COVID-19: the government of Quebec is shutting down non-essential businesses till April 13. Therefore, our lab is temporarily closed and we can't test new products. In the meantime, we will continue to update articles from home.
Updated

The 8 Best 70-75-77 Inch TVs - Spring 2020
Reviews

Best 70-75-77 Inch TVs
249 Televisions Tested
  • Store-bought TVs; no cherry-picked units
  • Easily comparable results
  • No ads; unbiased reviews
  • Supported directly by you via insider access and when you purchase through our affiliate links
Learn more about our approach to product reviews here.

Large TVs are becoming increasingly popular, with manufacturers releasing more models in the 70-75-77 inch range. The older models in these sizes are becoming cheaper, while the newer ones are now the flagships of each manufacturer. LG and Sony usually release their new OLED TVs in a 77 inch size, and they are very expensive.

We've tested more than 70 TVs in the last two years and below are our recommendations for the best 70-75-77 inch TVs to buy in 2020. See also our recommendations for the best TVs, the best 65 inch TVs, and the best 80-82-85 inch TVs.


  1. Best 70-75-77 Inch TV: LG OLED77C9PUA

    Test Methodology v1.4
    9.0
    Mixed Usage
    9.3
    Movies
    8.5
    TV Shows
    8.8
    Sports
    9.4
    Video Games
    9.0
    HDR Movies
    9.1
    HDR Gaming
    8.9
    PC Monitor
    Type OLED
    Sub-Type
    WRGB
    Resolution 4k

    The best 77 inch TV is the LG OLED77C9PUA. This is a superb TV with outstanding picture quality and tons of features to satisfy even the most demanding enthusiasts. It can produce deep, inky blacks due to its ability to turn individual pixels off, and it has very good peak brightness and reflection handling, making this TV good for both bright and dark rooms. It also supports a wide color gamut, which helps to produce vivid and saturated colors in HDR content. For gamers, this TV has excellent low input lag, an almost instantaneous response time, and support for FreeSync variable refresh rate technology. Additionally, LG has recently certified this TV as being G-SYNC compatible, for those using an NVIDIA graphics card.

    There are downsides to OLED technology, though; mainly the issue of temporary image retention and permanent burn-in. While the risks are low with normal varied use, it can happen if you tend to watch the same programming with static channel logos or have long gaming sessions with the user interface being always in the same place.

    All in all, this is a fantastic TV with superb performance and should be at the top of the list for anyone looking for TVs over 70 inches.

    See our review

  2. LED Alternative: Vizio PX75-G1

    Type LED
    Sub-Type
    VA
    Resolution 4k

    If you don't want the hassle of dealing with burn-in, consider the Vizio P Series Quantum X 2019 PX75-G1. Although you won't get the same black levels as the LG C9 OLED, this TV has a superb contrast ratio nonetheless, which is also helped by the full array local dimming feature. It has one of the best color gamuts we've tested so far and the TV can get incredibly bright, making HDR content a truly enjoyable experience. Motion handling and input lag are exceptional, but unfortunately, it doesn't support any variable refresh rate technology.

    If you're looking for the best picture quality you can get, the LG is still a better choice overall, but if you're concerned about burn-in, go with the Vizio.

    See our review

  3. Ultra Viewing Angle Alternative: Samsung QN75Q80RAFXZA

    Type LED
    Sub-Type
    VA
    Resolution 4k

    If you want an LED TV because you want to avoid the possibility of burn-in on the LG C9 OLED but find that the Vizio P Series Quantum X 2019 doesn't have the wide viewing angles you want, get the Samsung QN75Q80RAFXZA. It's a remarkable TV with remarkable dark room performance and excellent peak brightness. It's a VA panel with no burn-in risk that incorporates the new 'Ultra Viewing Angle' technology that improves viewing angles at the expense of contrast ratio. It has exceptional motion handling thanks to its very fast response time that delivers crisp motion. It has low input lag and comes loaded with some great gaming features.

    Overall, if you don't care about burn-in, get the LG; otherwise, the Samsung delivers excellent overall performance without the perfect blacks found on an OLED.

    See our review

  4. Best 70-75-77 Inch TV For Color Accuracy: Sony XBR75X900F

    Test Methodology v1.4
    8.3
    Mixed Usage
    8.4
    Movies
    8.1
    TV Shows
    8.0
    Sports
    8.5
    Video Games
    8.3
    HDR Movies
    8.5
    HDR Gaming
    8.5
    PC Monitor
    Type LED
    Sub-Type
    VA
    Resolution 4k

    The TV with the best color accuracy out of the box is the Sony XBR75X900F. This TV is packed with tons of features to give you an enjoyable experience regardless of the type of content you watch. Its VA panel can produce deep, uniform blacks suitable for dark room viewing, and it has excellent reflection handling and outstanding peak brightness to overcome glare in a brightly-lit room. Its response time is exceptionally low, and it has a low input lag for a responsive gaming experience, though it may be a tad high for competitive gaming. Unfortunately, it doesn't support any variable refresh rate technology to reduce screen tearing, which may be disappointing for some. Additionally, viewing angles are sub-par, but that's to be expected of most TVs with a VA panel.

    As this is an Android TV, you have access to the immense Google Play Store, where you can find nearly everything that you need. The downside is that there are ads and suggested content on its home page, and the user interface can be a little laggy at times. This TV also has the Google Assistant built-in, so you can use it to control the TV, search for content, or even ask for information such as current weather conditions.

    If you care about color accuracy but don't want to pay for an expensive calibration, you should check out this TV.

    See our review

  5. Alternative For Gaming: Samsung QN75Q70RAFXZA

    Type LED
    Sub-Type
    VA
    Resolution 4k

    If you need a TV with lower input lag and advanced gaming features like variable refresh rate, take a look at the Samsung Q70/QN75Q70RAFXZA QLED. Like the Sony X900F, it has a great VA panel that can produce inky blacks and a low response time that keeps motion blur to a minimum. Although it can't get as bright, this TV can still provide an incredible HDR experience, with vibrant, saturated colors and highlights that pop. Its full array local dimming performs decently well, though you may notice some blooming in dark scenes with specular highlights and with subtitles as well. If you're gaming on a console like the Xbox One, the TV will automatically switch to its low latency mode, which will save you the hassle doing it manually. Like all Samsung TVs, it runs on Tizen, which is smooth and easy to use, though there are still ads on its home page.

    Overall, if you care more about color accuracy, you go with the Sony, but if gaming is a priority, then the Samsung is a better choice.

    See our review

  6. Best Budget 70-75-77 Inch TV: Vizio E70-F3

    Test Methodology v1.4
    7.7
    Mixed Usage
    7.5
    Movies
    7.4
    TV Shows
    7.4
    Sports
    8.4
    Video Games
    7.5
    HDR Movies
    8.1
    HDR Gaming
    8.3
    PC Monitor
    Type LED
    Sub-Type
    VA
    Resolution 4k

    The best budget 70 inch TV is the Vizio E Series 2018 E70-F3. This TV is being replaced by the Vizio V Series 2019, but if you're still able to find one, it's worth it. This is an all-around good TV, with an excellent contrast ratio and black uniformity thanks to its VA panel. Blacks look amazing in the dark and it has a local dimming feature as well, though the latter performs rather poorly. This TV's peak brightness and reflection handling are both good, so you shouldn't have any issues viewing in a bright room; however, its viewing angles are poor, but that's expected of most VA panels.

    Out of the box, this TV has good color accuracy, but it doesn't support a wide color gamut, which may be disappointing for those looking for a great HDR experience. Motion blur is very minimal due to the TV's fast response time, and there's an optional black frame insertion feature to help clear up the image. Its input lag is low enough for casual gaming, but it may be a tad too high for competitive gamers; furthermore, there's no support for variable refresh rate and the panel is limited to 60Hz.

    If you're shopping for a 70 inch TV on a limited budget, this one is worth checking out.

    See our review

  7. Larger Alternative: Samsung UN75RU7100FXZA

    Type LED
    Sub-Type
    VA
    Resolution 4k

    If the Vizio E Series 2018 is still a bit too small, take a look at the Samsung UN75RU7100FXZA. The main drawback of this TV is its low peak brightness, so it's better suited for dark rooms. Other than that, this TV has a lot to offer, such as its superb contrast ratio, excellent black uniformity, and impressive out-of-the-box color accuracy. In fast-moving scenes, motion blur is minimal due to the TV's fast response time; and although there's a black frame insertion feature, the backlight's flickering can cause duplication of the image. The TV's low input lag makes gaming feel extremely responsive, and it can display chroma 4:4:4 properly if you want to use it as a large monitor.

    Overall, the Vizio is a better choice for most people, but for a larger screen, go with the Samsung.

    See our review

  8. Alternative For Wide Seating Arrangements: LG 75UM6970PUA

    Type LED
    Sub-Type
    IPS
    Resolution "4k"

    If you have wide sitting arrangements, the Vizio E Series 2018's narrow viewing angles may not be suitable; if that's the case, then go with the LG 75UM6970PUA. It has an IPS panel, so images don't appear washed out when viewed from the side, which is great for watching a big game with friends or for some co-op gaming. Unfortunately, there are disadvantages with IPS panels, as contrast ratio is sub-par and black uniformity is poor, making blacks look gray. The TV's peak brightness can be an issue as well if you're planning on using it in a bright room, but on the upside, it has an impressive response time and a remarkably low input lag.

    If viewing angles aren't an issue, then go with the Vizio; otherwise, the LG is a better choice, though there are a few compromises.

    See our review

Notable Mentions

  • LG OLED77C8: The LG C8 OLED is an excellent TV, but not easy to find. Get this over the C9 if you find it at a much cheaper price. See our review
  • Samsung QN75Q900RAFXZA: The Samsung Q900R is an excellent 8k TV, but the Samsung Q80R is a better deal. See our review
  • Samsung QN75Q90RAFXZA: The Samsung Q90R is an excellent TV equipped with the One Connect Box, but the QN75Q80R is a better value. See our review
  • Sony XBR75Z9F: The Sony Z9F is a very good TV, but the Q80R is better and cheaper. See our review
  • Sony XBR75X950G: The Sony X950G is a great TV with a VA panel and 'X-Wide-Angle' technology, but not worth the extra cash over the X900F. See our review
  • Samsung UN75NU8000: The Samsung NU8000 is a great TV, overall better than the RU8000, but harder to find. Get this if you can still find it. See our review
  • Vizio P75-F1: The Vizio P Series 2018 is a great TV, overall better than the Samsung RU8000. Get this if you don't care about the Samsung gaming goodies. See our review
  • TCL 75R617: The TCL 6 Series 2018 is a very good TV with deep blacks. Get this over the LG UK6570 if you sit straight in front. See our review
  • Samsung UN75RU8000FXZA: The Samsung RU8000 is a good TV with great gaming features. Get this over the Q70R for a more budget gaming alternative. See our review
  • LG 75UK6570: The LG UK6570 is a good TV that's becoming hard to find. Get this over the Sony XBR75X800G if you find it. See our review

All Reviews

Our recommendations above are what we think are currently the best 70-75-77 inch 4k TVs to buy for most people in each price range. We factor in the price (a cheaper TV wins over a pricier one if the difference isn't really worth it), feedback from our visitors, and availability (no TVs that are difficult to find or almost out of stock everywhere).

If you would like to do the work of choosing yourself, here is the list of all our reviews of TVs that have a 70 or 75 or 77 inch size. Be careful not to get too caught up in the details. While no TV is perfect, most TVs are great enough to please almost everyone, and the differences are often not noticeable unless you really look for them.

Recent Updates

03/04/2020: Minor text and structure changes, no change in recommendations.

12/06/2019: Replaced the LG OLED77C8 with the LG OLED77C9, the TCL 4 Series 2019 (75S425) with the Samsung 75RU7100, and the Sony X800G (XBR75X800G) with the LG UM70UM6970. Changed some text to improve clarity.

11/06/2019: Replaced the LG 75UK6570 with the Sony XBR75X800G and changed some text for clarity.

LOG IN

JOIN RTINGS.com

Be part of the most informed community and take advantage of our advanced tools to find the best product for your needs.
Join our mailing list:
Become an insider

Unlimited access to full product reviews, test measurements and scores

test table UI

Product prices across the site on reviews, tables and tools

product prices UI

Additional votes for our
next reviews

Additional votes UI

Early Access
to our reviews and test measurements

Early Access UI

Create Discussion