The Government of Quebec is shutting down non-essential businesses till April 13. Therefore, our lab is temporarily closed and we can't test new products. In the meantime, we will continue to update articles from home.
Updated

The 6 Best Xbox One Headsets - Spring 2020
Reviews

Best Xbox One Headsets
437 Headphones Tested
  • Store-bought headphones; no cherry-picked units
  • Easily comparable results
  • No ads; unbiased reviews
  • Supported directly by you via insider access and when you purchase through our affiliate links
Learn more about our approach to product reviews here.

If the Xbox One is your primary console, then you know how hard it can be to find a headset that has native mic support for the console when compared to the PS4. This makes the gaming headset selection for Xbox slightly limited; however, some good options come in an Xbox variant or work well with both consoles.

We've tested over 400 headphones and below are our recommendations for the best gaming headsets for Xbox One to purchase in 2020. See also our recommendations for the best gaming headsets, the best gaming headsets for PC, and the best gaming headsets under $100.


  1. Best Wireless Xbox One Gaming Headset: Astro A50 Gen 4 2019

    Test Methodology v1.4
    6.3
    Mixed Usage
    8.0
    Neutral Sound
    5.2
    Commute/Travel
    6.1
    Sports/Fitness
    5.9
    Office
    8.0
    Wireless Gaming
    6.6
    Wired Gaming
    7.3
    Phone Calls
    Type Over-ear
    Enclosure Closed-Back
    Wireless Yes
    Noise Cancelling No
    Mic Yes
    Transducer Dynamic

    The best Xbox One headset that we've tested so far is the Astro A50 Gen 4 Wireless 2019. These headphones have tons of features that gamers look for and are specifically designed to work with the Xbox One.

    Well-balanced and neutral, these headphones produce great default sound. Unique to the Xbox variant, the base station offers several different inputs including optical and micro USB that are designed to work with the Xbox. If you need some battery life, the base station also doubles as a charging dock. You probably won't be charging your headset too often, though, as these headphones can hold over 17 hours of battery life. If you like a little more customization, there's a companion app to adjust your listening experience; you can later assign these preferences to the EQ button on the right ear cup. The microphone also handles noise well: you'll be heard clearly, even if you're calling out commands at an MMO tournament.

    On the downside, they can't be used with a regular audio cable as they don't have an audio jack. If you run out of battery life, however, you can still charge them with a micro USB and use them wirelessly. While this might be a slight inconvenience, these headphones perform well, making them a good choice for a wireless Xbox One gaming headset.

    See our review

  2. Bluetooth Alternative: SteelSeries Arctis 9X Wireless

    Type Over-ear
    Enclosure Closed-Back
    Wireless Yes
    Noise Cancelling No
    Mic Yes
    Transducer Dynamic

    If you like the Astro A50 Gen 4 Wireless 2019 but are looking for a gaming headset that can connect to your Xbox One console with Bluetooth, then the SteelSeries Arctis 9X are a suitable option. While they might not come with a dedicated base station, their Bluetooth compatibility can pair with your phone or other devices, making it easy to listen to other audio while playing your favorite video games. They have good neutral sound reproduction and microphone recording quality. If you're into long gaming sessions, they have around 28 hours of battery life. Their design also features soft padding and the typical ski-band SteelSeries headband, making them comfortable to wear for multiple hours. On the flip side, due to the padding and fit, their audio delivery is somewhat prone to inconsistencies. People who wear glasses might lose a good amount of bass. They also fall flat in customization: if your PC doesn't support Xbox Wireless, then you won't be able to hear your audio as you EQ it.

    If your Xbox is the primary source of your audio, then the Astro are a good choice, but if you want to be connected to different devices outside of your gaming system, then the SteelSeries are one of the best Bluetooth wireless Xbox One headsets.

    See our review

  3. Best Wired Xbox One Gaming Headset: Astro A40 TR + MixAmp 2019

    Test Methodology v1.4
    5.7
    Mixed Usage
    7.7
    Neutral Sound
    4.4
    Commute/Travel
    5.5
    Sports/Fitness
    5.2
    Office
    6.3
    Wireless Gaming
    8.0
    Wired Gaming
    7.1
    Phone Calls
    Type Over-ear
    Enclosure Open-Back
    Wireless No
    Noise Cancelling No
    Mic Yes
    Transducer Dynamic

    If you prefer the stability of a wired connection, the best wired Xbox One gaming headset that we’ve tested so far is the Astro A40 TR Headset + MixAmp Pro 2019. These are well-built gaming headphones that have a comfortable and ergonomic design. They come with a small USB amp that allows you to plug into the USB port of your Xbox or PC, or you can connect to your PS4 or Xbox One controller with the included 1/8" TRRS cable. The amp also gives you access to a variety of connection options, which makes them a great option for live streamers.

    Their out-of-the-box sound profile is fairly well-balanced, though it may sound a bit muddy and cluttered. Luckily, they're compatible with Astro's Command Center software on Windows or macOS, which gives you access to a 5-band graphic EQ and presets, so you can customize their sound to better suit your preferences. Their microphone sounds very clear and detailed and does an excellent job of blocking out background noise, making them well-suited for louder environments like gaming competitions.

    Unfortunately, due to their open-back design, they leak a lot of audio, and those around you will likely hear your game's audio coming through your headphones. They also do a terrible job at isolating background noise, so they won't help you focus by blocking out ambient sounds. That being said, they're a great wired gaming headset and are an excellent choice if you're an Xbox gamer who doesn't want to worry about a wireless connection.

    See our review

  4. More Immersive Closed-Back Alternative: Audeze Mobius

    Type Over-ear
    Enclosure Closed-Back
    Wireless Yes
    Noise Cancelling No
    Mic Yes
    Transducer Planar Magnetic

    If you like the immersive qualities of an open-back design but prefer the versatility of closed-back headphones, then get the Audeze Mobius, one of the best headsets for Xbox One. They might not feel as comfortable as the Astro A40 TR Headset + MixAmp Pro 2019, but they're good gaming headphones with a unique 3D surround sound and head tracking feature. While our current tests couldn't measure it accurately, these features give a very immersive experience when playing games. However, these features come at a hefty price, which doesn't exactly correlate with their build quality, which is slightly disappointing and plasticky.

    Get the Astro if you prefer a more gamer-centric design and like using an external amp that provides a customizable gaming experience on the fly; however, if you want something that looks a bit more casual and delivers a unique, immersive listening experience, go for the Mobius.

    See our review

  5. Best Budget Xbox One Gaming Headset: HyperX Cloud Stinger

    Test Methodology v1.4
    5.6
    Mixed Usage
    7.1
    Neutral Sound
    5.0
    Commute/Travel
    5.4
    Sports/Fitness
    5.5
    Office
    5.3
    Wireless Gaming
    7.4
    Wired Gaming
    7.4
    Phone Calls
    Type Over-ear
    Enclosure Closed-Back
    Wireless No
    Noise Cancelling No
    Mic Yes
    Transducer Dynamic

    The best Xbox One gaming headset in the budget category that we've tested to date is the HyperX Cloud Stinger. These wired gaming headphones are quite lightweight despite their bulky size and should be comfortable for most people to wear even for extended gaming marathons. Their microphone performance is excellent overall, and your voice will be clear, full-bodied, and easy to hear, even in noisy environments.

    Their sound profile isn't the most accurate and neutral, though it's quite excited and well-suited to video games. The extra kick in bass will give explosions and gunshots more thump, while vocals should be fairly present and easy to hear. Unfortunately, these headphones aren't very good at blocking out background noise, and they leak a fair amount of audio, so they may not be the best to take to a gaming competition.

    Thanks to their wired design, they can easily be plugged into the controller of your Xbox One, and you don't need to worry about latency issues or keeping a battery charged. Overall, if you want a decent pair of gaming headphones but don't want to break the bank, these are a good option and are among the best gaming headsets we've reviewed to date.

    See our review

  6. More Versatile Alternative: Corsair HS60

    Type Over-ear
    Enclosure Closed-Back
    Wireless No
    Noise Cancelling No
    Mic Yes
    Transducer Dynamic

    If you like to use your headphones beyond gaming sessions, then the Corsair HS60 are a good choice. While the HyperX Cloud Stinger have a superior microphone, the Corsair's boom mic is still good. It's detachable, too, making it easy to take these headphones from a tournament to the office. Still, with their hard plastic and metal build, these headphones give you a premium look and feel for a reasonable price. They also have a companion app that allows you to customize your listening experience.

    Get the HyperX if you're primarily gaming with your headphones; however, if you're looking for a more multi-purpose or versatile headset, then go for the Corsair.

    See our review

Notable Mentions

  • Turtle Beach Elite Pro 2 SuperAmp: A decent gaming headset, the Turtle Beach Elite Pro 2 SuperAmp come with Bluetooth connectivity with your phone and a wired DAC, giving you a few more control options. Slight issues in the software and not the best value to performance ratio. See our review
  • HyperX Cloud 2/Cloud II: The HyperX Cloud 2/Cloud II is a well-built wired gaming headset that will work with both consoles. Good comfort and a durable design, but not as many features as the other mid-range picks. See our review
  • Astro A20 Wireless: Performing fairly well overall, the Astro A20 Wireless are decent headphones. They're worth considering if you like the design of the Astro A50 but find them too expensive. See our review
  • Astro A10: The Astro A10 are a wired alternative to the A20. Good build quality, but the wired design is a bit less convenient. See our review
  • Plantronics RIG 800LX Wireless: While sounding great at lower volumes, the Plantronics RIG 800LX Wireless distort heavily in the bass range at higher volumes. See our review
  • Logitech G933 Wireless Gaming Headset: The Logitech G933 Wireless Gaming Headset are headphones that have great customization features, but limited wireless compatibility with the Xbox One. See our review
  • Logitech G433 Gaming Headset: The Logitech G433 come with a good selection of accessories that make them versatile, but they aren't very portable. See our review
  • Creative Sound BlasterX H5: With a good build quality and comfortable casual design, the Creative Sound BlasterX H5 have a wired connection that's latency-free but limited in range. See our review
  • Sennheiser Game One Gaming Headset: The Sennheiser Game One Gaming Headset have an open sound and a great mic. A bit too pricey for their lack of features and what they have to offer. See our review
  • Turtle Beach Elite 800 Wireless: The Turtle Beach Elite 800 Wireless have a low latency dock and Bluetooth. Poor control scheme and mediocre overall performance. See our review

Recent Updates

03/20/2020: Only minor updates to the text and verification for accuracy; no changes in product picks.

02/20/2020: Replaced the Logitech G433 with the Corsair HS60. Switched SteelSeries Arctis 9X Wireless with Astro A50 Gen 4 Wireless 2019 for consistency. Minor updates to the text.

01/21/2020: Only minor updates to the text and verification for accuracy; no changes in product picks.

10/18/2019: Replaced the Astro A50 with the Astro A50 Gen 4 2019.

All Reviews

Our recommendations above are what we think are currently the best Xbox One headsets for most people to buy in each price range. We factor in the price (cheaper headphones win over pricier ones if the difference isn't worth it), feedback from our visitors, and availability (no headphones that are difficult to find or almost out of stock everywhere).

If you would like to choose for yourself, here is the list of all our reviews for headphones that are good for gaming. Be careful not to get caught up in the details. There are no perfect headphones. Personal taste, preference, and listening habits will matter more in your selection, especially if you do not care about having a microphone or wireless features.

Recommended Articles

LOG IN

JOIN RTINGS.com

Be part of the most informed community and take advantage of our advanced tools to find the best product for your needs.
Join our mailing list:
Become an insider

Unlimited access to full product reviews, test measurements and scores

test table UI

Product prices across the site on reviews, tables and tools

product prices UI

Additional votes for our
next reviews

Additional votes UI

Early Access
to our reviews and test measurements

Early Access UI

Create Discussion