Your browser is not supported or outdated so some features of the site might not be available.

The 6 Best Wireless Gaming Headsets - Winter 2022 Reviews

Updated
Best Wireless Gaming Headsets
654 Headphones Tested
  • Store-bought headphones; no cherry-picked units
  • Easily comparable results
  • No ads; unbiased reviews
  • Supported directly by you via insider access and when you purchase through our affiliate links
Learn more about our approach to product reviews here.

Wireless technologies have greatly improved over time. Consequently, it's now possible to pick a great wireless gaming headset that has low enough latency that you're not bothered by the delay when playing your favorite games. If you play multiplayer games, a nice-sounding microphone ensures your teammates and friends can hear you. Some are even Bluetooth-compatible, so you can mix in your music while playing or use the headset as day-to-day wireless headphones.

We’ve tested over 650 headphones, and below are our recommendations for the best wireless gaming headphones to buy. If you’re looking for headsets with a specific gaming system in mind, check out our recommendations for the best gaming headsets, the best Xbox One headsets, and the best PS4 gaming headsets.


  1. Best Wireless Gaming Headset: Astro A50 Gen 4 2019

    8.3
    Wireless Gaming
    Type Over-ear
    Enclosure Closed-Back
    Wireless Yes
    Noise Cancelling No
    Mic Yes
    Transducer Dynamic

    The Astro A50 Gen 4 Wireless 2019 is the best wireless gaming headset that we've tested. These over-ear headphones are very comfortable, with deep, spacious ear cups and soft padding. They come with a fantastic base station that provides a low latency wireless connection, great for gaming.

    Their default sound profile is well-balanced and adds a touch of extra boom that can help bring out sound effects in action-packed games. If you prefer a different sound, it can also be customized with a graphic EQ and presets in the Astro Command Center software. Their boom mic makes your voice sound full-bodied and natural, and it has an impressive noise handling performance, so your teammates can hear you clearly even if you're gaming in a noisy environment.

    Unfortunately, like many gaming headsets, they leak a lot of audio and don't isolate you from very much noise, meaning they may be better suited for quieter environments. Also, their base station is advertised as console-locked to either PlayStation or Xbox, so you need to be sure to purchase the one you need, although either variant works with PCs. That said, these headphones offer low latency and a customizable experience for gamers. They're also among the best gaming headsets we've tested.

    See our review

  2. Alternative With Better Battery Performance: Logitech G PRO X WIRELESS LIGHTSPEED Gaming Headset

    Type Over-ear
    Enclosure Closed-Back
    Wireless Yes
    Noise Cancelling No
    Mic Yes
    Transducer Dynamic

    If you want gaming headphones with better battery performance, consider the Logitech G PRO X WIRELESS LIGHTSPEED Gaming Headset instead. They have higher latency via non-Βluetooth wireless than the Astro A50 Gen 4 Wireless 2019. However, it's still low enough to be suitable for gaming, and their roughly 24-hour continuous battery life is much longer, so you shouldn't need to worry about them dying during long gaming sessions. They're also well-built, come with a choice of leatherette or memory foam ear cup padding, and have a similarly comfortable fit. The boom mic offers a great recording quality and is detachable for a more casual look. Their default sound profile is well-balanced, but you may need to take the time to adjust their fit and positioning to hear the same sound each time you wear them. Unfortunately, some users have also reported that their unit's hinges broke over time.

    If you want a lower-latency connection over non-Βluetooth wireless, go for the Astro, but consider the Logitech instead if battery performance is more priority.

    See our review

  3. Best Wireless Gaming Headset For Xbox Series X: SteelSeries Arctis 7X Wireless

    7.8
    Wireless Gaming
    Type Over-ear
    Enclosure Closed-Back
    Wireless Yes
    Noise Cancelling No
    Mic Yes
    Transducer Dynamic

    The best wireless headset that we've tested for the Xbox Series X is the SteelSeries Arctis 7X Wireless. These comfortable headphones have low latency, thanks to their USB dongle. They also have under 24 hours of continuous playback time, which should last through long gaming marathons without too much of an issue.

    Out of the box, these headphones have a boomy sound profile that can help emphasize sound effects like footsteps. That said, their companion app offers a graphic EQ and presets so that you can tweak them to your liking. Although they have a closed-back design, their passive soundstage sounds natural, wide, and as if sound is coming from out in front of you, rather than from inside your head. Their boom mic also has an excellent recording quality and can separate your voice from moderate ambient noise around you.

    That said, like most gaming headphones, they're prone to inconsistencies in bass and treble delivery. You may especially notice a drop in bass if you have thick hair or wear glasses. They also struggle to block out background noise, which could be problematic if you're gaming by an open window with traffic outside. That said, these wireless headphones should please most Xbox gamers.

    See our review

  4. Bluetooth Alternative: Razer Kaira Pro Wireless for Xbox

    Type Over-ear
    Enclosure Closed-Back
    Wireless Yes
    Noise Cancelling No
    Mic Yes
    Transducer Dynamic

    If you want Xbox headphones that also support Bluetooth, go for the Razer Kaira Pro Wireless for Xbox. While they have a slightly shorter continuous battery life than the SteelSeries Arctis 7X Wireless, you can pair them with your Xbox console and Bluetooth device at the same time. They also have low non-Bluetooth wireless latency, ensuring that your audio and visuals stay in sync while gaming. They have a similarly comfortable and well-built design. You can customize their warm sound profile to better suit your tastes using their companion software's graphic EQ plus presets. They also have a detachable boom mic with excellent recording quality and good noise handling performance, so your teammates shouldn't have a problem hearing you clearly.

    Try the SteelSeries if you're looking for gaming headphones with longer continuous battery life or a more neutral default sound profile. If you want Bluetooth-compatible headphones to simultaneously receive audio from your phone and console, get the Razer.

    See our review

  5. Best Mobile Gaming Headset: Razer Opus X Wireless

    5.9
    Wireless Gaming
    Type Over-ear
    Enclosure Closed-Back
    Wireless Yes
    Noise Cancelling Yes
    Mic Yes
    Transducer Dynamic

    The Razer Opus X Wireless is the best mobile gaming headset we've tested. These over-ear headphones come in a few bright colors and have a very comfortable, well-built design. Their 'Gaming Mode' provides a low-latency wireless connection with iPhones and Android devices, so you shouldn't notice audio lag if you use them for mobile gaming.

    Their default sound profile is neutral, with extra punch and boom in the bass range that can help to emphasize sound effects in action-packed games. If you prefer a different sound, the Razer Audio app gives you access to EQ presets that you can use to customize it. These headphones also have a very long, roughly 68-hour continuous battery life, as well as easy-to-use onboard controls.

    Unfortunately, their integrated microphone has a disappointing noise handling performance, so if you're talking to teammates in a noisy place, they may not be able to hear you. They also lack ANC and struggle to isolate you from bass-range noise like rumbling bus and plane engines. That said, if you want over-ear headphones well-suited for mobile gaming and day-to-day use, they're worth considering.

    See our review

  6. Best Wireless Gaming Headset Under $100: Logitech G533 Wireless Gaming Headset

    7.6
    Wireless Gaming
    Type Over-ear
    Enclosure Closed-Back
    Wireless Yes
    Noise Cancelling No
    Mic Yes
    Transducer Dynamic

    The best wireless gaming headset we've tested under $100 is the Logitech G533 Wireless Gaming Headset. These over-ears are compatible with Logitech G HUB software, which offers a variety of features like virtual surround, a graphic EQ, and an adjustable mic level. You can also create profiles with your saved preferences, so you can easily select which settings you'd like to use while you game.

    These comfortable and well-built headphones have a wireless USB transmitter that delivers very low latency. Their excited default sound profile can help bring out sound effects in your gameplay while dialogue and lead instruments are bright. They also have roughly 17 hours of continuous battery life, and you can use them while charging. If you like to game with others, their foldable boom mic offers decent performance.

    They're prone to inconsistencies in bass and treble delivery, meaning you may need to adjust their fit, seal, and positioning to achieve a more consistent sound. They also don't have an AUX port, and you can't use them via an analog connection if you want to game while wired. However, these wallet-friendly headphones offer a customizable performance with low latency.

    See our review

Notable Mentions

  • Razer Nari Ultimate Wireless: The Razer Nari Ultimate are unique wireless gaming headphones with haptic feedback. They sound decent and are comfortable but have a very bulky design and poor battery life, which might be deal-breakers. See our review
  • SteelSeries Arctis Pro Wireless: The SteelSeries Arctis Pro Wireless are wireless gaming headphones with Bluetooth compatibility, a comfortable fit, and a well-balanced sound profile. However, they have much higher non-Bluetooth latency than the Logitech G PRO X WIRELESS LIGHTSPEED Gaming Headset and are more prone to inconsistent bass and treble delivery. See our review
  • Plantronics RIG 800LX Wireless: The Plantronics RIG 800LX are good wireless gaming headphones with a lightweight, modular design. They're very bulky and feel cheap for the price. See our review
  • Turtle Beach Stealth 700 Gen 2 Wireless: The Turtle Beach Stealth 700 Gen 2 are good wireless gaming headphones that offer Bluetooth connectivity and low non-Bluetooth audio latency. However, they aren't as comfortable as the SteelSeries Arctis 9X Wireless and have worse microphone performance. See our review
  • Astro A20 Wireless: The Astro A20 Wireless are decent gaming headphones that don't necessarily outperform the competition but do have wireless compatibility with the Xbox One, which is worth mentioning. See our review
  • SteelSeries Arctis 7P Wireless: The SteelSeries Arctis 7P Wireless are gaming headphones that are a viable alternative to the SteelSeries Arctis Pro Wireless, but they aren't Bluetooth-compatible and have shorter battery life. See our review
  • HyperX Cloud 2/Cloud II Wireless: The HyperX Cloud 2/Cloud II are wireless gaming headphones with a comfortable fit and excellent microphone performance. However, their companion software lacks features compared to the SteelSeries Arctis Pro Wireless, and they aren't Bluetooth-compatible. See our review
  • Corsair HS70 Wireless: The Corsair HS70 Wireless are better-built and more comfortable than the ROCCAT Elo 7.1 Air Wireless. However, they have inferior overall microphone performance, fewer configuration options in their companion software, and higher wireless latency. See our review
  • Audeze Penrose Wireless: The Audeze Penrose Wireless are premium planar magnetic wireless gaming headphones with good build quality, a comfortable fit, and a neutral, dark sound profile. They're Bluetooth-compatible, just like the SteelSeries Arctis Pro Wireless, but offer inferior overall mic performance and shorter battery life. See our review
  • Xbox Wireless Headset: The Xbox Wireless Headset is a wireless gaming headset designed for Xbox consoles. They can connect to consoles via Xbox Wireless technology, but also via USB. However, they have a very bass-heavy out-of-the-box sound profile and struggle to deliver audio consistently. See our review
  • ROCCAT Elo 7.1 Air Wireless: The ROCCAT Elo 7.1 Air Wireless are budget-friendly gaming headphones with customizable RGB lighting and robust companion software. However, they have high non-Bluetooth wireless latency. See our review

Recent Updates

  1. Jan 11, 2022: Replaced the SteelSeries Arctis 9X Wireless with the SteelSeries Arctis 7X Wireless as users have reported stuttering issues with their 9X units. Also changed the Razer Kaira Pro Wireless for Xbox to 'Bluetooth Alternative'. Also removed the ROCCAT Elo 7.1 Air Wireless as they have high non-Bluetooth wireless latency.

  2. Dec 24, 2021: Checked picks to make sure they represent the best recommendations, and that the products are available.

  3. Dec 01, 2021: Checked our picks for accuracy and product availability. There hasn't been a change in our recommendations.

  4. Nov 05, 2021: Made the Razer Kaira Pro Wireless for Xbox the 'Cheaper Alternative' to the SteelSeries 9X Wireless instead of the 'Alternative With Lower Latency', due to test bench 1.5 updates.

  5. Oct 08, 2021: Replaced the SteelSeries Arctis Pro Wireless with the Logitech G PRO X WIRELESS LIGHTSPEED Gaming Headset because of their lower non-Bluetooth latency. Moved the SteelSeries to Notable Mentions.

All Reviews

Our recommendations above are what we think are currently the best wireless gaming headphones to buy for most people in each price range. We factor in the price (cheaper headphones win over pricier ones if the difference isn't worth it), feedback from our visitors, and availability (no headphones that are difficult to find or almost out of stock everywhere).

If you would like to choose for yourself, here is the list of all our reviews for wireless headphones, ranked by their suitability for wireless gaming. Be careful not to get caught up in the details. There are no perfect headphones and your personal taste, gaming preference, and playing style will matter more in your selection.

Recommended Articles

Discussions