Your browser is not supported or outdated so some features of the site might not be available.
We've recently released our Test Bench 1.3 update for keyboards! Read the changelog to learn more.

Logitech K780 Keyboard Review

Tested using Methodology v1.2
Reviewed Feb 05, 2020 at 08:31 am
Latest change: Test bench update Jun 15, 2023 at 04:36 pm
Logitech K780 Picture
6.3
Gaming
7.1
Mobile/Tablet
7.8
Office
7.3
Programming
4.9
Entertainment / HTPC

The Logitech K780 is a compact 96% keyboard that can be used with a wide variety of devices. Although it's designed to work with smartphones and tablets, the keyboard is quite large and heavy, which makes it less travel-friendly. It uses typical scissor switches that require a fair amount of force to actuate; however, the overall typing experience still feels light and responsive. You can use it with its USB dongle or over Bluetooth, and its multi-device pairing feature lets you pair to three devices simultaneously so that you can switch easily between them. Unfortunately, it lacks backlighting and macro-programmable keys, and while its latency shouldn't affect general desktop use, it isn't ideal for gaming.

Our Verdict

6.3 Gaming

The Logitech K780 isn't intended for gaming. Although its scissor switches have a short pre-travel distance, they require a fair amount of force to actuate. Additionally, the latency is quite high. It also lacks backlighting and macro-programmable keys.

Pros
  • Great typing experience.
  • Short pre-travel distance.
Cons
  • Limited customization options.
  • No backlighting.
  • High latency.
  • No macro-programmable keys.
7.1 Mobile/Tablet

The Logitech K780 is an okay keyboard for mobile devices and tablets. Even though it's a bit large and slightly heavy, you should still be able to bring it around thanks to its slim profile. You can connect it to your device over Bluetooth and pair multiple devices simultaneously so that you can switch between them with just a press of a button. It provides a great typing experience and is compatible with most mobile operating systems.

Pros
  • Versatile design, works with every platform.
  • Can be paired to three devices simultaneously.
  • Great typing experience.
Cons
  • Limited customization options.
  • Not very travel-friendly.
7.8 Office

The Logitech K780 is very good for office use. It provides a great typing experience and doesn't cause much typing noise, making it a good fit for quiet offices. You can connect it using its USB dongle or over Bluetooth, and its multi-device pairing feature lets you pair to multiple devices simultaneously so that you can switch easily between them.

Pros
  • Versatile design, works with every platform.
  • Great typing experience.
  • Quiet typing noise.
Cons
  • Limited customization options.
7.3 Programming

The Logitech K780 is an okay keyboard for programmers but isn't designed for this use. It can be useful to use on a tablet or phone to navigate a mobile version of your code, but we don't recommend it if you're programming on a desktop. It lacks backlighting, and you can't set any macros.

Pros
  • Versatile design, works with every platform.
  • Can be paired to three devices simultaneously.
  • Great typing experience.
Cons
  • Limited customization options.
  • No backlighting.
  • No macro-programmable keys.
4.9 Entertainment / HTPC

The Logitech K780 is inadequate for use with a home theater PC. Its Bluetooth connectivity means you can pair it to a wide range of devices and keep your living room free of cables. However, it lacks a trackpad, so you'll need a separate mouse to navigate. Also, it's hard to see the keys in the dark because there's no backlighting.

Pros
  • Versatile design, works with every platform.
  • Great typing experience.
Cons
  • Limited customization options.
  • No backlighting.
  • No trackpad.
  • 6.3 Gaming
  • 7.1 Mobile/Tablet
  • 7.8 Office
  • 7.3 Programming
  • 4.9 Entertainment / HTPC
  1. Updated Jun 15, 2023: We've converted this review to Test Bench 1.2. This update introduces new Backlight Features and Backlight Clarity test boxes. We've also added a new Switches test box, added additional test comparisons to our Hardware Customizability test box that we introduced with our last Test Bench. For an in-depth look at our changes, you can see our full changelog here.
  2. Updated May 19, 2023: We've converted this review to Test Bench 1.1. This update adds several new tests addressing Hardware Customization, Macro Keys And Programming, and Wireless Mobile Compatibility. We've also added new objective evaluations to the Typing Noise test, and we've simplified several tests and removed several others that were no longer relevant. For an in-depth look at all our changes, you can see our full changelog here.
  3. Updated Feb 27, 2023: We've retested the latency for this keyboard but no changes have been made to our results. For more details concerning this retest, see our Latency test below.
  4. Updated Dec 21, 2021: We've reclassified the size of this keyboard from being a full-sized model to a compact 96%.
  5. Updated Feb 04, 2021: Converted to Test Bench 1.0.
  6. Updated Feb 05, 2020: Review published.
  7. Updated Jan 30, 2020: Our testers have started testing this product.
  8. Updated Jan 30, 2020: Early access published.
  9. Updated Jan 28, 2020: The product has arrived in our lab, and our testers will start evaluating it soon.
  10. Updated Jan 20, 2020: We've purchased the product and are waiting for it to arrive in our lab.

Differences Between Sizes And Variants

The Logitech K780 comes in a speckled and non-speckled design, but we expect our review to be valid for both as the differences only seem to be aesthetic. We reviewed the non-speckled model.

Compared To Other Keyboards

The Logitech K780 is a very versatile keyboard. It's a decent keyboard overall but shines when you pair it to a desktop setup by using a tablet. You can easily switch between three devices connected and the scissor switches offer a nice overall typing experience, but won't satisfy gamers. For other options, check out our recommendations for the best keyboards for iPad, the best wireless keyboards, and the best keyboards for writers.

Logitech K480

The Logitech K480 and the Logitech K780 are both decent keyboards to use with mobile devices, but the K480 is easier to bring around. Its compact 65% design is easier to slip in a backpack than the compact 96% K780. However, the K780 is better-built and features scissor switches that offer a much better overall typing quality than the K480's rubber dome switches.

Logitech MX Keys

The Logitech MX Keys is a better keyboard than the Logitech K780 overall. It features backlighting, which is nice and is rechargeable instead of using batteries like the K780. Both use very similar switches, but the MX Keys' keycaps feel a bit better, and the keys are easier to actuate.

Logitech K380

The Logitech K380 is a better mobile keyboard than the Logitech K780 because its more compact and lightweight design makes it easier to carry around. However, the K780 provides a better typing experience, and it might be a better choice for those who use the Numpad regularly.

Logitech Signature K650

The Logitech K780 is a much better wireless keyboard than the Logitech Signature K650. The K780 supports Bluetooth connections with up to three devices, plus it uses a USB receiver and has a device tray to hold your devices up at a nice angle. It also uses scissor switches that feel more satisfying to type on than the mushy rubber domes on the K650. The K650 has better ergonomic support, and its keycaps are more typical square tiles rather than circles.

Logitech K585

The Logitech K780 and the Logitech K585 are wireless, low-profile keyboards with small trays for propping up your phone or tablet. The K780 lies flat on your desk and has a compact (96%) form factor, which means it's missing a few navigational keys. It also supports multi-device pairing with up to three devices simultaneously. On the other hand, the K585 is a bit smaller than the K780, despite it having a full-size layout with all the standard keys. It also has a fixed incline setting. However, its overall layout is a bit more cramped, and it only supports multi-device pairing with up to two devices at once.

Apple Magic Keyboard 2017

The Logitech K780 is a more versatile low-profile, wireless keyboard than the Apple Magic Keyboard 2017. Almost all keys on the Logitech work on the most common operating systems, while the Apple is fully compatible only with Apple devices, and it doesn't work with Android at all. The Logitech can also be connected to three devices simultaneously via Bluetooth or its USB receiver, while you can only connect the Apple keyboard to one device via Bluetooth. On the other hand, the Apple is lighter and has a smaller, 75% compact design, while the Logitech is a full-sized model. That said, the Apple is also available as a full-sized keyboard.

Logitech K360

The Logitech K780 is a better wireless keyboard than the Logitech K360. The K780 feels much better-built, supports Bluetooth and multi-device pairing, and offers a quieter and more enjoyable typing experience. On the other hand, the K360 has dedicated media keys and may represent better value for some people.

Logitech K800

The Logitech K780 is a better overall wireless keyboard than the Logitech K800. It's fully compatible with macOS and offers a better typing quality than the K800. Some people might not like the circular keys of the K780, though, and might prefer the more typical design of the K800's keys. The K780 is also Bluetooth-enabled and can connect to three devices simultaneously and features a small cradle for your mobile devices as well.

Microsoft Bluetooth Keyboard

The Logitech K780 is more versatile than the Microsoft Bluetooth Keyboard. It can be used with its USB receiver and via Bluetooth and its design offers a little cradle for your mobile devices, which is very useful. However, if you don't like circular keys, you might want to go with the Microsoft keyboard with its more typical square chiclet keys.

Logitech Craft

The Logitech Craft is a better wireless keyboard than the Logitech K780. The Craft has a white backlight, has a rechargeable battery, and has a detachable charging cable. On the other hand, the K780 is fully compatible with both Windows and macOS and is a bit quieter than the Craft.

Lenovo ThinkPad TrackPoint Keyboard II

The Logitech K780 is a compact 96% keyboard, while the Lenovo ThinkPad TrackPoint Keyboard II is a compact 75% board. Both are well-suited for use with mobile devices and tablets, but the Logitech has a cradle to hold your device in place. It can pair with up to three devices at once via Bluetooth and another via its USB receiver. Comparatively, the Lenovo has a TrackPoint to control the cursor and mouse click buttons at the bottom of the board. You can reprogram the F12 key to open a webpage, program, or file or insert a line of text. Both have tactile scissor switches, but the Logitech requires more force to get over the actuation bump. Unfortunately, neither board has backlighting.

Logitech POP Keys

The Logitech K780 is a compact 96% wireless board, while the Logitech POP Keys is a compact 75% wireless board. The K780 has a cradle to hold your phone or tablet upright against the board while you type, and it uses scissor switches. If you prefer mechanical switches, the POP Keys is available with TTC Brown, Red, and Blue switches. Also, it has five dedicated emoji keys so you can instantly send emojis when sending a message to a friend. While both boards have round keys, the POP Keys is harder to type on because of the much longer pre-travel distance.

Logitech K400 Plus

The Logitech K780 is overall a better keyboard than the Logitech K400 Plus. Unlike the K400, the K780 can pair with up to three devices at once via Bluetooth. The K780 also features a built-in stand for phones or tablets, making it the better choice for typing on a mobile device. On the other hand, the K400 Plus is better for a home theater setup thanks to its integrated trackpad and is designed to be used on your lap.

iClever Tri-Folding Keyboard BK08

The iClever Tri-Folding Keyboard BK08 and the Logitech K780 are very different keyboards for mobile use. The iClever is a better keyboard if you're on the move often, while the Logitech is better if you want a separate work station at your desk with a mobile device or tablet. The iClever is more portable and practical if you move a lot and need to work in tight spaces like on the train, but the K780 is a more typical office keyboard with better build quality and an overall better typing experience.

+ Show more

Test Results

perceptual testing image
Design
Design
Dimensions
Size
Compact (96%)
Height
0.9" (2.2 cm)
Width 15.0" (38.0 cm)
Depth
6.2" (15.8 cm)
Depth With Wrist Rest
N/A
Weight
1.96 lbs (0.890 kg)

Update 12/21/2021: Originally we indicated this was a full-sized keyboard. However, it's missing several keys to be considered a true, full-sized keyboard. A standard full-sized keyboard has 104 keys, while this keyboard has 97 keys. We've reclassified this keyboard as a compact 96%, although it's still an unusual edge-case as a standard compact 96% keyboard typically has 99 keys.

The Logitech K780 is smaller than a typical full-sized keyboard, and it only has 97 keys, so we've classified it as a compact 96% keyboard. It has a NumPad and arrow keys, but it's still more compact than full-sized keyboards, thanks in part to its layout. If you want a smaller keyboard that is easier to bring around, check out the Logitech K480.

7.0
Design
Build Quality
Keycap Material ABS

The Logitech K780 has decent build quality. The frame is made from very solid plastic with very little flex. The tablet/phone stand feels durable and has a grippy texture so your devices stay in place well. However, the keycaps feel a bit light and cheap.

7.0
Design
Ergonomics
Curved/Angled
No
Split Keyboard
No
Key Alignment
Staggered
Minimum Incline
2.8°
Medium Incline
N/A
Maximum Incline
N/A
Home Row Height
12.4 mm (0.5")

This straight keyboard doesn't offer any incline settings. It doesn't come with a wrist rest either, but it's comfortable to use without one thanks to the keyboard's low profile.

0
Design
Hardware Customizability
Replaceable Cherry Stabilizers
No
Stabilizer Fixation
Non-Customizable Design
Spacebar Stabilizer Size
Non-Customizable Design
Size Of Right Mod Keys
Non-Standard
Hot-Swappable Switches
No
Switch Stem Shape
Non-Customizable Design
Switch PCB Socket
Non-Customizable Design
North-Facing Cherry MX Interference
Non-Customizable Design
0
Design
Backlight Features
Backlighting No
RGB
No
Per-Key Backlighting
No
Effects
No
Software Controllable
No

This keyboard doesn't have any backlighting, so it won't be the best option to use in dark environments.

0
Design
Backlight Clarity
Design
Cable & Connector
Connectivity Wireless
Detachable
No
Length N/A
Connector (Keyboard side)
No Cable

This keyboard is wireless-only and doesn't have a charging cable.

9.8
Design
Wireless Versatility
Bluetooth
Yes
Bluetooth Multi-Device Pairing
3
Proprietary Receiver
Yes
Battery Type
2x AAA

The Logitech K780 can be used wirelessly with its USB receiver or via Bluetooth. You can either pair it via USB and two more Bluetooth connections or with three Bluetooth devices at once, and you can easily switch between them with the F1-F3 keys. The keyboard comes with 2x AAA batteries, and the manufacturer rates the battery life at 24 months, but we don't test this.

0
Design
Macro Keys And Programming
Dedicated Macro Keys Count 0
Onboard Macro Programming
No
Macro Programming With Software
No
Design
Extra Features
Media Keys
Non-Dedicated
Trackpad / Trackball No
Scroll Wheel
No
Control Knob
No
USB Passthrough
No
Numpad Yes
Windows Key Lock
No
Lock Indicator No Indicator

This keyboard has a few hotkeys (F4-F6 and the search key) that you can reassign to other commands from a list of presets, but you can't really program any yourself. It can also automatically detect which kind of device you're connected to and adjusts the keys accordingly. This keyboard's main feature is that it has a nice stand for your mobile devices like a phone or a tablet. Out-of-the-box, The F keys default to media keys, but you can switch this in the software. You can also disable the Windows key in the software. If you'd like a keyboard with dedicated media keys, check out the Logitech K360.

Design
In The Box

  • Logitech K780 keyboard
  • USB receiver
  • 2x AAA batteries
  • Manual

Typing Experience
Typing Experience
Switches
Switch Name
No Marketed Name
Switch Type
Scissor
Feel
Tactile
Typing Experience
Keystrokes
Operating Force
67 gf
Actuation Force
37 gf
Pre-Travel
1.3 mm
Total Travel
1.9 mm

This keyboard features typical tactile scissor switches. They have a very short pre-travel distance, which makes the keyboard feel very responsive. The bump before the actuation requires a fair amount of force to get over, but the overall feeling is still light and shouldn't cause fatigue.

8.0
Typing Experience
Typing Quality

The Logitech K780 provides a great typing experience. It might be weird at first for some due to the circular keys, but you get used to it quite quickly. The keys are very stable and their low profile is nice. The spacing of the keys is good and helps reduce typos. Since the bump of the keystroke needs quite a bit of force to get over, it's hard to accidentally press a key.

9.9
Typing Experience
Typing Noise
Average Loudness
36.2 dBA
High Pitch Clicks
No

Typing on this keyboard is very quiet and shouldn't bother others around you. The spacebar is slightly louder than the other keys, but it's still very quiet overall.

6.3
Typing Experience
Latency
Latency Wired
N/A
Latency Receiver
27.5 ms
Latency Bluetooth
17.4 ms

The latency is quite high. It's fine for general desktop use but not for gaming. If you want a keyboard with lower latency for gaming, check out the Razer Huntsman V2 Analog.

Note: This keyboard's USB Receiver latency results are higher than its Bluetooth latency results, which is unusual. We verified all our test settings and confirmed that both the firmware for the keyboard and wireless receiver was up to date. We retested our latency test for both connections, and our results were similar, so no changes have been made to our recorded results. We're confident in the accuracy of these results but are unsure why the Receiver latency is slower than the Bluetooth latency. If you have this keyboard and would like to share your experiences with this keyboard, feel free to leave a comment in the discussions.

Software and Operating System
Software and Operating System
Configuration Software
Software Name Logi Options+
Software Windows Compatible
Yes
Software macOS Compatible
Yes
Onboard Memory
No
Profiles
6+

The Logitech K780 uses Logitech Options+ software that allows you to create different profiles and remap some functions depending on the different applications you use.

10
Software and Operating System
Computer Compatibility
Windows
Fully Compatible
macOS
Fully Compatible
Linux (Ubuntu 22)
Fully Compatible
Media Key Compatibility
Windows, MacOS & Linux
10
Software and Operating System
Wireless Mobile Compatibility
Android
Fully Compatible
iOS
Fully Compatible
iPadOS
Fully Compatible
Media Key Compatibility
Android, iPhone & iPad

On Android devices, all F-row keys default to their secondary functions, and the F5 key doesn't work. On iOS and ipadOS all F-row keys default to their secondary function