Preferred tv store
Updated

The 5 Best 80-82-85 Inch TVs - Spring 2020
Reviews

Best 80-82-85 Inch TVs
252 Televisions Tested
  • Store-bought TVs; no cherry-picked units
  • Easily comparable results
  • No ads; unbiased reviews
  • Supported directly by you via insider access and when you purchase through our affiliate links
Learn more about our approach to product reviews here.

If you have a very large seating area or simply want the largest TV available, there aren't a whole lot of choices. Even though larger TVs are starting to be more popular, you'll find more options in the 70-75-77 inch category.

We've tested more than 15 TVs that are available in 80+ inch sizes. Below are our recommendations for the best large screen TVs (80-82-85 inch) to buy. See also our recommendations for the best TVs, the best gaming TVs, and the best HDR TVs.


  1. Best 80-82-85 Inch TV: Samsung QN82Q80RAFXZA

    8.5
    Mixed Usage
    8.5
    Movies
    8.5
    TV Shows
    8.4
    Sports
    8.6
    Video Games
    8.3
    HDR Movies
    8.5
    HDR Gaming
    8.5
    PC Monitor
    Type LED
    Sub-Type
    VA
    Resolution 4k

    The best 82 inch TV we've tested so far is the Samsung QN82Q80RAFXZA. It's a high-end QLED TV that delivers an outstanding picture quality. It has a great contrast ratio and amazing black uniformity, and there's a local dimming feature to further deepen any blacks, so it's an excellent choice to watch movies in dark rooms.

    Most VA panels like on this TV usually don't have good viewing angles, but Samsung added an 'Ultra Viewing Angle', so you won't lose as much image accuracy as you would normally expect when viewing from the side. It supports HDR10 and HDR10+, it displays a wide color gamut, has good color volume, and has excellent HDR peak brightness, displaying rich, vivid colors in HDR. It can get extremely bright with regular content and has outstanding reflection handling, so it's a great choice to place in really bright rooms.

    Unfortunately, the gray uniformity is only decent and the screen is visibly darker around the edges, which is noticeable during panning shots. On the upside, gamers will love the excellent response time and the support for FreeSync variable refresh rate (VRR) technology. The Samsung Q90/Q90R QLED is a higher-end model of this TV with more local dimming zones, but the two TVs perform similarly. The Q80R is cheaper, making it the best 82 inch TV we've tested so far.

    See our review

  2. Larger Alternative With Better Color Accuracy: Sony XBR85X900F

    Type LED
    Sub-Type
    VA
    Resolution 4k

    If you find the Samsung Q80/Q80R QLED too expensive or want something even larger, consider the Sony XBR85X900F. Its viewing angles and local dimming feature aren't nearly as good as the Samsung Q80/Q80R QLED, but its colors are much more accurate out-of-the-box, it's larger, and it's available for a bit cheaper. It has deep blacks, bright HDR highlights, and does an excellent job with motion handling. While it doesn't have extra gaming features like the Samsung, it still has very low input lag and a fast response time that should please even more competitive gamers.

    If you want the best 80-82-85 inch TV that we've tested so far, the Samsung has great picture quality. However, if you want a cheaper alternative with a larger size, consider the Sony.

    See our review

  3. Best Gaming 80-82-85 Inch TV: Samsung QN82Q60RAFXZA

    7.4
    Mixed Usage
    6.8
    Movies
    7.4
    TV Shows
    7.5
    Sports
    8.3
    Video Games
    6.7
    HDR Movies
    7.9
    HDR Gaming
    7.8
    PC Monitor
    Type LED
    Sub-Type
    VA
    Resolution 4k

    The best gaming 82 inch TV we've tested so far is the Samsung QN82Q60RAFXZA. It's an entry-level QLED TV and a lower-end version of the Samsung Q80/Q80R QLED, so it doesn't have the same excellent overall performance, but for a cheaper cost, the Q60R is still an amazing gaming TV. 

    It features all the gaming features Samsung includes in their TVs. It has a 120Hz panel with FreeSync VRR support to reduce screen tearing. It could go as low as 20Hz at 1080p or 1440p, but with a 4k resolution, the refresh rate is limited between 48-60Hz. Response time is excellent and there's a black frame insertion feature to help reduce any motion blur. The input lag is incredibly low and it remains low even with VRR enabled. This TV also has outstanding out-of-the-box color accuracy and it displays a wide color gamut if you enjoy gaming in HDR.

    Unfortunately, despite having an excellent contrast ratio, black uniformity is only decent and it lacks a local dimming feature to further deepen any blacks. The viewing angles are also poor, so it's not ideal for a wide seating arrangement or co-op gaming. However, it upscales 1080p content, like from consoles, well with no artifacts. Overall, this is the best 82 inch gaming TV we've seen so far.

    See our review

  4. Best Budget 80-82-85 Inch TV: Samsung UN82RU8000FXZA

    7.4
    Mixed Usage
    7.0
    Movies
    7.4
    TV Shows
    7.5
    Sports
    8.3
    Video Games
    6.8
    HDR Movies
    7.9
    HDR Gaming
    7.8
    PC Monitor
    Type LED
    Sub-Type
    VA
    Resolution 4k

    The best budget 82 inch TV we've tested so far is the Samsung UN82RU8000FXZA. It's a very good TV for most uses with good overall picture quality, and it has some nice extra features you might not find on a budget TV, such as a motion interpolation feature, the ability to remove judder from any source, and VRR support to reduce screen tearing.

    It uses a VA panel, so like most TVs of its kind, it has an excellent contrast ratio and amazing black uniformity. This comes at the cost of its viewing angles, which are poor and you quickly lose image accuracy when viewing at an angle. It's a fantastic gaming TV thanks to its incredible response time, very low input lag, and a black frame insertion feature to improve the appearance of motion. It's also a decent choice for HDR movies as it displays a wide color gamut, but sadly it doesn't get very bright in HDR.

    Unfortunately, it doesn't perform well in really bright rooms as it has only decent reflection handling and it can't get bright enough to combat direct sunlight, but it should be fine in average-lit rooms. Overall, it gives good performance for its price, making it the best budget 82 inch TV we've tested so far.

    See our review

  5. Wide Viewing Angle Alternative: LG 86UM8070PUA

    Type LED
    Sub-Type
    VA (except 86")
    Resolution 4k

    If you're looking for a bigger TV to place in a wide seating arrangement, consider the LG 86UM8070PUA. It doesn't support a wide color gamut like the Samsung RU8000, but the 86 inch model of this TV is available with an IPS panel, so the viewing angles are much better. Unfortunately, this also means it loses its dark room performance with a low contrast ratio, which is expected from IPS TVs. It still has accurate colors out-of-the-box and it has a fantastic response time and an excellent low input lag for gaming. Unfortunately, it can't get very bright; however, it displays proper chroma 4:4:4, which is important for reading text if you need to use it as a computer monitor, like in a meeting room.

    If you're on a budget and looking for the best 82 inch TV, look into the Samsung, but if you want something bigger with wide viewing angles, consider the 86 inch LG.

    See our review

Notable Mentions

  • Samsung QN82Q90RAFXZA: The Q90R is slightly better than the Q80R, but not worth the difference in price. See our review
  • Sony XBR85X950G: The Sony X950G is a great TV, but much more expensive than the X900F for a similar performance. See our review
  • LG 86SM9070PUA: The SM9000 is a good overall TV with wide viewing angles, but it's more expensive than the LG UM8070. See our review

Recent Updates

05/08/2020: Removed the Samsung NU8000 as budget pick and replaced it with the RU8000.

03/25/2020: Minor updates to text for clarity.

All Reviews

Our recommendations above are what we think are currently the best 80 inch TVs to the best 85 inch TVs to buy for most people in each price range. We factor in the price (a cheaper TV wins over a pricier one if the difference isn't really worth it), feedback from our visitors, and availability (no TVs that are difficult to find or almost out of stock everywhere).

If you would like to do the work of choosing yourself, here is the list of all our reviews of TVs that have an 80, 82, or 85 inch size. Be careful not to get too caught up in the details. While no TV is perfect, most TVs are great enough to please almost everyone, and the differences are often not noticeable unless you really look for them.

LOG IN

JOIN RTINGS.com

Be part of the most informed community and take advantage of our advanced tools to find the best product for your needs.
Join our mailing list:
Become an insider

Unlimited access to full product reviews, test measurements and scores

test table UI

Product prices across the site on reviews, tables and tools

product prices UI

Additional votes for our
next reviews

Additional votes UI

Early Access
to our reviews and test measurements

Early Access UI

Create Discussion