Get insider access
Preferred store
Your browser is not supported or outdated so some features of the site might not be available.

Keychron K8 Pro [K2 Pro, K3 Pro, K4 Pro, etc.] Keyboard Review

Tested using Methodology v1.2
Review updated Jun 28, 2023 at 04:43 pm
Latest change: Writing modified Aug 30, 2023 at 12:05 pm
Keychron K8 Pro [K2 Pro, K3 Pro, K4 Pro, etc.] Picture
8.2
Gaming
6.9
Mobile/Tablet
7.0
Office
7.8
Programming
5.8
Entertainment / HTPC

The Keychron K8 Pro [K2 Pro, K3 Pro, K4 Pro, etc.] belong to Keychron's K Pro Series lineup. These keyboards are an upgrade from the standard Keychron K Series and feature noticeable build and design differences but retain the same wireless functionality. Namely, the upgraded K Pro lineup has higher-quality PBT keycaps with a unique rounded and tapered shape. These keyboards also depart from the gray and orange color scheme of the K Series. You can also purchase these keyboards in a hot-swappable configuration, meaning you can change out the switches without soldering— but they also include a toolkit so you can further modify your keyboard if you want.

We bought and tested the Keychron K8 Pro, which is a TenKeyLess (80%) variant within this keyboard lineup— but there are numerous other size variants and different configurations available. See our Differences Between Sizes and Variants section below for more details.

Our Verdict

8.2 Gaming

These keyboards are great for gaming, though they're better suited for casual gaming rather than competitive or fast-paced reaction titles due to their latency. Otherwise, they're solidly built boards with full RGB backlighting. Since they have a hot-swappable PCB, you can change the stock switches without having to solder. Also, every key is macro-programmable, and the companion software is compatible with all major operating systems. Unfortunately, these keyboards don't come with a wrist rest.

Pros
  • Excellent build quality.
  • Full RGB backlighting.
  • Hot-swappable PCB.
Cons
  • Latency is decent for casual titles but too high for competitive gaming.
6.9 Mobile/Tablet

These keyboards are adequate for use with tablets and mobile devices. They feel well-built thanks to the premium materials used, and you can connect with up to three devices simultaneously via Bluetooth. However, some of the larger size variants, including the Keychron K8 Pro we tested, are a bit too big and heavy to carry around comfortably for use on the go.

Pros
  • Excellent build quality.
Cons
  • Not very portable due to their size and weight.
7.0 Office

These keyboards are decent for office use. They offer great typing quality and have a layer of sound-dampening foam inside to reduce noise. We bought and tested the Keychron K8 Pro with Gateron G Pro Blue switches which are too loud for an office environment, but you can also buy these keyboards in quieter Red or Brown switch varieties that are much more office-appropriate. These keyboards are fully compatible with Windows and macOS, thanks to the toggle on the top left side to change operating systems. Also, the software is available on all major operating systems. Unfortunately, they lack an included wrist rest, which could lead to some discomfort when typing for long periods on any of the high-profile models in this lineup.

Pros
  • Excellent build quality.
  • Hot-swappable PCB.
  • Great typing quality.
Cons
  • No included wrist rest.
  • Not very portable due to their size and weight.
7.8 Programming

These keyboards are great for programming. They feel well-built and offer a nice, satisfying typing experience. You can connect them with up to three devices using Bluetooth, and they're fully compatible with both Windows and macOS, and only a few function hotkeys don't work on Linux. The companion software is available on all major PC operating systems, so you can program macros and customize the key mapping regardless of your setup. They also have full RGB backlighting, though the key legends aren't shine-through. Unfortunately, they lack a wrist rest, which would improve the overall comfort of any of the high-profile models in this lineup.

Pros
  • Excellent build quality.
  • Full RGB backlighting.
  • Hot-swappable PCB.
Cons
  • No included wrist rest.
5.8 Entertainment / HTPC

The Keychron K Pro Series are sub-par options to use with a home theater PC setup. While they have excellent build quality and connect wirelessly via Bluetooth, they lack dedicated media keys. Furthermore, while they have RGB lighting, the keycaps don't have shine-through legends, and you can't read them in a darkened room.

Pros
  • Excellent build quality.
Cons
  • No dedicated media keys.
  • Keys don't have shine-through legends and can't be seen in a darkened room.
  • 8.2 Gaming
  • 6.9 Mobile/Tablet
  • 7.0 Office
  • 7.8 Programming
  • 5.8 Entertainment / HTPC
  1. Updated Aug 30, 2023: Added details regarding the Keychron K11 Pro and the Keychron K15 Pro to the Difference Between Variants section of this review.
  2. Updated Jun 28, 2023: We've rewritten sections of this review to better encompass all currently available size and configuration variants. We've also added text for several new tests introduced in recent test bench updates, and we've added specific details about the Keychron K14 Pro to the Difference Between Variants section of this review.
  3. Updated Jun 12, 2023: We've converted this review to Test Bench 1.2. This update introduces new Backlight Features and Backlight Clarity test boxes. We've also added a new Switches test box, added additional test comparisons to our Hardware Customizability test box that we introduced with our last Test Bench. For an in-depth look at our changes, you can see our full changelog here.
  4. Updated May 19, 2023: Added details regarding the Keychron K9 Pro, Keychron K12 Pro, and Keychron K13 Pro to the Difference Between Variants section of this review.
  5. Updated May 19, 2023: We've converted this review to Test Bench 1.1. This update adds several new tests addressing Hardware Customization, Macro Keys And Programming, and Wireless Mobile Compatibility. We've also added new objective evaluations to the Typing Noise test, and we've simplified several tests and removed several others that were no longer relevant. For an in-depth look at all our changes, you can see our full changelog here.
  6. Updated Mar 28, 2023: We've added details regarding the Keychron K1 Pro and the Keychron K5 Pro to the Difference Between Variants section of this review.
  7. Updated Feb 27, 2023: We've added details regarding the Keychron K7 Pro and the Keychron K10 Pro to the Difference Between Variants section of this review.
  8. Updated Jan 12, 2023: We've updated this review to include details on the Keychron K4 Pro in the Differences Between Sizes and Variants section of this review.
  9. Updated Dec 15, 2022: Revised the review to discuss the Keychron K Pro Series lineup of keyboards as a whole rather than individual products. Added available variants to the variant box.
  10. Updated Jul 05, 2022: Review published.
  11. Updated Jun 29, 2022: Early access published.
  12. Updated Jun 23, 2022: Our testers have started testing this product.
  13. Updated Jun 21, 2022: The product has arrived in our lab, and our testers will start evaluating it soon.
  14. Updated May 21, 2022: We've purchased the product and are waiting for it to arrive in our lab.

Check Price

100% K5 Pro (Low Profile)
Searching
Finding Store
60% K9 Pro (Low Profile)
Searching
Finding Store
65% K7 Pro (Low Profile)
Searching
Finding Store
75% K3 Pro (Low Profile)
Searching
Finding Store
80% TKL K1 Pro (Low Profile)
Searching
Finding Store
80% TKL K13 Pro (Numpad)
Searching
Finding Store
96% K17 Pro (Low Profile)
Searching
Finding Store

Differences Between Sizes And Variants

There are quite a few variants available in the Keychron K Pro Series. We've outlined the many variants and configurations in the chart below. We bought and tested the fully assembled Keychron K8 Pro with RGB backlighting, an aluminum frame, and Gateron G Pro Blue switches installed. You can see the label of our unit here.

 As Keychron releases more keyboards in this series, we will update our list of variants. If you have a variant you don't see listed here, let us know in the discussions.

Normal Profile Variants

 We expect our test results to apply to the following normal profile variants:

Name Size Assembly Options Backlighting Options Aluminum Frame Option Dedicated Macro Keys Switches Switch Options Hot-swappable Battery Size
Keychron K2 Pro  Compact (75%) Barebones, Fully Assembled White, RGB Yes  No Keychron K Pro Mechanical Red, Blue, Brown Yes/No 4000 mAh
Keychron K4 Pro  Compact (96%)   Barebones, Fully Assembled  White, RGB  Yes  No  Keychron K Pro Mechanical Red, Blue, Brown Yes/No 4000 mAh
Keychron K6 Pro Compact (65%) Barebones, Fully Assembled   White, RGB  Yes  No  Keychron K Pro Mechanical Red, Blue, Brown Yes/No 4000 mAh
 Keychron K8 Pro TenKeyLess (80%)   Barebones, Fully Assembled White, RGB   Yes No Gateron G Pro Mechanical  Red, Blue, Brown  Yes/No 4000 mAh
Keychron K10 Pro  Full-size (100%)  Barebones, Fully Assembled  White, RGB  Yes Yes  Keychron K Pro Mechanical Red, Brown Yes/No 4000 mAh
Keychron K12 Pro Compact (60%) Barebones, Fully Assembled White, RGB  Yes No Keychron K Pro Mechanical  Red, Brown Yes/No 4000 mAh
Keychron K14 Pro  Compact (70%) Barebones, Fully Assembled  White, RGB  Yes No Keychron K Pro Mechanical  Red, Brown  Yes/No  4000 mAh

Low-Profile Variants

Most of our test results within this review apply to the low-profile variants below. However, we expect these low-profile variants to have build quality differences due to their thinner construction. These keyboards also use low-profile switches, which have a shorter pre-travel and produce a different typing quality.

If you have any of the low-profile variants below and feel there are other differences or issues we should mention in our review, let us know in the discussions.

Name  Size/Layout Assembly Options  Backlighting Options Aluminum Frame Option Dedicated Macro Keys Switches Switch Options Hot-swappable Battery Size
Keychron K1 Pro  TKL (80%) Fully Assembled  White, RGB No No Low Profile Gateron Mechanical   Red, Brown Yes/No 2000 mAh
Keychron K3 Pro  Compact (75%) Fully Assembled White, RGB No No Low Profile Gateron Mechanical  Red, Blue, Brown Yes/No  1550 mAh
Keychron K5 Pro Full-size (100%) Fully Assembled  White, RGB No No Low Profile Gateron Mechanical  Red, Brown  Yes/No 2000 mAh 
Keychron K7 Pro Compact (65%)  Fully Assembled  White, RGB  No No  Low Profile Gateron Mechanical  Red, Brown Yes/No 1550 mAh 
Keychron K9 Pro Compact (60%)  Fully Assembled   White, RGB No  No  Low Profile Gateron Mechanical  Red, Brown  Yes/No  1550 mAh 
Keychron K13 Pro "Numpad TKL" (80%)  Fully Assembled  White, RGB No No  Low Profile Gateron Mechanical   Red, Brown Yes/No

2000 mAh 

Additional Low-Profile Variants

Note that the low-profile variants listed below have more significant design differences, including Alice layouts, which means they have an entirely different case design. Furthermore, they may include additional elements, such as control knobs and dedicated macro keys, which are not present on most other variants in this lineup, including the unit we bought and tested. While we expect most of our tests will remain broadly applicable, these additional elements may produce differences in build and typing quality. 

If you have any of the variants below and feel there are other differences or issues we should mention in our review, let us know in the discussions.

Name Size /Layout Assembly Options Backlighting Options Aluminum Frame Option Dedicated Macro Keys Control Knob Switches Switch Options Hot-swappable Battery Size
Keychron Q11 Pro Compact (65%), Alice Layout Fully Assembled  White, RGB  No  No Yes Low Profile Gateron Mechanical   Red, Blue, Brown  Yes/No   2000 mAh 
Keychron Q15 Pro Compact (75%), Alice Layout   Fully Assembled White, RGB  No  Yes Yes Low Profile Gateron Mechanical   Red, Blue, Brown    Yes/No  2000 mAh

Compared To Other Keyboards

The Keychron K8 Pro [K2 Pro, K3 Pro, K4 Pro, etc.] are upgraded versions of the Keychron K Series. Overall, they perform very similarly to their predecessors and still use Bluetooth to connect with up to three devices. However, they feature notable upgrades to the build quality, the most important of which is the PBT keycaps with the OSA profile, the same keycaps found on the more premium Keychron Q Series boards. The K Pro Series also takes a few more pages from the Q Series, including a hot-swappable PCB option, screw-in stabilizers, and compatibility with the VIA companion software.

If you're interested in more options, check out our recommendations for the best wireless keyboards, the best keyboards for typing, or the best Keychron keyboards.

Keychron Q6

The Keychron Q Series and the Keychron K8 Pro [K2 Pro, K3 Pro, K4 Pro, etc.] are both mechanical keyboard lineups from the manufacturer Keychron. The Keychron Q6 is the full-size, and largest keyboard in the Q Series. As a whole, the Q Series features a better build quality thanks to their gasket-mounted design and solid aluminum case. On the other hand, the K Pro Series are wireless keyboards that support multi-device pairing via Bluetooth, and they have a tray-mounted design. Otherwise, both keyboards are very customizable, compatible with the VIA companion software, and have a hot-swappable PCB. 

Keychron Q Pro Series [Q1 Pro, Q2 Pro, etc.]

The Keychron Q Pro Series [Q1 Pro, Q2 Pro, etc.] and the Keychron K8 Pro [K2 Pro, K3 Pro, K4 Pro, etc.] are lineups of mechanical keyboards with hot-swappable PCBs and customizable hardware. The Q Pro Series are more premium wireless keyboards with better build quality and gasket-mounted designs that provide better overall typing quality. On the other hand, the K Pro Series are more budget-oriented, with the option of other aluminum or plastic cases.

 

Keychron K2 (Version 2)

The Keychron K8 Pro [K2 Pro, K3 Pro, K4 Pro, etc.] are part of Keychron's K Pro series, which are upgraded models of the Keychron K Series, that includes the Keychron K2 (Version 2). The K Pro Series has a better build quality, including an aluminum frame option and PBT keycaps. They're also compatible with the VIA companion software, and they have added layers of sound-dampening foam to reduce typing noise, all of which are features that the original K Series lacks.

Keychron V Series

The Keychron V Series and the Keychron K8 Pro [K2 Pro, K3 Pro, K4 Pro, etc.] are similar, customizable mechanical keyboards manufactured by Keychron. They're very similar in terms of performance and features, but the K Pro Series has the option for an aluminum frame, whereas the V Series only has plastic frames. Otherwise, the major difference between the two is that the K Pro Series are wireless and use Bluetooth to connect while the V Series boards are wired-only.

Keychron Q1

The Keychron Q Series and the Keychron K8 Pro [K2 Pro, K3 Pro, K4 Pro, etc.] are both mechanical keyboard lineups from the manufacturer Keychron. The Keychron Q1 is a compact (75%) size that marks the first release in the Q Series. As a whole, the Q Series features a better build quality thanks to their gasket-mounted design and solid aluminum case. On the other hand, the K Pro Series are wireless keyboards that support multi-device pairing via Bluetooth, and they have a tray-mounted design. Otherwise, both keyboards are very customizable, compatible with the VIA companion software, and have a hot-swappable PCB. 

Keychron K8

The Keychron K8 Pro [K2 Pro, K3 Pro, K4 Pro, etc.] is the upgraded version of Keychron's K Series, which includes the Keychron K8. While the performance remains similar, Keychron made notable improvements to the build quality on the K Pro Series with new PBT keycaps, screw-in stabilizers, option aluminum frames, and two additional layers of foam inside the case for better acoustics. The K Pro Series are also the first wireless keyboards from Keychron to be compatible with the VIA companion software, so you can fully customize your layout, macros, and RGB backlighting.

Keychron Q3

The Keychron Q Series and the Keychron K8 Pro [K2 Pro, K3 Pro, K4 Pro, etc.] are both mechanical keyboard lineups from the manufacturer Keychron. The Keychron Q3 is a TenKeyLess size available in the Q Series. As a whole, the Q Series features a better build quality thanks to their gasket-mounted design. On the other hand, the K Pro Series are wireless keyboards that support multi-device pairing via Bluetooth, and they have a tray-mounted design. Otherwise, both keyboards are very customizable, compatible with the VIA companion software, and have a hot-swappable PCB. 

Ducky One 3

The Ducky One 3 and the Keychron K8 Pro [K2 Pro, K3 Pro, K4 Pro, etc.] are both customizable mechanical boards but they have some notable differences. The Ducky is wired-only, and has much lower latency than the Keychrons, making it better suited to gaming. The Keychrons are wireless and support multi-device pairing with up to three devices via Bluetooth.

Keychron C1 Pro/C2 Pro

The Keychron C1 Pro/C2 Pro and the Keychron K8 Pro [K2 Pro, K3 Pro, K4 Pro, etc.] are mechanical keyboard lineups. The C Pro series keyboards are wired-only models. C1 Pro is a TenKeyLess (80%) model, and the C1 Pro is a full-size model. The K Pro Series are wireless models in various sizes, including TenKeyLess and full-size models. The biggest difference between these series is that the K Pro Series offers more hardware customizability overall.

Keychron C1

The Keychron K8 Pro [K2 Pro, K3 Pro, K4 Pro, etc.] are much better than the Keychron C1, which belongs to the wider Keychron C series of keyboards. The K Pro Series are wireless keyboards with a much higher build quality thanks to their aluminum frames and PBT keycaps. They also have sound-dampening foam inside the case to reduce typing noise. Plus, they're all hot-swappable, meaning you can change the stock switches. That said, the C1 and other C series keyboards do have a hot-swappable variant, but they're more expensive than the base version.

Keychron S Series

The Keychron K8 Pro [K2 Pro, K3 Pro, K4 Pro, etc.] and the Keychron S Series are mechanical, hot-swappable keyboards available in a range of sizes and configurations. The K Pro series keyboards include high-profile and low-profile options and are all wireless models with mixed metal and plastic bodies. On the other hand, the S Series are low-profile, wired-only models with all-aluminum bodies.

+ Show more

Test Results

perceptual testing image
Design
Design
Dimensions
Size
TenKeyLess (80%)
Height
1.7" (4.3 cm)
Width 14.1" (35.8 cm)
Depth
5.1" (13.0 cm)
Depth With Wrist Rest
N/A
Weight
2.95 lbs (1.336 kg)

The Keychron K8 Pro we bought and tested has a TenKeyLess (80%) design, which means it has a function row, arrow keys, and a navigation clusterโ€”but it lacks a Numpad.

A wide variety of other size variants are available in the Keychron K Pro series. For more details, see our Differences Between Sizes and Variants section above.

8.5
Design
Build Quality
Keycap Material PBT

These keyboards have excellent build quality. The outer frame and base plate are solid metal, while the bottom of the keyboard is hard plastic, so it exhibits no flex. The keys feel stable with only a bit of wobble in the larger keys, but as the stabilizers are screw-in, you can easily change them. Like the original K Series, these keyboards keep the plate-mounted switches, but they now have a layer of sound-dampening foam and a silicone bottom pad for better acoustics. Another notable change is the new OSA-profile PBT keycaps found on Keychron's more premium Q Series boards. Overall, these boards feel higher quality than the original K Series since they use many of the same materials and features as the customizable boards in the Keychron Q Series.

6.0
Design
Ergonomics
Curved/Angled
No
Split Keyboard
No
Key Alignment
Staggered
Minimum Incline
4ยฐ
Medium Incline
8ยฐ
Maximum Incline
10.5ยฐ
Home Row Height
35.5 mm (1.4")

The high-profile models in the Keychron K Pro series, including the Keychron K8 Pro we bought and tested, have acceptable ergonomics. There are two incline settings, but you need to angle your wrists fairly steeply to reach all the keys, and these keyboards don't come with a wrist rest, although Keychron sells wrist rests separately on their website.

Some models in this lineup have low-profile designs, which provide better ergonomics if you prefer not to use a wrist rest. For more details, see our Differences Between Sizes and Variants section above.

10
Design
Hardware Customizability
Replaceable Cherry Stabilizers
Yes
Stabilizer Fixation
Screw-in
Spacebar Stabilizer Size
6.25u
Size Of Right Mod Keys
1.25u
Hot-Swappable Switches
Yes
Switch Stem Shape
Cherry MX Style
Switch PCB Socket
5-pin Cherry
North-Facing Cherry MX Interference
No

These keyboards offer remarkable hardware customizability. Note that the screws holding the Enter and Space key stabilizers are tucked under the backplate and require you to open the keyboard to access the screws. All other stabilizer screws are accessible without needing to remove the backplate.

10
Design
Backlight Features
Backlighting Yes
RGB
Yes
Per-Key Backlighting
Yes
Effects
Yes
Software Controllable
Yes

These keyboards have individually-lit RGB backlighting. The LEDs are south-facing, so they're more compatible with a wider range of keycaps should you want to change them out. You can use the companion software to customize the brightness, colors, effects, and effect speed.

4.0
Design
Backlight Clarity

These keyboards have South-Facing LEDs, and the keycap legends aren't shine-through. However, you get enough illumination to read the legends while seated. We've also taken a photo with several stock keycaps replaced with shine-through keycaps that you can see here.

Design
Cable & Connector
Connectivity Wireless
Detachable
Yes (Wired Mode and Charge)
Length 3.9 ft (1.2 m)
Connector (Keyboard side)
USB type-C

These keyboards come with a detachable braided USB-A to USB-C cable. It's shorter and retains some kinks from the packaging but feels nice overall.

10
Design
Wireless Versatility
Bluetooth
Yes
Bluetooth Multi-Device Pairing
3
Proprietary Receiver
No
Battery Type
Rechargeable

Most of the keyboards in the Keychron K Pro series, including the Keychron K8 Pro we tested, use a 4000mAh rechargeable battery that Keychron advertises to last up to 300 hours of use with the backlighting off and up to 100 hours with the backlighting on the lowest brightness.

Note: Low-profile models in the Keychron K Pro series have a smaller battery that Keychron advertises to provide 100 hours of battery life with the backlighting off and 33 hours with the backlighting on at the lowest brightness.

4.0
Design
Macro Keys And Programming
Dedicated Macro Keys Count 0
Onboard Macro Programming
No
Macro Programming With Software
Yes

Most keyboards in the Keychron K Pro series don't have dedicated macro keys, including the Keychron K8 Pro we bought and tested. For more details about models with dedicated macro keys, see our Differences Between Sizes and Variants section above.

Design
Extra Features
Media Keys
Non-Dedicated
Trackpad / Trackball No
Scroll Wheel
No
Control Knob
No
USB Passthrough
No
Numpad No
Windows Key Lock
No
Lock Indicator Caps Lock

The media keys and backlighting controls are accessible through hotkeys outlined in the user documentation. Like most other Keychron boards, these keyboards have a toggle to switch between Windows and macOS systems. The charging port and power switch are next to the operating system toggle. Three small lights above the arrow keys light up to indicate when Caps, Scroll, or Numlock are enabled.

Design
In The Box

  • Keychron K8 Pro
  • USB-A to USB-C cable
  • 4x Windows-specific keycaps
  • Keycap puller
  • Switch puller
  • Screwdriver
  • Hex key
  • User documentation

Typing Experience
Typing Experience
Switches
Switch Name
Gateron G Pro Blue
Switch Type
Mechanical
Feel
Clicky

These keyboards are available with your choice of Gateron G Pro, Keychron K Pro, or Low Profile Gateron Mechanical switches, depending on your chosen model. All switches come pre-lubed from the factory.

We bought and tested the Keychron K8 Pro with Gateron G Pro Blue mechanical switches. This unit also has a hot-swappable PCB, which allows you to change switches without needing to solder them.

Typing Experience
Keystrokes
Operating Force
57 gf
Actuation Force
43 gf
Pre-Travel
2.3 mm
Total Travel
4.5 mm

We purchased the Keychron K8 Pro with Gateron G Pro Blue switches. These switches are fairly light to type on, with a pronounced but smooth tactile bump that produces an audible click. The pre-travel is a moderate distance which can help avoid typos, but the total travel is quite long, which can be helpful if keys with shorter total travel seem to bottom out too quickly for you.

8.0
Typing Experience
Typing Quality

These keyboards provide a very good typing experience. The double-shot PBT keycaps have a smooth texture that feels nice on the fingertips. The keys have a standard placement, so they don't feel cramped to type on. There's a bit of wobble in the keys, but it's not too noticeable or distracting during use.

We bought the Keychron K8 Pro with Gateron G Pro Blue switches that have a satisfying tactile bump that feels very smooth throughout the keypress and produces an audible click.

4.3
Typing Experience
Typing Noise
Average Loudness
55.9 dBA
High Pitch Clicks
Yes

We bought and tested the Keychron K8 Pro with clicky Gateron G Pro Blue switches, which are loud and produce a high-pitched clicking sound that some find satisfying but likely isn't appropriate for most office settings where you may disrupt others around you.

These keyboards are also available in various other Keychron K Pro, Gateron G Pro, or Low Profile Gateron Mechanical switches options. While we expect all Blue switch options to be similarly loud, Red and Brown switches are considerably quieter.

7.4
Typing Experience
Latency
Latency Wired
11.2 ms
Latency Receiver
N/A
Latency Bluetooth
22.1 ms

These keyboards have decent latency that's well-suited for casual gaming. However, they're higher than the latency of most dedicated gaming keyboards and aren't recommended for playing fast-paced, competitive games.

Software and Operating System
Software and Operating System
Configuration Software
Software Name VIA
Software Windows Compatible
Yes
Software macOS Compatible
Yes
Onboard Memory
Yes
Profiles
6+

These keyboards use VIA customization software, and they're QMK-supported. You can download the software and all necessary files directly from Keychron's website. The easy-to-use VIA software allows you to remap keys, set macros, and customize the RGB backlighting. There are four layers of profiles. Layers 0 and 1 are for Mac systems, while layers 2 and 3 are for Windows, and you'll have to have the toggle on the left set to the correct operating system to access the layers.

10
Software and Operating System
Computer Compatibility
Windows
Fully Compatible
macOS
Fully Compatible
Linux (Ubuntu 22)
Fully Compatible
Media Key Compatibility
Windows, MacOS & Linux

These keyboards have outstanding compatibility, and the software is compatible with Windows, macOS, and Linux. All keys work as intended on Windows and macOS, as long as you have the toggle on the left side set to the proper operating system. On Linux (which also uses the Mac toggles setting), only the brightness hotkeys and the FN+F3 toggle don't work.

10
Software and Operating System
Wireless Mobile Compatibility
Android
Fully Compatible
iOS
Fully Compatible
iPadOS
Fully Compatible
Media Key Compatibility
Android, iPhone & iPad

On all mobile operating systems, the F3 hotkey doesn't work. On iOS and iPadOS, the F4 hotkey also doesn't work.