Your browser is not supported or outdated so some features of the site might not be available.
We've started our biggest test yet! To try to better understand how long a TV should last, we're running 100 TVs through an accelerated longevity test for the next two years. Read more about it here, or watch our first video about the test here!

The 4 Best 48-49-50 Inch TVs - Winter 2023 Reviews

Updated
Best 48-49-50 Inch TVs

As larger sizes have grown in popularity, manufacturers aren't making as many smaller models. While the 48-49-50 inch market segment has been somewhat neglected by most manufacturers in recent years, there's still a market for some good TVs in this size range; if you're looking for a TV in this size range, you'll likely still find one for your needs. They're available in a variety of price ranges, from premium models to more basic cheap models, so choosing the right one depends on your budget.

We've bought and tested more than 375 TVs. Below are our recommendations for the best 48-50 inch TVs that you can buy. Also see our picks for the best smart TVs, the best 55-inch TVs for something bigger, or the best 40-42-43-inch TVs for something smaller.


  1. Best 48-Inch TV

    The best 48-inch TV we've tested is the LG OLED48C2PUA. It's a fantastic TV that delivers impressive picture quality in any setting, and it has a wide range of extra features. It runs LG's proprietary webOS smart interface, which is easy to use thanks to LG's unique Magic Remote, and it has a huge selection of streaming apps available. It's also fantastic for gamers, thanks to its HDMI 2.1 support on all four inputs, meaning you can take full advantage of the latest gaming consoles like the PS5 or Xbox Series X.

    It delivers fantastic picture quality in both bright and dark rooms. It uses OLED technology to produce perfectly deep, uniform blacks, with no distracting halos or blooming around bright objects in dark scenes. It's bright enough to overcome glare in most moderately-lit rooms and has fantastic reflection handling.

    See our review

  2. Best Mid-Range 50-Inch TV

    If you want to save money, the best 50-inch smart TV in the mid-range category we've tested is the Sony XR50X90J. It's a bit cheaper than the LG C2 OLED and doesn't have the same perfect black levels, so you're losing out on the remarkable dark room performance, but instead, you get a higher peak brightness with the X90J. It's a 2021 model that's still widely available and offers great performance. Visibility isn't a problem in well-lit rooms thanks to its excellent SDR peak brightness, and the reflection handling is decent. Even in dark rooms, its contrast is incredible, and it has a great local dimming feature to further improve the contrast.

    It comes with the Google TV smart platform, which is user-friendly and has a ton of apps available to download. Its voice assistant feature makes it easy to open apps and search for content, allowing you to stream your favorite content easily. Even if you watch content from a cable box, it doesn't have any issues upscaling lower-resolution content, making images look life-like. This TV was replaced by the Sony X90K in 2022, but sadly, the new model isn't available in sizes below 55 inches.

    See our review

  3. Best Budget 50-Inch TV

    The TCL 5 Series/S555 2022 QLED is the best 50-inch TV in the budget category that we've tested. It's a great TV that delivers surprisingly good picture quality for the price and has a good selection of extra features without breaking the bank. It's great for watching movies in a dark room thanks to its superb contrast ratio and decent full array local dimming feature, but there's a bit more distracting blooming around bright highlights than what you'd see on a higher-end TV like the Sony X90J.

    It runs the Roku smart interface, which is simple and easy to use, with a great selection of streaming channels to choose from. It has fantastic low input lag, making it a great choice for gamers, and it even supports a variable refresh rate to reduce tearing in games. It can't take full advantage of the PS5 or Xbox Series X due to its 60Hz refresh rate, but it's still a good choice for budget shoppers looking to enjoy the impressive graphics offered by either new-gen console.

    See our review

  4. Best Cheap 50-Inch TV

    If you want a basic TV that won't break your wallet, the best 50-inch TV you can get for cheap is the Hisense A6H. It's a simple TV with limited picture quality and few extra features, but it's a great choice for an office, guest bedroom, or even a student dorm. It runs the Google TV smart interface, which has one of the widest selections of streaming apps available. It has a wide viewing angle, which is great if you watch TV while walking around, as the image remains consistent when viewed from the sides.

    Unfortunately, it's not a good choice for a dark room, as it has a very low contrast ratio, so blacks appear gray in the dark, and there's no local dimming feature to improve it. If you're in a dark room, the TCL 4 Series/S455 2022 is a bit better, as it has a much higher contrast ratio. However, it costs a bit more and doesn't get as bright as the Insignia.

    See our review

Notable Mentions

  • Sony KD-50X85K: The Sony X85K sits below the Sony X90J in terms of price and performance, but it's costly for a mid-range TV, and you can get the TCL 5 Series/S555 2022 QLED for less, which has better overall performance and a local dimming feature. See our review
  • Hisense 50U6H: The Hisense U6H is a very good alternative to the TCL 5 Series/S555 2022 QLED, but it's not quite as good and costs about the same. See our review

Recent Updates

  1. Jan 16, 2023: Replaced the Hisense U6H with the TCL 5 Series/S555 2022 QLED, as it's a bit better for the same price. Also replaced the Insignia F50 QLED with the Hisense A6H, as the Insignia is discontinued and hard to find.

  2. Dec 12, 2022: Verified our picks for accuracy and consistency, and refreshed the text.

  3. Nov 11, 2022: Verified our picks for accuracy and refreshed the text throughout.

  4. Sep 26, 2022: Replaced the LG C1 and the Hisense U6G with the newer LG C2 and Hisense U6H; replaced the LG A1 with the Sony X90J because it's cheaper; removed the Samsung QN90A and added the Insignia F50 QLED as the 'Best Cheap TV'; updated Notable Mentions based on changes.

  5. Jul 07, 2022: Restructured the article to better match how users are searching for TVs. Reduced the number of picks and added the LG A1 OLED as the 'Best Mid-Range TV'. Removed out-of-date Notable Mentions that are no longer relevant.

All Reviews

Our recommendations above are what we think are currently the best 48-50 inch televisions to buy for most people in each price range. We factor in the price (a cheaper TV wins over a pricier one if the difference isn't worth it), feedback from our visitors, and availability (no TVs that are difficult to find or almost out of stock everywhere).

If you would like to do the work of choosing yourself, here is the list of all our 48-49-50 inch TV reviews. Be careful not to get too caught up in the details. While no TV is perfect, most TVs are great enough to please almost everyone, and the differences are often not noticeable unless you really look for them.

Discussions