The 6 Best PS4 Gaming Headsets - Fall 2021 Reviews

Updated
Best PS4 Headsets
624 Headphones Tested
  • Store-bought headphones; no cherry-picked units
  • Easily comparable results
  • No ads; unbiased reviews
  • Supported directly by you via insider access and when you purchase through our affiliate links
Learn more about our approach to product reviews here.

If you're an avid PlayStation gamer and are looking for the best PS4 headset, you're likely well-acquainted with the overwhelming number of different options. There's certainly a lot to choose from, so knowing your priorities can help with your decision. For those who game mostly from the couch and hate having a long cable running to your PS4, wireless headphones are a must. However, those who find that there's nothing worse than having to keep an eye on your headphone's battery life will likely gravitate towards a wired headset. If you like to customize your audio experience, some headphones come with companion software so that you can tweak their sound, access virtual surround features, and even control mic performance. That said, any good pair of gaming headphones should be able to accurately localize sounds like footsteps in the stereo image and be comfortable enough for long gaming sessions.

We’ve tested over 615 headphones, and below are our recommendations for the best PS4 headset to buy. If you’re looking for our top picks for other consoles and PC, check out our recommendations for the best headsets for PS5, the best gaming headsets, and the best gaming headsets for Xbox One.


  1. Best PS4 Wireless Gaming Headset: Astro A50 Gen 4 Wireless 2019

    8.1
    Neutral Sound
    5.1
    Commute/Travel
    6.1
    Sports/Fitness
    6.5
    Office
    8.3
    Wireless Gaming
    6.6
    Wired Gaming
    7.2
    Phone Calls
    Type Over-ear
    Enclosure Closed-Back
    Wireless Yes
    Noise Cancelling No
    Mic Yes
    Transducer Dynamic

    The Astro A50 Gen 4 Wireless 2019 is the best PS4 wireless headset that we've tested. These comfortable and well-built headphones come with a wireless dock that also acts as a charging station for the headphones. Although the dock is console-locked to either the PlayStation or Xbox, PC users can use either variant with full compatibility.

    Thanks to the dock, they have very low non-Bluetooth wireless latency, so your audio and video stay in sync. Out of the box, they have a well-balanced default sound profile, but you can really customize their sound to your liking using the companion software's graphic EQ and presets. There's also an EQ button on the right earcup that allows you to cycle through your own custom presets on the fly. If you like to game with others, the boom mic does an excellent job of recording your voice clearly, even in moderately noisy environments. The headphones last over 17 hours continuously too, so you can game for several hours at a time without worrying about recharging them.

    Unfortunately, like many gaming headphones, they really struggle to block out ambient noise around you. While their motion-based auto-off timer can also help conserve battery life when you're not using them, if you're not moving much while gaming, the headphones can turn off, which can be a little annoying. Still, if you're looking for customizable gaming headphones with low wireless latency, they're a suitable choice.

    See our review

  2. Alternative With Bluetooth: SteelSeries Arctis Pro Wireless

    Type Over-ear
    Enclosure Closed-Back
    Wireless Yes
    Noise Cancelling No
    Mic Yes
    Transducer Dynamic

    If you're looking for Bluetooth-compatible headphones for PS4, you may prefer the SteelSeries Arctis Pro Wireless. These wireless gaming headphones have a less comfortable fit and higher latency with PS4 consoles than the Astro A50 Gen 4 Wireless 2019, but they support Bluetooth, so you can stream music from your phone and hear your game at once. Their default sound profile is well-balanced and can be customized with a graphic EQ and presets in their companion software, or you can adjust it on the fly with controls found on their wireless transmitter. They come with two swappable batteries that each provide about 15 hours of continuous use, which is excellent, and while their boom mic has a slightly worse recording quality than the Astro's, it still has an excellent overall performance.

    If you want the option with lower non-Bluetooth latency, go for the Astro, but consider the SteelSeries if you want Bluetooth-compatible headphones for gaming.

    See our review

  3. Best Wired PS4 Gaming Headset: SteelSeries Arctis Pro GameDAC

    5.8
    Mixed Usage
    7.0
    Neutral Sound
    5.0
    Commute/Travel
    5.7
    Sports/Fitness
    5.6
    Office
    5.9
    Wireless Gaming
    7.6
    Wired Gaming
    7.1
    Phone Calls
    Type Over-ear
    Enclosure Closed-Back
    Wireless No
    Noise Cancelling No
    Mic Yes
    Transducer Dynamic

    The best PS4 gaming headset with a wired design that we've tested are the SteelSeries Arctis Pro GameDAC. These headphones have a digital to analog converter (DAC) called the GameDAC, which allows you to connect to your PS4 via wired USB connection and adjust your controls on the fly. You can also plug their 1/8" TRRS cable directly into your console's controller if you prefer an analog connection.

    These comfortable headphones have a fairly neutral sound profile once you take the time to adjust their fit. If you like to tweak their sound, you can switch EQ presets on the fly using the GameDAC or create your own EQ using the companion software's graphic EQ. While we don't currently test the performance of their virtual soundstage features, they have DTS surround support and a simple speaker modeling feature, which may help better localize sound effects like footsteps while you game. Their boom mic does a good job of recording your voice, even in noisy environments.

    Due to their unique ski-band headband design, they're very prone to inconsistent bass and treble delivery, so you need to take the time to adjust them properly to get a more consistent sound each time you use them. Like many gaming headphones, they also struggle to block out background noise around you, which could be bothersome if you're gaming in a loud environment. That said, these wired over-ears deliver a well-rounded performance that should please most gamers.

    See our review

  4. Cheaper Alternative: HyperX Cloud Alpha S

    Type Over-ear
    Enclosure Closed-Back
    Wireless No
    Noise Cancelling No
    Mic Yes
    Transducer Dynamic

    If you're looking for a more affordable pair of wired gaming headphones, check out the HyperX Cloud Alpha S. Unlike the SteelSeries, the HyperX's companion software lacks sound customization features. However, the HyperX are more affordable and have a better-built, more comfortable design. They also have adjustable bass sliders on both ear cups to add more boom and bass to your mixes and come with two different pairs of ear padding, so you can choose the right one for your needs. That said, out of the box and with the sliders turned up, they have a boomy sound profile, which can help emphasize sound effects in your gameplay. Their boom mic also does a good job of recording your voice clearly and if you're talking in a moderately noisy environment, you shouldn't have too many problems being understood. Unfortunately, they're very prone to inconsistencies in bass and treble delivery, and you may especially notice a drop in bass if you have thick hair or glasses.

    If you really want to customize your headphones' sound to suit your tastes, try the SteelSeries. However, if you're looking for something a bit more wallet-friendly and comfortable, go for the HyperX instead.

    See our review

  5. Best Budget PS4 Gaming Headset: Logitech G432 Gaming Headset

    5.7
    Mixed Usage
    7.2
    Neutral Sound
    4.8
    Commute/Travel
    5.5
    Sports/Fitness
    5.6
    Office
    5.8
    Wireless Gaming
    7.3
    Wired Gaming
    7.5
    Phone Calls
    Type Over-ear
    Enclosure Closed-Back
    Wireless No
    Noise Cancelling No
    Mic Yes
    Transducer Dynamic

    The Logitech G432 Gaming Headset is the best budget PS4 gaming headset that we've tested. These wired headphones offer a customizable audio experience, as they're compatible with Logitech G HUB software. This software has adjustable mic and sidetone levels as well as a graphic EQ and presets. You can even save your own EQ presets, which is a nice touch.

    Their boom mic offers excellent overall performance, so your voice sounds clear and detailed, even if you're talking in a noisy environment. Although they lack a bit of low-bass out-of-the-box, their mid-range is neutral enough to reproduce dialogue accurately. They also have a comfortable fit with spacious ear cups, so you shouldn't feel too much fatigue during long gaming marathons. You can use them with either their 1/8" TRRS cable or with their USB-A adapter with full audio and mic compatibility on PS4, too.

    Unfortunately, they have very limited controls as you can only adjust volume and mute the mic by flipping it upward. They're also prone to inconsistent audio delivery, and you may especially notice a drop in bass if you have thick hair or wear glasses. Still, if you're shopping for PS4 headphones on a budget, they offer a decent gaming performance that you can customize to your liking.

    See our review

  6. Better-Built Alternative: HyperX Cloud Stinger

    Type Over-ear
    Enclosure Closed-Back
    Wireless No
    Noise Cancelling No
    Mic Yes
    Transducer Dynamic

    If you're looking for better-built gaming headphones, check out the HyperX Cloud Stinger. Unlike the Logitech G432 Gaming Headset, the HyperX don't have a companion app and lack any sound customization features, but they feel sturdier. These wired headphones have a lightweight and comfortable design that shouldn't fit too tightly on your head. Their bass-heavy sound profile adds thump, punch, and boom to your mixes, which can also help emphasize sound effects in gameplay. If you like to chat with others while you game, their boom mic does a great job recording your voice, so you're heard clearly, even in noisy environments. Unfortunately, they're sensitive to fit, seal, and positioning on your head, resulting in inconsistent bass and treble delivery.

    Try the Logitech if you like to customize your headphones' sound to your liking. However, if you favor durability and don't mind their simple design, go for the HyperX instead.

    See our review

Notable Mentions

  • Sony PULSE 3D Wireless: The Sony PULSE 3D Wireless are gaming headphones primarily designed for PS5 consoles. That said, they can be used on PS4 consoles either by using their 1/8" TRRS cable or USB receiver. Their boom mic doesn't offer especially impressive performance, and they're only passably comfortable. See our review
  • Logitech G PRO X WIRELESS LIGHTSPEED Gaming Headset: The Logitech G PRO X WIRELESS LIGHTSPEED Gaming Headset is a great alternative to the SteelSeries Arctis Pro Wireless. They have impressive build quality, a very comfortable fit, and a great boom microphone but aren't Bluetooth-compatible. See our review
  • SteelSeries Arctis 7 2019 Edition Wireless: The SteelSeries Arctis 7 2019 Edition Wireless are solid gaming headphones that aren't as feature-packed as the SteelSeries Arctis Pro Wireless, but they provide great value for the price. See our review
  • SteelSeries Arctis 7P Wireless: The SteelSeries Arctis 7P Wireless are comfortable, well-built gaming headphones with lots of customization options, but their boom microphone doesn't perform as well as the SteelSeries Arctis Pro Wireless. See our review
  • Astro A40 TR + MixAmp 2019: The Astro A40 TR Headset + MixAmp Pro 2019 are great wired gaming headphones with a comfortable design and are a solid alternative to the SteelSeries Arctis Pro GameDAC but have fewer sound customization options outside the app. See our review
  • Corsair HS60 HAPTIC Stereo Gaming Headset: The Corsair HS60 HAPTIC Stereo Gaming Headset are wired-only headphones with a haptic bass slider, but unfortunately, they have poor noise isolation. See our review
  • Logitech G935 Wireless Gaming Headset: The Logitech G935 Wireless Gaming Headset are decent gaming headphones but don't provide as much value as the older Logitech G933, which seem to be discontinued. See our review
  • Logitech G433 Gaming Headset: The Logitech G433 Gaming Headset are versatile gaming headphones that come with a couple of different cable options so you can use them with your PS4 or with your phone on the go, but they don't feel as well-built as other options in the same price range. See our review
  • Turtle Beach Stealth 700: The Turtle Beach Stealth 700 Wireless are decent wireless gaming headphones with many connectivity options but don't feel as well-built or as comfortable as our top picks. See our review
  • JBL Quantum ONE: The JBL Quantum ONE are a pair of wired gaming headphones that feature a well-balanced sound profile and flashy gamer-oriented looks, but they're more cheaply made than the SteelSeries Arctis Pro GameDAC and don't offer the same on-the-fly adjustability. See our review
  • Corsair HS60 PRO SURROUND: The Corsair HS60 PRO SURROUND are a budget-friendly pair of wired gaming headphones but have a worse mic and a less-well-balanced sound profile than the cheaper HyperX Cloud Stinger. See our review

Recent Updates

  1. Aug 30, 2021: We've checked our picks for product availability and accuracy. There hasn't been a change in our recommendations.

  2. Aug 04, 2021: Replaced the SteelSeries Arctis Pro Wireless with the Astro A50 Gen 4 Wireless 2019 as the 'Best PS4 Wireless Gaming Headset' since they now offer a better wireless gaming performance. Made the SteelSeries the 'Alternative With Bluetooth' to the Astro. Also replaced the HyperX Cloud 2/Cloud II with the HyperX Cloud Alpha S as the 'Cheaper Alternative' to the SteelSeries Arctis Pro GameDAC because of their better build quality and controls.

  3. Jul 05, 2021: Verified our picks and checked for product availability. There hasn't been a change in our recommendations.

  4. Jun 09, 2021: Checked for product availability and text accuracy. There hasn't been a change in our recommendations.

  5. May 10, 2021: Replaced the HyperX Cloud Stinger with the Logitech G432 Gaming Headset as the 'Best Budget PS4 Gaming Headset' as these headphones offer a better value for most users. Also added the Logitech G432 Gaming Headset as 'Better-Built Alternative'.

All Reviews

Our recommendations above are what we think are currently the best PS4 headsets to buy for most people in each price range. We factor in the price (cheaper headphones win over pricier ones if the difference isn't worth it), feedback from our visitors, and availability (no headphones that are difficult to find or almost out of stock everywhere).

If you would like to choose for yourself, here is the list of all our reviews for headphones that are good for gaming. Be careful not to get caught up in the details. There are no perfect headphones. Personal taste, preference, and listening habits will matter more in your selection, especially if you do not care about having a microphone or wireless features.

Recommended Articles

Discussions