Your browser is not supported or outdated so some features of the site might not be available.

The 5 Best PS4 Gaming Headsets - Winter 2022 Reviews

Updated
Best PS4 Headsets
658 Headphones Tested
  • Store-bought headphones; no cherry-picked units
  • Easily comparable results
  • No ads; unbiased reviews
  • Supported directly by you via insider access and when you purchase through our affiliate links
Learn more about our approach to product reviews here.

If you're an avid PlayStation gamer and are looking for the best PS4 headset, you're likely well-acquainted with the overwhelming number of different options. There's certainly a lot to choose from, so knowing your priorities can help with your decision. For those who game mostly from the couch and hate having a long cable running to your PS4, wireless headphones are a must. However, those who find that there's nothing worse than having to keep an eye on your headphones' battery life will likely gravitate towards a wired headset. If you like to customize your audio experience, some headphones come with companion software so that you can tweak their sound, access virtual surround features, and even control mic performance. That said, any good pair of gaming headphones should be able to accurately localize sounds like footsteps in the stereo image and be comfortable enough for long gaming sessions.

We’ve tested over 650 headphones, and below are our recommendations for the best PS4 headset to buy. If you’re looking for our top picks for other consoles and PC, check out our recommendations for the best headsets for PS5, the best gaming headsets, and the best gaming headsets for Xbox One.


  1. Best PS4 Wireless Gaming Headset: Astro A50 Gen 4 2019

    8.1
    Neutral Sound
    5.1
    Commute/Travel
    6.1
    Sports/Fitness
    6.5
    Office
    8.3
    Wireless Gaming
    6.6
    Wired Gaming
    7.2
    Phone Calls
    Type Over-ear
    Enclosure Closed-Back
    Wireless Yes
    Noise Cancelling No
    Mic Yes
    Transducer Dynamic

    The best PS4 wireless headset we've tested is the Astro A50 Gen 4 Wireless 2019. These over-ears come with a base station that ensures low wireless latency while you game. Although the headphones are console-locked to either the PS4 or Xbox One, both variants have full mic and audio compatibility on PCs.

    Out of the box, these very comfortable and well-built headphones have a well-balanced sound profile. Their bump of extra bass can help to emphasize sound effects while vocals and lead instruments are bright. That said, you can also customize their sound using their companion software's graphic EQ plus presets. For those who like to chat with teammates, the boom mic offers excellent overall performance. It has no problem capturing your voice clearly, even if there's a lot of noise around you. The headphones' over 17 hours of continuous playback time should also last through long gaming sessions, and they're equipped with an auto-off timer to help conserve battery life when you're not using them.

    Unfortunately, they barely block out background noise, which could be annoying if you game in a noisy environment. They leak a lot of audio at high volumes, and the audio bleed could disturb others around you. That said, these headphones offer a well-rounded performance that's sure to please most users.

    See our review

  2. Alternative With Better Battery Performance: Logitech G PRO X WIRELESS LIGHTSPEED Gaming Headset

    Type Over-ear
    Enclosure Closed-Back
    Wireless Yes
    Noise Cancelling No
    Mic Yes
    Transducer Dynamic

    If you prioritize headphones with longer continuous battery life, check out the Logitech G PRO X WIRELESS LIGHTSPEED Gaming Headset. While their boom mic's performance falls a bit short compared to the Astro A50 Gen 4 Wireless 2019, they have an outstandingly long 23.9 hours of continuous playback time. They also have a comfortable fit, making them a great choice for long gaming marathons. These headphones come with a USB dongle to ensure low latency, so your audio and visuals stay in sync as you game. They're also compatible with Logitech G HUB software, which offers a graphic EQ plus presets to customize their otherwise fairly well-balanced sound profile. That said, some users have reported that the hinges on their units broke with regular use. They're prone to inconsistencies in bass and treble delivery, and you may especially notice a drop in bass if you have thick hair or wear glasses.

    Try the Astro if you want a better performing boom mic for chatting with teammates. If you want to go longer without charging your headphones, try the Logitech instead.

    See our review

  3. Best Wired PS4 Gaming Headset: SteelSeries Arctis Pro GameDAC

    7.6
    Neutral Sound
    4.9
    Commute/Travel
    5.7
    Sports/Fitness
    6.0
    Office
    5.8
    Wireless Gaming
    7.8
    Wired Gaming
    6.8
    Phone Calls
    Type Over-ear
    Enclosure Closed-Back
    Wireless No
    Noise Cancelling No
    Mic Yes
    Transducer Dynamic

    The best PS4 gaming headset with a wired design that we've tested are the SteelSeries Arctis Pro GameDAC. These headphones come with a digital to analog converter (DAC) called the GameDAC, which gives you full compatibility with PS4 consoles and lets you easily adjust your channel mixing, switch EQs, and toggle virtual surround sound on and off while you play.

    They're well-built and very comfortable. Once you achieve a good fit with the ski-band headband, their default sound profile is neutral and well-balanced. You can also use their companion software's graphic EQ to adjust their sound or create presets that you can access with the GameDAC. Their boom mic has a good overall performance, so if you're playing with friends, they can hear you clearly, even if you're gaming in a noisy environment.

    Unfortunately, like many headphones with the same elastic headband design, they're very prone to inconsistent bass and treble delivery, so you may need to adjust their fit and positioning to hear the same sound every time you wear them. The boom mic also isn't detachable when you want a more casual look. Otherwise, if you're looking for headphones for PS4, these offer a well-rounded performance and plenty of customization options.

    See our review

  4. Βest Βudget PS4 Ηeadset: HyperX Cloud Alpha S

    7.2
    Neutral Sound
    4.9
    Commute/Travel
    5.6
    Sports/Fitness
    6.2
    Office
    5.7
    Wireless Gaming
    7.6
    Wired Gaming
    6.8
    Phone Calls
    Type Over-ear
    Enclosure Closed-Back
    Wireless No
    Noise Cancelling No
    Mic Yes
    Transducer Dynamic

    The best budget PS4 headset we've tested is the HyperX Cloud Alpha S. These affordable headphones come with a 1/8" TRRS cable and a USB-A dongle with in-line controls like 7.1 surround sound. Although they aren't compatible with companion software, they have bass sliders on each ear cup that you can use to adjust the amount of bass to your liking.

    With both sliders turned up, they have a boomy sound profile which can help emphasize sound effects like footsteps when you game. If you like to chat with others while you game, their detachable boom mic has a good recording quality, ensuring your voice sounds clear. These comfortable headphones also have an excellent build quality, which feels sturdy and durable. They even come with two different pairs of ear cup padding to help you find the best fit.

    Unfortunately, their boomy sound profile can also muddy mixes, while a dip in their treble range hurts the detail of dialogue and lead instruments. They're also prone to inconsistencies in bass and treble delivery, so it's important to take the time to adjust their fit to better suit your head. However, if you're a PS4 gamer and you're looking for more wallet-friendly headphones, they're worth checking out.

    See our review

  5. Best Cheap PS4 Gaming Headset: Logitech G432 Gaming Headset

    7.6
    Neutral Sound
    4.7
    Commute/Travel
    5.5
    Sports/Fitness
    6.1
    Office
    5.8
    Wireless Gaming
    7.5
    Wired Gaming
    7.3
    Phone Calls
    Type Over-ear
    Enclosure Closed-Back
    Wireless No
    Noise Cancelling No
    Mic Yes
    Transducer Dynamic

    The best budget gaming headset that we've tested is the Logitech G432 Gaming Headset. These wired headphones offer a lot of customization features at an affordable price. They work with Logitech's G ΗUΒ software, so you can customize their sound profile with a graphic EQ and presets as well as adjust the mic and sidetone levels.

    They're light and have a comfortable fit, meaning you can wear them for hours without much fatigue. Their boom mic also has an excellent overall performance, so if you're gaming with friends, they can hear you clearly, even if you're in a noisy environment. You can connect them to your PS4 via analog connection or with their USΒ dongle, which offers a low-latency connection suitable for gaming.

    Unfortunately, their build feels plasticky, and the hinges don't feel very durable. Also, the onboard controls are very limited since there's just a volume wheel on one earcup. You can also flip the mic up and down to mute and unmute it. Otherwise, if you're looking for headphones for PS4 and don't want to spend too much, these offer an amazing mic performance and good app support.

    See our review

Notable Mentions

  • SteelSeries Arctis Pro Wireless: The SteelSeries Arctis Pro Wireless are a viable alternative to the Astro A50 Gen 4 Wireless 2019. They use a swappable battery system, which gives them over 30 hours of total battery life, and they support Bluetooth. However, they aren't as comfortable and are prone to more inconsistencies in their audio delivery. See our review
  • Sony PULSE 3D Wireless: The Sony PULSE 3D Wireless are gaming headphones primarily designed for PS5 consoles. That said, you can use them on PS4 consoles either by using their 1/8" TRRS cable or USB receiver. Their boom mic doesn't offer especially impressive performance, and they're only passably comfortable. See our review
  • SteelSeries Arctis 7 2019 Edition Wireless: The SteelSeries Arctis 7 2019 Edition Wireless are solid gaming headphones that aren't as feature-packed as the SteelSeries Arctis Pro Wireless, but they provide great value for the price. See our review
  • SteelSeries Arctis 7P Wireless: The SteelSeries Arctis 7P Wireless are comfortable, well-built gaming headphones with lots of customization options, but their boom microphone doesn't perform as well as the Astro A50 Gen 4 Wireless 2019. See our review
  • ROCCAT Elo 7.1 Air Wireless: The ROCCAT Elo 7.1 Wireless are headphones with customizable RGB lighting and robust sound customization features. However, they have high non-Bluetooth wireless latency. See our review
  • Astro A40 TR + MixAmp 2019: The Astro A40 TR Headset + MixAmp Pro 2019 are great wired gaming headphones with a comfortable design and are a solid alternative to the SteelSeries Arctis Pro GameDAC but have fewer sound customization options outside the app. See our review
  • Logitech G935 Wireless Gaming Headset: The Logitech G935 Wireless Gaming Headset are decent gaming headphones but don't provide as much value as the older Logitech G933, which seem to be discontinued. See our review
  • Logitech G433 Gaming Headset: The Logitech G433 Gaming Headset are versatile gaming headphones that come with a couple of different cable options so you can use them with your PS4 or with your phone on the go, but they don't feel as well-built as other options in the same price range. See our review
  • Turtle Beach Stealth 700: The Turtle Beach Stealth 700 Wireless are decent wireless gaming headphones with many connectivity options but don't feel as well-built or comfortable as our top picks. See our review
  • JBL Quantum ONE: The JBL Quantum ONE are a pair of wired gaming headphones that feature a well-balanced sound profile and flashy gamer-oriented looks. However, they're more cheaply made than the SteelSeries Arctis Pro GameDAC and don't offer the same on-the-fly adjustability. See our review
  • Corsair HS60 PRO SURROUND: The Corsair HS60 PRO SURROUND are a budget-friendly pair of wired gaming headphones but have a worse mic and higher latency via USΒ than the Logitech G432 Gaming Headset. See our review
  • HyperX Cloud Stinger: The HyperX Cloud Stinger are cheap wired gaming headphones with a better build quality than the Logitech G432 Gaming Headset, but they don't have an app or a virtual surround sound feature. See our review

Recent Updates

  1. Jan 21, 2022: Moved the ROCCAT Elo 7.1 Air Wireless to Notable Mentions as the ROCCAT have high non-Bluetooth wireless latency.

  2. Dec 23, 2021: Removed the Logitech G533 Wireless Gaming Ηeadset as the 'Βest Βudget PS4 Ηeadset' because it now costs more than $100. Replaced it with the ΗyperX Cloud Alpha S and added the ROCCAT Elo 7.1 Air Wireless as a 'More Customizable Alternative'.

  3. Nov 23, 2021: Made the Logitech G432 Gaming Headset the 'Best Cheap PS4 Gaming Headset' instead of the 'Best Budget PS4 Gaming Headset' because of its low price point. Added the Logitech G533 Wireless Gaming Ηeadset as the 'Best Budget' pick and made the ΗyperX Cloud Alpha S the 'More Comfortable Alternative'. Moved the HyperX Cloud Stinger to Notable Mentions.

  4. Oct 29, 2021: Checked our picks for product availability and accuracy. There hasn't been a change in our recommendations.

  5. Sep 29, 2021: Removed the SteelSeries Arctis Pro Wireless as the 'Bluetooth Alternative' to the Astro A50 Gen 4 Wireless 2019 and replaced it with the Logitech G PRO X WIRELESS LIGHTSPEED as the 'Better-Built Alternative', because of the Logitech's lower non-Bluetooth latency.

All Reviews

Our recommendations above are what we think are currently the best PS4 headsets to buy for most people in each price range. We factor in the price (cheaper headphones win over pricier ones if the difference isn't worth it), feedback from our visitors, and availability (no headphones that are difficult to find or almost out of stock everywhere).

If you would like to choose for yourself, here is the list of all our reviews for headphones that are good for gaming. Be careful not to get caught up in the details. There are no perfect headphones. Personal taste, preference, and listening habits will matter more in your selection, especially if you don't care about having a microphone or wireless features.

Recommended Articles

Discussions