COVID-19: the government of Quebec is shutting down non-essential businesses till April 13. Therefore, our lab is temporarily closed and we can't test new products. In the meantime, we will continue to update articles from home.
Updated

The 6 Best 40-42-43 Inch TVs - Spring 2020
Reviews

Best 40-42-43 Inch TVs
249 Televisions Tested
  • Store-bought TVs; no cherry-picked units
  • Easily comparable results
  • No ads; unbiased reviews
  • Supported directly by you via insider access and when you purchase through our affiliate links
Learn more about our approach to product reviews here.

Although most manufacturers and buyers are focusing on larger TVs (see our recommendations for the best 55 inch TVs), there's still a lot of interest in smaller models. You won't find the most advanced, high-end models in these sizes, but there are still some very good TVs to choose from. Depending on your usage, a large monitor might also be a good choice. See our picks for the best 34 inch+ monitors.

We've tested more than 80 TVs in the last two years and below are our recommendations for the best TVs available in 40-43 inch sizes.


  1. Best 40-42-43 Inch TV: Vizio M437-G0

    Test Methodology v1.4
    8.1
    Mixed Usage
    8.3
    Movies
    7.6
    TV Shows
    7.6
    Sports
    8.6
    Video Games
    8.3
    HDR Movies
    8.6
    HDR Gaming
    8.5
    PC Monitor
    Type LED
    Sub-Type
    VA
    Resolution 4k

    The best 40-42-43 inch TV we've tested so far is the Vizio M7 Series Quantum 2019 M437-G0. It's a great TV for any use thanks to its good picture quality, very wide color gamut, and deep color volume, displaying vivid colors and making highlights pop the way they were intended to. With a VA panel, it has an excellent contrast ratio and great black uniformity, and with a local dimming feature to further deepen any blacks, it's a great TV for watching movies in dark rooms.

    Fast-moving objects look clear due to its great response time and amazing black frame insertion feature that helps reduce motion blur. The input lag is incredibly low and it can display proper 4:4:4 chroma if you need to use it as a computer monitor, but the gray uniformity is only decent, so solid colors on web pages won't look very uniform. As is the case with most VA panel TVs, the viewing angles are disappointing, so it's not good for a wide seating arrangement. However, this TV can get bright enough to combat glare in average-lit rooms and it does a good job at handling reflections.

    Overall, this TV displays a clear picture and performs well for any type of use, making it the best 40-42-43 inch TV we've tested so far.

    See our review

  2. Cheaper Alternative: Samsung UN43RU7100FXZA

    Type LED
    Sub-Type
    VA
    Resolution 4k

    If you're shopping on a tighter budget, consider the Samsung UN43RU7100FXZA. It doesn't perform as well in dark rooms as the Vizio M7 Series Quantum 2019, but its input lag is significantly lower for a more responsive gaming experience. It has a motion interpolation feature to make motion look smoother, and its color accuracy is impressive right out of the box. Peak brightness on this TV is decent; however, it may not be a good choice if you're in a brightly-lit room. On the upside, it has good gray uniformity, which is great for watching sports, as there's less dirty screen effect that can be distracting. Like all Samsung TVs, it runs Tizen OS, which feels much smoother, and there are tons of apps available through its app store. Sadly, you do have to put up with some ads on the home screen and they can't be disabled.

    On the whole, if you want a TV that can perform well in any content, the Vizio is a better choice; otherwise, the Samsung is a good option if cost is a concern.

    See our review

  3. Alternative With Wide Viewing Angles: Sony XBR43X800H

    Type LED
    Sub-Type
    IPS
    Resolution 4k

    If you're looking for a TV with better viewing angles for wide seating arrangements, then check out the Sony XBR43X800H. With an IPS panel, it doesn't have the same great dark room performance the Vizio M7 Series Quantum 2019 does, but it has fantastic out-of-the-box color accuracy and it can get really bright. Unfortunately, it can't remove judder from 60p sources like a cable box or native apps, which is noticeable during panning shots. However, gamers will appreciate the incredibly low input lag, which is one of the best we've tested so far, and the excellent response time, resulting in clear motion.

    If you're looking for the best 40-42-43 inch TV there is, the Vizio is a great choice, but if you want something with wider viewing angles, then the Sony is a great alternative.

    See our review

  4. Best 40-42-43 Inch TV For Smart Features: TCL 43S525

    Test Methodology v1.4
    7.6
    Mixed Usage
    7.1
    Movies
    7.4
    TV Shows
    7.1
    Sports
    8.4
    Video Games
    7.3
    HDR Movies
    8.1
    HDR Gaming
    8.3
    PC Monitor
    Type LED
    Sub-Type
    VA
    Resolution 4k

    The best 43 inch TV for smart features that we've tested to date is the TCL 5 Series/43S525. This TV's image quality isn't quite as good as our top pick due to its lack of features such as local dimming, but it uses Roku TV for its smart features, which is one of the most fluid and easy-to-use interfaces available. It does a decent job at handling reflections, and has a very good response time, making it decent for watching sports.

    It's a good TV for gaming thanks to its very low input lag, and it also supports 4:4:4 chroma if you want to use it as a PC monitor. Unfortunately, it can't get quite bright enough for HDR content to pop, though it does have a nice wide color gamut and Dolby Vision support. Luckily, it has a superb native contrast ratio and despite not having local dimming, it still delivers very deep and uniform blacks.

    Overall, this TV doesn't offer the greatest picture quality, but if you want something with a very easy-to-use and fluid smart interface, this is a great option that can be found at a very low price point. It's worth noting that the 50" and 55" versions are only marginally more expensive, and if you aren't limited by space, they offer even better value.

    See our review

  5. Cheaper Alternative: TCL 43S425

    Type LED
    Sub-Type
    VA
    Resolution 4k

    If you want to save some cash over the TCL 5 Series/S525 2019 and don't mind some small compromises in picture quality, check out the TCL 4 Series/43S425. It can't get as bright as the other TCL and can't remove 24p judder from all sources. It also lacks a motion interpolation feature, but on the upside, it has a faster response time and a lower input lag that make it a better choice for gaming or use as a PC monitor. When in a dark room, it displays deep blacks thanks to the high native contrast ratio.

    If you want better performance for a few bucks more, go with the 43S525 as it offers better overall value, but if you want to save some cash but want the same smart features, then get the 43S425.

    See our review

  6. Alternative With Android TV Interface: Sony XBR43X800G

    Type LED
    Sub-Type
    IPS
    Resolution 4k

    If you like the Android TV interface and find that the Roku TV interface is limiting, then look into the Sony XBR43X800G. You won't get the deep blacks found on the TCL 5 Series/S525 2019, as this TV has an IPS panel instead of the VA panels found on TCL TVs. On the upside, the image remains accurate for wider angles on this TV and you can easily do chores while watching your favorite show. The TV can get fairly bright to fight glare and sports fans will appreciate the crisp motion. This TV runs the Android TV interface, giving you access to the Google Play Store, where you'll likely find the app you need.

    If you like the ease-of-use of the Roku smart interface, the TCL is the best option, but if you want the customizability and Android app support of Android TV, go with the Sony.

    See our review

Notable Mentions

  • LG 43UM7300PUA: The LG UM7300 is a good overall TV, but its viewing angles aren't as good as the Sony X800H. See our review
  • Samsung QN43LS03RAFXZA: Good TV with a unique design, but The Frame 2019 doesn't perform as well in dark rooms as the Vizio M7 Series Quantum 2019. See our review
  • Samsung QN43Q60TAFXZA: The Samsung Q60T QLED is a good entry-level QLED TV, but it can't remove judder from lower frame rate content like the Vizio M7 Series Quantum 2019. See our review

Recent Updates

03/20/2020: Replaced the LG UM7300 by the Sony X800H; added Samsung The Frame 2019, the LG UM7300, and the Samsung Q60T QLED to notable mentions.

02/21/2020: Minor text and structure changes, no change in recommendations.

01/22/2020: Only minor updates to the text and verification for accuracy; updated Notable Mentions to reflect current availability.

12/23/2019: Replaced the Samsung Q60/Q60R with the Vizio M7 Series Quantum 2019 and made small changes to text for clarity.

11/29/2019: Confirmed the picks and made small changes to text for clarity.

All Reviews

Our recommendations above are what we think are currently the best 40 TVs to the best 43 inch TVs to buy for most people in each price range. We factor in the price (a cheaper TV wins over a pricier one if the difference isn't worth it), feedback from our visitors, and availability (no TVs that are difficult to find or almost out of stock everywhere).

If you would like to do the work of choosing yourself, here is the list of all our reviews of TVs that have a 40-42-43 inch size. Be careful not to get too caught up in the details. While no TV is perfect, most TVs are great enough to please almost everyone, and the differences are often not noticeable unless you really look for them.

LOG IN

JOIN RTINGS.com

Be part of the most informed community and take advantage of our advanced tools to find the best product for your needs.
Join our mailing list:
Become an insider

Unlimited access to full product reviews, test measurements and scores

test table UI

Product prices across the site on reviews, tables and tools

product prices UI

Additional votes for our
next reviews

Additional votes UI

Early Access
to our reviews and test measurements

Early Access UI

Create Discussion