Get insider access
Preferred tv store
Updated

The 5 Best 80-82-85 Inch TVs - Summer 2020
Reviews

Best 80-82-85 Inch TVs
266 Televisions Tested
  • Store-bought TVs; no cherry-picked units
  • Easily comparable results
  • No ads; unbiased reviews
  • Supported directly by you via insider access and when you purchase through our affiliate links
Learn more about our approach to product reviews here.

If you have a very large seating area or simply want the largest TV available, there aren't a whole lot of choices. Even though larger TVs are starting to be more popular, you'll find more options in the 70-75-77 inch category.

We've tested more than 15 TVs that are available in 80+ inch sizes. Below are our recommendations for the best large screen TVs (80-82-85 inch) to buy. See also our recommendations for the best TVs, the best gaming TVs, and the best HDR TVs.


  1. Best 80-82-85 Inch TV: Samsung QN82Q80RAFXZA

    8.5
    Mixed Usage
    8.5
    Movies
    8.5
    TV Shows
    8.4
    Sports
    8.6
    Video Games
    8.3
    HDR Movies
    8.5
    HDR Gaming
    8.5
    PC Monitor
    Type LED
    Sub-Type
    VA
    Resolution 4k

    The best 82 inch TV we've tested so far is the Samsung QN82Q80RAFXZA. It's a high-end QLED TV that delivers an outstanding picture quality. It has a great contrast ratio and amazing black uniformity, and there's a local dimming feature to further deepen any blacks, so it's an excellent choice to watch movies in dark rooms.

    VA panels, like on this TV, usually don't have good viewing angles, but Samsung added an 'Ultra Viewing Angle', so you won't lose as much image accuracy as you would normally expect when viewing from the side. It supports HDR10 and HDR10+, it displays a wide color gamut, has good color volume, and has excellent HDR peak brightness, displaying rich, vivid colors in HDR. It can get extremely bright with regular content and has outstanding reflection handling, so it's a great choice to place in really bright rooms.

    Unfortunately, the gray uniformity is only decent and the screen is visibly darker around the edges, which is noticeable during panning shots. On the upside, gamers will love the excellent response time and the support for FreeSync variable refresh rate (VRR) technology. The Samsung Q90/Q90R QLED is a higher-end model of this TV with more local dimming zones, but the two TVs perform similarly. The Q80R is cheaper, making it the best 82 inch TV we've tested so far.

    See our review

  2. Larger Alternative With Better Color Accuracy: Sony XBR85X950G

    Type LED
    Sub-Type
    VA
    Resolution 4k

    If you care about color accuracy but you don't want to pay for an expensive calibration, then check out the Sony XBR85X950G. It's three inches larger than the 82 inch Samsung Q80/Q80R QLED, and it's significantly more color accurate out of the box. It also uses a VA panel with a high native contrast ratio, and it has a full-array local dimming feature as well. The 85 inch variant gains Sony's 'X-Wide Angle' layer, which is very similar to Samsung's approach to improving viewing angles at the cost of a lower contrast ratio. Unfortunately, it doesn't support any variable refresh rate technologies and it has a slightly higher input lag, which is a bit disappointing. On the upside, it has a wider color gamut and it can get brighter to deliver a much better HDR experience.

    For most people, the Samsung is a better choice, especially if you're looking to do some gaming. However, if color accuracy is important to you, then go with the Sony.

    See our review

  3. Best Gaming 80-82-85 Inch TV: Samsung QN85Q80TAFXZC

    8.4
    Mixed Usage
    8.1
    Movies
    8.4
    TV Shows
    8.4
    Sports
    8.8
    Video Games
    7.9
    HDR Movies
    8.5
    HDR Gaming
    8.7
    PC Monitor
    Type LED
    Sub-Type
    VA
    Resolution 4k

    The best 85 inch TV for gaming we've tested so far is the Samsung QN85Q80TAFXZC. This is one of Samsung's high-performance QLED TVs that seems to do everything well. Its VA panel has a high contrast ratio that's enhanced by full-array local dimming, producing deep and inky blacks for a great dark room gaming experience. It performs equally well in bright lighting conditions thanks to its impressive peak brightness and exceptional reflection handling. Viewing angles are decent with the help of Samsung's 'Ultra Viewing Angle' layer, although it comes at the expense of lower contrast.

    When it comes to gaming, this TV has nearly everything to satisfy even the most hardcore gamers. It has an excellent response time that results in very little motion blur, and it has an optional black frame insertion feature. It has a 120Hz refresh rate, an outstandingly low input lag, and it even comes with support for FreeSync and HDMI Forum's VRR to minimize screen tearing in-game. Low-resolution games are upscaled well and for those who are on a PC, it can display proper chroma 4:4:4. If you enjoy gaming in HDR, this TV can deliver a good experience as well, as it has an impressive wide color gamut and it gets bright enough to make highlights pop.

    Unfortunately, gray uniformity is only decent, as the corners look darker and there's a bit of dirty screen effect than can be distracting. However, this can vary per unit, so your experience may vary. Tizen OS is a great platform that runs smoothly and there are tons of streaming services available through the app store. All in all, this TV is worth a look.

    See our review

  4. Best Budget 80-82-85 Inch TV: Samsung UN82RU8000FXZA

    7.4
    Mixed Usage
    7.0
    Movies
    7.4
    TV Shows
    7.5
    Sports
    8.3
    Video Games
    6.8
    HDR Movies
    7.9
    HDR Gaming
    7.8
    PC Monitor
    Type LED
    Sub-Type
    VA
    Resolution 4k

    The best budget 82 inch TV we've tested so far is the Samsung UN82RU8000FXZA. It's a decent TV for most types of content, and it has great gaming performance and features to satisfy most people. Like most Samsung TVs, it uses a VA panel with a high contrast ratio, which is great for dark room viewing. It gets decently bright, but it's not quite enough to overcome glare in very bright settings and its reflection handling is only decent, so it's best to avoid placing it in a sunny room. Unfortunately, it has poor viewing angles, making it less suitable for wide seating arrangements.

    For a budget TV, motion handling is great. The response time is fast, it has a 120Hz refresh rate, and it has an optional black frame insertion feature to further reduce motion blur. It can also interpolate lower frame rate content if you like the soap opera effect, and it can remove judder from all sources. For gaming, it has excellent low input lag and it supports FreeSync variable refresh rate. Although it supports HDR and it can display a wide color gamut, it can't get bright enough to make highlights pop and there's no local dimming, which is rather disappointing.

    This TV has pretty decent color accuracy out of the box, but images tend to be over-brightened. There's very little dirty screen effect on our unit; however, the sides of the screen appear darker. Screen uniformity can vary per unit, though, so your mileage may vary. Samsung's Tizen OS is very easy to use and runs smoothly, and the app store has a large selection of streaming apps available for download. Overall, if you want a large TV without spending a fortune, you should take a look at this one.

    See our review

  5. Wide Viewing Angle Alternative: Sony XBR85X800H

    Type LED
    Sub-Type
    IPS
    Resolution 4k

    If you have a wide seating arrangement that requires you to watch from the sides, then you're better off with a TV that has wider viewing angles, like the Sony XBR85X800H. Unlike the Samsung RU8000, this TV uses an IPS panel with impressive viewing angles, so the image remains accurate no matter where you sit. The downside is that the contrast ratio is much lower, making blacks look more like gray in a dark room. Motion handling is good and input lag is low, but sadly its refresh rate is limited to 60Hz and it doesn't support any variable refresh rate technologies. HDR content looks good, as it can display a wide color gamut and it gets decently bright to bring out highlights. It runs on Android TV, so you get access to both the Google Play Store and the Google Assistant.

    Overall, the Samsung offers better picture quality due to its higher contrast ratio; however, if you need wide viewing angles, the Sony is a better choice.

    See our review

Notable Mentions

  • Samsung QN82Q90RAFXZA: The Q90R is slightly better than the Q80R, but not worth the difference in price. See our review
  • LG 86UM8070PUA: The LG UM8070 is a decent TV, but not as good as the Sony X800H. See our review

Recent Updates

07/14/2020: Minor text and structure changes, replaced LG UM8070 with Sony X800H.

06/05/2020: Replaced Sony X900F with Sony X950G, replaced Samsung Q60R with Samsung Q80T.

05/08/2020: Removed the Samsung NU8000 as budget pick and replaced it with the RU8000.

All Reviews

Our recommendations above are what we think are currently the best 80 inch TVs to the best 85 inch TVs to buy for most people in each price range. We factor in the price (a cheaper TV wins over a pricier one if the difference isn't really worth it), feedback from our visitors, and availability (no TVs that are difficult to find or almost out of stock everywhere).

If you would like to do the work of choosing yourself, here is the list of all our reviews of TVs that have an 80, 82, or 85 inch size. Be careful not to get too caught up in the details. While no TV is perfect, most TVs are great enough to please almost everyone, and the differences are often not noticeable unless you really look for them.

LOG IN

JOIN RTINGS.com

Be part of the most informed community and take advantage of our advanced tools to find the best product for your needs.
Join our mailing list:
Become an insider
EARLY ACCESS

Gain early access to all tests results for new products

Early Access UI
PRICES LISTED

Prices will now be listed directly in reviews and tables

product prices UI
MORE VOTES

Have 5 votes per product category to choose which product we’ll review next

Additional votes UI
UNLIMITED ACCESS

Gain unlimited access to detailed test results in tools and results (no blurred results)

test table UI

Create Discussion