The 5 Best Xbox One Headsets - Summer 2021 Reviews

Updated
Best Xbox One Headsets
604 Headphones Tested
  • Store-bought headphones; no cherry-picked units
  • Easily comparable results
  • No ads; unbiased reviews
  • Supported directly by you via insider access and when you purchase through our affiliate links
Learn more about our approach to product reviews here.

If the Xbox One is your primary console, then you know how hard it can be to find a headset that has native mic support for the console when compared to the PS4, making it difficult to find the best Xbox headset. This makes the gaming headset selection for Xbox slightly limited; however, some good options come in an Xbox variant or work well with both consoles.

We've tested over 600 pairs of headphones, and below are our recommendations for the best gaming headsets for Xbox One to purchase. Also, check out our recommendations for the best gaming headsets, the best Xbox Series X headsets, and the best gaming headsets under $100.


  1. Best Wireless Xbox One Gaming Headset: Astro A50 Gen 4 2019

    8.1
    Neutral Sound
    5.1
    Commute/Travel
    6.1
    Sports/Fitness
    6.5
    Office
    8.3
    Wireless Gaming
    6.6
    Wired Gaming
    7.2
    Phone Calls
    Type Over-ear
    Enclosure Closed-Back
    Wireless Yes
    Noise Cancelling No
    Mic Yes
    Transducer Dynamic

    The Astro A50 Gen 4 Wireless 2019 is the best wireless Xbox One headset for gaming that we've tested. These premium wireless gaming headphones come with a wireless charging dock and lots of gaming-oriented customization features. Their Xbox One variant provides full audio and microphone compatibility over a wireless connection, and they have a comfortable, stable fit that's suitable for long gaming sessions.

    Out-of-the-box, they have a pretty neutral sound profile suitable for listening to lots of different types of audio content, and the little extra emphasis in the bass range helps you feel the thump and punch in action-packed games. If you prefer a different sound, you can use the graphic EQ in the Astro Command Center software to customize their sound, and you can even access different EQ presets on the fly using the charging dock. Their boom microphone also has an excellent recording quality, and your voice is clear and natural to whoever's on the other end of the line, even if you're gaming in a noisy place.

    Unfortunately, like many gaming headphones on the market, they have terrible noise isolation, so you could be distracted by background noises if you're gaming in a noisy setting. They also leak a lot of audio, which could annoy those around you. That said, if you're just looking for a pair of headphones for gaming at home, they're a solid choice.

    See our review

  2. Xbox Wireless Alternative: SteelSeries Arctis 9X Wireless

    Type Over-ear
    Enclosure Closed-Back
    Wireless Yes
    Noise Cancelling No
    Mic Yes
    Transducer Dynamic

    If you're looking for a wireless gaming headset that connects with your Xbox One without a dongle or base station, you may prefer the SteelSeries Arctis 9X. They don't deliver sound as consistently as the Astro A50 Gen 4 Wireless 2019 and have a less comfortable fit, but they can connect to your Xbox One using Xbox Wireless technology. These well-built headphones have good onboard controls for gaming, including a mic-mute button, a channel mixing wheel, and a volume wheel. They have a great continuous battery life of roughly 28 hours, and similar to the Astro, their mic captures your voice clearly, even in noisy environments. Their default sound profile is quite well-balanced, but unfortunately, they struggle to reproduce the thump and rumble of low bass. Conveniently, you can customize their sound with a graphic EQ and presets in the companion software, SteelSeries Engine software.

    If you want the more comfortable option, or prefer gaming headphones that come with a wireless dock, consider the Astro. Try the SteelSeries if you prefer to connect with Xbox Wireless or want headphones with longer continuous battery life.

    See our review

  3. Best Wired Xbox One Gaming Headset: Astro A40 TR + MixAmp 2019

    8.1
    Neutral Sound
    4.3
    Commute/Travel
    5.5
    Sports/Fitness
    5.7
    Office
    6.2
    Wireless Gaming
    8.2
    Wired Gaming
    6.9
    Phone Calls
    Type Over-ear
    Enclosure Open-Back
    Wireless No
    Noise Cancelling No
    Mic Yes
    Transducer Dynamic

    The Astro A40 TR Headset + MixAmp Pro 2019 is the best gaming headset for Xbox One with a wired design that we've tested. These headphones have a MixAmp which has channel mixing and volume knobs directly on it so that you can tweak your settings on the fly. You can also use the MixAmp to cycle through EQ presets or access their virtual soundstage feature.

    These over-ears have a great build quality that's comfortable enough to wear for long gaming marathons. Their warm default sound profile delivers a bit of extra boom, which can help emphasize sound effects while you game. Since they're also compatible with Astro Command Center software, you can adjust their sound to your liking using the graphic EQ and presets. Their boom mic offers great overall performance, ensuring you're heard clearly, even in noisy environments.

    Unfortunately, their open-back design means that they don't really block out background noise. They also leak audio at high volumes, which could annoy others around you. However, one of the benefits of this design is that they can produce a more open and spacious soundstage that can help immerse you in your gameplay.

    See our review

  4. Closed-Back Alternative: SteelSeries Arctis Pro GameDAC

    Type Over-ear
    Enclosure Closed-Back
    Wireless No
    Noise Cancelling No
    Mic Yes
    Transducer Dynamic

    If you're looking for wired headphones with a closed-back enclosure, try the SteelSeries Arctis Pro GameDAC instead. While their passive soundstage isn't as immersive as the Astro A40 TR Headset + MixAmp Pro 2019, the Steelseries can block out a bit more background noise like ambient chatter and leak less audio. As a result, their closed-back design can be beneficial if you share your gaming space with others. They have a comfortable fit with an adjustable elastic ski-band headband, so you can wear them for long periods of time without feeling too much fatigue. While they're very prone to inconsistencies in their audio delivery due to this design, their companion software offers a graphic EQ and presets so you can customize their sound to your liking. Their boom mic also delivers a great overall performance, and you should be heard clearly, even if you're talking in a moderately noisy environment.

    Check out the Astro if you're looking for a more immersive passive soundstage from your wired gaming headphones. However, if you prefer a closed-back design to help reduce some ambient noise around you, consider the SteelSeries.

    See our review

  5. Best Budget Xbox One Gaming Headset: HyperX Cloud Stinger

    7.4
    Neutral Sound
    4.8
    Commute/Travel
    5.4
    Sports/Fitness
    6.1
    Office
    5.4
    Wireless Gaming
    7.4
    Wired Gaming
    7.3
    Phone Calls
    Type Over-ear
    Enclosure Closed-Back
    Wireless No
    Noise Cancelling No
    Mic Yes
    Transducer Dynamic

    The best Xbox One headset for gamers in the budget category is the HyperX Cloud Stinger. Although they're simple in design, they have a lightweight and comfortable fit suitable for long gaming marathons. Thanks to their wired design, they can also be plugged into your Xbox controller's audio jack and have virtually no latency, making them ideal for gaming.

    These headphones have a bit of a bass-heavy sound profile, which adds extra thump, rumble, and punch to your gameplay. Their boom mic has a great recording quality, so your voice sounds clear, full, and natural. The mic can also separate your voice from ambient noise too, so you should have no problems being understood if you're talking in a noisy environment.

    Unfortunately, their audio delivery varies depending on their fit, positioning, and seal on your head. You may especially notice a drop in bass if you have thick hair or glasses. They only have volume and mic mute controls, which some users may find limiting. However, if you're looking for wallet-friendly gaming headphones, they're worth considering.

    See our review

Notable Mentions

  • Xbox Wireless Headset: The Xbox Wireless Headset are comfortable headphones that use Xbox Wireless to ensure low audio latency. They have a very boomy, bass-heavy sound profile out-of-the-box, but they offer lots of sound customization features. However, they aren't as well-built or as stable as the SteelSeries Arctis 9X Wireless, and their boom mic doesn't perform as well. See our review
  • SteelSeries Arctis 7P Wireless: The SteelSeries Arctis 7P Wireless are comfortable, well-built headphones with a gaming-oriented design, but their sound profile isn't as balanced as the SteelSeries Arctic 9X. See our review
  • Turtle Beach Stealth 700 Gen 2: The Turtle Beach Stealth 700 Gen 2 Wireless support Xbox Wireless and have a lower non-Bluetooth wireless latency than the SteelSeries Arctis Pro GameDAC, but they're not as comfortable. See our review
  • Plantronics RIG 800LX Wireless: The Plantronics RIG 800LX Wireless have a slightly excited, v-shaped sound profile and have four EQ presets that you can cycle through directly from the headphones. However, some users have reported heavy distortion in the bass range at higher volumes. See our review
  • Razer Kaira Pro Wireless: The Razer Kaira Pro Wireless have lower latency than the SteelSeries Arctis 9X, but their default sound profile isn't as balanced. See our review
  • Astro A20: The Astro A20 Wireless are decent headphones that perform fairly well overall. They're worth considering if you like the design of the Astro A50 but find them out of your price range. See our review
  • Logitech G433 Gaming Headset: The Logitech G433 Gaming Headset come with a good selection of accessories that make them versatile. However, it doesn't feel as well-built as the SteelSeries Arctis Pro GameDAC. See our review
  • HyperX Cloud 2/Cloud II: The HyperX Cloud 2/Cloud II is a well-built wired gaming headset that works on Xbox One as well as PS4. It has a comfortable fit and durable design, but it doesn't offer as many features as the other mid-range picks. See our review
  • Astro A10: The Astro A10 are wired headphones with decent build quality, but they aren't as comfortable and don't isolate noise as well as the HyperX Cloud Stinger. See our review
  • HyperX Cloud Stinger S: The HyperX Cloud Stinger S are very similarly designed and performing headphones as the HyperX Cloud Stinger. While they're slightly out of budget range, they offer a virtual soundstage and companion software with the ability to adjust the mic level. See our review
  • Corsair HS70 Bluetooth: The Corsair HS70 Bluetooth are versatile headphones that support Bluetooth and can be used wired on the Xbox One. While they can be tweaked to your liking using their companion software, they won't offer the same on-the-fly customization features that the Astro A40 TR Headset + MixAmp Pro 2019's MixAmp offers. See our review

Recent Updates

  1. Jul 23, 2021: Checked our picks for availability and accuracy. There haven't been any changes in our recommendations.

  2. Jun 23, 2021: Checked the text for accuracy and product availability. There hasn't been a change in our recommendations.

  3. May 28, 2021: Checked picks to ensure that the best products are still being recommended and that they're in stock.

  4. Apr 30, 2021: Checked availability of recommended products and updated picks. No changes to product recommendations.

  5. Apr 01, 2021: Minor changes to the text and verification for accuracy; no changes in product picks after confirming their availability. Added the Xbox Wireless Headset to Notable Mentions.

All Reviews

Our recommendations above are what we think are currently the best Xbox One headsets for most people to buy in each price range. We factor in the price (cheaper headphones win over pricier ones if the difference isn't worth it), feedback from our visitors, and availability (no headphones that are difficult to find or almost out of stock everywhere).

If you would like to choose for yourself, here is the list of all our reviews for headsets, sorted by Xbox One compatibility. Be careful not to get caught up in the details. There are no perfect headphones. Personal taste, preference, and listening habits will matter more in your selection, especially if you don't care about having a microphone or wireless features.

Recommended Articles

Discussions