Get insider access
Preferred store
Your browser is not supported or outdated so some features of the site might not be available.
If you want to see more about how specific mechanical switches perform, we've recently launched reviews of keyboard switches!

Keychron K10 Keyboard Review

Tested using Methodology v1.3.1
Reviewed Oct 06, 2021 at 10:44 am
Latest change: Test bench update Nov 29, 2023 at 09:32 am
Keychron K10 Picture
7.0
Gaming
7.4
Office
6.7
Mobile/Tablet
7.7
Programming
5.9
Entertainment / HTPC
6.0
Raw Performance

The Keychron K10 is a full-size mechanical keyboard with Bluetooth support. Unlike most mechanical keyboards, it has a focus on productivity instead of gaming. It has multi-device pairing with up to three devices at once, so you can easily connect it to your PC, tablet, and phone. It features a switch for macOS and Windows compatibility, so all keys work on both operating systems as long as you're in the correct mode. It even comes with extra keycaps for each OS. It's available with clicky, linear, and tactile Gateron switches, and there's a hot-swappable variant. It has full RGB backlighting, and since it doesn't come with dedicated first-party software, you can't customize the RGB backlighting or reprogram any of the keys, but Keychron recommends third-party software.

Our Verdict

7.0 Gaming

The Keychron K10 is decent for gaming. It has light-feeling tactile Gateron Brown switches, and it's available in clicky and linear too. It has full RGB backlighting if you game in a dark room environment. However, it lacks dedicated software, so you can't set macros or customize the backlighting. Its latency is also a bit too high for competitive gaming.

Pros
  • Gateron Brown switches are light to press.
  • Full RGB backlighting.
Cons
  • No dedicated software for macro or RGB customization.
  • Latency too high for competitive gamers.
7.4 Office

The Keychron K10 is good for office use. It's well-built, and it comes with two incline settings, but it lacks a wrist rest. It's available with linear, clicky, and tactile mechanical switches, and the Gateron Brown switches on our unit provide a great typing quality. It can connect with up to three devices at once, and all keys work properly on both Windows and macOS.

Pros
  • Multi-device pairing with up to three devices.
  • Switch for Windows and macOS compatibility.
  • Great typing quality.
Cons
  • Wrist rest not included.
6.7 Mobile/Tablet

The Keychron K10 isn't bad for mobile use. It connects with any mobile operating system, and most keys work, except for a few function keys. It has multi-device pairing, meaning you can connect with up to three devices at once over Bluetooth. However, it's a full-size keyboard that's rather large, so it isn't ideal for carrying around.

Pros
  • Multi-device pairing with up to three devices.
  • Only a few function keys don't work on iPadOS, iOS, or Android.
Cons
  • Large size, hard to carry around.
  • Too heavy to use as a mobile keyboard.
7.7 Programming

The Keychron K10 is good for most programmers, but it's not ideal. Typing feels great because it has stable keys, and the Gateron Brown switches on our unit are light to press. It has full RGB backlighting, which is great for programming in a dark environment. Unfortunately, it doesn't have dedicated software, so you can't reprogram or set macros to any key, which may disappoint most programmers.

Pros
  • Full RGB backlighting.
  • Multi-device pairing with up to three devices.
  • Great typing quality.
Cons
  • No dedicated software for macro or RGB customization.
  • Wrist rest not included.
5.9 Entertainment / HTPC

The Keychron K10 is okay for home theater PC use. It connects to any device via Bluetooth, and it has full RGB lighting, so you can see the keys easier in the dark. However, it's large, so it's not ideal for placing on your lap, and it doesn't have a trackpad.

Pros
  • Full RGB backlighting.
  • Multi-device pairing with up to three devices.
Cons
  • Large size, hard to carry around.
  • No trackpad.
6.0 Raw Performance
  • 7.0 Gaming
  • 7.4 Office
  • 6.7 Mobile/Tablet
  • 7.7 Programming
  • 5.9 Entertainment / HTPC
  • 6.0 Raw Performance
  1. Updated Nov 29, 2023: We've concerted this review to Test Bench 1.3.1, which adds a new estimated PCB latency test to the Single-Key Latency section and a new Analog test to the Switches section of this review. You can see the full changelog here.
  2. Updated Oct 16, 2023: We've converted this review to Test Bench 1.3, which overhauls how key input is evaluated. We've added new tests for Single Key Latency, Multi Key Latency, Data Transmission, and Chord Split. We've also introduced a new Raw Performance usage and adjusted how the Gaming and Office usage scores are calculated. You can see the full changelog here.
  3. Updated Jun 12, 2023: We've converted this review to Test Bench 1.2. This update introduces new Backlight Features and Backlight Clarity test boxes. We've also added a new Switches test box, added additional test comparisons to our Hardware Customizability test box that we introduced with our last Test Bench. For an in-depth look at our changes, you can see our full changelog here.
  4. Updated May 02, 2023: After updating this keyboard onto our newest test bench, we've added text to the newHardware Customizability section of this review.
  5. Updated Apr 26, 2023: We've converted this review to Test Bench 1.1. This update adds several new tests addressing Hardware Customization, Macro Keys And Programming, and Wireless Mobile Compatibility. We've also added new objective evaluations to the Typing Noise test, and we've simplified several tests and removed several others that were no longer relevant. For an in-depth look at all our changes, you can see our full changelog here.
  6. Updated Oct 06, 2021: Review published.
  7. Updated Oct 01, 2021: Early access published.
  8. Updated Sep 30, 2021: Our testers have started testing this product.
  9. Updated Sep 17, 2021: The product has arrived in our lab, and our testers will start evaluating it soon.
  10. Updated Sep 13, 2021: We've purchased the product and are waiting for it to arrive in our lab.

Differences Between Sizes And Variants

We tested the Keychron K10 with an aluminum frame, RGB backlighting, and Gateron Brown switches. It's available in few different variants, with differences in backlighting and frame material. All the variants are available with the same switch type, and you can also get the hot-swappable version, meaning you can replace the switches with any compatible switch.

Backlighting Aluminum Frame Gateron Switches
White No  Red, Blue, Brown
 RGB No Red, Blue, Brown
RGB with Aluminum Frame Yes Red, Blue, Brown

If you have a variant of the K10 that doesn't correspond to our review, let us know in the discussions, and we'll update it. You can see our unit's label here.

Compared To Other Keyboards

The Keychron K10 is a good wireless mechanical keyboard. There aren't many mechanical keyboards with office use in mind, which makes this one stand out against other mechanical gaming keyboards, but that means it's not as versatile. Unless you only need a keyboard for office use and don't need to reprogram any keys, more customizable options are available.

Also see our recommendations for the best Keychron keyboards, the best keyboards for typing, and the best mechanical keyboards.

Keychron Q6

The Keychron Q6 and the Keychron K10 are both full-size keyboards with several prominent differences. The Q6 is a wired-only, customizable keyboard available either in a pre-built or barebones configuration and has a hot-swappable PCB and better overall build quality. It also includes robust customization software. On the other hand, the K10 is a wireless keyboard that supports multi-device pairing via Bluetooth. It has a hot-swappable variant available but has no customization software support.

Keychron C2

The Keychron K10 and the Keychron C2 are similar mechanical office keyboards. The main difference is that the K10 is wireless with Bluetooth support, but the C2 is wired-only. The unit of the K10 we tested has RGB backlighting, and the C2 we tested has white backlighting, but they're each available in white and RGB variants. They're both available in the same types of switches, and typing is equally great on both.

Keychron K2 (Version 2)

The Keychron K2 (Version 2) and the Keychron K10 are similar keyboards in terms of features, but they're available in different sizes. The K10 is full-size with a standard layout, while the K2 is smaller at a 75% size, so it doesn't have a numpad or certain navigation buttons like Print Screen, Scroll Lock, and Pause Break. The K2 feels better built because the frame doesn't flex as much, but that's likely because the K10 is larger. They have many of the same features, and they're available with the same switch options.

Logitech MX Keys

The Logitech MX Keys and the Keychron K10 are different types of office keyboards. Typing is great on both, but choosing one over the other depends if you prefer mechanical or non-mechanical keyboards. The K10 is mechanical and available with three types of mechanical switches, so you can get the ones you like, and it has full RGB backlighting. The Logitech is a non-mechanical option with scissor switches, and it has white backlighting. They each have Bluetooth support with up to three devices at once, but the Logitech also has a proprietary receiver. The Logitech has more customization options, too, as you can reprogram some function keys.

Razer Pro Type Ultra

The Keychron K10 and the Razer Pro Type Ultra are both full-size wireless office boards. If you want a board to match your white office setup, the Razer is a better choice. It has white backlighting, a wrist rest, and you can pair it with one more device thanks to its USB receiver. Also, all its keys are macro-programmable. It's available with linear Razer Yellow switches only, which may bother you if you prefer a different feel. On the other hand, if you prefer a dark-colored board with RGB backlighting, the Keychron is a better choice. Also, it offers more switch feels to choose from, including linear, tactile, and clicky Gateron switches.

Ducky Shine 7

The Ducky Shine 7 is better for most uses than the Keychron K10. The Ducky has more gaming features, like macro-programmable keys and dedicated software to customize the RGB lighting, both of which the Keychron doesn't have. Typing also feels better on the Ducky, thanks to the PBT keycaps. However, the Keychron is better for mobile use because it has Bluetooth support, and you can connect with up to three devices at once.

Keychron K6

The Keychron K6 and the Keychron K10 are similar in features and performance, but they're different sizes. The K6 is a compact 65% keyboard, while the K10 is full-size, so it has a function row, navigation keys, and a numpad. We tested each with Gateron Brown switches, and typing feels great on both. The K6 has slightly lower latency when used with the wired, but it's still not low enough for most gamers.

+ Show more

Test Results

perceptual testing image
Design
Design
Dimensions
Size
Full-size (100%)
Height
1.6" (4.0 cm)
Width 17.1" (43.4 cm)
Depth
4.9" (12.4 cm)
Depth With Wrist Rest
N/A
Weight
1.99 lbs (0.902 kg)

The Keychron K10 is a 100% keyboard. It's bigger than the 96% Keychron K4 because it has a few extra function keys, like Insert and Print Screen. It has a standard layout that isn't as cramped, either.

8.0
Design
Build Quality
Keycap Material ABS

The Keychron K10's build quality is great. Our unit has an aluminum base plate, but you can also get the variant with a plastic plate instead. It feels solid, and the plastic chassis only shows some flex when you apply a lot of pressure on it. The ABS keycaps feel good, but they're not as solid as PBT, and they can feel slippery. The keys themselves feel stable and don't wobble too much while typing. The larger keys like the Spacebar, Enter, and Shift keys are very stable, and even though the Spacebar makes a different sound than the rest, it goes down evenly no matter which side you're pressing. There are rubber feet underneath to hold the keyboard in place, so it shouldn't move around during regular use. The incline feet are less grippy, but they still hold in place and shouldn't collapse if you move the keyboard. There's an upgraded series of these keyboards that have a better build quality and use PBT keycaps, called the Keychron K Pro Series.

6.0
Design
Ergonomics
Curved/Angled
No
Split Keyboard
No
Key Alignment
Staggered
Minimum Incline
3.6°
Medium Incline
8.4°
Maximum Incline
11°
Home Row Height
33.4 mm (1.3")

The Keychron K10 is a basic straight keyboard with two incline settings. Even if you don't use the incline feet, it has a high profile. It doesn't feel too comfortable typing on it for long periods because of the height, and it would benefit from having a wrist rest. It doesn't come with one, but Keychron sells wooden wrist rests separately.

6.0
Design
Hardware Customizability
Replaceable Cherry Stabilizers
Yes
Stabilizer Fixation
Plate-Mounted
Spacebar Stabilizer Size
6.25u
Size Of Right Mod Keys
1.25u
Hot-Swappable Switches
No
Switch Stem Shape
Cherry MX Style
Switch PCB Socket
Soldered
North-Facing Cherry MX Interference
Yes

Note that the Keychron K10 we bought and tested isn't hot-swappable, but Keychron does offer a hot-swappable version of this keyboard compatible with standard 3- and 5-pin switches.

8.5
Design
Backlight Features
Backlighting Yes
RGB
Yes
Per-Key Backlighting
Yes
Effects
Yes
Software Controllable
No

The Keychron K10 has full RGB backlighting with individually lit keys. You can cycle through the lighting effects directly on the keyboard, but you can't customize it.

8.0
Design
Backlight Clarity

The white-only lighting is fairly even but has a noticeable warm hue.

Design
Cable & Connector
Connectivity Wireless
Detachable
Yes (Wired Mode and Charge)
Length 3.9 ft (1.2 m)
Connector (Keyboard side)
USB type-C

The included USB-C to USB-A cable is stiff and retains kinks from the packaging. It doesn't feel good, and it attaches on the left side instead of on the back like most keyboards.

10
Design
Wireless Versatility
Bluetooth
Yes
Bluetooth Multi-Device Pairing
3
Proprietary Receiver
No
Battery Type
Rechargeable

The Keychron K10 can connect with up to three devices at once over Bluetooth. Keychron advertises that the rechargeable battery lasts up to 240 hours with the backlight off and around 70 hours with the backlight on.

0
Design
Macro Keys And Programming
Dedicated Macro Keys Count 0
Onboard Macro Programming
No
Macro Programming With Software
No
Design
Extra Features
Media Keys
Non-Dedicated
Trackpad / Trackball No
Scroll Wheel
No
Control Knob
No
USB Passthrough
No
Numpad Yes
Windows Key Lock
No
Lock Indicator Caps & Num Lock

There aren't many extra features on the Keychron K10. There are two switches on the left side. One is to change between the OS compatibility and the other changes between the connection type. It comes with specific keycaps for Windows and macOS, meaning you can match them to your PC's operating system. You can control the RGB lighting directly on the keyboard, but there's no dedicated software for customization, and you can't reprogram any key. There are media hotkeys too, which you can see here.

Design
In The Box

  • Keychron K10 keyboard
  • USB-C to USB-A cable
  • Keycap remover
  • 6x extra Windows keycaps
  • User guide

Typing Experience
8.0
Typing Experience
Typing Quality
Key Spacing
19.0 mm (0.748")

The Keychron K10 has great typing quality. Most keys are stable and don't rattle, and although there's some wobble to the alphanumeric keys, it's hard to notice. Even the larger keys like the Spacebar and Enter keys have good stabilizers. Speaking of the Spacebar, it has a more hollow sound than the other keys, and it rattles just a bit more, but it still feels good. The ABS keycaps feel soft and smooth, but that means they're also slippery once oil builds up on them. The Gateron Brown switches on our unit feel a bit mushy, so they're not as tactile as other switches; however, if you like tactile switches, you should still enjoy them. The pre-travel distance is on the long side, which isn't ideal for quick typing, but it also helps reduce the number of typos. It has standard key spacing, and your fingers shouldn't feel tired after long typing sessions, but your wrists may feel a bit of pain due to the lack of a wrist rest.

6.7
Typing Experience
Typing Noise
Average Loudness
56.3 dBA
High Pitch Clicks
No

The Gateron Brown switches on our Keychron K10 are quiet and shouldn't bother others around you. However, the typing noise depends on the switches you get, and the Gateron Blue switches should be louder.

Typing Experience
Switches
Switch Name
Gateron Brown
Switch Type
Mechanical
Feel
Tactile
Analog
No
Typing Experience
Keystrokes
Operating Force
51 gf
Actuation Force
41 gf
Pre-Travel
2.8 mm
Total Travel
4.0 mm

Our Keychron K10 has Gateron Brown switches, but you can also get it with clicky Gateron Blue and linear Gateron Red switches instead. Although these have a longer pre-travel distance than other tactile switches we've tested, they're light to press and offer decent tactile feedback. You'll know when you're about to actuate a key, which helps with reducing typos.

Performance
5.7
Performance
Single-Key Latency
Best Connection
20.7 ms
Best Connection Std Dev ±8.3 ms
Wired
20.7 ms
Receiver
N/A
Bluetooth
34.3 ms
PCB (Estimated)
18.2 ms

The Keychron K10 has decent latency. It's a bit too high for competitive gaming, but you shouldn't notice any delay while typing. If you want a mechanical office board to also play games with, the Razer Pro Type Ultra has much lower latency.

6.7
Performance
Multi-Key Latency
Connection Evaluated Wired
Key Press
21.8 ms
Key Release
23.6 ms
7.2
Performance
Data Transmission
Connection Evaluated Wired
USB Polling Rate
1,000 Hz
Effective Update Rate
200 Hz
N-Key Rollover (NKRO)
Yes
Multiple Keys Per USB Report
Yes
4.6
Performance
Chord Split
4 Chord Split Delay
18.4 ms
8 Chord Split Delay
42.3 ms
Software and Operating System
Software and Operating System
Configuration Software
Software Name No Software
Software Windows Compatible
No
Software macOS Compatible
No
Onboard Memory
No
Profiles
No Profile

The Keychron K10 doesn't have dedicated software available for customization. Keychron recommends third-party software in the user manual, but we don't consider that as software.

10
Software and Operating System
Computer Compatibility
Windows
Fully Compatible
macOS
Fully Compatible
Linux (Ubuntu 22)
Fully Compatible
Media Key Compatibility
Windows, MacOS & Linux

The Keychron K10 has fantastic compatibility. Unlike most keyboards, all keys work on Windows and macOS as long as you set the compatibility switch on the left side to the proper OS. It even comes with extra keycaps for both operating systems. As for Linux, the Screen Brightness (F1 and F2) and the Fn + F3 functions don't do anything. The Voice Assistant key registers as C in the Windows mode and as Space in the macOS mode, but everything else works with either of the modes.

10
Software and Operating System
Wireless Mobile Compatibility
Android
Fully Compatible
iOS
Fully Compatible
iPadOS
Fully Compatible
Media Key Compatibility
Android, iPhone & iPad

On iPadOS and iOS, you need to set the compatibility switch to macOS, and every key works except for F3 and F4, and the Voice Assistant key registers as Space. The Voice Assistant button on Android brings up the Contacts app, and the Windows key summons the voice assistant. The Fn + F4 works as an email shortcut.