Black Friday deal: The Samsung RU8000 55” has dropped by $250 on Amazon.com. See all Black Friday deals on TVs.
Updated

The 6 Best 48-49-50 Inch TVs - Fall 2019
Reviews

Best 48-49-50 Inch TVs
242 Televisions Tested
  • Store-bought TVs; no cherry-picked units
  • Easily comparable results
  • No ads; unbiased reviews
  • Supported directly by you via insider access and when you purchase through our affiliate links
Learn more about our approach to product reviews here.

The 48-49-50 inch sizes in TVs are becoming more uncommon. In recent years, only a few of the TVs we've tested are available in a 48-50 inch size, while the 55 inch size is a lot more popular. However, you can still find some great TVs if you have limited space.

We've tested over 70 TVs in 2019, but not all are available in these sizes. Below are our recommendations for the best 48-49-50 inch TVs. See also our recommendations for the best smart TVs and the best flat screen TVs.


  1. Best 48-49-50 Inch TV: Samsung QN49Q70R

    Usage Ratings - Version 1.3
    8.4
    Mixed Usage
    8.7
    Movies
    8.0
    TV Shows
    7.9
    Sports
    9.1
    Video Games
    8.6
    HDR Movies
    8.8
    HDR Gaming
    8.6
    PC Monitor
    Type : LED
    Sub-Type
    :
    VA
    Resolution : 4k

    The Samsung QN49Q70R is the best 49 inch TV we've tested so far. It has a great picture quality and delivers an excellent overall dark room performance, thanks to its high native contrast ratio and full array local dimming support. Fast-moving content looks crisp thanks to the very fast response time, and the overall motion handling is smooth thanks to the nearly flicker-free backlight. This TV feels very responsive due to its low input lag, which is great news for gamers regardless if you're gaming on a console or a PC.

    On the downside, this TV, just like most VA panel TVs, can't display an accurate image when viewed from the side. Also, note that the 49 inch model doesn't support FreeSync like the larger models do.

    Overall, however, this is the best 49 inch TV and it'll keep you happy.

    See our review

  2. Alternative With Better Reflection Handling: Sony XBR49X900F

    Type : LED
    Sub-Type
    :
    VA
    Resolution : 4k

    If you find that the Samsung Q70/Q70R QLED's reflection handling isn't suitable for your room's lighting conditions and you need a TV with better reflection handling, then check out the Sony XBR49X900F. You won't get the Samsung's very low input lag, and enthusiasts will find the dark room performance a little worse. On the upside, this TV delivers an impressive overall picture quality. It has excellent reflection handling and can get very bright, so you can easily place it in a bright room and not worry about glare or distracting reflections. Most people will be happy with its overall performance.

    If you're after the best 49 inch TV, get the Samsung, but if you have a very bright room where reflections can be distracting, then the Sony is a better choice.

    See our review

  3. Best Value TV For Size: Hisense 50H8F

    Usage Ratings - Version 1.3
    8.0
    Mixed Usage
    8.2
    Movies
    7.8
    TV Shows
    7.4
    Sports
    8.5
    Video Games
    8.2
    HDR Movies
    8.3
    HDR Gaming
    8.2
    PC Monitor
    Type : LED
    Sub-Type
    :
    VA
    Resolution : 4k

    The best 50 inch TV for the money is the Hisense 50H8F. It doesn't have the same fast response time as the Samsung Q70/Q70R QLED, so there's a little more motion blur on fast-moving content, and the reflection handling isn't as good as the Sony X900F. On the upside, this TV delivers great performance in most uses. It can display deep blacks in a dark room thanks to the TV's very high native contrast ratio and full array local dimming support. When in HDR, it can get decently bright, and thanks to its wide color gamut, HDR content displays with vivid colors. Gamers will appreciate the very low input lag that helps the TV feel very responsive.

    Unfortunately, just like most VA panel TVs, the image deteriorates quickly when viewed from the side, which can be a concern if you have a wide seating arrangement.

    Overall, it's a TV with great performance in most uses, and it offers a great value-size balance.

    See our review

  4. Wide Angle Alternative: LG 49UM7300

    Type : LED
    Sub-Type
    :
    IPS
    Resolution : 4k

    If you often watch TV from the side or do chores around the house while watching TV, then the LG 49UM7300 will be a better choice than the Hisense H8F, as it has wider viewing angles. This TV can't deliver the same deep blacks as the Hisense, since it has an IPS panel and blacks tend to look more like gray in a dark room. Nonetheless, this is a good 4k TV with excellent low input lag, excellent response time, and the image remains accurate when viewed from the side. It has decent peak brightness in SDR, excellent reflection handling, and it's more suitable for an average lit room.

    If you want the best 50 inch smart TV for the money, get the Hisense; however, if wide viewing angles are the most important thing and you don't mind compromising on the appearance of blacks, the LG is a great alternative. 

    See our review

  5. Best Budget 48-49-50 Inch TV: TCL 50S425

    Usage Ratings - Version 1.3
    7.3
    Mixed Usage
    6.4
    Movies
    7.0
    TV Shows
    7.1
    Sports
    8.4
    Video Games
    6.6
    HDR Movies
    7.9
    HDR Gaming
    8.1
    PC Monitor
    Type : LED
    Sub-Type
    :
    VA
    Resolution : 4k

    If you're looking for the best budget TV in the 48-49-50 inch category, then get the TCL 4 Series 2019/50S425. It has a high native contrast ratio and can deliver deep blacks when in a dark room. It's suitable for an average lit room as it can't get very bright to fight glare, but it'll minimize the distraction from the reflection of a few lights. Although it supports HDR, it doesn't have a wide color gamut and can't get bright enough to deliver specular HDR highlights as it should. Gamers will enjoy the low input lag that delivers responsive gaming sessions, and the TV has a very fast response time which makes motion look crisp.

    Unfortunately, this TV has poor viewing angles as most VA panel TVs and it isn't suitable for rooms with wide seating arrangements.

    Overall, the TCL is a decent TV for the money, and certainly the best budget 50 inch TV we've tested so far.

    See our review

  6. Alternative For Movies: TCL 50S525

    Type : LED
    Sub-Type
    :
    VA
    Resolution : 4k

    If you like the TCL 4 Series 2019's smart features but want a TV that's better for movies and has a wide color gamut to get more out of HDR, then check out the TCL 5 Series/50S525 2019. This TV has the same outstanding low input lag as the other TCL, but it doesn't display motion as crisp due to the slightly slower response time. However, this TV is brighter, has better dark room performance, can remove judder from any source, and has a wide color gamut that helps deliver HDR content better.

    Overall, if you mostly care about movies and HDR performance, it's worth spending a little more for the TCL S525. Otherwise, the TCL S425 will do the job and has lower input lag.

    See our review

Notable Mentions

  • Samsung QN49Q6FN: Great TV, but the Samsung Q70R is worth the extra cash. See our review
  • Vizio M507-G1: Very good TV, but we haven't tested the 50" variant which has different specs and might perform differently from the 65" we tested, so we can't include it as a pick. See our review
  • Samsung QN49Q60R: Great TV, but the Samsung Q70R is worth the extra cash. See our review
  • Samsung UN49RU8000: Very good TV, but the Hisense H8F is a little better and cheaper. See our review
  • LG 49SM8600: Good TV with wide viewing angles, but not worth the extra cash over the UM73000. See our review
  • Samsung UN50NU7100: Decent budget TV, but the TCL S525 is a better deal. See our review
  • TCL 49S405: Very similar TV to the S425, but becoming very hard to find. See our review
  • TCL 49S517: Performs nearly identically to the S525, but can be difficult to find. See our review

All Reviews

Our recommendations above are what we think are currently the best 48-50 inch televisions to buy for most people in each price range. We factor in the price (a cheaper TV wins over a pricier one if the difference isn't worth it), feedback from our visitors, and availability (no TVs that are difficult to find or almost out of stock everywhere).

If you would like to do the work of choosing yourself, here is the list of all our reviews of TVs that have a 48-49-50 inch size. Be careful not to get too caught up in the details. While no TV is perfect, most TVs are great enough to please almost everyone, and the differences are often not noticeable unless you really look for them.

Recent Updates

11/15/2019: No changes to picks; made small changes to text for accuracy and clarity.

10/16/2019: Updated the picks and made small changes to text for clarity.

LOG IN

JOIN RTINGS.com

Be part of the most informed community and take advantage of our advanced tools to find the best product for your needs.
Join our mailing list:
Become an insider

Unlimited access to full product reviews, test measurements and scores

test table UI

Product prices across the site on reviews, tables and tools

product prices UI

Additional votes for our
next reviews

Additional votes UI

Early Access
to our reviews and test measurements

Early Access UI

Create Discussion