Get insider access
Preferred store
Your browser is not supported or outdated so some features of the site might not be available.
To try to better understand how long a TV should last, we're running 100 TVs through an accelerated longevity test for the next two years. We've just posted our 1-year video update with our latest findings on temporary image retention, burn-in, and more!

The 6 Best 80-83-85 Inch TVs - Spring 2024 Reviews

Updated May 23, 2024 at 11:16 am
Best 80-83-85 Inch TVs

Over the past few years, big-screen TVs have become more affordable, and it's actually easier now to find large TVs than it is to find small ones. If you need a big TV because you sit far from the screen or simply want the largest TV you can get for immersion, you have many models to choose from. The most common options are in the 70-75-77 inch category, but there are numerous options if you need something even bigger. It's easier to find the best 85-inch TV rather than the best 80-inch TV because 85-inch TVs are the most common, and the largest OLEDs are typically made in an 83-inch size. Choosing the right model all depends on your needs and personal budget.

We've bought and tested more than 435 TVs, and below are our recommendations for the best big-screen TVs you can buy. You can see our picks for the best TVs for movies and the best 4k TVs, and if you want an even bigger image, the best 4k projectors. You can also vote on which ones you want us to buy and test. To learn more about the 2024 models, check out our 2024 TV lineup page.


  1. Best 80-85 Inch TV

    The best TV you can buy that's available in 80+ inches is the OLED83G4WUA. Unlike last year's LG G3 OLED, the 83-inch model of the G4 uses Micro Lens Array (MLA) technology that allows the TV to get brighter than traditional WOLED TVs. This extra brightness delivers highlights that really pop when watching HDR content, and the TV easily overcomes glare in a bright room when watching SDR content. The TV truly shines in dark rooms due to its near-infinite contrast ratio, so you get deep and inky blacks with no blooming around subtitles or bright highlights. Its wide color gamut and impressive color volume deliver vibrant, lifelike, and bright colors, so HDR content packs a punch. It's a fantastic TV for watching shows, sports, or movies with friends or family due to its incredibly wide viewing angle, as the image doesn't degrade when viewed from the sides of the screen.

    The TV also supports Dolby Vision, which is great for those who want to take advantage of streaming services or 4k Blu-rays that use it as their main HDR format, and its support for both Dolby and DTS audio formats means your bases are covered in terms of audio. This is also one of the best TVs you can currently buy for gaming. It has HDMI 2.1 bandwidth on all four ports, can do up to 4k @ 144Hz, and supports variable refresh rate (VRR), so it pairs perfectly with modern gaming consoles or gaming PCs. It has exceptionally low input lag for a responsive gaming experience, and its nearly instantaneous response time delivers fast motion with no noticeable blur.

    See our review

  2. Best Upper Mid-Range 80-85 Inch TV

    If you don't need the brightness or 144Hz refresh rate of the LG G4 OLED but want a similar TV that still looks incredible, check out the LG OLED83C3PUA. Despite not having MLA technology like the G4 does, it's an excellent TV with stunning picture quality, especially in a dark room. It looks amazing in the dark thanks to its near-infinite contrast ratio that results in perfect inky blacks, with no distracting blooming or halos around bright highlights or subtitles. Combined with its high peak brightness and wide color gamut, the latest movies and shows in HDR look amazing. It's no slouch in a bright room either, as it's bright enough to fight glare, and its reflection handling is fantastic.

    It has a wide viewing angle, ensuring the image remains consistent when viewed from the sides, so it's great if you have a wide seating area and want to watch TV with friends. It's also a terrific TV for movie fans, as it supports DTS audio formats, which movies on physical media typically use for their audio tracks. It also supports the popular Dolby Vision HDR video format, providing amazing image quality in supported content. Finally, it has an impressive selection of gaming features, including 4k @ 120Hz gaming support for the latest consoles or PC graphics cards. It also supports every VRR technology to reduce tearing.

    The LG C4 OLED is now available as well. The TV is available in an 83-inch model like the C3, but it has some minor upgrades, like slightly better HDR brightness and HDR accuracy, and it supports up to 4k @ 144Hz for PC gamers with high-end rigs. It's also quite expensive near release, so unless you're a gamer with a powerful PC, your money is better spent on the cheaper C3 OLED while it's still available and on sale.

    See our review

  3. Best Bright Room 80-85 Inch TV

    If you're rarely in a completely dark room, check out the Sony XR-85X95L instead. It's a slightly larger TV than the LG C3 OLED and LG G4 OLED, making it the best 85-inch TV you can get if you want something slightly bigger. It doesn't have the same perfect black levels as an OLED, but it has a truly incredible contrast ratio and black uniformity, leading to extremely deep blacks. Plus, it gets much brighter than the LG, so it's a better choice if you're in a very bright room, as it can overcome more glare. It also delivers brighter highlights in HDR. This, combined with its excellent color gamut, makes it an impressive choice for watching content in HDR10 or Dolby Vision HDR.

    Like most Sony TVs, this is a fabulous choice for a home entertainment setup, as it has amazing image processing, is very accurate without calibration, and supports DTS advanced audio formats. It offers gamers many of the same features as the LG, including HDMI 2.1 bandwidth for recent consoles or PC graphics cards, support for every VRR technology to reduce tearing, and extremely low input lag for a responsive experience. Unlike the LG, it has only two HDMI 2.1 ports, one of which is the eARC port, which makes it difficult to have multiple HDMI 2.1 devices connected to the TV simultaneously. You could also save money by going for this TV's cheaper sibling, the Sony X93L/X93CL. The X93L is a great value choice for most, but the X95L has better contrast, is slightly brighter, and is the best LED TV on the market.

    See our review

  4. Best Mid-Range 80-85 Inch TV

    If you don't want to spend an arm and a leg but still want good picture quality, then a mid-range TV like the Hisense 85U8K is a good alternative. It's significantly cheaper than the Sony X95L and the LG C3 OLED but still delivers amazing picture quality. It's just as bright as the Sony, and its contrast is almost as good due to a better overall local dimming solution. The Hisense displays a wide color gamut, has surprisingly good image processing, and supports advanced audio and video formats like our top two picks, so it's an amazing home theater TV for a lower price than the Sony or the LG.

    Unfortunately, the Hisense has a narrow viewing angle, so it's not a good choice for watching TV shows or sports with friends. Otherwise, it's an impressive TV for gamers thanks to its good response time, incredibly fast refresh rate, and great gaming features. It supports HDMI 2.1 bandwidth on two of its HDMI ports, both supporting up to 4k @ 144Hz. Like the Sony TV, one of the TV's HDMI 2.1 ports is also the eARC port, so the LG is still the best choice for people with multiple HDMI 2.1 devices. Overall, this is an amazing value pick for users wanting modern features without the high-end price tag. It's also available in a gargantuan 100-inch size, in case 85 inches isn't big enough.

    The 2024 Hisense U8N is now available to buy. It features a new chipset and is supposed to have better contrast and increased brightness over its predecessor, but it's also expensive at launch. Unless you need the minor upgrades it has, you're better off buying the cheaper U8K while it's still available.

    See our review

  5. Best Lower Mid-Range 80-85 Inch TV

    If you're on a budget but want better picture quality than the budget option below, the Hisense 85U7K is the best lower mid-range TV we've tested available in an 80- to 85-inch size. It's a great TV, with very good picture quality and a wide selection of additional features. It's basically a dimmer Hisense U8/U8K with a nearly identical feature set. It's still bright enough for a pleasant viewing experience in bright rooms. While worse than the picks above, its contrast is excellent overall, leading to deep blacks in dark rooms. Like its more expensive sibling, it's a stellar home theater TV with very good image processing and support for HDR10+, Dolby Vision, and advanced DTS audio formats.

    It uses the same easy-to-use Google TV as the U8K and has all the most popular streaming services. Unfortunately, its viewing angle is very narrow, so this isn't the right TV for a wide seating arrangement. For gaming, the U7K has one advantage over the higher-end U8K: a faster response time, leading to minimal blur in fast action. Otherwise, it has the same great gaming features, including HDMI 2.1 bandwidth on two of its HDMI inputs for up to 4k @ 144Hz gaming, and it supports every VRR technology to reduce tearing.

    The 2024 Hisense U7N is now available to purchase. It's supposed to have some improvements like better local dimming and contrast, increased brightness, and a new chipset. The TV is also quite expensive at launch, so unless you want those small upgrades, you're better off getting the cheaper U7K while you still can.

    See our review

  6. Best Budget 80-85 Inch TV

    If you're on a budget and want a large TV, you'll have to spend more than if you were getting a smaller size. However, a few budget-friendly models are available in larger sizes, like the TCL 85Q650G. It's a decent overall TV that doesn't cost nearly as much and still has much to offer. Unlike the models above, this TV doesn't have local dimming to improve its contrast, so it doesn't look as good in a dark room. It also doesn't get as bright or emphasize highlights like the Hisense U7K does, but it's still good enough to overcome glare in a bright room. Like the Hisense TVs, the TCL supports both HDR10+ and Dolby Vision, but it doesn't have good image processing, so it's not a great choice for a home theater setup.

    Like every other TV on this list, except the LG C3 OLED and the LG G4 OLED, the TCL uses the popular Google TV smart interface, which is user-friendly and relatively easy to learn. It also has an excellent integrated microphone for voice commands. Unfortunately, like the other TVs from the budget brands, this TV has a sub-par viewing angle, so it's not a great choice for wide seating arrangements. Where this TV shines is in its gaming features. Even though it has a 60Hz panel and HDMI 2.0 bandwidth on all three HDMI ports, it's capable of 1080p @ 120Hz and 1440p @ 120Hz, with a wide VRR range through resolution halving. This makes it a great choice for someone wanting a huge gaming TV for a budget price.

    See our review

Notable Mentions

  • TCL 85Q750G: The TCL Q7/Q750G QLED competes with the Hisense U7K but comes up short. While the TCL has better contrast, the Hisense is better overall, as it's the more accurate TV and has better image processing. See our review
  • Samsung QN83S90CAFXZA: The Samsung S90C OLED is a fantastic OLED from Samsung and is similar to the LG C3 OLED. The 83-inch size of the Samsung uses a WOLED panel, so its picture quality is very similar to that of the LG overall. Still, the LG supports Dolby Vision and advanced DTS audio formats and has better image processing, so it's the better option. See our review
  • Hisense 85UX: The Hisense UX is an excellent TV and one of the brightest ever released. It's even brighter than the Sony X95L, but unfortunately, it's not nearly as polished as the Sony, with worse image processing and more quirks overall. The Sony is also more accurate overall, so it's the better and safer pick. See our review
  • TCL 85QM850G: The TCL QM8/QM850G QLED is a great alternative to the Hisense U8/U8K. It's brighter than the Hisense, but the Hisense has far better image processing, with marginally better contrast, so it's the better TV. See our review

Recent Updates

  1. May 23, 2024: Refreshed some text for accuracy and confirmed the availability of our current picks.

  2. Apr 25, 2024: Added the LG G4 OLED as our new top pick for the 'Best 80-85 Inch TV' and moved the LG C3 OLED into the 'Best Upper Mid-Range 80-85 Inch TV' category. We also mentioned the 2024 Hisense U7N and Hisense U8N in the 'Best Lower Mid-Range 80-85 Inch TV' and the 'Best Mid-Range 80-85 Inch TV' categories and refreshed text throughout the article for clarity.

  3. Mar 29, 2024: Refreshed the text in the introduction for clarity and added mention of the LG C4 OLED in the 'Best 80-85 Inch TV' category.

  4. Mar 05, 2024: Confirmed the accuracy and availability of our picks.

  5. Feb 07, 2024: Updated text for clarity and confirmed that picks are accurate and available to purchase.

All Reviews

Our recommendations above are what we think are currently the best 80-83-85 inch TVs to buy for most people in each price range. We factor in the price (a cheaper TV wins over a pricier one if the difference isn't really worth it), feedback from our visitors, and availability (no TVs that are difficult to find or almost out of stock everywhere).

If you would like to do the work of choosing yourself, here is the list of all our 80-83-85-inch TV reviews. Be careful not to get too caught up in the details. While no TV is perfect, most TVs are great enough to please almost everyone, and the differences are often not noticeable unless you really look for them.