Black Friday deal: The Samsung RU8000 55” has dropped by $250 on Amazon.com. See all Black Friday deals on TVs.
Updated

The 5 Best 80-82-85 Inch TVs - Fall 2019
Reviews

Best 80-82-85 Inch TVs
242 Televisions Tested
  • Store-bought TVs; no cherry-picked units
  • Easily comparable results
  • No ads; unbiased reviews
  • Supported directly by you via insider access and when you purchase through our affiliate links
Learn more about our approach to product reviews here.

If you have a very large seating area or simply want the largest TV available, there aren't a whole lot of choices. Even though larger TVs are starting to be more popular, you'll find more options in the 70-75-77 inch category.

We've tested more than 70 TVs in the last two years, but only a few are available in these sizes. Below are our recommendations for the best large screen TVs (80-82-85 inch) to buy in 2019. See also our recommendations for the best TVs.


  1. Best 80-82-85 Inch TV: Samsung QN82Q80R

    Usage Ratings - Version 1.3
    8.7
    Mixed Usage
    8.6
    Movies
    8.6
    TV Shows
    8.5
    Sports
    9.2
    Video Games
    8.5
    HDR Movies
    8.9
    HDR Gaming
    8.9
    PC Monitor
    Type : LED
    Sub-Type
    :
    VA
    Resolution : 4k

    The Samsung QN82Q80R is the best 82 inch TV and is excellent for almost any use. It has great dark room performance thanks to its deep blacks, outstanding peak brightness, a great local dimming feature, and decent viewing angles. It can display a wide color gamut and has very good gradient handling.

    This is also an impressive TV for gaming. It has an extremely fast response time and it supports AMD's FreeSync variable refresh rate technology for a nearly tear-free gaming experience. It also has impressive low input lag, and it natively supports 1080p and 1440p @ 120Hz signals. This TV also looks great playing the latest games in HDR.

    Unfortunately, our unit has some vignetting, but this isn't too noticeable under normal circumstances. Overall, this is an excellent TV that should please most people.

    See our review

  2. Cheaper Alternative With Better Color Accuracy: Sony XBR85X900F

    Type : LED
    Sub-Type
    :
    VA
    Resolution : 4k

    If you want a cheaper alternative with better out-of-the-box color accuracy than the Samsung Q80/Q80R QLED, then get the Sony XBR85X900F, one of the best 85 inch TVs. It doesn't have the Samsung's wide viewing angles and is more suitable for sitting straight in front. Overall, however, it's significantly cheaper and still delivers an impressive performance in any use. It has a great picture quality with deep blacks in a dark room thanks to its high native contrast ratio and local dimming support. It has excellent out of the box color accuracy, which is great since it'll save you the trouble of calibrating if color accuracy is important to you.

    Overall, if you're looking for the best picture quality along with great gaming features, the Samsung is the better option. If, however, you want to spend less and want the best color accuracy at the expense of a few compromises on viewing angles, get the Sony.

    See our review

  3. Best Budget 80-82-85 Inch TV: Samsung UN82NU8000

    Usage Ratings - Version 1.3
    8.1
    Mixed Usage
    7.6
    Movies
    7.9
    TV Shows
    7.9
    Sports
    8.7
    Video Games
    7.7
    HDR Movies
    8.4
    HDR Gaming
    8.4
    PC Monitor
    Type : LED
    Sub-Type
    :
    VA
    Resolution : 4k

    If you want an LED TV in the 80-85 category that costs a lot less than the Samsung Q80/Q80R QLED, then get the Samsung UN82NU8000, the best 82 inch TV in the budget category. It's last year's model, so it's slowly becoming hard to find. Although it's a large 82 inch TV, it's still slightly smaller than the 85 inch Sony X900F. That said, this TV has impressive overall performance with good picture quality and deep blacks in a dark room thanks to the high native contrast ratio and local dimming support. Motion handling is great, and the fast response time leaves just a very small blur trail behind fast-moving content. This is an excellent TV for gaming, as it offers nice gaming features like FreeSync support and low input lag with motion interpolation.

    Unfortunately, like most VA panel TVs, the image degrades at an angle, so this isn't the best TV to watch the big game with a group of friends.

    Overall, however, it'll keep most of its owners happy and rightfully is the best budget 82 inch TV.

    See our review

  4. Cheaper Alternative: Samsung UN82RU8000

    Type : LED
    Sub-Type
    :
    VA
    Resolution : 4k

    If you find that the Samsung NU8000 is still expensive, then check out the Samsung UN82RU8000. It's the other Samsung's successor but performs slightly worse. This TV lacks a local dimming feature to enhance dark room performance and can't get as bright. On the upside, it's a good TV for most uses and it outperforms its predecessor when it comes to gaming. It has a lower input lag and supports 1440p resolution that will excite Xbox One gamers. It supports all the Samsung gaming goodies like FreeSync and low input lag with motion interpolation. 

    If gaming is your primary concern, then save some cash and get the RU8000; otherwise, the NU8000 is a better choice overall.

    See our review

  5. Larger, Wide Viewing Angle Alternative: LG 86UM8070

    Type : LED
    Sub-Type
    :
    VA (except 86")
    Resolution : 4k

    If you find that the Samsung NU8000's viewing angles aren't adequate for your needs and you don't mind a slightly larger TV, then get the LG 86UM8070, one of the best 86 inch TVs. It has an IPS panel and can't deliver the great dark room performance of the Samsung. Nonetheless, it's a good TV with decent picture quality, which is more suitable for a dim room. Thanks to its IPS panel, the image remains accurate for wide viewing angles. Note that the 82 inch variant has a VA panel and delivers a better dark room performance at the expense of worse viewing angles.

    If you're on a budget and want the best big-screen TV, get the Samsung. Otherwise, the LG is a great alternative with wider viewing angles and a larger screen size, but also a slightly higher price and worse dark room performance.

    See our review

Notable Mentions

  • Samsung QN82Q900: The first 8k TV we've tested. Excellent TV, but still very expensive. See our review
  • Samsung QN82Q90R: Great TV; slightly better than the Q80R, but not worth the difference in price. See our review
  • Sony XBR85X950G: Great TV with wide viewing angles at 85", but much more expensive than the X900F. See our review
  • Samsung QN85Q70R: Great TV. Get this over the X900F if gaming is more important. See our review
  • Samsung QN82Q8FN: Very good TV, but not worth the price difference over the XBR85X900F. See our review
  • Samsung QN82Q60R: Great TV, but the Samsung UN82NU8000 is better and cheaper, while you can still find it. See our review

All Reviews

Our recommendations above are what we think are currently the best 80 inch TVs to the best 85 inch TVs to buy for most people in each price range. We factor in the price (a cheaper TV wins over a pricier one if the difference isn't really worth it), feedback from our visitors, and availability (no TVs that are difficult to find or almost out of stock everywhere).

If you would like to do the work of choosing yourself, here is the list of all our reviews of TVs that have an 80, 82, or 85 inch size. Be careful not to get too caught up in the details. While no TV is perfect, most TVs are great enough to please almost everyone, and the differences are often not noticeable unless you really look for them.

Recent Updates

11/14/2019: No changes in picks; confirmed text for clarity and accuracy.

10/16/2019: Confirmed picks, changed text for clarity.

LOG IN

JOIN RTINGS.com

Be part of the most informed community and take advantage of our advanced tools to find the best product for your needs.
Join our mailing list:
Become an insider

Unlimited access to full product reviews, test measurements and scores

test table UI

Product prices across the site on reviews, tables and tools

product prices UI

Additional votes for our
next reviews

Additional votes UI

Early Access
to our reviews and test measurements

Early Access UI

Create Discussion