COVID-19: the government of Quebec is shutting down non-essential businesses till April 13. Therefore, our lab is temporarily closed and we can't test new products. In the meantime, we will continue to update articles from home.
Updated

The 6 Best 48-49-50 Inch TVs - Spring 2020
Reviews

Best 48-49-50 Inch TVs
249 Televisions Tested
  • Store-bought TVs; no cherry-picked units
  • Easily comparable results
  • No ads; unbiased reviews
  • Supported directly by you via insider access and when you purchase through our affiliate links
Learn more about our approach to product reviews here.

The 48-49-50 inch sizes in TVs are becoming more uncommon. In recent years, only a few of the TVs we've tested are available in a 48-50 inch size, while the 55 inch size is a lot more popular. However, you can still find some great TVs if you have limited space.

We've tested over 70 TVs in the past two years, but not all are available in these sizes. Below are our recommendations for the best 48-49-50 inch TVs. See also our recommendations for the best smart TVs and the best flat screen TVs.


  1. Best 48-49-50 Inch TV: Samsung QN49Q70RAFXZA

    Test Methodology v1.4
    8.3
    Mixed Usage
    8.6
    Movies
    7.7
    TV Shows
    7.8
    Sports
    9.1
    Video Games
    8.6
    HDR Movies
    8.8
    HDR Gaming
    8.7
    PC Monitor
    Type LED
    Sub-Type
    VA
    Resolution 4k

    The best 49 inch TV we've tested is the Samsung QN49Q70R. It delivers an impressive picture quality with deep blacks in a dark room thanks to its high native contrast ratio and full-array local dimming support. It can get fairly bright and is suitable for almost any room. This TV has excellent overall motion handling with very fast response time, and plenty of motion features like motion interpolation, black frame insertion, and judder removal.

    Unfortunately, the image loses accuracy when viewed from the side, just like most VA panel TVs. Also, the 49 inch variant differs slightly from the 55 inch one that we tested. The 49 inch has a 60Hz panel and doesn't support FreeSync, which might disappoint some gamers. On the upside, it has a remarkably low input lag in any of the supported resolutions, provided you enable 'Game' mode, and offers a very responsive gaming performance.

    This TV also looks and feels quite premium, and has a smooth and easy-to-use smart interface. Overall, if you're slightly limited in space and need a 48-50 inch TV, this TV is one of the best Samsung TVs of 2020, and is the best TV in this size for most uses.

    See our review

  2. Alternative With Better Reflection Handling: Sony XBR49X900F

    Type LED
    Sub-Type
    VA
    Resolution 4k

    If you need a TV for a very bright room with a lot of light sources, check out the Sony XBR49X900F. Its black uniformity isn't as good as the Samsung Q70/Q70R QLED, and it has much higher input lag, but it has better reflection handling and more accurate colors out-of-the-box. This is a well-rounded TV that's great for all uses, as its motion handling is great for sports and gaming, and its peak brightness and wide color gamut makes it great for HDR content. Its bright screen can overcome glare in well-lit rooms quite easily, and its semi-gloss finish helps dull the reflections of bright lights.

    Overall, the Samsung is a better option for gamers thanks to its lower input lag, but if you watch TV in a very bright environment and want something that does a better job with reflection handling, go with the Sony.

    See our review

  3. Best Value TV For Size: Hisense 50H8F

    Test Methodology v1.4
    8.0
    Mixed Usage
    8.3
    Movies
    7.6
    TV Shows
    7.3
    Sports
    8.5
    Video Games
    8.3
    HDR Movies
    8.3
    HDR Gaming
    8.4
    PC Monitor
    Type LED
    Sub-Type
    VA
    Resolution 4k

    The best value TV for size that we've tested so far is the Hisense 50H8F. This is an entry-level 4k TV with impressive performance in nearly every type of content. It uses a VA panel with an exceptional native contrast ratio, and it gets even better with its full-array local dimming enabled. Combined with an outstanding black uniformity, this TV is nearly perfect for a great dark room viewing experience. That said, you shouldn't have any issues seeing the image if you're in a well-lit room, as it can get bright enough to combat glare and it has decent reflection handling.

    Unfortunately, its response time is only decent, resulting in more motion blur during fast-moving scenes. On the bright side, there's an optional black frame insertion feature that can help clear up the image. Like most VA panels, viewing angles may be an issue if you have a wide seating area, so the image won't look as good if you're watching from the side. Additionally, while it has a low input lag for gaming, there's no support for any variable refresh rate technology and its panel is limited to 60Hz. Lastly, with Android TV, you have access to the Google Play Store's immense library of apps and the convenience of voice control through the Google Assistant.

    Overall, if you're shopping for a large TV on a limited budget, you should definitely consider this one.

    See our review

  4. Wide Angle Alternative: LG 49UM7300PUA

    Type LED
    Sub-Type
    IPS
    Resolution 4k

    If the poor viewing angles on the Hisense H8F are a dealbreaker, then take a look at the LG 49UM7300PUA. Its IPS panel is much better suited for wide seating arrangements, especially if you tend to have large parties to watch a big game. However, there are downsides to IPS TVs, as this one has a mediocre contrast ratio and an okay black uniformity, making blacks look like gray when viewed in the dark. While this TV supports HDR, the performance is limited by its inability to produce a wide color gamut, and its unremarkable peak brightness isn't able to make highlights pop.

    Overall, the Hisense is still a better value, but if good viewing angles are a must, then go with the LG.

    See our review

  5. Best Budget 48-49-50 Inch TV: TCL 50S425

    Test Methodology v1.4
    7.4
    Mixed Usage
    6.7
    Movies
    7.1
    TV Shows
    7.0
    Sports
    8.4
    Video Games
    6.8
    HDR Movies
    7.9
    HDR Gaming
    8.2
    PC Monitor
    Type LED
    Sub-Type
    VA
    Resolution 4k

    The best 50 inch TV in the budget category that we've tested so far is the TCL 4 Series 2019 50S245. This entry-level TV has fairly standard bezels and a plastic stand and build, which is expected from a TV at this price point. It has an outstanding contrast ratio which gives it a decent black uniformity and good overall black levels. Despite being a budget TV, it's surprisingly great for gaming, thanks to its very low input lag and fast response time that delivers crisp motion.

    Unfortunately, the TV can't get very bright, which may be an issue if you tend to watch TV in a very bright environment. Also, while it supports HDR10, its low peak brightness and fairly limited color gamut mean that HDR won't pop nearly as much as it should. This TV uses Roku's very smooth and easy-to-use smart interface, which is great and supports a wide variety of apps. You can also use your phone or tablet as a remote thanks to its great remote app, which is handy.

    Like most TVs with a VA panel, its viewing angles are disappointing and you'll want to arrange your living room so you're sitting directly in front of the TV to avoid having an inaccurate image. Overall, while this TV may not perform as well as higher-end TVs, especially for HDR content, it's an excellent choice for video games, or if you need something inexpensive with decent overall performance.

    See our review

  6. Alternative For Movies: TCL 50S525

    Type LED
    Sub-Type
    VA
    Resolution 4k

    If you like the TCL 4 Series 2019's smart features but want a TV that's better for movies and has a wider color gamut to get more out of HDR, then check out the TCL 5 Series/50S525 2019. This TV has the same outstanding low input lag as the other TCL, but it doesn't display motion as crisp due to the slightly slower response time. However, this TV is brighter, has better dark room performance, can remove judder from any source, and has a wide color gamut that helps deliver HDR content better.

    Overall, if you just want a secondary TV or something inexpensive with decent performance, get the S425, but if you watch a lot of movies or want something that'll be slightly better for HDR, it's worth it to spend a little more for the S525.

    See our review

Notable Mentions

  • Vizio M507-G1: The M7 is a very good TV. One of the best 50 inch TVs, but the H8F is slightly cheaper and just as good. See our review
  • Samsung QN49Q60RAFXZA: The Q60 is a great TV, but the Samsung Q70R is worth the extra cash. See our review
  • Samsung UN49RU8000FXZA: The RU8000 is a very good TV, but the Hisense H8F is a little better and cheaper. See our review
  • LG 49SM8600PUA: The LG SM8600 is a good TV with wide viewing angles, but not worth the extra cash over the UM7300. See our review
  • Samsung UN50NU7100: The NU7100 is a decent budget TV, but the TCL S525 is a better deal. See our review

All Reviews

Our recommendations above are what we think are currently the best 48-50 inch televisions to buy for most people in each price range. We factor in the price (a cheaper TV wins over a pricier one if the difference isn't worth it), feedback from our visitors, and availability (no TVs that are difficult to find or almost out of stock everywhere).

If you would like to do the work of choosing yourself, here is the list of all our reviews of TVs that have a 48-49-50 inch size. Be careful not to get too caught up in the details. While no TV is perfect, most TVs are great enough to please almost everyone, and the differences are often not noticeable unless you really look for them.

Recent Updates

03/13/2020: Only minor updates to the text and verification for accuracy; no changes in product picks.

LOG IN

JOIN RTINGS.com

Be part of the most informed community and take advantage of our advanced tools to find the best product for your needs.
Join our mailing list:
Become an insider

Unlimited access to full product reviews, test measurements and scores

test table UI

Product prices across the site on reviews, tables and tools

product prices UI

Additional votes for our
next reviews

Additional votes UI

Early Access
to our reviews and test measurements

Early Access UI

Create Discussion