The Government of Quebec is shutting down non-essential businesses till April 13. Therefore, our lab is temporarily closed and we can't test new products. In the meantime, we will continue to update articles from home.
Updated

The 5 Best 80-82-85 Inch TVs - Spring 2020
Reviews

Best 80-82-85 Inch TVs
249 Televisions Tested
  • Store-bought TVs; no cherry-picked units
  • Easily comparable results
  • No ads; unbiased reviews
  • Supported directly by you via insider access and when you purchase through our affiliate links
Learn more about our approach to product reviews here.

If you have a very large seating area or simply want the largest TV available, there aren't a whole lot of choices. Even though larger TVs are starting to be more popular, you'll find more options in the 70-75-77 inch category.

We've tested more than 240 TVs, but only a few are available in these sizes. Below are our recommendations for the best large screen TVs (80-82-85 inch) to buy in 2020. See also our recommendations for the best TVs.


  1. Best 80-82-85 Inch TV: Samsung QN82Q80RAFXZA

    Test Methodology v1.4
    8.8
    Mixed Usage
    8.5
    Movies
    8.7
    TV Shows
    8.6
    Sports
    9.2
    Video Games
    8.5
    HDR Movies
    8.9
    HDR Gaming
    9.1
    PC Monitor
    Type LED
    Sub-Type
    VA
    Resolution 4k

    The best 82 inch TV we've tested so far is the Samsung Q80/QN82Q80RAFXZA. It's a high-end QLED TV that delivers an outstanding picture quality. It has a great contrast ratio and amazing black uniformity, and there's a local dimming feature to further deepen any blacks, so it's an excellent choice to watch movies in dark rooms. Most VA panels usually don't have good viewing angles, but Samsung added an 'Ultra Viewing Angle', so you won't lose as much image accuracy as you would normally expect from a VA panel when viewed from the side.

    It supports HDR10 and HDR10+. It displays a wide color gamut, has good color volume, and has excellent HDR peak brightness, displaying rich, vivid colors in HDR. It can get extremely bright with regular content and has outstanding reflection handling, so it's a great choice to place in really bright rooms. Unfortunately, the gray uniformity is only decent and the screen is visibly darker around the edges, which is noticeable during panning shots. On the upside, gamers will love the excellent response time and the support for FreeSync variable refresh rate technology, lowering tearing in games.

    The Samsung Q90/Q90R QLED is a higher-end model of this TV with more local dimming zones, but the two TVs perform similarly. The Q80 is cheaper, making it the best 82 inch TV we've tested so far.

    See our review

  2. Cheaper, Larger Alternative With Better Color Accuracy: Sony XBR85X900F

    Type LED
    Sub-Type
    VA
    Resolution 4k

    If you find the Samsung Q80/Q80R QLED too expensive or want something even larger, consider the Sony XBR85X900F. Its viewing angles and local dimming feature aren't nearly as good as the Samsung Q80/Q80R QLED, but its colors are much more accurate out of the box, it's larger, and it's available for a bit cheaper. It has deep blacks, bright HDR highlights, and does an excellent job with motion handling. While it doesn't have extra gaming features like the Samsung, it still has very low input lag and a fast response time that should please even more competitive gamers.

    If you want the best 80-82-85 inch TV that we've tested so far, the Samsung has great picture quality. However, if you want a cheaper alternative with a larger size, consider the Sony.

    See our review

  3. Best Budget 80-82-85 Inch TV: Samsung UN82NU8000

    Test Methodology v1.4
    8.0
    Mixed Usage
    7.5
    Movies
    7.7
    TV Shows
    7.7
    Sports
    8.7
    Video Games
    7.7
    HDR Movies
    8.4
    HDR Gaming
    8.5
    PC Monitor
    Type LED
    Sub-Type
    VA
    Resolution 4k

    The best budget TV in the 80-85 inch category is the Samsung UN82NU8000. It's a 2018 model and is becoming harder to find as it's slowly being replaced by the Samsung RU8000, which lacks a local dimming feature. This TV is less expensive than the Samsung Q80/Q80R QLED and isn't as large as the 85 inch Sony X900F. However, it delivers a great overall performance with deep blacks in a dark room. The picture quality is good and will please most people, as it has a wide color gamut and can get fairly bright to fight glare in most rooms.

    Unfortunately, the VA panel can't deliver wide viewing angles, and it's an edge-lit TV, which results in vertical blooming that's visible in a completely dark room. On the upside, fast-moving content looks crisp thanks to the fast response time and the input lag is very low. Gamers will also appreciate the support for Samsung's advanced gaming features, like FreeSync variable refresh rate technology.

    Overall, this is a well-rounded and versatile TV that can handle all uses well. If you want to get the best budget 80-82-85 inch TV, this one is a great choice.

    See our review

  4. Cheaper Alternative: Samsung UN82RU8000FXZA

    Type LED
    Sub-Type
    VA
    Resolution 4k

    If you want a huge screen but want something even cheaper, check out the Samsung UN82RU8000FXZA. This is the 2019 version of the Samsung NU8000, but it performs worse, especially for movies and HDR content. This TV lacks a local dimming feature to enhance dark room performance and can't get as bright as the 2018 model. On the upside, it outperforms its predecessor when it comes to gaming, as it has a lower input lag and supports 1440p resolution that'll excite Xbox One gamers. It supports all the Samsung gaming goodies like FreeSync and low input lag with motion interpolation.

    If you want the best 80-82-85 TV within a budget price point, consider the NU8000. If you use your TV primarily for gaming or don't mind a slight reduction in performance to save even more money, consider the RU8000.

    See our review

  5. Larger, Wide Viewing Angle Alternative: LG 86UM8070PUA

    Type LED
    Sub-Type
    VA (except 86")
    Resolution 4k

    If you're looking for a bigger TV to place in a wide seating arrangement, consider the LG 86UM8070PUA. It doesn't support a wide color gamut like the Samsung NU8000, but the 86 inch model of this TV is available with an IPS panel, so the viewing angles are much better. Unfortunately, this also means it loses its dark room performance with a low contrast ratio, which is expected from IPS TVs. It still has accurate colors out-of-the-box and it has a fantastic response time and an excellent low input lag for gaming. Unfortunately, it can't get very bright; however, it displays proper 4:4:4 chroma, which is important for reading text if you need to use it as a computer monitor, like in a meeting room.

    If you're on a budget and looking for the best 82 inch TV, look into the Samsung, but if you want something bigger with wide viewing angles, consider the 86 inch LG.

    See our review

Notable Mentions

  • Samsung QN82Q90RAFXZA: The Q90 is slightly better than the Q80R, but not worth the difference in price. See our review
  • Sony XBR85X950G: The Sony X950G is a great TV, but much more expensive than the X900F for a similar performance. See our review
  • LG 86SM9070PUA: The SM9000 is a good overall TV with wide viewing angles, but it's more expensive than the LG UM8070. See our review

Recent Updates

03/25/2020: Minor updates to text for clarity.

All Reviews

Our recommendations above are what we think are currently the best 80 inch TVs to the best 85 inch TVs to buy for most people in each price range. We factor in the price (a cheaper TV wins over a pricier one if the difference isn't really worth it), feedback from our visitors, and availability (no TVs that are difficult to find or almost out of stock everywhere).

If you would like to do the work of choosing yourself, here is the list of all our reviews of TVs that have an 80, 82, or 85 inch size. Be careful not to get too caught up in the details. While no TV is perfect, most TVs are great enough to please almost everyone, and the differences are often not noticeable unless you really look for them.

LOG IN

JOIN RTINGS.com

Be part of the most informed community and take advantage of our advanced tools to find the best product for your needs.
Join our mailing list:
Become an insider

Unlimited access to full product reviews, test measurements and scores

test table UI

Product prices across the site on reviews, tables and tools

product prices UI

Additional votes for our
next reviews

Additional votes UI

Early Access
to our reviews and test measurements

Early Access UI

Create Discussion