Current deal: The Bose QuietComfort 35 II Wireless have dropped by $100 on Amazon.com. See all Cyber Monday deals on headphones.

The 5 Best Xbox One Headsets - Winter 2020 Reviews

Updated
Best Xbox One Headsets
531 Headphones Tested
  • Store-bought headphones; no cherry-picked units
  • Easily comparable results
  • No ads; unbiased reviews
  • Supported directly by you via insider access and when you purchase through our affiliate links
Learn more about our approach to product reviews here.

If the Xbox One is your primary console, then you know how hard it can be to find a headset that has native mic support for the console when compared to the PS4, making it difficult to find the best Xbox headset. This makes the gaming headset selection for Xbox slightly limited; however, some good options come in an Xbox variant or work well with both consoles.

We've tested over 500 pairs of headphones, and below are our recommendations for the best gaming headsets for Xbox One to purchase. Also, check out our recommendations for the best gaming headsets, the best gaming headsets for PC, and the best gaming headsets under $100.


  1. Best Wireless Xbox One Gaming Headset: Astro A50 Gen 4 2019

    6.3
    Mixed Usage
    8.0
    Neutral Sound
    5.2
    Commute/Travel
    6.1
    Sports/Fitness
    5.9
    Office
    8.0
    Wireless Gaming
    6.6
    Wired Gaming
    7.3
    Phone Calls
    Type Over-ear
    Enclosure Closed-Back
    Wireless Yes
    Noise Cancelling No
    Mic Yes
    Transducer Dynamic

    The Astro A50 Gen 4 Wireless 2019 is the best wireless Xbox One headset for gaming that we've tested. These over-ear headphones come with a wireless charging station, and they're available as either an Xbox One or PS4 variant. They're also very comfortable and have a spacious design so you can game for hours without feeling too much fatigue.

    They have a neutral sound profile that has just a touch of extra bass that can help emphasize sound effects in action-packed gameplay. If you prefer to tweak its sound to your liking, they're compatible with the Astro Command Center, which offers a graphic EQ plus presets, and you can even save presets to the EQ button on the right earcup. You can also adjust their boom microphone's level, though the mic has an outstanding recording quality right out-of-the-box, even if you're talking in noisy environments. They have a battery life of over 17 hours too, so you're able to game for long periods without worrying too much about recharging them.

    Unfortunately, even though they have a closed-back design, they leak a lot of sound and have bad noise isolation. To use them, you need to use the wireless dock, which makes them less versatile if you're also looking for headphones that you can wear out of the house. Still, if you mostly game at home, these headphones offer a great wireless gaming experience, and they're even among the best gaming headsets we've tested.

    See our review

  2. Xbox Wireless Alternative: SteelSeries Arctis 9X Wireless

    Type Over-ear
    Enclosure Closed-Back
    Wireless Yes
    Noise Cancelling No
    Mic Yes
    Transducer Dynamic

    If you like the Astro A50 Gen 4 Wireless 2019 but are looking for a gaming headset that can connect to your Xbox One console without the need for a bulky wireless receiver, get the SteelSeries Arctis 9X Wireless. These headphones might not have a dedicated base station like the Astro, but they're also Bluetooth-compatible, so you can easily mix in your music while playing. Their battery life is almost twice as long, and you have access to a 10-band EQ in the SteelSeries Engine software. They're comfortable and have a ski-band headband that automatically adjusts to your head, although some people might find it too small. Unfortunately, their design is also prone to audio delivery inconsistencies as their fit is very sensitive to glasses or even positioning, though this is common with bulky gaming headsets.

    If you want the best Xbox One headset, go for the Astro with their comfortable design and excellent microphone, but if you want to play music at the same time as you play and like the idea of not having any base station or additional dongle, then get the SteelSeries instead.

    See our review

  3. Best Wired Xbox One Gaming Headset: Astro A40 TR + MixAmp 2019

    5.7
    Mixed Usage
    7.7
    Neutral Sound
    4.4
    Commute/Travel
    5.5
    Sports/Fitness
    5.2
    Office
    6.3
    Wireless Gaming
    8.0
    Wired Gaming
    7.1
    Phone Calls
    Type Over-ear
    Enclosure Open-Back
    Wireless No
    Noise Cancelling No
    Mic Yes
    Transducer Dynamic

    If you prefer to game without worrying about lag or battery life, the Astro A40 TR Headset + MixAmp Pro 2019 is the best gaming headset for Xbox One with a wire that we've tested. While these headphones have a similar design to the Astro A50 Gen 4 Wireless 2019, they can offer more customization and control over your audio experience thanks to their MixAmp. They're also comfortable enough for long gaming sessions, which is nice.

    Their well-balanced sound profile has a bit of extra bass to help bring out the adrenaline rush of explosions in your favorite action games. If you're craving a different sound, Astro Command Center, their companion software, has a 5-band graphic EQ plus presets that you can save and assign to the EQ button on your MixAmp for a quick switch. Their boom microphone also does an excellent job of capturing your voice clearly, even in more demanding environments like gaming competitions.

    Unfortunately, their open-back design means that they don't block out almost any background noise, and they also leak a lot of audio. That being said, this design also adds a bit more breathability and gives you the ability to hear your voice when speaking. If you're looking for a pair of wired gaming headphones, they're among best wired gaming headsets we've tested and are a useful tool for any Xbox One gamer.

    See our review

  4. Closed-Back Alternative: SteelSeries Arctis Pro GameDAC

    Type Over-ear
    Enclosure Closed-Back
    Wireless No
    Noise Cancelling No
    Mic Yes
    Transducer Dynamic

    If you're looking for a pair of gaming headphones with a closed-back design, try the SteelSeries Arctis Pro GameDAC. While the Astro A40 TR Headset + MixAmp Pro 2019 have a better boom microphone and can reproduce audio more consistently, the SteelSeries leak less sound. They're also comfortable and well-built, so you're able to play video games for longer periods without feeling too much fatigue. If you like to tweak your audio while you game, their GameDAC has a channel mixing dial that's also a multi-function button. This button allows you to switch between presets and EQ modes. While you have full audio and mic compatibility with the Xbox One via an analog connection, you can also use their wired USB connection. However, you can only receive audio with the Xbox One once you change the console's audio output settings.

    Check out the Astro if you prefer an open-back design, which can help produce a wider soundstage. However, try the SteelSeries if you game around other people at home, and you like the closed-back design to help reduce sound leakage.

    See our review

  5. Best Budget Xbox One Gaming Headset: HyperX Cloud Stinger

    5.6
    Mixed Usage
    7.1
    Neutral Sound
    5.0
    Commute/Travel
    5.4
    Sports/Fitness
    5.5
    Office
    5.3
    Wireless Gaming
    7.4
    Wired Gaming
    7.4
    Phone Calls
    Type Over-ear
    Enclosure Closed-Back
    Wireless No
    Noise Cancelling No
    Mic Yes
    Transducer Dynamic

    The HyperX Cloud Stinger is the best Xbox One headset for gamers shopping on a budget that we've tested. These wired gaming headphones are comfortable enough to wear throughout long gaming marathons and feature a latency-free wired connection to make sure you don't miss a crucial moment. Given their budget-friendly price, they're decently well-built too.

    They have a bass-heavy sound profile that should emphasize some sound effects in more action-heavy games without totally overwhelming dialogue and or music. Their boom microphone performs better than that of several more expensive headsets, with great recording quality and amazing noise handling capability. Your teammates should be able to understand you even if you're gaming in a fairly noisy environment.

    Unfortunately, you may have trouble achieving a consistent listening experience, especially if you have long hair or wear glasses since their audio delivery can vary drastically depending on their fit and positioning. They also do a poor job of isolating you from background noise and leak quite a bit of audio, so they may not be the best choice if you intend on using them in a particularly loud or crowded setting. Still, they're a great option if you're looking for gaming headphones with a solid price-to-performance ratio.

    See our review

Notable Mentions

  • Turtle Beach Elite Pro 2 SuperAmp: A decent gaming headset, the Turtle Beach Elite Pro 2 SuperAmp come with Bluetooth connectivity with your phone and a wired DAC, giving you a few more control options. Slight issues in the software and not the best value to performance ratio. See our review
  • HyperX Cloud 2/Cloud II: The HyperX Cloud 2/Cloud II is a well-built wired gaming headset that will work with both consoles. It has good comfort and durable design, but not as many features as the other mid-range picks. See our review
  • Astro A20 Wireless: Performing fairly well overall, the Astro A20 are decent headphones. They're worth considering if you like the design of the Astro A50 but find them too expensive. See our review
  • Astro A10: The Astro A10 are wired headphones with decent build quality but don't feel as well-built as the HS60. See our review
  • Plantronics RIG 800LX Wireless: While sounding great at lower volumes, the Plantronics RIG 800LX Wireless distort heavily in the bass range at higher volumes. See our review
  • Logitech G433 Gaming Headset: The Logitech G433 Gaming Headset come with a good selection of accessories that make them versatile, but they aren't very portable. See our review
  • Creative Sound BlasterX H5: With a good build quality and comfortable casual design, the Creative Sound BlasterX H5 have a wired connection that's latency-free but limited in range. See our review

Recent Updates

11/06/2020: Replaced the Audeze Mobius with the SteelSeries Arctis Pro GameDAC as 'Closed-Back Alternative'. 

10/09/2020: Minor changes to the text for verification and accuracy; no change in product recommendations.

07/13/2020: Replaced Corsair HS60 with HyperX Cloud Stinger.

06/12/2020: Changed HyperX Cloud Stinger from 'More Versatile Alternative' to 'Alternative With A Better Microphone' for consistency.

02/20/2020: Replaced the Logitech G433 with the Corsair HS60. Switched SteelSeries Arctis 9X Wireless with Astro A50 Gen 4 Wireless 2019 for consistency.

All Reviews

Our recommendations above are what we think are currently the best Xbox One headsets for most people to buy in each price range. We factor in the price (cheaper headphones win over pricier ones if the difference isn't worth it), feedback from our visitors, and availability (no headphones that are difficult to find or almost out of stock everywhere).

If you would like to choose for yourself, here is the list of all our reviews for headsets, sorted by Xbox One compatibility. Be careful not to get caught up in the details. There are no perfect headphones. Personal taste, preference, and listening habits will matter more in your selection, especially if you don't care about having a microphone or wireless features.

Recommended Articles

LOG IN

JOIN RTINGS.com

Be part of the most informed community and take advantage of our advanced tools to find the best product for your needs.
Join our mailing list:
Become an insider
EARLY ACCESS

Gain early access to all tests results for new products

Early Access UI
PRICES LISTED

Prices will now be listed directly in reviews and tables

product prices UI
MORE VOTES

Have 5 votes per product category to choose which product we’ll review next

Additional votes UI
UNLIMITED ACCESS

Gain unlimited access to detailed test results in tools and results (no blurred results)

test table UI

Create Post