The 6 Best 70-75-77 Inch TVs - Spring 2021 Reviews

Updated
Best 70-75-77 Inch TVs
304 Televisions Tested
  • Store-bought TVs; no cherry-picked units
  • Easily comparable results
  • No ads; unbiased reviews
  • Supported directly by you via insider access and when you purchase through our affiliate links
Learn more about our approach to product reviews here.

Large TVs are becoming increasingly popular, with manufacturers releasing more models in the 70-75-77 inch range. The older models in these sizes are becoming cheaper, while the newer ones are now the flagships of each manufacturer. LG and Sony usually release their new OLED TVs in a 77 inch size; however, they're very expensive. It's easier to find the best 75 inch TV rather than the best 70 inch TV because most manufacturers are releasing models with 75 or 77 inch variants and not 70 inches.

We've tested over 80 TVs in the last two years, and below are our recommendations for the best 70 inch TVs, the best 75 inch TVs, and the best 77 inch TVs to buy. Also, check out our recommendations for the best TVs, the best 65 inch TVs, or if you want something even larger, the best 80-82-85 inch TVs.


  1. Best 70-75-77 Inch OLED TV: LG OLED77CXPUA

    8.8
    Mixed Usage
    9.3
    Movies
    8.2
    TV Shows
    8.6
    Sports
    9.2
    Video Games
    8.7
    HDR Movies
    9.0
    HDR Gaming
    8.7
    PC Monitor
    Type OLED
    Sub-Type
    WRGB
    Resolution 4k

    The best OLED TV we've tested in a larger size is the LG OLED77CXPUA. This 77 inch model delivers the stunning picture quality that you'd expect from an OLED panel TV thanks to its ability to turn off pixels individually, resulting in an infinite contrast ratio and perfect black levels. It also has great wide viewing angles, so the image doesn't look washed out from the sides.

    The webOS interface is smooth and easy to use, with a wide selection of apps for all your TV show and movie needs. It upscales lower resolution content well, and it can remove 24p judder from any source. Because of the OLED technology, it also has a near-instantaneous response time, resulting in clear motion in fast-moving content like sports or video games. Gamers should be pleased with all of its high-end gaming features, including four HDMI 2.1 ports to display a 4k @ 120Hz signal, variable refresh rate (VRR) support, and an auto low latency mode. Finally, the input lag is remarkably low, so gaming feels responsive.

    Unfortunately, like every OLED, this TV comes with a risk of permanent burn-in, but this shouldn't be an issue if you watch varied content. It also doesn't get too bright, so it may not be best suited to very well-lit rooms, but it does have fantastic reflection handling, so glare shouldn't be a big issue. All in all, this is an amazing TV that most people should be happy with, making it the best 77 inch OLED TV that we've tested.

    See our review

  2. Best 70-75-77 Inch LED TV: Samsung QN75Q80TAFXZA

    8.3
    Mixed Usage
    8.1
    Movies
    8.4
    TV Shows
    8.4
    Sports
    8.5
    Video Games
    7.9
    HDR Movies
    8.3
    HDR Gaming
    8.8
    PC Monitor
    Type LED
    Sub-Type
    VA
    Resolution 4k

    The best 75 inch TV that we've tested with an LED panel is the Samsung QN75Q80TAFXZA. It's a premium model in Samsung's 2020 QLED lineup, and it's packed with features. It has impressive all-around performance and delivers excellent picture quality. Its VA panel has a great native contrast ratio that's further enhanced by full-array local dimming, allowing it to display deep blacks for a better dark room viewing experience. It also performs well in bright rooms because it has remarkable reflection handling and great peak brightness.

    With the addition of Samsung's 'Ultra Viewing Angle' layer, the viewing angles are pretty decent, making it suitable for fairly wide rooms. It's one of the best gaming TVs we've tested, as it has low input lag, a 120Hz refresh rate, and excellent response times. On top of that, it has FreeSync support and G-SYNC compatibility to reduce screen tearing. It has HDMI 2.1 ports, which is great for new consoles like the Xbox Series X and PS5.

    Sadly, our unit has some visible dirty screen effect in the center, but this may vary between units. On the upside, it displays a wide color gamut for HDR content and gets bright enough to make highlights pop. It also removes 24p judder from any source and upscales lower-resolution content without any issues. Overall, this is the best 75 inch TV if you're in the market for an LED model.

    See our review

  3. Best 70-75-77 Inch TV For HDR: Vizio P75QX-H1

    8.3
    Mixed Usage
    8.5
    Movies
    8.0
    TV Shows
    7.9
    Sports
    8.7
    Video Games
    8.6
    HDR Movies
    8.6
    HDR Gaming
    8.0
    PC Monitor
    Type LED
    Sub-Type
    VA
    Resolution 4k

    The best 75 inch TV for watching HDR content that we've tested is the Vizio P75QX-H1. It's an excellent and versatile model that's well-suited for nearly every type of content, but especially for HDR, as it's one of the brightest TVs we've tested. It has impressive build quality, with a simple design that fits easily into most settings. Images look washed out when viewed from the side due to its sub-par viewing angles, so it isn't ideal for wide seating arrangements.

    It has a high native contrast ratio and a full-array local dimming feature, which means it can display deep blacks for a great dark room viewing experience. It has exceptional coverage of the DCI P3 color space, and it gets more than bright enough to make highlights pop. Color accuracy is mediocre out-of-the-box, so you may want to calibrate it if you want accurate color reproduction. Fast-moving scenes look clear thanks to its quick response time and Black Frame Insertion feature.

    If you want to game on it, it has a very low input lag, VRR support, and HDMI 2.1 ports. However, there are some issues with displaying a 4k @ 120Hz signal from a PS5, which needs to be fixed through a firmware update. That said, it works properly with the Xbox Series X. Lastly, it doesn't upscale lower resolution content as well as other 4k TVs on the market. Nonetheless, if you're only looking for a fantastic HDR experience, this one is worth checking out.

    See our review

  4. Alternative With Better Color Accuracy: Sony XBR75X950H

    Type LED
    Sub-Type
    VA
    Resolution 4k

    If you prefer a TV that you don't necessarily need to calibrate, check out the Sony XBR75X950H. It doesn't get quite as bright as the Vizio P Series Quantum X 2020, but it has wider viewing angles and much better out-of-the-box color accuracy. Overall, the two TVs perform very similarly, so the Sony still delivers a satisfying HDR experience thanks to its wide color gamut and high HDR brightness. It performs well in the dark since it has a great contrast ratio, although it's not as high as other VA panels because of Sony's 'X-Wide Angle' layer, which improves viewing angles at the expense of contrast. Also, it doesn't support VRR and lacks HDMI 2.1 ports.

    If you want a TV with a high contrast ratio and exceptional HDR brightness, get the Vizio, but if you're looking for an alternative with better color accuracy, consider the Sony.

    See our review

  5. Best Budget 70-75-77 Inch TV: Hisense 75H8G

    7.8
    Mixed Usage
    8.0
    Movies
    7.6
    TV Shows
    7.5
    Sports
    7.9
    Video Games
    7.8
    HDR Movies
    7.7
    HDR Gaming
    7.7
    PC Monitor
    Type LED
    Sub-Type
    VA
    Resolution 4k

    The Hisense 75H8G is the best 75 inch 4k TV in the budget category that we've tested. It has decent build quality, with a simple and minimalist design that fits well into most settings. Its VA panel's high contrast ratio allows it to display deep blacks, and it has full-array local dimming to further improve black level, making it well-suited for dark room viewing. Visibility shouldn't be an issue in brightly-lit rooms thanks to its high peak brightness.

    Motion handling is good. It has quick response times and a Black Frame Insertion feature, resulting in clear images in fast-moving scenes. The refresh rate is limited to 60Hz, though, which might disappoint some gamers. Also, it doesn't support any variable refresh rate technologies to reduce screen tearing. On the plus side, its input lag is incredibly low, and it remains so even when gaming in HDR. Speaking of HDR, it has an outstanding color gamut and gets reasonably bright, though not bright enough for a true cinematic HDR experience.

    It runs on Android TV. It's fairly easy to use, and there are tons of apps available through the Google Play Store. There's also a dedicated button to summon the Google Assistant should you need help finding content. Unfortunately, it has narrow viewing angles, which is expected of a VA panel, so it isn't ideal for wide seating areas. Nonetheless, it's a good budget TV that most people should be happy with.

    See our review

  6. Roku Alternative: TCL 75S535

    Type LED
    Sub-Type
    VA
    Resolution 4k

    If you're already familiar with Roku and want to stick with it, then check out the TCL 5 Series/S535 2020 QLED. It's very similar to the Hisense H8G, but it runs on Roku instead of Android TV. The Roku interface is much more user-friendly and has nearly as many apps available. It has a better contrast ratio to display deeper blacks and faster response times to deliver clearer motion. Unfortunately, while it has an outstanding color gamut for HDR, it doesn't get very bright, so highlights don't pop the way they should. Also, its low peak brightness can be an issue in well-lit rooms, as it might not be able to overcome intense glare.

    Overall, the Hisense and the TCL are very similar TVs. The main differences between them come down to the interface and peak brightness. If you tend to watch TV in a bright room, then it's better to go with the Hisense. However, if you prefer a Roku interface and don't mind compromising slightly, then go with the TCL.

    See our review

Notable Mentions

  • LG OLED77GXPUA: The LG GX is very similar to the LG CX OLED but differs in its 'Gallery' design. It comes with a no-gap wall-mount and is meant to look like a work of art on your wall. Given the similar performance, though, it's not worth the price difference. See our review
  • Samsung QN75Q90TAFXZA: The Samsung Q90/Q90T QLED gets much brighter than the Samsung Q80T, but overall they perform similarly and have many of the same features, so it's not worth the price difference. See our review
  • TCL 75R635: The TCL 6 Series/R635 2020 QLED is better and more expensive than the TCL 5 Series/S535 2020 QLED, but it may be out-of-budget. See our review
  • Sony XBR75X900H: The Sony X900H is cheaper than the Sony X950H, but it doesn't get as bright, especially when it comes to HDR. That said, the X900H has HDMI 2.1 ports and is supposed to receive VRR support in an upcoming firmware update, so it may be a better option for gamers. See our review
  • Samsung UN75TU8000FXZA: The Samsung TU8000 is cheaper than the Hisense H8G, but it doesn't provide a wide color gamut for HDR content. Overall, the Hisense offers better value for a similar price. See our review
  • LG 75NANO90UNA: The LG NANO90 is a good all-around TV with wide viewing angles, so it's great for wide seating arrangements if that's what you're looking for. See our review
  • Vizio P75Q9-H1: The Vizio P Series Quantum 2020 is lower-end than the Vizio P Series Quantum X 2020, so it may be a good cheaper alternative, but it doesn't get as bright and may have some uniformity issues. See our review
  • Samsung QN75Q60TAFXZA: The Samsung Q60/Q60T QLED is a decent QLED TV, but both the Hisense H8G and the TCL 5 Series/S535 2020 QLED offer better value for this price range. See our review
  • Samsung QN75QN90AAFXZA: The Samsung QN90A QLED performs better than the Samsung Q80/Q80T QLED overall, but it's also significantly more expensive. See our review

Recent Updates

  1. Apr 02, 2021: Verified accuracy of picks. No change in recommendations.

  2. Mar 03, 2021: Reviewed text for accuracy; no change in recommendations.

  3. Feb 12, 2021: Verified picks and updated text for clarity.

  4. Jan 15, 2021: Minor text and structure changes; no change in recommendations.

  5. Nov 26, 2020: Added the Vizio P Series Quantum X 2020 and moved the Sony X950H to alternate pick; renamed the LG CX to 'Best OLED' and the Samsung Q80T to 'Best LED'.

  6. Oct 02, 2020: Replaced the Samsung TU8000 with the TCL 5 Series 2020 and renamed to 'Roku Alternative'; removed the Vizio P Series Quantum X 2019 and moved the Samsung Q80T QLED to its spot.

  7. Jul 10, 2020: Added the LG CX OLED, Sony X950H, Samsung Q80T, and Hisense H8G; removed the LG B9, Samsung Q80R, Sony X950G, Samsung Q80R, and the Sony X800H.

All Reviews

Our recommendations above are what we think are currently the best 70-75-77 inch 4k TVs to buy for most people in each price range. We factor in the price (a cheaper TV wins over a pricier one if the difference isn't really worth it), feedback from our visitors, and availability (no TVs that are difficult to find or almost out of stock everywhere).

If you would like to do the work of choosing yourself, here is the list of all our reviews of 70-75-77 inch TVs. Be careful not to get too caught up in the details. While no TV is perfect, most TVs are great enough to please almost everyone, and the differences are often not noticeable unless you really look for them.

Discussions