Updated

The 6 Best 40-42-43 Inch TVs - Winter 2020
Reviews

Best 40-42-43 Inch TVs
245 Televisions Tested
  • Store-bought TVs; no cherry-picked units
  • Easily comparable results
  • No ads; unbiased reviews
  • Supported directly by you via insider access and when you purchase through our affiliate links
Learn more about our approach to product reviews here.

Although most manufacturers and buyers are focusing on larger TVs (see our recommendations for the best 55 inch TVs), there's still a lot of interest in smaller models. You won't find the most advanced, high-end models in these sizes, but there are still some very good TVs to choose from. Depending on your usage, a large monitor might also be a good choice. See our picks for the best 34 inch+ monitors.

We've tested more than 70 TVs in the last two years and below are our recommendations for the best TVs available in 40-43 inch sizes.


  1. Best 40-42-43 Inch TV: Vizio M437-G0

    Usage Ratings - Version 1.3
    8.0
    Mixed Usage
    7.9
    Movies
    7.5
    TV Shows
    7.7
    Sports
    8.6
    Video Games
    8.1
    HDR Movies
    8.6
    HDR Gaming
    8.3
    PC Monitor
    Type LED
    Sub-Type
    VA
    Resolution 4k

    The best 43 inch TV that we've tested to date is the Vizio M7 Series Quantum 2019 M437-G0. This TV is great for a wide variety of uses and offers incredible price-to-performance ratio in every size from 43" to 65". It has thin borders and a fairly premium look for the price, and it feels decently well made. It's an excellent TV for video games thanks to its remarkably low input lag and very fast response time. Its ability to properly display 4:4:4 chroma means it's even a great TV to use as a PC monitor.

    The picture quality is very impressive and it delivers deep uniform blacks and accurate colors out-of-the-box. While its HDR peak brightness is only decent, it still does a great job with HDR content thanks to its wide color gamut, deep blacks, and Dolby Vision support. It's also a good TV for sports thanks to its impressive response time and great reflection handling.

    Unfortunately, like most VA panel TVs, it doesn't have the widest viewing angles and is best suited for viewing from directly in front. Due to its small size, it's unlikely that you'll be using this TV for a large group of people, and it should be easy enough to watch it from directly in front. Overall, this TV offers an incredible price-to-performance ratio and is a great TV if you have space constraints or want something for a spare room or bedroom without sacrificing on picture quality and features.

    See our review

  2. Cheaper Alternative: Samsung UN43RU7100

    Type LED
    Sub-Type
    VA
    Resolution 4k

    If you find the Vizio M7 Series Quantum 2019 expensive, get the Samsung UN43RU7100, which is significantly cheaper. It can't get as bright as the other Samsung and doesn't have a wide color gamut. On the upside, it has a similar overall picture quality and runs the same smart interface with access to the same apps. Unfortunately, it isn't as bright, and it can't display a wide color gamut for HDR content. Fast-moving content has more blur due to the slower response time, but it has similarly excellent low input lag and supports the most common input formats.

    Overall, if you want the best TV in this category, get the Vizio; otherwise, the Samsung is a significantly less expensive alternative with a few compromises in performance that some people won't mind.

    See our review

  3. Alternative With Wide Viewing Angles: LG 43UM7300

    Type LED
    Sub-Type
    IPS
    Resolution 4k

    If wide viewing angles are important to you and you find that the Vizio M7 Series Quantum 2019 isn't performing well in this aspect, then check out the LG 43UM7300. You won't get the same blacks as the Samsung in a dark room, but the IPS panel ensures that the image will remain accurate for wide viewing angles, so you can move around while watching TV. Overall, the LG offers a decent picture quality and is more suitable for an average lit room. It runs the LG WebOS smart interface. It's a smooth and easy-to-use smart TV platform with access to LG's content store that offers a large selection of apps.

    If viewing angles are the most important thing to you, get the LG; otherwise, the best 43 inch TV is the Vizio.

    See our review

  4. Best 40-42-43 Inch TV For Smart Features: TCL 43S525

    Usage Ratings - Version 1.3
    7.5
    Mixed Usage
    7.1
    Movies
    7.3
    TV Shows
    7.0
    Sports
    8.4
    Video Games
    7.3
    HDR Movies
    8.1
    HDR Gaming
    8.1
    PC Monitor
    Type LED
    Sub-Type
    VA
    Resolution 4k

    The best 43 inch TV for smart features that we've tested to date is the TCL 5 Series 43S525. This TV's image quality isn't quite as good as our top pick due to its lack of features such as local dimming, but it uses Roku TV for its smart features, which is one of the most fluid and easy-to-use interfaces available. It does a decent job at handling reflections, and has a very good response time, making it decent for watching sports.

    It's a good TV for gaming thanks to its very low input lag, and it also supports 4:4:4 chroma if you want to use it as a PC monitor. Unfortunately, it can't get quite bright enough for HDR content to pop, though it does have a nice wide color gamut and Dolby Vision support. Luckily, it has a superb native contrast ratio and despite not having local dimming, it still delivers very deep and uniform blacks.

    Overall, this TV doesn't offer the greatest picture quality, but if you want something with a very easy-to-use and fluid smart interface, this is a great option that can be found at a very low price point. It's worth noting that the 50" and 55" versions are only marginally more expensive, and if you aren't limited by space, they offer even better value.

    See our review

  5. Cheaper Alternative: TCL 43S425

    Type LED
    Sub-Type
    VA
    Resolution 4k

    If you want to save some cash over the TCL 5 Series/S525 2019 and don't mind some small compromises in picture quality, check out the TCL 4 Series/43S425. It can't get as bright as the other TCL and can't remove 24p judder from all sources. It also lacks a motion interpolation feature, but on the upside, it has a faster response time and a lower input lag that make it a better choice for gaming or use as a PC monitor. When in a dark room, it displays deep blacks thanks to the high native contrast ratio.

    If you want better performance for a few bucks more, go with the TCL 43S525 as it offers better overall value, but if you want to save some cash but want the same smart features, then get the TCL 43S425.

    See our review

  6. Alternative With Android TV Interface: Sony XBR43X800G

    Type LED
    Sub-Type
    IPS
    Resolution 4k

    If you like the Android TV interface and find that the Roku TV interface is limiting, then get the Sony XBR43X800G. You won't get the deep blacks found on the TCL 5 Series/S525 2019, as this TV has an IPS panel instead of the VA panels found on TCLs. On the upside, the image remains accurate for wider angles on this TV and you can easily do chores while watching your favorite show. The TV can get fairly bright to fight glare and sports fans will appreciate the crisp motion. This TV runs the Android TV interface, giving you access to the Google Play Store, where you'll find the app you need.

    If you like the ease-of-use of the Roku smart interface, the TCL is the best option, but if you want the customizability and Android app support of Android TV, go with the Sony.

    See our review

Notable Mentions

  • Samsung QN43Q60R: The Q60 is a very good TV, one of the best in this category, but the Vizio M7 Series Quantum 2019 is better and cheaper. See our review
  • Samsung QN43LS03RA: The Frame 2019 is a very good TV with a special design to help it hide in plain sight; the Q60R is much cheaper and just as good. See our review
  • LG 43UK6300: The UK6300 is an average LED TV with wide viewing angles, but poor value compared to the cheaper TCL S525 and hard to find. See our review
  • Vizio V435-G0 : The Vizio V Series 2019 is a decent TV, but the TCL S425 has better smart features. See our review
  • TCL 43S325: The TCL 3 Series is a mediocre TV but quite cheap. Good choice for a secondary TV. See our review
  • TCL 40D100: Good basic LED TV without any smart features. Good if you already have an external TV box. See our review

All Reviews

Our recommendations above are what we think are currently the best 40 TVs to the best 43 inch TVs to buy for most people in each price range. We factor in the price (a cheaper TV wins over a pricier one if the difference isn't worth it), feedback from our visitors, and availability (no TVs that are difficult to find or almost out of stock everywhere).

If you would like to do the work of choosing yourself, here is the list of all our reviews of TVs that have a 40-42-43 inch size. Be careful not to get too caught up in the details. While no TV is perfect, most TVs are great enough to please almost everyone, and the differences are often not noticeable unless you really look for them.

Recent Updates

01/22/2020: Only minor updates to the text and verification for accuracy; updated Notable Mentions to reflect current availability.

12/23/2019: Replaced the Samsung Q60/Q60R with the Vizio M7 Series Quantum 2019 and made small changes to text for clarity.

11/29/2019: Confirmed the picks and made small changes to text for clarity.

LOG IN

JOIN RTINGS.com

Be part of the most informed community and take advantage of our advanced tools to find the best product for your needs.
Join our mailing list:
Become an insider

Unlimited access to full product reviews, test measurements and scores

test table UI

Product prices across the site on reviews, tables and tools

product prices UI

Additional votes for our
next reviews

Additional votes UI

Early Access
to our reviews and test measurements

Early Access UI

Create Discussion