Get insider access
Preferred store
Your browser is not supported or outdated so some features of the site might not be available.
Passionate about mice? We're growing and looking to hire a full-time Staff Writers to work on mice and other computer products remote, or at our lab in Montreal.
See all roles.

ASUS ROG Chakram Core Mouse Review

Tested using Methodology v1.4
Review updated Jul 01, 2021 at 10:11 am
Latest change: Test bench update Dec 09, 2022 at 01:07 pm
ASUS ROG Chakram Core Picture
6.6
Work
8.6
Video Games (FPS)
8.2
Video Games (MMO)
9.4
Raw Performance

The ASUS ROG Chakram Core is a great, feature-rich gaming mouse that feels very well-built. It has two side buttons on the left and a thumb joystick you can use in a precise analog mode or a four-direction D-pad mode. You can also remove the top cover of this mouse and install a different set of switches, which is a rare feature in gaming mice at this time. Performance-wise, it has a wide CPI range, a CPI you can adjust by increments of 100, a low lift-off distance, and exceptionally low click latency. Unfortunately, it's heavy, and its braided cable is fairly stiff. Also, there isn't a compatible software option for macOS.

Our Verdict

6.6 Work

The ASUS ROG Chakram Core is decent for office use. It feels well-built, has a comfortable right-handed shape suitable for larger hands using any grip type, and most of its buttons are programmable. Unfortunately, it lacks wireless connection options and lacks compatible software for macOS. It also doesn't have a thumb wheel, but you can use the joystick for scrolling horizontally or vertically through documents while in D-pad mode.

Pros
  • Feels very well-built.
  • Joystick can be used to scroll horizontally or vertically through documents.
Cons
  • Bulky; likely won't fit in most laptop cases.
  • Wired-only.
  • Customization software and joystick aren't compatible with macOS.
8.6 Video Games (FPS)

The ASUS ROG Chakram Core is a great FPS gaming mouse. It feels very sturdy and has a right-handed shape well-suited for larger hands using any grip type. It also has a wide CPI range, a CPI you can adjust by increments of 100, a low lift-off distance, and an exceptionally low click latency. Unfortunately, this mouse is heavy, and its braided cable is fairly stiff.

Pros
  • Feels very well-built.
  • Exceptional click latency.
  • Joystick can be used in a precise analog mode or a four-direction D-pad mode.
  • Comfortable, right-handed shape well-suited for larger hands and all grip types.
Cons
  • Heavy, even without its optional weight installed.
  • Bulky; likely won't fit in most laptop cases.
  • Braided cable is fairly stiff.
  • Customization software and joystick aren't compatible with macOS.
8.2 Video Games (MMO)

The ASUS ROG Chakram Core is good for MMO gaming, but it doesn't have nearly as many buttons as a dedicated MMO mouse, and its cable is fairly stiff. That said, it feels very sturdy, it has a comfortable shape suitable for larger hands and all grip types, and you can program most of its buttons using the companion software. It also has a wide CPI range, a CPI you can adjust by increments of 100, a low lift-off distance, and a remarkably low click latency.

Pros
  • Feels very well-built.
  • Exceptional click latency.
  • Joystick can be used in a precise analog mode or a four-direction D-pad mode.
  • Comfortable, right-handed shape well-suited for larger hands and all grip types.
Cons
  • Bulky; likely won't fit in most laptop cases.
  • Braided cable is fairly stiff.
  • Not nearly as many side buttons as a dedicated MMO mouse.
  • Customization software and joystick aren't compatible with macOS.
9.4 Raw Performance

Pros
Cons
  • Bulky; likely won't fit in most laptop cases.
  • Customization software and joystick aren't compatible with macOS.
  • 6.6 Work
  • 8.6 Video Games (FPS)
  • 8.2 Video Games (MMO)
  • 9.4 Raw Performance
  1. Updated Dec 09, 2022: We've converted this review to Test Bench 1.4. This update modifies our Hand Size Recommendation test, adding a more granular hand size recommendation chart. We've moved several minor tests into different test groups, removed the Travel usage, and added a new Raw Performance usage. For more details, you can see our full changelog here.
  2. Updated Sep 06, 2022: We've converted this review to Test Bench 1.3. This update adds a new Sensor Latency test and makes minor changes to several of our existing tests, resulting in test result changes in several sections. For more information, you can check out our full changelog here.
  3. Updated Aug 09, 2022: Following the update to Test Bench 1.2, some of our test results have changed within both the Weight and CPI sections. We've added or modified some of the text in this article to clarify these changes.
  4. Updated Aug 01, 2022: We've converted this review to Test Bench 1.2. This update simplifies our Weight test and expands on our CPI test from Test Bench 1.1, resulting in changes to test results in both sections. For more details, you can see our complete changelog here.
  5. Updated Jun 09, 2022: We've updated this review to Test Bench 1.1, which revamped our click latency test methodology. We've updated the text to reflect our new results in various sections, including the Click Latency test box, Usages, Introduction, and other locations where we discuss click latency.
  6. Updated May 30, 2022: We've converted this review to Test Bench 1.1. This update revamps our Click Latency test and results in changes to test results. For more details, you can see our full changelog here.
  7. Updated Jul 01, 2021: Review published.
  8. Updated Jun 11, 2021: Early access published.
  9. Updated May 17, 2021: Our testers have started testing this product.
  10. Updated May 13, 2021: The product has arrived in our lab, and our testers will start evaluating it soon.
  11. Updated Apr 17, 2021: We've purchased the product and are waiting for it to arrive in our lab.

Check Price

Black ROG Chakram Core
Searching
Finding Store
Black ROG Chakram Core
Searching
Finding Store
Black ROG Chakram Core
Searching
Finding Store
Black ROG Chakram Core
Searching
Finding Store

Differences Between Sizes And Variants

The ASUS ROG Chakram Core is a more basic, wired version of the ASUS ROG Chakram. The model we tested is black, and there are no other color variants. You can see the label for our unit here.

Compared To Other Mice

The ASUS ROG Chakram Core is a stripped-down, wired version of the ASUS ROG Chakram. It lacks wireless connectivity options and Qi standard charging capabilities, and it also has one fewer RGB lighting zone and doesn't include a set of alternate switches. However, it does have a weight that you can add to change the weight distribution, which the wireless Chakram lacks. It has good all-around performance and some rarely-seen features like a side-mounted joystick and hot-swappable switches. However, if you typically prefer lightweight FPS mice, you may find this mouse uncomfortably heavy.

For other options, check out our picks for the best mouse, the best wired mouse, or the best FPS gaming mouse.

ASUS ROG Chakram

The ASUS ROG Chakram Core is a more basic, wired version of the original ASUS ROG Chakram. The original Chakram connects wired or wirelessly, either with its USB receiver or via Bluetooth. It has an additional RGB zone, a lower lift-off distance, and the ability to charge wirelessly using any Qi Standard 1.2 device. Comparatively, the Chakram Core is a wired-only mouse and is significantly lighter. It also has an optional 13.6g weight you can install. While both mice have hot-swappable switches, only the original includes an alternate pair. Both mice are also well-suited for all grip types, though only for larger-sized hands.

Logitech G PRO X SUPERLIGHT

The Logitech G PRO X SUPERLIGHT is a better wireless gaming mouse than the ASUS ROG Chakram Core. It's much more lightweight and has smoother gliding mouse feet. It also has a much higher maximum CPI, a more precisely adjustable CPI, a lower lift-off distance, and a somewhat lower click latency. Additionally, its software is compatible with Windows and macOS. Comparatively, the ASUS has a side thumbstick, and it has hot-swappable switches for the left and right mouse buttons. Its software is only compatible with Windows. Both mice are well-suited for all grip types, but the ASUS isn't suitable for smaller hands.

Logitech G502 HERO

The Logitech G502 HERO and the ASUS ROG Chakram Core are both feature-rich, wired gaming mice. The Logitech has a higher maximum CPI, a more precisely adjustable CPI, a lower lift-off distance, and two extra buttons overall. Also, it has a scroll wheel with L/R tilt buttons that unlocks free scrolling, and companion software for Windows and macOS. Comparatively, the ASUS is lighter and has mouse feet that glide more smoothly. It also has a side-mounted joystick and hot-swappable left and right-click switches. Both mice are well-suited for all grip types, but only for medium and larger-sized hands.

Razer DeathAdder V2

The Razer DeathAdder V2 is a better, wired gaming mouse than the ASUS ROG Chakram Core. It's significantly lighter, has a more flexible cable, and has mouse feet that glide much smoother. It also has a much higher maximum CPI, a more precisely adjustable CPI, a lower lift-off distance, and lower click latency. Comparatively, the ASUS feels sturdier and has a side-mounted joystick and hot-swappable switches. Both mice are suitable for larger hands using any grip type, but the Razer is also suitable for small hands with a palm grip.

Logitech G Pro Wireless

The Logitech G Pro Wireless is a better all-around wireless gaming mouse than the ASUS ROG Chakram Core. However, the ASUS has several rarely seen features. The Logitech is quite a bit lighter, and you can use it wired or wirelessly with its USB receiver. It also has a much higher maximum CPI, a more precisely adjustable CPI, a lower lift-off distance, side buttons on both sides, and companion software compatible with Windows and macOS. Comparatively, the ASUS has a joystick side button and hot-swappable left and right-click button switches. Both mice are well-suited for all grip types, but the ASUS is only suitable for larger hands.

GLORIOUS Model D

The GLORIOUS Model D is an excellent ultra-light gaming mouse, while the ASUS ROG Chakram Core is a great gaming mouse with some rarely-seen features. The GLORIOUS is much lighter, has a more flexible cable, and has mouse feet that glide more smoothly. Comparatively, the ASUS feels sturdier and has a wider CPI. It also has a joystick on the left side, hot-swappable left and right-click switches, and a 13.6g weight that you can add to modify the weight distribution. Both mice are best-suited for larger hands using any grip type, but the GLORIOUS is also suitable for small hands using a palm grip.

Gigabyte AORUS M5

The ASUS ROG Chakram Core and the Gigabyte AORUS M5 are both wired gaming mice. The ASUS is much lighter and feels better built. Also, it has much lower latency, and it has a unique thumb joystick that you can use in a precise analog mode or a four-direction D-pad mode. On the other hand, you can adjust the set CPI more precisely on the Gigabyte than you can on the ASUS. Also, the Gigabyte has two CPI switching buttons below the scroll wheel that let you cycle between four custom CPI settings.

+ Show more

Test Results

perceptual testing image
Design
Design
Style
Type
Standard
Coating
Matte
Lighting Color RGB
Design
Shape
Length 5.2" (133 mm)
Width 3.0" (77 mm)
Height 1.7" (42 mm)
Grip Width
63 mm
Ambidextrous
No
Left-Handed Friendly
No
Finger Rest
Thumb
5.4
Design
Portability
Box Volume
26.36 inยณ (432 cmยณ)
Receiver Storing
No
8.5
Design
Build Quality
6.3
Design
Weight
Lowest Weight
95.0 g
Default Weight
111.0 g
Weight Distribution
Centered
Extra Weights
Yes

The ASUS ROG Chakram Core has several parts you can remove to optimize the weight, including a 13.6g weight intended for adjusting the weight distribution. The Lowest Weight result is achieved by removing this extra weight, the joystick nub, and the plastic ROG logo cap embedded in the Palm area. Note that while you can remove the palm rest, it wasn't removed to achieve the lowest weight result, as doing so compromises the overall comfort and usability of the mouse using some grip types.

Design
Hand Size Recommendation
Palm Grip Hand Recommendation
Claw Grip Hand Recommendation
Fingertip Grip Hand Recommendation
0
Design
Wireless Versatility
Maximum Of Paired Devices
Wired
Bluetooth
No
Receiver
No
Battery Type
No Batteries
Use When Charging
No
On/Off Activation
None
Receiver Extender
No
Battery Indicator No
7.0
Design
Cable
Connectivity Wired
Cable Length
6.1 ft (1.9 m)
Cable Type
Braided
Permanent Kink
Yes
Port Type: Mouse End
No Port
Port Type: PC End
USB
7.5
Design
Mouse Feet
Gliding Experience
Good
Material
PTFE
Extra Included
No
Design
In The Box

  • ASUS ROG Chakram Core
  • 13.6 g weight
  • Alternate joystick
  • Joystick slot cover
  • Tweezers
  • User documentation

Control
7.6
Control
Additional Buttons
Total Number Of Buttons
10
Number Of Side Buttons
6
Number Of Programmable Inputs
10
Profile Switching Button
No
Gesture Support
No

You can configure the joystick to operate in analog mode for more precise control or a D-pad mode, with up, down, left, and right inputs. Pressing the button on the underside of the mouse cycles between up to four CPI profiles. Holding the button and scrolling up/down allows you to adjust the CPI by increments of 100. The ASUS ROG Chakram Core also has hot-swappable left and right-click switches, but this isn't something we test.

9.8
Control
Click Latency
Expected Connection
1.5 ms
Wired
1.5 ms
Receiver
N/A
Bluetooth
N/A
9.3
Control
CPI
SRAV @ 1600 CPI
-0.06%
SRAV @ 800 CPI
-0.46%
SRAV @ 400 CPI
0.42%
SRAV @ Fixed CPI
N/A
Precision Error Between Speeds
0.40%
Precision Error Between CPI
0.40%
Worst Tracking Error
-3.50%
Minimum CPI
100 CPI
Maximum CPI
16,000 CPI
CPI Adjustment Steps
100 CPI
8.8
Control
Sensor Latency
Delay To Start Of Movement
16.9 ms
Delay At Half Movement
3.4 ms
Delay To End Of Movement
3.9 ms
Control
Sensor Specifications
Sensor Technology
Optical (LED)
Sensor Model
PixArt PAW3335
Works On Glass
No
Minimum Lift Off Distance
2.4 mm
Maximum Polling Rate
1000 Hz

The polling rates on the ASUS ROG Chakram Core are 125Hz, 250Hz, 500Hz, and 1000Hz. You can also adjust the lift-off distance between a high and low setting using the companion software. Although this mouse has the same sensor, its minimum lift-off distance isn't as low as on the wireless ASUS ROG Chakram.

Control
Mouse Wheel
Scroll Wheel
Notched Wheel
Scroll Wheel Steps
24 Steps
Scroll Wheel Tilt
No
Thumb Wheel
No
Thumb Wheel Steps
No Thumb Wheel

If you're interested in a similar full-featured gaming mouse with a scroll wheel that you can set to automatically alternate between a notched and free-scrolling mode depending on the speed you're scrolling, check out the Razer Basilisk V3.

Control
Noise
Click Noise
Quiet
Operating System And Software
Operating System And Software
Configuration Software
Software Name Armoury Crate
Software Windows Compatibility
Yes
Software macOS Compatibility
No
On-Board Memory
Yes
CPI (DPI) Adjustment
Yes
Polling Rate Adjustment
Yes
Profile Configuration
Yes
Profile Auto-Switching
Yes
RGB On/Off
Yes
8.3
Operating System And Software
Mouse Compatibility
Windows Compatibility Fully
macOS Compatibility Partially

All default button functions work on Windows, but the joystick doesn't work in macOS, and you can't configure it since there's no compatible software option.