The 6 Best 70-75-77 Inch TVs - Summer 2021 Reviews

Updated
Best 70-75-77 Inch TVs
322 Televisions Tested
  • Store-bought TVs; no cherry-picked units
  • Easily comparable results
  • No ads; unbiased reviews
  • Supported directly by you via insider access and when you purchase through our affiliate links
Learn more about our approach to product reviews here.

Large TVs are becoming increasingly popular, with manufacturers releasing more models in the 70-75-77 inch range. The older models in these sizes are becoming cheaper, while the newer ones are now the manufacturer's flagships. LG and Sony usually release their new OLED TVs in a 77 inch size; however, they're expensive. It's easier to find the best 75 inch TV rather than the best 70 inch TV because most manufacturers are releasing models with 75 or 77 inch variants and not 70 inches.

We've tested over 80 TVs under the latest test bench, and below are our recommendations for the best 70 inch TVs, the best 75 inch TVs, and the best 77 inch TVs to buy. Also, check out our picks for the best TVs, the best 65 inch TVs, or if you want something even larger, the best 80-82-85 inch TVs.


  1. Best 70-75-77 Inch OLED TV: LG OLED77C1PUB

    8.8
    Mixed Usage
    9.3
    Movies
    8.2
    TV Shows
    8.7
    Sports
    9.2
    Video Games
    8.6
    HDR Movies
    9.0
    HDR Gaming
    8.9
    PC Monitor
    Type OLED
    Sub-Type
    WRGB
    Resolution 4k

    The LG OLED77C1PUB is the best 77 inch OLED TV we've tested. Although it's a lower-end TV than the LG G1 OLED and doesn't have the new evo panel, the G1 costs more, so it's worth getting the C1 instead. We tested the 55 inch model of this TV, but the 77 inch should perform the stand.

    OLEDs like this one are known for their ability to turn off individual pixels, resulting in a near-infinite contrast ratio and perfect black uniformity, so there's no blooming around bright objects. Gamers should appreciate the 120Hz panel with HDMI 2.1 inputs, and it has a near-instant response time for smooth motion. Input lag is also really low for a responsive gaming experience, and it has variable refresh rate (VRR) support to reduce screen tearing. Since each pixel emits light in all directions, it has wide viewing angles, so the image remains accurate no matter where you sit, making it a great choice for co-op gaming.

    Unfortunately, OLEDs have the risk of permanent burn-in, which could be a problem if you constantly watch the same comment with static elements, like using it as a monitor or watching the news all day. However, we don't expect this to be an issue for those who watch varied content. Although it doesn't get very bright in SDR, it has fantastic reflection handling, so glare shouldn't be an issue in most well-lit rooms. If these don't bother you, it's an excellent overall TV.

    See our review

  2. Best 70-75-77 Inch LED TV: Samsung QN75QN90AAFXZA

    8.6
    Mixed Usage
    8.5
    Movies
    8.6
    TV Shows
    8.5
    Sports
    8.8
    Video Games
    8.6
    HDR Movies
    8.8
    HDR Gaming
    8.8
    PC Monitor
    Type LED
    Sub-Type
    VA
    Resolution 4k

    The best 75 inch 4k TV in the LED category is the Samsung QN75QN90AAFXZA. Although we tested the 55 inch model, our results should be valid for the 75 inch model. It's a high-end TV packed with features and delivers excellent performance that should please most people.

    It features Mini LED backlighting, allowing it to get extremely bright, and it has better control over its great local dimming feature, so blacks look deep and black when viewed in the dark. Gamers should appreciate its 120Hz panel with HDMI 2.1 input, VRR support, a near-instant response time, and low input lag for responsive gaming. The main advantage of getting an LED TV over an OLED is that it doesn't suffer from the risk of permanent burn-in, so you can leave it on your favorite news channel all day without worrying about damaging it.

    Sadly, our unit has uniformity issues with dirty screen effect in the center, but this can vary between units. It has fantastic reflection handling if you want to use it in a well-lit room, but there's a rainbow-like effect when light scatters across the screen, which could get distracting. On the plus side, even though it has a VA panel, it still has fairly wide viewing angles thanks to Samsung's 'Ultra Viewing Angle' technology, making it a decent choice for wide seating arrangements. No matter your use, it's one of the best 75 inch TVs available to buy.

    See our review

  3. Cheaper Alternative: Sony XR75X90J

    Type LED
    Sub-Type
    VA
    Resolution 4k

    If you want something cheaper, then check out the Sony XR75X90J. We tested the 55 inch size, but we expect the 75 inch to perform the same. While it doesn't have as high peak brightness as the Samsung QN90A QLED, it still gets bright enough to combat glare and bring out most highlights in HDR content, and it has exceptional out-of-the-box color accuracy. Accuracy can vary from unit to unit, which means there's a good chance you won't even have to calibrate it to get the most out of your TV. Unfortunately, it doesn't have any gaming features like VRR support, but that should come in a future firmware update. Also, it technically doesn't display a wide color gamut for HDR content according to our testing standards, but it's still good enough for most people.

    If you want the best 75 inch TV in the LED category, you can't go wrong with the Samsung, but if you don't want to best a ton of money, the Sony is a good alternative.

    See our review

  4. Best 70-75-77 Inch TV For HDR: Vizio P75QX-H1

    8.3
    Mixed Usage
    8.5
    Movies
    8.0
    TV Shows
    7.9
    Sports
    8.8
    Video Games
    8.6
    HDR Movies
    8.7
    HDR Gaming
    8.0
    PC Monitor
    Type LED
    Sub-Type
    VA
    Resolution 4k

    The best 75 inch TV for watching HDR content that we've tested is the Vizio P75QX-H1. It's an impressive and versatile model that's well-suited for nearly every type of content, but especially for HDR, as it's one of the brightest TVs we've tested. It has impressive build quality, with a simple design that fits easily into most settings. Images look washed out when viewed from the side due to the sub-par viewing angles, so it isn't ideal for wide seating arrangements.

    It has a high native contrast ratio and a great full-array local dimming feature, which means it can display deep blacks for a great dark room viewing experience. It has exceptional coverage of the DCI P3 color space, and it gets more than bright enough to make highlights pop. Color accuracy is mediocre out-of-the-box, so you may want to calibrate it if you want accurate color reproduction. Fast-moving scenes look clear, thanks to the quick response time and black frame insertion feature.

    There are some issues with displaying a 4k @ 120Hz signal from a PS5, which needs to be fixed through a firmware update. That said, it works properly with the Xbox Series X. However, it has a very low input lag, VRR support, and HDMI 2.1 ports. Lastly, it doesn't upscale lower resolution content as well as other 4k TVs on the market. Nonetheless, if you're only looking for a fantastic HDR experience, this one is worth checking out.

    See our review

  5. Best Budget 70-75-77 Inch TV: Hisense 75U6G

    8.1
    Mixed Usage
    8.3
    Movies
    8.0
    TV Shows
    8.0
    Sports
    8.3
    Video Games
    8.1
    HDR Movies
    8.2
    HDR Gaming
    8.0
    PC Monitor
    Type LED
    Sub-Type
    VA
    Resolution 4k

    The best 75 inch 4k TV in the budget category is the Hisense 75U6G. Despite its low cost, it offers great overall performance for its price and provides good picture quality for most types of content. Although we tested the 65 inch model, the 75 inch variant should perform the same because it has the same number of dimming zones.

    It has a VA panel with a high native contrast ratio to display deep blacks, and it has a decent full-array local dimming feature to improve it. However, it has a limited number of dimming zones, so it doesn't improve contrast much in scenes with many small highlights. If you want to use it in a well-lit room, it easily gets bright enough to combat glare and has excellent reflection handling, so visibility shouldn't be an issue. If you want to watch HDR content, it displays a wide color gamut but might not get bright enough to truly make highlights stand out like some higher-end models. It doesn't have extra gaming features, but it still has a quick response time and low input lag.

    Sadly, it has narrow viewing angles, so it's not the best choice for a wide seating arrangement as the image looks inaccurate when viewing from the sides. Also, the built-in Android TV can take some time to learn, but it still offers a ton of apps available to download. All in all, it's one of the best 75 inch TVs.

    See our review

  6. Roku Alternative: TCL 75S535

    Type LED
    Sub-Type
    VA
    Resolution 4k

    If you prefer something with built-in Roku TV, which is easier-to-use and more user-friendly than Android TV, then check out the TCL 75S535. It doesn't get as bright as the Hisense U6G, but it has an even better native contrast ratio for deeper blacks, so it's a better choice for dark room viewing. The 5 Series doesn't have any gaming features either, but casual gamers should still enjoy the quick response time and low input lag. It can remove 24p judder from any source, which is rare for a 60Hz TV, and it helps with the appearance of motion in movies. Unfortunately, even though it displays a wide color gamut for HDR content, it doesn't get bright enough in that mode to make highlights pop.

    If you're on a budget and want the best 75 inch TV, then check out the Hisense, but if you prefer something with Roku, look into the TCL. Keep in mind that we tested the 55 inch model, but the 75 inch should perform the same.

    See our review

Notable Mentions

  • Samsung QN75Q90TAFXZA: The Samsung Q90/Q90T is an older version of the Samsung QN90A you can probably find cheaper. However, it doesn't have Mini LED backlighting. See our review
  • TCL 75R635: The TCL 6 Series/R635 2020 QLED is better and more expensive than the TCL 5 Series/S535 2020 QLED, but it may be out-of-budget. See our review
  • LG OLED77G1PUA: The LG G1 is a higher-end model of the LG C1 that comes with the new evo panel that allows it to get brighter, but it's not worth the price increase. See our review
  • Samsung QN75QN85AAFXZA: The Samsung QN85A has Mini LED backlighting like the Samsung QN90A, but it uses an IPS-like panel with worse viewing angles, so it doesn't have as good dark room performance. See our review
  • Sony XBR75X900H: The Sony X900H is the predecessor to the Sony X90J. It performs similarly but doesn't get as bright, especially when it comes to HDR. It may also be harder to find now. See our review
  • LG 75NANO90UPA: The LG NANO90 is a good all-around TV with wide viewing angles, so it's great for wide seating arrangements if that's what you're looking for, but it doesn't get as bright as the Samsung, Sony, or Vizio. See our review
  • Vizio P75Q9-H1: The Vizio P Series Quantum 2020 is lower-end than the Vizio P Series Quantum X 2020, so it may be a good cheaper alternative, but it doesn't get as bright and may have some uniformity issues. See our review
  • Samsung QN75Q60AAFXZA: The Samsung Q60/Q60A QLED is a decent QLED TV, but both the Hisense U6G and the TCL 5 Series/S535 2020 QLED offer better value for this price range. See our review
  • Sony XR-77A80J: The Sony A80J is a similarly priced option to the LG C1 with nearly the same picture quality, but it doesn't have any gaming features. See our review
  • LG OLED77A1PUA: The LG A1 costs less than the LG C1 but doesn't have any gaming features. If that doesn't bother you, it may be worth getting this TV, though. See our review
  • Hisense 75U7G: The Hisense U7G costs less than the Sony X90J and has gaming features, but the 75 inch model may be hard to find. See our review

Recent Updates

  1. Jul 23, 2021: Updated text for clarity; added the LG G1, LG A1, and Hisense U7G to Notable Mentions.

  2. Jun 23, 2021: Replaced the Samsung Q80T with the newer Samsung QN90A and moved the Sony X90J to 'Cheaper Alternative' for consistency; replaced the Hisense H8G with the newer Hisense U6G; updated Notable Mentions based on market availability.

  3. May 28, 2021: Replaced the Sony X950H with the Sony X90J as 'Alternative With Better Color Accuracy'.

  4. Apr 28, 2021: Replaced the LG CX with the LG C1; updated Notable Mentions based on market availability.

  5. Apr 02, 2021: Verified accuracy of picks. No change in recommendations.

All Reviews

Our recommendations above are what we think are currently the best 70-75-77 inch 4k TVs to buy for most people in each price range. We factor in the price (a cheaper TV wins over a pricier one if the difference isn't really worth it), feedback from our visitors, and availability (no TVs that are difficult to find or almost out of stock everywhere).

If you would like to do the work of choosing yourself, here is the list of all our reviews of 70-75-77 inch TVs. Be careful not to get too caught up in the details. While no TV is perfect, most TVs are great enough to please almost everyone, and the differences are often not noticeable unless you really look for them.

Discussions