Your browser is not supported or outdated so some features of the site might not be available.
359
TVs store-bought and tested, supported by you via insider access, and when you purchase through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.
Driven by data, run by a passionate team of engineers, testers, technical writers, developers, and more. We are hiring!

The 6 Best 80-82-85 Inch TVs - Summer 2022 Reviews

Updated
Best 80-82-85 Inch TVs

If you have a large room and sit far from the TV or simply want the largest TV available, there are a few large TVs you can choose from, but there aren't as many models available if you would get a smaller TV. Even though larger TVs are starting to be more popular, you'll find more options in the 70-75-77 inch category. It's easier to find the best 85 inch TV rather than the best 80 inch TV or best 82 inch TV since the 85 inch models are the ones that are the most available.

Note: Since new TVs tend to launch at very high prices, it's unlikely that these newer models will become reasonable choices until later in the year. Because of this, some of the 2021 models remain as picks in our recommendations.

We've tested more than 45 TVs available in 80+ inch sizes under the latest test bench. Below are our recommendations for the best large screen TVs to buy. See our picks for the best TVs for PS5, the best gaming TVs, and the best HDR TVs.


  1. Best 80-82-85 Inch OLED TV

    The LG OLED83C1PUA is the best 83 inch OLED TV. It's an excellent overall TV that delivers stunning picture quality, especially in dark rooms because it has a near-infinite contrast ratio as it turns off individual pixels. Also, there isn't any blooming around bright objects in dark scenes. Although we tested the 55 inch version, the results are also valid for the 83 inch model.

    On top of its fantastic dark room performance, the C1 has a few other features that make it an excellent choice for your home theater setup. It has wide viewing angles if you have a wide seating arrangement, so you can enjoy an accurate image no matter where you're sitting. It also has eARC support, so you can connect your compatible receiver and pass Dolby Atmos audio formats to it via HDMI, but it doesn't support DTS:X formats. Lastly, it doesn't have any trouble upscaling lower-resolution content, and it removes 24p judder from any source.

    Unfortunately, you'll feel disappointed with the pure picture quality in movies if you tend to watch a lot of movies. Its HDR peak brightness is just okay, so some highlights don't stand out the way they should, and it also has bad out-of-the-box accuracy. OLEDs also risk permanent burn-in, but we don't expect that to be an issue if you watch varied content. All in all, it's one of the best large TVs we've tested.

    See our review

  2. Best 80-82-85 Inch OLED TV For Movies

    If you tend to watch movies and want an OLED TV, then the best big-screen TV for your needs is the Sony XR-83A90J. Although OLEDs are all known for their fantastic dark room performance, making them an incredible choice for watching movies, this one stands out versus the LG C1 OLED because of its image processing features. We also tested the 55 inch model, and the results apply to the 83 inch variant.

    It gets brighter than the LG, making highlights pop more in HDR, and thanks to its wide color gamut, colors look more vivid. It also has excellent out-of-the-box accuracy, which is what Sony TVs are known for, so you won't need to get it calibrated to enjoy it to the fullest. It has much better gradient handling, so scenes with shades of similar colors, like a sunset, look great with minimal banding. Also, it supports both DTS:X and Dolby Atmos audio formats for passthrough, so you won't have to worry about which audio format your movie is in before playing it.

    While it has all the same gaming features as the LG, like HDMI 2.1 bandwidth and variable refresh rate (VRR) support, its gaming performance isn't as good because it doesn't have FreeSync support and the input lag is higher. Besides that, it's the best OLED TV available in an 83 inch size for watching movies.

    See our review

  3. Best 80-82-85 Inch 4k LED TV

    If you're worried about permanent burn-in associated with OLEDs, then the best 85 inch TV with an LED panel is the Samsung QN85QN90AAFXZA. Besides being immune to permanent burn-in, LED panels offer a few other advantages, like higher peak brightness. Additionally, because this one uses Mini LED backlighting, it gets extremely bright. Combined with its fantastic reflection handling, glare won't be an issue even in the brightest of rooms.

    It's excellent for gaming because it has HDMI 2.1 bandwidth, but because it's only on one port, you can only connect one HDMI 2.1 device unless you use a compatible receiver. Motion looks smooth thanks to its quick response time, and your actions will feel responsive as it has low input lag. It's great for dark room gaming because it has a VA panel with a high contrast ratio, and the full-array local dimming feature is great, but it doesn't perform as well in Game Mode. It also has Samsung's 'Ultra Viewing Angle' that provides wide viewing angles at the cost of the contrast, but the local dimming boosts it.

    Unfortunately, it has some dirty screen effect in the center, which could get distracting during sports. Besides this minor issue, it's one of the best 85 inch TVs we've tested, and we expect our results from the 55 inch unit we tested to apply to the 85 inch version.

    See our review

  4. Cheaper Alternative

    If you want to save money and still get a great TV, consider the Sony KD-X91J. Although it doesn't have as many features as the Samsung QN90A QLED, like Mini LED backlighting, it's still great for most uses. It has a higher native contrast ratio because it doesn't have any viewing angle technology. It also has a decent local dimming feature that helps it achieve remarkable black uniformity. Like most Sony TVs, it has excellent out-of-the-box accuracy, so you won't need to calibrate it, and it displays a wide color gamut. It also has decent reflection handling and great peak brightness in SDR, but in HDR, it doesn't get bright enough to make really small highlights pop.

    If you're looking for the best 85 inch LED TV, the Samsung is an excellent choice, but if you're willing to compromise on features for something cheaper, check out the Sony. Unlike most other TVs in this recommendation, the Sony is only available in an 85 inch size.

    See our review

  5. Best 80-82-85 Inch 8k TV

    If you want a large TV with an 8k resolution, the Samsung QN85QN900AFXZA is the best 85 inch 8k TV. The higher resolution allows you to view sharper images, and it also makes it future-proof with 8k content starting to roll out, but there's not much 8k content currently available. We tested the 65 inch version, and the results are also valid for the 85 inch model.

    It's the flagship TV in Samsung's 2021 Neo QLED lineup, meaning it uses Mini LED backlighting combined with its quantum dot layer technology to produce great picture quality for most uses. It uses Samsung's 'Ultra Viewing Angle' technology to help produce wide viewing angles, making it a great choice for a large seating area, but that comes at the cost of a lower native contrast ratio. However, the full-array local dimming feature helps improve the contrast for deeper blacks. It also performs well in bright rooms because it has amazing peak brightness and excellent reflection handling.

    Sadly, the Mini LED local dimming feature isn't nearly as good as the Samsung QN90A QLED because there's blooming around bright objects, and the black uniformity isn't anything special. Also, despite being an 8k TV, it doesn't perfectly display native 8k content as there's some dithering, but it's hard to notice. If that isn't an issue for you, it's one of the best large TVs.

    See our review

  6. Best Budget 80-82-85 Inch TV

    The best 85 inch budget TV is the Sony KD-85X85J. It's a mid-range TV with many of the same features as the higher-end Sony X91J, so it offers good value while not costing too much. It's well-built and comes with an easy-to-use Google TV interface, so you're sure to find your favorite streaming apps. We tested the 55 inch version, and we expect the 85 inch model to perform the same.

    Despite being a mid-range TV, it's good for gaming as it has a few high-end features like HDMI 2.1 bandwidth and a 120Hz panel. It even has variable fresh rate support after a firmware update in the form of HDMI Forum VRR support and G-SYNC compatibility, but it doesn't support FreeSync. It also has low enough input lag for a responsive feel, and it has a quick response time for smooth motion handling. The backlight is entirely flicker-free, which helps reduce eye strain, and it has an optional backlight strobing feature, but it creates a bit of image duplication.

    Unfortunately, it doesn't have a local dimming feature, so it can't improve the picture quality in dark scenes. Luckily, the native contrast is high enough that it already displays deep blacks. Even in well-lit rooms, it has impressive peak brightness and decent reflection handling. Overall, it's a good 85 inch TV that won't break the bank.

    See our review

Notable Mentions

  • LG OLED83C2PUA: The LG C2 is a newer version of the LG C1 that gets brighter, but considering the C1 costs less, it's worth getting while it's still available. See our review
  • Samsung QN85QN800AFXZA: The Samsung QN800A is a lower-end version of the Samsung QN900A, so it has worse local dimming, but if that doesn't bother you, it costs less for similar overall performance. See our review
  • Sony XR-85X95J: The Sony X95J is a great TV with a local dimming feature and great picture quality, but it doesn't have Mini LED backlighting like the Samsung QN90A, and the native contrast is worse. See our review
  • LG 86QNED90UPA: The LG QNED90 is a very good 86 inch TV with wide viewing angles if that's what you're looking for. However, it has lower contrast than the Samsung QN90A or Sony X91J. See our review
  • Samsung QN85Q70AAFXZA: The Samsung Q70/Q70A QLED is a decent QLED TV comparable to the Sony X85J as it also has a 120Hz panel and HDMI 2.1 bandwidth, but the differences between them are minimal, so it's better to get the cheaper X85J. See our review
  • LG 82UP8770PUA: The LG UP8000 is a decent budget TV available in 82 and 86 inches, but with an IPS panel, it has worse dark room performance than the Sony X85J. See our review
  • TCL 85R745: The TCL R745 QLED is only available in an 85 inch size, but it costs more than the Sony X91J and has worse local dimming. It's also limited to HDMI 2.0 bandwidth instead of HDMI 2.1 like on the Sony TV. See our review
  • LG 86QNED99UPA: The LG QNED99 8k is another 8k TV with Mini LED backlighting, and it costs less than the Samsung QN900A, but it has an IPS panel with a worse contrast. See our review
  • LG C2 OLED: The LG C2 OLED is a slight improvement over its predecessor, the LG C1 OLED, but it's currently significantly more expensive. If you can find the C2 for less than the C1, get the new model. See our review
  • Samsung QN90B QLED: The Samsung QN90B QLED is a bit brighter than the Samsung QN90A QLED in some scenes, but the QN90A is slightly better overall. The QN90B isn't worth spending more on over the QN90A. See our review

Recent Updates

  1. Apr 28, 2022: Moved the Sony A90J OLED to its own category as 'Best OLED For Movies' for consistency and replaced the Samsung AU8000 with the Sony X85J because the Sony is better overall; updated Notable Mentions based on changes.

  2. Mar 02, 2022: Updated text for clarity and added the TCL 4 Series/S446 to Notable Mentions.

  3. Jan 31, 2022: Updated text for clarity and verified picks for availability.

  4. Jan 07, 2022: Added the Samsung QN900A 8k QLED in a new 8k category to reflect user needs; added the Samsung QN800A 8k QLED and the LG QNED99 8k to Notable Mentions.

  5. Nov 25, 2021: Replaced the TCL R745 QLED with the Sony X91J because it's cheaper and better; replace the Sony X85J with the Samsung AU8000 in the budget category because it's cheaper; added the LG UP8000 to Notable Mentions.

All Reviews

Our recommendations above are what we think are currently the best 80-82-85 inch TVs to buy for most people in each price range. We factor in the price (a cheaper TV wins over a pricier one if the difference isn't really worth it), feedback from our visitors, and availability (no TVs that are difficult to find or almost out of stock everywhere).

If you would like to do the work of choosing yourself, here is the list of all our 80-82-85 inch TV reviews. Be careful not to get too caught up in the details. While no TV is perfect, most TVs are great enough to please almost everyone, and the differences are often not noticeable unless you really look for them.

Discussions