Your browser is not supported or outdated so some features of the site might not be available.
We've recently released our Test Bench 1.3 update for keyboards! Read the changelog to learn more.

Logitech K845 Keyboard Review

Tested using Methodology v1.2
Review updated Jul 30, 2021 at 01:50 pm
Latest change: Test bench update Jun 21, 2023 at 12:45 pm
Logitech K845 Picture
7.9
Gaming
1.5
Mobile/Tablet
6.9
Office
7.3
Programming
2.5
Entertainment / HTPC

The Logitech K845 is a decent mechanical keyboard for office use. It's a full-size keyboard that feels well-built, and while our unit uses Cherry MX Blues, you can get it with other types of switches to suit your preference. The Cherry MX Blue switches provide a great typing experience with good tactile feedback, but they can be rather loud, which isn't ideal for quiet office settings. Unfortunately, it has very few extra features and lacks software for customization. Also, its latency is a bit high for a wired keyboard, which might disappoint some gamers.

Our Verdict

7.9 Gaming

The Logitech K845 is decent for gaming. The Cherry MX Blue switches on our unit have a fairly light operating force and a short pre-travel distance, which results in a quick and responsive gaming experience. However, its latency is a bit high for a wired keyboard, which might disappoint more serious gamers. Unfortunately, there's no software for customization, so you can't set macros to any of the keys.

Pros
  • Light and responsive typing experience.
  • Great build quality.
  • Customizable backlighting.
Cons
  • No macro-programmable keys.
  • No customization software.
  • No included wrist rest.
1.5 Mobile/Tablet

The Logitech K845 isn't designed for mobile or tablet use.

6.9 Office

The Logitech K845 is decent for office use. The Cherry MX Blue switches on our unit provide a great typing experience, but if you find them too loud for an office setting, you can get the keyboard with another type of switch to suit your preference. It doesn't feel tiring to type on, but some people might need a wrist rest, and one isn't included. It's fully compatible with Windows, and only a few keys don't work on macOS.

Pros
  • Light and responsive typing experience.
  • Great build quality.
  • Customizable backlighting.
Cons
  • Cherry MX Blue switches are loud.
  • No customization software.
  • No included wrist rest.
7.3 Programming

The Logitech K845 is decent for programming. The Cherry MX Blue switches on our unit feel fairly light and responsive, thanks to the short pre-travel distance and clicky tactile feedback. It has nice white backlighting that can be customized using the hotkeys. Unfortunately, there's no software for customization, so you can't set any macros or remap keys.

Pros
  • Light and responsive typing experience.
  • Great build quality.
  • Customizable backlighting.
Cons
  • No macro-programmable keys.
  • No customization software.
  • No included wrist rest.
2.5 Entertainment / HTPC

The Logitech K845 is bad for a home theater PC. It's a wired-only keyboard, which isn't ideal if you have kids or pets that might trip over the cable. Also, you need a separate mouse to move the cursor because there's no built-in touchpad. It has media controls, but the legends are printed on and don't light up in the dark, making them hard to see.

Pros
  • Light and responsive typing experience.
  • Great build quality.
  • Customizable backlighting.
Cons
  • No customization software.
  • No included wrist rest.
  • 7.9 Gaming
  • 1.5 Mobile/Tablet
  • 6.9 Office
  • 7.3 Programming
  • 2.5 Entertainment / HTPC
  1. Updated Jun 21, 2023: We've converted this review to Test Bench 1.2. This update introduces new Backlight Features and Backlight Clarity test boxes. We've also added a new Switches test box, added additional test comparisons to our Hardware Customizability test box that we introduced with our last Test Bench. For an in-depth look at our changes, you can see our full changelog here.
  2. Updated May 31, 2023: We've converted this review to Test Bench 1.1. This update adds several new tests addressing Hardware Customization, Macro Keys And Programming, and Wireless Mobile Compatibility. We've also added new objective evaluations to the Typing Noise test, and we've simplified several tests and removed several others that were no longer relevant. For an in-depth look at all our changes, you can see our full changelog here.
  3. Updated Jul 30, 2021: Updated review for accuracy and clarity.
  4. Updated Mar 15, 2021: Converted to Test Bench 1.0.
  5. Updated Nov 24, 2020: Review published.
  6. Updated Nov 16, 2020: Early access published.
  7. Updated Nov 11, 2020: Our testers have started testing this product.
  8. Updated Nov 04, 2020: The product has arrived in our lab, and our testers will start evaluating it soon.
  9. Updated Oct 21, 2020: We've purchased the product and are waiting for it to arrive in our lab.

Check Price

Black/Gray Logitech K845
Searching
Finding Store
Black/Gray Logitech K845
Searching
Finding Store
Black/Gray Logitech K845
Searching
Finding Store

Differences Between Sizes And Variants

We tested the Logitech K845 Mechanical Illuminated Keyboard in black, which is the only size and color available for this model. It's available in a variety of switch types: Logitech GX Red, Blue, Brown, Cherry MX Red, and Cherry MX Blue. Our unit uses Cherry MX Blue switches.

You can see our unit's label here.

Compared To Other Keyboards

The Logitech K845 is a decent full-size mechanical keyboard for the office, but it has very few features, which is expected for a budget mechanical keyboard. It doesn't come with a wrist rest, and it doesn't seem to work with any of the Logitech software, so you can't set macros or remap any of the keys. On the plus side, it does have backlighting and feels quite well-built.

For other options, see our recommendations for the best mechanical keyboards, the best cheap mechanical keyboards, and the best Logitech keyboards.

Logitech G413

The Logitech G413 and the Logitech K845 serve different purposes, as the G413 is designed for gaming and the K845 is designed for office. The G413 is only available with Romer-G Tactile switches, while the K845 has various Logitech GX and Cherry MX switch options. Since the G413 is designed for gaming, it has much lower latency and is compatible with Logitech's G HUB software. It also has macro-programmable keys, which the K845 lacks, but it's limited to the function keys only.

Logitech MX Keys

The Logitech MX Keys is better for office use than the Logitech K845. The MX Keys' scissor switches on our unit are much quieter than the Cherry MX Blues on our K845 unit, so it shouldn't be loud in an open office. Also, it's wireless and has a multi-device pairing feature, has a lower profile, and it's fully compatible with both macOS and Windows. However, the K845 has a higher pre-travel distance, which should help prevent typos.

Logitech G513

The Logitech G513 is a much better keyboard than the Logitech K845. Since it's designed for gaming, the G513 has some programmable keys, customization software, RGB backlighting, and a USB passthrough. It also has lighter and more responsive keys, and it comes with a wrist rest. However, the K845 has a longer pre-travel distance, which should help prevent typos, and it's fully compatible with Linux.

Logitech K840

The Logitech K840 and the Logitech K845 are both decent office keyboards. The K845 feels better built, its Cherry MX Blue switches require a bit more force to actuate, and it has backlighting. However, our K840 unit is fully compatible with macOS, and while it has customization software, there aren't many options.

Das Keyboard Model S Professional

The Logitech K845 is better than the Das Keyboard Model S Professional. The Logitech feels better built, has backlighting, and it shouldn't tire your fingers as much, thanks to its low front. However, the Das has a USB passthrough, which the Logitech doesn't.

Keychron K6

Although the Logitech K845 and Keychron K6 are both mechanical keyboards, they're quite different. The Logitech is a full-size wired-only keyboard, while the Keychron is a 65% keyboard that can be used wired or wirelessly via Bluetooth. The Keychron has full RGB backlighting, while the Logitech is white-only. The Keychron has a multi-device pairing that lets you pair up to three devices simultaneously so that you can switch easily between them. If you plan on gaming, the Keychron has lower latency in wired mode.

Razer BlackWidow

The Razer BlackWidow is better than the Logitech K845, although it's mostly geared towards gaming. The Razer has full RGB lighting, lower latency, and outstanding customization software. On the other hand, the Logitech feels better built, and you may feel less tired typing on it because it has a lower profile.

+ Show more

Test Results

perceptual testing image
Design
Design
Dimensions
Size
Full-size (100%)
Height
1.4" (3.6 cm)
Width 17.1" (43.5 cm)
Depth
5.0" (12.7 cm)
Depth With Wrist Rest
N/A
Weight
1.75 lbs (0.794 kg)

The Logitech K845 is a full-size keyboard that takes up a fair amount of space. It's almost identical in size to the Logitech K480 Bluetooth Multidevice Keyboard.

8.0
Design
Build Quality
Keycap Material ABS

The build quality feels great. It's mostly plastic with an aluminum top plate that feels nice and solid. The body has a slight flex to it, but it isn't noticeable when typing. The ABS keycaps have a rough texture for better grip, and some of the keys wobble when pressed, especially the Enter, Shift, Backspace, and Spacebar keys. There are five rubber feet at the bottom that do a good job of keeping the keyboard in place, and the incline feet shouldn't collapse when sliding the board around.

6.0
Design
Ergonomics
Curved/Angled
No
Split Keyboard
No
Key Alignment
Staggered
Minimum Incline
Medium Incline
N/A
Maximum Incline
Home Row Height
28.5 mm (1.1")

This keyboard has acceptable ergonomics. The key spacing is standard, and it doesn't feel tiring to type on, but sadly, it doesn't come with a wrist rest. If you'd like a model with a wrist rest, consider the ROCCAT Pyro.

6.0
Design
Hardware Customizability
Replaceable Cherry Stabilizers
Yes
Stabilizer Fixation
Plate-Mounted
Spacebar Stabilizer Size
6.25u
Size Of Right Mod Keys
1.25u
Hot-Swappable Switches
No
Switch Stem Shape
Cherry MX Style
Switch PCB Socket
Soldered
North-Facing Cherry MX Interference
Yes
6.5
Design
Backlight Features
Backlighting Yes
RGB
No
Per-Key Backlighting
Yes
Effects
Yes
Software Controllable
No

The Logitech K845 has excellent individually lit backlighting. You can control the brightness and cycle between five lighting effects using the function keys. The secondary functions on the F keys, like media and brightness controls, are printed onto the keys and don't light up, so they may be difficult to see in the dark.

9.0
Design
Backlight Clarity

The backlighting has outstanding clarity, and all legends are very clear and easy to read in dark environments. When set to display white-only lighting, there's a blue/green hue, although it's more noticeable in a dark room than in a bright one.

Design
Cable & Connector
Connectivity Wired
Detachable
No
Length 5.9 ft (1.8 m)
Connector (Keyboard side)
Not Detachable

The cable is rubber-coated and retains kinks from the packaging.

0
Design
Wireless Versatility
Bluetooth
No
Bluetooth Multi-Device Pairing
No
Proprietary Receiver
No
Battery Type
No Batteries

The Logitech K845 is wired-only keyboard and can't be used wirelessly.

0
Design
Macro Keys And Programming
Dedicated Macro Keys Count 0
Onboard Macro Programming
No
Macro Programming With Software
No
Design
Extra Features
Media Keys
Non-Dedicated
Trackpad / Trackball No
Scroll Wheel
No
Control Knob
No
USB Passthrough
No
Numpad Yes
Windows Key Lock
Yes
Lock Indicator Caps, Scroll & Num lock

The Logitech K845 has few extra features. You can control your media from the hotkeys, FN+F5 to F11. Unfortunately, you can't set any macros.

Design
In The Box

  • Logitech K845 Mechanical Illuminated keyboard
  • User manual

Typing Experience
Typing Experience
Switches
Switch Name
Cherry MX Blue
Switch Type
Mechanical
Feel
Clicky
Typing Experience
Keystrokes
Operating Force
54 gf
Actuation Force
45 gf
Pre-Travel
2.2 mm
Total Travel
4.0 mm

Our Logitech K845 uses Cherry MX Blue switches. You can get it with other switches if you prefer, but they would offer a different typing experience. The Cherry MX Blues provide good tactile feedback and are clicky. They have a short pre-travel distance and require some force to actuate, but the overall feeling remains light.

8.0
Typing Experience
Typing Quality

The typing quality is great. The Cherry MX Blue switches give nice responsive feedback and don't feel tiring to type on. The ABS keycaps have a rough texture that makes them grippy, and the standard spacing of the keys should make it easier to adapt to. If you don't like Cherry MX Blue switches, it's also available in different switch types.

4.1
Typing Experience
Typing Noise
Average Loudness
56.8 dBA
High Pitch Clicks
Yes

The Cherry MX Blue switches on our Logitech K845 are loud and might bother those around you in an office setting. It's also available in tactile and linear switch types that will be quieter.

6.8
Typing Experience
Latency
Latency Wired
18.9 ms
Latency Receiver
N/A
Latency Bluetooth
N/A

The latency is relatively high for a wired keyboard. It's fine for general productivity or even casual gaming, but it isn't ideal for competitive gaming.

Software and Operating System
Software and Operating System
Configuration Software
Software Name No Software
Software Windows Compatible
No
Software macOS Compatible
No
Onboard Memory
No
Profiles
No Profile

This keyboard doesn't work with any Logitech customization software.

10
Software and Operating System
Computer Compatibility
Windows
Fully Compatible
macOS
Fully Compatible
Linux (Ubuntu 22)
Fully Compatible
Media Key Compatibility
Windows, MacOS & Linux

On Windows and Linux, all default key functions work. On macOS, the Print Screen button acts like an F13 button, the Calculator hotkey does nothing, and the Scroll Lock and Pause/Break keys adjust screen brightness.

0
Software and Operating System
Wireless Mobile Compatibility
Android
Not Compatible
iOS
Not Compatible
iPadOS
Not Compatible
Media Key Compatibility
Not Compatible