The 6 Best TV Headphones - Summer 2021 Reviews

Updated
Best TV Headphones
604 Headphones Tested
  • Store-bought headphones; no cherry-picked units
  • Easily comparable results
  • No ads; unbiased reviews
  • Supported directly by you via insider access and when you purchase through our affiliate links
Learn more about our approach to product reviews here.

Whether you like to watch late-night TV while your family or roommates are asleep or just live in an apartment with paper-thin walls, TV headphones are a great way to enjoy your favorite shows and movies without disturbing those around you. However, not all headphones are created equal. Even the best-sounding headphones can be nearly useless for watching TV if they have lip-sync issues.

While wired headphones virtually guarantee a latency-free listening experience, it can be quite the bother to have a long cable running from the TV to your couch. Bluetooth headphones are a lot more convenient but can have problems with audio lag. Thankfully, a number of wireless headphones have low enough latency to be suitable for watching TV. Many are designed with gamers in mind, but there are a few models that are dedicated for TV as well.

We've tested over 590 pairs of headphones, and below, you'll find our recommendations for the best TV headphones. See our recommendations for the best wireless gaming headsets, the best audiophile headphones, and the best wired headphones.


  1. Best Wireless Headphones For TV: SteelSeries Arctis Pro Wireless

    8.2
    Neutral Sound
    6.8
    Commute/Travel
    7.1
    Sports/Fitness
    7.1
    Office
    7.7
    Wireless Gaming
    8.2
    Wired Gaming
    7.6
    Phone Calls
    Type Over-ear
    Enclosure Closed-Back
    Wireless Yes
    Noise Cancelling No
    Mic Yes
    Transducer Dynamic

    The best wireless headphones for TV that we've tested are the SteelSeries Arctis Pro Wireless. Many of the features that make for a great gaming experience are also important when watching TV, and these check off all the boxes. They connect wirelessly with no noticeable audio lag thanks to their unique wireless transmitter compatible with a wide range of home theater set-ups. They can even connect to a Bluetooth device simultaneously so you can mix audio from your phone and your TV at the same time.

    The wireless transmitter provides a low-latency connection and serves as a battery charging station and a customization center for the headphones. You can EQ the way they sound and control the volume levels of the different input sources directly on the transmitter, which is very convenient. It also charges their removable battery, and since they come with two batteries, you can always keep one charging while the other is in use.

    While they have a slightly less gamer-centric look than many other gaming models we've tested, they're still relatively bulky, especially since their microphone isn't detachable. The headband frame can also be too small for some people, which can get uncomfortable at the end of a long movie if your head presses against the frame.

    See our review

  2. Best Dedicated TV Headphones: Sennheiser RS 175 RF Wireless

    5.6
    Mixed Usage
    6.8
    Neutral Sound
    5.5
    Commute/Travel
    4.6
    Sports/Fitness
    6.0
    Office
    6.0
    Wireless Gaming
    4.5
    Wired Gaming
    2.2
    Phone Call
    Type Over-ear
    Enclosure Closed-Back
    Wireless Yes
    Noise Cancelling No
    Mic No
    Transducer Dynamic

    The best wireless headphones for TV specifically designed for this purpose that we've tested are the Sennheiser RS 175 RF Wireless. They have a specialized receiver dock that directly plugs into most TVs and allows them to be used wirelessly with low audio latency. They're decently well-built and comfortable enough for binge-watching a couple of episodes at a time.

    Thanks to their efficient control scheme located on the ear cups, you don't have to get up from the couch to adjust the volume or activate features like additional bass or surround sound. Although some users may find their sound profile is a bit bass-heavy by default, it doesn't completely overwhelm dialogue. Their extra thump and boom can also help make sound effects in action sequences seem a bit more immersive. Their continuous battery life is around 24 hours too, and they use rechargeable AAA batteries.

    Unfortunately, their build quality is just satisfactory as the plastic elements used in their design feel low-grade and a bit cheap. They're also prone to inconsistent audio delivery, and you may especially notice a drop in bass if you wear glasses or have thick hair. That said, they're specifically designed for watching TV as they offer a low-latency experience and can be easily adjusted on the fly.

    See our review

  3. Best Bluetooth TV Headphones: Plantronics BackBeat Pro 2 Wireless 2016

    7.3
    Mixed Usage
    7.7
    Neutral Sound
    7.4
    Commute/Travel
    7.1
    Sports/Fitness
    7.4
    Office
    5.9
    Wireless Gaming
    7.5
    Wired Gaming
    6.6
    Phone Calls
    Type Over-ear
    Enclosure Closed-Back
    Wireless Yes
    Noise Cancelling Yes
    Mic Yes
    Transducer Dynamic

    The Plantronics BackBeat Pro 2 Wireless 2016 are the best Bluetooth headphones for TV that we've tested. Although Bluetooth isn't always the most suitable option for watching TV or movies as it tends to have high audio lag, these headphones support aptX-LL, a codec that lowers latency, resulting in synchronized audio. However, you need a Bluetooth adapter or transmitter that supports aptX-LL and is compatible with your TV for them to work.

    These comfortable over-ears have a well-padded and sturdy build. Their bass-heavy sound profile is suitable for action-packed scenes as their extra thump and boom can help emphasize sound effects. If you like to watch one TV show after the next, they also supply roughly 30 hours of continuous playback time. Their auto-off timer can help conserve battery life when you're not using them too.

    Unfortunately, they have a bit of a bulky design. Although they have an active noise cancelling (ANC) system, it only does a fair job overall, and it struggles to block out low noises like the sound of traffic outdoors. However, if you're looking for Bluetooth headphones with low latency, they're a suitable choice.

    See our review

  4. More Customizable Alternative: Sennheiser Momentum 3 Wireless

    Type Over-ear
    Enclosure Closed-Back
    Wireless Yes
    Noise Cancelling Yes
    Mic Yes
    Transducer Dynamic

    If you like to customize your headphones' sound to your preferences, consider the Sennheiser Momentum 3 Wireless. While they leak more audio at high volumes than the Plantronics BackBeat Pro 2 Wireless 2016 and their continuous battery life doesn't last as long, the Sennheiser have a more robust companion app that offers a parametric EQ and presets to help customize their punchy, boomy sound to your liking. They also support aptX-LL codec, which offers a low-latency audio experience suitable for watching movies or TV. Although their latency is a bit higher than the Plantronics, it still falls within good levels, so you shouldn't notice a delay when watching videos. These over-ears have a comfortable fit and very well-built design, which is great if you like to binge-watch your favorite shows. Their active noise cancelling (ANC) system can block out a good amount of ambient noise like traffic outside your window.

    Go for the Plantronics if you're looking for headphones with a longer continuous playback time. However, if you really like to tweak the way your headphones sound, try the Sennheiser instead.

    See our review

  5. Best TV Headphones Under $100: Logitech G433 Gaming Headset

    7.9
    Neutral Sound
    4.8
    Commute/Travel
    5.6
    Sports/Fitness
    6.1
    Office
    5.8
    Wireless Gaming
    7.7
    Wired Gaming
    7.3
    Phone Calls
    Type Over-ear
    Enclosure Closed-Back
    Wireless No
    Noise Cancelling No
    Mic Yes
    Transducer Dynamic

    The best headphones under $100 for watching TV that we've tested is the Logitech G433 Gaming Headset. While these headphones are marketed towards gamers, their wired design means they have virtually no latency. Their lightweight and well-padded design should be comfortable enough to wear while you binge-watch a few episodes of your favorite show.

    They have a fairly neutral, well-balanced sound profile that should suit a variety of content and genres. You can also customize their sound using a graphic EQ and presets available in the G HUB companion app. The in-line controls have a dial you can use to adjust the volume, and the boom mic can be detached for a more casual look. They come with a fairly long, 6.5-foot audio cable, so don't need to sit right next to the TV.

    Unfortunately, they don't really block out ambient sound, so they aren't ideal if you want to isolate yourself from the sound of a busy street or other noises while you watch TV. They also leak quite a bit of sound. That said, their customizable sound profile and wired design make them a solid choice for watching TV, especially considering their affordable price.

    See our review

  6. Open-Back Alternative: Philips SHP9500

    Type Over-ear
    Enclosure Open-Back
    Wireless No
    Noise Cancelling No
    Mic No
    Transducer Dynamic

    If you prefer headphones with an open-back design, try the Philips SHP9500 instead. Because of their open-back design, they leak much more audio and isolate you from even less ambient sound than the Logitech G433 Gaming Headset, but they have a more spacious and open soundstage that can help make your TV watching experience more immersive. They're also much more comfortable. Their 1/8" TRS cable is nearly 10 feet long, so you can sit a good distance from the TV. Unfortunately, like most open-back headphones, their sound profile lacks low bass, so sound effects and music may not have enough thump and rumble. They don't have an EQ you can use to customize their sound, either, but luckily their sound profile is otherwise well-balanced and should be suitable for a variety of genres.

    If you prefer closed-back headphones or want an option with sound customization features, try the Logitech. If you like the open, spacious soundstage that open-back headphones can provide, you may prefer the Philips.

    See our review

Notable Mentions

  • Astro A50 Gen 4 Wireless 2019: The Astro A50 Gen 4 Wireless 2019 are very well-built and comfortable wireless gaming headphones, but their prominent boom microphone and very gamer-centric design make them less versatile than the SteelSeries Arctis Pro Wireless. See our review
  • SteelSeries Arctis 7 2019 Edition Wireless: The SteelSeries Arctis 7 2019 Edition Wireless are similar in design to the Arctis Pro Wireless but with fewer bells and whistles, which makes them a bit more affordable. See our review
  • Shure AONIC 50 Wireless: The Shure AONIC 50 Wireless are Bluetooth headphones with aptX-LL codec support. They're a viable alternative to the Sennheiser Momentum 3 Wireless, although their ANC doesn't block out as much ambient noise. See our review
  • Razer Nari Ultimate Wireless: The Razer Nari Ultimate Wireless are comfortable headphones with a unique haptic feedback system that can be used wired or wirelessly with a PS4 and PC, but they have a very bulky gamer-centric design and poor battery life. See our review
  • Beyerdynamic Amiron Wireless: The Beyerdynamic Amiron Wireless are high-end Bluetooth headphones that are better built than the Plantronics BackBeat Pro 2 Wireless 2016 and support aptX-LL. However, they're very prone to inconsistent bass delivery. See our review
  • Sennheiser RS 195 RF Wireless: The Sennheiser RS 195 RF Wireless are dedicated home theater headphones that are very similar in design to the Sennheiser RS 175 RF Wireless. However, their non-Bluetooth latency is a bit higher and they're more prone to inconsistencies in their audio delivery. See our review

Recent Updates

  1. Jun 25, 2021: Added the Sennheiser Momentum 3 Wireless as the 'More Customizable Alternative' since they have low latency using aptX-LL codec.

  2. Apr 27, 2021: Checked the availability of recommended products and updated the text. No changes to product picks.

  3. Feb 26, 2021: We've verified updated the text as well as checked for product availability. There has been no change in our picks.

  4. Jan 29, 2021: Removed the Sennheiser RS 165 RF Wireless, the Sennheiser RS 185 RF Wireless, the Corsair HS70 Wireless, and the AUKEY Latitude Wireless from Notable Mentions as they aren't currently available through major retailers. We made slight changes to the text to ensure the accuracy and availability of our picks.

  5. Nov 24, 2020: Slight changes to the text for accuracy and clarity; no change in recommendations.

All Reviews

Our recommendations above are what we think are currently the best headphones for movies and TV for most people to buy. We factor in the price (cheaper headphones win over pricier ones if the difference isn't worth it), feedback from our visitors, and availability (no headphones that are difficult to find or almost out of stock everywhere).

If you would like to choose for yourself, here are all our headphone reviews, sorted by their latency with aptX-LL. Be careful not to get caught up in the details. There are no perfect headphones for watching movies or TV shows. Personal taste, media content, home environment, and listening habits will matter more in your selection, especially if you have a lively home or wish not to disturb anyone around you with leakage.

Recommended Articles

Discussions