Your browser is not supported or outdated so some features of the site might not be available.
To try to better understand how long a TV should last, we're running 100 TVs through an accelerated longevity test for the next two years. Learn more about our latest findings with our latest video, which has been posted to our new RTINGS com R&D channel.

The 5 Best 80-83-85 Inch TVs - Winter 2023 Reviews

Updated
Best 80-83-85 Inch TVs

If you have a large room and sit far from the TV or simply want the largest TV available, there are a few large TVs you can choose from. Even though larger TVs are becoming more popular, you'll find more options in the 70-75-77 inch category, but there are still a few great TVs available at this size. It's easier to find the best 85-inch TV rather than the best 80-inch TV because 85-inch TVs are the most common, and some OLEDs are coming out in 83-inch sizes too. Choosing the right model all depends on your needs and personal budget.

We've bought and tested more than 380 TVs, and below are our recommendations for the best big-screen TV to buy. See our picks for the best TVs for movies and the best 4k TVs, and if you want something smaller, the best 65-inch TVs. Most brands will start releasing their 2023 lineups soon, so make sure to vote on which ones you want us to buy and test first. If you want to find out more about the 2023 models, check out our 2023 TV lineup page.


  1. Best 80-85 Inch TV

    The best TV you can buy that's available in 80+ inches is the LG OLED83C2PUA. It's a fantastic TV, and while it's expensive even for an 83-inch TV, it delivers fantastic picture quality that'll impress anyone. It's a remarkable TV for a dark home theater room, thanks to its near-infinite contrast ratio that results in perfect blacks, with no distracting blooming or halos around bright objects like subtitles. Combined with its high peak brightness, HDR content looks incredible, and bright areas of the screen stand out.

    Even if you want to use it in a well-lit room, it gets bright enough to fight glare with a few lights around, and the reflection handling is fantastic. It also has a wide viewing angle that makes the image look consistent from the sides, which is good if you have a wide seating area or sit close to the screen. Lastly, its webOS smart platform is easy to use and has a great selection of streaming apps, so you can quickly find your favorite content.

    See our review

  2. Best Upper Mid-Range 80-85 Inch TV

    If you find the LG C2 OLED too expensive, you can still get an excellent overall TV with the Samsung QN85QN90BAFXZA. It's a slightly larger TV than the LG, making it the best 85-inch TV you can get if you want something a bit bigger. It doesn't have the same perfect black levels as the LG, but it gets much brighter, so it's a better choice if you're in a very bright room. It also delivers brighter highlights in HDR, and, combined with its excellent color gamut, it's an impressive choice for watching content in HDR10 or HDR10+.

    It offers many of the same features as the LG, including HDMI 2.1 bandwidth for new-gen console or PC gamers, and it has a few great gaming features like variable refresh rate technology to reduce tearing. If you're going for a clean setup and plan on wall-mounting your TV, the Samsung QN95B QLED is nearly identical, but the inputs are housed in an external connection box, and there's just one cable from the connection box to your TV.

    See our review

  3. Best Mid-Range 80-85 Inch TV

    If you don't want to spend an arm and a leg but still want good picture quality, then a mid-range TV like the TCL 6 Series/R655 2022 QLED is a good alternative. It's significantly cheaper than the Samsung QN90B QLED but still delivers great picture quality, with fantastic contrast and a decent Mini LED local dimming feature. It has excellent peak brightness in HDR and can display a wide color gamut, so it's almost as good as the Samsung for watching movies in a home theater.

    It's an impressive TV for gamers thanks to its quick response time, incredibly fast refresh rate, and great selection of gaming features. It supports HDMI 2.1 bandwidth on two of its HDMI ports, so it's a bit less flexible than the Samsung, which supports HDMI 2.1 on all four ports. The most noticeable difference between this TV and the Samsung is the lack of a wide viewing angle filter, so the TCL isn't as well-suited for a wide seating arrangement, as the image degrades when viewed from the side.

    See our review

  4. Best Lower Mid-Range 80-85 Inch TV

    If you're on a budget but want better picture quality than the TCL 85S455, the Hisense 85U7H is the best lower mid-range TV we've tested that's available in an 80-85-inch size. It's a great TV, with good picture quality and a wide selection of additional features. It's good for watching sports in a bright room thanks to its high peak brightness. It has worse processing capabilities and a slower panel than the TCL 6 Series/R655 2022 QLED, so it's not as good for gaming.

    It has some great gaming features, including HDMI 2.1 bandwidth on two of its HDMI inputs for 4k @ 120Hz gaming, and it supports FreeSync variable refresh rate technology to reduce tearing. It's a significant step up from the TCL 4 Series/S455 2022, as it has a full array local dimming feature and much higher peak brightness, so HDR content looks considerably better.

    See our review

  5. Best Budget 80-85 Inch TV

    If you're on a budget and want a large TV, you'll have to spend a bit more than if you were getting a smaller size. However, there are a few budget-friendly models available in a large size. Something like the TCL 85S455 is a decent overall TV that doesn't cost much and has a good smart platform. The Roku interface is user-friendly and easy to learn if you haven't used a Roku product yet. Its remote doesn't have a mic for voice control, but you can download the Roku app on your phone to take advantage of the voice assistant features.

    For picture quality, it has a fantastic native contrast ratio for deep blacks in dark rooms. Its black uniformity is also remarkable, but as expected for a budget-friendly TV, it doesn't have a local dimming feature to improve it. It doesn't get bright enough to fight a ton of glare, but it has decent reflection handling if you have a few lamps in the room.

    See our review

Notable Mentions

  • LG G2 OLED: If you want something even bigger, the LG G2 OLED is available in a massive 97" size, but it's extremely pricey. It gets brighter than the LG C2 OLED and has a unique design, but it's not worth the price difference for most people. See our review

Recent Updates

  1. Mar 03, 2023: Verified our picks for accuracy and consistency, and refreshed the text for clarity. Added the LG G2 OLED as a Notable Mention.

  2. Jan 11, 2023: Replaced the Sony X90K with the TCL 6 Series/R655 2022 QLED, as the TCL is cheaper and performs better than the Sony.

  3. Nov 23, 2022: Verified our picks for accuracy and consistency, and made some slight adjustments to the text for clarity.

  4. Oct 24, 2022: Replaced the Sony X85K with the Hisense U7H, as it's cheaper and offers better picture quality, with more features including full array local dimming.

  5. Sep 28, 2022: Complete restructuring to reflect market positions and availability; replaced the LG C1, Samsung QN90A, and the Sony X85J with the newer LG C2, Samsung QN90B, and the Sony X85K. Removed the Sony X91J and the Sony A90J because they're overpriced compared to current picks; added the Sony X90K and the TCL 4 Series/S455 2022; updated Notable Mentions.

All Reviews

Our recommendations above are what we think are currently the best 80-83-85 inch TVs to buy for most people in each price range. We factor in the price (a cheaper TV wins over a pricier one if the difference isn't really worth it), feedback from our visitors, and availability (no TVs that are difficult to find or almost out of stock everywhere).

If you would like to do the work of choosing yourself, here is the list of all our 80-83-85 inch TV reviews. Be careful not to get too caught up in the details. While no TV is perfect, most TVs are great enough to please almost everyone, and the differences are often not noticeable unless you really look for them.

Discussions