The 5 Best 80-82-85 Inch TVs - Winter 2021 Reviews

Updated
Best 80-82-85 Inch TVs
295 Televisions Tested
  • Store-bought TVs; no cherry-picked units
  • Easily comparable results
  • No ads; unbiased reviews
  • Supported directly by you via insider access and when you purchase through our affiliate links
Learn more about our approach to product reviews here.

If you have a very large seating area or simply want the largest TV available, there aren't a whole lot of choices. Even though larger TVs are starting to be more popular, you'll find more options in the 70-75-77 inch category. It may be easier to find the best 85 inch TV rather than the best 80 inch TV or best 82 inch TV since the 85 inch models are starting to become more popular.

We've tested more than 20 TVs that are available in 80+ inch sizes in the past two years. Below are our recommendations for the best large screen TVs (80-82-85 inch) to buy. See also our recommendations for the best TVs for PS5, the best gaming TVs, and the best HDR TVs.


  1. Best 80-82-85 Inch TV For HDR: Vizio P85QX-H1

    8.3
    Mixed Usage
    8.5
    Movies
    8.0
    TV Shows
    7.9
    Sports
    8.5
    Video Games
    8.6
    HDR Movies
    8.5
    HDR Gaming
    7.9
    PC Monitor
    Type LED
    Sub-Type
    VA
    Resolution 4k

    The best 85 inch TV for HDR content we've tested is the Vizio P85QX-H1. It's the premium LED option in Vizio's lineup and is the only model from their lineup available in this size. It delivers excellent picture quality with a very satisfying HDR experience, and it comes with gaming features too. It displays an extremely wide color gamut and is one of the brightest TVs we tested in 2020. It makes highlights pop the way the creator intended in HDR, even if you're viewing in the brightest of settings.

    As for dark-room viewing, its VA panel delivers an outstanding contrast ratio, and blacks appear deep and inky when viewed in the dark. The full-array local dimming feature is great and helps further improve the contrast ratio without too much blooming around bright objects. This TV has trouble upscaling lower-resolution content, but that shouldn't be a problem if you're watching Blu-rays or native 4k content. It's also excellent for HDR gaming because it has a quick response time, low HDR input lag, variable refresh rate (VRR) support, and a Black Frame Insertion feature.

    Sadly, it has narrow viewing angles, so you only get the most accurate image when viewing from directly in front. It has mediocre out-of-the-box color accuracy, and our unit has a red tint even after calibration, but your experience may vary. Fortunately, it supports both Dolby Vision and HDR10+ formats, so you can easily watch all your favorite HDR movies no matter their format. All things considered, this is the best 85 inch TV if you want to watch HDR content.

    See our review

  2. Alternative For Better Color Accuracy: Sony XBR85X950H

    Type LED
    Sub-Type
    VA
    Resolution 4k

    If you don't plan on getting your TV calibrated and color accuracy is important to you, then check out the Sony XBR85X950H. It doesn't have VRR support like the Vizio P Series Quantum X 2020, but it has excellent out-of-the-box color accuracy. Although this may vary between units, Sony TVs are known for their good color accuracy. It displays a great wide color gamut and has excellent HDR peak brightness. It has a great contrast ratio, but it's lower than most VA panel TVs because of its 'X-Wide Angle' technology that aims to improve the viewing angles at the cost of its contrast. Luckily, there's a good local dimming feature that improves dark scenes. The TV we tested has some uniformity issues, but this may vary between units. Lastly, it doesn't have trouble upscaling lower-resolution content and removes 24p judder from any source.

    If you simply want the best large screen TV for HDR content, you can't go wrong with the Vizio, but if you want something with better color accuracy, then check out the Sony.

    See our review

  3. Best Gaming 80-82-85 Inch TV: Samsung QN85Q80TAFXZA

    8.4
    Mixed Usage
    8.1
    Movies
    8.4
    TV Shows
    8.4
    Sports
    8.9
    Video Games
    7.9
    HDR Movies
    8.6
    HDR Gaming
    8.7
    PC Monitor
    Type LED
    Sub-Type
    VA
    Resolution 4k

    The Samsung QN85Q80TAFXZA is the best 85 inch TV for gaming that we've tested. It's a premium 4k TV packed with features, and it delivers impressive overall performance that most people should be happy with. It has Samsung's 'Ultra Viewing Angle' layer that improves the viewing angles compared to most VA panel TVs, so it's a good choice for rooms with fairly wide viewing arrangements.

    Gamers should appreciate its 120Hz panel, excellent response time, VRR support, and low input lag. It also has a Black Frame Insertion feature to help improve the appearance of motion. Its native contrast is great, but it's lower than some of its competitors because of the 'Ultra Viewing Angle'. It still has great black uniformity, and the decent full-array local helps further deepen any blacks, so it's a great choice for dark-room gaming. If you want to use it in a well-lit room, it has remarkable reflection handling and gets bright enough to combat glare.

    Unfortunately, our unit has uniformity issues with some dirty screen effect in the center, which could get distracting, but this also varies between units. On the upside, HDR content in games looks good on this TV because it displays a wide color gamut, has very good gradient handling, and gets bright enough to make highlights pop. All things considered, if you game a lot and want the best 85 inch TV, you should be happy with this one.

    See our review

  4. Cheaper Alternative: Sony XBR85X900H

    Type LED
    Sub-Type
    VA
    Resolution 4k

    If you're looking for a cheaper alternative, then check out the Sony XBRX900H. While it doesn't have VRR support and has a slightly slower response time than the Samsung Q80/Q80T QLED, it's more affordable and has an amazing contrast ratio. It has a high contrast ratio, full-array local dimming, and excellent black uniformity with very little blooming, so it's great for dark room gaming. Gray uniformity is great with almost no dirty screen effect, but this can vary between units. While its HDR peak brightness is not as high as the Samsung, its wide color gamut and high contrast ratio help deliver a satisfying HDR experience. Finally, it has a low input lag and its response time is still great, so fast-moving content produces minimal motion blur.

    If you want the best large screen TV for gaming, get the Samsung, but if you'd prefer something more affordable, consider the Sony. 

    See our review

  5. Best Budget 80-82-85 Inch TV: Samsung UN85TU8000FXZA

    7.1
    Mixed Usage
    7.0
    Movies
    7.2
    TV Shows
    7.0
    Sports
    7.8
    Video Games
    6.6
    HDR Movies
    7.1
    HDR Gaming
    7.5
    PC Monitor
    Type LED
    Sub-Type
    VA
    Resolution 4k

    The best large screen TV we've tested in the budget category is the Samsung UN85TU8000FXZA. It's a decent entry-level 4k TV that delivers satisfactory performance without breaking the bank. It can remove 24p judder from most sources and does a good job of upscaling lower resolution content, such as content from a cable box or DVD. Overall, the TV feels fairly well-built, and Samsung's Tizen OS is smooth and easy-to-use.

    It uses a VA panel with a fantastic contrast ratio and exceptional black uniformity, so it's great for watching movies in a dark room. However, it doesn't have a local dimming feature to further deepen blacks. It has a decent response time and includes an optional Black Frame Insertion feature to help further reduce motion blur. While it doesn't have extra gaming features like VRR support, it's still a very good option for gaming, thanks to its incredibly low input lag.

    Unfortunately, like other VA panels, it has poor viewing angles, so it's not the best option for wide seating arrangements since the image degrades when viewed at an angle. It also has lackluster HDR performance since its color gamut is somewhat limited and doesn't get nearly bright enough to deliver a satisfying HDR experience. Despite these issues, this is still the best 85-inch TV we've tested in the budget category.

    See our review

Notable Mentions

  • Samsung QN85Q90TAFXZA: The Samsung Q90/Q90T QLED is a more premium version of the Q80T, but not worth the price difference. See our review
  • LG 86NANO90UNA: The LG NANO90 is a good 86 inch TV that has wide viewing angles if that's what you're looking for. See our review
  • Samsung QN85Q60TAFXZA: The Samsung Q60/Q60T QLED is a decent QLED TV, but for its price, it's worth getting the TU8000. See our review
  • LG 82UN8570PUC: The LG UN8500 is a budget-friendly TV, but the 82 inch model has a VA panel, and we only tested a model with an IPS panel. See our review
  • Samsung UN82TU6950FXZA: The Samsung TU6980 is a good budget TV similar to the TU8000, but it may be harder to find. See our review
  • Samsung QN85Q70TAFXZA: The Samsung Q70/Q70T QLED is cheaper than the Q80T, but it has a slower response time than the X900H. See our review
  • Hisense 85H6510G: The Hisense H6510G is a simple budget TV for dark-room viewing, but it has worse peak brightness than the TU8000. See our review

Recent Updates

01/15/2020: Updated text for clarity; no changes to picks.

11/25/2020: Renamed the Vizio P Series Quantum X 2020 as 'Best For HDR'.

10/26/2020: Removed Samsung Q70/Q70T QLED and LG NANO90, added Vizio P Series Quantum X 2020, and Sony X900H.

09/23/2020: Removed the Samsung Q80R, Sony X900H, Samsung RU8000, and Sony X800H; added the Sony X950H, Samsung Q70T, LG NANO90, and Samsung TU8000; moved the Samsung Q80T from best gaming to best overall.

08/13/2020: Replaced Sony X950G with Sony X900H.

All Reviews

Our recommendations above are what we think are currently the best 80 inch TVs to the best 85 inch TVs to buy for most people in each price range. We factor in the price (a cheaper TV wins over a pricier one if the difference isn't really worth it), feedback from our visitors, and availability (no TVs that are difficult to find or almost out of stock everywhere).

If you would like to do the work of choosing yourself, here is the list of all our 80-82-85 inch TV reviews. Be careful not to get too caught up in the details. While no TV is perfect, most TVs are great enough to please almost everyone, and the differences are often not noticeable unless you really look for them.

LOG IN

JOIN RTINGS.com

Be part of the most informed community and take advantage of our advanced tools to find the best product for your needs.
Join our mailing list:
Become an insider
EARLY ACCESS

Gain early access to all tests results for new products

Early Access UI
PRICES LISTED

Prices will now be listed directly in reviews and tables

product prices UI
MORE VOTES

Have 5 votes per product category to choose which product we’ll review next

Additional votes UI
UNLIMITED ACCESS

Gain unlimited access to detailed test results in tools and results (no blurred results)

test table UI

Create Post