Updated

The 6 Best 48-49-50 Inch TVs - Fall 2019
Reviews

Best 48-49-50 Inch TVs
239 Televisions Tested
  • Store-bought TVs; no cherry-picked units
  • Retest after major updates
  • Easily comparable results
  • No ads; unbiased reviews
Learn more about our approach to product reviews here.

The 48-49-50 inch sizes in TVs are becoming more uncommon. In recent years, only a few of the TVs we've tested are available in a 48-50 inch size, while the 55-inch size is a lot more popular. However, you can still find some great TVs if you have limited space.

We've tested over 25 TVs available in these sizes, and below are our recommendations for the best 48-49-50 inch TVs. See also our recommendations for the best smart TVs and the best flat screen TVs.


  1. Best 48-49-50 Inch TV: Samsung QN49Q70R

    Usage Ratings - Version 1.3
    8.4
    Mixed Usage
    8.7
    Movies
    8.0
    TV Shows
    7.9
    Sports
    9.1
    Video Games
    8.6
    HDR Movies
    8.8
    HDR Gaming
    8.6
    PC Monitor
    Type : LED
    Sub-Type
    :
    VA
    Resolution : 4k

    The best 49 inch TV is the Samsung QN49Q70R, a great TV with impressive picture quality. It delivers excellent dark room performance thanks to its high native contrast ratio and full array local dimming. Motion handling is outstanding, thanks to the very fast response time and nearly flicker-free backlight. The input lag is very low, and the TV feels very responsive when used for gaming or as a PC monitor.

    Unfortunately, just like most VA panel TVs, the viewing angles are poor and the image deteriorates quickly when viewed from the side. The 49" model doesn't support FreeSync as the larger sizes do.

    Overall, this is a very good TV that will please most people.

    See our review

  2. Alternative With Better Reflection Handling: Sony XBR49X900F

    Type : LED
    Sub-Type
    :
    VA
    Resolution : 4k

    If you're often bothered by reflections and you find that the reflection handling of the Samsung Q70R isn't good enough, then check out the Sony XBR49X900F. The Sony doesn't have the same low input lag, and its dark room performance is slightly worse than the Samsung. However, this one of the best 49 inch 4k TVs. It has exceptional reflection handling and a very fast response time which displays crisp motion so you can enjoy your favorite sport. It offers excellent performance in movies and HDR and will keep most people happy with its overall performance.

    If you want the best 48-49-50 inch TV, and reflections don't matter, then get the Samsung. Otherwise, if reflection handling is essential, then the Sony is a better option. 

    See our review

  3. Best Value TV For Size: Hisense 50H8F

    Usage Ratings - Version 1.3
    8.0
    Mixed Usage
    8.2
    Movies
    7.8
    TV Shows
    7.4
    Sports
    8.5
    Video Games
    8.2
    HDR Movies
    8.3
    HDR Gaming
    8.2
    PC Monitor
    Type : LED
    Sub-Type
    :
    VA
    Resolution : 4k

    The best 50 inch TV for the money is the Hisense 50H8F. It doesn't have the same fast response time as the Samsung Q70R, so there's a little more motion blur on fast-moving content, and the reflection handling isn't as good as the Sony X900F. On the upside, the Hisense delivers great performance in most uses. It can display deep blacks in a dark room thanks to the TV's very high native contrast ratio and full array local dimming support. When in HDR, it can get decently bright, and thanks to its wide color gamut HDR content displays with vivid colors. Gamers will appreciate the very low input lag that helps the TV feel very responsive.

    Unfortunately, just like most VA panel TVs, the image deteriorates quickly when viewed from the side, which can be a concern if you have a wide seating arrangement.

    Overall, it's a TV with great performance in most uses, and it offers a great value-size balance.

    See our review

  4. Wide Angle Alternative: LG 49UM7300

    Type : LED
    Sub-Type
    :
    IPS
    Resolution : 4k

    If you have a wide seating arrangement and the angles on the Hisense H8F are a concern, then get the LG 49UM7300 instead. You won't get the dark room performance of the Hisense, as the LG has an IPS panel and blacks tend to look like gray in a dark room. It is, however, a good TV with decent picture quality and decent motion handling. Thanks to its IPS panel, the image remains accurate when viewed from the side, which is good news if you don't always sit directly in front of the TV.

    Overall, if wide viewing angles are important and you don't mind compromising on dark room performance, then the LG is a good choice; otherwise, get the Hisense, which is better overall. 

    See our review

  5. Best Budget 48-49-50 Inch TV: TCL 50S425

    Usage Ratings - Version 1.3
    7.3
    Mixed Usage
    6.4
    Movies
    7.0
    TV Shows
    7.1
    Sports
    8.4
    Video Games
    6.6
    HDR Movies
    7.9
    HDR Gaming
    8.1
    PC Monitor
    Type : LED
    Sub-Type
    :
    VA
    Resolution : 4k

    The best budget 50 inch TV is the TCL 4-Series/50S425 2019. It has a decent picture quality with deep blacks in a dark room thanks to the high native contrast. Although it can handle reflections well, it can't get bright enough to fight the glare of a bright room, so it's more suitable for a dim room. It can't produce a wide color gamut and its HDR peak brightness is poor, so it can't display HDR content the way its creator intended it to be. This TV has a very fast response time that delivers crisp motion, and it will please gamers and PC users with its low input lag which makes it very responsive.

    Unfortunately, the image deteriorates when viewed from the side, as expected for a VA panel TV, and there is no local dimming option to further improve dark room performance.

    Overall, this is a decent TV which is good value for money and the best choice for those looking for 50" 4k TV on a budget.

    See our review

  6. Alternative For Movies: TCL 50S525

    Type : LED
    Sub-Type
    :
    VA
    Resolution : 4k

    If you like the smart features of the TCL S425 but would like a TV that's better for movies and has a wide color gamut to get more out of HDR, then check out the TCL 5 Series 50S525. The S525 has the same outstanding low input lag as the S425, but it doesn't display motion as crisp due to the slightly slower response time. However, this TV is brighter, has better dark room performance, can remove judder from any source, and has a wide color gamut that helps deliver HDR content better.

    Overall, if you mostly care about movies and HDR performance, it's worth spending a little more for the TCL S525. Otherwise, the S425 will do the job and has lower input lag.

    See our review

Notable Mentions

  • Samsung QN49Q6FN: Great TV, but the Samsung Q70R is worth the extra cash. See our review
  • Vizio M507-G1: Very good TV, but we haven't tested the 50" variant which has different specs and might perform differently from the 65" we tested, so we can't include it as a pick. See our review
  • Samsung QN49Q60R: Great TV, but the Samsung Q70R is worth the extra cash. See our review
  • Samsung UN49RU8000: Very good TV, but the Hisense H8F is a little better and cheaper. See our review
  • LG 49SM8600: Good TV with wide viewing angles, but not worth the extra cash over the UM73000. See our review
  • Samsung UN50NU7100: Decent budget TV, but the TCL S525 is a better deal. See our review
  • TCL 49S405: Very similar TV to the S425, but becoming very hard to find. See our review
  • TCL 49S517: Performs nearly identically to the S525, but can be difficult to find. See our review

All Reviews

Our recommendations above are what we think are currently the best 48-50 inch televisions to buy for most people in each price range. We factor in the price (a cheaper TV wins over a pricier one if the difference isn't worth it), feedback from our visitors, and availability (no TVs that are difficult to find or almost out of stock everywhere).

If you would like to do the work of choosing yourself, here is the list of all our reviews of TVs that have a 48-49-50 inch size. Be careful not to get too caught up in the details. While no TV is perfect, most TVs are great enough to please almost everyone, and the differences are often not noticeable unless you really look for them.

LOG IN

JOIN RTINGS.com

Be part of the most informed community and take advantage of our advanced tools to find the best product for your needs.
Join our mailing list:
Become an insider

Unlimited access to full product reviews, test measurements and scores

test table UI

Product prices across the site on reviews, tables and tools

product prices UI

Additional votes for our
next reviews

Additional votes UI

Early Access
to our reviews and test measurements

Early Access UI

Create Discussion