The 5 Best 80-82-85 Inch TVs - Spring 2021 Reviews

Updated
Best 80-82-85 Inch TVs
302 Televisions Tested
  • Store-bought TVs; no cherry-picked units
  • Easily comparable results
  • No ads; unbiased reviews
  • Supported directly by you via insider access and when you purchase through our affiliate links
Learn more about our approach to product reviews here.

If you have a very large seating area or simply want the largest TV available, there aren't a whole lot of choices. Even though larger TVs are starting to be more popular, you'll find more options in the 70-75-77 inch category. It may be easier to find the best 85 inch TV rather than the best 80 inch TV or best 82 inch TV since the 85 inch models are starting to become more popular.

We've tested more than 20 TVs that are available in 80+ inch sizes in the past two years. Below are our recommendations for the best large screen TVs (80-82-85 inch) to buy. See also our recommendations for the best TVs for PS5, the best gaming TVs, and the best HDR TVs.


  1. Best 80-82-85 Inch TV For HDR: Vizio P85QX-H1

    8.3
    Mixed Usage
    8.5
    Movies
    8.0
    TV Shows
    7.9
    Sports
    8.7
    Video Games
    8.6
    HDR Movies
    8.6
    HDR Gaming
    8.0
    PC Monitor
    Type LED
    Sub-Type
    VA
    Resolution 4k

    The Vizio P85QX-H1 is the best 85 inch TV for watching HDR content that we've tested. A flagship model from Vizio's 2020 lineup, it delivers great overall performance that should please most people. It supports both HDR10+ and Dolby Vision for HDR content, meaning you can easily watch your favorite HDR content no matter which format it's in.

    It's excellent for watching HDR movies because it has a VA panel with a fantastic contrast ratio, and its full-array local dimming feature does a great job at improving the contrast. It's one of the brightest TVs we've tested, especially in HDR, so highlights really pop the way the creator intended. In addition to supporting the common HDR formats, it displays a wide color gamut with outstanding coverage of the commonly-used DCI P3 color space, and it also has excellent gradient handling. If you want to use it in a well-lit room, it has amazing reflection handling.

    Unfortunately, it has narrow viewing angles, which is somewhat expected for a TV with a VA panel. It also has mediocre out-of-the-box accuracy, so you may need to get it calibrated to enjoy it to the fullest, but this can also vary between units. The built-in Vizio SmartCast system isn't very user-friendly and you can't download any extra apps on it, but you can cast anything you want from your phone. Regardless of these small issues, most people should be pleased with this TV.

    See our review

  2. Alternative For Better Color Accuracy: Sony XBR85X950H

    Type LED
    Sub-Type
    VA
    Resolution 4k

    If color accuracy is important to you and you don't want to get your TV calibrated, then check out the Sony XBR85X950H. It has a worse native contrast ratio than the Vizio P Series Quantum X 2020 because of its 'X-Wide Angle' technology that aims to improve the viewing angles a bit, but it still delivers a great HDR experience. It has a good local dimming feature that further deepens any blacks, it has excellent HDR peak brightness, and it also displays a wide color gamut. It supports Dolby Vision, but not HDR10+; the built-in Android TV has a ton of apps you can download to watch your favorite HDR content, but it may not be the easiest to use at times.

    If you want the best big-screen TV for watching HDR content, you should be happy with the Vizio. However, if you want something with better color accuracy, Sony TVs like this one are known for their color accuracy, and it's a good alternative.

    See our review

  3. Best Gaming 80-82-85 Inch TV: Samsung QN85Q80TAFXZA

    8.3
    Mixed Usage
    8.1
    Movies
    8.4
    TV Shows
    8.4
    Sports
    8.5
    Video Games
    7.9
    HDR Movies
    8.3
    HDR Gaming
    8.8
    PC Monitor
    Type LED
    Sub-Type
    VA
    Resolution 4k

    The best 85 inch TV for gaming that we've tested is the Samsung QN85Q80TAFXZA. It's an impressive higher-end TV from Samsung's 2020 lineup and it's packed with gaming features, like variable refresh rate (VRR) support. It's a good choice for the next-gen consoles because it supports both the PS5 and Xbox Series up to 4k @ 120Hz, but it can't do 4k @ 120Hz in HDR with the PS5, which is a common problem with Samsung TVs.

    It has an extremely low input lag and an excellent response time that results in very smooth motion. There's also a Black Frame Insertion feature if you want to reduce motion blur even more. It performs equally as well in bright rooms as it does in dark rooms. Its VA panel has a great native contrast ratio that displays deep blacks and it has a full-array local dimming feature, which performs better outside of 'Game Mode' than it does with it enabled.

    Sadly, even though it displays a wide color gamut for HDR content, its HDR peak brightness in 'Game Mode' is just okay, and some highlights may not stand out how they should. However, it has good SDR peak brightness and outstanding reflection handling if you want to use it in a well-lit room. It also has fairly wide viewing angles thanks to Samsung's 'Ultra Viewing Angle' technology. All in all, this is one of the best TVs in this size range that you can get for gaming.

    See our review

  4. Cheaper Alternative: Sony XBR85X900H

    Type LED
    Sub-Type
    VA
    Resolution 4k

    If you want something a bit cheaper, then look into the Sony XBR85X900H. It doesn't have VRR support like the Samsung Q80/Q80T QLED, but it gets brighter and has a better local dimming feature in 'Game' mode, so it has better picture quality in HDR games. It has two HDMI 2.1 inputs, allowing it to support 4k @ 120Hz content with both the PS5 and Xbox Series X. The response time is great and it has a very low input lag for gaming. If you tend to game in a dark environment, it has an excellent native contrast ratio and excellent black uniformity, displaying deep blacks. Sadly, it doesn't have viewing angle technology like the Samsung, so it has narrow viewing angles and you lose image accuracy when viewing from the side.

    If you want the best 85 inch TV for gaming with VRR support, then go for the Samsung, but if you want to save a bit of money and prefer something with better HDR performance, consider the Sony.

    See our review

  5. Best Budget 80-82-85 Inch TV: Samsung UN85TU8000FXZA

    7.0
    Mixed Usage
    7.0
    Movies
    7.2
    TV Shows
    7.0
    Sports
    7.2
    Video Games
    6.6
    HDR Movies
    7.1
    HDR Gaming
    7.6
    PC Monitor
    Type LED
    Sub-Type
    VA
    Resolution 4k

    The best large screen TV we've tested in the budget category is the Samsung UN85TU8000FXZA. It's a decent entry-level 4k TV that delivers satisfactory performance without breaking the bank. It can remove 24p judder from most sources and does a good job of upscaling lower-resolution content, like content from a cable box or DVD. Overall, the TV feels fairly well-built, and Samsung's Tizen OS is smooth and easy-to-use.

    It uses a VA panel with a fantastic contrast ratio and exceptional black uniformity, so it's great for watching movies in a dark room. However, it doesn't have a local dimming feature to further deepen blacks. It has a decent response time and includes an optional Black Frame Insertion feature to help further reduce motion blur. While it doesn't have extra gaming features like VRR support, it's still a very good option for gaming, thanks to its incredibly low input lag, and it supports the next-gen consoles with 4k @ 60Hz games.

    Unfortunately, like other VA panels, it has poor viewing angles, so it's not the best option for wide seating arrangements since the image degrades when viewed at an angle. It also has lackluster HDR performance since its color gamut is somewhat limited and doesn't get nearly bright enough to deliver a satisfying HDR experience. Despite these issues, this is still the best 85 inch TV we've tested in the budget category.

    See our review

Notable Mentions

  • Samsung QN85QN90AAFXZA: The QN90A is an excellent TV available in this size, but it's costly and you can get the Q80T for cheaper while it's still available. See our review
  • LG 86NANO90UNA: The LG NANO90 is a good 86 inch TV that has wide viewing angles if that's what you're looking for. See our review
  • Samsung QN85Q60TAFXZA: The Samsung Q60/Q60T QLED is a decent QLED TV, but for its price, it's worth getting the TU8000. See our review
  • LG 82UN8570PUC: The LG UN8500 is a budget-friendly TV, but the 82 inch model has a VA panel, and we only tested a model with an IPS panel. See our review
  • Samsung UN82TU6950FXZA: The Samsung TU6980 is a good budget TV similar to the TU8000, but it may be harder to find. See our review
  • Samsung QN85Q70TAFXZA: The Samsung Q70/Q70T QLED is cheaper than the Q80T, but it has a slower response time than the X900H. See our review
  • Hisense 85H6510G: The Hisense H6510G is a simple budget TV for dark-room viewing, but it has worse peak brightness than the TU8000. See our review

Recent Updates

  1. Apr 01, 2021: Replaced the Samsung Q90T with the Samsung QN90A in Notable Mentions; updated text for clarity.

  2. Mar 02, 2021: Updated text for accuracy; verified availability of picks.

  3. Feb 12, 2021: Verified availability of picks, updated text for accuracy.

  4. Nov 25, 2020: Renamed the Vizio P Series Quantum X 2020 as 'Best For HDR'.

  5. Oct 26, 2020: Removed Samsung Q70/Q70T QLED and LG NANO90, added Vizio P Series Quantum X 2020, and Sony X900H.

  6. Sep 23, 2020: Removed the Samsung Q80R, Sony X900H, Samsung RU8000, and Sony X800H; added the Sony X950H, Samsung Q70T, LG NANO90, and Samsung TU8000; moved the Samsung Q80T from best gaming to best overall.

  7. Aug 13, 2020: Replaced Sony X950G with Sony X900H.

All Reviews

Our recommendations above are what we think are currently the best 80 inch TVs to the best 85 inch TVs to buy for most people in each price range. We factor in the price (a cheaper TV wins over a pricier one if the difference isn't really worth it), feedback from our visitors, and availability (no TVs that are difficult to find or almost out of stock everywhere).

If you would like to do the work of choosing yourself, here is the list of all our 80-82-85 inch TV reviews. Be careful not to get too caught up in the details. While no TV is perfect, most TVs are great enough to please almost everyone, and the differences are often not noticeable unless you really look for them.

LOG IN

JOIN RTINGS.com

Be part of the most informed community and take advantage of our advanced tools to find the best product for your needs.
Join our mailing list:
Become an insider
EARLY ACCESS

Gain early access to all tests results for new products

Early Access UI
PRICES LISTED

Prices will now be listed directly in reviews and tables

product prices UI
MORE VOTES

Have 5 votes per product category to choose which product we’ll review next

Additional votes UI
UNLIMITED ACCESS

Gain unlimited access to detailed test results in tools and results (no blurred results)

test table UI

Create Post