sound full-bodied and natural, and it has an impressive noise handling performance, so your teammates can hear you clearly even if you're gaming in a noisy environment.

    Unfortunately, like many gaming headsets, they leak a lot of audio and don't isolate you from very much noise, meaning they may be better suited for quieter environments. Also, their base station is advertised as console-locked to either PlayStation or Xbox, so you need to be sure to purchase the one you need, although either variant works with PCs. That said, these headphones offer low latency and a customizable experience for gamers. They're also among the best gaming headsets we've tested.

    See our review

  2. Better-Built Alternative: Logitech G PRO X WIRELESS LIGHTSPEED Gaming Headset

    Type Over-ear
    Enclosure Closed-Back
    Wireless Yes
    Noise Cancelling No
    Mic Yes
    Transducer Dynamic

    If you're looking for wireless gaming headphones with even better build quality, try the Logitech G PRO X WIRELESS LIGHTSPEED Gaming Headset. These headphones aren't as breathable as the Astro A50 Gen 4 Wireless 2019, and they have somewhat higher non-Bluetooth latency, but they have much better build quality, with a steel headband that feels very durable. They also come with two sets of ear cup padding, so you have the choice between leatherette and memory foam. Their default sound profile is pretty neutral, with a touch of extra boom that can help to emphasize sound effects in action-packed games, and it can also be customized with a graphic EQ and presets in the companion software. Their boom mic is detachable and has a great recording quality, and the headphones have a long continuous battery life of about 24 hours. Unfortunately, they're prone to inconsistent bass and treble delivery, and people who have thick hair or wear glasses may experience a drop in bass.

    If you want the wireless gaming headset with lower latency, go for the Astro, but try the Logitech instead if build quality is a top priority.

    See our review

  3. Best Wireless Gaming Headset For Xbox Series X: SteelSeries Arctis 9X Wireless

    7.8
    Wireless Gaming
    Type Over-ear
    Enclosure Closed-Back
    Wireless Yes
    Noise Cancelling No
    Mic Yes
    Transducer Dynamic

    The best wireless headset that we've tested for the Xbox Series X is the SteelSeries Arctis 9X. These headphones offer full compatibility with Xbox consoles via Xbox wireless and offer low enough latency for gaming. They're also Bluetooth-compatible, so you can chat with friends or listen to music on your phone and hear your game audio at once.

    They're very well-built, with a flexible metal headband that feels sturdy. The controls are well-suited for gaming, with onboard channel mixing and EQ cycling in addition to call and music functions. Their reasonably neutral sound profile is suitable for many types of content, and you can customize it with a graphic EQ and presets in the headphones' companion app. They also have a long continuous battery life of roughly 28 hours.

    Unfortunately, while you can use them wired to listen to audio, the mic only works when you're connected wirelessly. Like many other gaming headsets that we've tested, they're very prone to inconsistent audio delivery, and people who wear glasses or have thick hair may notice a drop in bass. Otherwise, if you're looking for wireless headphones to use with your Xbox, this is one of the best headsets for Xbox Series X/S that we've tested.

    See our review

  4. Alternative With Lower Latency: Razer Kaira Pro Wireless

    Type Over-ear
    Enclosure Closed-Back
    Wireless Yes
    Noise Cancelling No
    Mic Yes
    Transducer Dynamic

    If you want wireless gaming headphones with lower latency, you may prefer the Razer Kaira Pro Wireless. These headphones have a shorter continuous battery life than the SteelSeries Arctis 9X Wireless, but they offer lower latency over Xbox Wireless and Bluetooth. Their boom mic is also detachable and has a much better overall performance, so it makes your voice sound more full-bodied and does a significantly better job of separating it from background noise. Their default sound profile has extra punch and boom, which is well-suited for action-packed games, but it may sound muddy to some. However, if you prefer a different sound, their companion software offers a graphic EQ and presets so you can customize it to suit your tastes. However, these headphones are wireless-only, so you can't use them wired for a latency-free connection or if you run out of battery.

    If longer continuous battery life is important to you or you want headphones that can be used either wirelessly or wired, go for the SteelSeries, but consider the Razer instead you're looking for headphones with lower latency over Xbox Wireless.

    See our review

  5. Best Mobile Gaming Headset: Razer Opus X Wireless

    5.9
    Wireless Gaming
    Type Over-ear
    Enclosure Closed-Back
    Wireless Yes
    Noise Cancelling Yes
    Mic Yes
    Transducer Dynamic

    The best mobile gaming headset we've tested is the Razer Opus X Wireless. These well-built over-ear headphones have a very comfortable fit and come in a few different bright colors. If you use their 'Gaming Mode', they provide a low latency Bluetooth connection suitable for gaming with iPhones, Android phones, and PCs.

    Out of the box, they have a neutral sound profile with a bit of extra punch and boom, which fans of genres like EDM and hip-hip may like. You can also customize it with EQ presets in the headphones' companion app. Their onboard controls are easy to use, and they have an extremely long continuous battery life of roughly 68 hours.

    Unfortunately, their integrated mic struggles to separate your voice from background sound, so whoever you're talking to may not be able to hear you when you're in a noisy setting. They're also not very portable since they don't come with a case or pouch or fold into a more compact shape. Otherwise, if you're looking for headphones with low latency for mobile gaming, they're a solid choice.

    See our review

  6. Best Wireless Gaming Headset Under $100: Logitech G533 Wireless Gaming Headset

    7.6
    Wireless Gaming
    Type Over-ear
    Enclosure Closed-Back
    Wireless Yes
    Noise Cancelling No
    Mic Yes
    Transducer Dynamic

    The best wireless gaming headset that we've tested under $100 is the Logitech G533 Wireless Gaming Headset. These headphones are well-built and have comfortable, well-padded ear cups. Their wireless USB dongle provides a low latency connection, so you can use them for wireless gaming without worrying about your audio being out of sync.

    Their boom mic has a decent recording quality, so while your voice sounds a bit thin and flat, your teammates can understand you clearly. It also does a good job of separating your voice from background noise, which is helpful if you're talking in a noisy place. Out of the box, they have a v-shaped sound profile that adds a bit of thump and punch to your audio, which can help to emphasize sound effects in action-packed games. You can also customize it with a graphic EQ in the headphones' companion software.

    Unfortunately, these headphones are very prone to inconsistent bass and treble delivery based on their fit, seal, and positioning, so you may need to adjust them each time you wear them to get a more consistent sound. In particular, people who wear glasses or have thick hair may experience a drop in bass. That said, they offer low latency and a customizable sound profile at a budget-friendly price.

    See our review

  7. Alternative With Better Microphone Performance: ROCCAT Elo 7.1 Air Wireless

    Type Over-ear
    Enclosure Closed-Back
    Wireless Yes
    Noise Cancelling No
    Mic Yes
    Transducer Dynamic

    If you want budget-friendly gaming headphones with a better overall mic performance, you may prefer the ROCCAT Elo 7.1 Air Wireless. They have a tighter, less comfortable fit than the Logitech G533 Wireless Gaming Headset, but their detachable boom mic has a much better recording quality, so your voice sounds more full-bodied and natural. It's also very good at separating your voice from background noise, so you can be heard even when you're talking in a noisy environment. They have a similar continuous battery life of roughly 16 hours, and their default sound profile is well-quite well-balanced, although it lacks a bit of thump and rumble. However, you can customize it with a graphic EQ and presets in the headphones' companion app.

    If you prioritize a more comfortable fit, go for the Logitech, but try the ROCCAT if you want headphones with a better overall mic performance.

    See our review

Notable Mentions

  • Razer Nari Ultimate Wireless: The Razer Nari Ultimate are unique wireless gaming headphones with haptic feedback. They sound decent and are comfortable but have a very bulky design and poor battery life, which might be deal-breakers. See our review
  • SteelSeries Arctis Pro Wireless: The SteelSeries Arctis Pro Wireless are wireless gaming headphones with Bluetooth compatibility, a comfortable fit, and a very well-balanced sound profile. However, they have much higher non-Bluetooth latency than the Logitech G PRO X WIRELESS LIGHTSPEED Gaming Headset and are more prone to inconsistent bass and treble delivery. See our review
  • Plantronics RIG 800LX Wireless: The Plantronics RIG 800LX are good wireless gaming headphones with a lightweight, modular design. They're very bulky and feel cheap for the price. See our review
  • Turtle Beach Stealth 700 Gen 2 Wireless: The Turtle Beach Stealth 700 Gen 2 are good wireless gaming headphones that offer Bluetooth connectivity and low non-Bluetooth audio latency, but they aren't as comfortable as the SteelSeries Arctis 9X Wireless and have worse overall microphone performance. See our review
  • Astro A20 Wireless: The Astro A20 Wireless are decent gaming headphones that don't necessarily outperform the competition but do have wireless compatibility with the Xbox One, which is worth mentioning. See our review
  • SteelSeries Arctis 7P Wireless: The SteelSeries Arctis 7P Wireless are gaming headphones that are a viable alternative to the SteelSeries Arctis Pro Wireless, but they aren't Bluetooth-compatible and have shorter battery life. See our review
  • SteelSeries Arctis 7X Wireless: The SteelSeries Arctis 7X Wireless are a good alternative to the SteelSeries Arctis 9X Wireless if you like to game on different consoles. However, they don't support Bluetooth. See our review
  • HyperX Cloud 2/Cloud II Wireless: The HyperX Cloud 2/Cloud II are wireless gaming headphones with a comfortable fit and excellent overall microphone performance, but their companion software lacks features compared to the SteelSeries Arctis Pro Wireless, and they aren't Bluetooth-compatible. See our review
  • Corsair HS70 Wireless: The Corsair HS70 Wireless are better-built and more comfortable than the ROCCAT Elo 7.1 Air Wireless, but they have inferior overall microphone performance, fewer configuration options in their companion software, and higher wireless latency. See our review
  • Audeze Penrose Wireless: The Audeze Penrose Wireless are premium planar magnetic wireless gaming headphones with good build quality, a comfortable fit, and a neutral, dark sound profile. They're Bluetooth compatible, just like the SteelSeries Arctis Pro Wireless, but they offer inferior overall mic performance and shorter battery life. See our review
  • Xbox Wireless Headset: The Xbox Wireless Headset is a wireless gaming headset designed for Xbox consoles. They can connect to consoles via Xbox Wireless technology, but also via USB. However, they have a very bass-heavy out-of-the-box sound profile and struggle to deliver audio consistently. See our review

Recent Updates

  1. Oct 08, 2021: Replaced the SteelSeries Arctis Pro Wireless with the Logitech G PRO X WIRELESS LIGHTSPEED Gaming Headset because of their lower non-Bluetooth latency. Moved the SteelSeries to Notable Mentions.

  2. Sep 10, 2021: Checked picks to make sure they represent the best recommendations and that the products are available.

  3. Aug 13, 2021: Added the 'Best Headset For Mobile Gaming' category and added the Razer Opus X Wireless as the pick. There were no other changes to the recommendations.

  4. Jul 16, 2021: Due to Test Bench 1.5 updates, the Astro A50 Gen 4 Wireless 2019 now offer a better wireless gaming performance than the SteelSeries Arctis Pro Wireless. We have replaced the SteelSeries with the Astro. The Logitech G533 Wireless Gaming Headset also offers a better wireless gaming performance than the ROCCAT Elo 7.1 Air Wireless and we have switched their order to better reflect their capabilities.

  5. Jun 18, 2021: Checked the text for accuracy and product availability. There hasn't been a change to our recommendations.

All Reviews

Our recommendations above are what we think are currently the best wireless gaming headphones to buy for most people in each price range. We factor in the price (cheaper headphones win over pricier ones if the difference isn't worth it), feedback from our visitors, and availability (no headphones that are difficult to find or almost out of stock everywhere).

If you would like to choose for yourself, here is the list of all our reviews for wireless headphones, ranked by their suitability for wireless gaming. Be careful not to get caught up in the details. There are no perfect headphones and your personal taste, gaming preference, and playing style will matter more in your selection.

Recommended Articles

Discussions