Updated

The 5 Best 40-42-43 Inch TVs - Fall 2020
Reviews

Best 40-42-43 Inch TVs
277 Televisions Tested
  • Store-bought TVs; no cherry-picked units
  • Easily comparable results
  • No ads; unbiased reviews
  • Supported directly by you via insider access and when you purchase through our affiliate links
Learn more about our approach to product reviews here.

Although most manufacturers and buyers are focusing on larger TVs, there's still a lot of interest in smaller models. You likely won't find the most advanced, high-end options in these sizes, but there are still some very good TVs to choose from. If you are looking for a new TV and are considering a 40 inch model, you'll likely have many more options in the more common 43 inch range.

We've tested more than 100 TVs in the last two years, and below are our recommendations for the best TVs available in 40-42-43 inch sizes available for purchase. See our recommendations for the best 32 inch TVs, the best TVs, and the best 55 inch TVs.


  1. Best 40-42-43 Inch TV: Samsung QN43Q60TAFXZA

    7.3
    Mixed Usage
    7.2
    Movies
    7.6
    TV Shows
    7.2
    Sports
    7.7
    Video Games
    7.1
    HDR Movies
    7.3
    HDR Gaming
    7.3
    PC Monitor
    Type LED
    Sub-Type
    VA
    Resolution 4k

    The best 43 inch TV that we've tested so far is the Samsung QN43Q60TAFXZA. This entry-level QLED supports a 4k resolution and performs fairly well for most uses. It has minimal bezels around the screen and can properly display chroma 4:4:4, making it a decent choice to use as a computer monitor.

    It's a good choice for watching TV shows during the day thanks to its high peak brightness, and decent reflection handling. Despite not having a local dimming feature, the contrast and black uniformity are both excellent, and its remarkably low input lag ensures that games feel very responsive. It also has a wide color gamut, and its colors are very accurate out-of-the-box. Like with all new Samsung TVs, it uses Tizen OS for its smart features, which is easy to use and gives you a huge selection of apps.

    Unfortunately, it isn't the best choice if you watch a lot of HDR content, as its HDR peak brightness is mediocre. It also has a low response time, so you may notice some motion blur, and it doesn't support advanced gaming features like variable refresh rate (VRR) for a tear-free gaming experience. Overall, if your space is limited and you need a 43 inch TV, this is a good option.

    See our review

  2. Cheaper Alternative: Samsung UN43TU8000FXZA

    Type LED
    Sub-Type
    VA
    Resolution 4k

    If you want a cheaper option, look into the Samsung UN43TU8000FXZA. It's lower in the Samsung lineup than the Samsung Q60T QLED and can't display a wide color gamut, but it has a better response time, so there's less motion blur behind fast-moving objects. This TV also has outstanding dark room performance thanks to its VA panel, but it comes at the cost of disappointing viewing angles. Unfortunately, there's visible banding in areas of similar color, it doesn't get very bright, and it has some uniformity issues. However, the Tizen interface is easy to use, and there's a great selection of apps available in the app store.

    If you don't mind spending a bit more and want something with better overall picture quality, consider the Q60T, but if you want something cheaper that has better motion handling, look into the TU8000.

    See our review

  3. Best 40-42-43 Inch TV With Wide Viewing Angles: Sony XBR43X800H

    7.1
    Mixed Usage
    5.9
    Movies
    8.1
    TV Shows
    7.7
    Sports
    7.7
    Video Games
    6.0
    HDR Movies
    7.1
    HDR Gaming
    8.2
    PC Monitor
    Type LED
    Sub-Type
    IPS
    Resolution 4k

    The best 43 inch TV with wide viewing angles that we've tested so far is the Sony XBR43X800H. It uses an IPS panel, which gives you much better viewing angles than a VA panel; this is helpful if you often watch TV with a large group of people.

    This is a good option for sports and video games, thanks to its fast response time and very low input lag, ensuring minimal motion blur and responsive gaming. It can also get very bright, which helps reduce glare if you use it in a bright room with a lot of windows. It's also an alright option for HDR content thanks to its decently high HDR peak brightness, and its support for a wide color gamut. Like most Sony TVs, it uses Android TV for its smart interface, which gives you a ton of customization options and an incredibly wide range of available apps.

    Unfortunately, it doesn't have the best contrast, so blacks appear dark gray, and there's also noticeable backlight bleed, though these things are to be expected from an IPS TV. It's also worth noting that while we tested the 55 inch model that has direct backlighting, the 43 inch model is edge-lit, which may affect its uniformity score. That said, if you need something with wide viewing angles, this is the best 43 inch TV with wide viewing angles we've reviewed until now.

    See our review

  4. Best 40-42-43 Inch TV For Smart Features: TCL 43S525

    7.1
    Mixed Usage
    7.0
    Movies
    7.2
    TV Shows
    6.8
    Sports
    7.6
    Video Games
    6.8
    HDR Movies
    7.2
    HDR Gaming
    7.4
    PC Monitor
    Type LED
    Sub-Type
    VA
    Resolution 4k

    The best 43 inch TV with smart features we've tested so far is the TCL 5 Series/43S525 2019. It's a budget-friendly model that offers decent overall performance, and the built-in Roku smart platform is really easy to use with a great selection of apps available to download.

    This is a simple-looking model with limited features. However, its VA panel provides an outstanding contrast ratio, and it has great black uniformity, but sadly, it doesn't have a local dimming feature. It has great out-of-the-box color accuracy, which is important if you don't want to get it calibrated, and it displays a great wide color gamut for HDR content. Casual gamers should also appreciate its good response time and low input lag, but it doesn't have any VRR support.

    Unfortunately, it doesn't get very bright, so highlights don't pop the way they should in HDR. It also has narrow viewing angles, so it's not suggested for wide seating arrangements. However, it's able to remove judder from any source, which is rare for a 60Hz TV, and it helps with the appearance of motion. All in all, this is the best 43 inch 4k TV with smart features that we've seen so far.

    See our review

  5. Cheaper Alternative: TCL 43S425

    Type LED
    Sub-Type
    VA
    Resolution 4k

    If you want to save even more money, check out the TCL 43S425. It's a lower-end version of the TCL 5 Series/S525 2019 with a more moderate overall performance. Still, it displays deep blacks, has a great response time, and its input lag is really low. Unfortunately, it doesn't get bright, and it can't display a wide color gamut, so even though it supports HDR10, HDR content doesn't look all that much different from SDR content. Like the other TCL, this TV has built-in Roku, so you get the same easy-to-use interface with a bunch of apps that you can download.

    If you're looking for the best 43 inch smart TV, you can't go wrong with the 5 Series, but if you prefer something even cheaper, check out the 4 Series.

    See our review

Notable Mentions

  • Samsung QN43LS03TAFXZA: Samsung The Frame 2020 is a good TV with a unique design. It performs a bit better than the Samsung Q60T overall but is a lot more expensive. See our review
  • Vizio V405-G9: The Vizio V Series 2019 is a decent 40 inch TV, but it's not as good as the Samsung Q60T and its smart features aren't as good as the TCLs. See our review
  • Samsung UN43RU7100FXZA: The Samsung RU7100 is similar to the TU8000. The 43 inch model is discontinued but it's still available in a 50 inch model if you have space. See our review
  • Vizio M437-G0: The Vizio M7 Series Quantum 2019 is a good overall TV that performs slightly better than the Samsung Q60T and is cheaper, but the 43 inch model is hard to find. See our review

Recent Updates

08/24/2020: Updated text for clarity; no changes to recommendations. 

07/22/2020: Replaced the LG UM7300 with the Sony X800H as 'Best 40-42-43 Inch TV With Wide Viewing Angles' and removed the 'Android TV Alternative' category.

06/22/2020: Added the LG UM7300 to 'Wide Angle Alternative' and moved the Sony X800H to 'Android TV Alternative' to replace the Sony X800G.

05/19/2020: Replaced the Vizio M7 Series with the Samsung Q60T and the Samsung RU7100 with the TU8000.

03/20/2020: Replaced the LG UM7300 by the Sony X800H; added Samsung The Frame 2019, the LG UM7300, and the Samsung Q60T QLED to notable mentions.

All Reviews

Our recommendations above are what we think are currently the best 40 TVs to the best 43 inch TVs to buy for most people in each price range. We factor in the price (a cheaper TV wins over a pricier one if the difference isn't worth it), feedback from our visitors, and availability (no TVs that are difficult to find or almost out of stock everywhere).

If you would like to do the work of choosing yourself, here is the list of all our TV reviews. Be careful not to get too caught up in the details. While no TV is perfect, most TVs are great enough to please almost everyone, and the differences are often not noticeable unless you really look for them.

LOG IN

JOIN RTINGS.com

Be part of the most informed community and take advantage of our advanced tools to find the best product for your needs.
Join our mailing list:
Become an insider
EARLY ACCESS

Gain early access to all tests results for new products

Early Access UI
PRICES LISTED

Prices will now be listed directly in reviews and tables

product prices UI
MORE VOTES

Have 5 votes per product category to choose which product we’ll review next

Additional votes UI
UNLIMITED ACCESS

Gain unlimited access to detailed test results in tools and results (no blurred results)

test table UI

Create Post