Reviewed on Apr 18, 2019

Samsung Q90/Q90R QLED TV REVIEW

Usage Ratings - Version 1.3
8.8
Mixed Usage
Value for price beaten by
: none
8.5
Movies
8.6
TV Shows
8.6
Sports
9.2
Video Games
8.5
HDR Movies
9.0
HDR Gaming
9.0
PC Monitor
Type : LED
Sub-Type
:
VA
Resolution : 4k

The Samsung Q90R is an excellent 4k LED TV with impressive picture quality. It has a high native contrast ratio, great local dimming support, and excellent black uniformity that allow it to deliver deep blacks in a dark room. The TV can get very bright both in SDR and HDR and has a wide color gamut that allows it to deliver HDR content full of vivid colors and highlights that pop. Although the TV has a VA panel, the viewing angles are decent thanks to the 'Ultra Viewing Angle' technology. Motion handling is excellent and the image is crisp thanks to the very fast response time. The Q90R supports FreeSync for tear-free gaming and has a very low input lag that makes it very responsive.

Black Friday deal: The Samsung Q90R 65” has dropped by $600 on Amazon.com. See all Black Friday deals on TVs.
Pros
  • Very bright both in SDR and HDR.
  • Excellent low input lag and gaming features.
  • Remarkable motion handling.
Cons
  • Some gray uniformity issues at the edges.

Test Results
Design 9.5
Picture Quality 8.4
Motion 9.2
Inputs 9.6
Sound Quality 6.9
Smart Features 8.0
  1. Update 8/2/2019: We retested the Q90R with the latest firmware. The SDR Peak Brightness, HDR Peak Brightness, and Input Lag measurements and scores have been updated, and 4k @ 120Hz is no longer skipping frames.

Check Price

Market Context

The Samsung Q90R is a high-end QLED TV. It is Samsung's 4k flagship, just under the 8k model Samsung Q900R. It is the replacement of last year's Samsung Q9FN. The Q90R is comparable to most other high-end 4k models like the LG C9, the Sony A9G, or the LED Vizio P Series Quantum 2019.

9.5

Design

Curved : No

The design of the Samsung Q90R is excellent. It has a very sturdy metallic stand, that supports the TV very well, and allows only minimal wobbling. Just like other high-end Samsung TVs, some electronic components are encased in the One Connect box which connects to the TV through a single cable. This allows Samsung to create a very thin TV that you can wall mount flush to the wall using a special wall mount, making the TV look more like a frame. The build quality is remarkable and you should have no issues.

Stand

The stand is metallic and very sturdy. It supports the TV well and does not allow much wobbling.

The footprint of the stand of the 65" model is: 11.2" x13.4"

Note: The reflection depicted on the above picture is the result of the 'Ultra Viewing Angle' layer explained here.

Back
Wall Mount : VESA 400x400

The back of the TV is plain. It is made of plastic and has a similar textured finish like last year's models.

The Q90 has a One Connect box that sends all necessary signals (including power) through a single cable to the TV. The back of the TV and the stand have grooves that serve as cable management to guide the One Connect cable, as you can see here.

Borders
Borders : 0.43" (1.1 cm)

The borders of the Q90 are very thin and look good.

Thickness
Max Thickness : 1.54" (3.9 cm)

The Samsung Q90 is very thin and will not protrude much if you wall-mount it.

Temperature
Maximum Temperature
:
105 °F (41 °C)
Average Temperature
:
92 °F (34 °C)

The Q90R doesn't get too warm as you can see in our thermal image, and thus you should have no issues with it.

The max temperature of the One Connect box is a little warm at 103F, but this shouldn't be an issue, either.

9.5 Build Quality

The build quality of the Samsung Q90R is excellent. It feels very robust and there are no gaps or loose ends. The metal stand adds to its solid feel. You should have no issues with it.

8.4

Picture Quality

The Samsung Q90R has an impressive picture quality. It is suitable for a dark room as it can display deep uniform blacks thanks to the high native contrast ratio, great local dimming, and excellent black uniformity. It is also great for a bright room as it can easily fight glare and can handle reflections well. The TV has a wide color gamut, can get very bright in HDR, and it displays HDR content full of rich colors and bright highlights. The gray uniformity is just decent, but the image remains accurate for wider viewing angles thanks to the 'Ultra Viewing Angle' technology of the Q90R.

8.4 Contrast
Native Contrast
:
3249 : 1
Contrast with local dimming
:
11200 : 1

The native contrast ratio of the Q90R is great. The native contrast ratio is lower than most TVs with VA panels. This is because of the TV's 'Ultra Viewing Angle' layer that improves the viewing angles at the expense of contrast ratio. This is very similar to what we observed with the Samsung Q900R or the Sony Z9F and the 'X-Wide Angle' technology. However, the native contrast ratio of the Q90R is by far the best when compared to the other TVs we've tested that supported similar viewing angle boosting technologies.

Unfortunately, just like the Q900R, the TV's local dimming can't be completely disabled using the normal settings menu. In order to measure the native contrast ratio, we had to disable PC Mode Dimming in the TV's service menu, and then activate PC Mode and Game Mode at the same time.

8.0 Local Dimming
Local Dimming
:
Yes
Backlight
:
Full-Array

The local dimming on the Q90R is very good. It is very similar to the Q900R and just slightly better than the Q9FN. The local dimming algorithm allows very little blooming, which is great; however, it has the same trade-offs found on the Q900R:

  • "Reverse blooming" where the TV, in its effort to reduce blooming in the dark areas, dims the edges of the bright ones and this creates vignetting.
  • Small areas are greatly dimmed by the TV.
  • The TV crushes stars.

When you look at the TV from the side, the good black level viewing angle prevents blooming from getting worse. This is significantly better behavior than most TVs with VA panels and explains why the local dimming video (which is shot at an angle) looks better than it actually is.

Unfortunately, just like all the latest Samsung TVs, you can't completely disable the local dimming on the TV. Even when set to 'Low' it can be distracting. If you watch movies with subtitles, this can be a problem.

Just like with the Q900R, Game Mode uses a slightly different local dimming algorithm which doesn't react as fast to changes in a scene and lingers longer. This can create visible blooming in some cases. We are not sure why this is the case. It is, however, less noticeable than on the Q900R.

We performed our testing with Local Dimming set to 'High'

Note: There is a 55" variant of the Q90R available only in Europe that is advertised as having a weaker local dimming feature, but we have not tested it and can't give further details.

9.1 SDR Peak Brightness
SDR Real Scene Peak Brightness
:
831 cd/m²
SDR Peak 2% Window
:
1297 cd/m²
SDR Peak 10% Window
:
1363 cd/m²
SDR Peak 25% Window
:
1237 cd/m²
SDR Peak 50% Window
:
774 cd/m²
SDR Peak 100% Window
:
505 cd/m²
SDR Sustained 2% Window
:
1213 cd/m²
SDR Sustained 10% Window
:
1284 cd/m²
SDR Sustained 25% Window
:
1163 cd/m²
SDR Sustained 50% Window
:
773 cd/m²
SDR Sustained 100% Window
:
502 cd/m²
SDR ABL
:
0.052

Update 08/08/2019:We retested the real scene peak brightness, and it didn't change considerably.

Update 08/02/2019: We have retested the Q90R with the latest firmware, and the SDR peak brightness has increased a bit. We've updated our measurements and scores.

Excellent SDR peak brightness for the Q90R, in the same ballpark figure as last year's high-end QLED Samsungs. Smaller highlights in dark scenes are very bright as our 2%, and 10% windows show. However, brighter scenes are also quite bright. The TV can easily fight glare and will perform very well in a bright room.

We performed our measurements after calibration with picture mode set to ‘Movie,’ Local Dimming set to ‘High,’ Auto Motion Plus set to 'off,' and Backlight set to 'Max.' Different settings may produce a brighter picture.

The setting that controls the brightness of the backlight is called Backlight.

9.0 HDR Peak Brightness
HDR Real Scene Peak Brightness
:
1287 cd/m²
HDR Peak 2% Window
:
1145 cd/m²
HDR Peak 10% Window
:
1487 cd/m²
HDR Peak 25% Window
:
1275 cd/m²
HDR Peak 50% Window
:
816 cd/m²
HDR Peak 100% Window
:
536 cd/m²
HDR Sustained 2% Window
:
1082 cd/m²
HDR Sustained 10% Window
:
1410 cd/m²
HDR Sustained 25% Window
:
1235 cd/m²
HDR Sustained 50% Window
:
814 cd/m²
HDR Sustained 100% Window
:
532 cd/m²
HDR ABL
:
0.050

Update 08/08/2019:We retested the real scene peak brightness, and it didn't change considerably.

Update 08/02/2019: We have retested the Q90R with the latest firmware, and the HDR peak brightness has increased a bit. We've updated our measurements and scores.

The Samsung Q90 has excellent HDR peak brightness. This TV can deliver very bright highlights when displaying HDR content.

We performed our measurements without any calibration, picture mode set to ‘Movie,’ Local Dimming set to ‘High,’ and Auto Motion Plus set to 'off,' which are also our recommended settings. Some settings may produce a brighter image. For example, the 'Dynamic' picture mode can get brighter but has much worse picture accuracy.

7.3 Gray Uniformity
50% Std. Dev.
:
4.127 %
50% DSE
:
0.187 %
5% Std. Dev.
:
0.545 %
5% DSE
:
0.103 %

The gray uniformity is decent. The image is slightly darker at the edges and at the corners of the screen but it is more uniform in the center, and this is good for sports fans. When the TV is displaying gray content, like older black and white movies, some people might notice a slight blue tint at the edges.

In much darker scenes, the uniformity is much better.

6.9 Viewing Angle
Color Washout
:
32 °
Color Shift
:
37 °
Brightness Loss
:
42 °
Black Level Raise
:
70 °
Gamma Shift
:
23 °

The viewing angle is decent. As you move off center, the image remains accurate for wider angles. The contrast stays relatively constant and this prevents the image from looking washed out.

This behavior is usually found on IPS panel TVs. The Q90R uses a VA panel, but it also has an optical layer that Samsung calls 'Ultra Viewing Angle.' This optical layer greatly improves the viewing angles at the expense of lower native contrast ratio, which in the case of the Q90R is not diminished as much as on the Q900R. The 'Ultra Viewing Angle' technology appears to work similarly to the 'X-Wide Angle' technology found on the Sony Z9F.

Unfortunately, the TV's local dimming can't be completely disabled using the normal settings menu. So in order to measure the lightness viewing angle we had to disable PC Mode Dimming in the TV's service menu, and then activate PC Mode and Game Mode at the same time, which finally allowed us to measure with local dimming 'off.' This is exactly the same as in the case of the Q900R.

8.9 Black Uniformity
Native Std. Dev.
:
0.745 %
Std. Dev. w/ L.D.
:
0.452 %

The black uniformity is excellent. The little blooming that you can spot in our overexposed image is not really noticeable in normal content unless you watch a very dark scene in a dark room. Local dimming makes black uniformity nearly perfect in some very dark scenes.

Unfortunately, the TV's local dimming can't be completely disabled using the normal settings menu. Just like in other measurements, in order to measure the native black uniformity, we had to disable PC Mode Dimming in the TV's service menu, and then activate PC Mode and Game Mode at the same time, which allowed us to turn local dimming off.

9.1 Reflections
Screen Finish
:
Glossy
Total Reflections
:
1.1 %
Indirect Reflections
:
0.9 %

Update 07/25/2019: Clarifying text.

The TV has excellent reflection handling, better than the Q900R. The glossy finish greatly diminishes direct reflections, and it offers the best reflection performance we've seen based on a side-by-side comparison. The scoring is lower than we expect, which may be due to the relatively high 'Indirect Reflections' as a result of the 'Ultra Viewing Angle' layer which scatters light across its surface, producing rainbow reflections across the screen. We will revisit this scoring in the next test bench update.

7.2 Pre Calibration
White Balance dE
:
3.79
Color dE
:
2.58
Gamma
:
2.21
Color Temperature
:
5859 K
Picture Mode
:
Movie
Color Temp Setting
:
Warm 2
Gamma Setting
:
2.2

The out of the box accuracy is decent. We obtained the best results using the 'Movie' Picture Mode. The White Balance dE and Color dE are low but some people might notice inaccuracies. When the color temperature is set to 'Warm 2' the color temperature is fairly warm and the image has a slight red-yellowish tint. Finally, the gamma follows the target reasonably well, thus the image has mostly the right brightness.

9.5 Post Calibration
White Balance dE
:
0.30
Color dE
:
1.09
Gamma
:
2.22
Color Temperature
:
6473 K
White Balance Calibration
:
20 point
Color Calibration
:
Yes
Auto-Calibration Function
:
Yes

The accuracy is excellent after calibration. The White Balance dE is almost perfect and the Color dE is so low that even enthusiasts will need a colorimeter to spot any remaining inaccuracies. The gamma tracks the curve almost perfectly and the color temperature is closer to the target of 6500K. There is an auto-calibration function, but this still requires a colorimeter and specialized software.

You can see our recommended settings here.

8.0 480p Input

Older, 480p digital content looks good, with no obvious upscaling artifacts or oversharpening.

8.0 720p Input

Upscaling of 720p content such as cable TV or older game consoles looks good.

9.0 1080p Input

Upscaling of 1080p content such as Blu-rays or game consoles looks good. The image is sharp and there are no obvious issues.

10 4k Input

Native 4k content looks great and is displayed perfectly.

8.3 Color Gamut
Wide Color Gamut
:
Yes
DCI P3 xy
:
90.92 %
DCI P3 uv
:
94.14 %
Rec 2020 xy
:
68.66 %
Rec 2020 uv
:
76.76 %

The Q90R has a wide color gamut. Very similar to the Q900R and the Q6FN and a bit less than the Q9FN and Q8FN. It is possible that the TV's 'Ultra Viewing Angle' optical layer is reducing its color gamut.

The 'Movie' EOTF is a little brighter than the input stimulus until it starts to roll off near the TV's peak brightness. If you find HDR too dim, you can raise the PQ curve by setting Brightness to '5,' and, Contrast Enhancer to 'High.' This will produce this PQ curve.

This is the PQ curve for Game Mode.

Update: 04/23/2019 In the review of the Q9FN we observed that for lower brightness HDR infoframes (such as 1000 nits) the TV produces scenes which are brighter than intended. You can read more about it here. We have not measured the 1000 nits infoframe for this TV but we expect it to be similar ro the Q9FN.

7.9 Color Volume
Normalized DCI P3 Coverage ITP
:
88.3 %
10,000 cd/m² DCI P3 Coverage ITP
:
53.8 %
Normalized Rec 2020 Coverage ITP
:
70.4 %
10,000 cd/m² Rec 2020 Coverage ITP
:
43.6 %

The Samsung Q90R has very good color volume with a good coverage of the DCI P3 color space. Unfortunately, the coverage of the wider Rec 2020 is just okay.

Like most LED TVs, it can produce bright and dark colors across most of its gamut, but can't produce very bright blues.

This performance is close, but not as good as last year's high-end QLEDs, as you can see here and here. This is most likelly the result of the not so wide color gamut when compared to last year's Q9FN and Q8FN.

8.1 Gradient
Color Depth
:
10 Bit
Red (Std. Dev.)
:
0.112 dE
Green (Std. Dev.)
:
0.126 dE
Blue (Std. Dev.)
:
0.089 dE
Gray (Std. Dev.)
:
0.096 dE

The gradient of the Q90R is great. There is very little banding visible in the darker grays and in the medium greens. Setting the Digital Clean View to 'Auto' can effectively remove most of the banding but can lead to a loss of fine detail.

Unfortunately, during testing, the TV's local dimming (that can't be disabled) interfered with our gradient test, tampering with the data and making it score a bit worse than it should. However while not perfectly accurate, the score is still within the same ballpark as our subjective impression. We had the same issue with the Q900R.

We also compared the Q90R (top) with the Q9FN (bottom) and confirmed this.

10 Temporary Image Retention
IR after 0 min recovery
:
0.00 %
IR after 2 min recovery
:
0.00 %
IR after 4 min recovery
:
0.00 %
IR after 6 min recovery
:
0.00 %
IR after 8 min recovery
:
0.00 %
IR after 10 min recovery
:
0.00 %

There is no temporary image retention on the Samsung Q90.

10 Permanent Burn-In Risk
Permanent Burn-In Risk
:
No

We don't expect VA panels to experience permanent image retention, as the VA panel in our long-term test appears immune.

Pixels

Unfortunately the TV's 'Ultra Viewing Angle' optical layer makes the pixels hard to see clearly. We observed the same issue on the Q900R pixel photo. Also it is interesting to compare this photo to the photo of the 'X-Wide Angle' layer of the Sony Z9F.

9.2

Motion

The Samsung Q90 has excellent motion handling. It has a very fast response time that delivers a crisp image with minimal blur trail behind fast-moving objects. The backlight flickers at 960Hz most of the time, and this is excellent as it is almost impossible to perceive. The TV has an optional Black Frame Insertion feature that can help make the image crisper, can interpolate lower frame rate content up to 120Hz, even in Game mode, and can remove judder from any source. Finally, the TV supports FreeSync variable refresh rate for tear-free gaming.

9.5 Response Time
80% Response Time
:
3.7 ms
100% Response Time
:
9.6 ms

The Q90 has an extremely fast response time. There is only a very small blur trail behind fast-moving objects and the only transition with significant overshoot is the 0-20% transition, which corresponds to very dark shades.

9.9 Flicker-Free
Flicker-Free
:
No
PWM Dimming Frequency
:
960 Hz

The Q90R uses PWM dimming to dim the backlight. Flicker is always present but becomes more severe at lower brightness. However, since the flicker frequency is 960Hz most people won't see it.

We tested the TV in 'Movie' mode with Auto Motion Plus disabled. There are, however, many instances where the flicker rate changes to 120Hz. For example, in 'Movie' mode the flicker changes to 120Hz if you set Auto Motion Plus to 'Custom' or 'Auto.' In 'Standard' and in 'Game' modes the flicker is always at 120Hz, similar to the Q900R.

10 Black Frame Insertion (BFI)
Optional BFI
:
Yes
Min Flicker for 60 fps
:
60 Hz
60 Hz for 60 fps
:
Yes
120 Hz for 120 fps
:
Yes
Min Flicker for 60 fps in Game Mode
:
60 Hz

The Q90R has an excellent black frame insertion feature that helps make the image crisper. Just setting Auto Motion Plus to 'Custom' changes the flicker to 120Hz, as explained in the Flicker-Free box. If you do not want to add any soap opera effect you should set Blur Reduction and Judder Reduction to '0.' If you enable LED Clear Motion, the flicker changes to 60Hz.

In 'Game' mode, the flicker frequency is always 120Hz, and enabling LED Clear Motion in Game Motion Plus changes the flicker frequency to 60Hz.

10 Motion Interpolation
Motion Interpolation (30 fps)
:
Yes
Motion Interpolation (60 fps)
:
Yes

The Q90 can interpolate content up to 120fps. To enable motion interpolation you must set Auto Motion Plus to 'Custom.' The Blur Reduction slider affects only high frame rate content (ex. 60 fps). The Judder Reduction slider affects low frame rate content (ex. 30 fps). To obtain the best possible results you should adjust those sliders to your liking. For our test, we kept both at max. Motion interpolation looks okay although some artifacts can be noticed at times. When the action becomes too intense the TV stops interpolating.

In 'Game' mode, there is a Game Motion Plus option, which, however, doesn't look as good, but adds far less input lag. You can read more about it in the Input Lag box.

Note: When Auto Motion Plus is enabled, the TV's flicker changes to 120Hz, as explained in the Flicker-Free box.

6.7 Stutter
Frame Hold Time @ 24 fps
:
32.1 ms
Frame Hold Time @ 60 fps
:
7.1 ms

Due to the very fast response time of the Q90, low frame rate content is held on screen for longer periods of time, which can cause the image to appear to stutter. If you find this stutter bothersome, you can reduce it by enabling motion interpolation or the optional black frame insertion feature.

10 24p Judder
Judder-Free 24p
:
Yes
Judder-Free 24p via 60p
:
Yes
Judder-Free 24p via 60i
:
Yes
Judder-Free 24p via Native Apps
:
Yes

The Samsung Q90R can remove judder from any source. To remove judder set Auto Motion Plus to 'Custom,' and Blur Reduction and Judder Reduction to '0' (if you don't want motion interpolation).

Note: When Auto Motion Plus is enabled, the TV's flicker changes to 120Hz, as explained in the Flicker-Free box.

8.2 Variable Refresh Rate
Native Refresh Rate
:
120 Hz
Variable Refresh Rate
:
FreeSync
4k VRR Maximum
:
60 Hz
4k VRR Minimum
:
48 Hz
1080p VRR Maximum
:
120 Hz
1080p VRR Minimum
:
< 20 Hz
1440p VRR Maximum
:
120 Hz
1440p VRR Minimum
:
< 20 Hz
VRR Supported Connectors
:
HDMI

Update 08/02/2019:4k @ 120Hz is now working properly in 'Game' mode; the TV is no longer skipping frames. We still can't test the 4k VRR range properly though, as our FreeSync PC doesn't support 4k @ 120Hz.

The Q90R supports FreeSync, which is great for those gamers with compatible hardware or an Xbox One. The TV does not have a DisplayPort and this does not allow FreeSync to work with current NVIDIA drivers.

We tested the TV on 'Game' mode, and we used FreeSync set to 'Ultimate' to obtain the widest possible range.

9.6

Inputs

The Samsung Q90R supports the most common resolutions without any issue. It has a very low input lag in all supported resolutions and when in PC mode it can display chroma 4:4:4 perfectly except when in 1440p @ 120Hz. It has a good selection of inputs but doesn't support eARC. 

9.6 Input Lag
1080p @ 60 Hz
:
14.7 ms
1080p @ 60 Hz Outside Game Mode
:
77.2 ms
1440p @ 60 Hz
:
14.6 ms
4k @ 60 Hz
:
14.7 ms
4k @ 60 Hz + 10 bit HDR
:
14.6 ms
4k @ 60 Hz @ 4:4:4
:
14.5 ms
4k @ 60 Hz Outside Game Mode
:
57.1 ms
4k @ 60 Hz With Interpolation
:
21.2 ms
8k @ 60 Hz
:
N/A
1080p @ 120 Hz
:
6.0 ms
1440p @ 120 Hz
:
6.1 ms
4k @ 120 Hz
:
7.1 ms
1080p with Variable Refresh Rate
:
5.9 ms
1440p with VRR
:
6.1 ms
4k with VRR
:
14.1 ms
8k with VRR
:
N/A
Auto Low Latency Mode (ALLM)
:
Yes

Update 08/02/2019: We've retested the TV with the latest firmware, and the input lag has decreased slightly across the board. We were also able to test the 4k @ 120Hz input lag. 4k @ 120Hz is now working properly in 'Game' mode; the TV is no longer skipping frames. We've updated our numbers and scores.

Excellent low input lag, lower than last year's high-end QLEDS. The Q90R reacts almost immediately to your actions and this is great if you're a gamer. To get the lowest input lag you must set the TV to 'Game Mode,' even when you are in 'PC Mode.' Chroma 4:4:4 is properly shown only when in 'PC Mode.'

Just like the Q900R and the premium 2018 models from the Samsung lineup, the Q90R has low input lag with motion interpolation in Game Motion Plus. When the Blur Reduction slider is increased, the TV interpolates up to 60 fps, and the input lag increases a bit, but is still excellent. If the Blur Reduction slider is increased, the TV interpolates up to 120 fps and the input lag increases slightly to 22.7 ms, which is still a good value.

9.6 Supported Resolutions
1080p @ 60 Hz @ 4:4:4
:
Yes
1080p @ 120 Hz
:
Yes (native support)
1440p @ 60 Hz
:
Yes (native support)
1440p @ 120 Hz
:
Yes (native support)
4k @ 60 Hz
:
Yes
4k @ 60 Hz @ 4:4:4
:
Yes
4k @ 120 Hz
:
Yes (native support)
8k @ 30 Hz or 24 Hz
:
No
8k @ 60 Hz
:
No

Update 08/02/2019: We've retested the TV with the latest firmware, and it is now able to display 4k @ 120Hz on HDMI 4 without skipping frames.

The Q90R supports most common resolutions and refresh rates. Most high bandwidth signals require Input Signal Plus to be enabled for the port in use. Input Signal Plus is the new name for HDMI UHD Color.

The TV can display chroma 4:4:4 or RGB content properly in all supported resolutions except in 1440p @ 120Hz. To properly display chroma 4:4:4 you must set the input label to 'PC.'

Input Photos
Total Inputs
HDMI : 4
USB : 3
Digital Optical Audio Out : 1
Analog Audio Out 3.5mm : 0
Analog Audio Out RCA : 0
Component In : 0
Composite In : 0
Tuner (Cable/Ant) : 1
Ethernet : 1
DisplayPort : 0
IR In : 0
SD/SDHC : 0
Inputs Specifications
HDR10
:
Yes
HDR10+
:
Yes
Dolby Vision
:
No
HLG
:
Yes
3D
:
No
HDMI 2.0 Full Bandwidth
:
Yes (HDMI 1,2,3,4)
CEC : Yes
HDCP 2.2 : Yes (HDMI 1,2,3,4)
USB 3.0
:
No
Variable Analog Audio Out : No
Wi-Fi Support : Yes (2.4 GHz, 5 GHz)

We could not test for HDMI 2.1 as we have no way to send a 4k @ 120Hz @ 4:4:4 signal. We will retest once an HDMI 2.1 source is available for us to buy.

Audio Passthrough
ARC
:
Yes (HDMI 3)
eARC support
:
No
Dolby Atmos via TrueHD via eARC
:
No
DTS:X via DTS-HD MA via eARC
:
No
5.1 Dolby Digital via ARC
:
Yes
5.1 DTS via ARC
:
No
5.1 Dolby Digital via Optical
:
Yes
5.1 DTS via Optical
:
No

Just like the Q900R and 2018 Samsung TVs, the Q90R does not support DTS, nor does it support eARC. It likely does support lossy Atmos passthrough from Dolby Digital Plus sources, including the native Netflix app.

6.9

Sound Quality

The sound quality of the Samsung Q90R is decent. The TV can get loud enough for most use cases, has decent punch and body to its bass, and will deliver well-balanced and clear dialog. However, the TV won't be able to produce any thump or rumble in the sub-bass region. For a better sound, a dedicated sound system is recommended.

6.7 Frequency Response
Low-Frequency Extension
:
75.51 Hz
Std. Dev. @ 70
:
2.59 dB
Std. Dev. @ 80
:
4.15 dB
Std. Dev. @ Max
:
6.46 dB
Max
:
87.5 dB SPL
Dynamic Range Compression
:
4.95 dB

The frequency response of the Samsung Q90R is decent. Low-frequency extension (LFE) is about 76Hz which is okay. This means that the TV has a good amount of body and punch to its but lacks thump or rumble. The response above the TV's LFE is well-balanced and can deliver clear dialogs. Also, the Q90R can get reasonably loud, but may not be loud enough for large and noisy environments.

We tested the TV with Samsung's room correction feature called 'Adaptive Sound' enabled. However, we left the 'Adaptive Volume' and 'Auto Volume' features disabled, as 'Auto Volume' drastically limits the max volume. This feature can be useful if you find that commercials play at a higher volume than the content you are watching.

7.4 Distortion
Weighted THD @ 80
:
0.290
Weighted THD @ Max
:
1.104
IMD @ 80
:
0.53 %
IMD @ Max