Updated

The 6 Best Wireless Gaming Headsets - Summer 2020
Reviews

Best Wireless Gaming Headsets
458 Headphones Tested
  • Store-bought headphones; no cherry-picked units
  • Easily comparable results
  • No ads; unbiased reviews
  • Supported directly by you via insider access and when you purchase through our affiliate links
Learn more about our approach to product reviews here.

Wireless technologies have greatly improved over time. Consequently, it's now possible to pick a great wireless gaming headset that has low enough latency that you're not bothered by delay when playing your favorite games. If you play multiplayer games, a nice sounding microphone ensures that your teammates and friends can clearly hear you. Some of them are even Bluetooth compatible, so you can either mix in your music while playing or use the headset as day-to-day wireless headphones.

We’ve tested over 400 headphones, and below are our recommendations for the best wireless gaming headphones to buy. If you’re looking for gaming headsets with a specific gaming system in mind, check out our recommendations for the best gaming headsets for PCXbox One, and PS4.


  1. Best Wireless Gaming Headset: SteelSeries Arctis Pro Wireless

    7.2
    Mixed Usage
    7.6
    Neutral Sound
    6.9
    Commute/Travel
    7.1
    Sports/Fitness
    7.0
    Office
    7.9
    Wireless Gaming
    8.2
    Wired Gaming
    7.9
    Phone Calls
    Type Over-ear
    Enclosure Closed-Back
    Wireless Yes
    Noise Cancelling No
    Mic Yes
    Transducer Dynamic

    The best wireless gaming headset we've tested so far is the SteelSeries Arctis Pro Wireless. These well-built headphones offer a lot of customization features thanks to their dedicated wireless transmitter, making it easy to adjust and tweak your audio experience. When every moment counts, its transmitter also provides a very low latency wireless connection, so you don't have to worry about lag.
     
    They're comfortable for multi-hour gaming sessions, and you can connect your mobile devices to them via Bluetooth so that you can mix music or team chat while you're playing. Their microphone also does a very good job of reproducing voices, even in noisy environments like gaming tournaments, and you're teammates (or enemies) should hear you clearly. You're never out of the game too long due to low battery life either, as these headphones come with two swappable batteries. One battery can be charged in the wireless transmitter while you're using the other one, and you can easily switch them out as you need.

    On the downside, they don't isolate noise well and are better suited for quiet spaces. The SteelSeries also have a poor frequency response consistency, which, due to fit, seal, and positioning, means you may not hear the same audio reproduction each time you wear them. You can even noticeably lose bass if there's a gap in the seal of the ear cups, like if you wear glasses or have thick hair. However, the transmitter has a built-in graphic EQ so you can really customize the sound to suit your needs.

    See our review

  2. Alternative With A More Casual Design: HyperX Cloud Flight S

    Type Over-ear
    Enclosure Closed-Back
    Wireless Yes
    Noise Cancelling No
    Mic Yes
    Transducer Dynamic

    If you’re looking for wireless gaming headphones with a more casual design, get the HyperX Cloud Flight S. They may not feel as premium as the SteelSeries Arctis Pro Wireless, and they don't offer as many connection options as they can't be used via Bluetooth or wired. However, they're very comfortable and are more budget-friendly. They have an amazing microphone and a tremendous battery life, although they can't be used when charging and don't allow for passive playback, which is slightly disappointing. Also, their latency is higher than the SteelSeries, but most people won't notice a delay when playing games. On the upside, they're Qi charging-compatible, and their microphone is fully detachable to give them a more casual look.

    If you're looking for the best wireless headset with the best overall performance and amazing versatility, grab the SteelSeries, but if you're on a limited budget and are looking for longer battery life, go for the HyperX instead.

    See our review

  3. Best Wireless Gaming Headset For Xbox One: Astro A50 Gen 4 2019

    6.3
    Mixed Usage
    8.0
    Neutral Sound
    5.2
    Commute/Travel
    6.1
    Sports/Fitness
    5.9
    Office
    8.0
    Wireless Gaming
    6.6
    Wired Gaming
    7.3
    Phone Calls
    Type Over-ear
    Enclosure Closed-Back
    Wireless Yes
    Noise Cancelling No
    Mic Yes
    Transducer Dynamic

    The best wireless gaming headset for Xbox One that we’ve tested so far is the Astro A50 Gen 4 Wireless 2019. These headphones feel well-built and have a base station that creates a low latency wireless connection, so you're never lagging behind your teammates. They also come in console-specific variants, so if you're playing on Xbox One, make sure you pick up the corresponding variant.

    Whether you're several hours into your raid or casually gaming, the Astro are comfortable headphones with a continuous battery life of over 17 hours. Their sound profile is well-balanced, and their boom microphone captures a full-bodied and clear voice, so you can easily chat with friends in MMOs. They also have virtual surround features like speaker modeling, and their companion software has a graphic EQ and presets so you can better fine-tune your sound experience.

    Unfortunately, they take a long time to charge, and they aren't particularly versatile as they have to have their base station to work. They also don't block out a lot of background noise, so they're better suited for more quiet spaces like a living room. Still, if you're an Xbox One gamer, these headphones are a great choice.

    See our review

  4. Xbox Wireless Alternative: SteelSeries Arctis 9X Wireless

    Type Over-ear
    Enclosure Closed-Back
    Wireless Yes
    Noise Cancelling No
    Mic Yes
    Transducer Dynamic

    If you would like your headphones to easily connect to your console without a docking station or a dongle, get the SteelSeries Arctis 9X. They might not be as comfortable as the Astro A50 Gen 4 Wireless 2019, but they connect to your Xbox One just like your controller does, which is very convenient. They're also Bluetooth compatible, so you can easily connect them to your phone and play music, and they can also be used wired. They sound well-balanced, but some might feel like they're a bit light on bass, especially since, just like the SteelSeries, their frequency response consistency is sub-par. On the upside, they have a great microphone, a very long battery life, and can be customized on a PC before being used on Xbox.

    If you game for long hours and want the most comfortable headset, get the Astro. However, if you care more about battery life and like the idea of not having an extra dongle or dock station, go for the SteelSeries instead.

    See our review

  5. Best Budget Wireless Gaming Headset: Logitech G533 Wireless Gaming Headset

    6.1
    Mixed Usage
    7.4
    Neutral Sound
    5.3
    Commute/Travel
    5.8
    Sports/Fitness
    5.8
    Office
    7.5
    Wireless Gaming
    6.0
    Wired Gaming
    6.6
    Phone Calls
    Type Over-ear
    Enclosure Closed-Back
    Wireless Yes
    Noise Cancelling No
    Mic Yes
    Transducer Dynamic

    The best wireless gaming headset that we've tested so far in the budget category is the Logitech G533. They're comfortable, have a good build for their price-point, and since they use a USB dongle for their wireless connection, they have a low latency that gives you a good gaming experience.

    They have a well-balanced sound profile with just a touch of extra bass. If you're looking for a different sound, you can customize it using the Logitech G HUB companion software, which has a good graphic EQ. G HUB also allows you to button map, adjust your microphone level and surround sound, and even set an auto-off timer, which are all handy features to have. These headphones have a 17-hour continuous battery life, so you can game for multiple hours without worrying too much about battery life, and they can even be used while charging.

    On the downside, their boom microphone is only decent, and your voice sounds a bit thin. Due to the padding on the ear cups, their bass and treble delivery also varies across users, and those who wear glasses or have thick hair may experience a noticeable drop in bass. That being said, these headphones have an overall good performance, making them suited for those who want a wireless gaming headset on a limited budget.

    See our review

  6. Better-Built Alternative: Corsair HS70 Wireless

    Type Over-ear
    Enclosure Closed-Back
    Wireless Yes
    Noise Cancelling No
    Mic Yes
    Transducer Dynamic

    If you're looking for headphones that should last you a long time without having to buy another pair, check out the Corsair HS70. Their app might not offer as many customization settings as the Logitech G533 Wireless Gaming Headset, but their overall build quality is superior. They have metal grills covering the ear cups, and the microphone is fully detachable as well. They can be used for around 15 hours of continuous playback, and their fit is tighter, which ensures a more consistent performance across users. They also take a lot less time to charge than the Logitech headphones, which is nice. Unfortunately, they only work with their dongle and can't be used wired.

     If you like having tons of customization options and playing around with all available settings, grab the Logitech. However, if build quality is what you care about, the Corsair are the better-built option.

    See our review

Notable Mentions

  • Razer Nari Ultimate Wireless: The Razer Nari Ultimate Wireless are unique wireless gaming headphones with haptic feedback. They sound decent and are comfortable, but have a very bulky design and poor battery life, which might be deal-breakers. See our review
  • LucidSound LS31 Wireless: The LucidSound LS31 Wireless are good wireless gaming headphones with a versatile design that is less gamer-centric than some of our top picks. They are not as well-built as our recommendations, though. See our review
  • Plantronics RIG 800LX Wireless: The Plantronics RIG 800LX Wireless are good wireless gaming headphones with a lightweight, modular design. They are very bulky and feel cheap for the price. See our review
  • Turtle Beach Stealth 700 Wireless: The Turtle Beach Stealth 700 Wireless are good wireless gaming headphones with a lot of connectivity options but have a plastic feel and are not the most comfortable. See our review
  • Astro A20 Wireless: The Astro A20 Wireless are decent gaming headphones that don't necessarily outperform the competition but do have wireless compatibility with the Xbox One, which is worth mentioning. See our review

Recent Updates

06/05/2020: Only minor updates to the text and verification for accuracy; no changes in product picks.

05/06/2020: Took out the Logitech G933 as it's getting discontinued.

04/06/2020: Changed the Cloud Flight for newer Cloud Flight S.

02/06/2020: Swapped SteelSeries Arctis 9X and Astro A50 Gen 4.

10/23/2019: Replaced Astro A50 with Astro A50 Gen 4 2019. Changed 'Best Budget Wireless Gaming Headset' to Logitech G533. Changed 'Better-Built Budget Alternative' to Corsair HS70.

All Reviews

Our recommendations above are what we think are currently the best wireless gaming headphones to buy for most people in each price range. We factor in the price (cheaper headphones win over pricier ones if the difference isn't worth it), feedback from our visitors, and availability (no headphones that are difficult to find or almost out of stock everywhere).

If you would like to choose for yourself, here is the list of all our reviews for wireless gaming headphones. Be careful not to get caught up in the details. There are no perfect headphones and your personal taste, gaming preference, and playing style will matter more in your selection.

Recommended Articles

LOG IN

JOIN RTINGS.com

Be part of the most informed community and take advantage of our advanced tools to find the best product for your needs.
Join our mailing list:
Become an insider

Unlimited access to full product reviews, test measurements and scores

test table UI

Product prices across the site on reviews, tables and tools

product prices UI

Additional votes for our
next reviews

Additional votes UI

Early Access
to our reviews and test measurements

Early Access UI

Create Discussion