Get insider access
Preferred headphones store
Your browser is not supported or outdated so some features of the site might not be available.
676
Headphones store-bought and tested, supported by you via insider access, and when you purchase through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.
Driven by data, run by a passionate team of engineers, testers, technical writers, developers, and more. We are hiring!

The 6 Best Wireless Gaming Headsets - Spring 2022 Reviews

Updated
Best Wireless Gaming Headsets

Wireless technologies have greatly improved over time. Consequently, it's now possible to pick a great wireless gaming headset that has low enough latency that you're not bothered by the delay when playing your favorite games. If you play multiplayer games, a nice-sounding microphone ensures your teammates and friends can hear you. Some are even Bluetooth-compatible, so you can mix in your music while playing or use the headset as day-to-day wireless headphones.

We’ve tested over 675 headphones, and below are our recommendations for the best wireless gaming headphones to buy. If you’re looking for headsets with a specific gaming system in mind, check out our recommendations for the best gaming headsets, the best Xbox One headsets, and the best PS4 gaming headsets.


  1. Best Wireless: Astro A50 Gen 4 2019

    The Astro A50 Gen 4 Wireless 2019 is the best wireless gaming headset that we've tested. These premium over-ears come in either a 'PC/PS4' or 'PC/Xbox One' variant, so it's important to get the right one for your console. Unlike other gaming headphones on this list, they come with a docking station that you connect to your console. It offers a low latency wireless connection, so your audio and visuals stay in sync while you game, and you can even place your headphones on it to charge when not in use.

    They have a comfortable fit and over 17 hours of continuous playback time, making them suitable for long gaming sessions. Out of the box, their well-balanced sound is suitable for a variety of audio content, including dialogue and instrumentals. If you're looking for a bit more thump and rumble in your gameplay, their companion software offers a graphic EQ plus presets to help you customize them to your liking. Their boom mic also offers excellent overall performance, so you sound clear and full-bodied, even if you're talking in noisy environments.

    Unfortunately, they struggle to block out background noise, which is normal for gaming headphones. They also leak a lot of audio at high volumes, so if you're gaming in a shared space, others around you can hear it. If you're looking for customizable wireless gaming headphones with low latency, they're worth checking out.

    See our review

  2. More Customizable Alternative: SteelSeries Arctis 7+ Wireless

    If you're looking for more customizable gaming headphones, check out the SteelSeries Arctis 7+ Wireless. These headphones are more prone to inconsistent audio delivery than the Astro A50 Gen 4 Wireless 2019, so it's more important to adjust their fit and positioning each time you wear them. However, they offer more customization features in their companion software to help you adjust their performance to suit you. These include Sonar, which is beta software that includes a parametric EQ and presets for sound customization, as well as a noise gate, volume stabilizer, and noise handling customization options. They have a virtual surround sound feature too, which can help create a more immersive listening experience. Out of the box, they have a boomy sound profile well-suited for action-packed games. They feel sturdy, have a decent overall mic performance, and offer a low latency connection with their USB dongle. 

    If you want headphones that deliver sound more consistently or that have a better passive soundstage performance, go for the Astro. Take a look at the SteelSeries if you like to be able to customize your headphones' performance to your liking.

    See our review

  3. Best For Xbox: SteelSeries Arctis 7X Wireless

    The best wireless headset that we've tested for the Xbox Series X is the SteelSeries Arctis 7X Wireless. These headphones are very well-built and have a comfortable fit for long gaming sessions. You can connect them wirelessly to Xbox consoles using their USB dongle, which provides a low latency connection. 

    Their battery lasts for more than 24 hours of continuous use, so you shouldn't need to recharge them every day. Out of the box, they have a punchy, boomy sound profile that can help emphasize sound effects like footsteps and gunshots in games. You can also customize it with a graphic EQ and presets in the headphones' companion software. They're a good choice for online gamers, too, since their boom mic makes your voice sound clear and full-bodied, even with a bit of noise in the background. 

    However, like most gaming headphones, they don't do a good job of blocking out ambient sound, so they're not ideal for use in a loud place. Also, because of their stretchy headband design, you need to adjust their fit and positioning on your head in order to get the same sound every time you wear them. That said, these are a very good option for gaming and offer a low-latency, wireless connection to Xbox.

    See our review

  4. Bluetooth Alternative: Razer Kaira Pro Wireless for Xbox

    If you want Xbox headphones that support Bluetooth, try the Razer Kaira Pro Wireless for Xbox instead. These headphones can't be used wired, unlike the SteelSeries Arctis 7X Wireless, but they have Bluetooth, so you can pair them with your phone to stream music or chat with friends and hear your game audio at the same time. They have low non-Bluetooth latency, so you shouldn't notice audio syncing issues when you're playing. Their boom mic is detachable, unlike the SteelSeries', and it offers an even better overall performance. Their warm sound profile is quite well-suited for action-packed games, but it's a bit uneven overall, and you may find it overly boomy or muddy. That said, you can customize their sound with a graphic EQ and presets in the headphones' companion app. 

    If you prioritize a longer continuous battery life or are looking for a more neutral sound profile out of the box, go for the SteelSeries, but try the Razer if you want headphones that you can pair with your phone and Xbox simultaneously.

    See our review

  5. Best For Mobile: Razer Opus X Wireless

    The Razer Opus X Wireless is the best wireless headset for mobile gaming we've tested. If you like to game on the go or you're looking for gaming headphones that you can use more casually, these lightweight over-ears support Bluetooth, so you connect to your smartphone or Nintendo Switch. They're also equipped with a 'Gaming Mode' to help deliver low latency on mobile devices.

    These comfortable headphones come in a couple of bright and eye-catching colors. They have a somewhat neutral sound profile with a bump of extra high-bass to add boom to your mixes. If you prefer a different sound, their companion app offers EQ presets. While they're advertised to last roughly 30 hours continuously, we measured 68 hours, which is outstanding.

    Their integrated mic performs much worse than other mics on this list as it sits far away from your mouth. As a result, speech sounds boxy and somewhat muffled. Your voice can also be drowned out by ambient noise. Even though these headphones have active noise cancelling (ANC) to help tackle background sound, it only offers an okay performance. However, it can still block out ambient chatter, which is handy if you're gaming in shared spaces.

    See our review

  6. Best Under $100: SteelSeries Arctis 1 Wireless

    The SteelSeries Arctis 1 Wireless are the best wireless gaming headphones under $100 that we've tested. Their wireless dongle ensures low latency, so your audio and visuals stay in sync while you game. They also have over 25 hours of continuous battery life and are equipped with an auto-off timer to help conserve battery life when you're not using them.

    Out of the box, they have a warm sound profile that adds extra boom to your mixes, which can help emphasize audio cues like footsteps. That said, you can tweak their sound to suit your tastes using their companion app's graphic EQ and presets. These headphones also have a decently comfortable fit. If you're chatting with others while gaming, their boom mic has a satisfactory overall performance too, and you should be easy to understand, even if you're taking in a moderately noisy environment.

    On the flip side, they're mostly plastic, and their hinges don't feel especially solid. The headphones struggle to block out background noise, meaning that if you're gaming near an open window with traffic outside, you'll hear it. Still, these budget-friendly wireless headphones have a robust performance worth checking out.

    See our review

Notable Mentions

  • Logitech G PRO X WIRELESS LIGHTSPEED Gaming Headset: The Logitech G PRO X WIRELESS LIGHTSPEED Gaming Headset are customizable gaming headphones with low latency and good overall mic performance. However, users have reported the hinges on their units breaking over time. See our review
  • Razer Nari Ultimate Wireless: The Razer Nari Ultimate are unique wireless gaming headphones with haptic feedback. They sound decent and are comfortable but have a very bulky design and poor battery life, which might be deal-breakers. See our review
  • SteelSeries Arctis Pro Wireless: The SteelSeries Arctis Pro Wireless are wireless gaming headphones with Bluetooth compatibility, a comfortable fit, and a well-balanced sound profile. However, they have much higher non-Bluetooth latency than the Logitech G PRO X WIRELESS LIGHTSPEED Gaming Headset and are more prone to inconsistent bass and treble delivery. See our review
  • Turtle Beach Stealth 700 Gen 2 Wireless: The Turtle Beach Stealth 700 Gen 2 are good wireless gaming headphones that offer Bluetooth connectivity and low non-Bluetooth audio latency. However, they aren't as comfortable as the SteelSeries Arctis 9X Wireless and have worse microphone performance. See our review
  • SteelSeries Arctis 7P Wireless: The SteelSeries Arctis 7P Wireless are gaming headphones that are a viable alternative to the SteelSeries Arctis Pro Wireless, but they aren't Bluetooth-compatible and have shorter battery life. See our review
  • HyperX Cloud 2/Cloud II Wireless: The HyperX Cloud 2/Cloud II are wireless gaming headphones with a comfortable fit and excellent microphone performance. However, their companion software lacks features compared to the SteelSeries Arctis Pro Wireless, and they aren't Bluetooth-compatible. See our review
  • Corsair HS70 Wireless: The Corsair HS70 Wireless are better-built and more comfortable than the ROCCAT Elo 7.1 Air Wireless. However, they have inferior overall microphone performance, fewer configuration options in their companion software, and higher wireless latency. See our review
  • Audeze Penrose Wireless: The Audeze Penrose Wireless are premium planar magnetic wireless gaming headphones with good build quality, a comfortable fit, and a neutral, dark sound profile. They're Bluetooth-compatible, just like the SteelSeries Arctis Pro Wireless, but offer inferior overall mic performance and shorter battery life. See our review
  • Xbox Wireless Headset: The Xbox Wireless Headset is a wireless gaming headset designed for Xbox consoles. You can connect them to consoles via Xbox Wireless technology, but also via USB. However, they have a very bass-heavy out-of-the-box sound profile and struggle to deliver audio consistently. See our review
  • ROCCAT Elo 7.1 Air Wireless: The ROCCAT Elo 7.1 Air Wireless are budget-friendly gaming headphones with customizable RGB lighting and robust companion software. However, they have high non-Bluetooth wireless latency. See our review
  • HyperX Cloud Alpha Wireless: The HyperX Cloud Alpha Wireless have an amazingly long continuous battery life, but a worse overall mic performance than the Astro Astro A50 Gen 4 Wireless 2019. That said, you may prefer their more neutral default sound profile. See our review

Recent Updates

  1. May 11, 2022: Added the HyperX Cloud Alpha Wireless to Notable Mentions.

  2. Apr 11, 2022: We've checked our picks for product availability and accuracy. However, there hasn't been a change in our recommendations.

  3. Mar 17, 2022: Replaced the Logitech G533 with the SteelSeries Arctis 1 Wireless as the Logitech are no longer found at this price point. Replaced the Logitech G PRO X WIRELESS LIGHTSPEED Gaming Headset with the SteelSeries Arctis 7+ Wireless as the SteelSeries offer a slightly better overall performance.

  4. Feb 18, 2022: Checked that picks represent the best recommendations and that the products are in stock.

  5. Jan 11, 2022: Replaced the SteelSeries Arctis 9X Wireless with the SteelSeries Arctis 7X Wireless as users have reported stuttering issues with their 9X units. Also changed the Razer Kaira Pro Wireless for Xbox to 'Bluetooth Alternative'. Also removed the ROCCAT Elo 7.1 Air Wireless as they have high non-Bluetooth wireless latency.

All Reviews

Our recommendations above are what we think are currently the best wireless gaming headset and headphones to buy for most people in each price range. We factor in the price (cheaper headphones win over pricier ones if the difference isn't worth it), feedback from our visitors, and availability (no headphones that are difficult to find or almost out of stock everywhere).

If you would like to choose for yourself, here is the list of all our reviews for wireless headphones, ranked by their suitability for wireless gaming. Be careful not to get caught up in the details. There are no perfect headphones and your personal taste, gaming preference, and playing style will matter more in your selection.

Recommended Articles

Discussions