Your browser is not supported or outdated so some features of the site might not be available.

The 6 Best 80-82-85 Inch TVs - Winter 2022 Reviews

Updated
Best 80-82-85 Inch TVs
343 Televisions Tested
  • Store-bought TVs; no cherry-picked units
  • Easily comparable results
  • No ads; unbiased reviews
  • Supported directly by you via insider access and when you purchase through our affiliate links
Learn more about our approach to product reviews here.

If you have a very large seating area or simply want the largest TV available, there aren't a whole lot of choices. Even though larger TVs are starting to be more popular, you'll find more options in the 70-75-77 inch category. It may be easier to find the best 85 inch TV rather than the best 80 inch TV or best 82 inch TV since the 85 inch models are the ones that are the most available.

We've tested more than 40 TVs available in 80+ inch sizes under the latest test bench. Below are our recommendations for the best large screen TVs (80-82-85 inch) to buy. See our picks for the best TVs for PS5, the best gaming TVs, and the best HDR TVs.


  1. Best 80-82-85 Inch OLED TV: LG OLED83C1PUA

    8.8
    Mixed Usage
    9.3
    Movies
    8.2
    TV Shows
    8.7
    Sports
    9.2
    Video Games
    8.6
    HDR Movies
    9.0
    HDR Gaming
    8.9
    PC Monitor
    Type OLED
    Sub-Type
    WRGB
    Resolution 4k

    The best OLED in this size range is the LG OLED83C1PUA. It's one of the first OLED TVs in this unique 83 inch size, and we expect it to perform the same as the 55 inch model we tested. The main advantage of OLEDs over the LED competition is how they can turn off individual pixels. It results in a near-infinite contrast ratio with inky blacks and no blooming around bright objects.

    If you're looking for an impressive gaming experience, it has HDMI 2.1 bandwidth on four inputs and variable refresh rate (VRR) support, a near-instantaneous response time, and low input lag for responsive gaming. Fans of HDR content should appreciate its wide color gamut, and thanks to the deep blacks, it delivers an impressive HDR experience, but it's not quite bright enough for some small highlights to stand out. Since each pixel emits light in all directions, it also has wide viewing angles, so the image remains accurate when viewing from the side.

    Sadly, our unit has poor out-of-the-box accuracy. It can vary between units, so you may not need to get it calibrated to enjoy it to the fullest. OLEDs risk permanent burn-in, which could be problematic with constant exposure to static displays, but we don't expect it to be a problem for those who watch varied content. Overall, this is the best big-screen TV with an OLED panel.

    See our review

  2. Alternative For Movie Lovers: Sony XR-83A90J

    Type OLED
    Sub-Type
    WRGB
    Resolution 4k

    If you tend to watch a lot of movies and don't game often, then check out the Sony A90J OLED. It doesn't have VRR support like the LG C1 OLED, and it has higher input lag, so it's not as ideal for gaming, but it provides a better pure movie-watching experience. Although all OLEDs provide the same near-infinite contrast ratio, what makes this TV stand out is that it gets brighter than the C1, so highlights pop more in HDR. Also, it uses a different processor that results in better gradient handling, and some people tend to prefer the upscaling on Sony TVs. Also, Sony is known for its exceptional out-of-the-box accuracy, and this one is no exception, as you get accurate colors out-of-the-box, but this can vary between units.

    If you want the best big-screen TV with an OLED panel, the LG is a fantastic choice, but if you prefer something with better performance only for watching movies, check out the Sony. Remember that we tested the 55 inch model of the Sony, and our results are also valid for the 83 inch version.

    See our review

  3. Best 80-82-85 Inch LED TV: Samsung QN85QN90AAFXZA

    8.6
    Mixed Usage
    8.5
    Movies
    8.6
    TV Shows
    8.5
    Sports
    8.8
    Video Games
    8.5
    HDR Movies
    8.8
    HDR Gaming
    8.8
    PC Monitor
    Type LED
    Sub-Type
    VA
    Resolution 4k

    The best 85 inch TV in the LED category is the Samsung QN85QN90AAFXZA. It's a high-end model packed with features and performs well in dark and bright environments. We tested the 55 inch model, but the 85 inch version should perform the same. Unlike OLEDs, LED TVs don't suffer from the risk of permanent burn-in, so you won't have to worry about potentially damaging your screen.

    It uses a VA panel with a high contrast ratio, but it's lower than most VA panel TVs due to Samsung's 'Ultra Viewing Angle' technology designed to improve the viewing angles. Luckily, it has a great full-array local dimming feature that further deepens any blacks, making it an excellent choice for dark room viewing. Its stand-out feature is its Mini LED backlighting. It allows the TV to get extremely bright, and combined with its fantastic reflection handling, visibility won't be an issue in the brightest of rooms. It displays a wide color gamut for HDR content and highlights pop thanks to its high peak brightness.

    Unfortunately, the local dimming performs a bit worse outside of Game Mode as it raises the black levels, so blacks look more gray than black. If that doesn't bother you, it offers gaming features like VRR support, a quick response time, and low input lag for a responsive gaming experience. Overall, this is the best 85 inch TV you can get with an LED panel.

    See our review

  4. Cheaper Alternative: Sony KD-85X91J

    Type LED
    Sub-Type
    VA
    Resolution 4k

    If you want something cheaper, check out the Sony KD-85X91J. It doesn't have Mini LED backlighting like the Samsung QN90A QLED, and it doesn't have viewing angle technology either, but that means it has a high native contrast ratio for deeper blacks. The local dimming feature is decent at improving the contrast ratio, but it also causes blooming around bright objects because it doesn't have a lot of dimming zones. It still delivers a great HDR performance because it displays a wide color gamut, and even though the HDR peak brightness is just okay, some large highlights pop the way they're supposed to. It's excellent for gaming, thanks to its quick response time and HDMI 2.1 inputs. However, its input lag is higher than most other TVs.

    If you want the best 85 inch TV with an LED panel, the Samsung is a great choice. If you want something cheaper, the Sony is a good alternative.

    See our review

  5. Best 8k 80-82-85 Inch TV: Samsung QN85QN900AFXZA

    8.1
    Mixed Usage
    7.5
    Movies
    8.4
    TV Shows
    8.3
    Sports
    8.3
    Video Games
    7.6
    HDR Movies
    8.2
    HDR Gaming
    8.6
    PC Monitor
    Type LED
    Sub-Type
    VA
    Resolution 8k

    If you want a large TV with an 8k resolution, then the Samsung QN85QN900AFXZA is the best 85 inch TV with an 8k resolution. The higher resolution allows you to view sharper images, and it also makes it future-proof with 8k content starting to roll out, but there's not much 8k content currently available. We tested the 65 inch version, but our results are also valid for the 85 inch model.

    It's the flagship TV in Samsung's 2021 Neo QLED lineup, meaning it uses Mini LED backlighting combined with its quantum dot layer technology to produce great picture quality for most uses. It uses Samsung's 'Ultra Viewing Angle' technology to help produce wide viewing angles, making it a great choice for a large seating area, but that comes at the cost of a lower native contrast ratio. However, the full-array local dimming feature helps improve the contrast for deeper blacks. It also performs well in bright rooms because it has amazing peak brightness and excellent reflection handling.

    Sadly, the Mini LED local dimming feature isn't nearly as good as the one on the Samsung QN90A QLED because there's a ton of blooming around bright objects, and the black uniformity isn't anything special. Also, despite being an 8k TV, it doesn't perfectly display native 8k content as there's some dithering, but it's hard to notice. If that isn't an issue for you, it's one of the best large TVs.

    See our review

  6. Best Budget 80-82-85 Inch TV: Samsung UN85AU8000FXZA

    7.1
    Mixed Usage
    6.8
    Movies
    7.7
    TV Shows
    7.4
    Sports
    7.1
    Video Games
    6.4
    HDR Movies
    7.1
    HDR Gaming
    7.7
    PC Monitor
    Type LED
    Sub-Type
    VA
    Resolution 4k

    The best 85 inch TV in the budget category is the Samsung UN85AU8000FXZA. It's a simple entry-level model that offers decent overall performance that should please people looking for a large TV to watch their favorite shows, sports, or movies. We tested the 65 inch version, and our results are also valid for the 85 inch model.

    It performs best in dark rooms because it has a VA panel with a high native contrast ratio and excellent black uniformity but lacks a local dimming feature. Although it's not the brightest TV, it still has great reflection handling if you want to use it in a room with a few lights. The built-in TizenOS is user-friendly, and its remote is similar to the one found with higher-end models. You can use voice control to open apps and switch inputs, making menu navigation even easier. If you connect a cable box, it doesn't have any trouble upscaling lower-resolution content, either.

    It supports HDR10 and HDR10+, but sadly it doesn't deliver a good HDR experience because it can't display a wide color gamut, and it doesn't get bright enough to make highlights pop. Also, you'll notice black smearing with fast-moving objects, particularly in dark scenes, due to the slow overall response time. Regardless of these issues, it's the best big-screen TV you can get on a budget.

    See our review

Notable Mentions

  • Samsung QN85Q60AAFXZA: The Samsung Q60/Q60A QLED is a decent QLED TV, but it costs more than the Samsung AU8000. If you're on a budget, it's worth getting the AU8000 instead. See our review
  • LG 86QNED90UPA: The LG QNED90 is a very good 86 inch TV with wide viewing angles if that's what you're looking for. However, it has lower contrast than the Samsung QN90A or Sony X91J. See our review
  • Samsung QN85QN85AAFXZA: The Samsung QN85A is a great high-end TV, but the 85 inch has a VA panel, so it performs differently than the model we tested with an IPS panel. See our review
  • Sony XR-85X95J: The Sony X95J is a great TV with a local dimming feature and great picture quality, but it doesn't have gaming features like the Samsung QN90A, and it costs more. See our review
  • TCL 85R745: Like the Sony X91J, the TCL R745 QLED is only available in an 85 inch size, but it costs more than the Sony and has worse local dimming. See our review
  • Samsung QN85QN800AFXZA: The Samsung QN800A is a lower-end version of the Samsung QN900A, so it has worse local dimming, but if that doesn't bother you, it costs less for similar overall performance. See our review
  • Sony KD-85X85J: The Sony X85J costs more than the Samsung AU8000, and even though it performs better overall, it might be too expensive if you're on a budget. See our review
  • LG 82UP8770PUA: The LG UP8000 is a decent budget TV available in 82 and 86 inches, but with an IPS panel, it has worse dark room performance than the Samsung AU8000. See our review
  • LG 86QNED99UPA: The LG QNED99 8k is another 8k TV with Mini LED backlighting, and it costs less than the LG QNED900, but it has an IPS panel with a worse contrast. See our review

Recent Updates

  1. Jan 07, 2022: Added the Samsung QN900A 8k QLED in a new 8k category to reflect user needs; added the Samsung QN800A 8k QLED and the LG QNED99 8k to Notable Mentions.

  2. Nov 25, 2021: Replaced the TCL R745 QLED with the Sony X91J because it's cheaper and better; replace the Sony X85J with the Samsung AU8000 in the budget category because it's cheaper; added the LG UP8000 to Notable Mentions.

  3. Oct 27, 2021: Moved the Sony X85J because its price dropped and it's better than the Samsung AU8000, and added the TCL R745 as 'Cheaper Alternative' to the Samsung QN90A; added the LG QNED90 and the Sony X95J to Notable Mentions.

  4. Sep 27, 2021: Added the Sony A90J and refreshed the text throughout.

  5. Jul 29, 2021: Added the Hisense A6G and Samsung QN900A to Notable Mentions; updated text for clarity.

All Reviews

Our recommendations above are what we think are currently the best 80 inch TVs to the best 85 inch TVs to buy for most people in each price range. We factor in the price (a cheaper TV wins over a pricier one if the difference isn't really worth it), feedback from our visitors, and availability (no TVs that are difficult to find or almost out of stock everywhere).

If you would like to do the work of choosing yourself, here is the list of all our 80-82-85 inch TV reviews. Be careful not to get too caught up in the details. While no TV is perfect, most TVs are great enough to please almost everyone, and the differences are often not noticeable unless you really look for them.

Discussions