Get insider access
Preferred store
Your browser is not supported or outdated so some features of the site might not be available.

Corsair DARK CORE RGB PRO Mouse Review

Tested using Methodology v1.5
Reviewed Sep 23, 2020 at 09:12 am
Latest change: Writing modified Jan 05, 2024 at 02:54 pm
Corsair DARK CORE RGB PRO Picture
7.5
Work
8.4
Video Games (FPS)
8.1
Video Games (MMO)
9.6
Raw Performance

The Corsair DARK CORE RGB PRO is an impressive overall wireless gaming mouse. It features an outstanding sensor that can reach a maximum of 18,000 CPI, and you can adjust the CPI in increments of one. It also has exceptionally low click latency and a maximum polling rate of 2000Hz. Unfortunately, It's heavy and doesn't offer weight optimization, so it's not ideal for ultra-light gaming. Fortunately, it's very comfortable and designed for right-handed people using a palm grip, and it can also be used with a fingertip or claw grip by those with larger hands.

Our Verdict

7.5 Work

The Corsair DARK CORE RGB PRO is excellent for office use. It's a very comfortable mouse that's suitable for any sized hand with a palm grip. It can connect to your computer either through its USB receiver or Bluetooth, which is great. There are a lot of buttons you can reprogram, which helps with your workflow, but sadly, the wheel doesn't offer any horizontal scrolling.

Pros
  • Very comfortable to use with a palm grip.
  • Bluetooth-compatible.
  • All buttons are macro-programmable.
  • Slot for USB receiver.
Cons
  • No weight optimization.
  • Scroll wheel doesn't offer extra features.
8.4 Video Games (FPS)

The Corsair DARK CORE RGB PRO is good for FPS games. It's packed with great gaming features such as exceptionally low click latency, a 2000Hz maximum polling rate, and a wide CPI range. Unfortunately, it's a heavy mouse. Fortunately, it's very comfortable and designed to be used with a palm grip by any hand size.

Pros
  • Exceptionally Low click latency.
  • 2000Hz max polling rate.
  • Very comfortable to use with a palm grip.
  • Slot for USB receiver.
Cons
  • Sensor doesn't always perform at set CPI.
  • Heavy mouse.
  • No weight optimization.
8.1 Video Games (MMO)

The mouse is excellent for MMO gaming. Every button on the Corsair DARK CORE RGB PRO is macro-programmable. There are two side buttons and an extra two above, closer to the left button. It has exceptionally low click latency, a high polling rate, and a wide CPI range.

Pros
  • Exceptionally Low click latency.
  • 2000Hz max polling rate.
  • Very comfortable to use with a palm grip.
  • All buttons are macro-programmable.
  • Slot for USB receiver.
Cons
  • Sensor doesn't always perform at set CPI.
  • No weight optimization.
  • Scroll wheel doesn't offer extra features.
9.6 Raw Performance

Pros
  • Slot for USB receiver.
Cons
  • No weight optimization.
  • 7.5 Work
  • 8.4 Video Games (FPS)
  • 8.1 Video Games (MMO)
  • 9.6 Raw Performance
  1. Updated Jan 05, 2024: We've updated the CPI graph displayed in the Sensor Latency section of this review. Our results remain the same, but these graphs have two new columns with results from the Delay At Half Movement and Delay To End Of Movement tests.
  2. Updated Dec 01, 2023: We've converted this review to Test Bench 1.5. This update adds a new Main Button test group, which provides button actuation data and switch information. We've also made minor changes to how we calculate the Office usage score. For more details, you can see our full changelog here.
  3. Updated Mar 01, 2023: We've converted this review to Test Bench 1.4. This update modifies our Hand Size Recommendation test, adding a more granular hand size recommendation chart. We've moved several minor tests into different test groups, removed the Travel usage, and added a new Raw Performance usage. For more details, you can see our full changelog here.
  4. Updated Feb 22, 2023: We've converted this review to Test Bench 1.3. This update adds a new Sensor Latency test and makes minor changes to several of our existing tests, resulting in test result changes in several sections. For more information, you can check out our full changelog here.
  5. Updated Dec 01, 2022: We've converted this review to Test Bench 1.2. This update simplifies our Weight test and expands on our CPI test from Test Bench 1.1, resulting in changes to test results in both sections. For more details, you can see our complete changelog here.
  6. Updated Aug 18, 2022: Following the update to Test Bench 1.1, we've updated some of the language in this review to better reflect the changes to our Click Latency methodology.
  7. Updated Aug 16, 2022: We've converted this review to Test Bench 1.1. This update revamps our Click Latency test and results in changes to test results. For more details, you can see our full changelog here.
  8. Updated Oct 20, 2020: Converted to Test Bench 1.0.
  9. Updated Sep 23, 2020: Review published.
  10. Updated Aug 31, 2020: Early access published.
  11. Updated Jul 30, 2020: Our testers have started testing this product.
  12. Updated Jul 30, 2020: The product has arrived in our lab, and our testers will start evaluating it soon.
  13. Updated Jul 24, 2020: The product has won our suggestion poll, so we'll buy and test it soon.
  14. Updated Jul 19, 2020: We've purchased the product and are waiting for it to arrive in our lab.

Differences Between Sizes And Variants

We tested the Corsair DARK CORE RGB PRO in black, which is the only color available for this model. There's a variant called the Corsair DARK CORE RGB PRO SE, which allows for wireless charging with any of Qi-compatible mousepad. The models are listed below.

Model Sensor Model Max CPI Advertised Weight Wireless Charging
DARK CORE RGB PRO PAW3392 18,000 133g No
DARK CORE RGB PRO SE PAW3392 18,000 142g Yes

If someone has a DARK CORE RGB PRO that doesn't correspond to our review, let us know and we will update the review.

Compared To Other Mice

The Corsair DARK CORE RGB PRO is an impressive overall mouse, and it feels better-built and more comfortable than other wireless gaming mice. It has a higher polling rate than most, but the sensor has a high CPI variation, which is disappointing. It's heavy, but if that doesn't bother you, this is a great mouse for its price.

Also, make sure to check out our recommendations for the best gaming mice, the best wireless mice, and the best Corsair mice.

Razer Basilisk Ultimate

The Corsair DARK CORE RGB PRO is slightly better than the Razer Basilisk Ultimate. The Corsair has Bluetooth support, a higher polling rate, and the dedicated software is available on macOS. On the other hand, the Razer has more programmable inputs, it's lighter, and the sensor has lower CPI variation.

Corsair IRONCLAW RGB Wireless

The Corsair DARK CORE RGB PRO is better than the Corsair IRONCLAW RGB Wireless. The DARK CORE has lower click latency, a higher polling rate, and it has onboard memory. However, the IRONCLAW has more buttons, lower lift-off distance, and less CPI variation.

Logitech G502 LIGHTSPEED

The Logitech G502 LIGHTSPEED and the Corsair DARK CORE RGB PRO are two good FPS gaming mice. Both options have a gamer-centric look and aren't for people with very small hands. The Logitech is a bit smaller, lighter, and has more buttons, including an extra one on the side. On the other hand, the Corsair has both a thumb and a pinky rest, which some people may find more comfortable. It also has a lower click latency, and its polling rate goes up to 2000Hz, which is quite a bit higher than the Logitech.

Logitech G903 LIGHTSPEED

The Corsair DARK CORE RGB PRO and the Logitech G903 LIGHTSPEED are two similar-performing mice. The Corsair is a right-handed mouse with Bluetooth support. It has lower click latency, wider CPI range, and a higher polling rate. However, the Logitech is an ambidextrous mouse that's lighter, has less CPI variation, lower lift-off distance, and more buttons.

Corsair M65 RGB ULTRA WIRELESS

The Corsair DARK CORE RGB PRO and the Corsair M65 RGB ULTRA WIRELESS are both good wireless gaming mice. The M65 RGB ULTRA WIRELESS is lighter, and it comes with weights if you prefer heavier mice. It has a wider CPI range and a very low lift-off distance, as well as more programmable inputs thanks to its tilt gesture support. Also, while its charging cable is rubber, it feels more flexible and doesn't retain kinks like the DARK CORE RGB PRO's braided cable. On the other hand, the DARK CORE RGB PRO has lower click latency, and it's better suited for larger hands using a palm or claw grip.

Corsair HARPOON RGB Wireless

The Corsair DARK CORE RGB PRO is better than the Corsair HARPOON RGB Wireless. The DARK CORE feels better-built and more comfortable. It also has more buttons, a wider CPI range, and the CPI can be adjusted by increments of 1. However, the HARPOON has less CPI variation, and it's much lighter.

Corsair SABRE RGB PRO

The Corsair DARK CORE RGB PRO is a good wireless gaming mouse, while the Corsair SABRE RGB PRO is an excellent wired gaming mouse. The DARK CORE connects wirelessly with its USB receiver or via Bluetooth, has a thumb rest and a detachable pinky rest, and has a higher polling rate. Unfortunately, its sensor is somewhat inconsistent. Comparatively, the SABRE is wired-only, significantly lighter, and has a lower lift-off distance. Both have comparable click latency and are well-suited for nearly all hand sizes using a palm or claw grip, but only larger hands using a fingertip grip.

Razer Mamba Wireless

The Corsair DARK CORE RGB PRO is better than the Razer Mamba Wireless. The Corsair has Bluetooth support, a higher max CPI, a higher polling rate, and the dedicated software works on macOS. However, the Razer is lighter, and it has an extra programmable input.

Corsair M65 RGB Elite

The Corsair DARK CORE RGB PRO is better than the Corsair M65 RGB Elite. The DARK CORE is wireless with lower click latency and a higher max polling rate. On the other hand, the M65 is wired, feels more comfortable, and has less CPI variation.

Logitech G403 Prodigy Wireless

The Corsair DARK CORE RGB PRO is better than the Logitech G403 Prodigy Wireless. The Corsair has Bluetooth support, lower click latency, a higher polling rate, and more programmable buttons. However, the Logitech is lighter, the sensor has a lower CPI variation, and it has a lower lift-off distance.

+ Show more

Test Results

perceptual testing image
Design
Design
Style
Type
Standard
Coating
Matte
Lighting Color RGB

The Corsair DARK CORE RGB PRO has a gamer-friendly aesthetic. Its ergonomic-shaped body is made out of matte plastic with textured rubber on the back and scroll wheel. The side grips have the same textured pattern as the back, except they're hard plastic instead of rubber. There are also glossy accents on the back and near the scroll wheel. There's RGB lighting throughout, including on the logo, sides, and scroll wheel.

Design
Shape
Length 5.0" (127 mm)
Width 3.2" (81 mm)
Height 1.7" (43 mm)
Grip Width
54 mm
Ambidextrous
No
Left-Handed Friendly
No
Finger Rest
Thumb and Pinky
7.3
Design
Portability
Box Volume
26.91 in³ (441 cm³)
Receiver Storing
Yes

Even though it's bulky, it's fairly easy to carry around and has a slot to place the USB receiver in.

8.5
Design
Build Quality

It has an excellent build quality. The plastic body feels solid and there's no flex or squeaking when you squeeze it hard. There's a sound when you shake it, but that sound disappears if you place your finger on the left/right buttons, so it's likely these buttons are a bit loose. The textured rubber on the back and scroll wheel feel nice, and the mouse glides around very well. The RGB lighting looks good, too.

5.3
Design
Weight
Lowest Weight
132.1 g
Default Weight
132.1 g
Weight Distribution
Centered
Extra Weights
No

The Corsair DARK CORE RGB PRO is heavy. It comes with an extra side panel for your pinky that weighs three grams, so you can make it a bit heavier by adding it. There's a variant, the Corsair DARK CORE RGB PRO SE, that's advertised to be about 10 g heavier.

Design
Hand Size Recommendation
Palm Grip Hand Recommendation
Claw Grip Hand Recommendation
Fingertip Grip Hand Recommendation

This mouse is very comfortable. It has an ergonomic shape designed for right-handed people and it comes with a nice thumb rest. There's an additional side panel in the box you can use for a pinky rest. If you're interested in a mouse with fewer buttons but similar performance and a palm rest you can adjust to change the length of the mouse, check out the Mad Catz R.A.T. 2+.

9.6
Design
Wireless Versatility
Maximum Of Paired Devices
2
Bluetooth
Yes
Receiver
Yes
Battery Type
Rechargeable
Use When Charging
Yes
On/Off Activation
Auto Off And On/Off Switch
Receiver Extender
No
Battery Indicator Yes

The Corsair DARK CORE RGB PRO Wireless can be paired with its USB receiver or through Bluetooth, and you can also use it wired while charging. There's an LED light between the scroll wheel and CPI switch button that indicates the battery life and pairing status. The battery is rated to last at least 16 hours if you use the RGB lighting, but this isn't something we test for.

6.5
Design
Cable
Connectivity Wireless
Cable Length
5.9 ft (1.8 m)
Cable Type
Braided
Permanent Kink
Yes
Port Type: Mouse End
USB-C
Port Type: PC End
USB

The included braided cable is mediocre. It's so stiff out-of-the-box that it's difficult to use the mouse when wired. The cable kinks rather easily.

7.5
Design
Mouse Feet
Gliding Experience
Good
Material
PTFE
Extra Included
No
Design
In The Box

  • Corsair DARK CORE RGB PRO
  • USB-C cable
  • USB receiver
  • Additional side panel
  • Manual

Control
Control
Main Button
Switch Type
Mechanical
Switch Model
Omron D2FC-F-K
7.2
Control
Additional Buttons
Total Number Of Buttons
8
Number Of Side Buttons
2
Number Of Programmable Inputs
8
Profile Switching Button
Yes
Gesture Support
No

There are eight buttons, and you can reprogram all of them, including the scroll wheel click. If you're interested in a similar gaming mouse with configurable side buttons that allow you to install one or two side buttons on either side, check out the Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum.

9.7
Control
Click Latency
Expected Connection
1.8 ms
Wired
1.6 ms
Receiver
1.8 ms
Bluetooth
8.4 ms

This mouse has remarkably low click latency, both over a wired and wireless USB connection. Note that these results are produced with a 2000Hz polling rate. The click latency is somewhat higher and less consistent when connected via Bluetooth. However, this is expected, and a Bluetooth connection isn't recommended for reaction-based gaming.

9.7
Control
CPI
SRAV @ 1600 CPI
0.00%
SRAV @ 800 CPI
0.00%
SRAV @ 400 CPI
0.25%
SRAV @ Fixed CPI
N/A
Precision Error Between Speeds
0.23%
Precision Error Between CPI
0.23%
Worst Tracking Error
3.88%
Minimum CPI
100 CPI
Maximum CPI
18,000 CPI
CPI Adjustment Steps
1 CPI
8.9
Control
Sensor Latency
Delay To Start Of Movement
13.4 ms
Delay At Half Movement
3.6 ms
Delay To End Of Movement
4.6 ms
Control
Sensor Specifications
Sensor Technology
Optical (LED)
Sensor Model
PixArt PAW3392
Works On Glass
No
Minimum Lift Off Distance
2.4 mm
Maximum Polling Rate
2000 Hz

The off-center sensor may affect gaming performance, but shouldn't be a problem for general office use.

Control
Mouse Wheel
Scroll Wheel Type
Notched Wheel
Scroll Wheel Steps
24 Steps
Scroll Wheel Tilt
No
Thumb Wheel Type
No
Thumb Wheel Steps
No Thumb Wheel

The incremented scroll wheel can't be unlocked for infinite scrolling, which is disappointing if you need to scroll through long documents.

Control
Noise
Click Noise
Quiet
Operating System And Software
Operating System And Software
Configuration Software
Software Name Corsair iCUE
Software Windows Compatibility
Yes
Software macOS Compatibility
Yes
On-Board Memory
Yes
CPI (DPI) Adjustment
Yes
Polling Rate Adjustment
Yes
Profile Configuration
Yes
Profile Auto-Switching
Yes
RGB On/Off
Yes

The Corsair iCUE software is outstanding. It offers a ton of customization options, and it's available on both Windows and macOS. The mouse has onboard memory, making it easy to carry over your settings to another computer.

10
Operating System And Software
Mouse Compatibility
Windows Compatibility Fully
macOS Compatibility Fully

This mouse is fully compatible with both Windows and macOS.