Get insider access
Preferred tv store
Updated

The 5 Best 70-75-77 Inch TVs - Fall 2020
Reviews

Best 70-75-77 Inch TVs
283 Televisions Tested
  • Store-bought TVs; no cherry-picked units
  • Easily comparable results
  • No ads; unbiased reviews
  • Supported directly by you via insider access and when you purchase through our affiliate links
Learn more about our approach to product reviews here.

Large TVs are becoming increasingly popular, with manufacturers releasing more models in the 70-75-77 inch range. The older models in these sizes are becoming cheaper, while the newer ones are now the flagships of each manufacturer. LG and Sony usually release their new OLED TVs in a 77 inch size; however, they're very expensive.

We've tested over 70 TVs in the last two years, and below are our recommendations for the best 70 inch TVs, the best 75 inch TVs, and the best 77 inch TVs to buy. Also, check out our recommendations for the best TVs, the best 65 inch TVs, or if you want something even larger, the best 80-82-85 inch TVs.


  1. Best 70-75-77 Inch TV: LG OLED77CXPUA

    8.8
    Mixed Usage
    9.3
    Movies
    8.2
    TV Shows
    8.6
    Sports
    9.1
    Video Games
    8.7
    HDR Movies
    8.8
    HDR Gaming
    8.6
    PC Monitor
    Type OLED
    Sub-Type
    WRGB
    Resolution 4k

    The best 77 inch TV that we've tested is the LG OLED77CXPUA. It delivers outstanding overall picture quality because it's able to turn off individual pixels, producing perfect blacks. This is typical for an OLED, and if you have a wide seating arrangement, it also has very wide viewing angles, so people viewing from the side get the same great image quality as if they would be sitting directly in front of it.

    It has all the features you expect to find on a high-end TV. It has four HDMI 2.1 inputs, making it future-proof. It has eARC support, allowing you to send uncompressed high-quality audio from an external receiver through an HDMI connection, but sadly, LG dropped DTS decoding from their 2020 TVs. It has great out-of-the-box color accuracy, it upscales lower resolution content properly, and it removes judder from any source, which helps with the appearance of motion. Gamers should also appreciate the 120Hz refresh rate, FreeSync support, fairly low input lag, and the near-instant response time.

    Unfortunately, like any OLED, it has the risk of permanent burn-in. This means that if you constantly watch content with static elements, like the news, it may damage your TV. However, this shouldn't be a problem if you watch varied content. It doesn't get very bright, but it has outstanding reflection handling if you want to place it in a bright room. Overall, most people should be happy with the LG.

    See our review

  2. LED Alternative: Samsung QN75Q80TAFXZC

    Type LED
    Sub-Type
    VA
    Resolution 4k

    If you don't want to worry about the burn-in risk associated with OLED TVs, then check out the Samsung QN75Q80TAFXZC. It doesn't produce an infinite contrast ratio or perfect black uniformity like the LG CX OLED, but instead, it gets much brighter, resulting in a better HDR experience. Its VA panel has an extra layer, named 'Ultra Viewing Angle,' that improves its viewing angles compared to other VA panels, at the cost of its contrast. Still, it has a great contrast ratio and a decent full-array local dimming feature. Gamers should appreciate the 120Hz refresh rate, FreeSync VRR support, low input lag, and very quick response time. Sadly, it has some dirty screen effect in the center, which could get distracting during sports. Fortunately, it also performs in well-lit environments because it gets bright enough to combat glare and has outstanding reflection handling.

    The LG is the best 77 inch TV we've tested thanks to its OLED panel that delivers deep blacks, but if you prefer an LED TV, the Samsung is a great option too.

    See our review

  3. Best 70-75-77 Inch TV For Color Accuracy: Sony XBR75X950H

    8.2
    Mixed Usage
    8.4
    Movies
    8.4
    TV Shows
    8.1
    Sports
    7.9
    Video Games
    8.3
    HDR Movies
    7.8
    HDR Gaming
    8.0
    PC Monitor
    Type LED
    Sub-Type
    VA
    Resolution 4k

    The best 75 inch 4k TV for color accuracy that we've tested is the Sony XBR75X950H. It's a well-built flagship 4k LED TV with excellent out-of-the-box color accuracy. It performs well in both bright and dark rooms and should please most people.

    It has a VA panel that delivers a great contrast ratio. It's lower than most VA panel TVs because it has Sony's 'X-Wide Angle' technology, which slightly improves the viewing angles at the cost of its contrast. Still, the viewing angles remain fairly narrow, so it's not recommended for really wide seating arrangements. It also has a full-array local dimming that improves the contrast. If you want to use it in bright rooms, it gets extremely bright and has outstanding reflection handling. HDR content also looks great because it displays a wide color gamut and gets bright enough to truly bring out highlights.

    Unfortunately, this TV doesn't have many gaming features. It has a 120Hz panel, but it doesn't support any variable refresh rate technology (VRR), and its input lag is too high for competitive gaming. It's not future-proof either as it doesn't support HDMI 2.1. Regardless, it has a quick response time, it interpolates motion up to 120fps, and it removes judder from any source. Overall, this is the best 75 inch TV we've tested if color accuracy is important to you.

    See our review

  4. Best Budget 70-75-77 Inch TV: Hisense 75H8G

    7.8
    Mixed Usage
    8.0
    Movies
    7.6
    TV Shows
    7.5
    Sports
    8.1
    Video Games
    7.7
    HDR Movies
    7.7
    HDR Gaming
    7.6
    PC Monitor
    Type LED
    Sub-Type
    VA
    Resolution 4k

    The best 75 inch TV in the budget category that we've tested is the Hisense 75H8G. Sitting right below the Hisense H9G in their 2020 lineup, the H8G offers good overall performance without costing too much. It's fairly well-built and has a nice design that looks good in any setting.

    It has a VA panel with an excellent contrast ratio, and it has a full-array local dimming feature, which is a nice addition for a budget TV. The local dimming performs fairly well overall and helps improve the contrast ratio, making it a good choice for watching content in dark rooms. Even in bright rooms, it has decent reflection handling and gets bright enough to combat glare. It supports both Dolby Vision and HDR10+, displays a wide color gamut, but it doesn't get extremely bright in HDR, so some highlights may not pop the way they should. Lastly, it's good for gaming because the input lag is incredibly low, response time is quick, and it has a Black Frame Insertion feature.

    Sadly, it has narrow viewing angles, so it's not suggested for a wide seating arrangement. It also has some uniformity issues, but this may vary between units. The built-in Android TV isn't the easiest to use out of all the smart platforms on other TVs, but it has a massive selection of apps available to download. Overall, if you want the best 75 inch TV and you're on a budget, then you can't go wrong with the Hisense.

    See our review

  5. Roku Alternative: TCL 75S535

    Type LED
    Sub-Type
    VA
    Resolution 4k

    If you prefer a 75 inch TV with the easy-to-use Roku TV, then check out the TCL 5 Series/75S535 2020 QLED. It doesn't get as bright as the Hisense H8G, so it's not as ideal for usage in bright rooms. However, it has better out-of-the-box color accuracy and displays a much wider color gamut for HDR content. It also has an outstanding contrast ratio with a decent full-array local dimming feature. Like the Hisense, it has a good response time, so fast-moving content looks good, and it has incredibly low input lag for gaming. Unfortunately, it has some uniformity issues with dirty screen effect in the center, but this may vary between units. It upscales lower-resolution content without any issues and removes 24p judder from any source, such as Blu-ray players or native apps, which is rare for a 60Hz TV.

    If you're a budget and looking for a 75 inch TV, the Hisense is the better choice, but if you'd prefer a TV with Roku built-in, then check out the TCL.

    See our review

Notable Mentions

  • Vizio P75Q9-H1: The Vizio P Series Quantum 2020 is a very good overall TV, but it has too many bugs, and the Q80T is better all-around. See our review
  • LG OLED77GXPUA: The LG GX OLED is similar to the CX and it comes with a no-gap wall-mount, but it's not worth the price difference. See our review
  • Samsung QN75Q90T: The Samsung Q90/Q90T QLED gets much brighter than the Q80T, but it's not worth the price difference. See our review
  • TCL 75R635: The TCL 6 Series/R635 2020 QLED is better and more expensive than the 5 Series, but it may be out-of-budget. See our review
  • Sony XBR75X900H: The Sony X900H is a cheaper option to the X950H that doesn't get as bright. See our review
  • Samsung UN75TU8000FXZA: The Samsung TU8000 is cheaper than the Hisense H8G, but it doesn't provide a wide color gamut for HDR content. See our review
  • LG 75NANO90UNA: The LG NANO90 is a good all-around TV with wide viewing angles if that's what you're looking for. See our review

Recent Updates

10/02/2020: Replaced the Samsung TU8000 with the TCL 5 Series 2020 and renamed to 'Roku Alternative'; removed the Vizio P Series Quantum X 2019 and moved the Samsung Q80T QLED to its spot.

09/04/2020: Updated text for clarity; made changes to notable mentions to reflect recent reviews.

07/10/2020: Added the LG CX OLED, Sony X950H, Samsung Q80T, and Hisense H8G; removed the LG B9, Samsung Q80R, Sony X950G, Samsung Q80R, and the Sony X800H.

05/29/2020: Replaced Vizio E Series 2018 with Sony X800H, replaced Samsung RU7100 with Samsung TU8000, removed LG UM6900.

05/01/2020: Replaced Sony X900F with Sony X950G.

All Reviews

Our recommendations above are what we think are currently the best 70-75-77 inch 4k TVs to buy for most people in each price range. We factor in the price (a cheaper TV wins over a pricier one if the difference isn't really worth it), feedback from our visitors, and availability (no TVs that are difficult to find or almost out of stock everywhere).

If you would like to do the work of choosing yourself, here is the list of all our reviews of TVs. Be careful not to get too caught up in the details. While no TV is perfect, most TVs are great enough to please almost everyone, and the differences are often not noticeable unless you really look for them.

LOG IN

JOIN RTINGS.com

Be part of the most informed community and take advantage of our advanced tools to find the best product for your needs.
Join our mailing list:
Become an insider
EARLY ACCESS

Gain early access to all tests results for new products

Early Access UI
PRICES LISTED

Prices will now be listed directly in reviews and tables

product prices UI
MORE VOTES

Have 5 votes per product category to choose which product we’ll review next

Additional votes UI
UNLIMITED ACCESS

Gain unlimited access to detailed test results in tools and results (no blurred results)

test table UI

Create Post