Your browser is not supported or outdated so some features of the site might not be available.
354
TVs store-bought and tested, supported by you via insider access, and when you purchase through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.
Driven by data, run by a passionate team of engineers, testers, technical writers, developers, and more. We are hiring!

The 6 Best 70-75-77 Inch TVs - Spring 2022 Reviews

Updated
Best 70-75-77 Inch TVs

Large TVs are becoming increasingly popular, with manufacturers releasing more models in the 70-75-77 inch range. LG and Sony usually release OLED TVs in a 77 inch size, but you won't find any LED TVs in that exact size. It's easier to find the best 75 inch TV with an LED panel rather than the best 70 inch TV because most manufacturers aren't releasing many 70 inch models. Looking for the best TV almost depends on the content you're going to watch and what type of room environment you will use it in.

We've tested over 100 TVs under the latest test bench, and below are our recommendations for the best 70-75-77 inch TVs to buy. Also, check out our picks for the best TVs, the best 65 inch TVs, or the best 80-82-85 inch TVs if you want something bigger.


  1. Best 70-75-77 Inch OLED TV

    The best 77 inch OLED TV we've tested is the LG OLED77C1PUB. It's an excellent TV that sits high up in LG's OLED lineup, offering amazing overall picture quality and great features. The 77 inch model performs like the 55 inch version we tested, and it comes with a stylish center-mounted stand, so it should look good in any living room setup.

    It has a bunch of gaming features like HDMI 2.1 bandwidth that allows you to play 4k @ 120 fps games from the Xbox Series X and PS5 without issue. It also has Dolby Vision support, and it can display 4k @ 120Hz games in Dolby Vision from the Xbox Series X. It's a fantastic choice for dark room gaming because OLEDs have a near-infinite contrast ratio as they turn each pixel on and off individually. It means that it displays perfect blacks without any blooming around bright objects in dark games.

    Sadly, while the near-infinite contrast helps deliver an excellent HDR movie experience, it doesn't get bright enough to truly make highlights pop. Also, it has bad out-of-the-box accuracy, so you might need to get it calibrated to enjoy it to the fullest. OLEDs run the risk of permanent burn-in with cumulative exposure to the same static elements over time, but it won't be an issue if you play varied games. All in all, it's the best OLED in this size range.

    See our review

  2. Best 70-75-77 Inch OLED TV For Movie Lovers

    The best 70-75-77 inch OLED TV for movie lovers is the Sony A80J OLED. Like the LG C1, it delivers an incredible dark-room experience, with deep inky blacks and perfect black uniformity, with no blooming around bright objects in dark scenes. Where it stands out compared to the LG C1 OLED is in terms of its image processing. It has better tone mapping and much better gradient handling, so there's less banding in areas of similar color, and fine details are preserved.

    It also has excellent accuracy out of the box. There are no noticeable issues with colors or shades of gray, which is great for people who care about an accurate image. Finally, unlike the LG C1 OLED, it supports DTS and DTS-X passthrough, so you can still enjoy high-quality sound from UHD Blu-rays through the TV's eARC feature without having to route everything through your soundbar or home theater receiver.

    Unfortunately, like all OLED TVs, there's a noticeable stutter in slow-panning shots when watching movies. It's caused by the TV's nearly instantaneous response time, so each frame is held static on-screen. There are a few features that can reduce this issue, though, and overall, this is an amazing TV.

    See our review

  3. Best 70-75-77 Inch LED TV For HDR

    The Hisense 75U9DG is the best 75 inch HDR TV we've tested. It delivers stunning picture quality in dark rooms, and it looks almost as good as OLED TVs. It uses a unique dual panel technology that stacks two LCD panels on top of each other. It helps it achieve the best contrast ratio we've tested on any LED TV, and there's minimal blooming around bright objects, which is important for watching HDR movies in dark rooms.

    It displays a wide color gamut and has great out-of-the-box accuracy, so colors appear as they should. Its HDR peak brightness is okay overall, and it gets bright with small highlights, so they pop the way the creator intended, but large areas of bright colors are increasingly dim. It's only available in a 75 inch size, and it's well-built with a stylish design that looks good in any setup, and its metal feet support the large screen well.

    Unfortunately, there are some banding issues in scenes with shades of similar color, like a sunset. Also, fast-moving content looks blurry due to its slow response time, but this is more of an issue in games or movies with a ton of action. It has a motion interpolation feature, and it removes 24p judder from any source, which helps with the appearance of motion in movies. Overall, it's the best TV for watching HDR content in this size range.

    See our review

  4. Best 70-75-77 Inch LED TV

    The best 75 inch 4k TV with an LED panel is the Samsung QN75QN90AAFXZA. It's an excellent TV with many features, and it's well-built with a premium design. It comes with the easy-to-use Tizen OS, which has a ton of apps available to download, and you won't need to get a streaming box to watch your favorite content.

    The picture quality is fantastic both in dark and bright rooms, thanks to the Mini LED backlighting. It allows for greater control over its local dimming. Combined with the VA panel's high native contrast ratio, it displays deep blacks with minimal blooming, making it a fantastic choice for watching movies in the dark. It also displays a wide color gamut, and the Mini LED backlighting helps it get very bright in HDR, so highlights pop the way they're supposed to for a satisfying HDR experience.

    Unfortunately, it has some uniformity issues with dirty screen effect in the center that could get distracting while watching sports or using it as a PC monitor. However, you won't notice it while watching shows or movies. Also, it supports HDR10+, but it doesn't support Dolby Vision, meaning some streaming content will be limited to the basic HDR10 format instead. If this doesn't bother you, it's the best 75 inch LED TV, and the 75 inch model should perform like the 55 inch version we tested.

    See our review

  5. Best Mid-Range 70-75-77 Inch LED TV

    The Sony X90J is the best mid-range 70-75-77 inch LED TV that we've tested. It's an impressive TV for most uses. It looks great in dark rooms thanks to its high contrast ratio and great local dimming feature, resulting in deep uniform blacks and bright highlights in dark scenes. It's also bright enough to overcome glare, and it has decent reflection handling, so it's a good choice for a brighter viewing environment.

    It's an excellent TV for gaming. It's been updated to receive support for variable refresh rate technology, and it's fully compatible with everything the PS5 has to offer. It has fantastic low input lag, resulting in a responsive gaming experience. Unlike Samsung TVs, including the Samsung QN90A, there's no difference between 'Game' Mode and 'Movie' Mode, so you don't have to sacrifice picture quality when gaming.

    It's not perfect, though, as it falls just short of being able to display a wide color gamut with HDR content. HDR still looks amazing on it, but some colors appear slightly muted compared to other TVs. Overall, this is a great TV.

    See our review

  6. Best Budget 70-75-77 Inch TV

    If you're on a budget, then the best 75 inch 4k TV is the TCL 75S546. It's a good TV with a few features to please most people, and while we tested the 65 inch version, the results are also valid for the 75 inch model. It comes with Google TV as its smart interface, which is easy to use, and you have a ton of apps you can download through the Google Play Store.

    It's a very good choice for watching movies in dark rooms as it doesn't have any trouble displaying 1080p content from Blu-rays or native 4k content. Its VA panel has a remarkable native contrast ratio; however, while it uses Mini LED backlighting and the local dimming feature helps improve the contrast, it still causes some blooming around bright objects in dark scenes. Despite its budget price, it also has a few extra gaming features like native FreeSync support, low input lag, and a quick response time, but it's limited to HDMI 2.0 bandwidth.

    Unfortunately, it's not ideal for watching DVDs because it can't properly upscale 480p content. Also, it has terrible out-of-the-box accuracy, and even calibrating it doesn't fix many issues. However, this varies between units, so the one you get might not have this problem. If this isn't an issue for you, it's one of the best 75 inch TVs you can get.

    See our review

Notable Mentions

  • Sony XR-75X95J: The Sony X95J is better overall than the Sony X90J because it gets brighter and has a wider viewing angle, but it's costly and not worth the price increase. See our review
  • Hisense 75U6G: The Hisense U6G is better overall than the TCL 5 Series/S546 because it has a better local dimming feature and improved color accuracy. However, some units of the 75 inch version have an IPS panel, so they perform differently from the unit we tested. See our review
  • TCL 75R646: The TCL 6 Series/R646 2021 QLED is a great TV that costs less than the Sony X90J and has more gaming features, but its local dimming feature is worse and doesn't improve the picture quality all that much. Also, it has trouble upscaling 480p content. See our review
  • LG OLED77G1PUA: The LG G1 OLED is a higher-end model of the LG C1 OLED that comes with the new evo panel that allows it to get brighter, but it's not worth the price increase. See our review
  • Samsung QN75QN85AAFXZA: The Samsung QN85A QLED has Mini LED backlighting like the Samsung QN90A QLED, but it uses an IPS-like panel with worse dark room performance as there's more blooming around bright objects. See our review
  • Vizio P75Q9-J01: The Vizio P Series Quantum 2021 offers good value for the price and size for an LED TV. However, there are too many bugs associated with it. Also, its contrast isn't as good as the Hisense U9DG. See our review
  • LG 75QNED90UPA: The LG QNED90 is a high-end TV with Mini LED backlighting, but it has worse contrast than the Samsung QN90A QLED because it has an IPS-like panel. See our review
  • Vizio M75Q7-J03: The Vizio M7 Series Quantum 2021 is a budget TV with the same gaming perks as the TCL 5 Series/S546, but its smart interface isn't as good. However, it's available in a 70 inch size if you're looking for the best 70 inch TV. See our review
  • Sony KD-75X85J: The Sony X85J is a mid-range TV with more gaming features than the TCL 5 Series/S546 2021, like HDMI 2.1. However, it's too expensive if you're on a budget. See our review
  • Samsung QN75QN900AFXZA: The Samsung QN900A 8k QLED is the best 75 inch TV with an 8k resolution if that's what you're looking for, but not much 8k content is currently available. See our review
  • Sony XR-83A90J: The Sony A90J OLED is brighter than the Sony A80J OLED, so it delivers a better HDR experience, but it's not available in this size range; it's available in an 83 inch size if you're willing to go for something a bit bigger. See our review
  • LG OLED77C2PUA: The LG C2 OLED is a slight improvement over its predecessor, the LG C1 OLED, but it's currently significantly more expensive. If you can find the C2 for less than the C1, get the new model. See our review
  • Samsung QN75QN90BAFXZA: The Samsung QN90B QLED is brighter than the Samsung QN90A QLED in some scenes, but the QN90A is slightly better overall. The QN90B isn't worth spending more on over the QN90A. See our review

Recent Updates

  1. May 06, 2022: Moved the Sony X90J to its own category as the 'Best Mid-Range'. Verified our picks for accuracy and refreshed the text throughout.

  2. Apr 08, 2022: Moved the Sony A80J to its own category as Best OLED For HDR to reflect user needs; added the Sony X85J to Notable Mentions.

  3. Mar 09, 2022: Updated text for clarity and verified picks for accuracy.

  4. Feb 07, 2022: Replaced the Hisense U6G with the TCL 5 Series/S546 2021 QLED because the Hisense's 75 inch model has different panel types available; updated text for accuracy.

  5. Jan 14, 2022: Updated text for clarity and checked picks for availability; added the Hisense U7G and the Samsung QN900A 8k to Notable Mentions.

All Reviews

Our recommendations above are what we think are currently the best 70-75-77 inch 4k TVs to buy for most people in each price range. We factor in the price (a cheaper TV wins over a pricier one if the difference isn't really worth it), feedback from our visitors, and availability (no TVs that are difficult to find or almost out of stock everywhere).

If you would like to do the work of choosing yourself, here is the list of all our reviews of 70-75-77 inch TVs. Be careful not to get too caught up in the details. While no TV is perfect, most TVs are great enough to please almost everyone, and the differences are often not noticeable unless you really look for them.

Discussions