Updated

The 6 Best 48-49-50 Inch TVs - Fall 2020
Reviews

Best 48-49-50 Inch TVs
245 Televisions Tested
  • Store-bought TVs; no cherry-picked units
  • Easily comparable results
  • No ads; unbiased reviews
  • Supported directly by you via insider access and when you purchase through our affiliate links
Learn more about our approach to product reviews here.

The 48-49-50 inch sizes in TVs are becoming more uncommon. In recent years, only a few of the TVs we've tested are available in a 48-50 inch size, while the 55 inch size is a lot more popular. However, you can still find some great TVs if you have limited space.

We've tested over 70 TVs in 2020, but not all are available in these sizes. Below are our recommendations for the best 48-49-50 inch TVs. See also our recommendations for the best smart TVs and the best flat screen TVs.


  1. Best 48-49-50 Inch TV: Samsung QN49Q70R

    Usage Ratings - Version 1.3
    8.4
    Mixed Usage
    8.7
    Movies
    8.0
    TV Shows
    7.9
    Sports
    9.1
    Video Games
    8.6
    HDR Movies
    8.8
    HDR Gaming
    8.6
    PC Monitor
    Type LED
    Sub-Type
    VA
    Resolution 4k

    The best 49 inch TV we've tested is the Samsung QN49Q70R. It delivers an impressive picture quality with deep blacks in a dark room thanks to its high native contrast ratio and full array local dimming support. It can get fairly bright and is suitable for almost any room. This TV has excellent overall motion handling with very fast response time, and plenty of motion features like motion interpolation, black frame insertion, and judder removal.

    Unfortunately, the image loses accuracy when viewed from the side, just like most VA panel TVs. Also, the 49 inch variant differs slightly from the 55 inch one that we tested. The 49 inch has a 60Hz panel and doesn't support FreeSync, which might disappoint some gamers. On the upside, it has a remarkably low input lag in any of the supported resolutions, provided you enable 'Game' mode, and offers a very responsive gaming performance.

    This TV also looks and feels quite premium, and has a smooth and easy-to-use smart interface. Overall, if you're slightly limited in space and need a 48-50 inch TV, this one is a great option, and is the best TV in this size for most uses.

    See our review

  2. Alternative With Better Reflection Handling: Sony XBR49X900F

    Type LED
    Sub-Type
    VA
    Resolution 4k

    If you want a TV for a room with plenty of light sources and are concerned that the Samsung Q70/Q70R QLED's reflection handling might not be adequate, then check out the Sony XBR49X900F. The Sony doesn't have the same remarkably low input lag, although it's still good enough for most gamers. Also, some movie enthusiasts might find the Samsung's blacks better, but overall the Sony's performance is impressive. It can get very bright, which is great for watching TV shows or sports in a bright room, but also delivers an impressive dark room performance.

    If you're placing the TV in a room without too much light, the Samsung is a slightly better overall TV, but If reflections are an issue, go with the Sony.

    See our review

  3. Best Value TV For Size: Hisense 50H8F

    Usage Ratings - Version 1.3
    8.0
    Mixed Usage
    8.2
    Movies
    7.8
    TV Shows
    7.4
    Sports
    8.5
    Video Games
    8.2
    HDR Movies
    8.3
    HDR Gaming
    8.2
    PC Monitor
    Type LED
    Sub-Type
    VA
    Resolution 4k

    The best 50 inch TV for the money that we've tested so far is the Hisense 50H8F. It's a fairly well-rounded TV that's good for most uses, and offers good a price-to-performance ratio. It looks slightly more premium than its price point suggests and it uses Android TV for its smart interface, which gives you access to a huge amount of apps.

    The TV has deep and uniform blacks, though unfortunately its local dimming feature is only decent. It can get fairly bright, though, and HDR content looks very good thanks to its wide color gamut. It has outstandingly low input lag and does a great job at up-scaling 1080p content, making it a great choice if you game on a PS4 Slim or Xbox One S.

    Unfortunately, it isn't the best TV for sports since it has a relatively slow response time that results in noticeable blur behind fast-moving objects. It also has poor viewing angles, which isn't great if you have a large group of people over to watch the game. Overall, however, this is a great TV for most uses that offers excellent value.

    See our review

  4. Wide Angle Alternative: LG 49UM7300

    Type LED
    Sub-Type
    IPS
    Resolution 4k

    If you want a TV for watching sports or have a setup where you tend to watch the TV from the side, go for the LG 49UM7300. It isn't as good for movies or games as the Hisense H8F, but its IPS panel delivers much better viewing angles. This TV doesn't support local dimming, and its contrast ratio isn't as high as the Hisense, meaning blacks won't appear as deep and rich. It also can't get quite as bright and HDR doesn't pop nearly as well. On the upside, it has significantly faster response time so there won't be nearly as much noticeable blur behind fast moving objects.

    If you don't watch sports and want the best value all-around 50" TV, get the Hisense, but if you're looking for a TV only for watching sports, or need wider viewing angles, go for the LG.

    See our review

  5. Best Budget 48-49-50 Inch TV: TCL 50S425

    Usage Ratings - Version 1.3
    7.3
    Mixed Usage
    6.4
    Movies
    7.0
    TV Shows
    7.1
    Sports
    8.4
    Video Games
    6.6
    HDR Movies
    7.9
    HDR Gaming
    8.1
    PC Monitor
    Type LED
    Sub-Type
    VA
    Resolution 4k

    If you're looking for the best budget TV in the 48-49-50 inch category, get the TCL 4 Series 2019/50S425. It has a high native contrast ratio and can deliver deep blacks when in a dark room. It's suitable for an average lit room as it can't get very bright to fight glare, but it'll minimize the distraction from the reflection of a few lights.

    Unfortunately, like most VA panel TVs, this TV has poor viewing angles and it isn't suitable for rooms with wide seating arrangements. Also, while it supports HDR, it doesn't have a wide color gamut and can't get bright enough to deliver specular HDR highlights as it should. On the upside, gamers will enjoy the low input lag that delivers responsive gaming sessions, and the TV has a very fast response time which makes motion look crisp.

    Overall, this is a decent TV for the money, and certainly the best budget 50 inch TV we've tested so far.

    See our review

  6. Alternative For Movies: TCL 50S525

    Type LED
    Sub-Type
    VA
    Resolution 4k

    If you like the TCL 4 Series 2019's smart features but want a TV that's better for movies and has a wide color gamut to get more out of HDR, then check out the TCL 5 Series/50S525 2019. This TV has the same outstanding low input lag as the other TCL, but it doesn't display motion as crisp due to the slightly slower response time. However, this TV is brighter, has better dark room performance, can remove judder from any source, and has a wide color gamut that helps deliver HDR content better.

    Overall, if you mostly care about movies and HDR performance, it's worth spending a little more to get the S525. Otherwise, the S425 will do the job and has a lower input lag.

    See our review

Notable Mentions

  • Vizio M507-G1: The M7 is a very good TV. One of the best 50 inch TVs, but the H8F is slightly cheaper and just as good. See our review
  • Samsung QN49Q60R: The Q60 is a great TV, but the Samsung Q70R is worth the extra cash. See our review
  • Samsung UN49RU8000: The RU8000 is a very good TV, but the Hisense H8F is a little better and cheaper. See our review
  • LG 49SM8600: The LG SM8600 is a good TV with wide viewing angles, but not worth the extra cash over the UM7300. See our review
  • Samsung UN50NU7100: The NU7100 is a decent budget TV, but the TCL S525 is a better deal. See our review

All Reviews

Our recommendations above are what we think are currently the best 48-50 inch televisions to buy for most people in each price range. We factor in the price (a cheaper TV wins over a pricier one if the difference isn't worth it), feedback from our visitors, and availability (no TVs that are difficult to find or almost out of stock everywhere).

If you would like to do the work of choosing yourself, here is the list of all our reviews of TVs that have a 48-49-50 inch size. Be careful not to get too caught up in the details. While no TV is perfect, most TVs are great enough to please almost everyone, and the differences are often not noticeable unless you really look for them.

Recent Updates

01/16/2020: No changes to picks; made small changes to text for accuracy and clarity.

12/12/2019: Made some changes to the text to enhance clarity; kept the same picks.

11/15/2019: No changes to picks; made small changes to text for accuracy and clarity.

LOG IN

JOIN RTINGS.com

Be part of the most informed community and take advantage of our advanced tools to find the best product for your needs.
Join our mailing list:
Become an insider

Unlimited access to full product reviews, test measurements and scores

test table UI

Product prices across the site on reviews, tables and tools

product prices UI

Additional votes for our
next reviews

Additional votes UI

Early Access
to our reviews and test measurements

Early Access UI

Create Discussion