Get insider access
Preferred store
Your browser is not supported or outdated so some features of the site might not be available.
To try to better understand how long a TV should last, we're running 100 TVs through an accelerated longevity test for the next two years. We've just posted our 1-year video update with our latest findings on temporary image retention, burn-in, and more!

The 6 Best 70-75-77 Inch TVs - Winter 2024 Reviews

Updated
Best 70-75-77 Inch TVs

Large TVs are becoming increasingly popular, with manufacturers releasing more models in the 70- to 77-inch range. LG, Sony, and Samsung usually release OLED TVs in a 77-inch size, but you won't find any LED TVs in that exact size. It's easier to find the best 75-inch TV with an LED panel than the best 70-inch TV because there aren't many 70-inch TVs available, and they're usually cheaper. Looking for the right TV for your needs depends on your budget and what you're going to watch, and there's no perfect solution for everyone. Not sure what size to get? Check out our TV Size to Distance Calculator to help decide if a 75-inch TV is right for you.

We've bought and tested more than 425 TVs, and below are our recommendations for the best 70-75-77-inch TVs to buy. You can check out our picks for the best TVs, the best 65-inch TVs, or the best 80-83-85-inch TVs if you want something bigger. Or, you can vote on which ones you want us to buy and test. To learn more about the 2024 models, check out our 2024 TV lineup page.


  1. Best 77-Inch TV

    The best 77-inch TV we've tested is the Samsung QN77S90CAFXZA. This TV delivers impressive picture quality, with an incredibly wide color gamut in HDR and bright, vibrant highlights. It looks amazing in a dark room thanks to its nearly infinite contrast ratio, so there's no distracting blooming or halo effect around bright areas of dark scenes or subtitles. It stands out against competitors like the LG C3 OLED thanks to its brighter colors, which are more vivid and lifelike. The Samsung TV can also display a wider range of colors in HDR.

    It's a well-rounded TV overall that delivers fantastic gaming performance. It has very low input lag, ensuring a smooth, responsive gaming experience. Like all OLED TVs, its nearly instantaneous response time results in crystal-clear motion with almost no noticeable blur behind fast-moving objects. It has a great selection of gaming features, including variable refresh rate support and HDMI 2.1 bandwidth, so you can take full advantage of modern gaming consoles. While the newer Samsung S95C OLED is a bit brighter overall, it comes at a significant price premium, making the S90C the clear value pick.

    See our review

  2. Best Bright Room 75-Inch TV

    If you want amazing picture quality but aren't regularly in a completely dark room, then a Mini LED TV like the Sony XR-75X93L is the best 75-inch TV for bright rooms you can get. While the Samsung S90C OLED performs best in dark environments, this TV is exceptional in well-lit rooms. Due to its fantastic SDR peak brightness and excellent reflection handling, the TV can easily overcome glare in bright rooms, and its Mini LED backlighting allows it to sustain its brightness even in very bright scenes.

    It has a high native contrast ratio, and its local dimming feature further improves its picture quality in dark scenes, albeit at the cost of noticeable haloing behind fast-moving objects. It's also a very colorful TV and is very accurate with minimal settings changes. Plus, being a Sony, it has the brand's market-leading image processing capabilities, so content looks its best regardless of source. It has an impressive selection of gaming features, including HDMI 2.1 bandwidth on two of its four HDMI ports, which is great for PC, Xbox Series X, or PS5 gamers, although you lose one of the HDMI 2.1 ports if you connect a soundbar through eARC. If you live outside of North America, you can also access the Sony X95L in a 75-inch size. It's more expensive than the X93L, but it's the best LED TV on the market, as it's slightly brighter and has much better contrast than this TV, with more local dimming zones.

    See our review

  3. Best Upper Mid-Range 77-Inch TV

    The best mid-range 77-inch TV is the LG OLED77C3PUA. It's a fantastic TV with stunning picture quality. It's an incredible TV for watching movies in a dark room thanks to its near-infinite contrast ratio, resulting in deep, inky blacks with no distracting blooming around bright objects. HDR content looks incredible thanks to its wide color gamut, and it gets bright enough for small highlights to stand out well in HDR content, but they're significantly less bright and colorful than on the Samsung S90C OLED. The built-in webOS platform also makes streaming your favorite content easy, and with its very good image processing, it has no issues upscaling lower-resolution content if you watch DVDs, cable boxes, or Blu-rays. It's also a great choice for wide seating areas as the wide viewing angle makes the image look consistent from the sides, so everyone sees the same image.

    Unfortunately, the C3 is sold for about the same price as the slightly better Samsung. While the Samsung TV is brighter and more colorful due to its QD-OLED panel, the LG does have some advantages. It has much better image processing overall, supports Dolby Vision HDR, and passes through advanced DTS audio formats. This makes the LG a more interesting TV for home theater fans. If you have deep pockets, you could also consider the higher-end LG G3 OLED. The G3 is still not quite as colorful as the Samsung, but it's brighter overall, and it comes with a sleek, slim wall mount instead of a stand. It's not a great value for most people, but it's one of the best OLEDs on the market.

    See our review

  4. Best Mid-Range 77-Inch TV

    The best mid-range TV available in a 77-inch size is the LG OLED77B3PUA. It's a great TV and can serve as an excellent entry point into the OLED market. The TV has all the features of the more expensive LG C3 OLED, but the B3 is dimmer and has only two HDMI 2.1 bandwidth ports. It still delivers outstanding picture quality, especially in a dark room, with its near-infinite contrast ratio delivering deep, inky blacks with no distracting blooming. Its built-in webOS platform is just as fast on this lower-tier model, and it still has very good image processing, so it has no issues upscaling lower-resolution content if you watch DVDs, cable boxes, or Blu-rays. It also has Dolby Vision HDR and supports DTS advanced audio formats, which is great for physical media as many discs use DTS for their audio tracks.

    And just like other OLEDs, its viewing angle is fantastic, so viewers can watch the TV from all over the room with no degradation in their viewing experience. Like the C3, this TV has a wide color gamut and is extremely accurate without any calibration, so movies look as the content creator intended. This TV is also great for gaming, as it's compatible with every VRR technology, has a fantastic response time, and has an extremely low input lag. Its two HDMI 2.1 ports have up to 4k @ 120Hz support, although unfortunately, like on the Sony X93L/X93CL, one of its HDMI 2.1 ports also doubles as the TV's eARC port, leaving you with only one high-speed port if you have a soundbar connected through eARC.

    See our review

  5. Best Lower Mid-Range 75-Inch TV

    The best lower mid-range TV available in a 75-inch size is the Hisense 75U7K. It's cheaper than anything recommended up to this point but delivers picture quality that is almost as good as the more expensive choices. It has a great Mini LED backlight, letting it simultaneously provide incredibly bright highlights and deep blacks, with barely any blooming around bright objects in dark scenes. The 75-inch model of this TV has been reported as having both an IPS/ADS and a VA panel. TVs with an IPS/ADS panel have worse contrast and black uniformity but with a wider viewing angle. Regardless of the panel used, HDR content looks great, and it supports both Dolby Vision HDR and HDR10+ for the best HDR experience possible. It also supports advanced audio formats, like DTS:X over eARC, for the best sound when watching content on physical media. And just like the more expensive LG OLEDs, the U7K has very good image processing overall, making it a cheaper standout for a home entertainment setup, although it's not as good as the Sony X93L/X93CL in that regard.

    Unfortunately, the VA model has a sub-par viewing angle, making it a bad choice for a wide seating arrangement. It runs the Google TV interface, which is fast and easy to use, and it has a great selection of streaming features, so you're sure to find your favorite shows. It's great for gaming thanks to its Dolby Vision HDR 120Hz support and two HDMI 2.1 bandwidth ports, both capable of up to 4k @ 144Hz gaming with VRR. This makes the TV a standout choice for PC gamers with powerful rigs and fully compatible with recent consoles. It's a hard TV to beat because of its relatively low price point.

    See our review

  6. Best Budget 75-Inch TV

    If you're looking for a budget model, the best 75-inch budget 4k TV is the Hisense 75U6K. It's a decent TV, especially for the price, and it provides impressive picture quality thanks to its excellent contrast ratio and wide color gamut in HDR. It has a middling full array local dimming feature, but it's good enough to significantly improve the TV's contrast in dark scenes. Still, it's not as effective as on the Hisense U7K and the Sony X93L/X93CL, as these TVs have Mini LED backlighting with smaller dimming zones. The 75U6K's peak brightness in HDR is just okay, so bright highlights don't stand out that well. Its image processing is disappointing, especially considering how good it is on the U7K, but that's the cost of going for a cheaper model.

    Thankfully, it's a great TV for gamers thanks to its low input lag and good response time, delivering a smooth gaming experience with very little delay between your actions and what happens on-screen. Unlike the more expensive TVs on this list, it's limited to a 60Hz refresh rate, so it's not ideal for gamers looking to get the most out of their console's Performance Mode, and even though it supports VRR, you'll see some tearing when the frame rate drops. If you want to save even more money, consider the Costco exclusive Hisense A6/A65K. It's almost as good as the U6K while also being much cheaper, with the primary difference between the two being the A65K's lack of a local dimming solution, so it doesn't look as good in a dark room, and it is slightly dimmer overall.

    See our review

Notable Mentions

  • Sony XR-77A80L: The Sony A80L/A80CL OLED is comparable to the LG C3 OLED. It has better image processing features than the LG but doesn't get as bright, so the LG is the better option for most people. See our review
  • TCL 75Q650G: The TCL Q6/Q650G QLED is a great TV from TCL and directly competes with the Hisense U6/U6K. The Hisense is a bit better overall, but the TCL is the better gaming TV with its ability to do 1080p @ 120Hz and 1440p @ 120Hz, with a wide VRR range through resolution halving. See our review
  • TCL 75QM850G: The TCL QM8/QM850G QLED is a great TV. It competes with the Sony X93L/X93CL and LG B3 OLED. The Sony is more expensive and dimmer than the TCL, but it has significantly better image processing and is a far more accurate TV. And while it's much brighter than the B3, it's hard to beat an OLED when it comes to pure visual impact in a dark room. See our review
  • Hisense 75U8K: The Hisense U8/U8K is an amazing TV and competes with the Sony X93L/X93CL and LG B3 OLED. It's close, but ultimately, the Sony TV gets the slight edge due to its lack of quirks and better image processing. While far dimmer in a bright room, the LG provides a much more impressive visual impact when the lights are off or dimmed. Note that the 75-inch U8K has an ADS Pro panel, giving it worse contrast and black uniformity than the other sizes but with a wider viewing angle. See our review
  • TCL 75Q750G: The TCL Q7/750G QLED competes with the Hisense U7K, but the Hisense is the better TV overall due to its vastly better color accuracy, wider color gamut, better image processing, and superior reflection handling. See our review
  • Roku 75R4A5R: The Roku Select Series is a slightly cheaper alternative to the Hisense U6/U6K, but it's not as good overall. The Hisense has much better contrast due to its local dimming feature, gets brighter in HDR, and supports a wide color gamut with better color volume for more vibrant and lifelike colors. Unless you're a big fan of Roku's OS, the Hisense is the better option for most people. See our review

Recent Updates

  1. Feb 07, 2024: Updated text for clarity, confirmed that picks are accurate and available, dropped the 'Best Cheap 75-inch TV', and moved the Roku 75R4A5R to the Notable Mentions section.

  2. Jan 11, 2024: Verified the text for accuracy and consistency and added a link to our 2024 TV lineup page.

  3. Nov 30, 2023: Replaced the Hisense U8K with the better LG B3 OLED as our 'Best Mid-Range TV' pick, and the Samsung CU7000 with the better Roku Select Series as our 'Best Cheap TV' pick. Also added a few Notable Mentions.

  4. Nov 02, 2023: Due to availability issues, the LG C2 OLED was replaced with the LG C3 OLED as the 'Best Upper Mid-Range 77-Inch TV'. Clarified some alternative picks, and confirmed that our main picks are widely available.

  5. Oct 06, 2023: Replaced the Samsung QN90C/QN90CD with the Sony X93L due to the Sony being slightly better overall. Also replaced the Hisense U8H, TCL 5 Series/S555 2022 QLED, and Hisense A6H with the Hisense U8K, Hisense U6K, and Samsung CU7000, respectively, due to the older models being discontinued.

All Reviews

Our recommendations above are what we think are currently the best 70-75-77 inch 4k TVs to buy for most people in each price range. We factor in the price (a cheaper TV wins over a pricier one if the difference isn't really worth it), feedback from our visitors, and availability (no TVs that are difficult to find or almost out of stock everywhere).

If you would like to do the work of choosing yourself, here is the list of all our reviews of 70-75-77-inch TVs. Be careful not to get too caught up in the details. While no TV is perfect, most TVs are great enough to please almost everyone, and the differences are often not noticeable unless you really look for them.