Your browser is not supported or outdated so some features of the site might not be available.
We've started our biggest test yet! To try to better understand how long a TV should last, we're running 100 TVs through an accelerated longevity test for the next two years. Read more about it here, or watch our first video about the test here!

The 5 Best 70-75-77 Inch TVs - Winter 2023 Reviews

Updated
Best 70-75-77 Inch TVs

Large TVs are becoming increasingly popular, with manufacturers releasing more models in the 70 to 77-inch range. LG and Sony usually release OLED TVs in a 77-inch size, but you won't find any LED TVs in that exact size. It's easier to find the best 75-inch TV with an LED panel rather than the best 70-inch TV because there aren't many 70-inch TVs available, and they're usually cheaper TVs. Looking for the right TV for your needs depends on your budget and what you're going to watch, and there's no perfect solution for everyone. Not sure what size you should get? Make sure to check out our TV Size to Distance Calculator to help decide if a 75-inch TV is right for you.

We've bought and tested more than 375 TVs, and below are our recommendations for the best 70-75-77-inch TVs to buy. Also, check out our picks for the best TVs, the best 65-inch TVs, or the best 80-83-85-inch TVs if you want something bigger.


  1. Best 77-Inch TV

    The best 77-inch TV is the LG OLED77C2PUA. It's a fantastic TV with stunning picture quality. It's an incredible TV for watching movies in a dark room thanks to its near-infinite contrast ratio, resulting in deep, inky blacks, with no distracting blooming around bright objects. HDR content looks incredible thanks to its wide color gamut, and bright highlights stand out well.

    It gets bright enough for small highlights to stand out well, but the LG G2 OLED is a bit brighter and delivers a more impressive HDR experience overall. However, the G2 has a very unique design and is significantly more expensive, making the C2 the better choice for most people. The built-in webOS platform also makes it easy to stream your favorite content, and it doesn't have any issues upscaling lower-resolution content if you watch DVDs, cable boxes, or Blu-rays. It's also a great choice for wide seating areas as the wide viewing angle makes the image look consistent from the sides, so everyone sees the same image.

    See our review

  2. Best Upper Mid-Range 75-Inch TV

    If you want amazing picture quality, but aren't necessarily in a completely dark room, then a Mini LED TV like the Samsung QN75QN90BAFXZA is the best 75-inch TV. While the LG performs best in dark environments, this TV is exceptional in well-lit rooms because it uses Mini LED backlighting to get very bright and fights glare easily from bright light sources. If that isn't enough, it also has fantastic reflection handling, so you don't have to worry about glare in a bright room.

    It has a high native contrast ratio, and its great local dimming feature helps further improve the picture quality in dark scenes, but there's more noticeable blooming around bright objects in dark scenes. It has an impressive selection of gaming features, including HDMI 2.1 bandwidth for PC, Xbox Series X, or PS5 gamers, and it's even compatible with Xbox Cloud Gaming, so you can enjoy the latest Xbox games without having to pay for an expensive console.

    See our review

  3. Best Mid-Range 75-Inch TV

    The best mid-range TV available in a 75-inch is the Hisense U8H. We tested the smaller 65-inch version, but our results are valid for all three sizes that it's available in. It's an excellent TV that performs nearly as well as the Samsung QN90B QLED, with great picture quality and a great selection of extra features. Although small highlights aren't as bright as the QN90B, it's still an excellent choice for a bright room thanks to its high peak brightness and excellent reflection handling. Unfortunately, as it's a lower-end model, it doesn't have an ultra-wide viewing layer, so it's not as good as the QN90B for a wide seating arrangement, but it's fine if you're sitting directly in front of the TV or even at a slight angle.

    It's a fantastic gaming TV, thanks to its low input lag and fast response time, resulting in a responsive gaming experience with very little blur behind fast-moving objects. It has a few great gaming features, including FreeSync support to reduce screen tearing, and it supports HDMI 2.1 bandwidth on two of its HDMI ports for Xbox Series S|X or PS5 gamers.

    See our review

  4. Best Budget 75-Inch TV

    If you're looking for something on a budget, the best 75-inch 4k TV you can get for a low cost is the TCL 75S555. It's an impressive TV overall, especially for the price, and it delivers fantastic picture quality thanks to its superb contrast ratio and wide color gamut in HDR. It has a decent full array local dimming feature, but it's not as good as the Mini LED features on the Hisense U8H and the Samsung QN90B QLED. It has just okay peak brightness in HDR, so bright highlights don't stand out as well as they should.

    It's also a great TV for gamers thanks to its low input lag and quick response time, delivering a smooth gaming experience with very little delay between your actions and the action on-screen. Unlike the more expensive TVs on this list, it's limited to a 60Hz refresh rate, so it's not ideal for gamers looking to get the most out of their console's Performance Mode, and even though it supports a variable refresh rate, you'll see some tearing when the frame rate drops.

    See our review

  5. Best Cheap 70-Inch TV

    If you only care about getting a big TV and don't want to spend too much on the best picture quality, the Hisense A6H is the best 70-inch TV at a cheap price that you can get. Although it delivers much worse picture quality than the more expensive models on this list, the 70-inch model uses a VA panel and has much better contrast than the 65-inch model we bought and tested. It makes it a much better choice for use in a dark to moderately-lit room, as dark scenes are displayed well, with very little blooming around bright objects.

    The built-in Google TV platform is easy to use, with a nice, polished interface that makes it easy to find your favorite content. It also has a great selection of streaming apps and games. Speaking of gaming, it's a decent TV for gamers thanks to its low input lag and support for variable refresh rate technology to reduce tearing. It has an okay response time, but you'll notice more ghosting behind fast-moving objects than you would with a higher-end TV.

    See our review

Notable Mentions

  • Sony XR-77A80K : The Sony A80K OLED is a 77-inch OLED that's comparable to the LG C2 OLED, and it has better image processing features like upscaling and gradient handling, but it doesn't get as bright, so it's worth going for the LG. See our review
  • Samsung QN65S95BAFXZA: The Samsung S95B OLED is a fantastic TV that delivers brighter, more vibrant colors than the LG C2 OLED, but it's not available in a 75-inch size. See our review
  • TCL 75R646: The TCL 6 Series/R646 2021 QLED is a good alternative to the Hisense U8H, but that specific size is currently hard to find and out of stock at most places. The replacement model, the TCL 75R655, is an excellent alternative to the Hisense, but it costs the same and is a bit worse overall. See our review

Recent Updates

  1. Jan 18, 2023: Removed the TCL 75R646, as it's currently very hard to find, and the replacement model isn't worth buying over the Hisense 75U8H.

  2. Dec 19, 2022: Replaced the TCL 5 Series/S546 2021 QLED with the TCL 5 Series/S555 2022 QLED, as it's a better TV for about the same price as the previous model. Replaced the Insignia F50 QLED with the Hisense A6H, as the Insignia is no longer widely available in a 70-inch size.

  3. Nov 18, 2022: Verified our picks for accuracy and refreshed the text.

  4. Oct 20, 2022: Replaced the Hisense U9DG with the Hisense U8H, as it's a more versatile TV that looks better overall.

  5. Aug 29, 2022: Replaced the LG C1 and the Samsung QN90A with the LG C2 and the Samsung QN90B because they're easier to find, and renamed the QN90B to 'Best Upper Mid-Range'; renamed the Hisense U9DG to 'Best Mid-Range'; added the Insignia F50 QLED as the 'Best Cheap TV'; updated Notable Mentions based on changes.

All Reviews

Our recommendations above are what we think are currently the best 70-75-77 inch 4k TVs to buy for most people in each price range. We factor in the price (a cheaper TV wins over a pricier one if the difference isn't really worth it), feedback from our visitors, and availability (no TVs that are difficult to find or almost out of stock everywhere).

If you would like to do the work of choosing yourself, here is the list of all our reviews of 70-75-77 inch TVs. Be careful not to get too caught up in the details. While no TV is perfect, most TVs are great enough to please almost everyone, and the differences are often not noticeable unless you really look for them.

Discussions