The 5 Best Xbox One Headsets - Fall 2021 Reviews

Updated
Best Xbox One Headsets
632 Headphones Tested
  • Store-bought headphones; no cherry-picked units
  • Easily comparable results
  • No ads; unbiased reviews
  • Supported directly by you via insider access and when you purchase through our affiliate links
Learn more about our approach to product reviews here.

If the Xbox One is your primary console, then you know how hard it can be to find a headset that has native mic support for the console when compared to the PS4, making it hard to find the best Xbox headset. This makes the gaming headset selection for Xbox slightly limited; however, some good options come in an Xbox variant or work well with both consoles.

We've tested over 625 pairs of headphones, and below are our recommendations for the best gaming headsets for Xbox One to buy. Check out our picks for the best gaming headsets, the best Xbox Series X headsets, and the best gaming headsets under $100.


  1. Best Wireless Xbox One Gaming Headset: Astro A50 Gen 4 2019

    8.1
    Neutral Sound
    5.1
    Commute/Travel
    6.1
    Sports/Fitness
    6.5
    Office
    8.3
    Wireless Gaming
    6.6
    Wired Gaming
    7.2
    Phone Calls
    Type Over-ear
    Enclosure Closed-Back
    Wireless Yes
    Noise Cancelling No
    Mic Yes
    Transducer Dynamic

    The best wireless Xbox One headset that we've tested is the Astro A50 Gen 4 Wireless 2019. These well-built headphones come with a base station that provides a low latency wireless connection. They have a great build quality and a very comfortable over-ear fit, with spacious ear cups and soft padding.

    Out of the box, their sound profile is neutral, with a bit of extra boom in the bass range to help bring out sound effects like explosions in games. The Astro Command Center software offers a graphic EQ and presets so you can customize their sound to suit you, and you can even cycle between EQs as you game with a button on one earcup. Their boom mic has an impressive overall performance, and your voice should sound clear and full-bodied, even if you're speaking from a loud place.

    Unfortunately, they're better suited for quieter environments, since like most gaming headphones, they don't isolate you from background noise. Also, unlike some wireless gaming headsets, there's no option to use them wired if you run out of battery, although you can still receive audio while they're charging. Overall, these comfortable headphones offer plenty of useful features for gamers and are among the best gaming headsets we've tested.

    See our review

  2. Xbox Wireless Alternative: SteelSeries Arctis 9X Wireless

    Type Over-ear
    Enclosure Closed-Back
    Wireless Yes
    Noise Cancelling No
    Mic Yes
    Transducer Dynamic

    If you want headphones that allow you to connect to your Xbox One without a dongle or base station, try the SteelSeries Arctis 9X. They're more prone to inconsistent bass and treble delivery than the Astro A50 Gen 4 Wireless 2019 and aren't as comfortable, but they support Xbox Wireless, meaning you can connect them directly to your console. They have very low latency, so you shouldn't notice any audio lag while you game, either. They're also very comfortable, well-built, and have a boom mic with a great overall performance. They have a long 28-hour continuous battery life and a fairly neutral default sound profile, although it lacks some low-bass. Fortunately, you can customize their sound with a graphic EQ and presets in their companion software, SteelSeries Engine.

    If you're looking for a more comfortable fit or headphones that deliver sound more consistently, try the Astro, but if you want to connect via Xbox Wireless, the SteelSeries are a good alternative.

    See our review

  3. Best Wired Xbox One Gaming Headset: Astro A40 TR + MixAmp 2019

    8.1
    Neutral Sound
    4.3
    Commute/Travel
    5.5
    Sports/Fitness
    5.7
    Office
    6.2
    Wireless Gaming
    8.2
    Wired Gaming
    6.9
    Phone Calls
    Type Over-ear
    Enclosure Open-Back
    Wireless No
    Noise Cancelling No
    Mic Yes
    Transducer Dynamic

    The Astro A40 TR Headset + MixAmp Pro 2019 is the best Xbox One headset with a wired design that we've tested. These headphones have a MixAmp, which has channel mixing and volume knobs directly on it so that you can tweak your settings on the fly. You can also use the MixAmp to cycle through EQ presets or access their virtual soundstage feature.

    These over-ears have a great build quality that's comfortable enough to wear for long gaming marathons. Their warm default sound profile delivers a bit of extra boom, which can help emphasize sound effects while you game. Since they're also compatible with Astro Command Center software, you can adjust their sound to your liking using the graphic EQ and presets. Their boom mic offers great overall performance, ensuring you're heard clearly, even in noisy environments.

    Unfortunately, their open-back design means that they don't block out background noise. They also leak audio at high volumes, which could annoy others around you. However, one of the benefits of this design is that they can produce a more open and spacious soundstage that can help immerse you in your gameplay.

    See our review

  4. Closed-Back Alternative: SteelSeries Arctis Pro GameDAC

    Type Over-ear
    Enclosure Closed-Back
    Wireless No
    Noise Cancelling No
    Mic Yes
    Transducer Dynamic

    If you prefer headphones with a closed-back enclosure, try the SteelSeries Arctis Pro GameDAC instead. Unlike the Astro A40 TR Headset + MixAmp Pro 2019, they don't create an out-of-head passive soundstage, but their closed-back design means they isolate you from a bit more ambient noise and leak less sound. Because of this, they may be more suitable if you share your gaming space with other people. Their boom mic has a great overall performance, so your voice sounds clear and full, even when you're speaking in a noisy environment. They're also very comfortable, with an elastic ski-band headband that you can adjust to fit you, so they're suitable for long gaming sessions. Unfortunately, they're prone to inconsistent bass and treble delivery, so you need to take some time to adjust their fit, seal, and positioning to hear the same sound each time you wear them.

    Go for the Astro if you want headphones with a more immersive, speaker-like passive soundstage, but try the SteelSeries instead if you want headphones that can cut down a bit on ambient noise.

    See our review

  5. Best Budget Xbox One Gaming Headset: Logitech G432 Gaming Headset

    7.6
    Neutral Sound
    4.7
    Commute/Travel
    5.5
    Sports/Fitness
    6.1
    Office
    5.8
    Wireless Gaming
    7.5
    Wired Gaming
    7.3
    Phone Calls
    Type Over-ear
    Enclosure Closed-Back
    Wireless No
    Noise Cancelling No
    Mic Yes
    Transducer Dynamic

    The best Xbox One gaming headset in the budget category that we've tested is the Logitech G432 Gaming Headset. These over-ear headphones are fully compatible with Xbox One when you plug them into a controller. They're lightweight and comfortable, so they shouldn't cause much fatigue during long gaming sessions.

    Their boom mic makes your voice sound clear and natural and does an amazing job of separating it from background noise, so you should be heard clearly even when you're speaking from a loud setting. While their default sound profile lacks a bit of low bass, it's customizable with a graphic EQ and presets through the Logitech G HUB software.

    Unfortunately, their wired USB dongle isn't compatible with Xbox One, so you need to use their 1/8" TRRS cable to connect. They also don't have the best build quality since the joints don't seem very solid, and the headphones feel plasticky overall. That said, they offer quite a few customization options for a budget-friendly price, and they're a solid choice if you're looking for affordable headphones for Xbox One.

    See our review

Notable Mentions

  • Xbox Wireless Headset: The Xbox Wireless Headset are comfortable headphones that use Xbox Wireless to ensure low audio latency. They have a very boomy, bass-heavy sound profile out-of-the-box, but they offer lots of sound customization features. However, they aren't as well-built or as stable as the SteelSeries Arctis 9X Wireless, and their boom mic doesn't perform as well. See our review
  • SteelSeries Arctis 7P Wireless: The SteelSeries Arctis 7P Wireless are comfortable, well-built headphones with a gaming-oriented design, but their sound profile isn't as balanced as the SteelSeries Arctic 9X. See our review
  • Turtle Beach Stealth 700 Gen 2: The Turtle Beach Stealth 700 Gen 2 Wireless support Xbox Wireless and have a lower non-Bluetooth wireless latency than the SteelSeries Arctis Pro GameDAC, but they're not as comfortable. See our review
  • Plantronics RIG 800LX Wireless: The Plantronics RIG 800LX Wireless have a slightly excited, v-shaped sound profile and have four EQ presets that you can cycle through directly from the headphones. However, some users have reported heavy distortion in the bass range at higher volumes. See our review
  • Razer Kaira Pro Wireless: The Razer Kaira Pro Wireless have lower latency than the SteelSeries Arctis 9X, but their default sound profile isn't as balanced. See our review
  • Astro A20: The Astro A20 Wireless are decent headphones that perform fairly well overall. They're worth considering if you like the design of the Astro A50 but find them out of your price range. See our review
  • Logitech G433 Gaming Headset: The Logitech G433 Gaming Headset come with a good selection of accessories that make them versatile. However, it doesn't feel as well-built as the SteelSeries Arctis Pro GameDAC. See our review
  • HyperX Cloud 2/Cloud II: The HyperX Cloud 2/Cloud II is a well-built wired gaming headset that works on Xbox One as well as PS4. It has a comfortable fit and durable design, but it doesn't offer as many features as the other mid-range picks. See our review
  • Astro A10: The Astro A10 are wired headphones with decent build quality, but they aren't as comfortable and don't isolate noise as well as the HyperX Cloud Stinger. See our review
  • HyperX Cloud Stinger: The HyperX Cloud Stinger are budget-friendly wired gaming headphones with a much better build quality than the Logitech G432 Gaming Headset, but their sound profile isn't as well-balanced and they lack app support. See our review
  • HyperX Cloud Stinger S: The HyperX Cloud Stinger S are very similarly designed and performing headphones to the HyperX Cloud Stinger, although they have a companion app that allows you to adjust the mic level. However, they aren't as customizable as the Logitech G432 Gaming Headset. See our review
  • Corsair HS70 Bluetooth: The Corsair HS70 Bluetooth are versatile headphones that support Bluetooth and can be used wired on the Xbox One. While they can be tweaked to your liking using their companion software, they won't offer the same on-the-fly customization features that the Astro A40 TR Headset + MixAmp Pro 2019's MixAmp offers. See our review

Recent Updates

  1. Oct 14, 2021: Verified that picks represent the best recommendations in their categories and that the products are in stock.

  2. Sep 15, 2021: Replaced the HyperX Cloud Stinger with the Logitech G432 Gaming Headset as the 'Best Budget Xbox One Gaming Headset' because of their companion app and more neutral default sound profile.

  3. Aug 18, 2021: No changes in product picks after verifying their accuracy and availability.

  4. Jul 23, 2021: Checked our picks for availability and accuracy. There haven't been any changes in our recommendations.

  5. Jun 23, 2021: Checked the text for accuracy and product availability. There hasn't been a change in our recommendations.

All Reviews

Our recommendations above are what we think are currently the best Xbox One headsets for most people to buy in each price range. We factor in the price (cheaper headphones win over pricier ones if the difference isn't worth it), feedback from our visitors, and availability (no headphones that are difficult to find or almost out of stock everywhere).

If you would like to choose for yourself, here is the list of all our reviews for headsets, sorted by Xbox One compatibility. Be careful not to get caught up in the details. There are no perfect headphones. Personal taste, preference, and listening habits will matter more in your selection, especially if you don't care about having a microphone or wireless features.

Recommended Articles

Discussions