Your browser is not supported or outdated so some features of the site might not be available.
We've started our biggest test yet! To try to better understand how long a TV should last, we're running 100 TVs through an accelerated longevity test for the next two years. Read more about it here, or watch our first video about the test here!

The 5 Best 80-83-85 Inch TVs - Black Friday 2022 Reviews

Updated
Best 80-83-85 Inch TVs

If you have a large room and sit far from the TV or simply want the largest TV available, there are a few large TVs you can choose from. Even though larger TVs are becoming more popular, you'll find more options in the 70-75-77 inch category, but there are still a few great TVs available at this size. It's easier to find the best 85-inch TV rather than the best 80-inch TV because 85-inch TVs are the most common, and some OLEDs are coming out in 83-inch sizes too. Choosing the right model all depends on your needs and personal budget.

We've bought and tested more than 375 TVs over the last nine years, and below are our recommendations for the best big-screen TV to buy. See our picks for the best TVs for movies and the best 4k TVs, and if you want something smaller, the best 65-inch TVs.


  1. Best 80-85 Inch TV

    The best TV you can buy that's available in 80+ inches is the LG OLED83C2PUA. It's a fantastic TV, and while it's expensive even for an 83-inch TV, it delivers fantastic picture quality that's sure to impress anyone. It's a remarkable TV for a dark home theater room, thanks to its near-infinite contrast ratio that results in perfect blacks, with no distracting blooming or halos around bright objects like subtitles. Combined with its high peak brightness, HDR content looks incredible, and bright areas of the screen stand out.

    Even if you want to use it in a well-lit room, it gets bright enough to fight glare with a few lights around, and the reflection handling is fantastic. It also has a wide viewing angle that makes the image look consistent from the sides, which is good if you have a wide seating area or sit close to the screen. Lastly, its webOS smart platform is easy to use and has a great selection of streaming apps, so you can quickly find your favorite content.

    See our review

  2. Best Upper Mid-Range 80-85 Inch TV

    If you find the LG C2 OLED too expensive, you can still get an excellent overall TV with the Samsung QN85QN90BAFXZA. It's a slightly larger TV than the LG, making it the best 85-inch TV you can get if you care about the biggest size possible. It uses different technology than the LG, so while it doesn't have the same perfect black levels, it gets much brighter, making it the better choice for well-lit rooms. It also delivers brighter highlights in HDR, and, combined with its excellent color gamut, it's an impressive choice for watching content in HDR10 or HDR10+. However, it doesn't support Dolby Vision, a common HDR format with most streaming content.

    It uses viewing angle technology to help provide a wide viewing angle that makes the image remain consistent from the sides. However, there are some drawbacks to it, as it lowers the contrast, and reflections scatter across the screen with a rainbow-like effect, which is distracting if you have strong light sources on it. However, it still gets bright enough to fight a ton of glare, and its local dimming feature also improves the contrast.

    See our review

  3. Best Mid-Range 80-85 Inch TV

    If you want something a bit cheaper, then consider the Sony XR-85X90K. It's a step down from the Samsung QN90B QLED in terms of price and performance, but it's still a great TV that offers a few extra features to improve your overall experience. While it doesn't get as bright as the Samsung and has much worse reflection handling, it's still bright enough to fight glare in most well-lit environments, but it isn't ideal to use opposite a window with direct sunlight. It doesn't use viewing angle technology like the Samsung, so it's best to use it when sitting directly in front.

    It has a high native contrast ratio, and its good local dimming feature helps improve the picture quality in dark scenes. It's a great choice for watching movies in dark rooms, but there's more blooming around bright areas of the screen than on the Samsung QN90B QLED or the LG C2 OLED. It also displays a wide color gamut for HDR content, but it doesn't get as bright in HDR as the Samsung, so even though not all highlights pop, it still delivers a very good HDR experience.

    See our review

  4. Best Lower Mid-Range 80-85 Inch TV

    If you're on a budget but want better picture quality than the TCL 85S455, the Hisense 85U7H is the best lower mid-range TV we've tested that's available in an 80-85-inch size. It's a great TV, with good picture quality and a wide selection of additional features. It's good for watching sports in a bright room thanks to its high peak brightness and good reflection handling, so it can easily overcome glare. It has worse processing capabilities and a slower panel than the Sony X90K, but as far as picture quality is concerned, they perform very similarly.

    It has some great gaming features, including HDMI 2.1 bandwidth on two of its HDMI inputs for 4k @ 120Hz gaming, and it supports FreeSync variable refresh rate technology to reduce tearing. It's a significant step up from the TCL 4 Series/S455 2022, as it has a full array local dimming feature and much higher peak brightness, so HDR content looks considerably better.

    See our review

  5. Best Budget 80-85 Inch TV

    If you're on a budget and want a large TV, you'll have to spend a bit more than if you were getting a smaller size. However, there are a few budget-friendly models available in a large size. Something like the TCL 85S455 is a decent overall TV that doesn't cost much and has a good smart platform. The Roku interface is user-friendly and easy to learn if you haven't used a Roku product yet. Its remote doesn't have a mic you can use for voice control, but you can download the Roku app on your phone if you want to take advantage of the voice assistant features.

    In terms of picture quality, it has a fantastic native contrast ratio for deep blacks in dark rooms. Its black uniformity is also remarkable, but as expected for a budget-friendly TV, it doesn't have a local dimming feature to improve it. It doesn't get bright enough to fight a ton of glare, but it has decent reflection handling if you have a few lamps in the room.

    See our review

Notable Mentions

  • Samsung UN85AU8000FXZA: The Samsung AU8000 is a budget-friendly TV that gets brighter than the TCL 4 Series/S455 2022, but it costs a bit more, so it's worth going for the TCL instead. See our review
  • TCL 85R745: The TCL R745 QLED is a great TV that gets significantly brighter than the Sony X90K, so it's a good alternative if that's what you care about, but it has fewer gaming features, so it's worth going for the X90K. See our review

Recent Updates

  1. Nov 23, 2022: Verified our picks for accuracy and consistency, and made some slight adjustments to the text for clarity.

  2. Oct 24, 2022: Replaced the Sony X85K with the Hisense U7H, as it's cheaper and offers better picture quality, with more features including full array local dimming.

  3. Sep 28, 2022: Complete restructuring to reflect market positions and availability; replaced the LG C1, Samsung QN90A, and the Sony X85J with the newer LG C2, Samsung QN90B, and the Sony X85K. Removed the Sony X91J and the Sony A90J because they're overpriced compared to current picks; added the Sony X90K and the TCL 4 Series/S455 2022; updated Notable Mentions.

  4. Jul 07, 2022: Restructured the article to better match how users are shopping for new TVs. Added the Sony X91J as the 'Best Mid-Range TV' and removed many out-of-date notable mentions that are no longer relevant.

  5. Apr 28, 2022: Moved the Sony A90J OLED to its own category as 'Best OLED For Movies' for consistency and replaced the Samsung AU8000 with the Sony X85J because the Sony is better overall; updated Notable Mentions based on changes.

All Reviews

Our recommendations above are what we think are currently the best 80-83-85 inch TVs to buy for most people in each price range. We factor in the price (a cheaper TV wins over a pricier one if the difference isn't really worth it), feedback from our visitors, and availability (no TVs that are difficult to find or almost out of stock everywhere).

If you would like to do the work of choosing yourself, here is the list of all our 80-83-85 inch TV reviews. Be careful not to get too caught up in the details. While no TV is perfect, most TVs are great enough to please almost everyone, and the differences are often not noticeable unless you really look for them.

Discussions