Get insider access
Preferred store
Your browser is not supported or outdated so some features of the site might not be available.

Microsoft Arc Mouse Mouse Review

Tested using Methodology v1.4
Review updated Dec 11, 2019 at 08:55 am
Latest change: Test bench update Dec 09, 2022 at 01:07 pm
Microsoft Arc Mouse Picture
5.2
Work
6.5
Video Games (FPS)
4.6
Video Games (MMO)
5.5
Raw Performance

The Microsoft Arc Mouse is a good ambidextrous travel mouse, but it isn't well-suited for other uses. It offers excellent portability, with a lightweight, compact design, and it supports Bluetooth connectivity, so you don't have to worry about losing a receiver. It's decently comfortable, but might be a bit too small if you have extra-large hands. Unfortunately, this isn't a very good mouse for gaming, as it has very high click latency and only one programmable button.

Our Verdict

5.2 Work

The Microsoft Arc Mouse is a decent office/multimedia mouse. It has decent ergonomics and fits most hands, but it might be a bit too small if you have extra large hands. It has decent build quality, with no significant issues, and it has excellent portability, great for taking with you in a laptop bag.

Pros
  • Excellent portability.
  • Lightweight design.
Cons
  • Limited number of buttons.
  • Limited companion software.
6.5 Video Games (FPS)

The Microsoft Arc Mouse is inadequate for FPS gaming. It has very high click latency, and it can't be used wired for lower latency. Although it has decent ergonomics, it might not be comfortable for longer play sessions or if you have extra-large hands.

Pros
  • Excellent portability.
  • Lightweight design.
Cons
  • Limited number of buttons.
  • Very high click latency.
  • Limited companion software.
4.6 Video Games (MMO)

Unfortunately, this mouse isn't a great choice for MMO gaming. It has very high click latency and only has one programmable button. The available software also has very limited options. It has decent ergonomics but might not be a good choice for longer gaming sessions.

Pros
  • Excellent portability.
  • Lightweight design.
Cons
  • Limited number of buttons.
  • Very high click latency.
  • Limited companion software.
5.5 Raw Performance
  • 5.2 Work
  • 6.5 Video Games (FPS)
  • 4.6 Video Games (MMO)
  • 5.5 Raw Performance
  1. Updated Dec 09, 2022: We've converted this review to Test Bench 1.4. This update modifies our Hand Size Recommendation test, adding a more granular hand size recommendation chart. We've moved several minor tests into different test groups, removed the Travel usage, and added a new Raw Performance usage. For more details, you can see our full changelog here.
  2. Updated Sep 06, 2022: We've converted this review to Test Bench 1.3. This update adds a new Sensor Latency test and makes minor changes to several of our existing tests, resulting in test result changes in several sections. For more information, you can check out our full changelog here.
  3. Updated Aug 09, 2022: Following the update to Test Bench 1.2, some of our test results have changed within both the Weight and CPI sections. We've added or modified some of the text in this article to clarify these changes.
  4. Updated Aug 01, 2022: We've converted this review to Test Bench 1.2. This update simplifies our Weight test and expands on our CPI test from Test Bench 1.1, resulting in changes to test results in both sections. For more details, you can see our complete changelog here.
  5. Updated Jun 15, 2022: We've updated this review to Test Bench 1.1, which revamped our click latency test methodology. We've updated the text to reflect our new results in various sections, including the Click Latency test box, Usages, Introduction, and other locations where we discuss click latency.
  6. Updated May 30, 2022: We've converted this review to Test Bench 1.1. This update revamps our Click Latency test and results in changes to test results. For more details, you can see our full changelog here.
  7. Updated Oct 05, 2020: Converted to Test Bench 1.0.
  8. Updated Sep 16, 2020: We've added the mouse's dimensions when it's in its curved shape.
  9. Updated Dec 20, 2019: Converted to Test Bench 0.8.1.
  10. Updated Dec 11, 2019: Review published.

Compared To Other Mice

The Microsoft Arc Mouse has a very unique design. It's good for travel, and its snap-to-power-on feature hasn't been tested on any other mice we've reviewed so far. It connects via Bluetooth to your source and needs AA batteries to work. It's a great choice for light productivity work and everyday browsing. However, the click latency is significantly higher than most mice, and its max CPI settings and polling rate are very low, so it isn't a suitable choice for gaming.

For other options, see our recommendations for the best wireless gaming mouse, the best wireless mouse, and the best gaming mouse.

Apple Magic Mouse 2

The Microsoft Arc Mouse is better than the Apple Magic Mouse 2. The Microsoft is meant for use with a claw grip, and you can also use it with a palm grip. It also has dedicated software where you can adjust its CPI and program one button. On the other hand, the Apple mouse is designed for people using the fingertip grip, and it's a better-built mouse.

Logitech MX Master 3

The Logitech MX Master 3 is much better than the Microsoft Arc Mouse. The Logitech is better-built, it offers better comfort, it has a scroll wheel, and it has many more programmable buttons. However, the Microsoft mouse has an ambidextrous design, and it's lighter to carry around.

Logitech MX Master 2S

The Logitech MX Master 2S is better than the Microsoft Arc Mouse. You can use the Logitech with its proprietary receiver or through Bluetooth, has more customization options, and has a scroll wheel. However, the Microsoft is lighter, making it easier to carry around.

Logitech Pebble M350

The Microsoft Arc Mouse has a better overall performance than the Logitech Pebble M350 since you can customize its settings a bit, but its unique design might not be suitable for some. On the other hand, the Logitech can be used with a receiver and via Bluetooth and has a lower click latency.

Test Results

perceptual testing image
Design
Design
Style
Type
Standard
Coating
Matte
Lighting Color No Lighting

The Microsoft Arc Mouse has a very simple, compact design. When traveling, it collapses to a flat shape for better portability. It's available in a variety of different colors depending on the retailer.

Design
Shape
Length 4.4" (112 mm)
Width 2.2" (55 mm)
Height 1.3" (32 mm)
Grip Width
55 mm
Ambidextrous
True Ambidextrous
Left-Handed Friendly
Yes
Finger Rest
No
8.9
Design
Portability
Box Volume
6.35 inยณ (104 cmยณ)
Receiver Storing
No Receiver

Update 09/16/2020: Some of our readers have requested the mouse's dimensions when it's in its curved form. The length is 11.2cm and the height is 3.21cm when it's in the 'On' position.

The Microsoft Surface Arc Mouse has outstanding portability. When collapsed to the "off" position, it easily fits in your pocket or a bag. If you want a more typical-designed mouse that is travel-friendly, take a look at the Logitech Pebble M350.

7.5
Design
Build Quality

Decent build quality. The clipping mechanism used to lock the mouse into a flat or arched shape feels well-built, but the latex material that covers the back portion of the mouse could be more susceptible to wear-and-tear.

7.8
Design
Weight
Lowest Weight
75.7 g
Default Weight
85.7 g
Weight Distribution
Front-heavy
Extra Weights
No

This mouse is fairly light in its default configuration. The Lowest Weight result is achieved using lighter lithium AAA batteries rather than standard AAA batteries.

Design
Hand Size Recommendation
Palm Grip Hand Recommendation
Claw Grip Hand Recommendation
Fingertip Grip Hand Recommendation

The Microsoft Arc Mouse has an ambidextrous design and decent overall ergonomics. It can't really be used with a fingertip grip, but is otherwise comfortable for most hand sizes.

5.9
Design
Wireless Versatility
Maximum Of Paired Devices
1
Bluetooth
Yes
Receiver
No
Battery Type
2x AAA
Use When Charging
No ( Single use batteries)
On/Off Activation
On/Off Switch
Receiver Extender
No
Battery Indicator Yes

The Microsoft Arc Mouse can only be used over Bluetooth. There's no traditional on/off switch; instead, the mouse can only be turned off by snapping it to the flat position.

0
Design
Cable
Connectivity Wireless
Cable Length
N/A
Cable Type
No Cable
Permanent Kink
No
Port Type: Mouse End
No Port
Port Type: PC End
No Port

This mouse doesn't come with a cable, as it can't be recharged, and it can't be used wired.

6.5
Design
Mouse Feet
Gliding Experience
Ok
Material
Plastic
Extra Included
No
Design
In The Box

  • Microsoft Arc mouse
  • User Manual
  • Batteries

Control
2.7
Control
Additional Buttons
Total Number Of Buttons
2
Number Of Side Buttons
0
Number Of Programmable Inputs
1
Profile Switching Button
No
Gesture Support
Yes

This mouse has a limited number of buttons, which is okay for traveling. It recognizes certain gestures, including a three-finger click, which can be programmed to do almost anything. The left and right mouse buttons can also be swapped, depending on which hand you use. If you're looking for a Microsoft mouse with more programmable inputs, check out the Microsoft Sculpt Ergonomic Mouse.

3.4
Control
Click Latency
Expected Connection
45.6 ms
Wired
N/A
Receiver
N/A
Bluetooth
45.6 ms

This mouse has poor click latency, and it's quite inconsistent. You likely won't experience noticeable delays while using this mouse for everyday browsing or productivity tasks. However, it isn't suitable for gaming use, especially for reaction-based or competitive games.

7.9
Control
CPI
SRAV @ 1600 CPI
-1.71%
SRAV @ 800 CPI
-0.91%
SRAV @ 400 CPI
-2.25%
SRAV @ Fixed CPI
N/A
Precision Error Between Speeds
1.46%
Precision Error Between CPI
2.14%
Worst Tracking Error
-11.00%
Minimum CPI
400 CPI
Maximum CPI
1,800 CPI
CPI Adjustment Steps
200 CPI
6.6
Control
Sensor Latency
Delay To Start Of Movement
40.1 ms
Delay At Half Movement
19.3 ms
Delay To End Of Movement
17.9 ms
Control
Sensor Specifications
Sensor Technology
Laser
Sensor Model
BlueTrack
Works On Glass
No
Minimum Lift Off Distance
2.4 mm
Maximum Polling Rate
125 Hz
Control
Mouse Wheel
Scroll Wheel
Tactile Surface
Scroll Wheel Steps
No Step
Scroll Wheel Tilt
No
Thumb Wheel
No
Thumb Wheel Steps
No Thumb Wheel

Although there's no physical mouse wheel, the Microsoft Arc Mouse recognizes gestures for vertical and horizontal scrolling. For a travel mouse with a more conventional design and a scroll wheel with L/R tilt buttons, check out the Logitech M525.

Control
Noise
Click Noise
Loud
Operating System And Software
Operating System And Software
Configuration Software
Software Name Microsoft Mouse and Keyboard Center
Software Windows Compatibility
Yes
Software macOS Compatibility
No
On-Board Memory
No
CPI (DPI) Adjustment
Yes
Polling Rate Adjustment
No
Profile Configuration
No
Profile Auto-Switching
Yes
RGB On/Off
No RGB

The available Microsoft Mouse and Keyboard Center software works well, but is only compatible with recent Windows PCs, and has limited options.

8.3
Operating System And Software
Mouse Compatibility
Windows Compatibility Fully
macOS Compatibility Partially

The Microsoft Arc Mouse is fully compatible with Windows PCs, but some functions don't work properly on macOS, including the three-finger click, which isn't supported at all.