The 5 Best 80-82-85 Inch TVs - Summer 2021 Reviews

Updated
Best 80-82-85 Inch TVs
329 Televisions Tested
  • Store-bought TVs; no cherry-picked units
  • Easily comparable results
  • No ads; unbiased reviews
  • Supported directly by you via insider access and when you purchase through our affiliate links
Learn more about our approach to product reviews here.

If you have a very large seating area or simply want the largest TV available, there aren't a whole lot of choices. Even though larger TVs are starting to be more popular, you'll find more options in the 70-75-77 inch category. It may be easier to find the best 85 inch TV rather than the best 80 inch TV or best 82 inch TV since the 85 inch models are starting to become more popular.

We've tested more than 30 TVs that are available in 80+ inch sizes under the latest test bench. Below are our recommendations for the best large screen TVs (80-82-85 inch) to buy. See also our recommendations for the best TVs for PS5, the best gaming TVs, and the best HDR TVs.


  1. Best 80-82-85 Inch OLED TV: LG OLED83C1PUA

    8.8
    Mixed Usage
    9.3
    Movies
    8.2
    TV Shows
    8.7
    Sports
    9.2
    Video Games
    8.6
    HDR Movies
    9.0
    HDR Gaming
    8.9
    PC Monitor
    Type OLED
    Sub-Type
    WRGB
    Resolution 4k

    The best OLED in this size range is the LG OLED83C1PUA. It's one of the first LG OLEDs to be available in this unique 83 inch size, and we expect it to perform the same as the 55 inch model we tested. It offers excellent overall performance and a ton of features that should please most people. If you want to use it for gaming, it has four HDMI 2.1 inputs and variable refresh rate (VRR) support, a near-instant response time, and low input lag for responsive gaming.

    The main advantage of OLEDs over the LED competition is how they can turn off individual pixels. This means that it has a near-infinite contrast ratio for extremely deep blacks and no blooming around bright objects. Since each pixel emits light in all directions, it has wide viewing angles and the image remains accurate when viewing from the side. Fans of HDR content should appreciate its wide color gamut, but it doesn't get bright enough to truly make some highlights stand out in HDR content. It supports Dolby Vision, but not HDR10+.

    Sadly, our unit has poor out-of-the-box accuracy. This can vary between units, so you may not need to get it calibrated to enjoy it to the fullest. OLEDs have the risk of permanent burn-in, which could be problematic with constant exposure to static displays, but we don't expect it to be a problem for those who watch varied content. All things considered, this is the best big screen TV with an OLED panel.

    See our review

  2. Best 80-82-85 Inch LED TV: Samsung QN85QN90AAFXZA

    8.6
    Mixed Usage
    8.5
    Movies
    8.6
    TV Shows
    8.5
    Sports
    8.8
    Video Games
    8.6
    HDR Movies
    8.8
    HDR Gaming
    8.8
    PC Monitor
    Type LED
    Sub-Type
    VA
    Resolution 4k

    The best 85 inch TV in the LED category is the Samsung QN85QN90AAFXZA. It's a high-end model that's packed with features and performs well in both dark and bright environments. We tested the 55 inch model, but the 85 inch version should perform the same. Unlike OLEDs, LED TVs don't suffer from the risk of permanent burn-in, so you won't have to worry about potentially damaging your screen.

    Its stand-out feature is its Mini LED backlighting. This allows the TV to get extremely bright, and combined with its fantastic reflection handling, visibility shouldn't be an issue in the brightest of rooms. It displays a wide color gamut for HDR content, and highlights should really pop thanks to its high peak brightness. It uses a VA panel with a high contrast ratio, but it's lower than most VA panel TVs due to Samsung's 'Ultra Viewing Angle' technology that's designed to improve the viewing angles. Luckily, it has a great full-array local dimming feature that further deepens any blacks, making it an excellent choice for dark room viewing.

    Unfortunately, the local dimming actually performs a bit worse outside of Game Mode as it raises the black levels, so blacks look more gray than black. If that doesn't bother you, it offers a ton of gaming features like VRR support, a quick response time, and low input lag for a responsive gaming experience. Overall, this is the best 85 inch TV you can get with an LED panel.

    See our review

  3. Cheaper Alternative: Sony KD-85X85J

    Type LED
    Sub-Type
    VA
    Resolution 4k

    If you want a cheaper option, then look into the Sony KD-85X85J. It doesn't have Mini LED backlighting or a local dimming feature like the Samsung QN90A QLED, but it has a higher native contrast since the Sony doesn't have any viewing angle technology. The X85J is a reliable mid-range option that gets bright enough to fight glare in most environments and has decent reflection handling. Like most Sony TVs, it has fantastic out-of-the-box accuracy, so you may not need to get it calibrated. The built-in Google TV has a ton of apps available to download and is fairly easy to use. Sadly, it doesn't have any gaming features like VRR support, but that should come in a firmware update. Still, it has low input lag and a quick response time for gaming.

    If you want the best 85 inch TV with Mini LED backlighting, you can't go wrong with the Samsung, but if you prefer something that costs less, then check out the Sony. Keep in mind that we tested the 55 inch model of the Sony, and we expect our results for the 85 inch to be valid too.

    See our review

  4. Best 80-82-85 Inch TV For HDR: Vizio P85QX-H1

    8.3
    Mixed Usage
    8.5
    Movies
    8.0
    TV Shows
    7.9
    Sports
    8.8
    Video Games
    8.6
    HDR Movies
    8.7
    HDR Gaming
    8.0
    PC Monitor
    Type LED
    Sub-Type
    VA
    Resolution 4k

    The Vizio P85QX-H1 is the best 85 inch TV for watching HDR content. It's a flagship 4k TV from Vizio's 2020 lineup that you can still easily find in 2021, and it offers great overall performance with a few extra features to enhance the user experience. Although we tested the 75 inch model, the 85 inch variant should perform the same, except it has more local dimming zones.

    It's a more versatile choice for watching HDR content because it supports all common HDR formats, including HDR10+ and Dolby Vision. This means that you can easily stream your favorite HDR content without having to worry about which format it's in. It displays a very wide color gamut, including great coverage of the Rec. 2020 color space, and it has excellent gradient handling. Its VA panel displays deep blacks and has outstanding black uniformity, and the full-array local dimming feature helps improve picture quality in dark scenes. Lastly, it easily gets bright enough to make highlights pop in HDR.

    Unfortunately, while it has HDMI 2.1 inputs and supports VRR, there are some issues with 4k gaming at 120Hz. It skips frames in Game Mode with 4k @ 120Hz content, and its VRR is limited to a maximum of 60Hz in 4k. Also, it can't support high-frame-rate games from the PS5, but that may come in a future firmware update. However, these issues should only be a problem if you're a gamer; otherwise, you should enjoy this TV.

    See our review

  5. Best Budget 80-82-85 Inch TV: Samsung UN85AU8000FXZA

    7.1
    Mixed Usage
    6.8
    Movies
    7.7
    TV Shows
    7.4
    Sports
    7.1
    Video Games
    6.4
    HDR Movies
    7.1
    HDR Gaming
    7.7
    PC Monitor
    Type LED
    Sub-Type
    VA
    Resolution 4k

    The best large screen TV in the budget category is the Samsung UN85AU8000FXZA. It's one of the few entry-level models that are available in this size range, and even though it doesn't offer the same features as the other picks in this recommendation, it performs decent overall. Although we tested the 65 inch model, we expect our results to be valid for the 85 inch model too.

    It performs best in dark rooms thanks to its VA panel's high contrast to display deep blacks, but as expected from a budget-friendly model, it doesn't have a local dimming feature. Although it doesn't get extremely bright, it still has great reflection handling if you want to use it in a bright environment. There aren't any issues upscaling lower-resolution content, and it has good out-of-the-box accuracy, but this can vary between units. It comes with Samsung's Tizen OS, which is easy to use, and you can easily find your favorite streaming apps through the app store.

    Unfortunately, it doesn't deliver the best HDR experience even though it supports HDR10 and HDR10+. It can't display a wide color gamut and fails to get bright enough to truly make highlights stand out how they're supposed to. It also has narrow viewing angles, but that's normal for a VA-type panel, so it's not the best choice for wide seating arrangements. If these things don't bother you, it's one of the best 85 inch TVs.

    See our review

Notable Mentions

  • Samsung QN85Q60AAFXZA: The Samsung Q60/Q60A QLED is a decent QLED TV, but for its price, it's worth getting the Samsung AU8000. See our review
  • LG 86NANO90UPA: The LG NANO90 is a good 86 inch TV that has wide viewing angles if that's what you're looking for, but it has lower contrast than the Samsung QN90A or Sony X85J. See our review
  • Sony XR-83A90J: The Sony A90J is a premium OLED with similar picture quality to the LG C1, but it doesn't have any gaming features yet, and it costs more. See our review
  • Samsung QN85QN85AAFXZA: The Samsung QN85A is a great high-end TV, but the 85 inch has a VA panel, so we don't know for sure how it performs. See our review
  • Hisense 85A6G: The Hisense A6G is a low-cost entry-level TV that performs well for its price, but the 85 inch has a VA panel, and we tested a variant with an IPS panel, so we don't know for sure how it performs. See our review
  • Samsung QN85QN900AFXZA: The Samsung QN900A is an 8k TV with great overall performance, but since there isn't much 8k stuff available, it's not worth getting it over any 4k TV. See our review

Recent Updates

  1. Jul 29, 2021: Added the Hisense A6G and Samsung QN900A to Notable Mentions; updated text for clarity.

  2. Jun 29, 2021: Added the LG C1 in the new 'Best OLED' category; removed the Samsung Q80T and Sony X900H from 'Best Gaming' category and added the Samsung QN90A and Sony X85J as 'Best LED'; removed the Sony X950H because it's hard to find; replaced the Samsung TU8000 with the newer Samsung AU8000.

  3. Apr 30, 2021: Checked picks for accuracy with minor updates to text for clarity.

  4. Apr 01, 2021: Replaced the Samsung Q90T with the Samsung QN90A in Notable Mentions; updated text for clarity.

  5. Mar 02, 2021: Updated text for accuracy; verified availability of picks.

All Reviews

Our recommendations above are what we think are currently the best 80 inch TVs to the best 85 inch TVs to buy for most people in each price range. We factor in the price (a cheaper TV wins over a pricier one if the difference isn't really worth it), feedback from our visitors, and availability (no TVs that are difficult to find or almost out of stock everywhere).

If you would like to do the work of choosing yourself, here is the list of all our 80-82-85 inch TV reviews. Be careful not to get too caught up in the details. While no TV is perfect, most TVs are great enough to please almost everyone, and the differences are often not noticeable unless you really look for them.

Discussions