Updated

The 5 Best 80-82-85 Inch TVs - Winter 2020
Reviews

Best 80-82-85 Inch TVs
245 Televisions Tested
  • Store-bought TVs; no cherry-picked units
  • Easily comparable results
  • No ads; unbiased reviews
  • Supported directly by you via insider access and when you purchase through our affiliate links
Learn more about our approach to product reviews here.

If you have a very large seating area or simply want the largest TV available, there aren't a whole lot of choices. Even though larger TVs are starting to be more popular, you'll find more options in the 70-75-77 inch category.

We've tested more than 70 TVs in the last two years, but only a few are available in these sizes. Below are our recommendations for the best large screen TVs (80-82-85 inch) to buy in 2020. See also our recommendations for the best TVs.


  1. Best 80-82-85 Inch TV: Samsung QN82Q80R

    Usage Ratings - Version 1.3
    8.7
    Mixed Usage
    8.6
    Movies
    8.6
    TV Shows
    8.5
    Sports
    9.2
    Video Games
    8.5
    HDR Movies
    8.9
    HDR Gaming
    8.9
    PC Monitor
    Type LED
    Sub-Type
    VA
    Resolution 4k

    The best 82 inch TV that we've tested to date is the Samsung Q80/QN82Q80R QLED. This giant TV has a very premium look, with thin metal bezels and overall excellent build quality. This TV is great for any use and has an easy-to-use and fluid smart interface.

    This TV has deep blacks thanks to its high contrast ratio and great local dimming feature. It can get very bright, which is great if you watch in a well-lit environment, and it also helps HDR content pop the way it's intended. Gamers will love the very low input lag, convenient Auto Low Latency Mode, and FreeSync support for nearly tear-free gaming. It's a great TV for watching sports as well, as it does an excellent job handling motion, and even has decent viewing angles for a TV with a VA panel.

    Unfortunately, our unit did have some gray uniformity issues that resulted in noticeable vignetting in the corners of the screen, though this may not be noticeable during average use. Overall, this is an excellent TV with a huge screen that'll help you create a cinema-like experience in your own home.

    See our review

  2. Cheaper, Larger Alternative With Better Color Accuracy: Sony XBR85X900F

    Type LED
    Sub-Type
    VA
    Resolution 4k

    If you find the Samsung Q80/Q80R QLED too expensive, or want something even larger, go with the Sony XBR85X900F. Its viewing angles and local dimming feature aren't nearly as good as the Samsung, but its colors are much more accurate out of the box, it's larger, and it's available for quite a bit cheaper. This was one of our favorite TVs of 2018, and Sony has kept it available as a great quality, lower-cost option. It has deep blacks, bright HDR highlights, and does an excellent job with motion handling. While it doesn't have extra gaming features like the Samsung, it still has very low input lag and a fast response time that should please even more competitive gamers.

    Overall, if you want the absolute best TV over 80 inches, get the Samsung, but if color accuracy is important to you, or you want something even larger without spending as much money, go for the Sony.

    See our review

  3. Best Budget 80-82-85 Inch TV: Samsung UN82NU8000

    Usage Ratings - Version 1.3
    8.1
    Mixed Usage
    7.6
    Movies
    7.9
    TV Shows
    7.9
    Sports
    8.7
    Video Games
    7.7
    HDR Movies
    8.4
    HDR Gaming
    8.4
    PC Monitor
    Type LED
    Sub-Type
    VA
    Resolution 4k

    The best budget TV in the 80-85 inch category is the Samsung UN82NU8000. It's a 2018 model and is becoming harder to find as it's slowly being replaced by the Samsung RU8000, which lacks a local dimming feature. The NU8000 is less expensive than the Samsung Q80/Q80R QLED and isn't as large as the 85 inch Sony X900F. However, it delivers a great overall performance with deep blacks in a dark room. The picture quality is good and will please most people, as it has a wide color gamut and can get fairly bright to fight glare in most rooms.

    Unfortunately, the VA panel can't deliver wide viewing angles and the image degrades when viewed from the side. Also, it's an edge-lit TV; this results in vertical blooming which is visible in a completely dark room. On the upside, fast-moving content looks crisp thanks to the fast response time and the input lag is very low to please gamers, who'll also appreciate the support for Samsung's advanced gaming features, like FreeSync.

    Overall, this is a well-rounded and versatile TV that can handle all uses well and has a more premium look than its replacement, the RU8000. That said, if you want to get as big a TV as possible without hurting your wallet too much, this one is a great choice.

    See our review

  4. Cheaper Alternative: Samsung UN82RU8000

    Type LED
    Sub-Type
    VA
    Resolution 4k

    If you want a huge screen but want something even cheaper, check out the Samsung UN82RU8000. This is the 2019 version of the Samsung NU8000, but performs worse, especially for movies and HDR content. This TV lacks a local dimming feature to enhance dark room performance and can't get as bright. On the upside, it outperforms its predecessor when it comes to gaming, as it has a lower input lag and supports 1440p resolution that'll excite Xbox One gamers. It supports all the Samsung gaming goodies like FreeSync and low input lag with motion interpolation.

    If you want the best 80"+ TV within a budget price point, get the NU8000, but if you use your TV primarily for gaming, or don't mind a slight reduction in performance to save even more money, go for the RU8000.

    See our review

  5. Larger, Wide Viewing Angle Alternative: LG 86UM8070

    Type LED
    Sub-Type
    VA (except 86")
    Resolution 4k

    If you find that the Samsung NU8000's viewing angles aren't adequate for your needs or you want a slightly larger TV, then get the LG 86UM8070, one of the best 86 inch TVs. It has an IPS panel and can't deliver the Samsung's great dark room performance. Nonetheless, it's a good TV with decent picture quality, which is more suitable for a dim room. Thanks to its IPS panel, the image remains accurate for wide viewing angles. Note that the 82 inch variant has a VA panel and delivers a better dark room performance at the expense of worse viewing angles.

    If you're on a budget and want the best big screen TV, get the Samsung. Otherwise, the LG is a great alternative with wider viewing angles and a larger screen size, but also a slightly higher price and worse dark room performance.

    See our review

Notable Mentions

  • Samsung QN82Q900: The Q900 is the first 8k TV we've tested. Excellent TV, but still very expensive. See our review
  • Samsung QN82Q90R: The Q90 is a great TV; slightly better than the Q80R, but not worth the difference in price. See our review
  • Sony XBR85X950G: The Sony X950G is a great TV with wide viewing angles at 85", but much more expensive than the X900F. See our review
  • Samsung QN85Q70R: The Q70 is an impressive TV. Get this over the X900F if gaming is more important. See our review
  • Samsung QN82Q60R: The Q60 is a great TV, but the Samsung UN82NU8000 is better and cheaper, while you can still find it. See our review

All Reviews

Our recommendations above are what we think are currently the best 80 inch TVs to the best 85 inch TVs to buy for most people in each price range. We factor in the price (a cheaper TV wins over a pricier one if the difference isn't really worth it), feedback from our visitors, and availability (no TVs that are difficult to find or almost out of stock everywhere).

If you would like to do the work of choosing yourself, here is the list of all our reviews of TVs that have an 80, 82, or 85 inch size. Be careful not to get too caught up in the details. While no TV is perfect, most TVs are great enough to please almost everyone, and the differences are often not noticeable unless you really look for them.

Recent Updates

01/16/2020: Minor text and structure changes, no change in recommendations.

12/12/2019: Same picks; small changes in text for clarity and accuracy.

11/14/2019: No changes in picks; confirmed text for clarity and accuracy.

LOG IN

JOIN RTINGS.com

Be part of the most informed community and take advantage of our advanced tools to find the best product for your needs.
Join our mailing list:
Become an insider

Unlimited access to full product reviews, test measurements and scores

test table UI

Product prices across the site on reviews, tables and tools

product prices UI

Additional votes for our
next reviews

Additional votes UI

Early Access
to our reviews and test measurements

Early Access UI

Create Discussion