The 5 Best Xbox One Headsets - Winter 2021 Reviews

Updated
Best Xbox One Headsets
571 Headphones Tested
  • Store-bought headphones; no cherry-picked units
  • Easily comparable results
  • No ads; unbiased reviews
  • Supported directly by you via insider access and when you purchase through our affiliate links
Learn more about our approach to product reviews here.

If the Xbox One is your primary console, then you know how hard it can be to find a headset that has native mic support for the console when compared to the PS4, making it difficult to find the best Xbox headset. This makes the gaming headset selection for Xbox slightly limited; however, some good options come in an Xbox variant or work well with both consoles.

We've tested over 570 pairs of headphones, and below are our recommendations for the best gaming headsets for Xbox One to purchase. Also, check out our recommendations for the best gaming headsets, the best Xbox Series X headsets, and the best gaming headsets under $100.


  1. Best Wireless Xbox One Gaming Headset: Astro A50 Gen 4 2019

    6.3
    Mixed Usage
    8.0
    Neutral Sound
    5.2
    Commute/Travel
    6.1
    Sports/Fitness
    5.9
    Office
    8.0
    Wireless Gaming
    6.6
    Wired Gaming
    7.3
    Phone Calls
    Type Over-ear
    Enclosure Closed-Back
    Wireless Yes
    Noise Cancelling No
    Mic Yes
    Transducer Dynamic

    The Astro A50 Gen 4 Wireless 2019 is the best wireless Xbox One headset for gaming that we've tested. These comfortable, well-built headphones have a gaming-oriented design, and their Xbox One variant offers full audio and microphone compatibility with the Xbox One. They also come with a wireless dock that acts as a charging station, which is handy.

    Out-of-the-box, they have a fairly neutral sound profile that's suitable for listening to lots of different types of audio content, and the little extra punch in the bass range is ideal for action-packed scenes in your favorite games. There's even a graphic EQ and presets available in the Astro Command Center software to help you adjust their sound more to your liking. Also, their boom mic has an amazing recording quality, so your teammates can hear you clearly even if you're gaming in a noisy environment.

    Unfortunately, like many gaming headsets we've tested, they have terrible noise isolation, which can be distracting if you're gaming in a lively environment. They also leak some noise, so they aren't ideal to use around other people, and their wireless dock doesn't make them very portable. However, if you're looking for a pair of Xbox One headphones for gaming from home, they're still a solid choice.

    See our review

  2. Xbox Wireless Alternative: SteelSeries Arctis 9X Wireless

    Type Over-ear
    Enclosure Closed-Back
    Wireless Yes
    Noise Cancelling No
    Mic Yes
    Transducer Dynamic

    If you prefer a gaming headset that can wirelessly connect to your Xbox One without the need for a dongle or a base station, try the SteelSeries Arctis 9X Wireless. While their audio delivery isn't as consistent and they aren't as comfortable as the Astro A50 Gen 4 Wireless 2019, they're compatible with Xbox Wireless, making it easy to wirelessly connect to your console. These comfortable, well-built headphones have a neutral sound profile out-of-the-box, though they're lacking a touch of low-bass. Fortunately, you can adjust their sound to your liking using the graphic EQ and presets in the SteelSeries Engine software. They last for 28 hours off of a single charge, and they don't leak as much noise as the Astro, either.

    If you want a more comfortable pair of gaming headphones with more consistent audio delivery across different users, consider the Astro. However, if you want ones that leak less noise and support Xbox Wireless, consider the SteelSeries instead.

    See our review

  3. Best Wired Xbox One Gaming Headset: Astro A40 TR + MixAmp 2019

    5.7
    Mixed Usage
    7.7
    Neutral Sound
    4.4
    Commute/Travel
    5.5
    Sports/Fitness
    5.2
    Office
    6.3
    Wireless Gaming
    8.0
    Wired Gaming
    7.1
    Phone Calls
    Type Over-ear
    Enclosure Open-Back
    Wireless No
    Noise Cancelling No
    Mic Yes
    Transducer Dynamic

    If you prefer to game without worrying about lag or battery life, the Astro A40 TR Headset + MixAmp Pro 2019 is the best gaming headset for Xbox One with a wire that we've tested. While they have a similar design to the Astro A50 Gen 4 Wireless 2019, they can offer more customization and control over your audio experience thanks to their MixAmp. They're also comfortable enough for long gaming sessions, which is nice.

    Their well-balanced sound profile has a bit of extra bass to help bring out the adrenaline rush of explosions in your favorite action games. If you're craving a different sound, Astro Command Center, their companion software, has a 5-band graphic EQ plus presets that you can save and assign to the EQ button on your MixAmp for a quick switch. Their boom microphone also does an excellent job of capturing your voice clearly, even in more demanding environments like gaming competitions.

    Unfortunately, their open-back design means that they don't block out almost any background noise, and they also leak a lot of audio. That said, this design also adds a bit more breathability and gives you the ability to hear your voice when speaking. If you're looking for a pair of wired gaming headphones, they're among the best wired gaming headsets we've tested and are a useful tool for any Xbox One gamer.

    See our review

  4. Closed-Back Alternative: SteelSeries Arctis Pro GameDAC

    Type Over-ear
    Enclosure Closed-Back
    Wireless No
    Noise Cancelling No
    Mic Yes
    Transducer Dynamic

    If you prefer a closed-back design to help isolate you from a bit more ambient sound, check out the SteelSeries Arctis Pro GameDAC. While the Astro A40 TR Headset + MixAmp Pro 2019 have a better passive soundstage due to their open-back enclosure and their boom microphone offers better overall performance, the SteelSeries leak less audio. They can also reduce mid-range noises like voices a bit better, which is nice if you're sharing your living room with someone else. These well-built headphones are comfortable enough for long gaming marathons. While they're very prone to inconsistent bass and treble delivery, their companion software offers a lot of customization features, including a graphic EQ so that you can find a sound that works best for you. Their GameDAC also has a channel mixing dial that also lets you cycle between different presets and modes on-the-fly.

    Try the Astro if you prefer an open-back design to help produce a more open and spacious soundstage. That said, consider the SteelSeries if you're looking for closed-back gaming headphones to help reduce some ambient noise or audio leakage.

    See our review

  5. Best Budget Xbox One Gaming Headset: HyperX Cloud Stinger

    5.6
    Mixed Usage
    7.1
    Neutral Sound
    5.0
    Commute/Travel
    5.4
    Sports/Fitness
    5.5
    Office
    5.3
    Wireless Gaming
    7.4
    Wired Gaming
    7.4
    Phone Calls
    Type Over-ear
    Enclosure Closed-Back
    Wireless No
    Noise Cancelling No
    Mic Yes
    Transducer Dynamic

    The HyperX Cloud Stinger is the best Xbox One headset for gamers at a budget-friendly price that we've tested. Although these entry-level gaming headphones lack companion software or a virtual surround feature, they have low audio latency, which helps keep you in sync with your teammates when gaming online. They also do an adequate job of creating a wide and natural passive soundstage.

    They have a boom microphone that can capture your voice clearly, even in very noisy environments. Their slightly bass-heavy sound profile can also help emphasize sound effects like footsteps in gameplay without overwhelming dialogue or instrumentals. They have a decent build quality too, and thanks to their lightweight and comfortable fit, they're suitable for long gaming marathons.

    That said, their bass and treble delivery is highly dependent on their fit, seal, and positioning on your head. You may particularly notice a drop in bass if you have thick hair or glasses. They also leak some audio at high volumes, which can be bothersome for those around you. That said, these entry-level headphones deliver a low latency performance at a wallet-friendly price.

    See our review

Notable Mentions

  • SteelSeries Arctis 7P Wireless: The SteelSeries Arctis 7P Wireless are comfortable, well-built headphones with a gaming-oriented design, but their sound profile isn't as balanced as the SteelSeries Arctic 9X. See our review
  • Turtle Beach Stealth 700 Gen 2: The Turtle Beach Stealth 700 Gen 2 Wireless support Xbox Wireless and have a lower non-Bluetooth wireless latency than the SteelSeries Arctis Pro GameDAC, but they're not as comfortable. See our review
  • Plantronics RIG 800LX Wireless: The Plantronics RIG 800LX Wireless have a slightly excited, v-shaped sound profile and have four EQ presets that you can cycle through directly from the headphones. However, some users have reported heavy distortion in the bass range at higher volumes. See our review
  • Razer Kaira Pro Wireless: The Razer Kaira Pro Wireless have lower latency than the SteelSeries Arctis 9X, but their default sound profile isn't as balanced. See our review
  • Astro A20: The Astro A20 Wireless are decent headphones that perform fairly well overall. They're worth considering if you like the design of the Astro A50 but find them out of your price range. See our review
  • Logitech G433 Gaming Headset: The Logitech G433 Gaming Headset come with a good selection of accessories that make them versatile. However, it doesn't feel as well-built as the SteelSeries Arctis Pro GameDAC. See our review
  • HyperX Cloud 2/Cloud II: The HyperX Cloud 2/Cloud II is a well-built wired gaming headset that works on Xbox One as well as PS4. It has a comfortable fit and durable design, but it doesn't offer as many features as the other mid-range picks. See our review
  • Astro A10: The Astro A10 are wired headphones with decent build quality, but they aren't as comfortable and don't isolate noise as well as the HyperX Cloud Stinger. See our review
  • HyperX Cloud Stinger S: The HyperX Cloud Stinger S are very similarly designed and performing headphones as the HyperX Cloud Stinger. While they're slightly out of budget range, they offer a virtual soundstage and companion software with the ability to adjust the mic level. See our review
  • Corsair HS70 Bluetooth: The Corsair HS70 Bluetooth are versatile headphones that support Bluetooth. While they can be tweaked to your liking using their companion software, they won't offer the same on-the-fly customization features that the Astro A40 TR Headset + MixAmp Pro 2019's MixAmp offers. See our review

Recent Updates

  1. Mar 02, 2021: No changes in product picks after verifying their accuracy and availability.

  2. Feb 05, 2021: Added the HyperX Cloud Stinger S to Notable Mentions and verified the availability and accuracy of our picks. Also removed Notable Mentions that no longer represent good value to our users.

  3. Jan 08, 2021: Added the Razer Kaira Pro Wireless and the SteelSeries Arctis 7P Wireless to Notable Mentions.

  4. Dec 04, 2020: Added the Turtle Beach Stealth 700 Gen 2 Wireless to Notable Mentions.

  5. Nov 06, 2020: Replaced the Audeze Mobius with the SteelSeries Arctis Pro GameDAC as 'Closed-Back Alternative'.

  6. Oct 09, 2020: Minor changes to the text for verification and accuracy; no change in product recommendations.

  7. Jul 13, 2020: Replaced Corsair HS60 with HyperX Cloud Stinger.

All Reviews

Our recommendations above are what we think are currently the best Xbox One headsets for most people to buy in each price range. We factor in the price (cheaper headphones win over pricier ones if the difference isn't worth it), feedback from our visitors, and availability (no headphones that are difficult to find or almost out of stock everywhere).

If you would like to choose for yourself, here is the list of all our reviews for headsets, sorted by Xbox One compatibility. Be careful not to get caught up in the details. There are no perfect headphones. Personal taste, preference, and listening habits will matter more in your selection, especially if you don't care about having a microphone or wireless features.

Recommended Articles

LOG IN

JOIN RTINGS.com

Be part of the most informed community and take advantage of our advanced tools to find the best product for your needs.
Join our mailing list:
Become an insider
EARLY ACCESS

Gain early access to all tests results for new products

Early Access UI
PRICES LISTED

Prices will now be listed directly in reviews and tables

product prices UI
MORE VOTES

Have 5 votes per product category to choose which product we’ll review next

Additional votes UI
UNLIMITED ACCESS

Gain unlimited access to detailed test results in tools and results (no blurred results)

test table UI

Create Post