Your browser is not supported or outdated so some features of the site might not be available.
369
TVs store-bought and tested, supported by you via insider access, and when you purchase through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.
Driven by data, run by a passionate team of engineers, testers, technical writers, developers, and more. We are hiring!

The 6 Best 70-75-77 Inch TVs - Fall 2022 Reviews

Updated
Best 70-75-77 Inch TVs

Large TVs are becoming increasingly popular, with manufacturers releasing more models in the 70 to 77-inch range. LG and Sony usually release OLED TVs in a 77-inch size, but you won't find any LED TVs in that exact size. It's easier to find the best 75-inch TV with an LED panel rather than the best 70-inch TV because there aren't many 70-inch TVs available, and they're usually cheaper TVs. Looking for the right TV for your needs depends on your budget and what you're going to watch, and there's no perfect solution for everyone.

We've bought and tested over 360 TVs, and below are our recommendations for the best 70-75-77 inch TVs to buy. Also, check out our picks for the best TVs, the best 65-inch TVs, or the best 80-82-85 inch TVs if you want something bigger.


  1. Best 77-Inch TV

    The best 77-inch TV is the LG OLED77C2PUA. It's a fantastic TV with stunning picture quality. Although we tested the 65-inch version, the results are also valid for the 77-inch model. It's incredible for watching content in dark rooms because OLEDs like this one have a near-infinite contrast ratio that makes blacks look deep and inky, and there isn't any blooming around bright objects either. It's also excellent for watching HDR movies because of this, but it doesn't get as bright as some other high-end OLEDs like the LG G2 OLED, which is a higher-end model that doesn't have a stand, but HDR looks better on it.

    However, for most people, the C2 is the best choice because it's versatile for a variety of content, and it comes with a stand. The built-in webOS platform makes it easy to stream your favorite content, and it doesn't have any issues upscaling lower-resolution content if you watch DVDs, cable boxes, or Blu-rays. It's also a great choice for wide seating areas as the wide viewing angle makes the image look consistent from the sides, so everyone sees the same image.

    See our review

  2. Best 75-Inch Upper Mid-Range TV

    If you find the LG C2 OLED too expensive but still want a premium TV that costs a bit less, then the Samsung QN75QN90BAFXZA is another excellent alternative. While the LG performs best in dark environments, this TV is exceptional in well-lit rooms because it uses Mini LED backlighting to get very bright and fights glare easily from bright light sources. If that isn't enough, it also has fantastic reflection handling. It doesn't have the same perfect black levels as on the LG, but it still has a high native contrast ratio, and its great local dimming feature helps further improve the picture quality in dark scenes.

    We also tested the 65-inch version of this TV, and the results are valid for the 75-inch version. You can find an older model of this TV, the Samsung QN90A QLED, for cheaper, but because it's a 2021 model, it will slowly become harder to find. The QN90B improves in a few areas compared to the past version as it gets brighter in HDR, so highlights pop for a vivid HDR experience.

    See our review

  3. Best Mid-Range 75-Inch TV

    Should you be looking for something cheaper in the mid-range price category, then the best 75-inch TV for your needs is the Hisense 75U9DG. It's a unique TV that's the first model available at the consumer level, with two LCD panels stacked on top of each other. It allows the TV to achieve a remarkable contrast ratio, one of the best we've tested on any LED-backlit TV, and the black uniformity rivals that of an OLED TV. It means that it's remarkable for watching content like movies in dark rooms, and it has a wide viewing angle that makes the image look the same from the sides.

    As it's cheaper than higher-end TVs like the Samsung QN90B QLED, there are a few drawbacks. It doesn't get as bright in HDR, so highlights don't pop as much and colors don't look as vivid, but it still displays a wide range of colors. It also has a slow response time that makes motion look blurry, so the U9DG isn't as versatile for gaming or even watching sports as the other TVs, and it performs best for watching dark content in dark rooms.

    See our review

  4. Best Lower Mid-Range 75-Inch TV

    For something even cheaper in the lower mid-range price category, the TCL 75R646 is a great TV that offers good value for its cost, and you get a few premium features. It doesn't have the same remarkable dark room performance as the Hisense U9DG, but it still has a high contrast ratio, and its local dimming feature is decent enough to display deep blacks in dark rooms. Even if you want to use it in a well-lit room, it has excellent reflection handling and incredible SDR peak brightness, so glare isn't an issue.

    It performs best when watching HD cable channels, Blu-rays, or native 4k content because it has some problems upscaling 480p content, but this is only an issue if you watch DVDs. Although it uses Mini LED backlighting like the Samsung QN90B QLED, it doesn't get as bright, so while it doesn't deliver the same HDR experience, it's still great and is better than other TVs in the same price range. Note that we tested the 55-inch model of this TV, but the results are also valid for the 75-inch version.

    See our review

  5. Best Budget 75-Inch TV

    If you're looking for something on a budget, the best 75-inch 4k TV you can get for a low cost is the TCL 75S546. It's a good TV with a few features to please most people, and while we tested the 65-inch version, the results are also valid for the 75-inch model. It's a step-down version of the TCL 6 Series/R646 2021 QLED with lower peak brightness, especially in HDR, but that's also what you have to expect for a budget-friendly TV as you won't get the same premium picture quality as more expensive options.

    It's a very good choice for watching movies in dark rooms as it doesn't have any trouble displaying 1080p content from Blu-rays or native 4k content. However, it isn't ideal for watching DVDs because it can't properly upscale 480p content, which is disappointing if you still watch DVDs. If you watch content in dark rooms, it has a remarkable native contrast ratio, and while there's some blooming in dark scenes, the Mini LED local dimming feature still helps improve the picture quality in dark scenes.

    See our review

  6. Best Cheap 70-Inch TV

    If you only care about getting a big TV and don't want to spend too much on the best picture quality, a cheap TV like the Insignia NS-70F501NA22 is a good choice. Unlike the other TVs, it's available in a 70-inch size, making it the best 70-inch TV to buy, and the results are valid from the 65-inch model we tested. As expected for a cheap TV, it isn't as good overall as the TCL 5 Series/S546 2021 QLED, but it still has an okay overall performance that should please most people. It looks great in a dark room as it has a high native contrast ratio for deep blacks, and even if it doesn't have a local dimming feature, the black uniformity is good.

    It comes with the easy-to-use Fire TV smart platform, which has a ton of apps you can download, making it easy to stream your favorite content. Its remote also has a mic you can use with Alexa to open apps and search for content. It doesn't upscale lower-resolution content as well as other TVs, but it's fine with native 4k content.

    See our review

Notable Mentions

  • Sony XR-77A80K : The Sony A80K OLED is a 77-inch OLED that's comparable to the LG C2 OLED, and it has better image processing features like upscaling and gradient handling, but it doesn't get as bright, so it's worth going for the LG. See our review
  • Hisense 75U6H: The Hisense U6H is a very good budget TV whose 75-inch panel uses an IPS panel, so it has lower contrast than the TCL 5 Series/S546 2021 QLED. See our review
  • TCL 75S455: The TCL 4 Series/S455 2022 is a cheap TV that's available in 75 inches, which is good if you want something bigger than the Insignia F50 QLED, but it costs more and has worse colors. See our review
  • Samsung QN75QN85BAFXZA: The Samsung QN85B QLED is a cheaper alternative to the Samsung QN90B QLED with many of the same premium features, but considering it has a different panel type with a worse contrast, it's better to stick with the QN90B. See our review
  • Vizio M70Q7-J03: The Vizio M7 Series Quantum 2021 is a TV that's available in a 70-inch size like the Insignia F50 QLED, so it's a good alternative if you're limited in space and want more features, but its smart system isn't as good. See our review

Recent Updates

  1. Aug 29, 2022: Replaced the LG C1 and the Samsung QN90A with the LG C2 and the Samsung QN90B because they're easier to find, and renamed the QN90B to 'Best Upper Mid-Range'; renamed the Hisense U9DG to 'Best Mid-Range'; added the Insignia F50 QLED as the 'Best Cheap TV'; updated Notable Mentions based on changes.

  2. Jun 28, 2022: Moved the Sony A80J to Notable Mentions because the 77-inch model is hard to find and renamed the Hisense U9DG to 'Best For Movies'; replaced the Sony X90J with the TCL 6 Series/R646 as the 'Best Mid-Range' because it's cheaper; updated Notable Mentions based on user needs.

  3. May 06, 2022: Moved the Sony X90J to its own category as the 'Best Mid-Range'. Verified our picks for accuracy and refreshed the text throughout.

  4. Apr 08, 2022: Moved the Sony A80J to its own category as Best OLED For HDR to reflect user needs; added the Sony X85J to Notable Mentions.

  5. Mar 09, 2022: Updated text for clarity and verified picks for accuracy.

All Reviews

Our recommendations above are what we think are currently the best 70-75-77 inch 4k TVs to buy for most people in each price range. We factor in the price (a cheaper TV wins over a pricier one if the difference isn't really worth it), feedback from our visitors, and availability (no TVs that are difficult to find or almost out of stock everywhere).

If you would like to do the work of choosing yourself, here is the list of all our reviews of 70-75-77 inch TVs. Be careful not to get too caught up in the details. While no TV is perfect, most TVs are great enough to please almost everyone, and the differences are often not noticeable unless you really look for them.

Discussions