The 5 Best Xbox One Headsets - Spring 2021 Reviews

Updated
Best Xbox One Headsets
589 Headphones Tested
  • Store-bought headphones; no cherry-picked units
  • Easily comparable results
  • No ads; unbiased reviews
  • Supported directly by you via insider access and when you purchase through our affiliate links
Learn more about our approach to product reviews here.

If the Xbox One is your primary console, then you know how hard it can be to find a headset that has native mic support for the console when compared to the PS4, making it difficult to find the best Xbox headset. This makes the gaming headset selection for Xbox slightly limited; however, some good options come in an Xbox variant or work well with both consoles.

We've tested over 580 pairs of headphones, and below are our recommendations for the best gaming headsets for Xbox One to purchase. Also, check out our recommendations for the best gaming headsets, the best Xbox Series X headsets, and the best gaming headsets under $100.


  1. Best Wireless Xbox One Gaming Headset: Astro A50 Gen 4 2019

    6.3
    Mixed Usage
    8.0
    Neutral Sound
    5.2
    Commute/Travel
    6.1
    Sports/Fitness
    5.9
    Office
    8.0
    Wireless Gaming
    6.6
    Wired Gaming
    7.3
    Phone Calls
    Type Over-ear
    Enclosure Closed-Back
    Wireless Yes
    Noise Cancelling No
    Mic Yes
    Transducer Dynamic

    The Astro A50 Gen 4 Wireless 2019 is the best wireless Xbox One headset for gaming that we've tested. These premium wireless gaming headphones come with a wireless charging dock and lots of gaming-oriented customization features. Their Xbox One variant provides full audio and microphone compatibility over a wireless connection, and they have a comfortable, stable fit that's suitable for long gaming sessions.

    Out-of-the-box, they have a pretty neutral sound profile suitable for listening to lots of different types of audio content, and the little extra emphasis in the bass range helps you feel the thump and punch in action-packed games. If you prefer a different sound, you can use the graphic EQ in the Astro Command Center software to customize their sound, and you can even access different EQ presets on the fly using the charging dock. Their boom microphone also has an excellent recording quality, and your voice is clear and natural to whoever's on the other end of the line, even if you're gaming in a noisy place.

    Unfortunately, like many gaming headphones on the market, they have terrible noise isolation, so you could be distracted by background noises if you're gaming in a noisy setting. They also leak a lot of audio, which could annoy those around you. That said, if you're just looking for a pair of headphones for gaming at home, they're a solid choice.

    See our review

  2. Xbox Wireless Alternative: SteelSeries Arctis 9X Wireless

    Type Over-ear
    Enclosure Closed-Back
    Wireless Yes
    Noise Cancelling No
    Mic Yes
    Transducer Dynamic

    If you prefer a gaming headset that can wirelessly connect to your Xbox One without the need for a dongle or a base station, try the SteelSeries Arctis 9X Wireless. While they aren't as comfortable and they don't deliver audio as consistently as the Astro A50 Gen 4 Wireless 2019, they connect more conveniently to your Xbox One console using Xbox Wireless technology. These well-built headphones have a pretty neutral sound profile out-of-the-box, though they struggle to reproduce some low-bass, so you don't really feel the deep rumbles in action-packed games. Fortunately, you can easily customize their sound using the graphic EQ and presets in the SteelSeries Engine software. They last for 28 hours off of a single charge, and they leak less audio than the Astro, too. Their boom mic also has an impressive recording quality, and your voice is clear, full-bodied, and detailed, even if you're calling from a noisy place.

    If you want a pair of gaming headphones with a wireless dock, a more comfortable fit, and more consistent audio delivery across listeners, consider the Astro, but if you prefer headphones that support Xbox Wireless and have a longer battery life, consider the SteelSeries.

    See our review

  3. Best Wired Xbox One Gaming Headset: Astro A40 TR + MixAmp 2019

    5.7
    Mixed Usage
    7.7
    Neutral Sound
    4.4
    Commute/Travel
    5.5
    Sports/Fitness
    5.2
    Office
    6.3
    Wireless Gaming
    8.0
    Wired Gaming
    7.1
    Phone Calls
    Type Over-ear
    Enclosure Open-Back
    Wireless No
    Noise Cancelling No
    Mic Yes
    Transducer Dynamic

    The Astro A40 TR Headset + MixAmp Pro 2019 is the best gaming headset for Xbox One with a wired design that we've tested. These headphones come with a MixAmp that offers controls for volume, channel mixing, and sound customization. They're very comfortable, with large earcups that should be comfortable enough to wear for long gaming sessions.

    Their warm default sound profile helps emphasize sound effects in action-packed games. If you prefer a different sound, you can use the companion software, Astro Command Center, which gives you access to a five-band graphic EQ and presets. You can assign presets to the EQ button on the MixAmp, so it's easy to switch between them. The boom mic does a great job of capturing your voice clearly, so your teammates should be able to hear you even in loud environments.

    However, one of the drawbacks of their open-back design is that they leak a lot of audio and also block out virtually no ambient noise. That said, this design helps make them a little more breathable and offers a more spacious soundstage, which helps deliver a more immersive audio experience.

    See our review

  4. Closed-Back Alternative: SteelSeries Arctis Pro GameDAC

    Type Over-ear
    Enclosure Closed-Back
    Wireless No
    Noise Cancelling No
    Mic Yes
    Transducer Dynamic

    If you prefer headphones with a closed-back design, you may prefer the SteelSeries Arctis Pro GameDAC. While the Astro A40 TR Headset + MixAmp Pro 2019 have a more open, spacious soundstage, the SteelSeries leak less audio and block out some mid-range noise like voices, which is nice if you're sharing a living room or small apartment with someone else. They also have a more comfortable fit that should be suitable for long gaming sessions. Unfortunately, they have an inconsistent bass and treble delivery across users, but you can use their companion software, which gives you access to a 10-band graphic EQ and presets, to customize their sound to suit you.

    Try the Astro if you want headphones that produce a more open and spacious soundstage, but consider the SteelSeries if you want closed-back headphones that cut down a bit more on ambient noise and don't leak as much audio.

    See our review

  5. Best Budget Xbox One Gaming Headset: HyperX Cloud Stinger

    5.6
    Mixed Usage
    7.1
    Neutral Sound
    5.0
    Commute/Travel
    5.4
    Sports/Fitness
    5.5
    Office
    5.3
    Wireless Gaming
    7.4
    Wired Gaming
    7.4
    Phone Calls
    Type Over-ear
    Enclosure Closed-Back
    Wireless No
    Noise Cancelling No
    Mic Yes
    Transducer Dynamic

    The HyperX Cloud Stinger is the best Xbox One headset for gamers at a budget-friendly price that we've tested. Although these entry-level gaming headphones lack companion software or a virtual surround feature, they have low audio latency, which helps keep you in sync with your teammates when gaming online. They also do an adequate job of creating a wide and natural passive soundstage.

    They have a boom microphone that can capture your voice clearly, even in very noisy environments. Their slightly bass-heavy sound profile can also help emphasize sound effects like footsteps in gameplay without overwhelming dialogue or instrumentals. They have decent build quality, and thanks to their lightweight and comfortable fit, they're suitable for long gaming marathons.

    That said, their bass and treble delivery is highly dependent on their fit, seal, and positioning on your head. You may particularly notice a drop in bass if you have thick hair or glasses. They also leak some audio at high volumes, which can be bothersome for those around you. That said, these entry-level headphones deliver a low latency performance at a wallet-friendly price.

    See our review

Notable Mentions

  • SteelSeries Arctis 7P Wireless: The SteelSeries Arctis 7P Wireless are comfortable, well-built headphones with a gaming-oriented design, but their sound profile isn't as balanced as the SteelSeries Arctic 9X. See our review
  • Turtle Beach Stealth 700 Gen 2: The Turtle Beach Stealth 700 Gen 2 Wireless support Xbox Wireless and have a lower non-Bluetooth wireless latency than the SteelSeries Arctis Pro GameDAC, but they're not as comfortable. See our review
  • Plantronics RIG 800LX Wireless: The Plantronics RIG 800LX Wireless have a slightly excited, v-shaped sound profile and have four EQ presets that you can cycle through directly from the headphones. However, some users have reported heavy distortion in the bass range at higher volumes. See our review
  • Razer Kaira Pro Wireless: The Razer Kaira Pro Wireless have lower latency than the SteelSeries Arctis 9X, but their default sound profile isn't as balanced. See our review
  • Astro A20: The Astro A20 Wireless are decent headphones that perform fairly well overall. They're worth considering if you like the design of the Astro A50 but find them out of your price range. See our review
  • Logitech G433 Gaming Headset: The Logitech G433 Gaming Headset come with a good selection of accessories that make them versatile. However, it doesn't feel as well-built as the SteelSeries Arctis Pro GameDAC. See our review
  • HyperX Cloud 2/Cloud II: The HyperX Cloud 2/Cloud II is a well-built wired gaming headset that works on Xbox One as well as PS4. It has a comfortable fit and durable design, but it doesn't offer as many features as the other mid-range picks. See our review
  • Astro A10: The Astro A10 are wired headphones with decent build quality, but they aren't as comfortable and don't isolate noise as well as the HyperX Cloud Stinger. See our review
  • HyperX Cloud Stinger S: The HyperX Cloud Stinger S are very similarly designed and performing headphones as the HyperX Cloud Stinger. While they're slightly out of budget range, they offer a virtual soundstage and companion software with the ability to adjust the mic level. See our review
  • Corsair HS70 Bluetooth: The Corsair HS70 Bluetooth are versatile headphones that support Bluetooth. While they can be tweaked to your liking using their companion software, they won't offer the same on-the-fly customization features that the Astro A40 TR Headset + MixAmp Pro 2019's MixAmp offers. See our review
  • Xbox Wireless Headset: The Xbox Wireless Headset are comfortable headphones that use Xbox Wireless to ensure low audio latency. They have a very boomy, bass-heavy sound profile out-of-the-box, but they offer lots of sound customization features. However, they aren't as well-built or as stable as the SteelSeries Arctis 9X Wireless, and their boom mic doesn't perform as well. See our review

Recent Updates

  1. Apr 30, 2021: Checked availability of recommended products and updated picks. No changes to product recommendations.

  2. Apr 01, 2021: Minor changes to the text and verification for accuracy; no changes in product picks after confirming their availability. Added the Xbox Wireless Headset to Notable Mentions.

  3. Mar 02, 2021: No changes in product picks after verifying their accuracy and availability.

  4. Feb 05, 2021: Added the HyperX Cloud Stinger S to Notable Mentions and verified the availability and accuracy of our picks. Also removed Notable Mentions that no longer represent good value to our users.

  5. Jan 08, 2021: Added the Razer Kaira Pro Wireless and the SteelSeries Arctis 7P Wireless to Notable Mentions.

All Reviews

Our recommendations above are what we think are currently the best Xbox One headsets for most people to buy in each price range. We factor in the price (cheaper headphones win over pricier ones if the difference isn't worth it), feedback from our visitors, and availability (no headphones that are difficult to find or almost out of stock everywhere).

If you would like to choose for yourself, here is the list of all our reviews for headsets, sorted by Xbox One compatibility. Be careful not to get caught up in the details. There are no perfect headphones. Personal taste, preference, and listening habits will matter more in your selection, especially if you don't care about having a microphone or wireless features.

Recommended Articles

Discussions