Get insider access
Preferred tv store
Updated

The 6 Best 70-75-77 Inch TVs - Summer 2020
Reviews

Best 70-75-77 Inch TVs
266 Televisions Tested
  • Store-bought TVs; no cherry-picked units
  • Easily comparable results
  • No ads; unbiased reviews
  • Supported directly by you via insider access and when you purchase through our affiliate links
Learn more about our approach to product reviews here.

Large TVs are becoming increasingly popular, with manufacturers releasing more models in the 70-75-77 inch range. The older models in these sizes are becoming cheaper, while the newer ones are now the flagships of each manufacturer. LG and Sony usually release their new OLED TVs in a 77 inch size, and they are very expensive.

We've tested over 50 TVs in the last two years, and below are our recommendations for the best 70 inch TVs, the best 75 inch TVs, and the best 77 inch TVs to buy. See also our recommendations for the best TVs, the best 65 inch TVs, or if you want something even larger, the best 80-82-85 inch TVs.


  1. Best 70-75-77 Inch TV: LG OLED77CXPUA

    8.8
    Mixed Usage
    9.3
    Movies
    8.2
    TV Shows
    8.6
    Sports
    9.1
    Video Games
    8.7
    HDR Movies
    8.8
    HDR Gaming
    8.6
    PC Monitor
    Type OLED
    Sub-Type
    WRGB
    Resolution 4k

    The best 77 inch TV we've tested so far is the LG OLED77CXPUA. It delivers outstanding overall picture quality because it's able to turn off individual pixels, producing perfect blacks. This is typical for an OLED, and if you have a wide seating arrangement, it also has very wide viewing angles, so people viewing from the side get the same great image quality as if they would be sitting directly in front of it.

    It has all the features you expect to find on a high-end TV. It has four HDMI 2.1 inputs, making it future-proof. It has eARC support, allowing you to send uncompressed high-quality audio from an external receiver through an HDMI connection, but sadly, LG dropped DTS decoding from their 2020 TVs. It has great out-of-the-box color accuracy, it upscales lower resolution content properly, and it removes judder from any source, which helps with the appearance of motion. Gamers should also appreciate the 120Hz refresh rate, FreeSync support, fairly low input lag, and the near-instant response time.

    Unfortunately, like any OLED, it has the risk of permanent burn-in. This means that if you constantly watch content with static elements, like the news, it may damage your TV. However, this shouldn't be a problem if you watch varied content. It doesn't get very bright. However, it has outstanding reflection handling if you want to place it in a bright room. Overall, most people should be happy with it.

    See our review

  2. LED Alternative: Vizio PX75-G1

    Type LED
    Sub-Type
    VA
    Resolution 4k

    If you watch a lot of static content and the thought of permanent burn-in has you concerned, consider the Vizio PX75-G1. Although you won't get the same black levels as the LG CX OLED, this TV is considerably cheaper and doesn't risk the possibility of burn-in. Despite not having the perfect blacks of an OLED, it has one of the highest contrast ratios we've ever measured on an LED TV, and its black uniformity is great. HDR content looks fantastic thanks to its very high peak brightness and outstandingly wide color gamut, one of the highest we've ever measured. Unfortunately, like most VA panel TVs, it has poor viewing angles, so it won't be the best for watching a game with a large group of friends.

    Overall, if you aren't concerned about burn-in and want the best possible picture quality you can get, consider the LG. However, if you want something significantly cheaper that still has outstanding black levels and HDR performance, the Vizio is the best 75 inch TV with an LED panel we've tested.

    See our review

  3. Best 70-75-77 Inch TV For Color Accuracy: Sony XBR75X950H

    8.2
    Mixed Usage
    8.4
    Movies
    8.4
    TV Shows
    8.1
    Sports
    7.9
    Video Games
    8.3
    HDR Movies
    7.8
    HDR Gaming
    8.0
    PC Monitor
    Type LED
    Sub-Type
    VA
    Resolution 4k

    The best 75 inch TV for color accuracy that we've tested so far is the Sony XBR75X950H. It's Sony's flagship 4k LED TV in 2020, and for the most part, it has the performance you expect in a high-end model. It has excellent out-of-the-box color accuracy, so you don't need to pay even more to get it calibrated.

    It has a VA panel to which Sony added their 'X-Wide Angle' technology, aiming to improve the viewing angles at the cost of a lower contrast ratio. Its viewing angles are better than most VA panel TVs, but they're still mediocre, and it isn't suggested for really wide seating arrangements. Still, the contrast ratio is great, and it has a full-array local dimming feature that helps darken any blacks. It gets really bright, and it has outstanding reflection handling, so you shouldn't have any issues placing this in a bright room. Also, HDR content looks great thanks to its excellent peak brightness, making highlights pop, and it has a great wide color gamut.

    Sadly, it's not ideal for competitive gamers. Even though it has a 120Hz refresh rate, it doesn't support any variable refresh rate (VRR) technologies, and its input lag is a bit too high for a model released in 2020. On the upside, it has built-in Android TV, which is fairly easy to use and has an excellent selection of apps available. Overall, this is the best 75 inch TV for color accuracy that we've tested so far.

    See our review

  4. Alternative For Gaming: Samsung QN75Q80TAFXZC

    Type LED
    Sub-Type
    VA
    Resolution 4k

    If you're set on getting a 75 inch gaming TV, the Samsung QN75Q80TAFXZC is an excellent choice. It doesn't get as bright as the Sony X950H, but it supports FreeSync VRR, which helps reduce screen tearing while gaming. It also has an excellent response time, a black frame insertion feature to improve the appearance of motion, and a really low input lag. If you're looking for something to get ready for the next-gen consoles, it also has four HDMI 2.1 inputs, although we can't test if it accepts 4k @ 120Hz signals because we don't have an HDMI 2.1 source yet. Unfortunately, this TV has some uniformity issues, but other than that, it has a great overall picture quality. It has excellent out-of-the-box color accuracy, a great wide color gamut, a great contrast ratio, and decent viewing angles. This is thanks to Samsung's 'Ultra Viewing Angle' technology added to this VA panel.

    If you want the best 75 inch TV for color accuracy, you can't go wrong with the Sony, but if you prefer an excellent gaming TV, look into the Samsung.

    See our review

  5. Best Budget 70-75-77 Inch TV: Hisense 75H8G

    7.8
    Mixed Usage
    8.0
    Movies
    7.6
    TV Shows
    7.5
    Sports
    8.1
    Video Games
    7.7
    HDR Movies
    7.7
    HDR Gaming
    7.6
    PC Monitor
    Type LED
    Sub-Type
    VA
    Resolution 4k

    The best 75 inch 4k TV in the budget category we've tested so far is the Hisense 75H8G. It's a well-performing TV overall, and for a budget-friendly price, most people should be happy with it. Even though it doesn't have a premium look to it like some higher-end TVs, it still has a decent build quality without any obvious issues.

    Like most TVs in this article, it has a VA panel with an excellent contrast ratio and a full-array local dimming feature, displaying deep blacks. Even though it has some black uniformity issues, as there's some backlight bleed in the corners, enabling local dimming helps. It performs equally as well in bright rooms since it gets bright enough to combat glare, and it has decent reflection handling. Casual gamers should also appreciate the good response time, black frame insertion feature to clear up motion blur, and its really low input lag. Also, HDR content looks decent as it displays a wide color gamut, but it doesn't get bright enough to truly bring out highlights in HDR.

    Unfortunately, like most VA panel TVs, it has narrow viewing angles, which isn't ideal for wide seating arrangements. It also doesn't have good built-in speakers that don't produce much bass, so you should get a soundbar to get the best sound experience possible. Regardless of these minor issues, this is the best 75 inch 4k TV we've tested in the budget category so far.

    See our review

  6. Cheaper Alternative: Samsung UN75TU8000FXZA

    Type LED
    Sub-Type
    VA
    Resolution 4k

    If you're on a tighter budget and looking for a 75 inch TV, check out the Samsung UN75TU8000FXZA. It doesn't get as bright as the Hisense H8G, but it's a much better choice for dark-room viewing because it has an outstanding contrast ratio and black uniformity, even though it doesn't have a local dimming feature. It's also a very good choice for gaming because it has a fairly quick response time and a really low input lag. Sadly, it lacks many extra features like VRR support, and HDR content doesn't look good since it doesn't get bright and it can't display a wide color gamut. On the upside, Samsung's Tizen interface is easy to use and has a ton of apps available to download.

    All in all, the Hisense is the best 75 inch TV in the budget category we've tested so far, but if you want to save even more money, look into the Samsung.

    See our review

Notable Mentions

  • LG OLED77B9PUA: The LG B9 OLED is similar to the CX, but it's older and harder to find. See our review
  • TCL 75S425: The TCL is an okay cheap TV, but the TU8000 is a better choice for a bit more. See our review
  • Sony XBR75X950G: The Sony X950G has even better out-of-the-box color accuracy than the X950H. Look into this if you can still find it. See our review
  • Sony XBR75X800H: Decent budget option and the 75 inch model reportedly has a VA panel, so the Samsung is still a cheaper option. See our review
  • LG 75NANO90UNA: Good all-around TV with wide viewing angles if that's what you're looking for. See our review

Recent Updates

08/06/2020: Updated text for clarity.

07/10/2020: Added the LG CX OLED, Sony X950H, Samsung Q80T, and Hisense H8G; removed the LG B9, Samsung Q80R, Sony X950G, Samsung Q80R, and the Sony X800H.

05/29/2020: Replaced Vizio E Series 2018 with Sony X800H, replaced Samsung RU7100 with Samsung TU8000, removed LG UM6900.

05/01/2020: Replaced Sony X900F with Sony X950G.

04/03/2020: Replaced the LG OLED77C9 with the LG OLED77B9.

All Reviews

Our recommendations above are what we think are currently the best 70-75-77 inch 4k TVs to buy for most people in each price range. We factor in the price (a cheaper TV wins over a pricier one if the difference isn't really worth it), feedback from our visitors, and availability (no TVs that are difficult to find or almost out of stock everywhere).

If you would like to do the work of choosing yourself, here is the list of all our reviews of TVs. Be careful not to get too caught up in the details. While no TV is perfect, most TVs are great enough to please almost everyone, and the differences are often not noticeable unless you really look for them.

LOG IN

JOIN RTINGS.com

Be part of the most informed community and take advantage of our advanced tools to find the best product for your needs.
Join our mailing list:
Become an insider
EARLY ACCESS

Gain early access to all tests results for new products

Early Access UI
PRICES LISTED

Prices will now be listed directly in reviews and tables

product prices UI
MORE VOTES

Have 5 votes per product category to choose which product we’ll review next

Additional votes UI
UNLIMITED ACCESS

Gain unlimited access to detailed test results in tools and results (no blurred results)

test table UI

Create Discussion