Updated

The 7 Best 70-75-77 Inch TVs - Summer 2020
Reviews

Best 70-75-77 Inch TVs
260 Televisions Tested
  • Store-bought TVs; no cherry-picked units
  • Easily comparable results
  • No ads; unbiased reviews
  • Supported directly by you via insider access and when you purchase through our affiliate links
Learn more about our approach to product reviews here.

Large TVs are becoming increasingly popular, with manufacturers releasing more models in the 70-75-77 inch range. The older models in these sizes are becoming cheaper, while the newer ones are now the flagships of each manufacturer. LG and Sony usually release their new OLED TVs in a 77 inch size, and they are very expensive.

We've tested nearly 100 TVs in the last two years and below are our recommendations for the best 70 inch TVs, the best 75 inch TVs, and the best 77 inch TVs to buy. See also our recommendations for the best TVs, the best 65 inch TVs, or if you want something even larger, the best 80-82-85 inch TVs.


  1. Best 70-75-77 Inch TV: LG OLED77B9PUA

    8.7
    Mixed Usage
    9.3
    Movies
    8.2
    TV Shows
    8.6
    Sports
    9.0
    Video Games
    8.6
    HDR Movies
    8.7
    HDR Gaming
    8.6
    PC Monitor
    Type OLED
    Sub-Type
    WRGB
    Resolution 4k

    The best 70-77 inch TV that we've tested so far is the LG OLED77B9PUA. Like all OLEDs, it can produce deep, inky blacks due to its ability to turn individual pixels off, and it has very good peak brightness and reflection handling, making this TV good for both bright and dark rooms. It also supports a wide color gamut, which helps to produce vivid and saturated colors in HDR content. For gamers, this TV has excellent low input lag, an almost instantaneous response time, and support for FreeSync variable refresh rate technology. Additionally, LG has recently certified this TV as being G-SYNC compatible, for those using an NVIDIA graphics card.

    There are downsides to OLED technology, though; mainly the issue of temporary image retention and permanent burn-in. While it's unlikely to experience this is normal varied use, it can be a concern if you watch the same programming with static channel logos for extended periods.

    Unfortunately, OLED TVs are still very expensive in larger sizes, and this 77" TV currently sells for more than double the price of the 65" variant. That being said, if you want to invest in a very large TV and want the best picture quality you can get, this one is a great choice and is the best TV that we've tested to date.

    See our review

  2. Cheaper LED Alternative: Vizio PX75-G1

    Type LED
    Sub-Type
    VA
    Resolution 4k

    If you watch a lot of static content and the thought of permanent burn-in has you concerned, get the Vizio P Series Quantum X 2019 PX75-G1. Although you won't get the same black levels as the LG B9 OLED, this TV is considerably cheaper and doesn't risk the possibility of burn-in. Despite not having the perfect blacks of an OLED, it has one of the highest contrast ratios we've ever measured on an LED TV, and its black uniformity is great. HDR content looks fantastic thanks to its very high peak brightness and outstandingly wide color gamut; one of the highest we've ever measured. Unfortunately, like most VA panel TVs, it has poor viewing angles, so it won't be the best for watching a game with a large group of friends.

    Overall, if you aren't concerned about burn-in and want the best possible picture quality you can get, go with the LG, but if you want something significantly cheaper that still has outstanding black levels and HDR performance, get the Vizio.

    See our review

  3. Ultra Viewing Angle Alternative: Samsung QN75Q80RAFXZA

    Type LED
    Sub-Type
    VA
    Resolution 4k

    If you want an LED TV because you want to avoid the possibility of burn-in on the LG B9 OLED but find that the Vizio P Series Quantum X 2019 doesn't have the wide viewing angles you want, get the Samsung QN75Q80RAFXZA. It's a remarkable TV with remarkable dark room performance and excellent peak brightness. It's a VA panel with no burn-in risk that incorporates the new 'Ultra Viewing Angle' technology that improves viewing angles at the expense of contrast ratio. It has exceptional motion handling thanks to its very fast response time that delivers crisp motion. It has low input lag and comes loaded with some great gaming features.

    Overall, if you don't care about burn-in, get the LG; otherwise, the Samsung delivers excellent overall performance without the perfect blacks found on an OLED.

    See our review

  4. Best 70-75-77 Inch TV For Color Accuracy: Sony XBR75X950G

    8.0
    Mixed Usage
    8.3
    Movies
    8.0
    TV Shows
    7.8
    Sports
    7.8
    Video Games
    8.2
    HDR Movies
    7.6
    HDR Gaming
    7.7
    PC Monitor
    Type LED
    Sub-Type
    VA
    Resolution 4k

    The TV with the best color accuracy we've tested so far is the Sony XBR75X950G. This TV comes equipped with a VA panel that has a high native contrast ratio, along with a full-array local dimming that makes blacks look even better in the dark. It's impressively well-built and it can get searingly bright, enough to overcome glare and to deliver a fantastic HDR experience. At a 75 inch size, you also get Sony's 'X-Wide Angle' technology, which improves its viewing angles, although at the cost of a lower contrast ratio. The screen is decently uniform, with only the corners looking a bit darker and almost no dirty screen effect.

    Color accuracy on this TV is simply outstanding and you likely won't need to calibrate it. Its gamma is nearly perfect, so you can be sure that scenes are displayed at the correct brightness. It has a 10-bit panel with excellent gradient performance and an impressive wide color gamut to deliver vibrant colors in HDR content. Response time is exceptional and it has a black frame insertion feature, resulting in clear images and very short blur trails behind fast-moving objects. Input lag is low enough for most casual gamers, but sadly, it doesn't support any variable refresh rate technology.

    This TV supports Dolby Vision and eARC, allowing you to send high-quality uncompressed audio like Dolby Atmos via TrueHD through an HDMI connection. It has proper chroma 4:4:4 support if you want to use it as a large PC monitor for work meetings, and its Android TV platform is easy to use, with plenty of streaming apps available through the app store. If color accuracy is important to you, then you'll like this TV.

    See our review

  5. Alternative For Gaming: Samsung QN75Q70RAFXZA

    Type LED
    Sub-Type
    VA
    Resolution 4k

    The Sony X950G is good for casual gaming, but if you want an even lower input lag and advanced gaming features like FreeSync, then check out the Samsung QN75Q70RAFXZA. This TV is amazing for dark room gaming, as it has a VA panel that can produce deep blacks. It has a full-array local dimming that performs decently well, and while it doesn't get as bright as the Sony, it's enough to deliver HDR content with vivid colors and highlights that pop. Unfortunately, it doesn't have Samsung's 'Ultra Viewing Angle' technology to improve its viewing angles, so it's less ideal if you have a seating arrangement that requires you to view from the side. If you own an Xbox One, the TV's 'Auto Low Latency Mode' will automatically switch picture mode to get the lowest latency, saving you the trouble of having to manually do it each time.

    Overall, if color accuracy is more important to you, then go with the Sony; otherwise, the Samsung offers better gaming features, although with some minor compromises like viewing angles and peak brightness.

    See our review

  6. Best Budget 70-75-77 Inch TV: Sony XBR75X800H

    7.1
    Mixed Usage
    5.9
    Movies
    8.1
    TV Shows
    7.7
    Sports
    7.7
    Video Games
    6.0
    HDR Movies
    7.1
    HDR Gaming
    8.2
    PC Monitor
    Type LED
    Sub-Type
    IPS
    Resolution 4k

    The best 75 inch TV in the budget category we've tested so far is the Sony XBR75X800H. It's a good choice for watching daytime TV, as it can get bright enough to fight glare, and its IPS panel has wide viewing angles, so you can walk around doing chores and still get a good-looking image. And since IPS panels are immune to burn-in, you can leave the news on all day without fear of damaging the screen. However, it has a low contrast ratio that makes blacks look grayish, making it less ideal for watching in dark rooms.

    Response time on this TV is good and the TV can interpolate lower frame rate content if you like the 'Soap Opera Effect.' It has a remarkably low input lag if you want to do some gaming, just don't expect any advanced gaming features like FreeSync. There's some vignetting at the corners of the screen, but thankfully, dirty screen effect is minimal. Color accuracy is excellent out of the box, which is great if you don't plan on calibrating the TV.

    Like most recent Sony TVs, it runs on Android, which means you get access to the immense Google Play Store. The interface is user-friendly and if you have trouble finding what you need, you can use the remote's built-in microphone to summon the Google Assistant for help. On the whole, if you're shopping for a large TV on a budget, this is a very decent choice.

    See our review

  7. Dark Room Alternative: Samsung UN75TU8000FXZA

    Type LED
    Sub-Type
    VA
    Resolution 4k

    If you prefer watching TV in a dark room, then you should check out the Samsung UN75TU8000FXZA. Unlike the Sony X800H, it has a VA panel that performs significantly better in dark environments. It has a high contrast ratio that allows it to produce deep and inky blacks, and its black uniformity is outstanding, with very little blooming around bright objects. The response time is a bit slower; however, it has an optional black frame insertion feature that can improve the appearance of motion blur. Although it doesn't have support for any variable refresh rate technologies, it does have an 'Auto Low Latency Mode' that switches you to 'Game' mode automatically when a game is launched from a compatible device like an Xbox One, so you always get the lowest possible latency when gaming. Unfortunately, there are some downsides with this TV, as its low peak brightness makes it less suitable for bright rooms, and its poor viewing angles mean that the images look washed out from the side.

    Overall, the Sony is better a choice if you need wide viewing angles, but for better dark room performance, go with the Samsung.

    See our review

Notable Mentions

  • LG OLED77C8: The LG C8 OLED is an excellent TV, but getting difficult to find. Get this over the B9 if you find it at a much cheaper price. See our review
  • Samsung QN75Q900RAFXZA: The Samsung Q900R is an excellent 8k TV, but the Samsung Q80R is a better deal. See our review
  • Samsung QN75Q90RAFXZA: The Samsung Q90R is an excellent TV equipped with the One Connect Box, but the QN75Q80R is a better value. See our review
  • Sony XBR75Z9F: The Sony Z9F is a very good TV, but the Q80R is better and cheaper. See our review
  • TCL 75R617: The TCL 6 Series 2018 is a very good TV with deep blacks, but other TVs are better. See our review
  • Samsung UN75RU8000FXZA: The Samsung RU8000 is a good TV with great gaming features. Get this over the Q70R for a more budget gaming alternative. See our review

Recent Updates

05/29/2020: Replaced Vizio E Series 2018 with Sony X800H, replaced Samsung RU7100 with Samsung TU8000, removed LG UM6900.

05/01/2020: Replaced Sony X900F with Sony X950G.

04/03/2020: Replaced the LG OLED77C9 with the LG OLED77B9.

12/06/2019: Replaced the LG OLED77C8 with the LG OLED77C9, the TCL 4 Series 2019 (75S425) with the Samsung 75RU7100, and the Sony X800G (XBR75X800G) with the LG UM70UM6970. Changed some text to improve clarity.

11/06/2019: Replaced the LG 75UK6570 with the Sony XBR75X800G and changed some text for clarity.

All Reviews

Our recommendations above are what we think are currently the best 70-75-77 inch 4k TVs to buy for most people in each price range. We factor in the price (a cheaper TV wins over a pricier one if the difference isn't really worth it), feedback from our visitors, and availability (no TVs that are difficult to find or almost out of stock everywhere).

If you would like to do the work of choosing yourself, here is the list of all our reviews of TVs that have a 70 or 75 or 77 inch size. Be careful not to get too caught up in the details. While no TV is perfect, most TVs are great enough to please almost everyone, and the differences are often not noticeable unless you really look for them.

LOG IN

JOIN RTINGS.com

Be part of the most informed community and take advantage of our advanced tools to find the best product for your needs.
Join our mailing list:
Become an insider

Unlimited access to full product reviews, test measurements and scores

test table UI

Product prices across the site on reviews, tables and tools

product prices UI

Additional votes for our
next reviews

Additional votes UI

Early Access
to our reviews and test measurements

Early Access UI

Create Discussion