Updated

The 6 Best Xbox One Headsets - Summer 2020
Reviews

Best Xbox One Headsets
459 Headphones Tested
  • Store-bought headphones; no cherry-picked units
  • Easily comparable results
  • No ads; unbiased reviews
  • Supported directly by you via insider access and when you purchase through our affiliate links
Learn more about our approach to product reviews here.

If the Xbox One is your primary console, then you know how hard it can be to find a headset that has native mic support for the console when compared to the PS4, making it difficult to find the best Xbox headset. This makes the gaming headset selection for Xbox slightly limited; however, some good options come in an Xbox variant or work well with both consoles.

We've tested over 450 pairs of headphones, and below are our recommendations for the best gaming headsets for Xbox One to purchase. See also our recommendations for the best gaming headsets, the best gaming headsets for PC, and the best gaming headsets under $100.


  1. Best Wireless Xbox One Gaming Headset: Astro A50 Gen 4 2019

    6.3
    Mixed Usage
    8.0
    Neutral Sound
    5.2
    Commute/Travel
    6.1
    Sports/Fitness
    5.9
    Office
    8.0
    Wireless Gaming
    6.6
    Wired Gaming
    7.3
    Phone Calls
    Type Over-ear
    Enclosure Closed-Back
    Wireless Yes
    Noise Cancelling No
    Mic Yes
    Transducer Dynamic

    The best wireless Xbox One headset that we've tested so far is the Astro A50 Gen 4 Wireless 2019. These gaming headphones are comfortably spacious and last 17.5 hours off a single charge, which should be more than enough for even the longest of gaming marathons. The base station works as a charging station for the headphones, connects to your console or TV directly, and is available in either a PS4 or Xbox One variant.

    These headphones have a well-balanced sound profile, and while some users may feel slightly lacking in bass, you can easily tweak the sound to your liking using the graphic EQ and presets available within the Astro Command Center software. They have an excellent boom microphone, and their base station ensures minimal latency, making them great for competitive gaming.

    On the downside, these headphones don't block out much background noise and leak a fair amount of audio, so they're best-suited when gaming alone at home. Also, unlike some gaming headphones that also support a Bluetooth connection, they only work with their wireless transmitter base, so you can't use them as your day-to-day headphones as well. That being said, they're one of the best gaming headsets we've reviewed and are well-rounded enough for most Xbox One users.

    See our review

  2. Xbox Wireless Alternative: SteelSeries Arctis 9X Wireless

    Type Over-ear
    Enclosure Closed-Back
    Wireless Yes
    Noise Cancelling No
    Mic Yes
    Transducer Dynamic

    If you like the Astro A50 Gen 4 Wireless 2019 but are looking for a gaming headset that can connect to your Xbox One console without the need for a bulky wireless receiver, get the SteelSeries Arctis 9X Wireless. These headphones might not have a dedicated base station like the Astro, but they're also Bluetooth compatible, so you can easily mix in your music while playing. Their battery life is almost twice as long, and you have access to a 10-band EQ in the SteelSeries Engine software. They're comfortable and have a ski-band headband that automatically adjusts to your head, although some people might find it too small. Unfortunately, their design is also prone to audio delivery inconsistencies as their fit is very sensitive to glasses or even positioning, though this is common with bulky gaming headsets.

    If you want the best Xbox One headset, go for the Astro with their comfortable design and excellent microphone, but if you want to play music at the same time as you play and like the idea of not having any base station or additional dongle, then get the SteelSeries instead.

    See our review

  3. Best Wired Xbox One Gaming Headset: Astro A40 TR + MixAmp 2019

    5.7
    Mixed Usage
    7.7
    Neutral Sound
    4.4
    Commute/Travel
    5.5
    Sports/Fitness
    5.2
    Office
    6.3
    Wireless Gaming
    8.0
    Wired Gaming
    7.1
    Phone Calls
    Type Over-ear
    Enclosure Open-Back
    Wireless No
    Noise Cancelling No
    Mic Yes
    Transducer Dynamic

    If you're looking to eliminate lag and battery dependency, the Astro A40 TR Headset + MixAmp Pro 2019 is the best Xbox One headset with a wire that we've tested so far. Although these headphones are pretty similar to the Astro A50 Gen 4 Wireless 2019 in design, they offer a wired connection and a MixAmp that offers more control over your audio experience. They're very comfortable, have an open-back design, and look and feel very well-built and durable.

    These headphones have a well-balanced sound profile with a bit of extra bass to bring our explosions and gunshots in your games. If you like to customize the way your headphones sound, the Astro companion software offers a 5-band EQ and presets. The MixAmp even allows you to adjust volume and channel mixing as you play. Their boom microphone is excellent, and your voice is clear, full-bodied, and easy to hear, even in very noisy environments.

    Unfortunately, since these headphones are open-back, they block no background noise and leak a lot of audio. This is by design, however, and helps the headphones breathe a lot more as well as allowing you to hear your own voice while speaking. They're also quite bulky and may not be the best option to take with you as your day-to-day headphones. That being said, they're among the best wired gaming headsets we've tested, and are a great option overall.

    See our review

  4. More Immersive Closed-Back Alternative: Audeze Mobius

    Type Over-ear
    Enclosure Closed-Back
    Wireless Yes
    Noise Cancelling No
    Mic Yes
    Transducer Planar Magnetic

    If you like the immersive qualities of an open-back design like the Astro A40 TR Headset + MixAmp Pro 2019 but prefer the versatility of closed-back headphones, get the Audeze Mobius. These headphones might not come with a unique dock, but they offer a unique experience when using their head-tracking and 3D audio features, although they can only be set on a PC. They're also Bluetooth compatible, so you'll be able to use them with your phone. These headphones are comfortable with good padding, although some may feel like they are a bit tight. The microphone is also excellent; voices sound full-bodied and clear, and it's detachable for a more casual look.

    Get the Astro if you prefer a more gamer-centric design and like using an external amp that provides a customizable gaming experience on the fly. However, if you want something that looks a bit more casual and is Bluetooth compatible as well, go for the Audeze.

    See our review

  5. Best Budget Xbox One Gaming Headset: Corsair HS60

    5.7
    Mixed Usage
    7.4
    Neutral Sound
    4.7
    Commute/Travel
    5.6
    Sports/Fitness
    5.5
    Office
    5.8
    Wireless Gaming
    7.6
    Wired Gaming
    6.7
    Phone Calls
    Type Over-ear
    Enclosure Closed-Back
    Wireless No
    Noise Cancelling No
    Mic Yes
    Transducer Dynamic

    The best gaming headset for Xbox One in the budget category that we've tested so far is the Corsair HS60. These wired gaming headphones are quite comfortable, and they look and feel very well-built and premium, which is great considering their low price point. They aren't as big and bulky as other options on this list, and their detachable microphone and closed-back design make them a decent option to take with you as your daily drivers.

    These headphones have a fairly well-balanced sound profile, with a bit of extra bass that helps bring out explosions and gunshots without being too overpowering. If you like less bass, you can also customize them using a 10-band EQ in their companion software, though unfortunately, this only works on PC. If you plug them into your Xbox's controller, you'll lose your EQ settings.

    On the downside, their microphone isn't as great as others on this list as your voice can sound a bit thin and bright. They also struggle to deliver consistent bass across users, and those who wear glasses or have thick hair may experience a noticeable drop in bass. That being said, these are still good gaming headphones that are a satisfying option for those looking for something more affordable.

    See our review

  6. Alternative With A Better Mic: HyperX Cloud Stinger

    Type Over-ear
    Enclosure Closed-Back
    Wireless No
    Noise Cancelling No
    Mic Yes
    Transducer Dynamic

    If you're always playing online games and your friends are telling you that your microphone doesn't sound good, then get the HyperX Cloud Stinger. It might not have the possibility to be EQ'ed like the Corsair HS60, and it does feel a bit plasticky in comparison, but its microphone sounds impressively clear and full-bodied for its price. These gaming headphones are also quite comfortable for long hours, and look and feel decently durable. Unfortunately, you can't detach their microphone, but you can swivel it up to mute it quickly.

    If you're looking for the best bang for your buck and want the best budget Xbox headset, the Corsair is the best we've tested so far, but if you mainly play online games and need a better sounding microphone, then the HyperX might be a better option for you.

    See our review

Notable Mentions

  • Turtle Beach Elite Pro 2 SuperAmp: A decent gaming headset, the Turtle Beach Elite Pro 2 SuperAmp come with Bluetooth connectivity with your phone and a wired DAC, giving you a few more control options. Slight issues in the software and not the best value to performance ratio. See our review
  • HyperX Cloud 2/Cloud II: The HyperX Cloud 2/Cloud II is a well-built wired gaming headset that will work with both consoles. It has good comfort and durable design, but not as many features as the other mid-range picks. See our review
  • Astro A20 Wireless: Performing fairly well overall, the Astro A20 Wireless are decent headphones. They're worth considering if you like the design of the Astro A50 but find them too expensive. See our review
  • Astro A10: The Astro A10 are wired headphones with decent build quality but don't feel as well-built as the HS60. See our review
  • Plantronics RIG 800LX Wireless: While sounding great at lower volumes, the Plantronics RIG 800LX Wireless distort heavily in the bass range at higher volumes. See our review
  • Logitech G433 Gaming Headset: The Logitech G433 Gaming Headset come with a good selection of accessories that make them versatile, but they aren't very portable. See our review
  • Creative Sound BlasterX H5: With a good build quality and comfortable casual design, the Creative Sound BlasterX H5 have a wired connection that's latency-free but limited in range. See our review
  • Turtle Beach Elite 800 Wireless: The Turtle Beach Elite 800 Wireless have a low latency dock and Bluetooth. It has a poor control scheme and mediocre overall performance. See our review

Recent Updates

06/12/2020: Updated text for clarity and accuracy; changed HyperX Cloud Stinger from 'More Versatile Alternative' to 'Alternative With A Better Microphone' for consistency.

02/20/2020: Replaced the Logitech G433 with the Corsair HS60. Switched SteelSeries Arctis 9X Wireless with Astro A50 Gen 4 Wireless 2019 for consistency.

10/18/2019: Replaced the Astro A50 with the Astro A50 Gen 4 2019.

All Reviews

Our recommendations above are what we think are currently the best Xbox One headsets for most people to buy in each price range. We factor in the price (cheaper headphones win over pricier ones if the difference isn't worth it), feedback from our visitors, and availability (no headphones that are difficult to find or almost out of stock everywhere).

If you would like to choose for yourself, here is the list of all our reviews for headphones that are good for gaming. Be careful not to get caught up in the details. There are no perfect headphones. Personal taste, preference, and listening habits will matter more in your selection, especially if you do not care about having a microphone or wireless features.

Recommended Articles

LOG IN

JOIN RTINGS.com

Be part of the most informed community and take advantage of our advanced tools to find the best product for your needs.
Join our mailing list:
Become an insider
EARLY ACCESS

Gain early access to all tests results for new products

Early Access UI
PRICES LISTED

Prices will now be listed directly in reviews and tables

product prices UI
MORE VOTES

Have 5 votes per product category to chose which product we’ll review next

Additional votes UI
UNLIMITED ACCESS

Gain unlimited access to detailed test results in tools and results (no blurred results)

test table UI

Create Discussion