Get insider access
Preferred tv store
Updated

The 5 Best 80-82-85 Inch TVs - Fall 2020
Reviews

Best 80-82-85 Inch TVs
285 Televisions Tested
  • Store-bought TVs; no cherry-picked units
  • Easily comparable results
  • No ads; unbiased reviews
  • Supported directly by you via insider access and when you purchase through our affiliate links
Learn more about our approach to product reviews here.

If you have a very large seating area or simply want the largest TV available, there aren't a whole lot of choices. Even though larger TVs are starting to be more popular, you'll find more options in the 70-75-77 inch category.

We've tested more than 20 TVs that are available in 80+ inch sizes in the past two years. Below are our recommendations for the best large screen TVs (80-82-85 inch) to buy. See also our recommendations for the best TVs, the best gaming TVs, and the best HDR TVs.


  1. Best 80-82-85 Inch TV: Vizio P85QX-H1

    8.3
    Mixed Usage
    8.5
    Movies
    8.0
    TV Shows
    7.9
    Sports
    8.5
    Video Games
    8.6
    HDR Movies
    8.5
    HDR Gaming
    7.9
    PC Monitor
    Type LED
    Sub-Type
    VA
    Resolution 4k

    The best 85 inch TV we've tested is the Vizio P85QX-H1. It's a well-rounded and feature-packed TV that's, unfortunately, only available in the United States. It has a VA panel with a high contrast ratio and exceptional black uniformity, and it has a full-array local dimming feature to make blacks look even deeper, making it an excellent choice for viewing movies or gaming in the dark. It's well-suited for bright environments as well, as it overcomes glare easily and handles reflections well. It isn't ideal for wide seating areas, though, as its narrow viewing angles cause images to look washed out from the sides.

    It has all the ingredients to deliver an excellent HDR experience. It has an amazing color gamut, with near full coverage of the DCI P3 color space, and it gets more than bright enough to make highlights pop in HDR content. It also handles gradients very well to minimize banding, but its out-of-the-box color accuracy is only mediocre, so it might be worth getting it calibrated if you want the best viewing experience. Motion handling is great, as it has a fast response time, a Black Frame Insertion feature, and a 120Hz refresh rate.

    If you want to use the TV for gaming, its input lag is very low, and it supports FreeSync to help reduce screen tearing. It can display proper chroma 4:4:4, making it a good option for large meeting rooms. It runs on Vizio's SmartCast platform, which is relatively easy to use. However, it's a little buggy, and app selection is limited since Vizio doesn't have an app store. Overall, it's a great TV that should satisfy most people and worth checking out.

    See our review

  2. Alternative For Better Color Accuracy: Sony XBR85X950H

    Type LED
    Sub-Type
    VA
    Resolution 4k

    If you care about color accuracy but don't want to pay extra for calibration, then check out the Sony XBR85X950H. Unlike the Vizio P85QX-H1, this TV comes well-calibrated out-of-the-box, so you get images that look colorful yet lifelike. It also sports a VA panel and a full-array local dimming feature; however, its contrast ratio isn't as high due to the 'X-Wide Angle' layer, which improves viewing angles at the expense of a lower contrast ratio. It doesn't get as bright, but it's more than enough to provide good visibility in well-lit rooms and bring out small specular highlights in HDR content. Unfortunately, while it has low input lag and a 120Hz refresh rate, it doesn't support VRR to reduce screen tearing. On the upside, it runs on Android TV, which has a much bigger selection of apps thanks to the Google Play Store.

    For most people, the Vizio is a better choice, as it performs better overall and is cheaper. However, if you want a TV with better color accuracy, then go with the Sony.

    See our review

  3. Best Gaming 80-82-85 Inch TV: Samsung QN85Q80TAFXZC

    8.4
    Mixed Usage
    8.1
    Movies
    8.4
    TV Shows
    8.4
    Sports
    8.8
    Video Games
    7.9
    HDR Movies
    8.5
    HDR Gaming
    8.7
    PC Monitor
    Type LED
    Sub-Type
    VA
    Resolution 4k

    The best 85 inch TV for gaming we've tested is the Samsung QN85Q80TAFXZC. This is a high-end 4k QLED TV that's packed with features and offers an impressive all-around performance. It's very well-built, with a simple design that should fit easily into any type of setup. It has a VA panel with a great contrast ratio, but it's lower than most VA panel TVs, as it has Samsung's 'Ultra Viewing Angle' layer to improve viewing angles at the cost of the contrast. That said, it still delivers deep blacks, making it a good choice for dark rooms.

    As for its gaming performance, this TV has low input lag, a fast response time, and a 120Hz refresh rate to deliver an incredibly smooth experience. Also, it supports FreeSync variable refresh rate technology to help minimize screen tearing. It has excellent color accuracy out-of-the-box and delivers a good HDR experience thanks to its wide color gamut and high brightness.

    If you want to use this TV as a PC monitor, it can display proper chroma 4:4:4 and supports all the most common resolutions. The latter means that if your graphics card can't maintain a playable frame rate at 4k, you can lower the resolution to get a higher frame rate without worrying about compatibility. All in all, this is a great choice and one of the best 85 inch TVs we've tested.

    See our review

  4. Cheaper Alternative: Sony XBR85X900H

    Type LED
    Sub-Type
    VA
    Resolution 4k

    If you find the Samsung QN85Q80TAFXZC too expensive, then check out the Sony XBR85X900H. It's also a VA panel TV that's well-suited for dark rooms, and it has a fast response time, a 120Hz refresh rate, and low input lag as well. However, it has narrower viewing angles, so images look inaccurate from the sides. Its reflection handling is only decent, but you shouldn't have any visibility issues thanks to its high brightness. The main downside is that while it's advertised to have VRR support, it isn't functional yet and will only be available after a firmware update. It should be coming soon, likely around the same time as the Sony PlayStation 5's release.

    Overall, the Samsung is a better choice due to its faster response time and lower input lag. However, if you want to save some money, the Sony is a great alternative.

    See our review

  5. Best Budget 80-82-85 Inch TV: Samsung UN85TU8000FXZA

    7.1
    Mixed Usage
    7.0
    Movies
    7.2
    TV Shows
    7.1
    Sports
    7.8
    Video Games
    6.6
    HDR Movies
    7.2
    HDR Gaming
    7.5
    PC Monitor
    Type LED
    Sub-Type
    VA
    Resolution 4k

    The best large screen TV in the budget category that we've tested is the Samsung UNTU8000FXZA. It's a well-rounded TV with decent overall performance. Even though it doesn't have any of the same gaming features as the other Samsung TVs in this recommendation, it still offers very good gaming performance.

    It has a VA panel with an outstanding contrast ratio and incredible black uniformity, so it's an ideal choice for watching movies in dark rooms. It removes judder from native 24p sources and has a motion interpolation feature, which is known as the 'Soap Opera Effect.' It has a really low input lag for gaming, a decent response time, and a Black Frame Insertion feature to help reduce motion blur. This TV also upscales lower-resolution content without any obvious artifacts.

    Unfortunately, HDR content doesn't look all that different from SDR content. It doesn't display a wide color gamut and doesn't get bright enough to make highlights pop. If you want to use it in a well-lit room, it has decent reflection handling, but it doesn't get bright in SDR. Regardless of these small issues, most people should be happy with it, making it the best 85 inch TV in the budget category that we've tested.

    See our review

Notable Mentions

  • Samsung QN85Q90T: The Samsung Q90T QLED is a more premium version of the Q80T, but not worth the price difference. See our review
  • Samsung UN82RU9000FXZA: The Samsung RU9000 is better than the TU8000 but may be harder to find. See our review
  • Samsung QN85Q60TAFXZA: The Samsung Q60/Q60T QLED is a decent QLED TV, but for its price, it's worth getting the TU8000. See our review

Recent Updates

10/26/2020: Removed Samsung Q70/Q70T QLED and LG NANO90, added Vizio P Series Quantum X 2020 and Sony X900H.

09/23/2020: Removed the Samsung Q80R, Sony X900H, Samsung RU8000, and Sony X800H; added the Sony X950H, Samsung Q70T, LG NANO90, and Samsung TU8000; moved the Samsung Q80T from best gaming to best overall.

08/13/2020: Replaced Sony X950G with Sony X900H.

07/14/2020: Replaced LG UM8070 with Sony X800H.

06/05/2020: Replaced Sony X900F with Sony X950G, replaced Samsung Q60R with Samsung Q80T.

All Reviews

Our recommendations above are what we think are currently the best 80 inch TVs to the best 85 inch TVs to buy for most people in each price range. We factor in the price (a cheaper TV wins over a pricier one if the difference isn't really worth it), feedback from our visitors, and availability (no TVs that are difficult to find or almost out of stock everywhere).

If you would like to do the work of choosing yourself, here is the list of all our 80-82-85 inch TV reviews. Be careful not to get too caught up in the details. While no TV is perfect, most TVs are great enough to please almost everyone, and the differences are often not noticeable unless you really look for them.

LOG IN

JOIN RTINGS.com

Be part of the most informed community and take advantage of our advanced tools to find the best product for your needs.
Join our mailing list:
Become an insider
EARLY ACCESS

Gain early access to all tests results for new products

Early Access UI
PRICES LISTED

Prices will now be listed directly in reviews and tables

product prices UI
MORE VOTES

Have 5 votes per product category to choose which product we’ll review next

Additional votes UI
UNLIMITED ACCESS

Gain unlimited access to detailed test results in tools and results (no blurred results)

test table UI

Create Post