Updated

The 5 Best Xbox One Headsets - Fall 2020
Reviews

Best Xbox One Headsets
492 Headphones Tested
  • Store-bought headphones; no cherry-picked units
  • Easily comparable results
  • No ads; unbiased reviews
  • Supported directly by you via insider access and when you purchase through our affiliate links
Learn more about our approach to product reviews here.

If the Xbox One is your primary console, then you know how hard it can be to find a headset that has native mic support for the console when compared to the PS4, making it difficult to find the best Xbox headset. This makes the gaming headset selection for Xbox slightly limited; however, some good options come in an Xbox variant or work well with both consoles.

We've tested over 490 pairs of headphones, and below are our recommendations for the best gaming headsets for Xbox One to purchase. See also our recommendations for the best gaming headsets, the best gaming headsets for PC, and the best gaming headsets under $100.


  1. Best Wireless Xbox One Gaming Headset: Astro A50 Gen 4 2019

    6.3
    Mixed Usage
    8.0
    Neutral Sound
    5.2
    Commute/Travel
    6.1
    Sports/Fitness
    5.9
    Office
    8.0
    Wireless Gaming
    6.6
    Wired Gaming
    7.3
    Phone Calls
    Type Over-ear
    Enclosure Closed-Back
    Wireless Yes
    Noise Cancelling No
    Mic Yes
    Transducer Dynamic

    The best wireless Xbox One headset that we've tested to date is the Astro A50 Gen 4 Wireless 2019. These comfortable, well-built over-ears come with a boom microphone that transmits your voice clearly to your teammates. Their wireless dock acts as a charging station for the headphones, and you can buy either an Xbox One or PS4 variant.

    They have a neutral sound profile, with a punchy and extended bass that's suitable for explosions and other action-packed scenes in your favorite games. If you like to customize the sound of your headphones, there's a graphic EQ and presets available in the Astro Command Center companion software. Using the Astro Command Center, you can also adjust some of the microphone's features.

    On the downside, they have a terrible noise isolation performance, and they leak a bit of noise, too. You need the wireless dock in order to use them, so they aren't very versatile, either. That said, if you're gaming from home, they have a solid performance that ranks them among the best gaming headsets we've reviewed.

    See our review

  2. Xbox Wireless Alternative: SteelSeries Arctis 9X Wireless

    Type Over-ear
    Enclosure Closed-Back
    Wireless Yes
    Noise Cancelling No
    Mic Yes
    Transducer Dynamic

    If you like the Astro A50 Gen 4 Wireless 2019 but are looking for a gaming headset that can connect to your Xbox One console without the need for a bulky wireless receiver, get the SteelSeries Arctis 9X. These headphones might not have a dedicated base station like the Astro, but they're also Bluetooth-compatible, so you can easily mix in your music while playing. Their battery life is almost twice as long, and you have access to a 10-band EQ in the SteelSeries Engine software. They're comfortable and have a ski-band headband that automatically adjusts to your head, although some people might find it too small. Unfortunately, their design is also prone to audio delivery inconsistencies as their fit is very sensitive to glasses or even positioning, though this is common with bulky gaming headsets.

    If you want the best Xbox One headset, go for the Astro with their comfortable design and excellent microphone, but if you want to play music at the same time as you play and like the idea of not having any base station or additional dongle, then get the SteelSeries instead.

    See our review

  3. Best Wired Xbox One Gaming Headset: Astro A40 TR + MixAmp 2019

    5.7
    Mixed Usage
    7.7
    Neutral Sound
    4.4
    Commute/Travel
    5.5
    Sports/Fitness
    5.2
    Office
    6.3
    Wireless Gaming
    8.0
    Wired Gaming
    7.1
    Phone Calls
    Type Over-ear
    Enclosure Open-Back
    Wireless No
    Noise Cancelling No
    Mic Yes
    Transducer Dynamic

    If you prefer to game without worrying about lag or battery life, the Astro A40 TR Headset + MixAmp Pro 2019 is the best gaming headset for Xbox One with a wire that we've tested. While these headphones have a similar design to the Astro A50 Gen 4 Wireless 2019, they can offer more customization and control over your audio experience thanks to their MixAmp. They're also comfortable enough for long gaming sessions, which is nice.

    Their well-balanced sound profile has a bit of extra bass to help bring out the adrenaline rush of explosions in your favorite action games. If you're craving a different sound, Astro Command Center, their companion software, has a 5-band graphic EQ plus presets that you can save and assign to the EQ button on your MixAmp for a quick switch. Their boom microphone also does an excellent job of capturing your voice clearly, even in more demanding environments like gaming competitions.

    Unfortunately, their open-back design means that they don't block out almost any background noise, and they also leak a lot of audio. That being said, this design also adds a bit more breathability and gives you the ability to hear your voice when speaking. If you're looking for a pair of wired gaming headphones, they're among best wired gaming headsets we've tested and are a useful tool for any Xbox One gamer.

    See our review

  4. More Immersive Closed-Back Alternative: Audeze Mobius

    Type Over-ear
    Enclosure Closed-Back
    Wireless Yes
    Noise Cancelling No
    Mic Yes
    Transducer Planar Magnetic

    If you like the immersive qualities of an open-back design like the Astro A40 TR Headset + MixAmp Pro 2019 but prefer the versatility of closed-back headphones, get the Audeze Mobius. They might not come with a unique dock, but they offer a unique experience when using their head-tracking and 3D audio features, although they can only be set on a PC. They're also Bluetooth-compatible, so you'll be able to use them with your phone. They're comfortable with good padding, although some may feel like they're a bit tight. The microphone is also excellent; voices sound full-bodied and clear, and it's detachable for a more casual look.

    Get the Astro if you prefer a more gamer-centric design and like using an external amp that provides a customizable gaming experience on the fly. However, if you want something that looks a bit more casual and is Bluetooth compatible, go for the Audeze.

    See our review

  5. Best Budget Xbox One Gaming Headset: HyperX Cloud Stinger

    5.6
    Mixed Usage
    7.1
    Neutral Sound
    5.0
    Commute/Travel
    5.4
    Sports/Fitness
    5.5
    Office
    5.3
    Wireless Gaming
    7.4
    Wired Gaming
    7.4
    Phone Calls
    Type Over-ear
    Enclosure Closed-Back
    Wireless No
    Noise Cancelling No
    Mic Yes
    Transducer Dynamic

    The HyperX Cloud Stinger is the best Xbox One headset for gamers shopping on a budget that we've tested. These lightweight, comfortable headphones are ideal to use during long gaming sessions. Thanks to their wired design, they have a negligible amount of lag, so the sound you hear will match the images you see on your screen.

    They have a decently well-balanced sound profile. Their bass is slightly overemphasized, so you'll really be able to hear the deep thump and rumble from explosions and other action-packed scenes. While their boom mic isn't detachable, it still provides an impressive performance, so your voice will be clear and understandable to your teammates even if you're playing in a crowded setting.

    Unfortunately, they can't be used wirelessly. They also can't block out a lot of background noise, and they leak sound when you play your audio at louder volumes, so they may not be ideal to use in crowded settings. That said, they offer a solid amount of gaming features for their more affordable price.

    See our review

Notable Mentions

  • Turtle Beach Elite Pro 2 SuperAmp: A decent gaming headset, the Turtle Beach Elite Pro 2 SuperAmp come with Bluetooth connectivity with your phone and a wired DAC, giving you a few more control options. Slight issues in the software and not the best value to performance ratio. See our review
  • HyperX Cloud 2/Cloud II: The HyperX Cloud 2/Cloud II is a well-built wired gaming headset that will work with both consoles. It has good comfort and durable design, but not as many features as the other mid-range picks. See our review
  • Astro A20 Wireless: Performing fairly well overall, the Astro A20 Wireless are decent headphones. They're worth considering if you like the design of the Astro A50 but find them too expensive. See our review
  • Astro A10: The Astro A10 are wired headphones with decent build quality but don't feel as well-built as the HS60. See our review
  • Plantronics RIG 800LX Wireless: While sounding great at lower volumes, the Plantronics RIG 800LX Wireless distort heavily in the bass range at higher volumes. See our review
  • Logitech G433 Gaming Headset: The Logitech G433 Gaming Headset come with a good selection of accessories that make them versatile, but they aren't very portable. See our review
  • Creative Sound BlasterX H5: With a good build quality and comfortable casual design, the Creative Sound BlasterX H5 have a wired connection that's latency-free but limited in range. See our review

Recent Updates

09/10/2020: Verification for accuracy, minor updates to the text for clarity.

07/13/2020: Replaced Corsair HS60 with HyperX Cloud Stinger.

06/12/2020: Changed HyperX Cloud Stinger from 'More Versatile Alternative' to 'Alternative With A Better Microphone' for consistency.

02/20/2020: Replaced the Logitech G433 with the Corsair HS60. Switched SteelSeries Arctis 9X Wireless with Astro A50 Gen 4 Wireless 2019 for consistency.

10/18/2019: Replaced the Astro A50 with the Astro A50 Gen 4 2019.

All Reviews

Our recommendations above are what we think are currently the best Xbox One headsets for most people to buy in each price range. We factor in the price (cheaper headphones win over pricier ones if the difference isn't worth it), feedback from our visitors, and availability (no headphones that are difficult to find or almost out of stock everywhere).

If you would like to choose for yourself, here is the list of all our reviews for headphones. Be careful not to get caught up in the details. There are no perfect headphones. Personal taste, preference, and listening habits will matter more in your selection, especially if you don't care about having a microphone or wireless features.

Recommended Articles

LOG IN

JOIN RTINGS.com

Be part of the most informed community and take advantage of our advanced tools to find the best product for your needs.
Join our mailing list:
Become an insider
EARLY ACCESS

Gain early access to all tests results for new products

Early Access UI
PRICES LISTED

Prices will now be listed directly in reviews and tables

product prices UI
MORE VOTES

Have 5 votes per product category to choose which product we’ll review next

Additional votes UI
UNLIMITED ACCESS

Gain unlimited access to detailed test results in tools and results (no blurred results)

test table UI

Create Post