The 6 Best 70-75-77 Inch TVs - Fall 2021 Reviews

Updated
Best 70-75-77 Inch TVs
333 Televisions Tested
  • Store-bought TVs; no cherry-picked units
  • Easily comparable results
  • No ads; unbiased reviews
  • Supported directly by you via insider access and when you purchase through our affiliate links
Learn more about our approach to product reviews here.

Large TVs are becoming increasingly popular, with manufacturers releasing more models in the 70-75-77 inch range. Some manufacturers even release TVs that are only in this size range instead of being at 55 or 65 inches. LG and Sony usually release their new OLED TVs in a 77 inch size, but you won't find any LED TVs in that exact size. It's easier to find the best 75 inch TV with an LED panel rather than the best 70 inch TV because most manufacturers are releasing models with 75 or 77 inch variants and not 70 inches.

We've tested over 90 TVs under the latest test bench, and below are our recommendations for the best 70 inch TVs, the best 75 inch TVs, and the best 77 inch TVs to buy. Also, check out our picks for the best TVs, the best 65 inch TVs, or if you want something even larger, the best 80-82-85 inch TVs.


  1. Best 70-75-77 Inch OLED TV: LG OLED77C1PUB

    8.8
    Mixed Usage
    9.3
    Movies
    8.2
    TV Shows
    8.7
    Sports
    9.2
    Video Games
    8.6
    HDR Movies
    9.0
    HDR Gaming
    8.9
    PC Monitor
    Type OLED
    Sub-Type
    WRGB
    Resolution 4k

    The best 77 inch OLED TV is the LG OLED77C1PUB. It's an excellent all-around TV and although we tested the 55 inch version, we expect our results to be valid for the 77 inch model too. It has the updated version of LG's WebOS, which is user-friendly and comes with the Magic Remote, which you can use as a point-and-press remote. However, OLEDs have the risk of permanent burn-in, but we don't expect it to be an issue for most people.

    The main advantage of getting an OLED over typical LED TVs is how they don't use a backlight and instead have pixels that can individually turn on and off. This means that it has a near-infinite contrast ratio and perfect black uniformity with no visible blooming, making it a fantastic choice for dark room viewing. It has wide viewing angles so the image remains accurate from the sides, and if you want to place it in a bright room, it has fantastic reflection handling.

    Unfortunately, our unit has bad out-of-the-box accuracy, so you may need to get it calibrated, but this can vary between units. It displays a wide color gamut for HDR content and has okay HDR peak brightness, but it may not be enough to truly make highlights stand out. On the plus side, if you're a gamer, you should appreciate the variable refresh rate (VRR) support and HDMI 2.1 inputs. Overall, it's the best 77 inch OLED.

    See our review

  2. Better HDR Alternative: Sony XR-77A80J

    Type OLED
    Sub-Type
    WRGB
    Resolution 4k

    If you prefer something with better HDR performance, then check out the Sony XR-77A80J. It doesn't have VRR support like the LG C1 OLED, but Sony has said that should come in a future firmware update. Instead, it has much better out-of-the-box accuracy, and even though this can vary between units, Sony TVs are known for their exceptional accuracy. It also has better gradient handling, so you shouldn't notice any banding in scenes with shades of the same color, like in sunsets. It delivers the same dark room performance because it turns off individual pixels, but it doesn't get much brighter in HDR. We tested the 55 inch model, and most of our results should be valid for the 77 inch model, but it uses a different screen finish, so the reflection handling should be different.

    If you're in the market for an OLED, you can't go wrong with the LG, but if HDR performance is important to you and you don't mind compromising on some gaming, then check out the Sony.

    See our review

  3. Best 70-75-77 Inch LED TV: Samsung QN75QN90AAFXZA

    8.6
    Mixed Usage
    8.5
    Movies
    8.6
    TV Shows
    8.5
    Sports
    8.8
    Video Games
    8.6
    HDR Movies
    8.8
    HDR Gaming
    8.8
    PC Monitor
    Type LED
    Sub-Type
    VA
    Resolution 4k

    The Samsung QN75QN90AAFXZA is the best 75 inch in the LED category. It's a premium 4k model that delivers excellent overall performance, and it's great whether you're watching movies in HDR, SDR, or gaming. We tested the 55 inch model, but we expect results to be valid for the 75 inch variant, too.

    It's packed with features, especially for gamers. It has a 120Hz panel with VRR support in native FreeSync and G-SYNC compatibility to reduce screen tearing. It has an HDMI 2.1 input, so you can plug in your PS5 or Xbox Series X and use it to its full capabilities. Gaming feels responsive thanks to the low input lag, and it has good motion handling due to the quick response time. LEDs have an advantage over OLEDs because they get brighter, and because this TV has Mini LED backlighting, visibility shouldn't be a problem in most well-lit rooms as it gets very bright.

    It has a VA panel with high contrast and a great local dimming feature, but sadly its local dimming performs worse in Game Mode than outside of it. It raises the black levels, and there's more blooming. However, this issue shouldn't be noticeable unless you pay attention to the picture quality while gaming. It also has fairly wide viewing angles due to the 'Ultra Viewing Angle' technology. All in all, it's the best 75 inch TV with an LED panel.

    See our review

  4. Cheaper Alternative: Sony XR75X90J

    Type LED
    Sub-Type
    VA
    Resolution 4k

    If you prefer spending less money, then look into the Sony XR75X90J. It doesn't have viewing angle technology like the Samsung QN90A QLED, so it has worse viewing angles, and it also doesn't have VRR support, but that many come in a future firmware update. However, the X90J has a better native contrast, and its local dimming performs equally great both in and out of Game Mode. It's impressive for watching HDR content because it has very good HDR brightness, but it doesn't display a wide color gamut according to our testing standards. However, the difference is minimal, and it has fantastic out-of-the-box accuracy, which is typical of Sony TVs. Despite the lack of VRR support, gamers should still appreciate the HDMI 2.1 support, low input lag, and quick response time.

    If you're in the market for the best 75 inch TV and prefer an LED option, the Samsung is an excellent choice. However, if you don't mind sacrificing a bit for a cheaper TV, look into the Sony. Keep in mind that we tested the 55 inch Sony, but the 75 inch variant should perform the same.

    See our review

  5. Best Budget 70-75-77 Inch TV: TCL 75S535

    7.7
    Mixed Usage
    8.4
    Movies
    7.1
    TV Shows
    7.1
    Sports
    7.9
    Video Games
    7.9
    HDR Movies
    7.9
    HDR Gaming
    7.7
    PC Monitor
    Type LED
    Sub-Type
    VA
    Resolution 4k

    The TCL 75S535 is the best 75 inch 4k TV in the budget category. Although we tested the 55 inch model of this TV, the 75 inch variant should perform the same, but it has a few more local dimming zones. It's a good overall TV that comes with Roku TV built-in, which is user-friendly, and you shouldn't need to buy an external device to stream your favorite content.

    The 5 Series has a VA panel with a high native contrast ratio for deep blacks, making it a great choice for watching movies in dark rooms. The full-array local dimming feature doesn't improve the contrast much because it raises the black levels a bit, but it also helps make the screen more uniform with minimal blooming in real content. It has great out-of-the-box accuracy, and it upscales lower-resolution content without any issues, so it's a decent choice for watching shows from cable boxes.

    Sadly, it's limited to a 60Hz panel and doesn't have any variable refresh rate support, which may disappoint some gamers. However, it still has a quick response time and low input lag for a responsive gaming experience. It doesn't get bright either, so it's not the best choice for watching HDR content because highlights don't pop the way the creator intended, but it still displays a wide color gamut. Overall, if these things don't bother you, it's the best 75 inch TV you can get for a low cost.

    See our review

  6. Gaming Alternative: Vizio M75Q7-J03

    Type LED
    Sub-Type
    VA
    Resolution 4k

    If you prefer something with a few more gaming features, then check out the Vizio M75Q7-J03. Its Vizio SmartCast system isn't as good as the Roku TV on the TCL 5 Series/S535 2020 QLED because it feels laggy at times. However, it has FreeSync VRR support to reduce screen tearing, and it provides great gaming performance thanks to its low input lag and fast response time for smooth motion. However, you may notice some black smearing with objects in dark scenes because it has a slow response time in dark transitions, typical of VA panels. It displays an excellent wide color gamut for HDR content, but like the TCL, it doesn't get bright. However, the 75 inch model is advertised to get brighter than the 55 inch model we tested, but it should perform the same in other areas.

    If you're on a budget and want the best 75 inch TV, you should be happy with the well-rounded TCL. If you're a gamer, check out the Vizio.

    See our review

Notable Mentions

  • Sony XR-75X95J: The Sony X95J is a bit better overall than the Sony X90J because it gets brighter and has wider viewing angles, but it's costly and not worth the price increase. See our review
  • TCL 75R646: The TCL 6 Series 2021 is a great TV that costs less than the Sony X90J and has gaming features, but its local dimming feature is worse and doesn't improve the picture quality all that much. See our review
  • LG OLED77G1PUA: The LG G1 is a higher-end model of the LG C1 that comes with the new evo panel that allows it to get brighter than the Sony A80J, but it's not worth the price increase. See our review
  • Samsung QN75QN85AAFXZA: The Samsung QN85A has Mini LED backlighting like the Samsung QN90A, but it uses an IPS-like panel with worse viewing angles, so it doesn't have as good dark room performance. See our review
  • LG 75QNED90UPA: The LG QNED90 is a high-end TV with Mini LED backlighting, but it has worse contrast than the Samsung QN9A because it has an IPS-like panel. See our review
  • Vizio P75QX-H1: The Vizio Quantum X is excellent for watching HDR content and has better contrast than the Samsung QN90A, but it may be hard to find. See our review
  • LG OLED77A1PUA: The LG A1 costs less than the LG C1 but doesn't have any gaming features. If that doesn't bother you, it may be worth getting this TV, though, because it's significantly cheaper. See our review
  • Hisense 75U7G: The Hisense U7G costs less than the Sony X90J and has gaming features, but the 75 inch model has an IPS-like panel, so it performs differently than the model we tested. See our review
  • Vizio P75Q9-J01: The Vizio P Series Quantum 2021 offers good value for the price and size for an LED TV, but there are too many bugs associated with it. See our review
  • Sony XR-83A90J: The Sony A90J is brighter than the Sony A80J, so it delivers a better HDR experience, but it's not available in this size range; it's available in an 83 inch size if you're willing to go for something a bit bigger. See our review
  • Hisense 75U6G: The Hisense U6G performs better than the TCL 5 Series because it gets brighter, but the 75 inch model may have a different panel type to the one we tested. See our review
  • Vizio M75Q6-J03: The Vizio M6 Series Quantum 2021 is cheaper than the Vizio M7 and has the same gaming features, but it doesn't have a local dimming feature. See our review

Recent Updates

  1. Oct 14, 2021: Moved the Hisense U6G to Notable Mentions because the 75 inch model may have a different panel; added the TCL 5 Series 2020 and the Vizio M7 2021 as the Budget picks; added the TCL 6 Series/R646 and the Vizio M6 2021 to Notable Mentions.

  2. Sep 17, 2021: Moved the Vizio P Series Quantum X 2020 to Notable Mentions because it's hard to find; added the Sony X95J, LG QNED90, Vizio P Series Quantum 2021, and Vizio M7 Series 2021 to Notable Mentions; updated text for clarity.

  3. Aug 20, 2021: Added the Sony A80J as 'Better HDR Alternative' to the LG C1 and moved the TCL 5 Series 2020 to Notable Mentions for consistency; added the Sony A90J to Notable Mentions.

  4. Jul 23, 2021: Updated text for clarity; added the LG G1, LG A1, and Hisense U7G to Notable Mentions.

  5. Jun 23, 2021: Replaced the Samsung Q80T with the newer Samsung QN90A and moved the Sony X90J to 'Cheaper Alternative' for consistency; replaced the Hisense H8G with the newer Hisense U6G; updated Notable Mentions based on market availability.

All Reviews

Our recommendations above are what we think are currently the best 70-75-77 inch 4k TVs to buy for most people in each price range. We factor in the price (a cheaper TV wins over a pricier one if the difference isn't really worth it), feedback from our visitors, and availability (no TVs that are difficult to find or almost out of stock everywhere).

If you would like to do the work of choosing yourself, here is the list of all our reviews of 70-75-77 inch TVs. Be careful not to get too caught up in the details. While no TV is perfect, most TVs are great enough to please almost everyone, and the differences are often not noticeable unless you really look for them.

Discussions