Updated

The 8 Best 70-75-77 Inch TVs - Winter 2020
Reviews

Best 70-75-77 Inch TVs
245 Televisions Tested
  • Store-bought TVs; no cherry-picked units
  • Easily comparable results
  • No ads; unbiased reviews
  • Supported directly by you via insider access and when you purchase through our affiliate links
Learn more about our approach to product reviews here.

Large TVs are becoming increasingly popular, with manufacturers releasing more models in the 70-75-77 inch range. The older models in these sizes are becoming cheaper, while the newer ones are now the flagships of each manufacturer. LG and Sony usually release their new OLED TVs in a 77 inch size, and they are very expensive.

We've tested more than 70 TVs in the last two years and below are our recommendations for the best 70-75-77 inch TVs to buy in 2020. See also our recommendations for the best TVs, the best 65 inch TVs, and the best 80-82-85 inch TVs.


  1. Best 70-75-77 Inch TV: LG OLED77C9

    Usage Ratings - Version 1.3
    9.0
    Mixed Usage
    9.3
    Movies
    8.6
    TV Shows
    8.8
    Sports
    9.4
    Video Games
    9.1
    HDR Movies
    9.0
    HDR Gaming
    8.7
    PC Monitor
    Type OLED
    Sub-Type
    WRGB
    Resolution 4k

    The best 77 inch TV is the LG OLED77C9. This is a superb TV with outstanding picture quality and tons of features to satisfy even the most demanding enthusiasts. It can produce deep, inky blacks due to its ability to turn individual pixels off, and it has very good peak brightness and reflection handling, making this TV good for both bright and dark rooms. It also supports wide color gamut, which helps to produce vivid and saturated colors in HDR content. For gamers, this TV has excellent low input lag, an almost instantaneous response time, and support for FreeSync variable refresh rate technology. Additionally, LG has recently certified this TV as being G-SYNC compatible for those using an NVIDIA graphics card.

    There are downsides to OLED technology, though; mainly the issue of temporary image retention and permanent burn-in. While the risks are low with normal varied use, it can happen if you tend to watch the same programming with static channel logos or have long gaming sessions with the user interface being always in the same place.

    All in all, this is a fantastic TV with superb performance and should be at the top of the list for anyone looking for TVs over 70 inches.

    See our review

  2. LED Alternative: Vizio PX75-G1

    Type LED
    Sub-Type
    VA
    Resolution 4k

    If you don't want the hassle of dealing with burn-in, consider the Vizio P Series Quantum X 2019 PX75-G1. Although you won't get the same black levels as the LG C9 OLED, this TV has a superb contrast ratio nonetheless, which is also helped by the full array local dimming feature. It has one of the best color gamuts we've tested so far and the TV can get incredibly bright, making HDR content a truly enjoyable experience. Motion handling and input lag are exceptional, but unfortunately, it doesn't support any variable refresh rate technology.

    If you're looking for the best picture quality you can get, the LG is still a better choice overall, but if you're concerned about burn-in, go with the Vizio.

    See our review

  3. Ultra Viewing Angle Alternative: Samsung QN75Q80R

    Type LED
    Sub-Type
    VA
    Resolution 4k

    If you want an LED TV because you want to avoid the possibility of burn-in on the LG C9 OLED but find that the Vizio P Series Quantum X 2019 doesn't have the wide viewing angles you want, get the Samsung QN75Q80R. It's a remarkable TV with remarkable dark room performance and excellent peak brightness. It's a VA panel with no burn-in risk that incorporates the new 'Ultra Viewing Angle' technology that improves viewing angles at the expense of contrast ratio. It has exceptional motion handling thanks to its very fast response time that delivers crisp motion. It has low input lag and comes loaded with some great gaming features.

    Overall, if you don't care about burn-in, get the LG; otherwise, the Samsung delivers excellent overall performance without the perfect blacks found on an OLED.

    See our review

  4. Best 70-75-77 Inch TV For Color Accuracy: Sony XBR75X900F

    Usage Ratings - Version 1.3
    8.3
    Mixed Usage
    8.5
    Movies
    8.2
    TV Shows
    8.1
    Sports
    8.6
    Video Games
    8.4
    HDR Movies
    8.5
    HDR Gaming
    8.3
    PC Monitor
    Type LED
    Sub-Type
    VA
    Resolution 4k

    If color accuracy is important to you, check out the Sony XBR75X900F, one of the best 75 inch TVs. With our recommended settings, this is one of the most color-accurate TVs we've tested, and most people won't be able to spot any inaccuracies. This is a versatile 4k TV with excellent contrast, impressive peak brightness, and excellent reflection handling. It supports the latest HDR technology, including Dolby Vision, and the latest 4k UHD HDR movies look amazing thanks to the incredible HDR peak brightness and very good wide color gamut. This is also a good gaming TV for most casual gamers thanks to the low input lag and the excellent response time, which displays fast-moving objects with very little blur trail behind them.

    Unfortunately, like most VA panel TVs, the image degrades when viewed at an angle, and the input lag isn't as low as most demanding gamers would like it to be.

    Overall, this is one of the best 75 inch TVs for the money.

    See our review

  5. Alternative For Gaming: Samsung QN75Q70R

    Type LED
    Sub-Type
    VA
    Resolution 4k

    If you find the Sony X900F's input lag a tad too high for your taste or you need more advanced gaming features such as FreeSync support, take a look at the Samsung QN75Q70R. This TV also uses a VA panel with outstanding contrast ratio, but its color accuracy doesn't quite match that of the Sony. It has a decent full array local dimming and the motion handling is exceptional, including an optional black frame insertion feature to reduce blur in fast-moving scenes. Though it can't get as bright, it still manages to do a very good job when it comes to HDR content, with vibrant colors and highlights that pop.

    Overall, the Sony has better color accuracy out of the box, but for a smooth and responsive gaming experience, you should check out the Samsung.

    See our review

  6. Best Budget 70-75-77 Inch TV: Vizio E70-F3

    Usage Ratings - Version 1.3
    7.7
    Mixed Usage
    7.1
    Movies
    7.4
    TV Shows
    7.6
    Sports
    8.5
    Video Games
    7.3
    HDR Movies
    8.1
    HDR Gaming
    8.2
    PC Monitor
    Type LED
    Sub-Type
    VA
    Resolution 4k

    The best 70 inch TV in the budget category is the Vizio E Series 2018 E70-F3. It's slowly being replaced by the Vizio V Series 2019, which has similar overall performance. You won't get the Sony X900F's extremely fast response time or excellent out-of-the-box color accuracy, or features like motion interpolation. On the upside, this TV has a good picture quality with deep blacks and full array local dimming to enhance dark room performance. It can get bright enough for most rooms and delivers a very responsive gaming performance while gaming on a console or a PC thanks to its very low input lag.

    Unfortunately, the image degrades when viewed from the side, and its HDR performance is only decent.

    Overall, this is a good 4k TV that's okay for most uses and is one of the best 70 inch TVs for the money.

    See our review

  7. Larger Alternative: Samsung UN75RU7100

    Type LED
    Sub-Type
    VA
    Resolution 4k

    If you want a larger TV than the Vizio E Series 2018, check out the Samsung 75RU7100, which is among the best 75 inch 4k TVs. You won't get a local dimming feature to improve dark room performance and the TV can't remove judder from any source. On the upside, it's a good overall TV with decent picture quality with deep blacks in a dark room. It supports HDR, but doesn't have a wide color gamut or high HDR peak brightness to deliver HDR content as it should. It has a very low input lag that makes it a good choice for gaming or use as a PC monitor.

    Overall, if you want a decent budget TV, get the Vizio; if you're willing to make a few compromises in quality for a larger size, get the Samsung.

    See our review

  8. Alternative For Wide Seating Arrangements: LG 75UM6970

    Type LED
    Sub-Type
    IPS
    Resolution "4k"

    If your room has a wide seating arrangement and you find that the Vizio E Series 2018's viewing angles aren't satisfactory, then the best budget 75 inch TV is the LG 75UM6970. This TV has a large IPS panel and maintains an accurate image when viewed from the side, which is great for watching TV with a group of friends. You won't get the Vizio's dark room performance, and the price is slightly higher. Also, it isn't great for use as a PC monitor due to its less-accurate RGBW sub-pixel structure. On the upside, it has a decent overall picture quality and a very low input lag that's good even for competitive gaming.

    If you often watch TV in a dark room and sit straight in front, the Vizio is a better choice, but for larger rooms where people often watch from the side, the LG is a better option.

    See our review

Notable Mentions

  • LG OLED77C8: Excellent TV, but not easy to find. Get this over the C9 if you find it at a much cheaper price. See our review
  • Samsung QN75Q900: Excellent 8k TV, but the Samsung Q80R is a better deal. See our review
  • Samsung QN75Q90R: Excellent TV equipped with the One Connect Box, but the QN75Q80R is a better value. See our review
  • Sony XBR75Z9F: Very good TV, but the Q80R is better and cheaper. See our review
  • Sony XBR75X950G: Great VA panel TV with 'X-Wide-Angle' technology, but not worth the extra cash over the X900F. See our review
  • Samsung UN75NU8000: Great TV, overall better than the RU8000, but harder to find. Get this if you can still find it. See our review
  • Vizio P75-F1: Great TV, overall better than the Samsung RU8000. Get this if you don't care about the Samsung gaming goodies. See our review
  • TCL 75R617: Very good TV with deep blacks. Get this over the LG UK6570 if you sit straight in front. See our review
  • Samsung UN75RU8000: Good TV, with great gaming features. Get this over the Q70R for a more budget gaming alternative. See our review
  • LG 75UK6570: Good TV that's become hard to find. Get this over the Sony XBR75X800G if you find it. See our review

All Reviews

Our recommendations above are what we think are currently the best 70-75-77 inch 4k TVs to buy for most people in each price range. We factor in the price (a cheaper TV wins over a pricier one if the difference isn't really worth it), feedback from our visitors, and availability (no TVs that are difficult to find or almost out of stock everywhere).

If you would like to do the work of choosing yourself, here is the list of all our reviews of TVs that have a 70 or 75 or 77 inch size. Be careful not to get too caught up in the details. While no TV is perfect, most TVs are great enough to please almost everyone, and the differences are often not noticeable unless you really look for them.

Recent Updates

01/08/2020: Minor text and structure changes, no change in recommendations.

12/06/2019: Replaced the LG OLED77C8 with the LG OLED77C9, the TCL 4 Series 2019 (75S425) with the Samsung 75RU7100, and the Sony X800G (XBR75X800G) with the LG UM70UM6970. Changed some text to improve clarity.

11/06/2019: Replaced the LG 75UK6570 with the Sony XBR75X800G and changed some text for clarity.

LOG IN

JOIN RTINGS.com

Be part of the most informed community and take advantage of our advanced tools to find the best product for your needs.
Join our mailing list:
Become an insider

Unlimited access to full product reviews, test measurements and scores

test table UI

Product prices across the site on reviews, tables and tools

product prices UI

Additional votes for our
next reviews

Additional votes UI

Early Access
to our reviews and test measurements

Early Access UI

Create Discussion