Updated

The 6 Best 40-42-43 Inch TVs - Summer 2020
Reviews

Best 40-42-43 Inch TVs
259 Televisions Tested
  • Store-bought TVs; no cherry-picked units
  • Easily comparable results
  • No ads; unbiased reviews
  • Supported directly by you via insider access and when you purchase through our affiliate links
Learn more about our approach to product reviews here.

Although most manufacturers and buyers are focusing on larger TVs there's still a lot of interest in smaller models. You won't find the most advanced, high-end models in these sizes, but there are still some very good TVs to choose from. Depending on your usage, a large monitor might also be a good choice.

We've tested more than 80 TVs in the last two years and below are our recommendations for the best TVs available in 40-42-43 inch sizes available for purchase. See our recommendations for the best 32 inch TVs, the best TVs, and the best 55 inch TVs.


  1. Best 40-42-43 Inch TV: Samsung QN43Q60TAFXZA

    7.2
    Mixed Usage
    6.7
    Movies
    7.6
    TV Shows
    7.2
    Sports
    7.6
    Video Games
    6.7
    HDR Movies
    7.2
    HDR Gaming
    7.3
    PC Monitor
    Type LED
    Sub-Type
    VA
    Resolution 4k

    The best 43 inch TV we've tested so far is the Samsung QN43Q60TAFXZA. It's an entry-level TV in Samsung's QLED lineup that has good overall performance and impressive out-of-the-box color accuracy.

    This TV uses a VA panel, so it has outstanding dark room performance thanks to its incredible contrast ratio and fantastic black uniformity. It can get bright and has decent reflection handling, so it still performs fairly well in moderately-lit rooms. It's a good choice for gaming with its incredibly low input lag and even though its response time is quite slow, it has a black frame insertion feature to help reduce motion blur. It also upscales lower resolution content really well with no visible artifacts.

    Unfortunately, it lacks features found on higher-end TVs. It doesn't have a local dimming feature, it can't remove judder, it doesn't support any variable refresh rate technology, and its refresh rate is limited to 60Hz. However, it supports proper chroma 4:4:4 at 4k if you want to use it as a computer monitor. Overall, this is the best 43 inch TV we've tested so far.

    See our review

  2. Cheaper Alternative: Samsung UN43TU8000FXZA

    Type LED
    Sub-Type
    VA
    Resolution 4k

    If you want something cheaper, look into the Samsung UN43TU8000FXZA. It's lower in the Samsung lineup than the Samsung Q60T QLED and can't display a wide color gamut, but it has a better response time, so there's less motion blur behind fast-moving objects. This TV also has outstanding dark room performance thanks to its VA panel, but that comes at the cost of its viewing angles, which are disappointing. Unfortunately, there's visible banding in areas of similar color, it doesn't get very bright, and it has some uniformity issues. However, the Tizen interface is easy to use and there's a great selection of apps available in the app store.

    If you want the best 43 inch TV we've tested so far, consider the Q60T, but if you want something cheaper, look into the TU8000.

    See our review

  3. Alternative With Wide Viewing Angles: LG 43UM7300PUA

    Type LED
    Sub-Type
    IPS
    Resolution 4k

    If you have a wide seating arrangement and want to see the same accurate image when viewing from the side, check out the LG 43UM7300PUA. It doesn't have nearly as good out-of-the-box color accuracy as the Samsung Q60T QLED but it has much better reflection handling if you want to place it in a bright room. It's a good gaming TV as it has a good response time and a really low input lag, but it doesn't have any VRR support. Unfortunately, HDR content doesn't look good on this TV as it can't display a wide color gamut and it doesn't get bright enough to bring out highlights. However, LG's WebOS interface is very easy to use and the app store has a great selection of apps available.

    Overall, if you want the best 43 inch 4k TV we've tested so far, the Samsung is a good choice, but if you prefer a TV with wider viewing angles, check out the LG.

    See our review

  4. Best 40-42-43 Inch TV For Smart Features: TCL 43S525

    7.1
    Mixed Usage
    7.0
    Movies
    7.2
    TV Shows
    6.8
    Sports
    7.6
    Video Games
    6.8
    HDR Movies
    7.2
    HDR Gaming
    7.4
    PC Monitor
    Type LED
    Sub-Type
    VA
    Resolution 4k

    The best 43 inch TV with smart features that we've tested so far is the TCL 5 Series/43S525 2019. It's a decent overall TV that should please most people looking for a user-friendly TV and it won't dig deep into your wallet either. The TCL has built-in Roku as its operating system, which is easy to use and has a great selection of apps available to download.

    The picture quality on this TV is good for a budget-friendly TV. It has a VA panel, so it has an outstanding contrast ratio and great black uniformity, making it a great choice for dark room viewing. It has great out-of-the-box color accuracy, so you won't have to pay extra to get it calibrated, it upscales lower resolution content properly, and it can remove judder from any source, such as Blu-ray players or native apps, which helps with the appearance of motion. If you also want to game on this TV, it has a good response time and an incredibly low input lag.

    Unfortunately, even though this TV displays a great wide color gamut for HDR content, it can't get bright enough in that mode to bring out highlights. Also, the viewing angles are narrow, so it's not ideal for a wide seating arrangement. Regardless, this TV is still the best 43 inch smart TV we've tested so far.

    See our review

  5. Cheaper Alternative: TCL 43S425

    Type LED
    Sub-Type
    VA
    Resolution 4k

    If you find the TCL 5 Series/S525 2019 a bit too expensive, then look into the TCL 43S425. It's a slight downgrade in terms of picture quality, as it can't get as bright and color accuracy isn't as good. It actually has better reflection handling than its sibling, and its response time is slightly faster, resulting in very little motion blur in fast-moving scenes. Input lag is outstanding, making this a good TV for gaming, although its refresh rate is still limited to 60Hz and there's no FreeSync support. Best of all, this TV runs on the same great Roku OS, which is very user-friendly and has tons of apps.

    If you want a better picture quality and you don't mind spending a bit more, consider the 5 Series, but if you're okay with some minor compromises, the 4 Series is a good alternative that won't break the bank.

    See our review

  6. Alternative With Android Interface: Sony XBR43X800H

    Type LED
    Sub-Type
    IPS
    Resolution 4k

    If you prefer an Android TV, check out the Sony XBR43X800H. It can't display deep blacks like the TCL 5 Series/S525 2019 but it has much wider viewing angles due to its IPS panel. The Android TV interface isn't as easy to use as Roku but it has a wider selection of apps available. This is a decent overall TV as it has excellent out-of-the-box color accuracy, great peak brightness, and a wide color gamut for HDR content. Unfortunately, it's fairly limited on extra features, as it doesn't have any VRR support, the refresh rate is 60Hz, and it can only remove judder from 24p sources and not 60p sources like cable boxes. On the upside, it has decent reflection handling and it shouldn't be a problem placing this TV in moderately-lit rooms.

    If you want the best 43 inch smart TV, check out the TCL, but if you prefer a TV with an Android interface, the Sony is a good alternative.

    See our review

Notable Mentions

  • Samsung QN43LS03TAFXZA: Good TV with a unique design, but The Frame 2020 is much more expensive than the Q60T. See our review
  • Vizio V405-G9: The Vizio V Series 2019 is a decent 40 inch TV, but it's not as good as the Q60T and its smart features aren't as good as the TCL. See our review
  • Samsung UN43RU7100FXZA: The RU7100 is similar to the TU8000. The 43 inch model is discontinued but it's still available in a 50 inch model if you have space. See our review
  • Vizio M437-G0: The Vizio is a good overall TV but the 43 inch variant is hard to find. See our review

Recent Updates

06/22/2020: Added the LG UM7300 to 'Wide Angle Alternative' and moved the Sony X800H to 'Android TV Alternative' to replace the Sony X800G.

05/19/2020: Replaced the Vizio M7 Series with the Samsung Q60T and the Samsung RU7100 with the TU8000.

03/20/2020: Replaced the LG UM7300 by the Sony X800H; added Samsung The Frame 2019, the LG UM7300, and the Samsung Q60T QLED to notable mentions.

12/23/2019: Replaced the Samsung Q60/Q60R with the Vizio M7 Series Quantum 2019.

All Reviews

Our recommendations above are what we think are currently the best 40 TVs to the best 43 inch TVs to buy for most people in each price range. We factor in the price (a cheaper TV wins over a pricier one if the difference isn't worth it), feedback from our visitors, and availability (no TVs that are difficult to find or almost out of stock everywhere).

If you would like to do the work of choosing yourself, here is the list of all our reviews of TVs that have a 40-42-43 inch size. Be careful not to get too caught up in the details. While no TV is perfect, most TVs are great enough to please almost everyone, and the differences are often not noticeable unless you really look for them.

LOG IN

JOIN RTINGS.com

Be part of the most informed community and take advantage of our advanced tools to find the best product for your needs.
Join our mailing list:
Become an insider
EARLY ACCESS

Gain early access to all tests results for new products

Early Access UI
PRICES LISTED

Prices will now be listed directly in reviews and tables

product prices UI
MORE VOTES

Have 5 votes per product category to chose which product we’ll review next

Additional votes UI
UNLIMITED ACCESS

Gain unlimited access to detailed test results in tools and results (no blurred results)

test table UI

Create Discussion