Updated

The 8 Best 70-75-77 Inch TVs - Fall 2019
Reviews

Best 70-75-77 Inch TVs
239 Televisions Tested
  • Store-bought TVs; no cherry-picked units
  • Retest after major updates
  • Easily comparable results
  • No ads; unbiased reviews
Learn more about our approach to product reviews here.

Large TVs are becoming increasingly popular, with manufacturers releasing more models in the 70-75-77 inch range. The older models in these sizes are becoming cheaper, while the newer ones are now the flagships of each manufacturer. LG and Sony usually release their new OLED TVs in a 77 inch size, and they are very expensive.

We've tested more than 70 TVs in the last two years and below are our recommendations for the best 70-75-77 inch TVs to buy in 2019. See also our recommendations for the best TVs, the best 65 inch TVs, and the best 80-82-85 inch TVs.


  1. Best 70-75-77 Inch TV: LG OLED77C8

    Usage Ratings - Version 1.3
    8.9
    Mixed Usage
    9.4
    Movies
    8.6
    TV Shows
    8.8
    Sports
    9.0
    Video Games
    9.1
    HDR Movies
    8.8
    HDR Gaming
    8.4
    PC Monitor
    Type : OLED
    Sub-Type
    :
    WRGB
    Resolution : 4k

    The LG OLED77C8 is the best TV we've reviewed that's available in a 70-75-77 inch size. All OLED panel TVs deliver remarkable overall performance, with perfect blacks and wide viewing angles. This TV's successor, the LG C9, has some more future-proof features like support for HDMI 2.1, but it's much more expensive for a very similar performance and not worth the price difference while the other TV is still available.

    This TV has an excellent wide color gamut, great for HDR, and outstanding gradients with almost no noticeable banding. It delivers crystal clear motion with almost no blur trail, thanks to the nearly instantaneous response time. It has no noticeable backlight flicker and it's an excellent TV for gaming due to the very low input lag. It supports 1080p @ 120Hz, which is great for PC or Xbox One gamers.

    Unfortunately, just like all OLEDs, this TV has the risk of temporary image retention and permanent burn-in. We don't expect this to be an issue for most people with normal varied use. Overall, this TV is an excellent choice for almost any use.

    See our review

  2. LED Alternative: Vizio PX75-G1

    Type : LED
    Sub-Type
    :
    VA
    Resolution : 4k

    If the possibility of burn-in on the LG C8 OLED concerns you, then check out the Vizio P Series Quantum X 2019 PX75-G1. This remarkable LED TV is available in 75 inch size and is one of the brightest TVs on the market. It can't deliver the perfect blacks or the wide viewing angles of the LG or other OLEDs, but it still looks great in a dark room thanks to the excellent contrast ratio and great local dimming support. It has excellent motion handling and a very low input lag, which is great for gaming.

    For the best picture quality, get the LG; otherwise, if you're only planning on sitting straight in front of the TV and don't want the burn-in risk, get the Vizio which is a great alternative.

    See our review

  3. Ultra Viewing Angle Alternative: Samsung QN75Q80R

    Type : LED
    Sub-Type
    :
    VA
    Resolution : 4k

    If you want an LED TV because you want to avoid the possibility of burn-in on the LG C8 OLED, but find that the Vizio P Series Quantum X 2019 doesn't have the wide viewing angles you want, get the Samsung QN75Q80R instead. It's a remarkable TV with remarkable dark room performance and excellent peak brightness. It's a VA panel with no burn-in risk and it incorporates the new 'Ultra Viewing Angle' technology that improves viewing angles at the expense of contrast ratio. It has exceptional motion handling thanks to its very fast response time that delivers crisp motion. The low input lag is very low and the TV comes loaded with some great gaming features.

    Overall, if you don't care for burn-in, get the LG; otherwise, the Samsung delivers excellent overall performance but without the perfect blacks found on an OLED.

    See our review

  4. Best 70-75-77 Inch TV For Color Accuracy: Sony XBR75X900F

    Usage Ratings - Version 1.3
    8.3
    Mixed Usage
    8.5
    Movies
    8.2
    TV Shows
    8.1
    Sports
    8.6
    Video Games
    8.4
    HDR Movies
    8.5
    HDR Gaming
    8.3
    PC Monitor
    Type : LED
    Sub-Type
    :
    VA
    Resolution : 4k

    If color accuracy is important to you, check out the Sony XBR75X900F. With our recommended settings, this TV is one of the most color-accurate TVs we've tested, and most people won't be able to spot any inaccuracies. This is a versatile 4k TV with excellent contrast, impressive peak brightness, and excellent reflection handling. It supports the latest HDR technology, including Dolby Vision, and the latest 4k UHD HDR movies look amazing thanks to the incredible HDR peak brightness and very good wide color gamut. This is also a good gaming TV for most casual gamers thanks to the low input lag and the excellent response time, which displays fast-moving objects with very little blur trail behind them.

    Unfortunately, like most VA panel TVs, the image degrades when viewed at an angle, and the input lag isn't as low as most demanding gamers would like it to be.

    Overall, this is one of the best 75 inch TVs out there.

    See our review

  5. Alternative For Gaming: Samsung QN75Q70R

    Type : LED
    Sub-Type
    :
    VA
    Resolution : 4k

    If you want a TV with lower input lag than the Sony X900F and more gaming features for a better gaming experience, check out the Samsung QN75Q70R. You won't get the Sony's excellent out-of-the-box color accuracy, and reflection handling isn't as good. On the upside, this TV delivers a gaming experience that will satisfy even the most demanding gamers. It has a very low input lag and incorporates some great gaming features, including AMD's FreeSync variable refresh rate technology and low latency with motion interpolation to smooth out older low frame rate games.

    Overall, if color accuracy is more important, get the Sony; otherwise, for a more responsive and better gaming experience, the Samsung is a better choice.

    See our review

  6. Best Budget 70-75-77 Inch TV: Vizio E70-F3

    Usage Ratings - Version 1.3
    7.7
    Mixed Usage
    7.1
    Movies
    7.4
    TV Shows
    7.6
    Sports
    8.5
    Video Games
    7.3
    HDR Movies
    8.1
    HDR Gaming
    8.2
    PC Monitor
    Type : LED
    Sub-Type
    :
    VA
    Resolution : 4k

    If you find the Sony X900F expensive, the best 70 inch TV in the budget category is the Vizio E Series 2018 E70-F3. It's slowly being replaced by the Vizio V Series 2019, which has similar overall performance. You won't get the extremely fast response time or the excellent out-of-the-box color accuracy of the Sony, or features like motion interpolation. On the upside, this TV has a good picture quality with deep blacks and full-array local dimming to enhance dark room performance. It can get bright enough for most rooms and delivers a very responsive gaming performance while gaming on a console or a PC thanks to its very low input lag.

    Unfortunately, the image degrades when viewed from the side, and its HDR performance is only decent.

    Overall, this is a good 4k TV that's okay for most uses and is one of the best 70 inch TVs for the money.

    See our review

  7. Larger Alternative: TCL 75S425

    Type : LED
    Sub-Type
    :
    VA
    Resolution : 4k

    If you want a larger TV than the Vizio E Series 2018, then check out the TCL 4 Series 75S425. The TCL can't get as bright as the Vizio, so it's more suitable for a dimmer room. On the upside, this is a larger TV with decent picture quality. It delivers deep blacks in the dark but has no local dimming, which could improve dark room performance. Although it supports HDR, it doesn't have a wide color gamut or high HDR peak brightness to deliver the creators' intent with vivid colors and bright highlights. The response time is very fast, so fast-moving content has only minimal blur trail, and the very low input lag makes it a good choice for gaming or use as a PC monitor.

    Overall, if you want a decent budget TV, get the Vizio; if you're willing to make a few compromises in quality and local dimming for a larger size, get the TCL.

    See our review

  8. Alternative For Wide Seating Arrangements: LG 75UK6570

    Type : LED
    Sub-Type
    :
    IPS (except 70")
    Resolution : 4k

    If you want a TV that can accommodate wide seating arrangements, then the best 75 inch 4k TV in the budget category with wide viewing angles is the LG 75UK6570. It doesn't have same the dark room performance as the Vizio E Series 2018, is more expensive, and is slowly becoming harder to find. However, it'll keep you happy if you often watch TV from the side. It's a large TV with a low input lag and a motion interpolation feature that will please those who enjoy the soap opera effect. Overall, it's a good TV that performs well in most uses and is one of the best 75 inch TVs for the money.

    So if you care about dark room performance and want to save some cash, get the Vizio. Otherwise, if viewing angles are more important and you can afford to spend a little more, then the LG is a better choice.

    See our review

Notable Mentions

  • LG OLED77C9: Excellent TV, but still very expensive. Get the C8 instead. See our review
  • Samsung QN75Q900: Excellent 8k TV, but the Samsung Q80R is a better deal. See our review
  • Samsung QN75Q90R: Excellent TV equipped with the One Connect Box, but the QN75Q80R is a better value. See our review
  • Samsung QN75Q9FN: Excellent TV with a One Connect box, but the QN75Q80R is a better value. See our review
  • Sony XBR75Z9F: Very good TV, but the Q80R is better and cheaper. See our review
  • Sony XBR75X950G: Great VA panel TV with 'X-Wide-Angle' technology, but not worth the extra cash over the X900F. See our review
  • Samsung UN75NU8000: Great TV, overall better than the RU8000, but harder to find. Get this if you can still find it. See our review
  • Vizio P75-F1: Great TV, overall better than the Samsung RU8000. Get this if you don't care about the Samsung gaming goodies. See our review
  • TCL 75R617: Very good TV with deep blacks. Get this over the LG UK6570 if you sit straight in front. See our review
  • Samsung UN75RU8000: Good TV, with great gaming features. Get this over the Q70R for a more budget gaming alternative. See our review

All Reviews

Our recommendations above are what we think are currently the best 70-75-77 inch 4k TVs to buy for most people in each price range. We factor in the price (a cheaper TV wins over a pricier one if the difference isn't really worth it), feedback from our visitors, and availability (no TVs that are difficult to find or almost out of stock everywhere).

If you would like to do the work of choosing yourself, here is the list of all our reviews of TVs that have a 70 or 75 or 77 inch size. Be careful not to get too caught up in the details. While no TV is perfect, most TVs are great enough to please almost everyone, and the differences are often not noticeable unless you really look for them.

LOG IN

JOIN RTINGS.com

Be part of the most informed community and take advantage of our advanced tools to find the best product for your needs.
Join our mailing list:
Become an insider

Unlimited access to full product reviews, test measurements and scores

test table UI

Product prices across the site on reviews, tables and tools

product prices UI

Additional votes for our
next reviews

Additional votes UI

Early Access
to our reviews and test measurements

Early Access UI

Create Discussion