Preferred tv store
Updated

The 8 Best 70-75-77 Inch TVs - Summer 2019
Reviews

Best 70-75-77 Inch TVs
235 Televisions Tested
  • Store-bought TVs; no cherry-picked units
  • Retest after major updates
  • Easily comparable results
  • No ads; unbiased reviews
Learn more about our approach to product reviews here.

Large TVs are becoming increasingly popular, with manufacturers releasing more models in the 70-75-77 inch range. The older models in these sizes are becoming cheaper, while the newer ones are now the flagships of each manufacturer. LG and Sony have released and announced new OLED TVs available in a 77 inch size, although they are still very expensive.

We've tested 36 TVs available in these sizes and below are our recommendations for the best 70-75-77 inch TVs to buy in 2019. See also our recommendations for the best TVs, the best 65 inch TVs, and the best 80-82-85 inch TVs.



  1. Best 70-75-77 Inch TV: LG OLED77C8

    Usage Ratings - Version 1.3
    8.9
    Mixed Usage
    9.4
    Movies
    8.6
    TV Shows
    8.8
    Sports
    9.0
    Video Games
    9.1
    HDR Movies
    8.8
    HDR Gaming
    8.4
    PC Monitor
    Type : OLED
    Sub-Type
    :
    WRGB
    Resolution : 4k

    The best TV we have reviewed that's available in a 70-75-77 inch size is the LG OLED77C8. The OLED panel delivers a remarkable viewing experience, with perfect blacks and wide viewing angles. It has an excellent wide color gamut and outstanding gradients with almost no noticeable banding.

    This TV is excellent for gaming, as it has excellent low input lag. It supports 1080p @ 120Hz, which is great for PC or Xbox One gamers. The nearly instantaneous response time delivers crystal clear motion, with almost no blur trail, and has no noticeable backlight flicker.

    Unfortunately, this TV, like all OLED TVs, has a risk of temporary image retention and permanent burn-in, but we don't expect this to be an issue for most people. Overall, it should please most people, as it's excellent for almost any use.

    See our review

  2. LED Alternative: Vizio PX75-G1

    Type : LED
    Sub-Type
    :
    VA
    Resolution : 4k

    If the possibility of burn-in with the LG C8 OLED concerns you, check out the Vizio P Series Quantum X 2019 PX75-G1. This outstanding LED TV is now available in a 75" size. It's one of the brightest TVs on the market, and still looks great in a dark room thanks to the outstanding contrast ratio and great local dimming feature. It also has excellent motion handling and low input lag, which is great for gaming. Unfortunately, it doesn't have the wide viewing angles of the LG.

    See our review

  3. Ultra Viewing Angle Alternative: Samsung QN75Q80R

    Type : LED
    Sub-Type
    :
    VA
    Resolution : 4k

    If you're concerned about the possibility of burn-in that the LG C8 OLED has, then get the new Samsung QN75Q80R instead. This is a remarkable TV with excellent dark room performance and excellent peak brightness. It's equipped with the new 'Ultra Viewing Angle' technology and has decent viewing angles. Motion handling is excellent and the TV has a very fast response time. This TV has an extremely low input lag, and it has some great gaming features, including AMD's FreeSync variable refresh rate technology and low input lag with motion interpolation.

    See our review

  4. Best 70-75-77 Inch TV For Color Accuracy: Sony XBR75X900F

    Usage Ratings - Version 1.3
    8.3
    Mixed Usage
    8.5
    Movies
    8.2
    TV Shows
    8.1
    Sports
    8.6
    Video Games
    8.4
    HDR Movies
    8.5
    HDR Gaming
    8.3
    PC Monitor
    Type : LED
    Sub-Type
    :
    VA
    Resolution : 4k

    If color accuracy is important to you, check out the Sony XBR75X900F instead. This is a versatile 4k TV with excellent contrast, impressive peak brightness, and excellent reflection handling. It supports the latest HDR technology, including Dolby Vision, and the latest 4k UHD HDR movies look amazing thanks to the incredible HDR peak brightness and very good wide color gamut.

    This TV is also a great choice for gaming. It has an excellent response time, so fast-moving objects have very little blur behind them, and it has great low input lag for a responsive gaming experience. With our recommended settings, this TV is also one of the most accurate TVs we've tested, and most people won't be able to spot any inaccuracies.

    Unfortunately, the image degrades when viewed at an angle, so this TV isn't as good for watching the big game with a group of friends, or if you have a wide seating area. Overall, it's one of the best 75 inch TVs we've tested.

    See our review

  5. Alternative For Gaming: Samsung UN75RU8000

    Type : LED
    Sub-Type
    :
    VA
    Resolution : 4k

    If you want a better gaming experience, check out the Samsung UN75RU8000 instead. It delivers a more responsive gaming experience, with significantly lower input lag than the Sony XBR75X900F. It also supports some great gaming features, including AMD's FreeSync variable refresh rate technology, great for Xbox one gamers or PC gamers with AMD graphics cards. This TV doesn't have a local dimming feature, but it has slightly better contrast than the Sony, even with local dimming. Unfortunately, it isn't as bright, so small specular highlights in some games don't stand out as much.

    See our review

  6. Best Budget 70-75-77 Inch TV: Vizio D70-F3

    Usage Ratings - Version 1.3
    7.4
    Mixed Usage
    6.7
    Movies
    7.4
    TV Shows
    7.4
    Sports
    8.1
    Video Games
    6.9
    HDR Movies
    7.7
    HDR Gaming
    8.1
    PC Monitor
    Type : LED
    Sub-Type
    :
    VA
    Resolution : 4k

    If the Sony X900F is outside your price range, the best 70 inch TV in the budget category is the Vizio D Series 4k 2018 D70-F3. It doesn't have the more advanced features found on the Sony, like local dimming or motion interpolation. On the upside, this is a TV with decent picture quality and deep, uniform dark scenes that look good in a dark room. It has a fast response time and low input lag, which make it very responsive for gaming or PC use.

    Unfortunately, the image degrades when viewed from the side, and its HDR performance is mediocre.

    Overall, this is a decent but basic 4k TV that is okay for most uses, and is one of the best 70 inch TVs for the money.

    See our review

  7. Larger Alternative: TCL 75S425

    Type : LED
    Sub-Type
    :
    VA
    Resolution : 4k

    If you want a larger TV than the Vizio D Series 4k 2018, then check out the TCL 4 Series 75S425. The TCL can't reach the brightness levels of the Vizio, so it's more suitable for a dimmer room. On the upside, this is a larger TV with decent picture quality. It displays deep blacks in the dark but lacks a local dimming feature to further improve dark room performance. Although it supports HDR, it doesn't have a wide color gamut or high HDR peak brightness to deliver the creators' intent with vivid colors and bright highlights.

    The response time is very fast, so fast-moving content has only minimal blur trail, and the very low input lag makes it a good choice for gaming or use as a PC monitor. Overall, it's a TV that performs decently in most uses and is a good value for the size.

    See our review

  8. Alternative For Wide Seating Arrangements: LG 75UK6570

    Type : LED
    Sub-Type
    :
    IPS (except 70")
    Resolution : 4k

    If you want a TV that can accommodate wide seating arrangements, then the best 75 inch 4k TV in the budget category with wide viewing angles is the LG 75UK6570. It doesn't have same the dark room performance as the Vizio D Series 4k 2018 and it's more expensive, but it will keep you happy if you often watch TV from the side. It's larger, has a lower input lag, and has a motion interpolation feature that will please those who enjoy the soap opera effect. Overall, it's a good TV that performs well in most uses and is one of the best 75 inch TVs for the money.

    See our review

Notable Mentions

  • LG OLED77C9: Excellent TV, but still very expensive. Get the C8 instead. See our review
  • Samsung QN75Q900: Excellent 8k TV, but the Samsung Q80R is a better deal. See our review
  • Samsung QN75Q90R: Excellent TV equipped with the One Connect Box, but the QN75Q80R is a better value. See our review
  • Samsung QN75Q9FN: Excellent TV, with a One Connect box, but the QN75Q80R is a better value. See our review
  • Sony XBR75Z9F: Very good TV, but the Q80R is better and cheaper. See our review
  • Sony XBR75X950G: Great VA panel TV with 'X-Wide-Angle' technology, but very expensive. See our review
  • Samsung UN75NU8000: Great TV, overall better than the RU8000, but harder to find. Get this if you can still find it. See our review
  • Vizio P75-F1: Great TV, overall better than the Samsung RU8000. Get this if you don't care about the Samsung gaming goodies. See our review
  • TCL 75R617: Very good TV with deep blacks, but lacks the gaming features of the Samsung. Get this is if you care more for movies. See our review

All Reviews

Our recommendations above are what we think are currently the best 70-75-77 inch 4k TVs to buy for most people in each price range. We factor in the price (a cheaper TV wins over a pricier one if the difference isn't really worth it), feedback from our visitors, and availability (no TVs that are difficult to find or almost out of stock everywhere).

If you would like to do the work of choosing yourself, here is the list of all our reviews of TVs that have a 70 or 75 or 77 inch size. Be careful not to get too caught up in the details. While no TV is perfect, most TVs are great enough to please almost everyone, and the differences are often not noticeable unless you really look for them.

LOG IN

JOIN RTINGS.com

Be part of the most informed community and take advantage of our advanced tools to find the best product for your needs.
Join our mailing list:
Become an insider

Unlimited access to full product reviews, test measurements and scores

test table UI

Product prices across the site on reviews, tables and tools

product prices UI

Additional votes for our
next reviews

Additional votes UI

Early Access
to our reviews and test measurements

Early Access UI

Create Discussion