Your browser is not supported or outdated so some features of the site might not be available.
To try to better understand how long a TV should last, we're running 100 TVs through an accelerated longevity test for the next two years. Learn more about our latest findings with our latest video, which has been posted to our new RTINGS com R&D channel.

The 6 Best 70-75-77 Inch TVs - Spring 2023 Reviews

Updated
Best 70-75-77 Inch TVs

Large TVs are becoming increasingly popular, with manufacturers releasing more models in the 70 to 77-inch range. LG and Sony usually release OLED TVs in a 77-inch size, but you won't find any LED TVs in that exact size. It's easier to find the best 75-inch TV with an LED panel than the best 70-inch TV because there aren't many 70-inch TVs available, and they're usually cheaper. Looking for the right TV for your needs depends on your budget and what you're going to watch, and there's no perfect solution for everyone. Not sure what size you should get? Check out our TV Size to Distance Calculator to help decide if a 75-inch TV is right for you.

We've bought and tested more than 385 TVs, and below are our recommendations for the best 70-75-77-inch TVs to buy. Also, check out our picks for the best TVs, the best 65-inch TVs, or the best 80-83-85-inch TVs if you want something bigger. Brands have started releasing their 2023 lineups, so vote on which ones you want us to buy and test. To learn more about the 2023 models, check out our 2023 TV lineup page.


  1. Best 77-Inch TV

    The best 77-inch TV we've tested is the 77-inch Samsung S95C OLED, or QN77S95CAFXZA. This TV delivers impressive picture quality, with an incredibly wide color gamut in HDR and bright, vibrant highlights. It looks amazing in a dark room thanks to its nearly-infinite contrast ratio, so there's no distracting blooming or halo effect around bright areas of dark scenes or subtitles. It stands out against the LG C2 OLED, and even the LG G3 OLED, thanks to its brighter colors, which are more vivid and lifelike, and it can display a wider range of colors in HDR.

    It's a well-rounded TV overall that also delivers fantastic gaming performance. It has very low input lag, ensuring a smooth, responsive gaming experience, and like all OLED TVs, its nearly-instantaneous response time results in crystal-clear motion with almost no noticeable blur behind fast-moving objects. It also has a great selection of gaming features, including variable refresh rate support and HDMI 2.1 bandwidth, so you can take full advantage of the new-gen gaming consoles.

    See our review

  2. Best Upper Mid-Range 75-Inch TV

    If you want amazing picture quality but aren't necessarily in a completely dark room, then a Mini LED TV like the Samsung QN75QN90BAFXZA, also known as the Samsung QN90B QLED, is the best 75-inch TV that you can get. While the Samsung S95C OLED performs best in dark environments, this TV is exceptional in well-lit rooms because it uses Mini LED backlighting to get bright and sustain its brightness even in very bright scenes. Its brightness also allows it to overcome glare from bright light sources easily. If that isn't enough, it also has fantastic reflection handling, so you don't have to worry about glare in a bright room.

    It has a high native contrast ratio, and its great local dimming feature helps further improve its picture quality in dark scenes, albeit at the cost of noticeable blooming around bright objects. It has an impressive selection of gaming features, including HDMI 2.1 bandwidth for PC, Xbox Series X, or PS5 gamers, and it's even compatible with Xbox Cloud Gaming, so you can enjoy the latest Xbox games without paying for an expensive console. Samsung has started to roll out its 2023 lineup, including the updated version of this TV, the Samsung QN90C/QN90CD QLED, so it might be hard to find the QN90B.

    See our review

  3. Best Mid-Range 77-Inch TV

    The best mid-range 77-inch TV is the LG OLED77C2PUA, commonly known as the LG C2 OLED. It's a fantastic TV with stunning picture quality. It's an incredible TV for watching movies in a dark room thanks to its near-infinite contrast ratio, resulting in deep, inky blacks, with no distracting blooming around bright objects. HDR content looks incredible thanks to its wide color gamut, and bright highlights stand out.

    It gets bright enough for small highlights to stand out well, but colors and bright highlights are less bright and vivid than on the higher-end Samsung S95C OLED. The built-in webOS platform also makes streaming your favorite content easy, and it has no issues upscaling lower-resolution content if you watch DVDs, cable boxes, or Blu-rays. It's also a great choice for wide seating areas as the wide viewing angle makes the image look consistent from the sides, so everyone sees the same image.

    See our review

  4. Best Lower Mid-Range 75-Inch TV

    The best mid-range TV available in a 75-inch is the Hisense 75U8H. It's an excellent TV that performs nearly as well as the Samsung QN90B QLED, with great picture quality and a great selection of extra features. It doesn't get quite as bright as the QN90B, and small highlights in HDR don't stand out as well, but it's still an excellent choice for a bright room. The biggest drawback to getting a cheaper model like this compared to the Samsung TV is that the image degrades when viewed at an angle.

    Thanks to its low input lag and fast response time, it's a fantastic gaming TV, resulting in a responsive gaming experience with very little blur behind fast-moving objects. It has a few great gaming features, including FreeSync support to reduce screen tearing, and it supports HDMI 2.1 bandwidth for 4k @ 120Hz gaming from the Xbox Series S|X or PS5 gamers. Sadly, unlike the Samsung QN90B QLED, it only supports HDMI 2.1 bandwidth on two of its inputs, and one of them is also the eARC port, so if you're planning on connecting a home theater receiver or soundbar, you can only take full advantage of one new-gen console.

    See our review

  5. Best Budget 75-Inch TV

    If you're looking for a budget model, the best 75-inch budget 4k TV is the TCL 75S555. It's an impressive TV, especially for the price, and it delivers fantastic picture quality thanks to its superb contrast ratio and wide color gamut in HDR. It has a decent full array local dimming feature, but it's not as good as the one found on the Hisense U8H and the Samsung QN90B QLED, as these TVs have Mini LED backlighting with smaller dimming zones. Its peak brightness in HDR is just okay, so bright highlights don't stand out that well.

    It's also a great TV for gamers thanks to its low input lag and quick response time, delivering a smooth gaming experience with very little delay between your actions and the action on-screen. Unlike the more expensive TVs on this list, it's limited to a 60Hz refresh rate, so it's not ideal for gamers looking to get the most out of their console's Performance Mode, and even though it supports a variable refresh rate, you'll see some tearing when the frame rate drops.

    See our review

  6. Best Cheap 70-Inch TV

    If you only care about getting a big TV and don't want to spend too much on the best picture quality, the cheap Hisense A6H is the best 70-inch TV you can get. Although it delivers much worse picture quality than the more expensive models on this list, the 70-inch model uses a VA panel and has much better contrast than the 65-inch model we bought and tested. It means it's a significantly better choice for a dark to moderately lit room, as dark scenes are displayed well, with very little blooming around bright objects.

    The built-in Google TV platform is easy to use, with a nice, polished interface that makes it easy to find your favorite content. It also has a great selection of streaming apps and games. Speaking of gaming, it's a decent TV for gamers thanks to its low input lag and support for variable refresh rate technology to reduce tearing. It has an okay response time, but you'll notice more ghosting behind fast-moving objects than you would with a higher-end TV.

    See our review

Notable Mentions

  • Sony XR-77A80K : The Sony A80K OLED is a 77-inch OLED comparable to the LG C2 OLED, and it has better image processing features like upscaling and gradient handling, but it doesn't get as bright, so it's worth going for the LG. See our review
  • TCL 75R646: The TCL 6 Series/R646 2021 QLED is a good alternative to the Hisense U8H. However, that specific size is currently hard to find and out of stock at most places. The replacement model, the TCL 6 Series/R655 2022 QLED, is an excellent alternative to the Hisense, but it costs the same and is a bit worse overall. See our review
  • LG OLED77G3PUA: The LG G3 OLED is a high-end OLED comparable to the 77-inch Samsung S95C OLED and even gets brighter in HDR and SDR. However, the Samsung looks more vibrant due to its brighter colors, which are more vivid and lifelike, and it can display a wider range of colors in HDR, so we still recommend going for it. See our review

Recent Updates

  1. May 23, 2023: Verified our picks for accuracy and consistency, refreshed the text, and added the LG G3 OLED as a Notable Mention.

  2. Mar 27, 2023: Added the Samsung S95C OLED as the top pick overall, moving the LG C2 OLED to a mid-range pick.

  3. Feb 17, 2023: Verified our picks for accuracy and consistency, and made minor changes to the text for clarity.

  4. Jan 18, 2023: Removed the TCL 75R646, as it's currently very hard to find, and the replacement model isn't worth buying over the Hisense 75U8H.

  5. Dec 19, 2022: Replaced the TCL 5 Series/S546 2021 QLED with the TCL 5 Series/S555 2022 QLED, as it's a better TV for about the same price as the previous model. Replaced the Insignia F50 QLED with the Hisense A6H, as the Insignia is no longer widely available in a 70-inch size.

All Reviews

Our recommendations above are what we think are currently the best 70-75-77 inch 4k TVs to buy for most people in each price range. We factor in the price (a cheaper TV wins over a pricier one if the difference isn't really worth it), feedback from our visitors, and availability (no TVs that are difficult to find or almost out of stock everywhere).

If you would like to do the work of choosing yourself, here is the list of all our reviews of 70-75-77 inch TVs. Be careful not to get too caught up in the details. While no TV is perfect, most TVs are great enough to please almost everyone, and the differences are often not noticeable unless you really look for them.