Your browser is not supported or outdated so some features of the site might not be available.
Are you passionate about TVs and like helping people find the best product for their needs? We're growing and looking to hire full-time Staff Writers to write for TVs, either remotely or at our offices in Montreal.
To try to better understand how long a TV should last, we're running 100 TVs through an accelerated longevity test for the next two years. We've just posted our results after eight months, see our latest updates.

The 5 Best 80-83-85 Inch TVs - Fall 2023 Reviews

Updated
Best 80-83-85 Inch TVs

If you have a large room and sit far from the TV or simply want the largest TV available, there are a few large TVs to choose from. Even though larger TVs are becoming more popular, you'll find more options in the 70-75-77 inch category. It's easier to find the best 85-inch TV rather than the best 80-inch TV because 85-inch TVs are the most common, and some OLEDs are coming out in 83-inch sizes too. Choosing the right model all depends on your needs and personal budget.

We've bought and tested more than 390 TVs, and below are our recommendations for the best big-screen TV to buy. See our picks for the best TVs for movies and the best 4k TVs, and if you want something smaller, the best 65-inch TVs. Brands have been releasing their 2023 lineups, so vote on which ones you want us to buy and test. To learn more about the 2023 models, check out our 2023 TV lineup page.


  1. Best 80-85 Inch TV

    The best TV you can buy that's available in 80+ inches is the LG OLED83C3PUA. It's an excellent TV with stunning picture quality, especially in a dark room. It looks amazing in the dark thanks to its near-infinite contrast ratio that results in perfect inky blacks, with no distracting blooming or halos around bright highlights or subtitles. Combined with its high peak brightness and wide color gamut, the latest movies and shows in HDR look amazing. It's no slouch in a bright room either, as it's bright enough to fight glare, and its reflection handling is fantastic.

    It has a wide viewing angle, ensuring the image remains consistent when viewed from the sides; it's great if you have a wide seating area and want to watch the TV with friends. It's also a terrific TV for movie fans, as it supports DTS audio formats, which movies on physical media typically use for their audio tracks. It also supports the popular Dolby Vision HDR video format, providing amazing image quality in supported content. Finally, it has an impressive selection of gaming features, including 4k @ 120Hz gaming support for the latest consoles or PC graphics cards. It also supports every variable refresh rate (VRR) technology to reduce tearing.

    The LG C3 OLED's predecessor, the LG C2 OLED, is still widely available in an 83-inch size. It doesn't support DTS like its successor does, but aside from that, it's only a marginal downgrade from the C3 in terms of image quality, so it's the clear value pick.

    See our review

  2. Best Upper Mid-Range 80-85 Inch TV

    If you want something cheaper than the LG C3 OLED or are never in a completely dark room, check out the Samsung QN85QN90CAFXZA. It's a slightly larger TV than the LG, making it the best 85-inch TV you can get if you want something slightly bigger. It doesn't have the same perfect black levels as the LG, but it gets much brighter, so it's a better choice if you're in a very bright room, as it can handle more glare. It also delivers brighter highlights in HDR. This, combined with its excellent color gamut, makes it an impressive choice for watching content in HDR10 or HDR10+.

    It offers many of the same features as the LG, including HDMI 2.1 bandwidth for recent consoles or PC graphics cards, support for every variable refresh rate (VRR) technology to reduce tearing, and extremely low input lag. If you're going for a clean setup and plan on wall-mounting your TV, the Samsung QN95B QLED is very similar, but the inputs are in an external connection box, and there's just one cable from the connection box to your TV. The Samsung QN90C/QN90CD QLED's predecessor, the Samsung QN90B QLED, is getting harder to find but is the better deal if you can find it for a good price as it's very similar to the QN90C overall.

    See our review

  3. Best Mid-Range 80-85 Inch TV

    If you don't want to spend an arm and a leg but still want good picture quality, then a mid-range TV like the TCL 85QM850G is a good alternative. It's significantly cheaper than the Samsung QN90C/QN90CD QLED but still delivers amazing picture quality, getting a bit brighter than the Samsung with even better contrast. The TCL truly has stellar peak brightness in HDR and SDR, can display a wide color gamut, and supports advanced audio and video formats like the LG C3 OLED, so it's even better than the QN90C for watching movies.

    Unfortunately, the TCL has a disappointing viewing angle and is not nearly as good as the Samsung for image processing, so it's not a good choice for watching TV shows or sports with friends. Otherwise, it's an impressive TV for gamers thanks to its quick response time, incredibly fast refresh rate, and great gaming features. It supports HDMI 2.1 bandwidth on two of its HDMI ports, with the first one supporting up to 4k @ 144Hz, so it's a bit less flexible than the Samsung, which supports 4k @ 120Hz on all four ports.

    The TV has weird quirks and bugs to contend with, like a refresh rate that works in 'brackets', with its overdrive performance varying wildly as the frame rate goes up and down the brackets, poor support for NVIDIA graphics cards when used with a PC, and an ability to output chroma 4:4:4 while in Game Mode. For this reason, the Samsung is still the slightly better overall pick, but the TCL gives you high-end performance for a mid-range price tag.

    See our review

  4. Best Lower Mid-Range 80-85 Inch TV

    If you're on a budget but want better picture quality than the budget option below, the Hisense 85U7H is the best lower mid-range TV we've tested that's available in an 80 to 85-inch size. It's a great TV, with good picture quality and a wide selection of additional features. Its high peak brightness makes it good for watching sports in a bright room. Besides its good low-quality content smoothing, the U7H has worse processing capabilities and a slower panel than the TCL QM8/QM850G QLED, so it's not as good for gaming.

    It has some great gaming features, including HDMI 2.1 bandwidth on two of its HDMI inputs for 4k @ 120Hz gaming, and it supports every variable refresh rate (VRR) technology to reduce tearing. While it's not nearly as bright or as vibrant as the QM8, it's a significant step up from the TCL 4 Series/S455 2022, as it has a full array local dimming (FALD) feature and much higher peak brightness, so HDR content looks considerably better.

    See our review

  5. Best Budget 80-85 Inch TV

    If you're on a budget and want a large TV, you'll have to spend more than if you were getting a smaller size. However, a few budget-friendly models are available in larger sizes, like the TCL 85S455. It's harder to find in an 85-inch format than our other recommendations, but it's a decent overall TV that doesn't cost much and uses Roku as its smart platform. The Roku interface is user-friendly and easy to learn even if you haven't used a Roku product. Its remote doesn't have a mic for voice control, but you can download the Roku app on your phone to take advantage of the voice assistant features.

    For picture quality, it has a fantastic native contrast ratio for deep blacks in dark rooms. Its black uniformity is also remarkable, but as expected for a budget-friendly TV, it doesn't have a local dimming feature. It doesn't get bright enough to fight a ton of glare, but it has decent reflection handling if you have a few lights in the room. Its low input lag and great contrast make it an interesting choice for those wanting a cheap, gigantic, barebones gaming TV.

    See our review

Notable Mentions

  • LG OLED83G2PUA: The LG G2 OLED is just a tad brighter than the LG C3 OLED and is available in an 83 and massive 97-inch size. It has a unique design, as it's meant to be wall-mounted and doesn't come with a stand, so you need to buy it separately if you want one. As it's an older model, you can find it on sale, so it's generally comparable price-wise to the C3. However, the G2 doesn't support DTS, and its image processing is slightly inferior to the C3, so it's not as interesting as a home entertainment TV. See our review
  • LG OLED83G3PUA: The LG G3 OLED is currently one of the brightest OLED TVs on the market and is available in an 83-inch size. It's meant to be wall-mounted and doesn't come with a stand. However, it's very expensive, and in real scenes, it doesn't look significantly brighter than the LG C3 OLED, so it's not worth the price difference over it. See our review
  • TCL 85R655: The TCL 6 Series/R655 2022 QLED is a great mid-range TV with fantastic contrast, superb reflection handling, and high peak brightness. It's not as bright as the TCL QM8/QM850G QLED, but it's almost as good. It would be our mid-range pick if it were easy to find in its 85-inch model size; if you can find it for a good price, however, it's a great value pick. See our review

Recent Updates

  1. Jul 19, 2023: Replaced the LG C2 OLED with the LG C3 OLED as the 'Best 80-85 Inch TV' pick, replaced the Samsung QN90B QLED with the Samsung QN90C/QN90CD QLED as the 'Best Upper Mid-Range 80-85 Inch TV' pick, and replaced the TCL 6 Series/R655 2022 QLED with the TCL QM8/QM850G QLED as the 'Best Mid-Range 80-85 Inch TV' pick. Added the TCL 6 Series/R655 2022 QLED and removed the Samsung QN900B 8k QLED from the Notable Mentions. Refreshed the text for accuracy and consistency.

  2. Jun 19, 2023: Added mention of the LG C3 OLED under the 'Best 80-85 Inch TV' category, mentioned the Samsung QN90C/QN90CD QLED in the 'Best Upper Mid-Range 80-85 Inch TV' category, added the LG G3 OLED as a Notable Mention, and refreshed the text.

  3. Apr 05, 2023: Verified our picks for availability and consistency and refreshed the text. Added the Samsung QN900B 8k QLED as a Notable Mention.

  4. Mar 03, 2023: Verified our picks for accuracy and consistency, and refreshed the text for clarity. Added the LG G2 OLED as a Notable Mention.

  5. Jan 11, 2023: Replaced the Sony X90K with the TCL 6 Series/R655 2022 QLED, as the TCL is cheaper and performs better than the Sony.

All Reviews

Our recommendations above are what we think are currently the best 80-83-85 inch TVs to buy for most people in each price range. We factor in the price (a cheaper TV wins over a pricier one if the difference isn't really worth it), feedback from our visitors, and availability (no TVs that are difficult to find or almost out of stock everywhere).

If you would like to do the work of choosing yourself, here is the list of all our 80-83-85 inch TV reviews. Be careful not to get too caught up in the details. While no TV is perfect, most TVs are great enough to please almost everyone, and the differences are often not noticeable unless you really look for them.