The 6 Best 70-75-77 Inch TVs - Winter 2021 Reviews

Updated
Best 70-75-77 Inch TVs
295 Televisions Tested
  • Store-bought TVs; no cherry-picked units
  • Easily comparable results
  • No ads; unbiased reviews
  • Supported directly by you via insider access and when you purchase through our affiliate links
Learn more about our approach to product reviews here.

Large TVs are becoming increasingly popular, with manufacturers releasing more models in the 70-75-77 inch range. The older models in these sizes are becoming cheaper, while the newer ones are now the flagships of each manufacturer. LG and Sony usually release their new OLED TVs in a 77 inch size; however, they're very expensive. It's easier to find the best 75 inch TV rather than the best 70 inch TV because most manufacturers are releasing models with 75 or 77 inch variants and not 70 inches.

We've tested over 80 TVs in the last two years, and below are our recommendations for the best 70 inch TVs, the best 75 inch TVs, and the best 77 inch TVs to buy. Also, check out our recommendations for the best TVs, the best 65 inch TVs, or if you want something even larger, the best 80-82-85 inch TVs.


  1. Best 70-75-77 Inch OLED TV: LG OLED77CXPUA

    8.8
    Mixed Usage
    9.3
    Movies
    8.2
    TV Shows
    8.6
    Sports
    9.1
    Video Games
    8.7
    HDR Movies
    8.8
    HDR Gaming
    8.6
    PC Monitor
    Type OLED
    Sub-Type
    WRGB
    Resolution 4k

    The best 77 inch TV with an OLED panel that we've tested is the LG OLED77CXPUA. It delivers outstanding overall picture quality because it can turn off individual pixels, producing perfect blacks. This is typical for an OLED, and if you have a wide seating arrangement, it also has very wide viewing angles, so people viewing from the side get the same great image quality as if they would be sitting directly in front of it.

    It has all the features you expect to find on a high-end model. It has four HDMI 2.1 inputs that support 4k @ 120Hz content. It has eARC support, allowing you to send uncompressed high-quality audio from an external receiver through an HDMI connection, but sadly, LG dropped DTS decoding from their 2020 lineup. It has great out-of-the-box color accuracy, upscales lower-resolution content properly, and removes judder from any source, which helps with the appearance of motion. Gamers should also appreciate the 120Hz refresh rate, variable refresh rate (VRR) support, fairly low input lag, and near-instant response time.

    Unfortunately, like any OLED, it has the risk of permanent burn-in. This means that if you constantly watch content with static elements, like the news, it may damage your TV. However, this shouldn't be a problem if you watch varied content. Also, it doesn't get very bright, but it has outstanding reflection handling if you want to place it in a bright room. Overall, most people should be happy with the LG.

    See our review

  2. Best 70-75-77 Inch LED TV: Samsung QN75Q80TAFXZA

    8.4
    Mixed Usage
    8.1
    Movies
    8.4
    TV Shows
    8.4
    Sports
    8.9
    Video Games
    7.9
    HDR Movies
    8.6
    HDR Gaming
    8.7
    PC Monitor
    Type LED
    Sub-Type
    VA
    Resolution 4k

    The best 75 inch 4k TV with an LED panel that we've tested is the Samsung QN75Q80TAFXZA. It's a premium model in Samsung's 2020 QLED lineup, and it's packed with features. It has impressive all-around performance and delivers excellent picture quality. It has a VA panel with an added 'Ultra Viewing Angle' layer, which improves the viewing angles at the cost of its contrast ratio.

    It has decent viewing angles, so it's suitable for fairly wide rooms, and it has great native contrast with a decent local dimming feature that improves the picture quality in dark scenes. It also performs well in bright rooms because it has remarkable reflection handling and great peak brightness. The Samsung is one of the best gaming TVs we've tested and offers amazing gaming performance. It has FreeSync support and G-SYNC compatibility to reduce screen tearing. The input lag is incredibly low, and it has an excellent response time, resulting in minimal motion blur.

    Sadly, our unit has some uniformity issues with visible dirty screen effect in the center, but this may vary between units. On the upside, it displays a wide color gamut for HDR content and gets bright enough to make highlights pop. It also removes 24p judder from any source and upscales lower-resolution content without any issues. Overall, the Samsung is the best 75 inch TV if you're in the market for an LED model.

    See our review

  3. Best 70-75-77 Inch TV For HDR: Vizio P75QX-H1

    8.3
    Mixed Usage
    8.5
    Movies
    8.0
    TV Shows
    7.9
    Sports
    8.5
    Video Games
    8.6
    HDR Movies
    8.5
    HDR Gaming
    7.9
    PC Monitor
    Type LED
    Sub-Type
    VA
    Resolution 4k

    The best 75 inch TV for watching HDR content that we've tested is the Vizio P75QX-H1. It's an excellent and versatile model that's well-suited for nearly every type of content, but especially for HDR as it's one of the brightest TVs we've tested. It has an impressive build quality, with a simple design that fits easily into most settings. Visibility shouldn't be an issue even in direct sunlight, but images look washed out when viewed from the side due to its sub-par viewing angles, which isn't ideal for wide seating arrangements.

    It has a high native contrast ratio that's further enhanced by a full-array local dimming feature, resulting in deep blacks for a great dark room viewing experience. It has exceptional coverage of the DCI P3 color space, and it gets more than bright enough to make highlights pop. Color accuracy is mediocre out of the box, so you may want to calibrate it if you want accurate color reproduction. Fast-moving scenes look clear thanks to its quick response time and Black Frame Insertion feature, and it can interpolate low frame rate content up to 120fps for fans of the 'Soap Opera' effect.

    If you want to game on it, it has very low input lag, VRR support, and HDMI 2.1 ports. However, there are some issues with displaying a 4k @ 120Hz signal that need to be fixed through a firmware update, which might disappoint those looking for a TV for their PS5 or Xbox Series X. Also, it doesn't upscale lower resolution content as well as other 4k TVs on the market. Nonetheless, if you're only looking for a fantastic HDR experience, this one is worth checking out.

    See our review

  4. Alternative With Better Color Accuracy: Sony XBR75X950H

    Type LED
    Sub-Type
    VA
    Resolution 4k

    If you prefer a TV with better color accuracy out of the box, then check out the Sony XBR75X950H. It's remarkably similar to the Vizio P Series Quantum X 2020 as it's also a VA panel TV with a high contrast ratio and great motion handling. It has an outstanding HDR color gamut, and color accuracy is excellent out of the box, so you don't have to pay extra to get it calibrated. Viewing angles are much better thanks to Sony's 'X-Wide Angle' layer; however, images can still look a bit washed out at steeper angles. It doesn't get as bright as the Vizio, but it's enough to deliver an amazing HDR experience. The downsides are that while it has a 120Hz panel, it can't display a 4k @ 120Hz signal, and it lacks HDMI 2.1 ports as well as VRR support. On the upside, its Android TV interface feels smoother and more responsive, and there's a larger selection of apps through the Google Play Store.

    Overall, the Vizio is a better choice for HDR because it has a better color gamut and gets brighter. However, if you don't want the hassle of getting your TV calibrated, then go with the Sony.

    See our review

  5. Best Budget 70-75-77 Inch TV: Hisense 75H8G

    7.8
    Mixed Usage
    8.0
    Movies
    7.6
    TV Shows
    7.5
    Sports
    8.1
    Video Games
    7.7
    HDR Movies
    7.7
    HDR Gaming
    7.6
    PC Monitor
    Type LED
    Sub-Type
    VA
    Resolution 4k

    The Hisense 75H8G is the best 75 inch TV we've tested that you can find in the budget category. It's a low-cost model that performs very well for its value and has great picture quality. It performs equally well in dark and bright rooms, and despite having no VRR support, it still offers great gaming performance. It's fairly well-built and has extremely borders on three sides.

    If you want to put it in a room with a lot of lights, it does get bright enough to combat glare and has decent reflection handling, but it may still be best to avoid placing it opposite a window. The Hisense's VA panel has an excellent native contrast ratio and decent black uniformity, and there's a full-array local dimming feature that does a fairly good job at improving the picture quality in dark scenes. The TV upscales lower-resolution content, such as from DVDs and cable boxes, without any issues, it has a motion interpolation feature, and it removes judder from native 24p sources.

    Sadly, our unit's out-of-the-box color accuracy is just okay, and you may need to get it calibrated to enjoy it to the fullest, but this may vary between units. It also doesn't have many gaming features and is limited to a 60Hz panel, but it still has a quick response time and low input lag. The built-in Android TV has an app store with a ton of apps, but the system isn't the easiest to use and may feel laggy at times. Regardless of these small issues, most people should be happy with it.

    See our review

  6. Roku Alternative: TCL 75S535

    Type LED
    Sub-Type
    VA
    Resolution 4k

    If you prefer something with built-in Roku TV and you're on a budget, then look into the TCL 75S535. It doesn't get nearly as bright as the Hisense H8G, so it performs best in dim or moderately-lit rooms. On the upside, Roku TV is much easier to use than Android, and the menu navigation is very smooth. Like the Hisense, the TCL has a VA people with a remarkable contrast ratio, good black uniformity, and a decent full-array local dimming feature. It displays a very wide color gamut for HDR content but doesn't get bright enough to make highlights pop in HDR. It has great out-of-the-box color accuracy and upscales lower-resolution content well. Sadly, it has narrow viewing angles, which is expected from a VA panel, and it's not suggested for wide seating arrangements.

    If you want the best 75 inch TV that you can find at a low cost, go for the Hisense, but if you're a fan of Roku TV, the TCL is a good alternative.

    See our review

Notable Mentions

  • LG OLED77GXPUA: The LG GX OLED is similar to the LG CX, and it comes with a no-gap wall-mount, but it's not worth the price difference. See our review
  • Samsung QN75Q90TAFXZA: The Samsung Q90/Q90T QLED gets much brighter than the Samsung Q80T, but it's not worth the price difference. See our review
  • TCL 75R635: The TCL 6 Series/R635 2020 QLED is better and more expensive than the 5 Series, but it may be out-of-budget. See our review
  • Sony XBR75X900H: The Sony X900H is a cheaper option than the Sony X950H that doesn't get as bright. See our review
  • Samsung UN75TU8000FXZA: The Samsung TU8000 is cheaper than the Hisense H8G, but it doesn't provide a wide color gamut for HDR content. See our review
  • LG 75NANO90UNA: The LG NANO90 is a good all-around TV with wide viewing angles if that's what you're looking for. See our review

Recent Updates

01/15/2021: Minor text and structure changes; no change in recommendations.

11/26/2020: Added the Vizio P Series Quantum X 2020 and moved the Sony X950H to alternate pick; renamed the LG CX to 'Best OLED' and the Samsung Q80T to 'Best LED'.

10/02/2020: Replaced the Samsung TU8000 with the TCL 5 Series 2020 and renamed to 'Roku Alternative'; removed the Vizio P Series Quantum X 2019 and moved the Samsung Q80T QLED to its spot.

07/10/2020: Added the LG CX OLED, Sony X950H, Samsung Q80T, and Hisense H8G; removed the LG B9, Samsung Q80R, Sony X950G, Samsung Q80R, and the Sony X800H.

All Reviews

Our recommendations above are what we think are currently the best 70-75-77 inch 4k TVs to buy for most people in each price range. We factor in the price (a cheaper TV wins over a pricier one if the difference isn't really worth it), feedback from our visitors, and availability (no TVs that are difficult to find or almost out of stock everywhere).

If you would like to do the work of choosing yourself, here is the list of all our reviews of 70-75-77 inch TVs. Be careful not to get too caught up in the details. While no TV is perfect, most TVs are great enough to please almost everyone, and the differences are often not noticeable unless you really look for them.

LOG IN

JOIN RTINGS.com

Be part of the most informed community and take advantage of our advanced tools to find the best product for your needs.
Join our mailing list:
Become an insider
EARLY ACCESS

Gain early access to all tests results for new products

Early Access UI
PRICES LISTED

Prices will now be listed directly in reviews and tables

product prices UI
MORE VOTES

Have 5 votes per product category to choose which product we’ll review next

Additional votes UI
UNLIMITED ACCESS

Gain unlimited access to detailed test results in tools and results (no blurred results)

test table UI

Create Post